View Full Version : October 06 - May Chat
Gosh time seems to fly. It'll be Christmas again before we know it.
Michelle - So it could be you next? I'm betting Abbey would love having a sibling. Love her new photos on your site. Can't believe how long her hair is and those curls are divine.
I hope Abbey gets over her cold soon. Lara's had hers for a week now, luckily it's not affecting her sleep too much. Back in her cot last night and she slep over 11 hrs straight (the secret to our success is shutting her door. We used to leave it ajar, but decided to try it closed all night and whenever we have she's slept 11-12hrs straight. Why didn't I think to try that earlier :hair:)
Jackie - Keanu looks so cute in his big bed. It's great when they make decisions like when to move into a bed themselves, makes it easier on us mums.
Bec - Good luck for today. How are you feeling this time around?
Sal - Glad you are feeling a better.
Well I'm off to get the girls ready. Eloise has kinder and I'm on duty today (which means I clean and make coffee for the kinder teacher and assistant :rolleyes:) Why would I want to do that, when I avoid cleaning my house whenever I can? Eloise is so excited about me helping though.
Have a great day...
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
01-05-2008, 11:02
the toddler bed i bough off ebay...they are awesum!! the cot mattress fits on it. and very low to the ground. i did get a cars one but swapped my SIL as she thut the spiderman one was too scarey, me and dp weren't bothered so we were nice :)
it was like $100 i think from memory, it was pick up when we lived on the gold coast. i think it will do him for quite sometime, i think it says til 5 years! am happy with it :)
mind you he woke at 10pm and was very upset...it was a different cry, he lay back down but was crying, so i put him back in his cot (mind you dp woke him as he was cleaning the carpet where the cat chucked right near kes room)...so i think just small steps...if he wants to go in it great....he'll have his day naps in it...was suprised he didn't get out though!!
anyway i am going to take keanu to the park this arvo, buy a new vaporiser as the old one has packed it in....no playgroup tomorrow as ke has a runny nose...turning yellow/green...so he is staying home with daddy while i go Shopping....YAY :yelclap:
cheerio for now
hope everyone is well
Had the scan - all is good, saw the little flickering heartbeat, phew! Couldn't see it externally though, so I had to have an internal :eek:. Actually it wasn't that bad, I think having already had a baby stops that all being so scary, IYKWIM :D
But the dates have gone back a week - he reckons I'm 6 weeks 4 days, which puts my EDD at 21 Dec. Gee Christmas is going to be different this year...
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
01-05-2008, 13:44
awww Bec that is awesum...what a wonderful christmas suprise :) so excited for you!!!!
Bec that's fantastic. You certainly are going to have an interesting Christmas. Was Ella early/late/on time.? Not that that matters. Eloise was born on her due date and all pg with Lara I thought I'd go early or on my EDD like I did with Eloise. Went a week over...
I'm getting myself prepped for d!ldo cam next week. :( They said when I booked that it will be an internal, but all my other 12/13wk scan have been internal too. At least I don't spend the whole session thinking I'm going to pee myself, like when I have the 19 week scan.
Kinder helper was actually pretty good. Still had to clean, but it was very interesting to watch Eloise when she was interacting with the other kids and how she reponded to the teacher etc. She's such a goody goody two shoes (just like her mummy :p)
GeorgiaAnne
01-05-2008, 14:40
lol on the dildo cam! I'm surprised they have to do that for the 12 week scan?
Bec - That must've been great to see the heartbeat:bee: Yeah, I guess Christmas will always be different now!
:laughing: ahhhh the dildo cam, so much fun...NOT! I was horrified and tried to make light of it at my first dating scan by telling the (male!) sonographer that it would be a lot more fun if it vibrated. He just looked at me like I was a weirdo...hmmm...:o
Bec - so good to see the heartbeat - I bet that's a load off your mind. A Christmas baby - how lovely!
Sare - it's interesting to watch them in a different environment isn't it? Jet's like that at daycare with his carer and the other kids - much more placid and easygoing, does what he's told, sits still and eats all his lunch, no tantrums (clearly he saves all the drama and defiance for me LOL)
Re: closing the door - we've always closed Jet's door, I don't think there's any way he would have ever slept otherwise! Even so, I reckon I can count the number of times he's slept through on two hands :rolleyes:
How's this for a wakeup call - I got accidentally headbutted in bed by Jet this morning, and split my top lip open - blood everywhere. As I'm yelping in pain Jet's wagging his index finger at me saying 'no no, no more!' (his carer always tells them 'no more crying, no need to cry'). You gotta laugh...
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
01-05-2008, 20:49
:laughing: kimberley...hilarious!!!! love it.
well ke had his day nap in his big bed...tonight i went to put him in his cot and hr cracked it, so in the big bed he is (he got out 4 times - i was persistent and did put him in his cot on the 4th time, he cracked it big time, then went into his big bed and is fine...wonder how long he'll sleep in it tonight?)
getting a vaporiser tomorrow..ours is OLD OLD OLD...anyone recomend a particular brand? i think i have decided vicks...
ke has been a bit off his food the past 2 days...must be cos of him not feeling 100%. we have my nephews (brothers fiances boy) bday this weekend. and DP has 6 days off...wooohooo!
Hey All
Bec - glad your scan went well! I have mine this morning but think I might be a bit early for a h/b (but hope not)! Because if my silly cycles I can be anywhere between about 4 and 8 weeks!!
I am drinking water now but can't remember if I am allowed to eat??? I know it will be an internal - I had one with my early one last time too (at around 8 weeks) but I had an external at 12 weeks.
Well I have been feeling a bit sick on and off - nearly threw up on the train the past 2 mornings - yuk.
Jac - I do love the bed. We are thinking about going straight to a king single rather than a toddler bed but not sure yet.
Michelle - good luck with the baby shopping - I think it is a brave choice and I think I would consider it to if I was single.
One of my friends had a baby boy this week and he is soooo tiny! He was 8 pounds 12 but looked so big - not sure if I can cope with a tiny baby again!!! I keep getting all this mixed emotions about how much I want a baby and how scary it is and how much things will change......I am a stresser!
I have been a bit behind with the other posts but Sal I did remember seeing something about you maybe coming to Adelaide - I would love to meet up if we can work it out!
Anyway I have to run as I haven't drunk enough water yet.
Talk later.
hey Beck - you're probably already gone but I've never been told not to eat before a scan.
Good luck!
Hey All
The scan went well. I am measuring 4 weeks 6 days which is right on where I expected so unfortunately no heartbeat to see yet but it was good to see something there! So I am going to be due 3rd Jan '09.
I also got into the ob I wanted to who is apparetnloy really hard to get into so I am a happy chappy!
Kayley had her 18mth check up today and it went very well - she was impressed with the way she was putting blocks in a tower. She also had her chicken pox shots and 2nd flu shot this afternoon so it has been a busy day!
Well I have to run - keep well everyone!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
02-05-2008, 17:43
beck - awesum news...exciting.
did kaylee have any symptoms after her flu vax..keanu has recently had the 1st shot and getting his 2nd when he gets his 18 mth immunisations...he has a cold now though...went and bought a new vaporiser today!!!
well better run i just got tohave a day nap myself.
oh toddler bed going well, he got up 4 times when i put him to bed last night so i told him he'd go in his cot and he went straigh to sleep...he woke at 2.30 am and i hear him hop up and i found him at his door way, on his belly....he went back into his bed without fuss but took an hr to fall asleep...so all in all doing good...his day nay today was great, straight to sleep...when i went to check on him as i opened door i could see him kneeling at his toy box as quiet as a mouse - could tell he just woke! the fun begins lol.
cheerio for now, have a great weekend everyone
Gosh I'm exhausted. Going back to work after a week off post-surgery has made me see just how tiring and full on my weekdays are - up at 5.30am with Jet and then don't actually stop and sit down till 7.30pm! Really made me realise there's no physical way I could handle being pg at the moment, even if we were ready to TTC, I'd just be too knackered all the time.
I really don't know how you other ladies are managing it! Although maybe your DH's are a bit more helpful than mine :banghead: - I am SO over his laziness and expecting me to do everything, but that's another story!
Beck - great news about your dating scan - do they want you to have another in a couple of weeks to confirm the heartbeat etc (like I had to, with Jet) or will you just wait till the 12 week scan?
Jackie - I hope Jet transitions from cot to bed as well as Keanu has!
Michelle - bravo on not waiting for Mr Right, and sibling-shopping for Abbey - I think I'd probably be doing the same thing if I was single. In fact sometimes when I'm REALLY fed up with DH, I feel like the only reason I'm putting up with him is to get a brother or sister for Jet and then I can clear out if I've had enough! LOL. OK so that's 99% a joke...hmm...
Re: beds. We're currently shopping for a regular single bed, with a trundle - hopefully we'll pick something up this weekend, I'm looking at a couple on eBay. We'll put a safety rail on one side for a while so Jet doesn't fall out. Not bothering with a toddler bed, and a king single would be great but is too big for our little apartment! We figure that at least with the trundle one of us can still sleep in Jet's room if he's sick etc. Not that I really mind him being in our bed TBH - but the bed-hogging/ kicking/ sleep-whinging and 5.30am wakeups wear a bit thin after a while! LOL.
Great news Beck. It all starts to get a bit exciting after the scan, doesn't it?
Well I'm knackered after working today (shouldn't stay up so late watching the Footy Show). I hope you all have a great weekend...
Hello
Buggered today! I think Kayley is getting her 2 y/o molars already and has terrible nappy rash and wouldn't sleep last night by herself so ended up with me and was up at 5.15.
Jackie - Kayley always has a cold with childcare so didn't really notice any symptoms with the first one except she did go about 2 weeks without a runny nose which is a miracle for her! She seems to have no symptoms from her second dose or the varicella one yesterday (apart from the grizzles above but I don't think that is related as it has been a couple of days).
Kimba - I don't need to go for another scan unless something goes wrong - next one will be 12 weeks which ia a long wait!!
Hope you all have a great weekend!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
03-05-2008, 20:52
poor ke fell outta bed last night :no: bumped his head on the change table.
his bed only had rails that go half way down his bed.
anyway i took down his cot today and put his bed where his cot was - all good now if he does fall out, he can't bump his head!
had nephews 4th bday today, ke had a ball.
cheerio for now
Jackie - poor keanu and his bumped head. Does that mean he no longer has the option of a cot and is now irreversibly a big boy?
I know Abbey would fall out. At mum she slept on a single mattress on the floor and kept rolling under my bed and getting stuck, or under the desk, or wedging her head under the drawer knobs. Bit special actually.
Kimba - the trundle is a good idea. What kind of mattress are you getting? Innerspring or foam? I ask about mattresses as I know kids tend to make them disposable and I'm tossing up which way to go for Abbey.
Lazy DHs...you could always make him sleep on the balcony for a couple nights to teach him a lesson.
beck - Hope the ms passes without public transport incidence. Perhaps carry a paper bag just in case. Or aim at people who obviously need to bathe anyway.
Haha, my foolish child yawned, so I said nightnight, and off she trotted to my bed. Then the playschool closing song came on and sits bolt upright and yells "byeee" to the waving bear she can't see.
She's got a big thing for Pinky Dinky Doo lately too. Mmmm TV=babysitter.
I don't know what her problem was last night. Screaming for no apparent reason, legs writhing, looked and sounded like pain. The only thing we did differently last night was have a cup of cow milk before bed (she's weaned down to a wake up boobie only), but she has cow milk all the time, so I can't see why that would bother her. She is drooling up a storm so teeth must be busy. Wish she would let me look. No way am I sticking my finger in there, not THAT curious!
I've been getting revenge for the headbuts and fat lips abbey gives me. Not on purpose, but if she can hurt me accidentally, then I can do the same to her. Like turning around and my giant bottom sweeping her sideways into the wall. Or dropping noodle packets on her head because she won't get out of my way. It really is much funnier than bleeding fat lips at 5am!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
05-05-2008, 10:53
keanu was the same last night, kept waking crying...don't know why? maybe back molars?
i am going to get some satchets of toddler milk today and see if he will drink that as he will not drink cows milk anymore...he used to!
got to go shower and go do the groceries...
cheerio
xoxox
PS - no the cot is dismantled and under our bed so no going back...he has stayed in his bed tho, no dramas there....! :)
Hey girls, just thought I'd pop on and say hi before I have a nanna nap, just waiting for ABC kids arvo programs to start and for Lara to fall asleep (been in her cot for 30 mins now and still wide awake :hair:) I am seriously knackered at the moment...early morning wake ups for the loo are killing me and I really haven't been able to get any extra sleep in ages. I'm starting to get tired headaches.
No other news really. Dh's dad goes went in to hosp today to have his prostate removed. :fingerscrossed: the results come back all clear.
Jackie - Great news about Keanu sleeping so well in his bed. We used to put a blow up matress beside Eloise's bed in case she ever fell out...only happened a few times before she got used to sleeping in a bed.
Michelle - Don't you love how they wave bye at the end of a tv show. Lara will do it to any show that has music and closing credits. Poor Abbey on her restless night. I hope it doesn't happen to her again. Our girls must now be out of sleep sync because Lara is finally sleeping through. Put her down around 8.15 last night and I had to wake her at 8.45am this morning. That's never happened before.
Beck - 12 weeks will be here before you know it. I go for my 12 week scan on Thurs. I can't believe how fast it has gone. How's the m/s going?
Well I'm quickly going to help Eloise clean her room before turning on the tv and having a well deserved nanna nap. :sleeping:
GeorgiaAnne
05-05-2008, 14:39
Sare - good work fitting in a nanna nap, that's what I need today, I guess i'll have to wait for the next baby before we get time for that :D
Hats off to co-sleepers, I don't know how you do it. We were away down near Berry for the weekend for a wedding staying in a cold weatherboard farmhouse with no central heating so we rugged Sophia up but she still had cold hands?
Anyhoo, the alarm at work went off so they rang dh's mobile, then mine, then my manager phoned blah blah, all this at 3am which of course woke Miss up and we thought we'd bring her to bed with us. Big Mistake!!!!! It was a double bed and dh is 6 foot 4 and i'm pg and she is a wriggler - bad combo and she was also obsessed with my cold nose and kept on reaching out for it. It took about 1.5 hrs to get her back to sleep then she kept on waking up, seeing me and saying "mummy mummy" in her cute voice. Not an experience I wish to repeat in a hurry!
re: toddler beds, I am not in a hurry for this transition :p
Jet is currently obsessed with the Wiggles (or Wuggoosh as he calls them :laughing:) Some mornings it's the first word he says on waking! People told me it would be inevitable, but I was hoping it wouldn't happen so soon...or at all. He can spot anything vaguely Wiggles-related at 50 paces and whinges for it - while we're trying to work out what he's spotted - like the tiny Wiggles picture on the boxes of Weetbix Kids at woolies today!
For the first time ever he wanted to go on the Wiggles $2 ride at the shopping centre today and made us do it THREE TIMES, and then chucked the hugest tantrum when we finally dragged him away - kicking and screaming all the way back to the car. Don't you love 19 month olds :D
At least I can put a Wiggles DVD on as a babysitter and get a bit of a break - very handy when he's up at 5.30am, I can go back to bed :sleeping:. Thank god for TV, hey?
I think we have 2yo molars coming through too because he's sucking and chewing on his blanky constantly (yeah, gross, I know) and has bright red cheeks. Can't feel anything cutting through yet though...
I got the trundle I was looking at on eBay, so we pick it up this weekend. Going to IKEA to get some mattresses - Michelle we're going for innerspring, but not the expensive kind (at least not till after toilet training and 'accidents' are over LOL), IKEA has a basic innerspring one for about $60 and some other slightly better ones around $99-149 so we'll check them out on the weekend. Not that I expect Jet will want to sleep in 'his' bed yet anyway, not when he can kick Mummy all night! but we can start getting him used to the idea.
Georgia - LOL at the disastrous co-sleeping - Jet used to be like that too, we couldn't stand having him in bed with us but after going to Indonesia and bedsharing there, he's heaps better. Mind you he still kicks and whinges and wriggles, and I'd much rather have the bed to ourselves!
Sare - hope that all goes well for your FIL today and that removing the prostate spells the end of it all. Jet also says bye-bye and waves as soon as he sees the credits roll, it's so cute. Yay on Lara sleeping through - I wish Jet would!!! He's waking at least twice (and that's on a good night) at the moment.
Jackie - Poor Keanu and his bumped head! I bet it won't happen too many more times, they're pretty smart little cookies. If Ke's eating cheese & yogurt etc I wouldn't worry too much about the milk? Jet is the opposite - he'd guzzle it all day if I'd let him, and still cries for 'mook' when he wakes at night (screams if he doesn't get it :rolleyes:) so I've started watering those midnight bottles down...
Michelle - LOL at the bum swiping revenge. I know Jet will fall out of a big bed too, so that's where the trundle should come in handy - we can either start him on the lower bed, or just pull it out so if he does fall out he'll have a soft landing. LOL at Pinkydinkydoo - I quite like her! Jet ignores her but likes Wow Wow Wubbzy. For now.
Beck - How are you feeling? How's Kayley doing? When Jet reacted to his 12 month needles he was OK at first then got worse a couple of days later, and then sick for a week, so maybe it could be a delayed reaction for Kayley? Mind you, I'm blaming everything on molars at the moment too...hopefully they'll be over and done with for all our kids ASAP!
SalTheGal
05-05-2008, 19:33
Hey ladies....well silly old me has been wondering why everyone is so quiet- probably becuase I have been watching the april thread! Duh!! :doh:
SO I can't even remember what I updated you with last...
Latest is I am quite worried bout Nedd::no:
Since having gastro week ago he has been totally off his food- will have a mouthful here or there, but nothing much, not even all his faves such as yoghurt, can't even tempt him with sweet biscuits. Also his poo has turned a creamy white colour, and whilst not runny enough to be classed as diarhhoea definitely not as firm as it should be.
He is a real trooper, and generally ok, but still not 100% his usual chirpy self, and seems a lot more tired than usual....Mothers instinct is telling me something isn't right so I am taking him to the Dr's in the morning- I am sure she will tell me it is just left over effects from the bug he had, but I just feel that there is more to it than that...I intend to take a stool sample along so that I can push for testing to be done.
Apart from that same old same old.
Nedd does the waving bye at the end of every tv show too...very cute.
