View Full Version : Vomiting after formula
lil monkey
26-05-2005, 18:38
hi all,
I have just started my 4 mth old on 2 feeds of formula (NAN) a day and it seems that she spews it all up! She suffers from reflux as well and I have had to also bottle feed her expressed breast milk as she is too busy looking around to take the breast at the moment and she still spews that up but only a tiny amount whereas the formula ALL comes out!
Has anyone else had this problem???
Lu
lil monkey
26-05-2005, 21:33
I have had it suggested that I shouldn't feed her EBM as well as formula. Anyone else had this? Plus she could be vomiting as we are trying to overfeed her???
I can't help you with your main problem, but I think the suggestion that you shouldn't feed her EBM and formula is bunkum. The more breast milk she gets (in whatever way) the better (and besides, its not the bit she's spitting up :) ).
lil monkey
27-05-2005, 15:53
I just tried her on AR formula with a 3 flow teat and she went thru 130ml in less than 10 minutes so I gave her some more but she spewed a big bit up when she finished but that was it. I think we have a winner so fingers crossed it stays down. Anyone else experienced this?
lil monkey
27-05-2005, 22:00
we went to the doc this arvo and he said that since she had NAN formula before and not throw up then it isn't a fomula issue but I beg to differ. She has had 2 feeds today of the AR formula and it has stayed down a lot better than the NAN. Doc thinks she may have a virus or gastro but she isn't displaying the usual signs. I think she just has reflux still and has had it bad this week!!!
Chickadee
27-05-2005, 23:51
DD occassionally would throw an entire bottle of formula back up on me (never her dad!) and some weeks were very bad with a lot of throwing up. I never varied formulas (SMA) and always just figured she either had an upset stomach or I'd done something silly like squeeze her belly while picking her up or holding her. Or, and I KNOW I did this... I wouldn't believe she was really done and tried to get an extra 10 or 20 ml into her and wound up with the whole bottle back at me. Serves me right to have smelly formula in my hair!
Is it possible that the teat size & flow rate is making a difference? Did you change teats at the same time you changed to the AR formula. I don't know if she'd be gulping down formula faster than EBM though.
lil monkey
28-05-2005, 15:56
Hi MarthaM
No, I used the size 1 (newborn and breast fed) avent teats and she was spewing everywhere. I started her on the AR formula yesterday with a size 3 medium flow teat and when she gets EBM she is on size 1 and she has been ok so far with just little spews which is normal for her!
I am thinking she did have a virus.............!!
onabreak
28-05-2005, 19:43
Hi Taylasmum
My baby is on S26 AR formular because she had very bad reflux and would bring the whole bottle up. Once her body got used to the thicker formular she has not thrown up since, apart from a little dribble now and then. I had to use fast flowing teets with this formular as I found that she had to suck to hard through slower ones and it would wear her out. Now she just guzzles it down. She is 6.5 months old and has pretty much grown out of it. It suggest that you can go back to the normal step 2 S26 formular, but I am sticking with AR just in case. Don't want to scrub the carpet any more.
ThomasMum
29-05-2005, 06:03
howdy Taylamum
just want you to know that I breastfeed & bottlefeed Thomas as I'm planning to go back to work sometimes in the near future and he's loving them both...
I did notice that he has lots of 'winds', so plenty burping might help...
and because formula has different content than breastmilk, perhaps your lil one tries to adjust with new food...
hope our experience helps you to oversee your concerns
Thomas's Mum
-----------
:cool: Thomas A. H. L 18/02/05 at the RNSH
harun's_mum
01-06-2005, 21:57
I have had so many people advise me that I should be letting my baby boy play on his stomach to strengthen his chest and give him opportunity to teach himself how to crawl. But you see here's the problem when I put him on his stomach after a short while he starts vomitting formula in breaks every so often unless I have him on his back or laying on the rocker.
Is it reflux or normal for babies to vomit nearly all the time while on their stomachs and or even (being supported) sitting up for periods of time?
I would really appreciate some advice I dont know what to do as I feel bad not letting him lay on his stomach to play and give chances to try to crawl. :(
Whether or not this is relevant - he's been on Nestle Nan 1 bifidus since early feb, when he was born until early feb I had been bf but he was shocking under weight and not putting on weight with breast milk so thats why I stopped breast feeding and switched to bottle.
:cool: Harun Saqib 11/12/04
Both my kids have had reflux and it sounds to me as if your bub has to. Talk to your child health nurse or GP about it and if any treatment is needed. With both my kids I put them in their rocker for 10 - 15min after a feed in the hope that this would stop them from throwing up so much, I would then let them have tummy time. Both my bubs would throw up whatever position they were in so I just got use to doing lots of washing.
If it is reflux changing to a thickened formula may help.
