View Full Version : Please help me organise my wedding..
MyFourCubs
06-05-2008, 22:20
I'm getting married on the 12th of October. I kept thinking we had 6 months to go but as the lady who is doing my dress alterations pointed out today... it's more like 5.:confused: Gee, where did that month go?????
I am seriously the worst wedding planner EVER. I went to book the flowers yesterday and the lady is asking me have I pictures, or an idea of what I want? Ummm... no. Sorry. No idea. I seriously wish that people would just go, "well, these would look great," and I would go, "yep. Fine. Book em in!" I'm unmotivated, Ihave no ideas and I have avoided thinking too strenuously about said wedding as it just freaks me out.
SO, having said this, I have done:
Booked reception
Booked celebrant
Bought a dress, took it for alterations today, want a lace jacket made, am cutting it fine but she thinks it will be ok.
Booked flowers (most of them)
Booked photographer (haven't met her yet or filled out the paperwork.)
Found a DJ, delegated this to my dh2b who is a lazy bum and hasn't gotten around to paying deposit yet
Delegated cars to dh2b- likewise.
Spoke to reception people, tentatively booked times for ceremony, reception, etc
SO, WHAT HAVE I LEFT OUT????? What do I have to do?? Hate those bridal mags with the wedding count down, like 6 months- book pedicure, manicure, spray tans from now til wedding... 3 months- finalise invites, send out priority invites, organise... I don't know. You get what I mean. Anybody have a BASIC absolute must do time line for me????? Any help, seriously would be so appreciated.
HUUUUUUUGS:hugs::hugs::hugs: In advance:)
Sara
Cordelia
06-05-2008, 22:30
It sounds to me like you're doing pretty well!
personally, I found those timelines really helpful. Altho some stuff was either months too early to do, or was stuff that I wasn't going to do, at least it was a starting point!
I would say with 5 months to go, everything should be booked. Start thinking about suits.... come up with a rough guest list and start designing the invitations.....
but sounds like you're just about there :yelclap:
Chunkydunks
06-05-2008, 22:42
Shoes, grooms suit and stuff. Are you having a bridal party? If so u need outfits for them. Your jewellery. I so can't remember :laughing: and it was only 2.5 years ago.
blissfullybonkers
06-05-2008, 23:07
my wedding is coming up fast too, its crazy hey!
id say depending on what your doing you need to organise:
guest list and what invitations you want
hairdresser
makeup
cars
music list-for ceremony & reception
a cake!
decorations, table settings.hire/buy/make??
shoes
sexy undies :D
bridal party clothes-BM, GM and flower girl etc
guest seating arrangement
where are you having the ceremony? do you need decos or chairs for that?
rings/jewlery(layby)
bonboneirres(eg sugared almonds)
ask someone to be MC
organise wedding vows
are you doing a sand ceremony or ring warming...
honeymoon
obviously you have a bit of time up your sleeve for this stuff but i just tried to think of anything you might have missed..
thats all i can think of for now and it has made me realise i need to get my butt into gear:laughing:
:eek:
Lwilliams
07-05-2008, 02:51
well bessieboo, how are the wedding arrangements coming now that it's May? In January you sounded like you had a pretty good handle on things. For my wedding, my music list took the longest since I wanted to have variety for all the guests.
Best of Luck!!!!
Linda
Ange&Seth
07-05-2008, 08:45
I think Bessiboo's list is pretty good!! As for your flowers, you could always do what I did - walk into a florist and say 'I've got $150 and need a bridal bouquet, 2 BMs, etc etc etc and I don't care what flowers you use as long as they fit with my colours - what can you do for me?' They said 'not a problem, come see us 2-3 weeks before the wedding and we'll get it sorted' so basically they're going to choose the flowers and do what they think will look good :D Which is all I want anyway!!
I need to :
- pay the deposit on the reception venue and sign the contract.
- have a hair trial
- choose and book cars (though I'm leaving this up to FH)
- Boys suits - again needing to kick FH up the bum to get this organised
- Choose shoes for the BMs - but I think I'll let them decide on that themselves
- Figure out how long before the wedding I need to start making the centrepieces (they're live so I need this worked out)
- Get a hoop for my dress and have alterations done
- Pay for invites so they can be made (will do that this week)
Hmm I think that's it :D
blissfullybonkers
07-05-2008, 10:12
well bessieboo, how are the wedding arrangements coming now that it's May? In January you sounded like you had a pretty good handle on things.
:eek: i dont even remember posting about my wedding in January....:o:laughing:
all is good its in september, and recently have found heaps of ways to save money on the original budget:smiliedance:
Ange&Seth
07-05-2008, 10:27
all is good its in september, and recently have found heaps of ways to save money on the original budget:smiliedance:
Good on you for cutting down the budget!! I've got ours down to just under $5000 not including the honeymoon :D What date in September is your wedding? Ours is the 19th.
blissfullybonkers
07-05-2008, 11:57
ours is the 13th :D so excited!!