He has stopped giving us kisses which I am very sad about, he has learnt to blow kisses and does that every time we ask instead....I hate it! So I have started bribery which seems to be working, and trying to teach him the difference between a real kiss and blow kiss.
On a very exciting note I am getting my implanon removed tomorrow- I want to chart my cycle for a few months so I can see where I am at, part of the experience of actually "trying" this time round, rather than the unexpected surprise.
We signed our house contracts tonight, building permits should be through by next week- then its all systems go.
DH and I are still "just" functioning...we are booked into counselling next week to try and get some kind of happiness back into us.
Blah :ecomcity: thats enough about me!
Georgia, I could never co-sleep all night either! We get Nedd into bed with us if he wakes before 6am and will not resettle- except that usually means, him and me on my side, DH gets a side to himself, and Nedd ends up sideways, I hug the edge of the bed.
Sare, sorry to hear you are so tired...I can't even begin to imagine how you are all doing it, specially those with more than one. Glad to hear though that you have got Lara's sleep sorted....don't you hate it when it is a simple solution! Goodluck to your FIL.
Re beds- we are not even thinking about going there yet...I want Nedd confined to his cot as long as possible!
Hey is anyone else still watching Baby Einstein dvd's? We still watch one every single morning- it is a fantastic part of our morning ritual, Nedd and I snuggle under a blanket on the couch whilst I have my cuppa and we go through an episode- he is learning so much from the 1yr+ ones now- no matter how late we are running it is one thing that happens every morning- I love it! :hugs:
Kimba, Thats very cute with Jet and Wiggles...Nedd isn't interested in them, but is Thomas mad, and similarly goes nuts whenever he spots any Thomas paraphanalia.
Michelle, you go girl on the providing a sibling for Abbey, all power to you....I wouldn't be putting my life on hold if I were in your shoes either. The fact that my DH and I are potentially about to kill each other on a regular basis but I still want to TTC is testament to that.
Beck, I am coming to Adelaide Sunday night, but I will PM you with more detials....can't wait to catch up!
OK, that is totally enough chitchat from me, hope I haven't bored you all too much. Take care all. xox
him and me on my side, DH gets a side to himself, and Nedd ends up sideways, I hug the edge of the bed.
:laughing: yep that's us, every night - Jet goes down in his own cot but always ends up in our bed from about 10-11. Just as I get settled into bed every night and start drifting off, hoping he might sleep through for once, he starts yelling! he has a 6th sense I think...
Re: Baby Einstein. Jet always completely ignored them when he was younger so I've never bothered. Maybe I should dust them off, I think I was given a couple aimed at his age group...hmm where are they...
Hope that Nedd is OK Sal, and also hope the counselling helps you: DH and I are going through that too. And I agree with you about not putting your life on hold and still TTC - at least no matter what happens you'll always have your kids to love.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
05-05-2008, 20:59
sal - hope the counselling helps...:hugs: and u can find that spark again!
baby einstein in this house is the bees knees as well...and also elmos world...he LOVES LOVES LOVES it!!! and anything with elmo on it - i am definitley going to go to the effort and make an elmo cake for his 2nd birthday!!!!
hope that ned is ok sal...go with ur instinct and don't let them blow you off. mind you keanu has been so off food lately, even sweet bikkies as well...tonight tho he ate a full bowl of mashed veges...feeding himself. he had a bit on his face...but all in all did an awesum job and i was VERY proud :yes:
he is fast asleep..so far the toddler bed has been an easy transition :fingerscrossed: it stays that way.
off to wath tv and relax...
cheerio for now
ps - still in the convincing stage of TTC!!!
GeorgiaAnne
05-05-2008, 21:37
:hugs: to poor Neddles, I hope he feels better soon. Sophia gets the funny poo after gastro as well, I think it's maybe the milk? Good luck also with the counselling. I think it is very normal though to go through stages where there isn't a spark as it is hard to be with one person but as long as trust and honesty are there i'm sure you'll get through it :hugs: Or I say bugger the trust and honesty and just have a few drinks, a good night out and a better time later ;)
SalTheGal
06-05-2008, 07:10
Thanks Georgia, I am glad you said that about the milk as since Nedd has been off his food he has been having atleast twice as much milk- so you may be onto something there!
And re the having a few drinks and a better time later: we even managed to have a blue mid "getting it on" the other night, and gave up half way through due to our row. :laughing: :rolleyes: Honestly we are our own worst enemies- we can't even get that right at the moment!! :hissy:
But you are right- we do have trust and honesty and lots of love, so we aren't worried about not getting through it- just need some help to find our way out.
GeorgiaAnne
06-05-2008, 09:02
Sorry I had to lol about your half time row, that's no fun at all for anyone :hugs: I'm sure you guys will work it all out though and good on you for getting help.
Sal - how on earth do you have a row mid playtime? I've argued about who should be on top, or stopped half way through because I was being silly and annoying, but no fights. Imagine the time saving if you have a row and make up sex at the same time.
Glad you're off to counselling, and hope it all gets back on track soon.
You'd be excited about taking out the implanon too no doubt. And the house. Two steps closer to ttc! When I charted I used a webby called Fertility Friend, it was free then and did all the counting and graphing for me.
Baby Einstein dropped by the wayside quite a while ago. I lost her favourite dvd, then found it again, but it was scratched and skipped and I never got around to fixing it. She does sit and watch stoner kids shows like Teletubbies and The Night Garden, so she probably would enjoy her Einstein back. Im going to tape some Pinky DinkyDoo instead though. I used to call her that as a nickname but every time I do she runs to the couch, sits and points to the tv.
Kimba - you're in counselling too? You know what I think it is? We become mothers and stop putting up with unacceptable behaviour we tolerated for years hoping they would grow out of it, but now we realise they never will, and can see too many similarities between toddler behaviour and naughty man behaviour.
I'd rather Abbey go crazy of the "Wuggoosh" than "Dodd-ee" the retarded dinosaur. Wiggles songs are awesome, I rock out and Abbey watches, stunned. I was doing the Eagle Rock the other day. She doesn't show interest in the rides yet thank goodness. Much too wussy. I took her and Owen to the park yesterday, nope, Daddy isn't allowed to put her on equipment either. She won't do that type of thing unless she can get on and off herself.
Co-sleeping- the H position is standard for toddlers. Nothing you can do about it except shove them out. Or shove hubby out and make it a more spacious T. I don't know how couples co-sleep with more than one child, gotta be crazy!
Sare - go the nanna nap every day you can. Hope your FIL is clear now, and you can get some rest. Just look forward to how great you will feel (and look) during the 2nd trimester!
:wave: all,
I pop in and visit everyday, I just don't always have the energy to type anything :laughing:
We've been flat out here since DH has been home. We're trying to do as much with the boys as we can. eg. playcentres, timezone, playgrounds, bike rides, etc. They seem to be very active little boys, and always have to be on the go!! Thank god DH has a bit more energy than me, and encourages me to keep at it all day....Mind you, I'm bl00dy exhausted by the end of the day though!! Took them all to McDonald's for lunch today - they thought they were quite special lol. We never eat in, usually take away, so it was a little exciting!
Today, I've been in cleaning/nesting mode once again, and removing all the fly wires, cleaning them, and cleaning windows inside and out. This would want to stop soon.....It's too tiring also :laughing:
Other than that, all is going ok here. I'm just getting bigger and bigger, and almost starting to feel uncomfortable.....almost, but not quite. I have to enjoy the pregnancy as much as I can, seeing as though it's 'probably' the last!
Michelle: I was using FF for the month before we TTC this one. It didn't pick up my ovulation time though, and couldn't pick up on the pregnancy. It was a little more confusing to me as I just expected it to tell me everything, iykwim, and it didn't. Still good though.
Sal: lots of big :hugs: to you. I know exactly how you're feeling. I'm happy for you though that you and DH are going to counselling. No matter how bad things get here now and then, my DH refuses to seek help from anybody. It's a positive step for you both and hopefully, you'll be back on track in no time.
How did little Nedd go at the Dr's today? Hope is all ok, poor little fella.
Sare: Hope all went well with the FIL op. Good on you for getting a nanna nap in!! I was only lucky to get enough to count on one hand with this pregnancy, and could almost curl up everyday and sleep forever......But, I have 3 children that don't give me the chance too!! Enjoy! Hope you're feeling ok now too.
I'd better go and find DH. He thinks that because he's had the boys out for a bike ride, that he's allowed a rest time :laughing: Who is he kidding??
I feel like I've been really quiet in here lately, just reading and disappearing! But I'm in the office by myself right now so it's all good:D
Still feeling sick and exhausted but so happy about it all that it's actually really good! Very lovey with DP lately. Lol at the interrupted BD though, this morning I jammed Ella in front of the TV with her breakfast (which I've never done before!!) cos DP and I hadn't laid a hand on each other for over a week and we were desperate! She gets fruit and toast, and halfway through there's a little tap on the door - "mummy, finished fooot" - she just wanted to give me the container, then toddled off back to her toast! How are we going to coordinate this with two kids?? (maybe we won't want to by then:laughing:)
Sarah, I kind of want four kids too, it's good to have you on here as a view into that life! Sounds busy enough without the nesting :eek:
Michelle, Ella doesn't use the H shape, but she likes to sleep on your arm, and then rotate like a crazed rotisserie chicken the whole time... still better than lying awake in my bed wondering when she'll go back to sleep in her cot though. Who's pinky dinkydoo? We have a Micky Mouse Clubhouse and Numberjacks fan here. Gets me half an hour in the morning or at night to do stuff when necessary! Micky allows me to get tea ready in fact as he's on at 5.
Hey Sal, :hugs: with the marital troubles. I think it's pretty amazing you are both going to counselling in the first place, a very good sign that he's committed to the relationship (well how hard is it to get a man to go to the doctor, for example??) Was it you that asked me about Ebay ages ago? I find it great for making money out of my fashion mistakes, but plus size clothing, especially some brands, is a good seller. Not sure about normal sizes though.
Kimba, Ella loves the Wiggles (WEEE-gools!) too, even when she'd only seen our one and only DVD once! I love them cos she's so much more active watching them than any other show. She dances and jumps around, so cute! Good luck with the trundle bed.
Jackie, hope Keanu recovered from his head bang ok! Sounds like he's doing so well with the big bed though. Isn't it great when they can feed themselves...SO much easier (if more time consuming, gotta love that asserted independance. NO mummy don't help!)
Well that might do!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
06-05-2008, 17:51
i have just applied for the bachelor of early childhood/primary teaching, externally through murdoch university....wish me luck! :)
Good luck! When do you find out?
:crying: Had a huge scare with little J tonight! I was out in the garage putting the washing in the dryer and he followed me out. We were on our way inside, when he tripped and fell over onto his drink :eek: Of course, it was a straw drink wasn't it? So, he starts screaming, as you would, and I race to pick him up. It was like instantly, he had blood pouring, and I mean puring out of his mouth. It was just terrible. Raced inside, as fast a pregnant chick can, and grabbed a face washer. At this stage, DH has come to see what the commotion is all about. As quick as he was rinsing the face washers, little J was soaking them with blood! I couldn't see where exactly the blood was coming from, but it just kept coming. I rang Mum, and she came straight over. It turns out, that the straw of his cup has quite badly scraped the roof of his mouth. He's going to be a sore little boy tomorrow, and I'm thinking now perhaps he shouldn't go to daycare for the last time on Thursday as he may get an infection. Poor little man....he cried for so long, and the amount of blood was so scary. I cried with him :crying:
Oh, I also managed to bleach the knees of my most comfortable maternity trackies today :hair: That'll teach me to clean the shower with my pants on!!
Jackie - Good luck!
Bec - Great to hear that all is going well! Perhaps you're having another girl?? I've heard that one can't get enough of *Ahem* you know what, when pregnant with a girl...no, no such luck for my DH here!! I actually think it's a myth, lol!!
Off to my nice warm bed now to watch All Saints
Wiggles are a HUGE hit here, Kayley says some of the owrds now and does parts of the dances - she loves them. But we still do have baby einstein on in the mornings but they don't glue her to the TV anymore. Kayley has discovered the computer lately once she realised mum can put wiggles and Ollie on. She rund up and just keeps saying up please until she is allowed up!
Sal - good luck with your counselling. It is a good sign you are both willing to try.
Sare - hope the operation went/goes OK.
Sarah - poor Jarvis with the straw. It is sooo hard when our little ones are hurt!
Jackie - good luck with the course. Are you ging to do it part or full time? I have a friend who has just started a primary teaching degree and started FT but has gone down to part time as it was stressing her too much with the 2 kids as well.
Becbabe - lol on the touchey feely!! A week doesn't sound that long to me these days!!! Actually if DH is anything like last time then we wont be doing much for up to a year as he didn't want any of that when I was pg - I think it freaked him out a bit.
Sal/Georgia - Kayley has creamy white poo after her being sick on the weekend. I think it was because all she had that day was some dry buscuits then a bottle. I think she had a runny one at childcare today (changed smelly clothes) but she ate tea tonight so must be nearly back to normal.
Kimba - I am not sure if Kayley's sickness was to do with her shots or not but she does appear a lot better now - hoepfully will stay like that for a few days.
Well as for me I am SOOOOO tired. I do long days on my work days and am really feeling it at the moment. Feeling sick on and off but not too bad at the moment. I do feel like my tummy is a little bloated already which seems way to early but I have been eating a lot so it could be food related!
Well girls. I have to run - have a good one!
SalTheGal
06-05-2008, 20:47
Hey all, just a quickie as I am off to bed....
Sarah- what a fright for you, and poor J, hope he is feeling better soon, youch- I cringed just reading your post.
Thanks for all the wishes re DH and I, we have been to counselling before a couple of times- actually surprising, DH is really into it, I think he saw the first time how helpful it was- it basically got us back together and set us on the course of spending our lives together, so if ever things get rough we are both all for it before it gets too bad. I am such an advocate and reccommend it to so many people...its interesting that people will avoid it till last straw, its like there is a stigma attached, but I personally think it is really healthy.
Anyway- Dr's this morning, she is certian that Nedds lack of appetite/funny poo is residual effects of gastro, and we are leaving it for another week to see how he goes....she did assure me to just keep offering him his usual food- its not going to kill him if he goes without dinner!!
I got my implanon out too! Do you think I should actually tell DH that I can basically fall straight away- he would totally beleive me if I told him we are safe for a month....hmmmm, nah I actually want to be able to chart for a month or two first anyway, thanks for that link Michelle, I am checking it all out tonight.
OK....night all, and take care.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
06-05-2008, 20:57
it is so great sal that u both want the same thing - that is great in itself...that you both agree to go and know it will help...!! hat of to you guys!
i will study p/t and it is externally...so no need to put ke into care...when i have to do pracs we'll wrangle it, maybe even fly my mum or MIL over to look after ke and help out while i'm doing it....but i have to get in first lol.
poor little J and the straw....it is so sad when they hurt themselves...big :hugs:
Just a quick one from me, while I'm waiting for the washing machine to finish.
Sarah - What a horrible scare. Poor little Jarvis. It must be nice having dh around to give you a bit of a break during the day.
Sal - Good on you guys for taking the time to work at your marriage. I'm glad Nedd is ok and hopefully he gets his appetite back soon.
I've used fertility friend three times before, and twice have ended up falling pg :D It's easy to use, just a bit of a pain temping at the same time each morning. I had started temping 1 month before getting pg with this one, but I stopped because we were on holiday (with no access to a computer) and look what happened to me.
Beck - I have definitely found that the tiredness get worse with each pg... other kids to keep you on your toes.
Jackie - You're crazy...primary teaching!!!! No really it's a wonderful, rewarding job (just exhausting and demanding at the same time). I am lucky that I can say I love my job. Good luck, when do you find out if you get in?
Kimba - Hope Jet starts sleeping through again soon. The night wakings really are the pits. How are you feeling now after your op?
Wiggles are ok here, but nothing beats Hi-5. Not my cup of tea, but with an older sister who likes them, Lara really had no choice.
FIL op went well. He gets his results back on Friday, but the drs are pretty optomistic that the cancer was contained to the prostate. :fingerscrossed:
Hi to everyone else.
I'm off to put another load of washing in and then hewad off to bed.... Night...:sleeping:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
06-05-2008, 21:58
sare - apparently they will get back to me asap as i applied directly...just got to send some documents in.
you are a primary teacher yes? do you work p/t or f/t? what is the prep and planning like - i.e do you take much home? um....
i have been a qualified childcare assistant for 3 years before keanu came along - it can't be much more exhausting than that can it - i am worried now lol...childcare is rewarding but exhausting...i just dont think i could go back to changing bums, tantrums, the endless crying etc....i will do it with my own, but not in childcare...hope that makes sense??
just looked at ur sig and youe EDD is keanus brithday!!!!! crazy!
to add i have enquired about teacher aide courses as well - not sure if to do this first and see what it is like ?
I only work one day a week, and the work load is not too bad. I spend maybe on average an hour a week planning and preparing. That being said I haven't even had to think about reports.
I haven't worked full time since before I had Eloise. I used to work crazy hours. I'd get to school before 8am not leave until 5 or later (depending on how many meetings I had a week) most nights and then come home and did anything between an hour and 3hrs work at home at night, depending on the time of year. Report time is crazy since all the assessment and marking that you have to do. But despite all that, I think it is extremely rewarding and you get to see the rewards each and every day.
Guess what guys, it's 9.20am and Lara is still asleep. I wish I started off closing her bedroom door and maybe then I would have had 18 months of reasonable to good sleep :p
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
07-05-2008, 09:46
lol sara...we close keanus door each morning if we are up before him.
thanks for the info...having a family i worry it will impact on my family...the hours and the time put in...i don't want to take that away from my family IYKWIM...that is my main concern really...when it comes to my decision...i know all jobs require work and extra hours...
we are off to a bub hub meet at a park this morning...:)
:wave: Sare....did you have your scan today?? How's things?
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
08-05-2008, 09:55
yeh how was ur scan sare?
well i decided to opt for cert III in teacher aide (i might go on to do my diploma)...so i am studying externally, but the tafe isn't far from where we live....in my heart this is what feels right...maybe down the track ill opt for teaching who knows!!
all is well here, no news to report...
except i am not going back on nuvaring...so condoms for us...or maybe a baby :laughing: dp said the other night 'i'm not yet 100% convinced, but if you don't want to get the nuvaring again then don't' as i was saying if we are going to TTC then i don't want to waste the money on another one next week...he he he...