Good luck
MamaRabbit
05-06-2005, 17:07
Hi, my little one is on Nutricia Karicare Gold he throws up "all the time" but it doesn't seem to bother him in the slightest. I have tried other formulas and he didn't take to them, particularly the thicker ones. The Early Childhood Centre advised that as long as he was putting on weight and didn't seem in pain there was nothing to worry about as it was only a matter of time before he grew out of it. I just bought one of those great pvc bibs with a little tray/pocket to capture the dribbles, it has managed to save me changing his clothes for a few hours at least.
Elle (mum to Charlie)
harun's mummy
06-06-2005, 18:44
Both my kids have had reflux and it sounds to me as if your bub has to. Talk to your child health nurse or GP about it and if any treatment is needed. With both my kids I put them in their rocker for 10 - 15min after a feed in the hope that this would stop them from throwing up so much, I would then let them have tummy time. Both my bubs would throw up whatever position they were in so I just got use to doing lots of washing.
If it is reflux changing to a thickened formula may help.
Good luck
I bought that karicare food thickener on Saturday and been using it since then, harun has got diaoreha any other brands of thickeners you can suggest ???
lil monkey
06-06-2005, 19:19
Hi Harun's mum
I think you should go to the Dr to see what they say or go to your paediatrician! This way they can maker sure all is ok with your bub as there may be a deeper problem and it will also stop you from buying everything on the shelf!!!
I know the S26 AR formula constipated Tayla so much that we had to stop it after a day. We now use the Nan gold 1ha stuff and that is ok and no more constipation problems!! But she is still on her reflux medication as well.
Hi Haruns mum
I don't know of an other thickener but I agree that you should get your Dr to check him out. The diaoreha may be unrelated to you adding the thickner but a bug or virus of some kind. Hope your little one is feeling better soon
harun's mummy
07-06-2005, 18:16
Hi, girls
Since I posted regarding harun having diahrea he is ok .
When I saw he had diahrea I stopped the thickener then his poo went back to normal.
So I dont reckon its a bug.
Glad to here your little boy is back to normal. It sounds like he may have an intolerance to the thickening agent. I wouldn't bother trying any other thickened formula as I think they all use maltodextran as the thickening agent, as long as he is not crying in pain when he throws up its not too much of a problem just a nuesence.
Good luck and happy washing
Hi I am having trouble with my twin boys when feeding them formula they seem to vomit it all up after about 30 mins - 1 hour. I have tried the reflux formula as well as lactose intolerance formula to no avail. Do I perservere with formula? I usually breastfeed the boys but I wanted to get them used to formula so that I could have a break every now and then? Any suggestions as to which formula would be best?
How old are your boys? The reason I ask is if they are between 3 to 6 weeks and throwing up all their milk in one hit after a feed it could be another problem. If this is not the case and they are still putting on weight they must be getting enough. The thickend formula doesnt work for every baby( helped my daughter but not my son) so as long as they are happy and putting on weight I wouldn't worry.
They are 11 weeks old but they were 7 weeks premmy. They only have small spills when I breastfeed but huge vomits when I feed them formula. I usually breastfeed all the time but I wanted to try formula so that I could have a break now and then and also sometimes it takes me between 1 1/2 hours - 2 hours to feed them which can get exhausting so I wanted to be able to top them up with formula.
I can totaly understand you wanting a break espesialy feeding two. I use Karicare formula and find it to be good ( no constipation problems). As I have said previously you can try leaving them sitting up for a while after a feed this can somtimes help. You might also look at the teat you are using and maybe swap to a slower teat, your boys might be getting the formula a little to quick and this cane somtimes make them throw it back up.
Best of luck my 7 1/2mth old still throws up a lot after each feed, but he still manager to put on weight so I'm happy.
Thank you for your reply. I sort of feel guilty about giving them formula because at the hospital they were adamant that I breastfeed for as long as I can but I am practically a prisoner in my own home and it makes it hard to make/keep appointments.
lil monkey
13-06-2005, 10:23
I feel exactly the same! All the CHN, midwives etc carry on about breastfeeding etc is the only way to go for the baby but if youa ren't happy then bubs will pick up on that. I finally met a lactation consultant who said to me if you don't want to do it anymore then dont. this time is not just about the baby but about yourself and your health and well being so if you feel that it is time to stop or time to start introducing formula then do it!
So, I have started to do this and boy did I feel so guilty a few weeks back but now I see the benefits and we are both so happy with the situation. Plus she is still getting some EBM in a bottle but to be honest I think she is starting to prefer the formula anyway!
You do, what's right for you and what will keep you happy as your bubs will benefit from this!
I too can understand you wanting a break feeding two and also the guilt assosciated with that. I have recently switched my bub over and I was guilty and sad about stopping BF but I was not enjoying it- my bub fed constantly and pulled on and off (very public and quite painful). A few weeks have passed and we are both alot happier and enjoying life more, not dreading the next feed