View Full Version : Need ideas for gift & outfit.
We have just been asked to be Godparents for our little nephew and his baptism is in 2 weeks.
I'm just wondering if anyone can suggest a good gift to give. (His grandmother is making his outfit & they have shoes organised.)
Also I would love ds to wear something special, his track suits just aren't going to cut it!! Has anyone found a nice suit or special outfit that wasn't too expensive? (He is size 0). I figure he's not likely to wear it again, so it seems silly to spend a lot.
08-04-2006, 19:45
I just put my little man in a cute button up shirt & jeans for my Godson's christenenig. Also a great pressie from the Godparents could be a " my first bible". After all it is a religious occasion!! :D
A first bible for a present is a good idea. Alternatively you could get little Christening sets of bowls etc Bunnykins or Peter Rabbit by Wegewood or Royal Doulton that are really special; a nice photo frame especially for the occasion ; for a girl perhaps a little bracelet.
I got a really cute three piece suit for our little man (complete with white bow tie) for under $100 at a Catholic shop I looked up in the yellow pages. We are not Catholic but some one suggested trying there for an outfit because I couldn't find anything appropriate at Myer when I went. It was size O but you could get them smaller and larger. The prices are very reasonable. They also had heaps of appropriate gifts at cheaper prices than other gift shops. Perhaps check your local yellow pages.
We were at a naming day a couple of weeks ago, and the "godparents" gave bubs a calico bear with his name & d.o.b embroidered on the bottom of the foot. Everyone at the ceremony signed the bear with nico pen. It looked really gorgeous and is a nice keepsake.
Even if you don't like this for a gift idea, perhaps the parents may want to do this anyway.
I DID IT!! I went on a mad runaround shopping spree this morning.... er maybe that should be waddle-around. hehe.
I found a gift - the cutest little silver spoon & fork set with teddy bears on them. I had them engraved.
I found an outfit for ds - navy pants, navy shoes and a great little white shirt. :smiliedance: I just tried it all on him and he looked soooooo cute. It's really hard to find shirts now though - even target only had 1 type, normally they have heaps.
I even managed to organise a great cake. Now I can put my feet up and have a rest. Thanks everyone for all your ideas, I love the bear idea - very individual.
That's so nice of you to do that for your godson's christening. :) I hope your little one looks really cute and you have a great time in 2 weeks! :D
Nickster
09-04-2006, 12:41
You could always write him a nice poem, Wattle....:p
But seriously now -
Hope you have a lovely time and your little man looks great.
em's mum
10-04-2006, 07:30
i know this is a bit late now, but in case anyone else is looking for a good present...
My brother and sister in law are Emily's godparents, and they gave her an "Angel Blessing Box" as a christening gift. I think you get them from Prouds and it's a velvet box that has 3 crystal (??) angels inside with a poem on the inside of the lid. I know they have a couple of different designs you can pick from.
Evangeline79
12-04-2006, 02:21
i also thought this would help, in case anyone else is looking for a good present...
My best friends bought my little girl Fay a sterling silver charm baby shoe with little diamonds hung on a simple silver necklace which she can use as a charm for a bracelet when she is older and a silver christening spoon that has a magical chime that can be used to calm and soothe. both are gorgeous and very special, I asked and they gave me the website of where they got them http://www.fabstuff.net/catalog/127.
Hope this helps.
Evangeline x
Mum to Fay born 28/02/03
Pobblebonk
22-04-2006, 09:21
Hello. I bought a suit that my son wore to his Naming Ceremony which only cost me $34 and was a white shirt, black pants and black vest. I bought a bowtie for $5. Some other places were going to charge me $100 to make the same thing for a size 000!!!
I can give you the number of the lady if you like, she's based in Bundaberg but she accepts money orders and will mail it down to you.
You can see the suit by clicking here http://www.alyandxavier.com/naming%20ceremony%20photo%20gallery.htm