How long do you leave bub to go to sleep on their own, chatting and singing? And how are you supposed to know they haven't pooped and are waiting to be changed?
Abbey spent an hour this morning singing (dugga dugga dugga ooo oo oo) and calling that she was stuck, but she doesn't say any recognisable word for stinky pants. So by filling her pants (completely intentionally and manipulatively) she wins the naptime battle.
Poo is not supposed to be a weapon! Unless you are a monkey.
Eh, I'm just annoyed at the night we had too. It was fine and normal, until she started squiggling at 3am and I patted her, only to find she was wet through her sleeping bag. Its been so long since we've had to do a nighttime change she was really confused about what I was doing, looking despairingly in the unfolded washing, resorting to a disposable, putting daytime play pants on her inside-out, then telling her it was still bedtime. Sure mummy, bedtime. Good joke!
How does the closed doors thing work? Do you still use the monitor, or just can't hear complaints so they go back to sleep?
Sarah - what a fright you must have gotten! J too. It must have been one of the hard straws? I think all Abbeys are soft and squidgy. Hard straws she pulls out and shakes her drink onto the floor to play in the 'pubble'. She does run around with pencils, chopsticks, the occasional screwdriver...I'm a wonderful mother!
Beck - does she do parts of the actual dances? Thats great. Abbey can only dance 2 ways: bobbing up and down, or waving her arms up and down while bobbing. All song actions get the same arm wave.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
08-05-2008, 12:40
re sleeping - sorry i have no advice...keanu is a good sleeper...he does wake thru the night but goes straight back to sleep. hmm we don't close the door and we don't use a monitor (dp closes the door when he gets up of a morning if ke is still asleep)...
sometimes i think let them have a winge for a bit, see if they settle and if not then get up and go in...sometimes i go to get up and by the time i have got out of bed keanu is quiet so i just leave him.
yesty he sang and talked during his day nap...and likewise he didn't have a nap....!!!
How long do you leave bub to go to sleep on their own, chatting and singing? And how are you supposed to know they haven't pooped and are waiting to be changed?
Abbey spent an hour this morning singing (dugga dugga dugga ooo oo oo) and calling that she was stuck, but she doesn't say any recognisable word for stinky pants. So by filling her pants (completely intentionally and manipulatively) she wins the naptime battle.
Poo is not supposed to be a weapon! Unless you are a monkey.
Eh, I'm just annoyed at the night we had too. It was fine and normal, until she started squiggling at 3am and I patted her, only to find she was wet through her sleeping bag. Its been so long since we've had to do a nighttime change she was really confused about what I was doing, looking despairingly in the unfolded washing, resorting to a disposable, putting daytime play pants on her inside-out, then telling her it was still bedtime. Sure mummy, bedtime. Good joke!
How does the closed doors thing work? Do you still use the monitor, or just can't hear complaints so they go back to sleep?
Sarah - what a fright you must have gotten! J too. It must have been one of the hard straws? I think all Abbeys are soft and squidgy. Hard straws she pulls out and shakes her drink onto the floor to play in the 'pubble'. She does run around with pencils, chopsticks, the occasional screwdriver...I'm a wonderful mother!
* Usually J will cry if he has a poo and he's been waiting for me for too long, lol! He always seems to manage a poo right before his arvo sleep, which then sets him back half an hour, then he doesn't go to sleep for another half an hour after that :doh: It's purely on purpose also!! So, I've started making his arvo nap a little later, hoping he does his poo beforehand and doesn't stuff me around!
* I just partially close J's door. I can't bring myself to allow it to snib shut....it just scares me. I still have the monitor on as he is at the other end of the house. If he's annoying me though, like grizzling when he should be asleep, I just turn it off so I can't hear him!
* What a bad mummy I was.....J's straw was once squishy....until he bit the squishy stuff off :( I did buy him a new cup, but he doesn't like drinking his milk out of it, so I was letting him have his dangerous cup just for his milk. It was thrown out immediately after his accident like it should have been a week or so earlier :doh:
Had a bit of full on news yesterday. I had a call from my younger sister letting me know that someone had run up her bum whilst at the traffic lights. She's ok, thankfuly, but her car will need some work. I had just gotten off the phone to her, and received a message from my older sister telling me that her DH had been hit by a car whilst he was riding his bike :eek: He's had tests, x rays, etc today, and it's looking like he has broken ribs, and a collapsed/punctured lung. I'm really hoping that things don't happen in 3's in this case!!
On a brighter note - I'm going to see Kasey Chambers in concert tonight :smiliedance: So excited! I've been listening to the new album for last week or 2, getting myself all prepared to sing along!!
Ok, have to go and get ready. Have some washing to fold before picking the boys up, and I wouldn't want DH to panic thinking he had to do the washing and have the kids :rolleyes:
Well the scan went really well. Out of the 3 kids, this one was by far the most co-operative, hopefully that translates to a good baby :laughing:. The scan only took about 15 minutes. The 4D was amazing. The scan gave me an EDD of the 13th of Nov, but they left it as the 18th from the erlier scan. :fingerscrossed: that I don't go over again. I really don't want to be induced again, I'd much rather labour at home.
We had such a busy day today. Left home just before 8 for the ultrasound, went from there to take Eloise to Kinder. While she was at kinder, Lara and I went shopping for mum's mother's day pressie and lunch. Thenm we picked Eloise up and headed straight to our local indoor play centre to catch up with our Mother's Group. Lara slept there for about 1.5hrs, which was a bonus. We eventually got home around 5.15pm. Eloise was exhausted and in bed by just after 6pm.
Jackie - That's a great way to work out if you really want to do teaching. Working as an aide in a classroom, you will get to see the workload of the teachers and see if you think that it will affect your family life.
Michelle- I shut the door and put the monitor on, but don't put the reciever on at our end. The only reason that I put it on is because it's a movement monitor too and I would hear the alarm from our end of the house if it were ever to go off. Oh and Lara does the poo to avoid sleep. I try to give her 15 mins after lunch to play and poo before I change her and put her down for her nap. It's sooooo much easier when they are toilet trained. :yes:
Sarah - Have a great time tonight. I'm debating whether to get tickets to see the Whitlams with the Melb Symphony Orchestra, but it's late Sept and I'll be around 34 wks pg, so not sure if I'd really enjoy it.
Hope your sister and BIL are ok. Hopefully there's no 3rd.
Better go dh wants to use the comp tonight as he has to take tom off work while I work :laughing: (can't wait to get home and see how he coped. He's never had the 2 of them all day by himself before...I'm going to stay at work for as long as possible)
Take care...
SalTheGal
08-05-2008, 19:39
Ok firstly Sarah I am so jealous! I love love love Casey Chambers, hope you have an awesome time….:goodvibes:
And that’s really tough about your family and the accidents, hope your BIL is ok….that’s scary.
Michelle- I am pretty cruisy bout most things, but the one thing that absolutely frightens the sh!t out of me is when Nedd gets around with pencils, forks etc etc….and he does it all the time, I have nightmares about what might happen.
Nedd will often lie for ages awake and as long as he is not grizzly then I leave him be, although I have the added luxury of him telling us in no uncertain terms “pooooooo poooooo poooooo” and patting his bum when he has a dirty nappy- suffice there is no confusion there.
We shut the door here- but in this old heap the walls are paper thin so we hear everything, not good since we are usually trying to block out his head banging….he will be down the other end of the house when we move and I can’t wait!
Speaking of house- I *think* :rolleyes: we will be starting in the next week….DH is starting to book contractors in so its very exciting!
Jackie- Goodluck with your course….I would love to be a teachers aide, I think it would be a very rewarding job.
Sare- glad to hear your scan went well….do you think you’ll find out what you are having? (I can’t remember if you’ve said or not)
Um just a quick q’s bout fertility friend- do I actually need to go out and purchase aBBT thermometer? I am presuming that’s a stupid q’s- but though there might be some magic way around it.
Nedd has magically decided he is ready to eat again, last night DH sat and “supervised” his eating, and surprise he ate it all, plus polished off half of mine too, this morning he had two bowls of cereal and a piece of toast, everything I sent to daycare, and scoffed his dinner broccoli and all tonight. So I think crisis is over! :thumbsup:
I have concerns about daycare at the moment: My daycarer is lovely, she has been brilliant- specially when Nedd was younger, but now I am starting to have reservations.
She rarely sends them outside, and every time I turn up she has the tv on (wiggles/dora/hi5 dvds), whatever I send Nedd to eat she seems to offer him the biscuits/processed foods first, and he will often come home with his fruit uneaten. She also leaves them unattended a bit now that they are all older- Nedd is the youngest. A few weeks ago I turned up at a unexpected time to drop Nedd off and one of the kids (3.5yr old) opened the door to me :eek: she was out the back hanging washing on the line….imagine if Nedd was there and went racing out the front door, or it could have been anyone there! Eeeek. :(
So- I am really not confrontational, and in all other aspects she is fantastic, I really don’t know what to do…if I casually mention that Nedd loves to go outside or that I have packed his beany then surprise surprise they go outside that day. I just don’t know if it is worth saying anything. I am catching up with a couple of the other mums in a couple of weeks for a coffee so I will ask them what they think and maybe go from there.
Apart from that all same old, same old…so looking forward to the weekend, DH has no footy on so we are having a weekend at home, I have so much to do, the place is a pigsty!
What is everyone doing for Mothers day? I have not mentioned it really- thought it would be interesting to see what DH comes up with, and since he hasn’t actually asked me if I want to do anything I think I am going to be disappointed….
Take care all. :wave:
GeorgiaAnne
09-05-2008, 12:58
Hiya ladies
re: mothers day, i'm gonna wait and see what dh comes up with. As long as it involves a sleep in i;m happy
re: poo to avoid sleep - yep, all the time cheeky monkey!
Sal - re: your day care, i'd definitely say something. It's pretty important to say how you feel otherwise it will keep on bugging you. Fingers crossed for the house!
Sare - I reckon you should go to the Whitlams - it's not like there'll be a mosh pit! I'm so sure you're having a boy :detective: My l.o was much more co-operative than Sophia as well, maybe a boy thing?
Sorry just a quickie as I should be doing some work but all is well here and this time in 2 weeks i'll be moving :eek::eek:
Hope everyone is well.
Jackie - sounds like a good choice then if you like it and want to do more you always can. Otherwise you can stop thee if it suits you!
Sare - congrats on the scan. I have about 6 weeks to wait which seems like forever!! I am sure it will go fairly quickly though. Last time I had an early viability scana t around 8 weeks so saw the heartbeat etc. Because my dating scan was only 4w6d I didn't get to see that which is a bit disappointing so I think the wait will feel longer.
Sal - we are supposed to be starting to build next week too finally - YAY! I wonder how Mary-Anne is going with hers? I hope there are no major issues and we are all in and settled well before bubs is due. I think it is going to be hard enought getting Kayley to adjust to a new bub as it is. Went and held my friends new bub the other day and she just started crying.
Talking about that - those of you who have 2 or more how did you find that settling in? As much as I want another kid there is part of me which loves our family as it is. Kayley has gotten so much easier to look after and I feel like I have gotten my life back a bit. But also she is quite clingy and I still want to give her all the attention she deserves and am worried she will resent a new baby.
Michelle - Kayley does some of the steps but not all - it is very cute!! She does the hot potato, cold spaghetti, mashed banana thing and is quite good at the bear is asleep one. SHe is not so good with her feet though - it is mainly arm actions!
As for doors, I close Kayleys. I have the monitor on out here when I am up but at night I here her from my room.
Anyway I have to go. Still feeling a bit sick but not too bad - eating way to much though and I think I have put on a kilo - can't blame that on the baby yet!!! I feel like I am already starting to show - I think I am going to be huge this time!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
09-05-2008, 20:11
beck - i think those feeling you are having re - another bub are normal...i sometimes think the same with keanu (altho i dont think he'll have an issue with another bub enetering the family lol)...but the whole thing of wanting to devote my time to ke, as he is still my baby...and yeh we kinda have a semi life back with them at their age now....i think it's normal...and the feelings will pass, and kayley will get use to bub...she will adore him/her...just involve her as much as possible :)
Ow my head. Abbey just had a full blown tanty in her high chair because I wouldn't give her the spoon I was eating my breakfast with. Screamed for the whole 10 minutes it took to finish my breakfast. And now I finished I did give her the spoon and she is happily eating her (now soggy) cereal with 3 spoons.
This stupid behaviour after spending all night trying to kiss me while I slept. Weirdo.
Although...maybe she has a headache too after I hit her in the head with the baby monitor. I didn't mean to obviously, she was sitting on the floor when I picked it up, and I was still half asleep, then I turned to walk away and she had stood up and got smacked in the back of the head. Yeah! That will teach you to kiss me while I'm asleep!
Beck - I think Kayley will adore her sibling, and so long as you still have special 1:1 time with her she should adapt quite well. I know Abbey would love a sibling, they could gang up on me and scream together.
Sal - I would talk to the carer, definitely. These are valid concerns, especially the children opening the door. I think that's the kind of thing she could lose her license (or accredition etc) for. The door should be locked, not just closed, and a 3.5 year old shouldn't be able to open it.
As for tv, well you're paying her to care for Nedd, not the tv. It takes as little as 30 minutes of outside play each day to keep tots happy, and that's not hard to do.
Re the BBT - I did buy one, but hated it. I don't know how different it is to a normal therm other than mine took about 5 minutes and beeped once per minute to let me know it was still going. So annoying at 5am! Only good thing was that it remembered the temp so I didnt have to open my eyes. I think a normal therm would do the same job, so long as you used the same one each day.
Abbey would love to escape out my front door. I have to lock the screen with a key, as she knows about the snib. Apparently she knows about keys too, as she stole them yesterday, slotted a key in and tried the handle. Luckily it was the wrong key and she hasnt worked out she needs to turn it! The key is normally kept out of reach, and once she works it out I will put a latch at the top of the door.
Sare - how come you got the 4d scan? Was it recommended or you requested it? I always think the babies look like the rock guy from fantastic four, but the detail is astounding. You certainly wouldnt get the gender wrong with one of those.
Sarah - I tried moving Abbey's nap back to accommodate her nappy, but it didn't work. She has her nap from 10.30-12.30, so breakfast has had ample opportunity. If I put her down for a nap any later than 11 or after lunch she is overtired and such a bum head it usually means she goes the whole day without a nap. She just pushes and strains on the off chance she can produce a delay. Can't wait for TT!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
10-05-2008, 10:48
keanu seems to be napping 10.30am-12.30...? i was putting him down around 12 but he wouldn't sleep long...
also re the snib..keanu is the same...and he attempts to put the keys in the door..it is a bit to high for him to reach though at this stage...
don't ya love their tanty's...lol...
happy mothers day to everyone. i hope you all have a wonderful day and get spoilt...
diesal444
10-05-2008, 16:28
Got back today and am so very tired as I just cannot sleep on a plane trip.
Had a great time will go into more detail some time in the next few days.
Just wanted to wish all mummies a Happy mothers day for tomorrow. :hugs:
HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY!!
Hope you all have a lovely day.
Me....I'm off for a lay down in bed now :yes:
SalTheGal
11-05-2008, 12:16
Happy Mothers Day everyone
Hope you are all having a lovely day!
:flowerz::flowerz::flowerz::flowerz:
Me- very quiet here, I have to drive to the airport this evening to fly to adelaide, and I so do not want to go. :hissy: :hissy:
:flowerz: :flowerz: Happy Mother's Day Girls :flowerz: :flowerz:
Not doing anything here...but happy to off load 2 girls for the day for some peace and quiet :p
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
11-05-2008, 12:38
Happy Mother's Day
we aren't doing anything either. i got a sleep in and now dp is having a sleep - he has to work tonight. and ke is having a nap!
i told dp i want kfc for lunch...he he...i am craving it for some reason...it's mother's day, you'd think i'd choose something a little more elegant. lol. :)
SalTheGal
11-05-2008, 12:53
Ha Sare, I'll trade you two girls for a flight to adelaide!!
PS I'll even throw in a night in a swanky hotel- the grand hyatt I think from memory!
Deal...some time on a plane to myself is just what I need at the moment.
I should probably tell you that Eloise has started having 'accidents' AGAIN (too BL00DY lazy to go to the loo more like it) :hair: and Lara is going through the terrible 2's ... biting, saying no to everything, smacking, throwing tantrums.
Do you need to reconsider?
Jackie - At least you have been asked what you'd like for lunch. I had a yoghurt and dh made rolls for the girls. I have to admit though, I still can't stand the thought of junk food (besides pizza) and chocolate. Pity that I need to buy shares in the company that makes CC's though :laughing:
Michelle - The sonographer just changed from 2D to 4D while she was doing the ultrasound. Later, Eloise asked to see the brown baby bit again - lol, so she changed back from the 2d to 4d again. They really are amazing those scans.
Sal - I didn't even read the bit about the Grand Hyatt...I'm not giving you the chance to renege now :laughing:
SalTheGal
11-05-2008, 13:01
Hmmm yeah maybe next time!!!!
:flowerz: Happy Mother's Day everyone! :flowerz:
Hope you all had a better day than me. I thought DH forgetting last year then rushing up the street to buy last minute card & flowers was bad, but this year took the cake. He didn't forget, but I still got nothing, no 'Happy Mother's Day' on waking, no sleep in (just a big pooey nappy instead LOL), went nowhere, had no lunch, did housework all day and had a massive blue with DH just to top it all off. Hooray!
I guess on the bright side, next year's couldn't possibly be any worse :p - but I think I can now safely add Mother's Day to my list of annual disappointments (along with wedding anniversary, birthday, and Christmas). Bah :thumbsdown:. Next year I think I'll just take my mum away on a pampering weekend for us both.
Kimba thats no good. Even I got a txt message!
I really won't care about mothers day until Abbey can make me presents, but if I had a DH who didn't acknowledge how wonderful I was I would be super pi$$ed too.
My brother and SIL gave me a present for some reason, some jammies. I think my SIL feels mothers day is really important and I am missing out.
Abbey gave me a fat bloody lip at 5am for Mothers Day. That was cool. Something to guilt her about when she's older.