MyFourCubs
07-05-2008, 12:13
my wedding is coming up fast too, its crazy hey!
id say depending on what your doing you need to organise:
guest list and what invitations you want
hairdresser
makeup
cars
music list-for ceremony & reception
a cake!
decorations, table settings.hire/buy/make??
shoes
sexy undies :D
bridal party clothes-BM, GM and flower girl etc
guest seating arrangement
where are you having the ceremony? do you need decos or chairs for that?
rings/jewlery(layby)
bonboneirres(eg sugared almonds)
ask someone to be MC
organise wedding vows
are you doing a sand ceremony or ring warming...
honeymoon
Ok, guest list just needs a fine tune. Have a friend who is going to help with invites.
Have a make up artist I have had my trial. Just need to pay deposit. She ahs hairdresser who works with her but I need to send off from and pay deposit.
MIL doing cake. have basic idea of what I want.
Think I will just go with rose petals on tables, have ordered some from florist and am going to look on ebay for centrepieces.
Cars- FH to organise.
Music list- Haven't done.
Shoes, sexy undies etc- have to go shiopping.
I think chairs etc provided for ceremony, in a garden so don't really need deco's.
Bonbonnierres- want gingerbread men. Have to organise it.
Bridal party clothrs- really difficult as one just had bub, another due in August. Any ideas??
Need to do wedding vows, have picked a couple of readings. Doind a hand blessing ceremony- just need to fine tune it.
Need to organise rings, bridesmaid presents, jewellry.
Guest seating arrangement- need to find out how many fir at a table.
Awesome- thanks, keep it coming!!!!!
By the way, don't care how many hijack this thread, all join in:) Especially with your maney saving tips!!!!:D
Thanks so much,
Sara:hugs:
Chunkydunks
07-05-2008, 13:13
Bridal party clothrs- really difficult as one just had bub, another due in August. Any ideas??
baby doll style might be good. Either that our you can choose one fabric and they can choose the style dress they want (with your approval of cause).
blissfullybonkers
07-05-2008, 23:04
we saved a bit of money by shopping around for quotes and bargaining with ppl, like with the photographer see if you can create your own package of what you want so you dont get any un-necessary extras, meals for reception try to get a flat price instead of paying p.p. and with the florist-use flowers that are in season, tell the Dj how many hours you want them for and if you dont want disco lights etc they should give you a discount too.(less to set up)
as for the BM dresses definately have a look at alfred angelo dresses(not that cheap though) they have a huge selection, its a tricky one as the one with a baby might be BF.
if i think of anything else il let you know:wave:
Ange&Seth
08-05-2008, 08:03
as for the BM dresses definately have a look at alfred angelo dresses(not that cheap though) they have a huge selection, its a tricky one as the one with a baby might be BF.
Alfred Angelo have gorgeous dresses but they take 3-4 months to arrive from the time you order them cos they have to be made so take that into account before you get your heart set on one.
- We saved money by not having chair covers at the reception - $200 saving
- SIL is doing our makeup - $150 saving (myself + 2 BMs)
- I had my dress made through a Chinese Ebay dress maker and it cost me $212 made-to-measure and delivered to my door - it's gorgeous :D
- I bought my veil ($36.50) Headpiece ($3.99), and shoes ($26.50 new) off ebay.
- We're having 1/2 hour pre-dinner canapes and just a main meal at the reception with the cake served as dessert - this is saving us about $300 on the reception costs.
That's all I can really think of now.
Hi Sara,
Congrats on the big day coming up. I was given heaps of advice, most of which I ignored:laughing: but the one bit of advice I was given that I listened to was enjoy everything about the wedding, including the preparations, cos the preparations form part of the day and if you're stressed etc, it will take the shine off. And don't worry too much if things don't go exactly as planned. I can honestly say my wedding was my happiest day, it was freezing cold, it rained, I married my soul mate, was surrounded by friends and family and had an absolute ball!!
For wedding cars, we hired 2 statesman's from Avis, and got good friends to drive the cars for us. So we had nice cars, and friends that we knew driving them, not stuffy strangers.
The BM dresses were hired, huge $$ saving.
If you don't have a headpiece yet, and would like to borrow mine, PM me, I will send you a piccy and if you like it, you are welcome to borrow it.
Good luck
Kez
MyFourCubs
09-05-2008, 12:37
Hi Sara,
Congrats on the big day coming up. I was given heaps of advice, most of which I ignored:laughing: but the one bit of advice I was given that I listened to was enjoy everything about the wedding, including the preparations, cos the preparations form part of the day and if you're stressed etc, it will take the shine off. And don't worry too much if things don't go exactly as planned. I can honestly say my wedding was my happiest day, it was freezing cold, it rained, I married my soul mate, was surrounded by friends and family and had an absolute ball!!
