View Full Version : Grrr
lavenderpegasus
03-05-2008, 23:18
Well my DH is coming home soon, and I don't know if it's just been a really long time, and so I'm tired, sleep deprived, and lonely. But
I just can't do this anymore. I want him to come home and only go away for times less than a week and then only every month or couple of months. I dont want to be a single mum. I love him and want to share my life with him.
and of course i want leave him, i would rather do what i'm doing now than be with out him, i think that is what drives me crazy I feel I have no choice.
*anywho that was my vent* I don't mean to be rude, but please only post support not messages like I love the Navy, I would never think that... I just need support. It is my issue, but I feel lesser of a Navy wife when I hear you all so very satisfied every GDamnDay..!!!
:gloomy:lp in wa:hair:
Jodestar21
03-05-2008, 23:32
Oh lavender, i know how hard it can be. My hubby used to be away a lot too and i found it VERY hard to live with, by the time he came home i felt like i was a single person, so it was very hard to get back into being a couple again, then leading up to the next going away you get all the bad feelings again of resentment, knowing the loneliness you are going to be going through again. Arrrggghhh...i hated it so much too!!!
Its a very hard lifestyle, luckily he is now working on a project so the most he goes away is a night or two which is MUCH more manageable.
Big hugs to you :hugs:.You're a strong woman. I think anyone who can live their lives this way deserves a medal. Is he due a fair bit of time home now? Do you have family support? Friends? I know that doesnt make up for your DH being away, but helps. Hope you feel better..he'll be home soon x
earthfairy
04-05-2008, 00:11
Im soooo not satisfied with being a navy wife!!!:no:
trust me, if i could pick a job for my DH the navy would be the LAST job!
I guess the only thing that keeps me going is how excited i get when the time for him to come home gets near. I love smelling him for the first time, that first sight of eachother, the first kiss... it gives me butterflies.....
Maybe just think of those kinds of things. I dont know what else to say.......:hugs:
Anyway, i just wanted you to know that i understand how you feel & if you ever want to chat im all ears.
Keep strong hun:hugs:
woven_wings
04-05-2008, 10:03
I really look up to you navy partners, I find it hard with an army partner, but navy partners are away 3 - 4 times more than army partners.
Ive got to be honest, I really look up to you LP, from the day I came in here looking for support. I see you as a strong, brave woman and a wonderful mother.
It must be so hard, because you didnt 'sign up' to be a single mother either. I totally understand how you're feeling there. You have a hub, but he's not really a dad, because the navy takes him away from this role.
I couldnt do it, seriously I couldnt. Stick in there, you are one strong woman!
When does he get back?
Always here if you need to chat or vent! :hugs:
So sorry you're feeling that way and so close to him being home. ((hugz))
Do yourself a favour and come to Marilla House, let your bub play on a mat nearby, have a cuppa and a chat and meet the lovely ladies there. No it won't help your DH come home and stay home but it will help the time become a little easier. You'll make friends and have support. I've only been there a few times and it's so nice there. My 18mth old loves it.
Or if you want to get together for a chat we can do that .. i can give you my number if you like.
samsgirls
04-05-2008, 18:20
I feel for u mate, I really do. :hugs:My hubby is now home for a couple of months before going away in July, but he is so great with the kids, and gets up to my DD2 when she wakes at night and I can catch up on some sleep. Don't get me wrong, I miss my DH like mad when he is away. I get lonely and sad too. I find it easier to think like, he is away, but he's coming home eventually, and go about things like usual. Nights are very hard, and I am sure you agree with that, LP. When your DH comes home, u will be refreshed before his next trip away. You do just sound very tired and over it!Give KJEMum a call and go to Marilla House!:hugs:
earthfairy
04-05-2008, 20:57
LP - just wanted to stop in & see how you were feeling today....
oh, and to send you some of these
:hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:
mummyof5
05-05-2008, 10:22
and of course i want leave him, i would rather do what i'm doing now than be with out him, i think that is what drives me crazy I feel I have no choice.
:
My thoughts exactly, LP, I just wish he could be happy working at woolies or something, just so he could come home each night (we are MWD(U), so we only see him on the weekends even when he is alongside).
Even my 9 year old asked this morning why Daddy doesn't come home like everyone else dad at school does...I hate defending his job, when I really feel the same way she does, like if he loves us, how can he enjoy being away for so damn long...
So honey, don't ever feel like you are the only one, hell yes I am proud of him, but I would change it in a heartbeat if I could, as I am sure you would too.
:hugs::hugs:These are for you, cause god knows there are plenty of times when I need 'em, so I figure you do too. You've done a great job being without him for this long, feel proud of yourself, you've earned it!!
lavenderpegasus
05-05-2008, 12:01
Still having a bad time, and I have now realised that I'm an emotional eater. I have nearly put on a kilo, and i'm not eating **** but just eating. I feel blah blah blah:o
lp in wa
05-05-2008, 13:49
It must be so hard, because you didnt 'sign up' to be a single mother either. I totally understand how you're feeling there. You have a hub, but he's not really a dad, because the navy takes him away from this role.