Sare - Maybe Eloise needs another visit to someone she respects, like the dentist, who can remind her about being a big girl. I remember she was awed into flossing by them before.
I hear you on the tantrums. They're fun arent they? We've been starting each day with a tantrum at the crack of dawn. The smallest things set Abbey off now, like she woke up and she wasn't clutching the toy she fell asleep with. How is that my fault? Mean mummy doesn't respond though. I might have a sleepy flail around to find her teddy but if I can't find it I pretend to be asleep while she screams in my ear and drops tears on my face. This morning I put my fingers in my ears and went back to sleep. :D
I'll only intervene in her tantrums if she has worked herself up to hysteria. Soon enough she will remember why she gave up on tantrums last time.
She bit me a couple times but didn't like the response, so stopped. She would be kissing me, then it would turn into a bite, suddenly cuddle time was over and she was sitting on the floor and mummy had walked away. Very sad.
Hmm mothers day lunch...I had some Oreos and coke. Same as any other day really, I'm not a big luncher. Dinner I cooked spag bol and had chocolate for dessert. I have such a balanced diet, you'd think my cholesterol would be horrible, but nup, its all good.
Oh sigh. How long do your tots screaming tantrums go for? Abbey can go for more than an hour. That's how she gets hysterical, I think she forgets what she was tantruming about and starts a new one about how mean I am. I know I have to be the boss of her, and she doesn't agree, but she is also very smart and very stubborn and knows that if she holds out, then eventually I will cave. Its why none of the sleep techniques worked on her and I still have to rock her or physically hold her down. It makes no sense to battle for hours on end! We are going to have such fun when she is a teenager.
diesal444
13-05-2008, 08:20
Mornin everyone :wave:
Sarah, I hope little J's mouth isnt too bad and that all is ok with you BIL. Sooooo jealous of you going to Kasey Chambers concert!!
Sal, I would probably have a word to you family day carer as well. Maybe in a way round about way like.. " Nedd just loves playing outside doesnt he?". Although the front door incident should be a bit more to the point.:yes:
Beck - How great your starting building next week. We went away and they had poured the slab, by the time we got back the frame was almost complete and the bricks were around the garage, so it moves really quickly once they get on site.
Michelle - How nice of you SIL to get you something for mothers day. Wow Abbey has some real stamina with her tantrums lasting an hour, Darcy must be just like me, easily distracted. We close doors here as well. Both of us being shift workers and getting up and coming home at all hours we have learned we have to shut door. Althouh in this old house the walls are paper thin so I can even hear her when she restless.
Sare - Glad to hear your scan went well. OOHHHH you have to go see the Whitlams, that would be sensational.
Well the holiday was pretty great. Darcy was very well behaved although I feel the same way as Sal when she said. " holidays will never be the same again".
I will NEVER EVER EVER EVER go on holidays with Mark's best friend again!!!!!! He is the one thing that I really disliked about this holiday. He made me feel so stupid and small ALL the time about everything and I certainly see him in a different light.
We really loved the Thai people, they are just so wonderful and accomodating. They totally adored Darcy and of course she just loved all the attention.
Good news on our house building as well. Things are moving along very nicely so far which is terrific and its all very exciting.
As I have said before, Darcy really doent "say" alot of words and I am getting a little worried as I have her 18 month check next week. She really only says "Daddy" "Mummy" "narny" (banana) "soos" (shoes) "whassat" (whats that) and " ah dereitis (ah there it is). Although understands pretty much most of what we say to her. I guess the worrying wont end here will it?
Well best be off, must do some ironing and vacuming this morning.
Take care :)
:wave: all,
Just popping in quickly today, as I would like to try and get a rest in before J wakes (he's already been asleep for an hour, so I'm not guessing I will, lol)
Kasey Chambers was ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!! If I were you Sal, I'd be spewing I didn't go, lol! Had a really great night, and I could have stayed there listening all night had she of been keen to keep going too, lol!!
Mother's Day was pretty good! DH cooked me breakfast, which was lovely. Then, I was able to have a nap for about 1.5 hours, which was just as lovely! We went and visited the MIL later on in the afternoon, then home again for a lazy dinner and a catch up with my bestie.
Not much else been happening....
Oh, although the tantrums!! Whoever taught J how to tantrum, has just won the award of best tantrum thrower!! Never have I seen a child of mine carry on the way he does. Michelle - J pretty much has tantrums about everything too!! The otehr day, I wouldn't put the pair of shoes on that he gave me, tantrum! I shut the washing machine lid before he got to have a look, tantrum. Got to take your jumper off, it's wet, tantrum!! OMG!! I'm so sick of the bl00dy tantrums already!!
Mary-Anne - Awesome mews about the house! You must be very excited now that it's actually happening :smiliedance: Re: Speech - I also mentioned this at J's 18 month check, as he is still saying veery minimal. She told me that it's quite within the normal range for 18 month olds to be saying between 5 - 10 words. Anything more is just a bonus. I then said that I felt J was behind, compared to DS2 T, but she corrected me and told me that J was not behind at all, but in the normal range. Hope you get the same answer as me!
Off to have that quick rest, if I can
Still plodding along (tiredly) here...
Eloise has been a little better with her toileting over the last couple of days. Probably due to the fact that we're back using a reward chart.
Lara is just Lara. Happy as Larry when all's good, but when it's not, boy does she let us know. I'm hearing you all with the tantrums. She also smacks when she doesn't get her own way...Eloise cops most of them. Luckily she's happy most of the time. I think a lot of her aggresion comes from frustration, because she can't express what she wants in words, so she just lashes out.
She slept really well last night (because I dosed her up on panadol, brauers calm and the hyland teething tablets). She's been feral for the last few days, but all the signs have pointed to teething. :fingerscrossed: she's good again tonight.
Sarah - Glad you enjoyed Kasey Chambers. Hope you got to have a nap this afternoon.
Mary-Anne - Sounds like you had a great time away. Not nice that you had to put up with your dp's mean best friend too. Did he end up meeting up with that woman over there? (I'm sure I remember you telling me about that...my memory's shot at the moment though)
Lara's got her 18 month check up next week too. Better take her for the chicken pox vac before then.
Michelle - Lara can scream for about 1hr when I put her to bed (more often than not it's around 10 to 20 mins). It is so hard not to cave in and go to her (she was in our bed on Sunday night after over an hour of screaming and sobbing). I figure that it won't go on forever, but I wish it would end soon. I'm soooooo tired. :sleeping:
Kimba - Sorry to hear about your sh1tty Mother's Day. I think spending a pampering day with your mum next year sounds just perfect. :yes:
Well I better tidy up after dinner before All Saints starts. Take care....
SalTheGal
14-05-2008, 07:06
Hey everyone, hello from sunny adelaide! They have really put the weather on for us here, is has been glorious.
Missing my man like crazy....he has just this week started actually talking on the phone (or maybe its just cause its me), so every night I get a "hello mumma" and then he warbles off presumably telling me all about his day, it is so so cute, but it also makes me miss him all the more, as he seems so sclose yet so far away....last night he was kissing the phone for me. :valentine: :crying:
Catching up with Beck for a cuppa today. :goodvibes:
Kimba- sorry you had a crappy day, I am the same with waiting till Nedd can actually do his own pressies, that will be so sweet when he can take charge of the day.
Sarah/Sare- hope you are both getting a chance to put your feet up at some stage.
And Sare glad Eloise is doing better, :fingerscrossed: it stays that way!
Re Tantrums, still mr cruisy here is our house, he cracks it, and more and more he is learning when he doesn't get his own way, but honestly he is so easily diverted that we soon get him over it....I have some hilarious video of him cracking a tanty in the front yard- until a car drives past, and he literally stops crying in an instant and is running after the "car car car, beep beep" :rolleyes: very funny.
OK, off to get organised, I am such a messer when I am away- clothes end up sprawled from one end of my room to the other so now I need to track it all down and pack.
Takecare, everyone have a great day. :goodvibes:
Well, mother's day was not great, had some nice bits (like Ella's present for me that she made at Daycare...lovely!! To be treasured always) but being as the day started with me waking up at 4am and then waiting for DP to get home from a night out which he said he wasn't going to have (GRRR). Started ringing him every 15mins at 7am until the phone was turned off (even more GRRRRRR) He eventually rang back at 8.30 to say he'd be home in half an hour.
Two hours later, during which I've realised I've got a dreadful cold and am totally exhausted, he finally shows up and acts like everything's normal. I had to prod him to get an apology!:mad: And he bought me slippers that were too small for mother's day, and I was in no mood to be grateful.
Alcohol related incidents happen here about twice a year but it's twice too many for a grown man, IYKWIM? Time to grow up!!
Anyway... thanks for the vent....:o
On the plus side, my m/s has nearly gone, so I'm feeling much more myself (and the cold is much better too). Told my mum and she was beside herself - cos my brother is having TWINS so she'll have three new grandkids by Christmas!
Oh, poor Sal, missing Nedd. That must be really hard. At least he'll talk on the phone to you. Ella waves! I still find tanty's kind of funny too. Maybe when they escalate I'll stop laughing...
Sare - hear you on the tiredness. I wonder if I'll ever feel well rested again? At least without the m/s I feel slightly less draggy. Work is still a struggle though. Got a job interview for a promotion on Monday - must summon some sparkle!
Sarah, glad the concert was great. I reckon any live music is pretty good (although I tested that theory at Tamworth one year!)
Mary-Ann, glad the time away was good (meanie man not withstanding) I thought the thai people were lovely too. You industrious type, ironing and vacuuming!
Better go pick Ella up now. :wave: to everyone I've missed - I'm still reading regularly if not posting!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
14-05-2008, 21:04
i too am reading...just not posting...a hard and tiring day in this household today!
chat soon
xoxox
GeorgiaAnne
15-05-2008, 12:45
Hi chickies - how are we?
Becbabe - My dh used to do that as well - I HATE the ol' phone turn off very naughty :shame: Glad your ms is on the way out. How many weeks are you now? And wow to the twins - how exciting for your family!
How are all the pg luvvies going feeling good?? Sarah - not long now - have you got some pretty names picked out? I;m really struggling with that and have nothing I really like:no:
All is well just busy at work and Sophia has been waking really early like 4:30 and not going back to sleep so i'm a bit of a zombie the last few days. We finally move next Friday which is scary/exciting. I'll really miss where we are as we have an amazing view and it is so nice to be able to walk to work but I guess it will be nice to have our own place (I hope!)
thought I would pop in while everyone is napping.
Glad most of you had a happy mother's Day. Mine was good on the whole. We decided on Saturday to drive to where our parents live and surprise our Mum's. Funny how with all my kids all I wanted was to see Mum on Mother's Day.
Anyway it turned out nice. We caught up with my brother & SIL and their 5 kids (twins included). We haven't spoken much over the years since we left home but I guess with us both having twins it has kind of bridge a huge gap and mended a hole that has been deep within my heart. We got photos of all 11 grandkids which gave me something extra special to give mum as they haven't seen them since their twins were born nearly 3 years ago.
I did well from my kids and got a beautiful book about Mums and what we go through. Got a card that plays simply the best when you open it, a dvd, some chewing gum ( I only buy it because they all eat it lol), and some coconut smelling hand cream and body wash in a pack.
John got me nothing as I am "not his mother". But I refuse to let that irk me (atleast on the outside - but oh well). He better be nice for my birthday which is coming up full steam ahead. After all I'm officially getting OLD. I'll be 36!!!!! Blimey....
Dear Little Adam is still the most joyous child to have around. He has taken to the twins so well. He holds their hands and cuddles them and only occasionally tries to bite them lol....
He has been sick though. His first cold ever - we should never have left the gold coast for cold victoria - and to top it off he got conjunctivits as well.... but apart from wanting to be attached to my hip he has handled it all really well.
Twins are plodding along great. ALthough we missed their needles as everyone was sick. Next Wednesday is the day. They sleep pretty well. Jack has started sleeping from 10pm-7am and Shaun only wakes at 3.30am during the night. Daytimes are pretty cruisy and they feed usually every 4.5 - 5 hours. I can handle that. Both are smiling like only a new baby can do and melting hearts nearly as much as their big brother did but not quite. I guess when there's two you have to share the enjoyment and facination around a little.
Well I have completed my epic and will now leave you all in peace.
Love and hugs to all and their special little people
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
15-05-2008, 16:38
Di - Glad to hear things are going well for you...things seem to be going along well...you desverve to be spoilt!
today is a better day than yesterday, yesterday was a hard day with keanu...not listening, tantrums...was very frustrating...but today he has been his usual self...was just draining, and along with missing the family, it was a bit of a down day...but we all have those days!
today i folded all the washing and have made a potato bake and cleaned up! and spent time with keanu - has been a good and productive day, he was just dancing to jewel and kasey chambers lol..so cute.
they are growing way too fast! and are way to precious...still! lol
anyway not much to report here...missing the family and friends heaps. my mum and dad arrive in 10 days, then MIL in november (she'll be here for keanus and DP birthdays so that is awesum)...and we have invited FIL for christmas...he will like that and ke will love seeing him..and hopefully in the new year 3 of our best friends come for a holiday - miss them 3 like crazy (a couple and a single guy)....will be great to see them...sometimes i wonder if we will go back and in all honesty i would love to think eventually we will...but that may be some 10 years off, who knows though, what the future holds. i do know that financially we are a lot better off here and the stress has definitley eased in that department which in turn makes things a lot less stressful in all departments i guess! I just miss that keanu doesn't get to see and be around his grandparents - that's the part that breaks my heart...in saying all this we have still done the right thing and we have met some lovely ladies from bubhub!!
anyway enough :ecomcity:
chat soon
xoxox
SalTheGal
15-05-2008, 18:37
Hey all, home last night from SA, and back to a sickie....Nedd has had a cold since sunday- but overnight he started coughing a fair bit, and I got called to day care at lunch time to get him.
He isn't too bad but seems a bit asthma-ry so onto the puffer and vaporiser tonight.
It was lovely to catch up with Beck! And SA was gorgeous...DH and I want to go for a driving trip there soon for a weekend.
DH and I went to our first counselling session today...good news is that she is very confident we are going to be fine...which we knew anyway, and she was really great- totally got where we were at, and was able to articulate for us many of the issues we have been struggling to put into words, it was nice to be able to have someone else get us both so completely and be able to also simplify our issues into something that seems manageable. So far so good! :)
Maryanne- forgot to say welcome back! Glad to hear you had a good time, sorry you had to share it with a w@nka (w@nka)!!! Will have to catch up soon so we can compare notes- did you use the baby carrier much?
Jackie- Glad you had a better day today, I think you are doing a great job....I know I would have many many down days being away from my family.
So lovely to hear from you Di....glad you got to see your Bro and SIL and mend some rifts, that is lovely....its hard when family don't get along isn't it.
Georgia- goodluck with the moving....you might have mentioned already but where abouts is your new home? Sorry that Sophia is giving you an early morning wake up call- that must be exhausting...Nedd often starts crying out at 5am, but he is into bed with us until atleast 6.30, I refuse to get up before then!
Bec- :banghead: to your DF....naughty man- honestly don't they just sh!t you to tears sometimes?!?!
Hey I was thinking maybe we should start a thread for everyone to put in their due dates any other important news etc....Is anyone else having trouble remembering who is due when!!!! :confused: :o
OK, thats all from me....nothing really exciting to report! :wave:
:wave: everyone,
Sorry, will have to be quick....I'm totally exhausted, after yet another day of doing WAY too much, lol!!
I did some more baby shopping today :shame: I found a gorgeous set of curtains (so much nicer than the ones I bought a few weeks ago), so got them, and also found myself, well the baby, a gorgeous little butterfly rug for the floor. Once I have the nursery all set up and done, I'll be sure to post a pic!
I've also been busy taking the flyscreens off the windows that I didn't get to a couple of weeks ago, and cleaning the windows inside and out.
Tonight, M & T were totally horrible. Just way too tired after a day at daycare. Of course this lead to many screaming matches tonight, exhausting me even more :sleeping:
Seems that all I'm doing is having a whinge, hey?
Tomorrow should be better, and will be better....It's my birthday!! :smiliedance: My sister has taken the day off work tomorrow so she can spend the day with me. She's going to cook me lunch, don't know what yet, and then hopefully, we'll just relax!! Then tomorrow night, Mum will be coming over for tea. I think they didn't want me to be lonely on my birthday, bless them.
Sal: Poor little Nedd. Hopefully he recovers quickly.
Re: the family daycare chick - I'd be saying something for sure. You need to be feeling comfortable about the environment that Nedd is in, and if you have any doubts/problems at all, you need to make sure they are addressed ASAP.
Re: Counselling - So glad to hear that all went so positively for your first session! You must be feeling a little better knowing that things will eventually be back to 'perfect'
Di: Nice to hear from you. Your boys sound totally adorable!!
Ok, that's heaps longer than it was going be....I'm off to bed! I need all the beauty sleep I can get now I'm to be another year older, lol!!
Sarah - happybirthday for tomorrow. Hope you have a great day and that those boys of yours are on their best behaviour for you. You definitely have to post a pic of the nursery...might inspire me to do something different with mine (Lara just inherited Eloise's old room)
Sal - Poor little Nedd. He's had a rough trot with illnesses lately. Glad to hear that the counselling session went well. :fingerscrossed: that things will soon be back on track for you guys. Any update on the house?
Di - Sounds like you had a lovely Mother's Day. You'll eventually get used to Melb weather...I personally love it, but I like winter :D Hope Adam's back to his usual self soon.
Jackie - :hugs: It must be so hard to have your family so far away. I hope the next 10 days flies.
Bec - :shame: to your dp...men I swear they just don't think. Glad to hear that your m/s has almost gone. How long until your next scan?
Georgia - Sorry to hear that Sophia is turned into a (very) early bird. I don't know how you function. Good luck for next week.
Not much going on here. Took Eloise for her 3.5yr check up today and she's doing superbly. The only concern that I had was that she seems to have very sensitive hearing, so my MCHN gave me a referral to have her hearing tested. I don't think there will be anything wrong, but best to get it checked out.
I've had a stupid stomach bug again. So I'm taking tomorrow off work. I feel much better than I did yesterday, but I've got no energy so I didn't think that I'd be able to deal with a classful of preps.