For wedding cars, we hired 2 statesman's from Avis, and got good friends to drive the cars for us. So we had nice cars, and friends that we knew driving them, not stuffy strangers.
The BM dresses were hired, huge $$ saving.
If you don't have a headpiece yet, and would like to borrow mine, PM me, I will send you a piccy and if you like it, you are welcome to borrow it.
Good luck
Kez
Wow, thanks for the offer on the headpiece:hugs: That is awesome. I will PM you and may take you up on it!! I agree about the stress. It's rediculous how everybody just seems to assume that stress is PART of the deal. When I bought my dress the lady told me to wait til the last minute for my dress fitting as I may lose weight from all the stress.:confused: Uh.. thanks. When I picked up the dress 4 months later she said exactly the same thing!! I mean, was she implying I NEED to lose weight????:ecomcity: Whatever.
AS for the bridesmaid dresses, I hadn't thought about hiring them and will look into it- top idea. I have looked at the ALfred Angelo dresses and found some styles we really liked, but they are seriously expensive and when I am trying to save money myself don't really think it's fair to amke my bridesmaids pay for $300-$400 dresses.
Yesterday I did book the cars and the DJ. Cars are $616 but they are fh's thing- he can pay for them!!
Hugs all,
Sara:)
I've got ours down to just under $5000 not including the honeymoon
I can't even find a venue for reception for under that!!
Might have to look on eBay for chinese dress makers, I have my dress all picked out (designed it when younger and found replica online) but it might cost me less than $550 through a dress maker, not sure but no harm in checking it out...
I've got a little longer than you ladies of course, I'm getting married in Sept 09, but in Sydney it seems you need to book at least a year in advance for everything...
I'm thinking I'm going to be lucky to get this under $10k and I didn't want to spend that much on it, would rather invest $10k into the kids then spend it all on one day of my life...
Admittedly though, the cheapest reception venue we've got a quote for so far includes:
a 2 tier cake,
3 course alternating meal,
MC,
DJ,
beer wine and soft drinks with champagne for toasts,
a "fountain of love",
guest book,
drinks and canapes on arrival,
flower arrangement (if it's what we saw when we were there it's fake flowers raised on a stand on the tables),
telegrams and song requests,
my make-up and
our wedding night accommodation in a rather fancy hotel in the honeymoon suite...
That's going to cost me $5,720. He threw in the accommodation for nothing...
If I hire a car through them it'll be $400 from picking me up to dropping us at the reception, another $150 if we want to transfer to the hotel but we can ask someone to do that...
If I get a photographer through them it'll be $1,200 with 250 shots, an album, a couple of blown up sizes including a poster size...
That's $7,320 so far... I would LOVE to have it cheaper!! We haven't located a ceremony venue yet, the church we have in mind is too far from ^^ venue...
Oh, add my dress to that and it's close to $8k and then there's still more I have to pay for...
Am thinking of going silk for my flowers but I have no idea what flowers I want, I'm not a flower kind of gal, I'm a wrestling, footy playing kinda gal and flowers quite frankly scare me!!
Then there's make-up for my BM's, their dresses (hoping for it to be my gift to them, but we have to see how the savings are going once I go back to work).
I really need to save where I can as my estimated budget (savings for the wedding start once I return to work) does not go above $9k basically and I'm at $8k with just reception and my dress, was thinking of heading to a $2 shop to see what I can muster up for bonbonierres... My MOH has offered to do our invites...
I've still got 15 months and I'm stessing, only because I know most things have to be booked a year in advance around here... I just want to have the basics sorted and the finer details can be worked out later...
Then, there's the problem of up front deposit... The reception venue (we're still trying to find a nicer, cheaper option, in a better area) will let me pay my deposit and the reception fees off, so no up front amount which is doing us a HUGE favour!!
kazandsteve
24-05-2008, 14:29
wow girls u are all pretty organised
iam getting married
20 weeks today
on the 24th ocotber 2008
i have organised
the reception
cermony
my dress
bridesmaid dress
rings
flowers
cars
cake
photographer
havent organised
jewlery-i know wat i want just have to get
flowergirl dress-waiting till closer to the weddin to get a dress for my daughter as she will be close to 2 and may have a growth spurt before then.
invites-started looking at them
decorations-little frangipani candles, brought a few as samples need to buy some more
dj-havent organised yet
suits-havent organised yet (df job)
shoes-started looking
underwear-started looking
music/songs-no idea yet
bombiers-have some ideas, either bubbles or choc hearts
also for the girls who have it under 5 grand please tell wats your secrets
so far ours is 7 and a half grand i think, but we hoping to keep it under 10
where u all getting married
we getting married at mt keir lookout and reception there also
and we havin a frangipani theme)