You've hit the nail on the head!
Yesterday morning I wad THIS close to telling hubby not to bother coming home. He told me that he was out Friday night and missed the last train... so instead of getting a cab he... wait for it... SLEPT AT FLINDERS ST STATION!!!
How could he be so god-damn irresponsible? What if something happened to him? Then what happens with me, Jedd and PS? What - we pick up the pieces and carry on? No - its not good enough. Not good enough by far.
Sorry LP - didn't mean to hijack... but I too am sick of all the rubbish that we put up with, without any support from them. I married him cause I wanted to be WITH him. This is not the life that I signed up for. It's totally different to what I anticipated and its not what I want for Jedd or myself... let alone another baby.
Sorry again... I continue to ramble... :hugs: to us all :babydust2:
earthfairy
05-05-2008, 15:28
MilkOnTap you poor thing!:hugs:
How annoying!! I hate it when they do dumb stoopid things like that! They get to go away & have fun & act like d!cks & we stay at home, keep on working, paying bills, being all alone...
My DH has done soooo many stoopid things like that while away - i could just kill him! And i say the exact same thing - "what if something happened to you, what would i do?"
Geez they can be such insensitive JERKS:banghead:
Big hugs for you:hugs:
ConcernedParent
07-05-2008, 00:03
Now if anyone can overcome this it is you.
I don't blame you at all for how you feel. God knows I have been there many times. I don't want to get into the "we have a tough life" thing because I don't want us to wallow for too long... BUT one thing we wrestle with as Defence Partners is managing how to love someone who isn't actually there.
How the hell do we do it? We must be raving mad!!
There is absolutely nothing wrong or unreasonable with wanting to be around the one you love sharing the day to day moments.
You are nearly there. Hold on!! Not long now.
P.S Milk, If my DH got so P!ssed that he fell asleep at Flinders Station... something definately would have happened to him. ME bringing down that special wrath only a wife can bring!
Wright4kidz
09-05-2008, 23:09
wright4kidz
funny you should that...I felt exactly the same when my husband was deployed for 6mths to the gulf, he spent about 11 weeks of the entire year at home. I was very tired and run down and had enough. :no:
My mood soon changed when I only had a couple of weeks to wait. I suddenly became excited, and was anticipating every second of every day waiting for him to return.
I can still recall the day he returned home as well as our wedding day. :hugs:
My hubby has been land based for the last 2 years but has had to go on a couple of courses.
The funny thing is our marriage has always been based around my DH going away. I was actually anticipating the course he is on at the moment. Hoping the distance would refresh our marriage again (you know the old saying distance makes the heart grow fonder).
I knew it would only last 48hrs and then I would want him home again.
Less than one weeks into the course I am now wishing I could eat my words. I am also tired and stressed out. I have not been alone since having the last two bubbies and I am finding it very demanding both emotionally and physically.
I find my patience is stretched to the max, the kids are all missing their DD and me too. Our 2yr old who is Daddy's boy is playing up a merry treat....aaaah the serenity.
Anyway I am now working on loosing some weight and spending some time doing something for myself, even if it means excercising at home (it certainly gives me something to do on those long boring nights)
I also find excercise helps me get rid of some of the agression that builds up in side.
And let me tell you after 4 kids my body is in desperate need of a work out.
Hope all goes well. Take Care
wright4kidz - Rockingham - WA
(DH in the Navy)
Me - 33
DH - 37
DS - 6
DS - 4
DS - 2
DS - 1
Me
wright4kidz I can relate to the marriage and absence makes the heart grow fonder. I look forward to him being away at times and then think .. **** .. wish he was here cos sometimes I get a bit needy.
I have realised my worse years were when my eldest two were little and it just being a constant go go go with no relief. I ended up putting my DD1 into childcare while my DS was in preschool just so I could have a break. It's much better with one toddler and two older kids (11yo 9yo) to help out but they still drive me nutty. We have to have a roster for house jobs and i'm going to introduce a pocket money system where they have 10c deducted for say not picking up their dirty washing, hanging up their towel, leaving school bags/shoes around. At the end of the fortnight they will have an end amount and half of that has to be banked and they can spend half lol. Should be interesting. Hopefully will help them realise the value of the $
You do need that exercise to help release the stress and anxiety you get from dealing with kids 24/7 and no relief in sight except school for the eldest.
You're a real trooper having to deal with 3 little ones at home and the eldest at school now right ? It's very taxing indeed.
Oh hey, you're in Rockingham also !! I took my kids to the movies on base tonight .. with little one not staying put and wandering around grrr. When it gets warmer if you want to meet up at the pools that'd be cool .. I've been there once and met my friend there.