Well enough from me...I'm off to browse BH for a while before heading off to bed.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
15-05-2008, 21:02
sal - a great idea as i too am having trouble remembering! seems there are so many lol.
yeh can't wait for mum and dad to visit...altho i have lived away from them for 8 years now (since i was 17) so i am used to being away from them...it's more DP family, as we have always been close to them :( so miss them like crazy..but mum and dad visiting will be great...ke will LOVE it and get spoilt (mind you there is 4 grandkids here)...but he will love it and mum will be great and maybe it will give DP and i a chance to go the the movies and out for tea or something. mum is going to do a little herb garden with him - he will love that!
he is such a good boy, the changes must have been hard yet all in all he has been great and i shud be more thnaful...and DP does SOOOO much...a lot more than most men, and i have been taking him for granted...but i have realised...just doesn't help that we only have each other, so at times of grumpiness it gets taken out on each other - but we know that is part and parcel of the move too...just dying to see the inlaws lol.
ke has been refusing tea....well tonight he refused potato bake so i opted for spaghetti and he ate it...weird...he fully says no, shakes his head and gets very cranky if we keep trying - anyone having similar issues? he is fine otherwise with his eating!
oh my bleeding has stopped - had the worst period ever though....but seems i am back to normal, and off BC...not TTC just yet but hopefully soon! :)
xoxox
Sare - I'm sure Eloise's hearing is fine, just honed to perfection from being a sticky beak. I know Abbey can hear a chocolate wrapper from 100m!
Sarah - happybirthday Is baby girl getting her own room? That's so sweet, you get to girl it up completely. Abbey's room is so lame. I made some pink butterfly curtains for one window but never got around to the other, which is okay, because they rather dominate the room. I also put up a mural scene recently of a garden and flowers but I can't do straight lines so its a bit sad looking. She will grow up knowing mummy has talents, but decorating isn't one of them!
It sounds like you're getting very nesty, she will be here very soon. Hope you have a great day today and get pampered.
Sal - There are some beautiful places in SA to be sure, I think I've morphed into a QLDer after all these years though (born and raised in SA).
Good to hear your counselling is off to a good start, I bet you're both feeling a whole lot better already.
Jackie - Glad you're feeling better and not so down. It is hard being away from family, but it sounds like you're doing a great job of establishing a new local support network.
Isn't it funny when you're with mums of younger bubs and your angel has a tanty and you get the oh my goodness my child will never behave like that looks? I just smile at them and think their time will come :devil:.
Di - good to hear from you! That comment from John would irk me too, and I wouldn't have accepted it as gracefully as you did. Adam and the twins sound adorable, he's going to be a protective big brother, biting aside. Maybe he's just sampling their new baby flavour.
Georgia - 4.30 wakeup, :eek: I also refuse to get up before 6.30, its just not natural unless you're a baker. Does she go back down for a nap soon after?
Bec - I hope DH has been suitably contrite since that night. You can't really blame him for the slipper sizing, the standard size doesn't fit most women and yet its what shops sell. I've given up on slippers, I just buy socks that are too small.
I've changed Abbey's schedule to have a nap around 12.30pm and go to bed at 8pm. It seems to make her happier, but I don't like changing my own routine, but of course, I am but a mother and what I want doesn't count. Suck it up and deal, woman!
We've been playing and chatting, she surprises me with how much I understand now. Her tantrums aren't because she can't communicate, its because I'm mean and insist on using my spoon to eat my cereal, rather than giving it to her and eating with my hands.
Mammoth catch up post away!
diesal444
16-05-2008, 08:22
Morning ladies :wave:
Firstly,
happybirthday to sarah, Hope you have a wonderful day with your sister and your mum!!
Sare - Hope you feeling better today, and yes DP's mean best friend was flying after our holiday inThailand to see is "girlfriend" in Vietnam!. Good luck to her is all I can say! i actually like Meb weather too now although it did take a few years :laughing:
Sal - i love the "hello mumma" over the phone, that would make me cry if I heard that. I am such a sook sook la la. I would love to catch up and compare hols. Re. Baby carrier, Didnt use it very much at all, its on its way to Ballarat in Monday!
Bec - :thumbsdown: to you DP. Can you imagine if we did exactly that to them....OMG wouldnt we know about it!!. Glad to hear m/s is easing.
Di - Firstly great work on getting everyone napping simultanously :yelclap:. Is your household just chaos with all the kids?? My head feels like its spinning with one toddler I can imagine having to have eyes and ears everywhere...all the time.
Jackie - I missed my family who are in NSW for a good 2 years after moving to VIC. It really does get better especailly now with work friends, mothers group friends etc...
michelle - Had to laugh at Abbey hearing a chockie wrapper from afar. Glad to hear Abbey's new schedule is making her happier.
Well I am just a tad excited today!! We are going to see THE WIGGLES!!!.... :smiliedance:
have a great day everyone......
Firstly I have to say Mary-Anne I am very jealous about the Wiggles! Kayley would love it sooo much now but they don't come to Adelaide mid year.
Things are good here. I am still feeling sick but OK. Kayley has been pretty well and everything is trundling along pretty much OK. Have been busy at work and just really tired though.
I haven't told hockey yet and we had a bye last week but I am due to play tomorrow night. I think I might play and make it my last one. I do enjoy it so much but I am a little worried about a high ball or something.
Well the budget thing has worked out OK for our BB. I thought we may be in trouble but looks like we will be OK with the means testing limits set so that is good.
This 12 weeks is really dragging! 7 weeks tomorrow so only 5 until my next scan I keep telling myself (still feels like forever)!
Sal - great to catch up with you this week. and I have to mention again how fantastic you look!
Sarah - how long do you have left now?
Jackie - I moved out of home when I was 17 too to go to school in Adelaide so I was used to living away from my parents. When my dad dies though I found it sooo hard and now I love being close to my mum again because I love her so much:) (I know it is soppy isn't - must be these pg hormones already!!)
Di - your family sounds so beautiful!! You are a super mum I swear.
Georgia - good luck with the move. Kayley does normally sleep OK but was up at 5am this morning. i just dragged her back into bed and she slept until 7 there so OK.
Bec - I would be giving DH major silent treatment! You must have your 12 week scan soon?
Well the house has officially started - on Tues they had put the sand down for the slab. DH went last night and nothing else has happened and it is raining this morning so it is a little dissapointing. Hopefully a slab next week!
Anyway I have to run and start getting ready for swimming.
Have a good one everyone.
Mary-Anne - Hope you and Darcy had a ball at the Wiggles concert today. I can imagine Darcy bopping along to the music.
Beck - Good luck for your last game of Hockey this weekend. I moved out of home at 17 too to go to Uni. DH stayed at home with his parents until he was 27 :eek: just before we got married.
Michelle - Glad Abbey's new routine seems to be working. Still not much of one happening here...we're never home enough to develop one. It will be worse with Eloise at 4 yr old kinder next year...I pity the new baby. Or maybe I pity myself more :dizzy:
Jackie - Lara is very adamant when she doesn't want something to eat. No matter what I do I can't force her. I think there's a definitely a corelation between Lara being off her food and her teething.
A boring Fri night at home listening to the footy (Go Pies!!!) Tomorrow night we're having a child-free night...going out for dinner with some good friends. Other than that a quiet weekend planned for us. Hope you guys have a good weekend.
Wow so much to catch up on - don't think I can do personals justice but I think I managed to read through everything and made the right noises at the appropriate spots :yes:
happybirthdaySarah, welcome back MaryAnn, good luck with the move & settling in Georgia, and Sal I hope Nedd is better now.
We're pretty good here. Jet has a cold, and is being a drama queen and kind of impossible to take anywhere ATM, he goes nuts when we try to put him in the stroller or in his car seat, or if we have to leave anywhere to go home. We got him a new SnS Explorer car seat because he was growing out of his convertible infant seat and I thought maybe he was just uncomfortable - but even with the new seat he still won't let us buckle him in without a fight - or a bribe. Apparently he thinks he should be able to sit in the front! LOL.
Likewise going to the park always turns into hysterics because he just won't leave! have to drag him kicking and screaming away...kind of puts you off taking him anywhere, but we can't be hermits forever.
Still having sleep issues...he's been sleeping in his new single bed for the last couple of daytime naps :yelclap: but not at night yet...at the moment we have hysterics at bedtime, then crying for mummy in the middle of the night and ending up with us. He hates his new all in one sleeper-suits too, because he doesn't like anything on his feet! wakes up yelling and trying to pull them off. I guess he'd rather be cold. Freak...:p
Foodwise he's being a pain too, refusing veggies and just picking at stuff that he usually likes. But he does have 2yo molars coming through, so I guess he has an excuse...
Oh and we're also going to The Wiggles!!! On Thursday 29th. Very excited, although hoping we don't end up with any major Jet-Meltdowns due to the excitement of it all...he is sooooo totally Wiggles-obsessed right now.
GeorgiaAnne
19-05-2008, 12:54
lol Kimba, Jet sounds so much like Sophia the little terrors!
re: the early wake up calls, she will not sleep in bed with us so once she's up, that's it unfortunately and if I bring her to bed she just says uppity, uppity, uppity constantly. Makes for a very tired mummy and bubby.
Hope you enjoy the Wiggles Kimba! :yelclap:
Sophia still isn't into tv at all no matter what I put on. I guess that's good but I wouldn't mind something to distract her for 1/2 an hour every now and then!
Kimba - Jet's fat head went too high in his seat? Abbey's has too, I have no idea when, I just noticed she was taller than the seat the other day. We're getting the S&S Maxi Rider in a few weeks. Until then she just has to be slightly unsafe. I thought it was because her infant seat is a super teeny compact one chosen to fit into my super teeny car its just shorter than others, but if Jet is moving up then maybe they are all short and our tots are tall?
Where did you get the AIO sleeper suits from? I had a quick peek in Myer & Best & Less, haven't made it into DJ yet.
Georgia - uppity sounds more adorable than it is, I'm sure! I just get asked for toast and cheese. She's obsessed with cheese, and anything from the fridge, including milk, is cheese.
Abbey knows I can ignore her trying to get me up for over an hour, until she jumps on my bladder or exposes my toes.
She likes tv shows I would prefer she didn't. Like Funniest Home Videos and The Night Garden. I use stupid night garden to have a shower now, she is so absorbed in that spastic nonsense she doesn't notice I'm gone. I am glad she likes tv though, I'd have a real problem if she didn't.
Abbey is really good in the car, always has been. So long as I'm patient while she swaps her toys from one hand to the other when I need her arms, she is okay. If she starts complaining while driving I just open her window and blow her into silence.
Beck - at least its started, and I'm sure the slab is down now. It will be coming along nicely soon, and so will the time until your scan. And then it will speed up and go really fast and freak you out!
I have to do the dishes but im procrastinating. I was having a lovely nap but then a book jumped off the floor and hit me in the mouth and a little devil laughed at me.
Abbey's curls turn into kinky frizz during dry weather and she won't let me tie it up. How can I put her hair up while she is twisting and pulling away without hurting her or resorting to cutting it off?
Michelle - I'm with you on hating The Night Garden..stupid Teletubbies, Boobah-like show... but the girls love it.
Kimba - Definitely with you on the food issues. Lara's been off-back on-and then off her food again for the last week. I have resorted to high-fiving her after every mouthful to distract her from eating. Pity it only works sometimes.
I think we'll be moving Lara into a Maxi-rider soon too. We've got one in each car, so we'll just move the one from dh's car into mine.
Georgia - Lol at Sophia saying uppity. Although I guess I wouldn't be laughing if it was Lara doing that at 4.30am.
I had an OB appointment today and I spoke to him about my EDD with the scan putting me 5 days ahead. Although my date hasn't been changed, I was concerned that he'd let me go the 5 days between the 1st scan and 2nd scan dates and another week over before he would induce me. Lara was over 9 pounds and a full pound heavier than Eloise I am concerned about having another big baby. So he said that he will send me for an ultrasound at 36 weeks to see how big the baby is, and if it's looking like another big bub, he will induce me between 39 and 40 weeks. :fingerscrossed: it won't come to that (that this baby will come on time and will be a bit smaller than Lara) and things will all happen naturally.
Oh and while I was waiting for my appoinment, I was flicking through a magazine and guess whose adorable little face I saw smiling on one of the pages??? Sophia (and her equally gorgeous mummy). It was an article in Inside Out from last year Georgia, in case you were wondering.
I hope everyone else is well ...
SalTheGal
19-05-2008, 19:46
Blurgh....:crying: :crying:
Anyone else having a sh!t day?!? (Or a sh!t life ATM for that matter).
Things are crappy here at the moment, did I actually sound optimistic after our counselling session last week?....sorry must have been talking bout someone else. :(
Anyway...won't bore anyone with the details, suffice to say roll on thursday for our next appointment so that we can atleast have someone adjudicate the barneys.
Nedd is Nedd, still has a snotty nose, but apart from that is fine...although it is a bit green, so I probably should be taking him to the Drs.
OK, whats The Night Garden? I caught a brief look at a show the other day that had a couple of teletubby like creatures...one was riding a scooter thingy? Would that be it? If so, then seriously, who actually comes up with that stuff?!?! And the kids really like it??? Bizarre!!
Re TV shows...Nedd gets excited when he hears the Neighbours music (because thats when he gets his milk), probably not the most appropriate show for him to be watching, but better than Gordon Ramsey right? (Who by the way I will be marrying when DH and I get a divorce, I love him- just have to teach him to hold his tongue round Nedd!)
I didn't even realise that being taller than the carseat actually meant they have outgrown it!! Duh, didn't read that bit in the parenting instruction manual :rolleyes: I will check Nedd out tomorrow, but I am sure he is fine- he is only just taller than average for his age.
Speaking of Abbeys hair- I had been meaning to ask the question for a while now as to who will be getting the first hair cut out fo the group? Anyone already done the deed, or anyone close? Nedd will be years off getting anywhere near long locks- and even when he does I will be reluctant to cut them...I love cute golden long curls on little boys.
Kimba, whilst Nedd is pretty good in the car, he always wants to be in the front too....I think it is a product of letting him be in the drivers seat when I am watching DH at the footy on the weekends, but as a result he seems to think he is a superb driver who deserves to be chauferring me around!
Sarah- happybirthday for the other day, hope you got suitably spoilt!
OK, I am going to wallow in my misery, avoiding DH like the plague...might go to bed and read a book...in the spare room. :banghead:
GeorgiaAnne
20-05-2008, 07:36
:hugs::hugs: Sal you poor luv - I hope today is much better for you :) Just remember that you are fabulous and don't let the rest of the nonsense get you down.
Sare - lol on the magazine how embarrassing! Sophia really enjoyed all the attention
bbl xx
Speaking of Abbeys hair- I had been meaning to ask the question for a while now as to who will be getting the first hair cut out fo the group? Anyone already done the deed, or anyone close? Nedd will be years off getting anywhere near long locks- and even when he does I will be reluctant to cut them...I love cute golden long curls on little boys.
:
Sal, Lara had her 2nd hair cut last night. It was only a trim, but her ends were really ratty. I'm lucky though, my mum is a hairdresser, so she trims the girls hair for me and they are always super good for her.
Sorry to hear that you're having a rotten time with everything at the moment. I hope today is a million times better for you than yesterday.
I think I might be taking Lara off to the dr today too. Still snotty, coughing, off her food and having shockingly disgusting nappies. It sounds like teething, but it's been going on for about a week and a half now.
Sare - Snotty, coughing, off his food and really disgusting nappies - yep that's Jet too. But I don't bother taking him to the doctor for things like that any more, not unless he has a fever (or unless I need a doc cert for work LOL) - because I know our doc will just say 'it's just a virus, totally normal, he'll be fine in a couple of days' (even when he HAS a raging fever that's all he says!). I spose it's good to have a doc who's not fazed by anything and not trying to shove drugs down Jet's throat all the time, but he always makes me feel like I'm crying wolf...
Sal - :hugs: x 1000. I'm going through very much the same thing as you right now - too many sh1t days making it feel like a sh1t life - so I totally understand how you feel. If you ever need to vent let me know - empathetic b1tching is very therapeutic you know!!!! Thank god for our beautiful little boys filling our lives with sunshine...LOL at Nedd in the drivers seat, Jet is the same, he loves 'driving' and pushing all the switches and buttons.
Re: The Night Garden. Yep it's rather retarded! but you gotta admit it's at least a lot prettier and the characters are much cuter than Boobah (stupid farting beanbags with eyes, UGH!)
I'm still trying to get Jet to appreciate Shaun the Sheep as much as I do - I love it :laughing:
Michelle - we had a compact carseat too because we used to have a smaller car, I think that's why Jet was growing out of it, because I wouldn't say he's tall for his age (around the 75th percentile). I was also sick of not being able to adjust it easily, and we have a bigger car now so we could easily upgrade. We were going to get a Maxi Rider II, but decided on the Safe n Sound Explorer instead because it rated higher than the MR in the latest safety tests (RACV/ NRMA/ RTA and Choice). And it's basically the same as the MR but doesn't have the arms/ cup holder, so it's not quite as bulky - which is better for us if we end up with 2! Plus it was on sale at BabyCo for $280, so no complaints there :)
Re: Abbey's Hair. No advice here sorry - I have no idea what I'd do if Jet was a girl and needed his hair up because he wouldn't sit still, that's for sure! I'd probably just let it look scruffy - dreadlocks are still cool aren't they? :o
No haircuts here yet either...my mum harps on it constantly, but I rather like Jet's hair looking like a little wild boy LOL. Anyway I'm hoping if it gets long enough the curl will come out more...
Georgia - 'Uppity' is so cute! I can just imagine Sophia lapping up all the attention at the photo shoot. How are you feeling? We have to catch up soon...
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
20-05-2008, 10:15
:laughing: just read the boohbah part kimba... had to have a :laughing:
keanus anunty bought him one...he LOVES it. it is the strangest thing ever!!! but it dances and then farts and deflates, then you press the button and it inflates on its own again....weird, he thinks it is funny. never really watched the show though ?
Sal - mega :goodvibes:
Although I am concerned by the Gordon Ramsey attraction! I had a naughty dream about Lex from Smallville once though, so I shouldn't comment.
I've never watched Boobah, just those 'look what I can do' snippets of some low iq kid spinning in a circle and thinking they invented that move.
I'm such a tolerant person :laughing:
Of course, when Abbey spins in a circle it IS wonderful!
Abbey has had a few hair cuts, only on the fringe though. The first was bad, very bad. Good part was it took AGES to grow to the point it got in her eyes again. She had another fringe trim at mums recently, and last night I hacked another bit off. She doesn't stay still for haircuts either, so it really is hacking. I just target a particular clump that is bothering her, and do my best while she is in her high chair. She moves her head away so its never straight. I just don't want to pay $10 for a pro cut of a teeny toddler fringe, and she sure won't stay still for them and their much sharper than mine scissors.
I can comb it though, that easy. Its safe to run with a comb! But it just makes her frizz fluffy :(
Sare - hope bub isn't too large. I think Abbey was 9 pound too, but I doubt my next one will be smaller. Mum's biggest fathead was 11 pound but the ones after that were much more sensibly sized.
Kimba - I read the explorer rated higher too but the MR just looks sooo much comfier for long drives. My bro has just bought one for his boy so I will get to see how it fits in my car before buying. Even better I will be able to sit inside and have a cuppa while HE sees how it fits in my car before I buy.
Lol on all the talk about Boobah and The Night Garden. Y'day Eloise was watching the Night Garden and they too were making fart noises and then looked like they were covered in poop. Eloise corrected me and said it was the mud squishing making the noise and it was mud all over their faces...ooops :o Gotta love being corrected by a 3 year old.
Well we went to the drs and now I feel bad for not taking her earlier. She's been saying ear for about a week now and prodding her ear with her finger. But then she'd say nose, hair too, so I just thought it was her naming body parts. Nope :no: she's got an ear infection, so on antibiotics again.
On a similar, but different tangent, has anyone tried to buy dimetapp or demazin lately? I went to get some for Lara y'day and they wouldn't sell it to me because they're making it prescription only. When I said that I didn't think that came in until September, she said that some pharmacies are choosing to bring it in themselves earlier. Gotta love my gp though, when I told him, he just said "That's bullsh1t". I love that he's so down to earth and not one of those awful drs who make you feel like a stupid idiot.
Kimba - I hope Jet is back to his usual self soon. Not nice having sick kids. I love Shaun the Sheep too. It would have to be one of my favourite kids shows.
diesal444
21-05-2008, 06:40
Mornin ladies,
Well what can i say about the wiggles
They are terrific...........!!.........My daughter on the other hand, not so terrific.
My friend who booked it booked the 12.30pm show, which I think suited her little one, but it really clashed with Darcy. She sleeps from 11.30am till about 1.30pm so it was right in the middle and she was FERAL.
I guess there are pros and cons to having a routine, it really works well for me coz we both working. I know it was tiredness, thats her typical behaviour when she is tired and not in bed. To make matters worse, I left my camera there, but was very fortunate that some lovely person handed it in!
Beck - :smiliedance: on your house starting, isnt it exciting. Hope you enjoyed your last hockey game!
Sare - I gave Darcy some Dimetapp last night coz she snotty, I didnt even realise things were changing with purchasing that stuff. Hope Lara's ear infection passes quickly.
Kimba - How cute Jet wanting to sit in the front. Hope he gets over his cold soon. OMG I cant belive Jet is growing out of his car seat. My little twirp is no where near getting out of hers. Enjoy the wiggles next thursday, Hope Jet enjoys it ( not like my little terror ).
Georgia - uppity! uppity!.. sounds cute, but I am sure its not at that hour. How is that little boy your growing going?
Michelle - Night Garden AARRGGHHH!!!! So annoying yet so captivating for these kids huh! Putting hair up in this house is a total non-event. Usually ends up in tears so I really dont bother anymore unless we are going somewhere to see people, coz her hair "out" is kinda freaky!
Sal - :hugs: to you! We have had 2 haircuts, mainly the fringe but also a little round the back. My great friend is a hairdresser so thats probably why!!
So I officially only have 4 days till I go back to work. I will have had 4 weeks off and its been wonderful.
We have Darc's 18 month check today, and I have to take my mums best friend who has been staying with her to the airport, so I best hop in the shower and give my little sweetie her breakie!
Have a great day all :)
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
21-05-2008, 09:13
Hi everyone...have read but don't have much time for personals...so this post is all about me...:laughing:
GUESS WHAT we have officially started to TTC
yesty we were at the shops and i said lets BD tonight...he is like what is BD? Maybe we could BJ...(people can prob guess what he meant)...i said no lets Baby Dance :laughing: - he got what i was saying...
last night he said let's BD....i was like are you serious? and he said YES...
I have just plotted my cycles on a chart...and my most fertile days are Monday, yesterday and today...and we BD last night...interesting!
so here we are TTC buba number 2 - it will be the last for us, as we have only ever wanted 2....i am so excited, and scared all at the same time.
My pregnancy with Keanu was a breeze, no MS....just really tired, which was due to a lack of iron and the day after my due date i was put into hospital with mild preclampsia! but nothing too major...
so i am soooo excited - aren't telling the family til we have conceived. Also we aren't putting pressure on ourselves, just letting it happen! Hopefully i will be announcing soon!
have a great day everyone!
My little Wiggles fan has started singing 'Toot Toot Chugga Chugga' (big red car) awwww so cute. Makes up for the continuing sleepless nights. Almost.
Jac - great news on TTC #2 how exciting for you. I'm impatiently waiting till the end of the year...I even asked work if they'd agree to let me take my pro-rata long service leave 6 months in advance (so we could have #2 earlier), but no go. So just waiting now...
MaryAnn - great to hear the Wiggles were good, how lucky about your camera! but bummer about the poor timing. Jet is exactly the same if we have to go anywhere at 'nap time' (12-2) - lucky I got tickets to the 3pm show, at least he should have had his midday nap :fingerscrossed:
Sare - Here's hoping for a normal sized bub! Poor Lara I hope her ear is better soon. LOL at the farty mud on The Night Garden, I actually saw part of that episode too. Bizarre. I had no idea they were making Dimetapp and Demazin prescription only! Better go and stock up...not that it really seems to do much for Jet anyway when he's sick! but sometimes you feel like you should at least try...
Michelle - LOL at smutty dreams about Lex from Smallville! (and Sal - Gordon Ramsay???) Maybe if you don't shampoo Abbey's hair as often (just rinse it) it won't frizz as much? works for me... I liked the look of the MR too, but was told the seat itself is basically the same so I couldn't justify an extra $80 for armrests and a cup holder LOL. Although it does seem to have a bit of extra padding round the edges...At least you'll get to try before you buy, wish we'd had that option!
Ooh Jackie, that's cool. In less than 2 weeks you could be posting a bfp!
Gotta laugh at him getting his hopes up for BJ. Men!
I only actually shampoo her hair once every 10 days, maybe less (unless she tips food in it). It does get rinsed every night though. She just has that type of hair. She is going to hate it and be Babybliss' best customer.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
21-05-2008, 12:54
:laughing: i know...and yep i guess i could be posting a BFP soon lol...!
i wash keanus hair every night...just has always been that way lol.
i just changed keanus bed around prior to his nap so will see how he goes. :)
kristin5
21-05-2008, 21:44
Hi all, remember me?!!! I know it has been ages since I last posted here, but I thought that I really should get my act into gear and fill you all in on Ryley.
He had his 18 month check-up with the MCHN at the beginning of April and she is rapt with him. He has not only caught up, but he is actually sitting around about the 50th percentile on the charts for everything - weight, length and head circumference.
He is developing really well too. He did eventually crawl (although we were told he might not because of all of his scarring in his tummy) and he was walking at 15 months. He is doing everything that he is "supposed" to be doing (though I am fast hating all these averages and measurement things! It's a lot to deal with, I think, comparing each child against one another). Glenn keeps telling me to relax - "he'll do it when he's ready!" which is so true (but easier said than done!)
His speech isn't fabulous, though seems to be improving just recently. He babbles on and on all the time, but we can't understand what the hell he is saying! He can say a few words (probably about 10) and can understand everything we say to him, so I don't think I should be too concerned yet (plus Glenn didn't talk until he was 4 apparently). He loves books, which is a good thing and should certainly help. I have just bought him a book called Baby Talk, and that is why I think his speech has improved as he is saying a fair bit of what is in the book.
I have read that a lot of your kiddies love The Wiggles, and Ryley likes them too, but not as much as he likes Hi-5. My god, it is almost an obsession! He just loves the show and claps when it comes on. He laughs along with it and dances. His fave is Charli (I don't know how he will cope now that she's gone!)
Oh, and as for the haircuts, Ryley must've inherited my hair (thick and fast-growing) as he has had heaps of haircuts, his first at 9 months. Now I run the clippers over it (but I don't do it too short as he has cute little curls which I don't want to get rid of altogether)!
He also moved into a 'big bed' in January, a car bed. And the transition was fairly easy. After two afternoon sleeps in it, he settled in for a whole night in the bed and he has been good ever since (but he has always been a brilliant sleeper).
He is also booked into toddler kinder next year (2 hours on a Friday, with me there with him). I am looking forward to it as it is a chance for him to start getting integrated into the school/learning system and to socialise with other kids (though he does this anyway). Sometimes I get a bit worried that as he doesn't attend childcare he may fall behind, so I think this should be a good step.
Toilet training doesn't look like being anywhere close at all (though we have been told to expect this). He has a potty, which he sits on when I am on the toilet (sorry if TMI!), but he also tends to use it as a toy box! That is fine - I only got it for him so he could start to learn what it is for, there is certainly no pressure to use it.
And he has got nearly all of his baby teeth now too. I think only his 2 year old molars are still to come.
As for me, I am still working at the office 1 day a week and working from home the rest of the time (as a consultant, so I do my own hours). It is such a good set-up, I am really enjoying it. My MIL looks after Ryley, which is good for her too as she just adores him and enjoys spending time with him.
Congratulations to all the new mums and the soon-to-be new mums - wow, you guys have all been busy!!!
We have decided that we won't be having any more children. We did try for a lot of last year and nothing happened, so at the end of the year we had a good talk about it and decided it is meant to be this way (there are many reasons, which I won't bore you all with!)
Anyway, that is probably enough from me for now. Good night!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
21-05-2008, 22:18
hi kristin...:wave:
im actually from the november thread so i don't know you. But welcome back!!
sounds like ryley is doing WONDERFUL! coming along in leaps and bounds....! that si great.
my il man keanu is 18 months and sounds similar to Ryley!!
anyway i am off to bed, but will catch up more with personals later
SalTheGal
22-05-2008, 10:20
Hi Kristin, Awesome to hear from you....I often wonder how you were getting on! Riley sounds like he is doing brilliantly. :hugs:
Hey speaking of the potty- Nedd has started doing his morning poo whilst sitting on his potty- with his nappy still on of course, but it would seem a pretty good sign.
For those of you who have been through it before, how did you get them to learn about wee? Nedd has the poo thing down pat- always tells us when he is about to do one, and now doing it on the potty....but I don't think he has a clue about wee.
Well DH and I had another session this morning....and cleared a lot of our greivances, interestingly the counsellor wants DH to go to a GP to have a depression check, in hind sight I can see what she means, and having suffered before now I feel sh!t for not picking up on it....however it is a large part of his personality, he has never been one to get very excited about things, but definitely makes sense that maybe he has a mild case.
We have a mission for the next week or so to think first and foremost about how the other might be feeling and what their needs are and try to cater for them- lets see how we get on, I don't think either of us feel very confident about being able to do it!
I got a call from the Paeds last night to say they have a cancellation today for Nedd, so hopefully I will get some answers about his headbanging- I caught it on film last night so I can show him what is going on!
Kimba- :hugs: for you too....doesn't life just get you down sometimes!! Especially when we have to share them with stupid husbands!
Oh and I love Shaun the Sheep too....my fave kids show I think.
And in my defense re Gordon Ramsey- I did actually read an interview with him a few weeks ago in Sunday Magazine, and he came across as such a devoted caring family man...who happens to be very passionate about the standards set in hospitality (I love passionate people)....and he is hot! I love that rugged, rough and ready look....I know this will sound really daggy but I actually love the way he can make saying the F word sound so natural- he is just so into what he does, and really hates the industry being let down, and even though he gets agro- when the job gets done right, he is so full of praise. :confused: :rolleyes: Ahwell- if no one else gets it then I won't have anyone else to compete with!!!
Very impressive on the amount of hair cuts happening- Nedd is years away from it yet!!
Maryanne- glad to hear the wiggles were great, sorry to Darcy was not so great!!! Hope you have enjoyed your time off....aren't holidays just the best!!
So is anyone else actually NOT using shampoo? We don't even bother with Nedds hair, and to be honest rarely bother with soap either, he just kinda doens't get dirty enough...water does just fine.
OK...its bloody cold, so I am going to go sit on top of the heater and read some of my book- I have taken an A/L day today- even after taking 3wks off I still have 4wks owing, so am making the most of taking some time.
GeorgiaAnne
22-05-2008, 14:29
I have to agree with Sal re Gordon Ramsay, he is a very passionate man and a good family man. It is not unusual for chefs to carry on like that god knows my dh lets it rip often with the language. It is only for people who are not doing the job right but more importantly for those who don't care. Hospitality is very competitive and as I remind our staff all the time - one f### up at the wrong table can mean a bad review=bankruptcy so you do take it personally when people don't care about their job.
I'm procrastinating...I should be planning Literacy activities for the Preps tomorrow (the rest of the day is organised), but I can't be bothered at the moment.
Kristin - Good to hear from you. Thank you for your PM congratulating me on being UTD again. I have been meaning to reply to it for ages, but I'm such a gunna person :o Glad to hear that Ryley is doing so well. Is he still a little angel? I bet he is. Lara's into Hi-5 more than the Wiggles, but it's more that her big sis has influenced her..
Sal - Glad to hear that you had another productive counselling session today. I hope things continue to get better for you guys.
re Gordon Ramsay - sorry, can't see the sex appeal there, but I do love Kitchen Nightmares. I agree on the swearing thing. I hardly notice it when I watch the show, it just seems so natural. I'm not a fan of Hell's Kitchen though, he just seems mean to me on that show.
re toilet training - no use asking me :o It took 8 months to get Eloise TT and we still have issues every now and again. She was ok with poos to start off with, but it took a while to get a wee on the toilet. Once she did, I lavished her with praise and made a huge deal (called grandparents so she could tell them, had a special reward all ready to go etc). Then we started the reward chart for every time she did a wee on the loo. As you may remember though, it was poos that became a problem and they took a lot longer. I have to say, I am in no rush to TT Lara. It was hell with Eloise.
Jackie - Good luck TTC. I hope your :bfp: comes real soon.
We wash Lara's hair every night too. She's a shocker for putting food through her hair. Eloise we only was every few days. We use the Gaia baby range of shampoos.
Kimba - How cute Jet singing along to the Wiggles. Hope you enjoy the concert when you go.
Mary-Anne - Enjoy your last few days of holidays. That 4 weeks went so fast. Glad you enjoyed the Wiggles, just a bit of a pain that Darcy didn't. We decided to give them a miss this time around, we're waiting for another Hi-5 concert (pity that half of them have now left that the girls won't recognise them). We're off to see Disney on Ice in July. Eloise loved it last year and I'm sure that Lara will get a lot more out of it this time too. I've even roped dh into coming.
Lara is now doing much better. The antibiotics have kicked in. She's still been a little restless at nights, so she was in bed with us last night. Needless to say I didn't get much sleep with all her tossing and turning! Eloise has been a PITA for the last few days. Not really naughty, she just speaks to us as though we are dirt. I think a lot of it stems from tiredness, so I have let her have an afternoon nap today and hopefully she'll be better tomorrow.
Lara had her 18mth check up today and all went well. She weighs 10.8kg (nappy and singlet on) and is almost 83cm tall. We had a chat about her behaviour, esp tantrums, biting and slapping and agreed that it more than likely out of frustration. The MCHN recommended that I do the Magic 1,2,3 course before the baby is born, just so that I have some strategies fresh in my head. She agreed that it is likely that Lara will be jealous of the baby if her behaviour continues as it is going. Oh the joys of being a parent.
Well these Literacy activities are not going to plan themselves, so I better go and do some work. Enjoy the rest of your day girls...
VENT: I'm so over Jet waking several times a night. 19.5 months is long enough!!!! Doesn't matter if he's in his own bed or with us, he still wakes at least twice every night and won't resettle without 'help' from me (cuddle, drink, etc) - just screams if I don't go, or if DH goes to him. And that's not even including the occasional night terrors. I just don't know what to do about it any more. I've tried co-sleeping, I've tried being tough and leaving him to settle himself, and everything in between. I keep hoping he'll just grow out of it but it doesn't seem that's every going to happen. It can't be good for him surely??? I know how shagged I feel, never having 8 hours of solid unbroken sleep.
Lucky he's so cute :p. His latest thing is to say 'No' to every question. Even when he asks for something, like milk and I say 'OK do you want me to get you some milk?" he says 'Noo' even though he means yes :laughing:.
My dad was on the phone to me last night and Jet wanted his turn, of course, and the only word he would say to Dad was 'Wuggoosh?" (Wiggles) LOL!
Sare - glad Lara is doing better. Sounds like she's a strong willed little miss - you'll have your work cut out for you when the new baby arrives, won't you. Hope she takes it better than you expect - I always thought 2nd children would be more easy going with sibling rivalry etc, but I guess she's used to being 'the baby'...I've been trying to find a 1-2-3 Magic or Triple P course for DH and I (mainly for DH's benefit!) but they're so hard to find - the only ones I've found so far are in the middle of the day on weekdays - too bad if you work!
Georgia - totally agree with you about one f&ckup ruining your reputation. Choice language and all that doesn't bother me at all - I just don't think Gordon Ramsay is hot (sorry Sal LOL)
Sal - good luck with what you and DH need to work on this week. I think depression is what's behind my DH's issues but he refuses to go see anyone about it, what can you do? sigh. I don't shampoo Jet's hair every night, I don't think there's any need, but DH still does it sneakily when I'm out of the bathroom GRRR.
Kristin - great to hear from you!!! Sounds like Riley is doing really well, it's so good to hear after everything you went through. Jet utterly adored Hi-5 until a couple of weeks ago - and then it was suddenly ALL about the Wiggles, out of nowhere! I haven't really bothered with toilet training Jet yet. Like Riley, he has a potty which he uses as a seat, a toybox, a ride on...he eagerly watches DH and me do 'wees' so hopefully he's starting to get the idea, but still never tells us when he's doing a wee, only a poo...and even then he'll say 'Poo!' and I say 'Have you done a poo?' and he'll say 'Nooo?' :laughing:
diesal444
22-05-2008, 17:57
Evening ladies :wave:
Jackie - Congrats on officially srting to TTC. Hope to hear you joining the mums to be group soon. :smiliedance:
Kristin - Great to to hear Ryley is doing so wonderfully. you must be thrilled. Hope you can make the next Melb meet when we organise one.
Sal - How did things go with the pead and Nedd's head banging? I am a Gordan Ramsey fan too luv. Hope your DH goes and sees someone about possible depression.
Sare - Darc had her MCHN check yesterday and its uncanny coz her weight is also 10.8kg and height 83cm. How weird!! And they are only 1 day apart. :D
Kimba - I honestly do not know how you do everything. With Jet waking through the night and having to work all day you must be totally exhausted!! :hugs:
So that was real quick personals.
Nothing really new here, Darc still has runny nose and I STILL dont wanna go back to work on sunday.
I have pampered myself today and will tomorrow, got some waxing, facial done and tomorrow getting a cut and colour.
I also heard through the grapevine of my work that the hours may be changing again, i tell ya that place really likes to muck up peoples lives, especially those with families!!
Well have a great day tomorrow everyone and a fab weekend! :)
Jackie - good luck on TTC - hope you already have!!
Mary-anne - how is your house going? Funny about your and Sare's little twins! Kayley is still big!! She was 12.7kg and 86 cm at her 18 month check. I am starting to wonder about this 2 year 2 month thing as if she grows 5 cm in the next 6 months she will be on track to be 6 foot!! As I am only 5"7 I can imagine she is going to be taller than me!
Sare - what is Magic 1 2 3? I know Kayley is going to be a jealous bub. When I held my friends newborn she just started screaming. I kind of feel a bit bad as I don't want to put her in that position thinking I love her less but my friend has a daughter 6 weeks younger than Kayley and she is now starting to get used to it all - slowly!!
Kristin - Great to hear from you and it sounds like Riley is doing fantastic!!
Sal - Kayley has had a couple of fringe cuts but I have kept the back which is starting to get long now. I do wash her hair every night normally and just have since she had yucky skin and always had food in it. SHe also has crazy hair but If it ends up like mine it will just end up being thick and messy!
Kimba - end of the year wont be a big wait! As for the Wiggles Kayley LOVES them and I am disappointed they are not coming to Adelaide. I will have to wait to Xmas. i really do need to get her singing and dancing to the songs on camera - the bear song is just sooo cute when she does the shhh shhh shhh thing at the end!!
Well I have to run. Have a good weekend everyone!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
23-05-2008, 09:42
:laughing: so do i...would be a miracle first go..but you just never know....and DP seems to think knowing our chances we will...he he...funny...
i have a sore throat and ke is still felmy/rattley, have a dr appt monday anwyays for his flu vax and immunisations so will see what she says!
had better run, things to do! cleaning..ARGH!
xoxoxo to all
Yippee I got the promotion I went for! It's a pay grade up, (extra $74 a week for now), plus I'll go up again after I've been in the job for a year. That will be affected by my maternity leave though.
Still, it's nice to feel rewarded as I've been practically doing that job for 3 months anyway!
Today has been a good lift from a pretty ordinary fortnight. The m/s is really lifting now, I only feel queasy at dinnertime. Plus I'm finally getting over my cold (and so is Ella!) and I got a full night's sleep last night for the first time in ages (feels like).
Congratulations Jackie on starting your TTC journey - hope it's fun rather than stressful:D (got to be more fun than cleaning...)
Beck, I reckon Ella will be taller than me too! I haven't measured her in ages but she's waaay taller than all the kids at daycare. She was 13kgs last month too, but she's really skinny - there's nothing on her (DP's figure rather than mine!)
What's the 2yr 2month thing - is that when they're supposed to be half as tall as they get?
Mary-ann, love the pampering, you lucky thing! Sucks about going back to work though. Hope Darcy's boogies dry up soon:D I hate boogies - give me a stinky nappy anyday.
Kimba, :hugs: with the sleep deprivation. Hope it sorts itself out soon. Jet's just practising his own form of contraception for you:devil6: setting himself up as an only child. Although it also sounds like your DP doesn't need any help with making himself "resistable" at the moment...bloody men.
Hey Sare - procrastinating is an art form. Bubhub is very helpful for it! We use gaia baby too - about a month ago out of the blue Ella got a really dry itchy scalp, so we changed from Johnson's to gaia and it stopped right away. We wash every night too - just always have. She goes "ahhhh" when you pour the water down her neck!
Hey Sal - I love kitchen nightmares too (or I did when I was awake that late:laughing:) but he's not one of my fantasy three. But hey Phil Waugh makes me swoon (very "rugged/rough" looking rugby player)- so there's no accounting for taste, teehee. Russel Crowe's still my number one though.
OK, got to go - to the pub! Well the TAB anyway. Dad's horse is racing at 12.50 (Itsa Spida) in the trots!
GeorgiaAnne
23-05-2008, 21:18
:sleeping: I'm knackered... moving is no fun and then I had to work tonight though I think I might take an early mark.
Oh, I don't think Gordon's hot - just had to give my two cents worth though I generally do find men with a passion for what they do, no matter what it is, sexy, but obviously I do have a soft spot for chefs :valentine: Or maybe it's just being smart coz I can't cook.
But lol on Phil Waugh Bec, he is a bit of rough trade!!
:hugs: Kimba on the sleep. I kinda know how you feel as Sophia has been a shocker since about 7 months old, though she was good at first.
diesal444
24-05-2008, 07:41
Morning ladies :wave:
Beck- House is coming along nicely thanks. Frame is all done, windows are in and they have finished bricking the garage. When is comes to Darc's height I have no idea as I am quite tall for a female 5ft 9inch, but DP is quite short so it will be interesting to see whom she gets her height from.
Jackie - How great would it be to happen first go! Hope your sore throat gets better soon.
Bec - :yelclap: Great work on getting the promotion. Glad to hear m/s is easing as well. Oh nooo I would rather wipe snotty nose then pooey nappy :barf:
Georgia - arrggh... moving is THE worst full stop, but your adding a lively 19 month old and being heavily preggers, and working, I would say your a champion!!
OK so yesterdays taking blood from my little girl was NOT fun. The pathology nurses were sooooo great and friendly.
I had to hold her body and other arm whilst one nurse held her arm straight and the other nurse took the blood.
TBH, Darcy was more pi$$ed about being held and restricted than anything and that totally distrcted her from the needle getting shoved in her arm
So today is my last full day off. I start at 2am tomorrow morning and I feel pretty sad that the no time, no patience, tired, cranky mum (me!) will be returning.
Ok have a great weekend all, we are off to order shed for when the house is finished and getting some plants established. :wave:
Who is this child? Its not Abbey. MY baby doesn't watch me put a dvd in and say "Go! Press start", or when I take too long washing her hands remind me that "Im STILL stitty" (sticky).
She's a changeling. Must be.
It does make life with her so much easier though :yelclap: Can't go to bed without her banana, or her dog, wants the light on in her room, wants to go outside to draw, jump on the bed, take a shower, eat food, drink milk...I still fill in a whole bunch of gaps but I get the gist of what she's saying most of the time. She also likes to tell ladies at the shops that they are a 'very piddee lay-ee', 'byeee piddy lay-ee'.
Still no progress on TT, sitting still is for chumps. I get questioned about it from friends and family though, thinking she should be out of day nappies by now. I can't force her to TT and she isn't ready, so oh well. Winter buys her time.
Re height - how is everyone measuring? I make Abbey stand against the wall. She doesn't realise why yet, she just thinks it unfair that Mummy can draw on the wall and she can't. I need to buy a proper growth chart, one I can take with me to new houses. Oh, she is 83cm (wiggling and trying to get away, so close enough) and 12.5kg.
Maryanne - Did the path nurses give Darcy a knitted bear? They have them there, donated by old ladies, for brave kids. 2am start sounds horrible, are you used to it?
Bec - congrats on the promotion! :smiliedance: Do they mind that you will be taking maternity leave soon? Glad the ms is clearing up, you can get on with the lovely part and bask in the glory instead.
Russell Crowe? Nup. Never got that one either. What is wrong with me??
Kimba - What would he do if he cried and chucked his noctural narnies and he could see you were resolutely asleep? You might need some earplugs though!
Abbey still wakes a couple times a night in my bed, but she soon gives up when she realises there's absolutely zero benefit. Sometimes she will cry and rail at me for up to an hour but I'm usually immune and she gives it up for several nights before trying again. She often gives a half hearted effort around 3am asking for boobie, but mean mummy just tucks her back in.
It could also be his way of telling you he wants more time with you, maybe an hour after work where you do something outside the apartment, just you and him. Super hard while working and sleep deprived I know.
I honestly don't think I could do it myself, and take care of a man too, I don't know how you working mums don't go crazy and start snapping "I'm not your mother, do it yourself" to your colleagues!
Sal - Thats great news on the counselling and the potty poo position. I think they only have a 5 second pre-wee awareness around this age, if that. So the books tell me anyway. We make teddies do wees, they sit and say pssss. She surprises herself with wees sometimes, making a nice arc for a girl, onto her sandwich. Its so hard being a toddler!
I have people coming over in 30 minutes and I'm still in my jammies surrounded by crud, so off off and away!
SalTheGal
24-05-2008, 11:41
Hey all.
Just a quickie as we are off to the footy this arvo and I want toget organised whilst Nedd is asleep.
Thought you might be interested to hear that Nedd's headbanging/rocking has a name: BUT you must promise not to laugh (or be too horrified), I am taking a bit of time to digest it myself....
"Infantile Masturbation" :eek:
Or more commonly known these days in the more politically correct term of "infant self gratification behaviour"
So- basically he has found a movement which he enjoys, it makes him feel good, and so he does it to 'pleasure' himself...now the paed was very quick to add that it isn't sexual in any way, if fact it isn't related to genital stimulation at all, in his case it is the headbanging/rocking that he seems to enjoy.
Suffice to say we are not explaining it in its simplest form to my or DH's parents (or anyone else that much) as I am sure they will get it confused and think we have a sexual deviate on our hands. :shame:
The bad news is there is nothing we can do...we have to start explaining to him at any chance that we do not like it and it keeps up awake, and hope that he will listen (yeah right!) also soundproofing, and ignoring.
Thurs night was a nightmare- we lay there are listened to him do it on and off all night,until he did it for over an hour at 2am, to the point he eventually woke himself up, and we had screaming battles trying to keep him in his cot till 5am. He came in with us then, and fell straight to sleep- finally giving us our first stint of sleep for the night that lasted longer than 30mins. I am really angry that all the professionals keep telling us that we have to ignore it...it just isn't possible, they seem to think it is so simple, but how can you ignore your child when you are well aware of the fact that they are bashing their head into a solid object. I have some footage which I will upload so you get an idea of what we go through!!
My wonderful mum offered to have him last night though- so we got a full nights sleep and it was wonderful, I feel much more refreshed today. Plus DH offered to take me out for dinner, which was lovely, one of the 'things' we had to do was DH finding time to engage with me one on one away from the distraction of things such as TV!
Sorry I have no time for personals, have read them all, and will be back later! :hugs: :goodvibes:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
24-05-2008, 13:54
if anyone who wants to see who keanu resembles, check out my facebook...i added some piccies of his daddy when he was little...a bit of similarity me do thinks :)
:wave: everyone,
I've been reading everyone's posts, just not posting...I know, rude of me, lol!
Hoping everyone has had a nice weekend.
Sare: You must be stoked the Pies broke our winning streak?? What a pitiful game on our behalf. Hope you're feeling well.
Sal: So, there's a name for it then! At least that's something....but I also don't understand how one's supposed to try and ignore it. A night's sleep would have been nice for you, bet you feel like a new woman! I hope you and DH had a lovely night out too, and that there was enough conversation. I often find that when DH and I go out, we end up talking about the mopt ridiculous, unrelevant things....
Michelle: Aw, Abbey sounds so so cute!!
Mary-Anne: sounds like the house is coming along nicely!! Very exciting! Blood tests for children should be banned, shouldn't they? There should be some other way. It's horrible to have to pin them down and force it upon them, but when it has to be done, it has to be done. I'm not looking forward to having to DS1 back for a second round of blood tests in a couple of weeks. Hope all is good.
Bec: :smiliedance: Congrats on the promotion!!! I got a promotion when I was newly pregnant with DS1, and of course didn't tell them until I felt I needed to (as I was unsure as to what 'would happen'. ) Anyway, all was good. How exciting for you! Hope you are feeling well.
Jackie: Good luck! I was lucky enough to fall pregnant first time with DS1, DS3 and with this one, so it can definitely be done. (If you're wondering, DS2 was a pleasant surprise, and lol)
Not much more from me. We went out to DH's nephews 14th b'day party last night, and din't get home till very late, and not into bed until after midnight! Not good for a very tired pregnant mummy of 3 boys that don't know how to sleep in, lol! Needless to say, I'm off to bed in a minute.
J seems to be getting more teeth. A poo in every nappy today, and a red bottom to go with them. I think it's the bottom equiv. to the top eye teeth...are these eye teeth too? :confused: Anyway, one looks as if it's almost through, and the otehr will probably be here in a week or so.
I can't believe we're almost in June :eek: I have something baby related going on each week in June, and I'm afraid the month is going to fly by in a wink....then I'll be a Mummy of 4!!
Ok, night all
I am so over feeling sick at the moment. And sooooo tired!
Went for an antenatal appointmnet at my local public hospital this morning and they said as I am in a low risk category I can just go straight through the midwivery care. I am booked in with an Ob and now I am thinking whether I should just go through the public system which will be a lot cheaper! Decisions decisions....
Mary-Anne - jealous on the house but glad it is going along well for you.
Michelle - I am surprised people are telling you that Abbey should be out of nappies by now. Kayley is only just starting to recognise the sensation and is no where near starting to TT. I will probably look into it more after she is 2. I don't think there really needs to be any hurry.
Bec - congrats on the promotion!
Sare - you must be happy with the pies. My footy tipping was dismal this week!!
Sarah - you must be very fertile!!! Better take care if you don't want a number 5!!My friend who has just had number 4 is abstaining until her DH goes to have THE operation!
Sal - not sure how you ignore that - must be sooo hard. Do you think a big bed may help as he wont have the cot to bang against? Kayley is close to needing a big bed I think. She has to have so many things in with her in the cot now there is hardly any room for her (teddies in their blankets etc) - lucky we are past SIDS time.
Anyway that is it for me today. Hope everyone has a fantastic week.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
26-05-2008, 12:01
Sarah :fingerscrossed: for me then...
i have a feeling wen have conceived..BUT could all just be wishful thinking...i have had period type pain/cramps...?? could be a sign? i have 11 days til i am due for my period so have to wait it out...would be a great bday present! as i can test on the 6th june, 3 days after my birthday!
eeewww i have a pooey nappy to change,
chat later girls
xoxox
PS - does anyone have a phil & teds -i can get a new one for $552 with the toddler seat...! is that good?
Yep, we have one. I have had mine since late 2005, and I know we paid more than that, so I'd say to buy it!! I know they have all just had a price rise (or if they haven't where you are, they will soon), so yeah, I'd get it
:wave: again,
I have a question for all of you Oct mummies (Thanks Sare)
Did anyone have acupuncture to assist with the natural induction of their baby?? Sare 'reminded' me that you did KIMBA? How did you find it? Did it work for you? What sort of symptoms, etc did you experience after the treatments?
My acupunturist has said that generally there are 3 treatments, which can be done 3 days in a row. She says that there is a 90% success rate. She also seems to think that because this is number 4, I may not need all 3 treatments.
Did anyone other than Kimba try this....I can't remember? :o
Still same old, same old here. Slappings of good behaviour mixed with dashes of :devil6: (esp Lara), but on the whole, all's good.
Sarah - I didn't want to mention the footy. I hate it when opposition supporters gloat, so I try not to. I'm sure your boys will bounce back this week.
Hope you are well too. You must be getting mighty excited about meeting your little girl. Did you go early/on-time/late with the boys?
Jackie - :fingerscrossed: for you. We got pg 1st time trying with Lara (after taking over a year and fertility treatment for Eloise). It would definitely be a great b'day pressie for you.
We're thinking of getting the new Phil and Ted's vibe. Lara's no where near ready to be let loose and walk when we go out and it folds with the toddler seat on too. It costs over $900 though. I think you can get a P&T's E3 for around $500 now.
Beck - Good luck with your decision about whether to go public or private. Hope the m/s eases up soon. How long until you have your NT scan...it must be coming up soonish???
I think that 123 Magic is a parenting program that looks at discipline strategies to use. I think a lot of it would be similar to the strategies that we use in the classroom, but it can't hurt to try.
Sal - I'm so sorry I had to laugh, not at Nedd, but at the name of the condition. It must be horrible to have to deal with affecting not only Nedd's, but your sleep too. Did you see in the Sun Herald yesterday, an article about mums inventions and there was a mum that invented a foam helmet, but they weren't full helmets (like a bike helmet), they were a few pieces of foam covered in what looked like a terry towelling material. Would something like that curb Nedd's behaviour?
Michelle - :laughing: at Abbey and her orders. Is she turning into a little diva? :eek: on all the people asking if you've started Abbey TT yet. As I've said before, we're no where near it. I was told that intelligent kids find TT more difficult...so used that as an excuse when we were having issues with Eloise.
Mary-Anne - The pics of your house look great. That's one huge garage that you're getting...dh would be so jealous if he saw it :laughing: Hope that going back to work wasn't too bad for you.
Georgia - Glad the move is over. Hope you've all settled well (and that the move has stopped Sophia's 4.30am wake up calls)
Bec - Congrats on the promotion. Hope that you are feeling heaps better now. How much longer until your next scan?
Kimba - :hugs: I really empathise with you. I don't know what to suggest (besides a good set of earplugs) because you've done sleep school, chiro, failsafe diet and countless other things and Jet's still not sleeping. Has the move to the big bed made any difference? Is he old enough to understand a reward chart for sleeping through (Eloise at 19/20 months was, but Lara would have no hope).
Well as I said earlier nothing much happening here. The girls have been relatively good and are still recovering from cold, but are ok. Dh has been working really long hours and then coming home and doing more work at home (his work is paying him overtime for all the work he does at home, which comes in handy). And I'm ok too. Really not enjoying being pregnant as much this time, I think because I was not mentally ready to be pregnant yet. But I can't wait to meet the latest addition to our family. Plus all the pregnancy niggles are starting to get to me...picking up an almost 11kg toddler, while you have a really sore back is a recipe for disaster.
Well enough of my moaning. Take care...
Sare - I didn't detect any moaning there, so its all good. Is Lara being an evil demon child? Tell us more, we like to hear about other children to make us feel better. Ok, *I* like to hear about other headstrong children doing naughty things to make myself feel better!
Sarah - nup, no acupuncture, just a glass of wine.
Jackie - how do you resist testing before then? I couldn't do it, darn the wasted tests and false negatives, I'm just compulsive by nature. I hope you are pg, but gawd 6th June is so far away.
Beck - If you're just going midwife care and delivery then I'd go public and save some $. If anything goes wrong they still call in an OB, it just doesn't cost you anything. Maybe you could get a private room in a public hospital or some merging like that.
I just found out in the Royal Brisbane (public) you have to pay for tv. I was like, wtf? That is just so foreign to me, it should be free. It's free in the country hospitals and they're the ones with lower funding. Its a crazy, crazy world. If I'm paying for tv I expect something more than an ancient tiny tv on the wall and free channels, that's for sure. Anyway, rant over.
Sal - such an unfortunate naming! You knew he was doing it as he found it soothing, but that name? You know, when he's older and you catch him in the real act (which you will), you can tease him that he's been doing it since he was a baby and you even have it on video. Tell him he did it all night long without caring who was looking.
Hmm, too much padding of the bars makes his bed smaller...but what if the padding was more sound absorbent, like bubble wrap absorbent, but without the pop noise risk. Maybe google packing options and see if there's anything suitable you can put around the bottom of the bars. You'll still get the rattling of the cot side with each bang (unless you wedge with cardboard), but maybe the actual impact will be muffled.
Or try him on a large mattress on the floor and see just how far he will go to find something to headbutt.
Re TT, no I'm not in a hurry either. If she's naked and due to pee I will ask if she wants to sit on the potty, she doesn't, so okay, no biggie. She does wear knickers sometimes if I think there is a poo risk though. The people asking me are used to TT starting at 12 months, going back to when it was just terry cloth nappies and they were sick of bleaching them.
Abbey was a delight at playgroup this morning. Not! Didnt want to share, have other kids near her toys, grabbing, having tanties when she was foiled... then to the supermarket where all the other kids were having tanties and showing her how a pro would do it, then real estate and tanties when I wouldn't let her ring the bell repeatedly, tanty at home when I took her shoes off...she's just had a bad morning full of typical toddler behaviour. Napping now, and hopefully she will wake up adorable again, especially since there aren't any other kids to annoy her here.
Back again to say how proud I am of my little girl. She has an alphabet peg puzzle, 26 letters, so 26 pegs. She just sat down and did the entire thing, turning the letters around the right way up before popping most of them into the correct place first go. She has trouble with M, W, N..multi pointed letters get confusing, but she worked them out pretty quick. She even said the name of some of the letters before placing them, like B C D E but all out of order and random. She's only had the puzzle available for the past month, I got sick of her throwing the letters around and put it up for ages. She really is all grown up and off to do something amazing! Oh GUSH!
Geez I love my little guy. He'll be playing and suddenly go "Mummy, mummy, mwa, kish, cuggle!" and come running over to give me a cuddle and kiss, then says bye-bye and goes back to what he was doing. Aw! :cloud9:
We had a great weekend down the coast. Jet was really well behaved, no tantrums, and had a ball at my parents' place - loved fearlessly chasing cows on the farm & got cranky when they ran away! :laughing: He said 'Poppy' for the first time, made my Dad feel a million dollars because even my nephew isn't saying Poppy yet. My nephew was being your typical 2 year old and saying 'mine mine', pushing Jet off all the toys etc, throwing tanties - made Jet look like an angel in comparison (for a change!) LOL.
Dare I say he's been sleeping marginally better. Going down in his cot, wakes around the time I go to bed, joins us in our bed, and sleeps through till morning. Sometimes he wakes again around 2.30ish but that's when DH goes to work so can't blame him for that. His cold is hanging around though, coughs and snorts all night...
Sarah - yes I had acupuncture to try to induce labour, but still ended up with hospital induction because I ran out of time (10 days overdue). I think maybe one more session could have done it because the day I went into hospital I was crampy and spotting...So no I guess it didn't work for me - it was lovely though, really relaxing!
Beck - if you're low risk then save your money I say - why pay for an Ob you probably don't need? I'd go with the public midwife care and if you need an Ob then the hospital will have one on hand, like what happened with me - when I needed the emergency C-sect the Ob was lovely. Of course if it really matters to you to have someone you 'know' deliver your baby then go with an Ob...but to me, when it comes to who's 'catching' then I could really care less! Only cr@p thing with public is the shared room...but you can of course pay the excess to be a private patient in the public hospital and get a room to yourself.
Michelle - Abbey is a clever little chook isn't she! I can't even imagine TT'ing Jet at 12 months. I'm trying to get him to sit on the potty for poos (with his nappy on) and failing dismally LOL but meh, I'm in no rush. With ignoring Jet at night - I do that too, but he's already woken ME anyway, so I'm still sleep deprived whether I ignore him or not...and he just whinges for longer if I ignore him. I already spend an hour with him every evening before bed, playing then having quiet time and cuddles, reading books etc...can't really extend that without cutting back hours at work to come home earlier (and don't I wish I could!)
Sare - I didn't think you were moaning - I honestly don't know how you manage being pg and hauling around a toddler, let alone both kids! I absolutely could not handle being pg right now...way too exhausting...although I know the longer I wait the heavier Jet will get LOL.
Jackie - good luck with TTC! hope it all goes the way you hope.
Bec - congrats on your promotion! Way to go! Had to giggle at you liking Phil Waugh and nope I don't get the Russell Crowe thing either...
Sal - I nearly fell off my chair when I read what Nedd has - gosh you'd think they could call it Gratification or something instead. I don't know how they expect you to just ignore it either. The noise alone would be enough to keep me awake all night. I really hope you find a solution soon - I was also thinking maybe a big bed or a mattress on the floor?
SalTheGal
27-05-2008, 20:46
Hey everyone!
Beck- congrats on the promo! Isn’t it nice to be recognised for your hard work…glad to hear you are feeling better too. Did your dad’s horse win? We have shares in a racehorse, and it will be starting to run in the next few months, I am very excited (although the best bet is that it will probably be a dud!). And we must have the same taste in men- Russ is a bit of a spunk!
Georgia- Hope you have settled in well…have you got some pics of the new place? How has Sophia gone with the move?
Beck- I did shared care through the public system with my GP and Middies, and I loved it. I had a fantastic birth experience, and will definitely be doing the same again next time.
Jackie- I have a P&T too, the older style you can get for that price now as they have bought out a newer model…its good, but I don’t rave about it like a lot of people do. Can’t put much in the undercarriage, and Nedd tends to sit quite deep back in it, so he can’t see as much as in his stroller.
Michelle- seriously Abbey is so clever!!! Nedd has one of those puzzle things, and has no hope of getting it right, and give up after about two seconds of trying. :rolleyes:
Kimba- sounds like your having a lovely time with Jet at the moment, isn't it bliss when it all goes smoothly. :hugs:
I kinda get a bit annoyed sometimes with Nedd- he is so just ‘nothing’ if that makes sense, whilst he isn’t one to throw tantrums which is a good thing, he isn’t one to do anything remarkable either… whilst tantrums can be annoying at least they show a feisty spirit! (Which was me as a child, and I am very passionate now as an adult) DH is so laid back he’s almost not present, and Nedd is shaping up to be very similar. I mean I love him to death, and he has the most charming nature, so easy going, and obliging, but so not passionate!!!
Re his h/banging, I will definitely be transferring him into a big bed when we move into our house, am reluctant to do it sooner, as it will be a pain to set up, then dismantle a bed. Though I am thinking about putting a single mattress against the wall, and shoving the cot against it so that it hits something soft. I really do just struggle with the thought that he is even doing it to be honest, even if I couldn’t hear it, it upsets me to know its happening. We have been using positive re-enforcement, and encouragement, talking to him lots and asking him every night not to bang, and I actually think it is easing… I was only up to him once last night which was wonderful! He seems to be good at listening and interpreting what we are asking him, and with all things daily- not just this, he is generally very obliging!
Using the potty has taken an interesting turn here in the last few nights; Nedd has done an actual poo in his potty with nappy off time three nights in a row, since Sunday. So he seems to have the knack of it. I am not even considering TT for real though, as he has no idea about wee, and I really want to wait till summer so he can get around without pants… at this stage we are just giving him some nappy free time in the evenings, and I am trying to catch him doing a wee and talking bout it with him when it happens.
I am off to Syd in the morning for company meeting till Fri. :no: I have to be up at 5am to go to the airport :sleeping: So leaving my little munchkin in the capable hands of DH, at least that is one thing I know I can totally rely on him with- he is brilliant with looking after Nedd.
Our house is officially started :yelclap:… services getting laid this week, and slab being poured I think next week, so that’s great! Though after all this time planning I am getting apprehensive about it, what if we don’t like it?!?!
TTC, I am slowly wearing DH down!! He was using starting the house as an excuse, so now he doesn’t really have anything reason to give me, and is seriously just stalling.
OK, I have totally rambled, I am not taking computer with me, so enjoy the rest of your week everyone. :goodvibes:
Another reader but non poster here. Our lives are incredibly busy at the moment. Adam has had his 1st cold ever, so have the twins. We also had conjunctivitis doing the rounds.
All well again thankfully.
All 3 gorgeous little men in our lives are darlings. No tantrums from Adam but he does get terribly excited if someone is going near something he likes eg, tv, computer, blocks, books, twins ha ha pretty well for any reason.
Tomorrow will be funny, it's my birthday and i know he will go psycho when he sees the cake. I've hinted enough to know the family will have a nice one ha ha. God i'll be 36.....getting too old to have all these kids around :laughing::laughing:
Atleast they all realise i'm an old fogie who needs 7 hours sleep minimum. Even the twins sleep through which is excellent for 12 week olds.....and me.
As for tv shows we have the tv on most of the day...more for background noise i think lol. adam loves watching playhouse disney stories on the net all of a sudden. he even says toodles before mickey mouse asks....very clever
Just wanted to do a quick up date. Will hopefully be on a bit more now sick germs are out the window.
GeorgiaAnne
28-05-2008, 10:17
Di - Great to hear from you - you are supermum in my eyes!
Sal - Don't have any pics yet but I will post some soon when we get the furniture sorted! In answer to your q ages ago, we've moved to Neutral Bay which is actually where I grow and my parents still live which is pretty daggy I know but I think i'll need their help with # 2.
Kimba - lol on Jet being an angel compared to your nephew, I think I need an experience like that:rolleyes: Miss muffet is truly a force of her own. Let's catch up next week sometime?
Ach sorry i've gotta go for emergency, i'll try and get back on this arvo xxxx Hope all is well
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
28-05-2008, 12:03
hi all
having a sad day...missing QLD and the family!!! would go back in a flash if i could!!
its nice here tho...just missing home!
Well, Lara (aka Devil Child :devil6:) had a shocker last night. I put her to bed at 8 and she screamed and screamed until 11. There were bouts of me holding her, where she'd settle, but the second I left her room she'd scream. I don't know what's going on with her at the moment. She's been saying ear a lot again, so I think I might take her back to the drs if this behaviour continues.
She tries to make it all better though. This morning dh put her in bed with me just before 7, when he left for work. She comes in as bubbly as anything and says Hi Mummy and then proceeds to cover me in kisses :valentine: Luckily, I adore her.
I've managed to get a cold again. It's now been almost 4.5 years that I haven't been able to take cold medicines, I've either been pg or breastfeeding. The 2 months between stopping feeding the girls and falling pg, I've managed to stay cold-free. At least I can still use the trusty dimetapp nasal spray.
My belly has really popped out over the last few days. The parents at school still don't know. I think they'll suss it out this Friday.
Di - Glad to hear that you boys are all better.
Jackie - Sending :hugs: your way. How long till the visits start?
Sal - That sounds like my dh too...not very passionate. Not sure what you can do to foster the passion, but I guess seeing you, being a role model, should help him realise that it's good to be passionate about some things.
Great news about your house starting.
Kimba- Awww... that sounds adorable.
Michelle - What a clever poppet Abbey is. I don't think Lara would have the attention span to get to c, let alone z.
Well I'm off to cook dinner. Take care...
I've taken a day off today because we're going to see the Wiggles at 3pm. Jet is at daycare this morning, so I've had a much needed few hours to myself. Mind you I've spent it doing DH's chores which I was sick of waiting for him to do...
We've started introducing the Supernanny concept of 'naughty/ thinking mat' for Jet, after seeing my brother using it successfully with my nephew on the weekend. When Jet does something I've asked him not to do (like throwing his table over, or smacking me) I get eye to eye and tell him I don't like it when he does that and take him to sit on a mat in the kitchen for a minute. I thought it'd take him a while to cotton on but the first time I did it, he stayed there for the full minute, started crying because he realised it was a punishment, and hugged me 'sorry' afterwards, aw.
But even after only doing it twice, now I only have to mention the word 'naughty' (or even 'sit'!) and he runs into the kitchen saying 'sit sit' and sits on the mat, eager to please and smiling at me - even when I haven't sent him there! I'm sure he thinks it's a fun game? :laughing:
Sare - hope Lara had a better night last night. It's hard to be grumpy with them when they're so adorable, isn't it :cloud9: I hope you get over your cold soon, nothing worse than not being able to relieve your symptoms!
Jackie - :hugs: hope your homesickness isn't as bad today. I know how you feel though, I miss my family all the time and they're only a few hours drive away, I can imagine how hard it is being across the country.
Georgia - I think it's great that you're able to live close to your parents, I don't think it's daggy at all. I wish I could! Jet is usually a force unto himself as well, so it was a pleasant change to see him being sweet while my nephew acted bratty :laughing:
Di - happybirthday hope you had a lovely day! I'll be 36 this year too...sigh. And probably 37 before we have another baby, yikes...
Sal - have a good trip - and well done to Nedd using his potty for poos! I would call that remarkable :yelclap: It's funny how you wish Nedd was more passionate and I sometimes wish Jet was more laid-back (especially when we were travelling!). I tell ya, I'll swap you a passionate child for a laid-back one for a weekend, and see if you still feel the same way LOL.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
29-05-2008, 13:42
Feeling a bit better today, thanks for the :hugs: girls.
DP and i aren't talking tho...the silent treatment is happening...we rarely argue...he went to bed early and was up early for work so wont see him til 5pm, and one of the lovely girls i have met over her has invited me shopping tonight...i want to sort things with DP first, as we rarely argue and i hate it.
yeh just miss everyone, i am sure it is just homesickness. lol....it'll pass.
no news to report here, keanu is doing great thom cutting more teeth!
Aaargh - feeling sick and yucky today. Supposed to be getting our slab poured but doesn't look like any action when we checked earlier.
Have to go to a 1 y/o b/day today and feel to tired but should be fun for Kayley!
Sorry no personals except I hope you feel better soon Jackie.
I love rainy days. It means the mornings are really dark and Abbey doesn't notice she has let me sleep in until 8am. That was yesterday, today is supposed to be rainy but the sun is shining and tricking us.
Question about sleep - Abbey takes AGES to get to sleep now. I put her in her cot at bedtime, and she tosses and turns and babbles for a bit before settling, but then she spends almost an hour staring at the wall, using my hand for a pillow. Refuses to settle down until she gets my hand. Then comes the extraction/resettle period. I'm going to buy some gloves to help me escape, but does anyone have any ideas how to get her to drop off faster? I've made it dark, sung songs, hummed, pretended to be asleep myself, actually fallen asleep myself...
Even rocking takes an eternity, to the point I can't stand the pain of her weight anymore and we start the bedtime hand grab and stare process anyway.
I'm tempted to put her to bed in my big bed, since she ends up there anyway, and if it takes an hour for her to drop off at least I will be comfortable. But is that a side step, or a back step?
Beck - did Kayley enjoy the party? Hope you're feeling better today, and that your slab has been poured.
Jakie - are you and DP talking again yet, and you're feeling less homesick?
Kimba - did Jet dance to the wuggoosh? Abbey yells "woodul" everytime they are on, and can recognise merchandise branding now, its very sad as she will soon say I want. How did you get Jet to sit on the mat for the first time? I haven't tried anything like that with Abbey yet, probably soon though. She has no concept of remorse when hurting me yet either.
Sare - hope Lara doesn't have another infection, or does have one and once fixed she will be back to delightful. Wouldn't it be good to be able to buy an ear looker and see for yourself.
Di - Happy Birthday! Hope you're over your cold, and everyone else's too.
Sal - I'd say his potty achievement is remarkable! Wish Abbey was more obliging and laid back. You don't really want tantrums, keep saying that and you'll ensure your next baby will be a feisty one driving you crazy day and night. How's the charting going?
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
01-06-2008, 16:17
m_jelly - somtimes ke takesa while to wine down. he talks and babbles...i just leave him usually...
how many day sleeps is abbey having?
yep we sorted everything out thrusday night....and homesickness has passed...til the next bout lol...we are both missing home...etc etc so was a bit of tension in the air...all is fine. we rarely argue and i hate when we do!
i am thinking i might be preg. period is due in 5 days...i am feeling VERY hungry, even after eating...i can eat and eat and eat and not feel full...and have hunger pains, certain smells make me feel icky...and i have been feeling sick on/off...all this has been happening for the past week..maybe its all in my mind lol...who knows...hopefully ill have a result in 5 days lol!
anyways better run have a roast in for tonight!
Here's the new thread for June!!
http://http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=181649
I'll have to pop back in tomorrow for a chat. Off to bed now to watch Grey's and Brothers and Sisters....what a thrilling life I lead :laughing: