View Full Version : Jan Mums - May Chat
I thought I'd start a thread for the new month! :)
Welcome to May everyone!
This is the last post in the April thread ... from kewlchicmum:
Mim I hope you all get lots and lots of sleep from here on in sounds like its working already you will not know what to do with your self with all the sleep
Tabby How is all the wedding stuff going not long now.
Livesmum Oh no the things I will have to look forward to lol oh what joy. How are you going with bubs you seem to be doing it so easy I take my hat off to you. I just hope that I will be able to do it just a little bit starting to get a bit worried thinking oh no what have I gotten myself into lol. Not long now and I am thinking that I am not really that ready I feel like I don't know what I need to get or do I know I sound silly.
Tabby
01-05-2008, 09:04 AM
lol liviesmum, Usually happens somewhere along the line. I just brought Katie a blackboard/whiteboard. She loves it! Only used under supervision and pens are given back as soon as shes done. No chalk yet, couldnt find it!
Mim: Hows Josh?
kewlchic: Yep 2 weeks to go! Lots to do this week and next. Going over the music selection after work tomorrow, dinner tonight ( free sample dinner from caterers yum! )
Saturday, shopping for the last, shoes for me, drinks and odds and ends like a shirt for df to change into to etc.
Am sure youll be fine!!! There is always that last bit of panic whether its no1 or no4.. I think it happens regardless of how ready or not ready we are, but after youll wonder why you worried :hugs:
Katie had the worst bum rash last night! Couldnt even sit bath..Would have been the cheese with PICKLES sandwich she nabbed of grandad :(
Anyhow lots of cream and a total sleep through, which I didnt expect with that so must be better.
xxx shower time !
Tabby
01-05-2008, 09:29 AM
she woke just as ended post, whew rash pretty much gone, a little red at the front! but heaps better.
She broke my heart last night screaming and crying it hurt that much. yet nothing you can do but wait for the cream to heal it. she couldnt even sit nappy on or off :crying:
anyhow all good now
Shower!!!!
Cat13
01-05-2008, 12:03 PM
Glad Katie's rash didn't hang around Tabby and hope you enjoyed your shower. I generally close Cameron in the bathroom with me for mine so at least I know where he is even if he does get into everything.
Mim, hope Josh is feeling well.
Liviesmum, hope the crayon cleaned off OK? I bought some the new Crayola ones where the crayon is held in a plastic ball thingy for them to grip onto and was very disappointed that only one of the 3 in the pack was useable. The other two the crayon had melted within the holder and wouldn't wind up. I should have returned it but couldn't be bothered. Still, he had a little scribble with the one good one although had more fun trying to suck the crayon out when I wasn't looking. I swear he does it on purpose because he thinks it's funny to hear me say 'no, yuk yuk'!
kewlchic - I'm sure you are more than ready. The one thing that has stuck with me from when Cameron arrived is how little a newborn really needs. :yes:
kewlchicmum
01-05-2008, 02:36 PM
:goodvibes:Happy 1st day of the month to every one hope it is a great month for us all:goodvibes:
Mim Good job darls I sent that one out last night and didnt even think to start new month a bit early lol Oh how is Josh going?
Tabby Oh how exciting for you all.
Glad Katie's rash is better it hurts me so much to when they are like that esp since we can't do any thing but wait for the cream to do its wonder magic. Lachlan was like that a little while ago and it happens so quick with out warning.:thumbsdown:
CatTabby I know your right I just stress out thinking that I am forgetting some thing.
Us Well we went to a kids fun play today with some other mummies and bubs all round some age it was so much fun in the ball pit and slide and climbing over and under things Lachlan did not want to leave he is having a BIG sleep now.
3Divas&me
01-05-2008, 03:47 PM
Tabby- poor katie and her little toosh!:crying:
Kewlchic- I was freaking out all pg over how I was going to cope, but you just do, I have not really thought about it since phoebe has been born... I guess because they are there, and you have a job to do and you just get on with it. It is amazing how much we can do that we thought was not possible- in saying that somedays are hard, but there is always tomorrow!
Hi all:wave: hope things are well.
Yep crayon cleaned off ok- I guess as it is a bit waxy it is easy to wipe off- little bugger though, I really need to watch miss Bridget now- she is into all sorts of mischief when my back is turned!
Lost another 1.1kg this week- Woohoo:smiliedance: feels so nice to be getting myself back on track.
Hope you are all well, better go and get dinner started!
Thanks for your comments everyone. It's been a long day as I had a dinner meeting tonight after work. Left home at 7:30am, home by 10pm. Josh stayed at mum's last night, so I haven't seen him since 2pm yesterday. He's asleep now and making little noises in his sleep, but otherwise fine apparently. Dh said he was a bit quiet tonight. Mum thinks he's teething (eye teeth) ... I hope they come thru soon. I think he's over the surgery though and that's great.
liviesmum ... :smiliedance: for your weight loss. I tried a calorie controlled weight loss plan (like weight watchers/jenny craig) and couldn't lose weight at all. So, I went onto optifast after 3 months of unsuccessful weight loss. I've now lost 6kg in nearly 4 weeks, so I'm thrilled, but I suspect I'll put a bit back on when I finally finish it.
Cordelia
01-05-2008, 10:27 PM
mim - so happy that josh is doing well! hope the teeth come up soon...
nappy rash! hope katie's is ok.. must be a caitlin thing because we have a TERRIBLE case of it today. it was fine when I changed her nappy after her morning nap and then when i put her to bed a few hours later - YOWWWW.... haven't ever seen it this bad. The nappy cream works very well though. I think it's coz i gave her some chilli chicken kebabs last night ... oops :P
weight loss - that is fantastic!!! i have lost cm's thru curves but not much weight. (which is what counts when you're thinking of having a baby) I was thinking last night that my bmi was just on the cut off for going to the main maternity hospital here. And I'm a few kgs heavier now. Not sure if it works the same with private hospitals (went public with Caitlin). Either way. would like to lose a few kgs quickly "just in case!!!"
Wellll... hope everyone is good. I can't think of anything else to write atm.. OH!!!
yes - i had my first day of work. I was bored and tired at the end of the day but Caitlin had a great day with her nanna.. and nanna had an even better day. so that was excellent :)
kewlchicmum
01-05-2008, 11:08 PM
Wow and well done to Livesmum mim and Cordelia on your weight loss and cm's its all good:yelclap: I cant wait to be breastfeeding and loosing some of what I have now starting to really feel it I feel like a big watermelon in my tummy bub is getting up under my rib cage and getting short of breath......:shame:
Oh scrapbookers out there I know your out there I need some help were do I start????????????????:confused:
Well I am off to bed now to good night all.:wave:
Strawberry_Shortcake
02-05-2008, 12:43 PM
Kewlchic- I was freaking out all pg over how I was going to cope, but you just do, I have not really thought about it since phoebe has been born... I guess because they are there, and you have a job to do and you just get on with it. It is amazing how much we can do that we thought was not possible- in saying that somedays are hard, but there is always tomorrow!
:iagree:
Cordelia
02-05-2008, 12:59 PM
kewlchic - for some reason i can't accept your request sorry.. will try again later. just dind't want you thinking i was denying you!!!!!!
scrapbooking.. the bubhub comp is up to give you some ideas!
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=2614661#post2614661
Scrapbooking from the Heart has some really good beginner classes! or get a magazine!! or come round sometime and our kids can play together and we'll scrap to our hearts content!! *ahhh..... pleasures of life!!*
Strawberry_Shortcake
02-05-2008, 01:14 PM
oh man, just wrote a mega post and T1 decided to play on my laptop while i was checking on T2 :hissy:.
Have to come on late.. Lunch time
3Divas&me
02-05-2008, 01:27 PM
Kewlchic- same here as Cordelia- cant seem to accept the request, keeps going to a weird page and not accepted!
Here are some pics of the girls:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=577234&id=739556304
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=577234&id=739556304#pid=577235
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=577234&id=739556304#pid=577270
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=577234&id=739556304#pid=577271
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=577234&id=739556304#pid=577273
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=577234&id=739556304#pid=577290
2s'nuff
02-05-2008, 02:04 PM
Hi:wave:
Mim...Good to hear J is doing well after his op. Hope the teeth come quickly for you.
Liviesmum...LOL at B and the crayons. We keep DD1's drawing stuff well out of TJ's reach. At daycare she often picks up the crayons, but I'm not letting her anywhere near them at home for a while.
Cordelia...good to hear the first day at work went well, even if it was a bit boring. Is it at the same school you taught at before C arrived?
Tabby...hope K's bum is better.
Been a very busy and chaotic week. Started work on Monday, so far so good.
TJ came down with something based in her chest on Tuesday night. Had the sound of croup Tues night, but has changed to a wheezing sound. As a result I haven't had much sleep this week as she's continually waking at night. Off to the doc's tomorrow.:fingerscrossed: the doc can either give us something or it will be over with soon.
Better go, have a good weekend,
Lisa
Tabby
02-05-2008, 08:31 PM
Mouse: Hope TJ's is feeling better soon and gp offers some help and relief xx
kewlchick: Yep same here, cant accept, going to a error page for me.
liviesmum: Will have to take a look pics after the 6th, were net shaped here at the moment to 64k!
Congrats Cordelia and liviesmum on the weight!
I actually weighed my self for the first time in ages and have lost 12 kilo since started!
:yelclap:.
Want another 10 off at least, am only going slowly now though, Just watching what I eat and no junk unless totally urging for it lol.
Mim: Glad josh is feeling okay. I think we have eye teeth here too now, so lets hope they are through quickly.
Thanks everyone for thinking of Katie with her sore botty.
Alls well now. The next day was much better, she even slept through that night, now that was unexpected!
anyhow all better. She wanted bed at 7 tonight and usualy she gets sleepy too when teething, that plus those burning poss..it might not have been granddads pickles after all lol.
Cordelia: Katie has heaps of spicy or mildy hot foods, she loves it! Never been a problem though. Last night she had chili chicken bites off her big brother, they were quite hot but she was saying yum yum the whole way through eating and asking for more. poos were fine today.
Maybe teething for Caitlin as well means yucky and burning poo?
Paid off my hire equipment today, while there I spied helium tanks. yep another $100 to the bill for the balloons LOL
It should look fantastic!!
Tomorrow = all the drinks and table snakcs and clothes for DF ( change of clothes before leaving) and clothes for both my sons :thumbsup:
Plus lots of little things like
6 vases
candles for candelabra
tissues !!! (<--- going need lots of those lol )
water proof mascara
coffee/tea/sugar etc
safety pins and needle n thread for emergency
disposable cameras
and the list goes on ...
sunday off to markets to see the flower man see what sort of deal for the tables
happy weekend all
kewlchicmum
03-05-2008, 11:04 AM
I think bub hub was down yesterday mid morning cause I could not get on and a strange message kept coming up but its up and running now all good.
Thanks cordelia for that link I have not seen that thread before and I have been in the hobby threads before must of missed it wow some of the pages are sooooo great I don't know if I will be part as good. Might go today and print some pic's to get me started now I have my albums all up to date oh what a job and a half that just was.:rolleyes:
Livesmum Thanks for the support I think I might be picking your brain soon and asking you all sorts of questions toSammyTriedmumMimand all you other Mummies who have 2 bubs.
TabbyOh WOW on the weight loss:smiliedance: that is soooooooooo great you must be so happy with yourself well done. Oh and not long now exciting times there always seems so much to do and most you have to leave right before the day.:wizard: coming your way.
Us well a quite weekend for us DH is away first weekend him being away might give my scrapbooking a start see how that goes.
Hope you all have a great weekend chat soon
Tabby
03-05-2008, 09:46 PM
wow what a day! Only just stopped since 8am.
Shopping most of the day, took Katie to mums to make it easier at 9am and shopping till 2, back home put her to nap then i was out again, fuel and get our drinks for the wedding.
a much lighter wallet after that trip lol
anyhow managed to get nearly everything. :yelclap:
Home to change lounge room to accommodate the heater coming back in, heh just an excuse to change the room around, oh and so could fit Katies new indoor playhouse in too. Its a castle, reduced to $10 at red dot from 50, its so cool! and she loves sitting in it.
Cook dinner then finally sit down, dishes wait though :(
plus some great shoes!!! Cant upload yet as we are shaped till Monday so will do it then so all can see. The pics dont do justice, the are silver strappy heals with diamontes all over the straps .
Kewlchic: Happy weekend, a nice quiet and relaxing one for you? Hope the new scrapbooking goes well
Mouse: How did the gp visit go?
kewlchicmum
03-05-2008, 11:26 PM
Tabby Wow what a day for you and the shoes sound great I lovvvvvve shoes not really wearing any of mine right bummer.
Gee it's quite on here mmm maybe everyone has a life apart from me lol.:rolleyes:
2s'nuff
04-05-2008, 08:20 AM
Had a :idea: monent at work Friday and after a bit of Googling, decided that TJ had had croup all week :doh:. Doc confirmed this and after a dose of steriods she's stopped the wheezing. Not such a good night as she's now got a cough and after waking continually throughout the night during the week, she's going to take a while to sleep long periods again. Thought she had conjunctivitis (after the doc's of course!) late in the afternoon, but after some drops last night her eyes are clear. Topped off the day when I found nits in DD1's hair again:smiliedance:.
Tabby...Great to hear the wedding stuff is all coming together.
kewlchic...good luck with the scrapbooking. I think starting things is the hardest. Once you've started you won't want to stop.
Have a good Sunday.
Lisa
3Divas&me
04-05-2008, 02:19 PM
Tabby- wow, what a busy day for you- what will you do with yourself when your wedding is over.... maybe this could be a new career... wait for it......'The Wedding Planner!'.
Mouse- Hope TJ starts improving soon- hate croup- DD1 had it once, it really freaked me out! Oh and nits, another pet hate! DD1 has had them a few times too- just annoying really.
Gorgeous day here today, just been out for a walk and took the kids to maccas and the park for a play- burn off the junk food, although DD1 opted for a caeser salad- wtf?
Now home listening to DH and dd1 try and master songs on Guitar Hero III- fun fun:smiliedance:
Tabby
04-05-2008, 05:03 PM
lol liviesmum guitar hero is so much fun!
ds1 has it and occasionally brings the console over for some family fun.
lol wow at dd1 with a salad? good on her!
wedding planner?? NO WAY! My head hurts daily with the responsibility of mine without the pressure of some one else's lol
Off to the gazebo to dress it up and show the fellas ( ds1 and ds2 ) how so they can do just before :thumbsup:
Oh and take some pics see what works best.
Bye!
Hels*Bels
04-05-2008, 10:04 PM
Hi girls :wave:
Just popping in with some good news, I am PG again!! :smiliedance: I got a BFP last week and bubs is due on 7th January 2009.
It seems like I can only make bubs that are due in January :laughing:
I hope all mums and bubs are well and I see a few familiar faces in here so I hope you remember me :D
Tabby - I also see you are getting married soon, how exciting and good luck hun!
Hels :flowerz:
kewlchicmum
04-05-2008, 10:58 PM
Hello Hels*Bels not to sure if we have chatted before but a
BIG GRADS darls all the best and lots of :babydust2::hugs: to you
kewlchicmum
04-05-2008, 10:59 PM
Hello Hels*Bels not to sure if we have chatted before but a
BIG congrads darls all the best and lots of :babydust2::hugs: to you
kewlchicmum
04-05-2008, 11:00 PM
Oh I don't know what I did sorry :o
Hels ... that's fantastic! Congratulations!
wild at heart
05-05-2008, 09:59 AM
wow Hels... yay... CONGRATULATIONS!
:babydust2:
Cordelia
05-05-2008, 11:56 AM
Hels - that is the best news :) Very happy for you. Good luck with your pregnancy and please give us updates!!!
Spot the pregnant woman! :laughing: (yeah, that's you kewlchic :P)
mouse - can anything else go wrong!! I hope the croup's improving. I guess you know all the ways to supposedly avoid nits. one of my student's parents perpetually shaves her head to avoid them. yikes - drastic measures! I am at 2 different schools. they are literally 500m away from each other and about 3 kms from where i live so PERFECT.
mmm we got a wii a few weeks ago. Am addicted to Mario Kart.. so so sad. We bought it for Caitlin - of course. Altho i can't see her playing it... ever. She's a bit young so we'll have to make use of it til she's of age. (9 or 10) teehee
i'm a bit bored today coz i've already done the shopping, made dinner, made some muffins and cleaned the house up. got playgroup soon so that's cool.
Have a nice week everyone :)
2s'nuff
05-05-2008, 02:22 PM
WOOOHOOOOO HELS!
Fantastic news
Cordelia...Yep, we do all we can in the fight against nits (aside from shaving) but still get them.
TJ's croup is on the mend, but has a yucky cough now. A little bit more sleep last night, but still up lots. She's not eating ATM, which I don't think is helping. A few mouthfuls for dinner isn't going to get her through the night.
Ended up with her Cornflakes in my lap thismorning when she decided she ddn't want them and slapped the bowl. I of course was too tired to react quick enough and got covered.
Better go, work to do,
Lisa
kewlchicmum
05-05-2008, 05:09 PM
:hugs: Mouse hope she gets better soon and you can both catch up on some much needed :sleeping:
Cordelia
05-05-2008, 09:50 PM
I have news.....
I just got a ..............
:bfp:!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
NO WAY...... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ETA: I just worked out the due date is January 7....... and 80% sure i'll have a caesarean so take off 2 weeks and..... 23 December which is.... CAITLIN'S BDAY!!! Oh noooo.. swore we would never have another Christmas baby let alone 2 kids on the same day!!! (I know it's unlikely they'd have an elective caesarean 2 days b4 christmas but who knows!!)
Cordelia ... congratulations. A 2 year gap is a good gap ... although perhaps not exactly 2 years? :D Seriously, if you're having an elective caesarean perhaps you could choose the date? Maybe the 22nd instead? Christmas birthdays aren't that bad ... Ive got one myself (a Boxing Day baby).
I never thought I'd be an advocate of controlled crying, but dh and I finally had enough with rocking Josh to sleep AND with him being awake for hours in the night. So, after the paediatrician's urging yesterday, we tried it last night. It took an hour for him to settle and I found it quite distressing, but it worked. I am glad I'm not around for his daytime nap today though and hopefully by tonight the crying will be minimalised even more. I would like him to wake up soon though (he slept through!) as I'd love to give him a big cuddle before I go to work.
Speaking of work ... I should go and get ready!
aries_moon
06-05-2008, 08:25 AM
CONGRATS HELS AND CORDELIA!!!:smiliedance: wow what awesome news from the both of you, due in Jan again too!! How funny Nicole if your bub comes on Caitlin's bday, hope not for her though!
At the moment this pregnancy is kicking my ar*e!! I think looking after 2 toddlers all week is starting to take it's toll. Just got back from physio, and as I am growing yet another beaster bub, i'm running out of room and bub's pinching all the nerves through my pelvis. So lovely, not! It's so bad i'm considering a csec now to shave off at least a couple weeks. I will die if I go 2 weeks over again :rain: Anyway sorry for the whinge.
Mim- glad the ccing has worked, we too have had to try it a few times.
Mouse- I sure hope all these never ending dramas with Tj let up for you both soon :hugs:.
Hels*Bels
06-05-2008, 10:15 AM
Congrats Cordelia :yelclap: we are due on the same day, fancy that :)
SammyG
06-05-2008, 11:28 AM
Massive Congrats to Cordelia & Hels!!!
Aries, sorry to hear you are having a rotten time! My m/s is driving me mad, and DH is driving me madder as he really doesn't understand what it's like to feel sick all day long!
I'm off for a nap, 11 weeks today, NT scan scheduled for next Tues!!! I'll try to get back later!
Strawberry_Shortcake
06-05-2008, 11:40 AM
Hels – Congrat on your pregnancy.. All the very best for you darl.
Kewlchic – Wow just looked at your ticker and you don’t have that long to go.. The weeks will go quick.. Picked any names yet?
Mouse – I hope TJ is feeling better real soon. Nits I hate nits. DSD’s always had them when we lived in brissy. Could never get rid of them. I do the girls hair every 2 weeks for nits and haven’t had any since moving over here. BTW love your av.
Cordelia – A big congrats on your bfp. Wow I’m so happy for you. All the best hun xx You can choose your own date if your having a Caesar. I did not that it happened that way lol..
Liviesmum – Hello congrats on your weightloss.
Tabby – Good to hear all the wedding stuff is all coming together. Still have no idea what I’m wearing yet.
Wow how many Jan 07 mums are there, that are pregnant now?… Not for me though.. Finally went through April without falling pregnant lol T1 has only got 2 teeth to cut now and he has a whole mouth full of teeth. Tarni is growing so quickly. Went and brought a outfit for her to wear for Tabby’s wedding the other day. T2 is due for needles on Thursday and have a booking for Talon to get the flu needle but still undecided on weather to get it done or not… I would like your thoughts on it.. Whats the pro and cons on giving a bub that 16 months a flu needle.. Any of you Perthies getting it done since if free???
Talk soon
Kelxx
Strawberry_Shortcake
06-05-2008, 11:44 AM
Here is Tarni at 4 months (http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s305/kelleigh75/03052008066.jpg)
tired*mummy
06-05-2008, 01:01 PM
HI everyone
Just a quick one to say BIG CONGRATS to Hels & Cordelia. :yelclap:
Sammy - Hope your m/s settles for you :hugs:
3Divas&me
06-05-2008, 01:50 PM
Wow 2 :bfp: 's in 24 hours- Congrats Hels and Cordelia!!
JUst a quickie- going insane today- both litlies are unsettled- Bridhget wont sleep and is tearing through my house pulling it apart:hair: I just feel like I am chasing her all the time! Phoebe is only sleeping on me- not in her cot so getting not much done.
Am considering daycare for Bridget- just 1 day a week- need the space I think- is that horrible?
Strawberry_Shortcake
06-05-2008, 03:28 PM
Wow 2 :bfp: 's in 24 hours- Congrats Hels and Cordelia!!
JUst a quickie- going insane today- both litlies are unsettled- Bridhget wont sleep and is tearing through my house pulling it apart:hair: I just feel like I am chasing her all the time! Phoebe is only sleeping on me- not in her cot so getting not much done.
Am considering daycare for Bridget- just 1 day a week- need the space I think- is that horrible?
I don't think its horrible putting Bridget into daycare. I was considering daycare for Talon but there's a long waiting period..
Cordelia
06-05-2008, 04:53 PM
Thanks everyone :) I couldn't be more excited!
Daycare - 4 of my friend's have just put their 16 month olds in to child care so they get a day off... and they only have 1 kid!!!!! So I think yuo're perfectly entitled.
kewlchicmum
06-05-2008, 11:48 PM
Cordelia Wow wow wow what GREAT NEWS
MASSIVE Congrats to you Cordelia
Wow so how many of us are :bfp: now I am loosing count really quick every time I look on here there is another of us we are spreading.:flowerz:
Straberry I know its going oh so quick, and I am starting to stress cause I have soooo much to do wanted to get Lachlans new bedroom all painted and new carpet and bed and stuff before bubs but am thinking now not to worry to much cause he is fine were he is for now and bubs will be in our room for prob 3-4 months so am going to take my time setting up his new room now.:rolleyes:
TabbySounds like all your wedding stuff is under control thats great big load off not long now wowowow
Livesmum :hugs: to you sounds like you need it right about now not horrible at all it would be good for her and you and bubs all time out and time to enjoy for all I feel. I would but Lachlan has a lot of play friends his age but might think about it 1 day a week once bubs is here.
Mim I have tried controlled crying and it is good at times but I know its really distressing for me also just keep in there it will get better I promise we did with Lachlan and now he knows bot bot then bed and he goes down awake and goes off to sleep some times it takes half out but he does not cry any more just has a talk then goes to sleep.
Mouse How are you going have not seen you in here for a wee while now is bubs?
Hope I have not missed any one out oh its a novel better stop now.
tired*mummy
07-05-2008, 08:29 AM
HI everyone
LiviesMum - I dont think its horrible to put Bridget into childcare. It would probably be good for you to have a break & some one on one time with Phoebe.
Us - DH is really sick with gastro or food poisoning. He ate a chicken pizza the other night & has been sick ever since. I had one piece of it & felt pretty off all day yesterday but Dh had 4 slices & isnt well at all. So i'm assuming that is what has made him sick. He got that job he went for so as of next monday he is now a branch manager of one of his companies branches. Which is good but its longer hours & so i'm a little worried the kids wont see him as much & he wont be able to take or pick them up from school/kinder. Even though he only doesnt it occassionally now... with this new job it will be never. But the extra $$ is good but not sure if the extra is worth missing out on the kids. Ohwell.. we'll see how it goes for a few months.
Sierra has cut her bottom 2 molars so has been a bit of a grump. But other than that she has been good. Sleeping & eating well so cant ask for much more.
Have a great day :wave:
3Divas&me
07-05-2008, 09:09 AM
Thanks for the re-assurance on day care. Dh's cousin does family day care, and although not a fan of family daycare do trust her and feel comfortable leaving my child there, so thought I might start off with that while I await a placement in a centre- have not looked into them yet but know there is a bit of a waiting list.
Mum come and got Bridget this am and she was like 'get out and join a play group... your so depressed... blah blah blah:ecomcity:'. I just cant do it, I am not good and fitting in- which I told her, and she was like- "well you chat all day to people on the internet why not do it in person'. I just dont know- I feel very shy and I guess a bit insecure. Anyways- I am sure life will get easier and I wont be so house bound once it all settles down.
tired*mummy- Hope dh gets better soon, and congrats on him getting the new job- I know what you mean about the time thing- my dh has a very flexible job and is nearly always able to drop off dd and pick her up from school and able to spend lots of time with the kids in the arvo etc. We have thought about him getting a new job for extra $ but he really enjoys how cruisy his life is atm.
Hope you all have a great day:wave:
Tabby
07-05-2008, 09:11 AM
woohoo 2 bfp's!!! Congrats Cordelia and Hels.
Aries: :hugs: sorry to hear such a hard time, hope it doesnt go late, a little early would be even better! so you can get some relief
Mim: Hope it works and the worst part over with the day nap so not so hard on you tonight :hugs:.
Mouse: Good to hear TJ's a bit better.
Sammy: Hope that m/s ends for you soon xx
Strawberry: Am ringing today to get Katie in if can for the flu needle, providing there are no side affects carrying over to my big day we will get done today or morrow. My opinion, if I can help her avoid even one of those dreaded flu's then a needle it will be.
bummer! Katies awake,
Ill come back after work ( if cant before ) to finish off personals.
Tabby
07-05-2008, 09:50 AM
okay got 5 mins while she eats breakkie lol
liviesmum: no way is that horrible hun.
If I wasnt working I would most likely line up mum and dad for one day a week to sit for my sanity lol
Toddlers can be hard on us mentally even if they are well behaved with the constant need for attention. Go for it! Might be hard at first but youll appreciate it after you get used to it. :thumbsup:
got to run get ready for work now.
xx back tonight
Cat13
07-05-2008, 12:57 PM
Thank god my internet is back - was down for 36 hours after being really SLOOOOW for a few days but Telstra has finally fixed it. So sad that I was so lost without it. I can cope with no internet away on hols but to be unexpectedly cut off is very upsetting! :D
CONGRATULATIONS to Hels & Cordelia on :bfp:. Very very excited for you and also a teensy bit jealous. Next stop will be the 'age gaps' thread to reassure myself that a larger than 2 year age gap is not the end of the world!
Liviesmum, have been thinking about daycare for Cameron too for one day a week or preferably 2 half days but I've heard some centres still charge a full day anyway. I know next to nothing about childcare so a bit mroe research to be done. :detective: And you probably would feel better if you got out of the house. If not a playgroup how about a compromise and maybe see if there are some bubhubbers in your area who would like to meet. I have made a lovely little group of friends this way :yes:
Mim, I think we had similar thoughts on CC and mostly I still can't listen to him scream for more than a few mins. When we decided no more feeding to sleep there were initially some massive battles but I'd just sit next to his cot only getting up to lay him back down if he stood up, no matter how much he protested. Not sure that's actually any different from controlled crying but it made me feel better about it! Now he definitely understands 'lie down' and what is expected at bedtime and after our bedtime song I lay him down, turn out the light and leave him to it. Sometimes not a peep (amazing) but other nights if he's carrying on I'll go back in for 5 mins. Stay until he's either asleep or try & leave again after a few mins if he seems content. Daytime he has been going down like an angel after a 3 second protest :angel: .
Phew...what a post. Have well and truly made up for my internet withdrawal!
2s'nuff
07-05-2008, 01:29 PM
:smiliedance::yelclap:Cordelia, a huge Congrats. Told you that you know lots earlier with the second pg.
Strawberry...clothes for the wedding?!, still looking. Will be getting the flu vacc for TJ once she's over her current cold. The first time they have it (the vacc) they need two doses. So be prepared to do the needle thing twice.
Aries...:hugs:
Sammy...hope the MS disappears soon
Liviesmum & Cat...daycare is great. A full day is better than a half day. You get more of a break and the kids get to enjoy the full day's activites. Taking bub away from a story/outside play etc with everyone else staying to play isn't easy.
Us...Still up 4-5 times a night (last night 4- 11.30, 2, 4 then 5). If CC didn't wake DD1, I'd try it. I'm in that too tired rut ATM.
Had a morning tea at Kindy with DD1 today. She loved having me there for a quick visit.
Got to go, work to do,
Lisa
Tabby
07-05-2008, 08:44 PM
Mouse: Aww gee sorry to hear the nights are getting bad again instead of better. :hugs:
Cat: Sounds like how I felt when we were shaped lol. Its so slow it almost hurts. Glad its all fixed!
Us: I think Miss K has a mild dose of measles!
I thought it was teething again with the wakes last 2 nights but she now has little spots on upper tummy, back and the tell tale behind the ears.
Glad was this week and not next!
tomorrow = 9 days to go!
kewlchicmum
07-05-2008, 11:41 PM
Tabby It might be 5th disease what Lachlan just got over he came out in a rash that looks like measles but the rash is more pinky then a brick red colour and it makes them sleeply and runny nose and all signs of teething or cold. Cause at first we thought it was measles when we saw the rash but thought no he is not sick enough for that went to the dr and she said its 5th disease look it up on the net its also called the slaped face cause there cheeks look red. I know I know sounds strange but Dr said almost every bub toddler or young child gets it just some times mums dads think its teething cold or bubs just a bit off some cases are worst then others some bubs only get red cheeks and so on.
Mouse :hugs: sorry to hear your nights are not getting any better darls.
Livesmum :hugs: to you to darls my mum is leaving morra she only been staying with us for a couple of days and as much as I love her its good to see her go she has her ways and I have mine and she would like me to be more like her lol never going to happen.
wild at heart
08-05-2008, 11:34 AM
congratulations Cordelia. I was soo excoted when I read your post. that is just great news.
Well alexander is now WALKing as of Sunday so that is really great for him... and is keeping me fit.. I am soooooooooo very proud of my baby boy..!! he's not such a baby now!!
I have sent in my claim for the huggies art desk- we had barcodes saved from yonks ago- we use aldi nappies now or cloth.. so much better, have found huggies give Alex a bad rash..
Liviesmum- I think daycare would revive you and make you feel like you have some outside support with Bridget. It may just do the trick and help with your energy levels! Have a look into, I reckon. Alexander just looooves it and I'd like him to get into another day but we can't get it. So, if you find a day somewhere take it, as it may be taken when you really feel desperate for it.
Tabby- hope your miss is feeling better soon, in time for the big day!
Us- I have a bad head and poor alex is sitting in front of bananas in pyjamas DVD so I can have a rest and some lunch. I am feeling good otherwise and soo much better than last pregnancy...I don't know what that means!! I still haven't told a lot of people only immediate family and close friends know. Maybe when I go back to work after almost 2 weeks away they will notice my GUT he he he
Strawberry_Shortcake
08-05-2008, 12:06 PM
After I posted here on Tuesday I decided to ring the daycare centre that afternoon, just to find out for myself if there was any vacancies. Talon starts going one day a week next Thursday. I’m excited for him, but I’m also going to miss having him around. Hubby and I went and had a look at the childcare centre yesterday and pretty happy with it.. The room that Talon will be in to start with has only 2 girls in there and the rest are boys so yeah I reckon he’ll fit in pretty easy. Off to get T2 4months needles today otherwise nothing really happening here. Hope you ladies and bubs are well.
kewlchicmum
08-05-2008, 04:08 PM
Heya all has any one got ant advise on the flu needles? are many mummy's going to get it for bubs? I am still not to sure which way to go and need to make our mind up soon before it's to late......:rolleyes:
Strawberry_Shortcake
08-05-2008, 04:24 PM
Kewlchic - I was like you wasn't to sure if i wanted Talon to have it or not. Tarni had her 4 months needles this arvo and while i was there i spoke to the dr regarding the flu needle for Talon and decided to get it done.. My dr was all for it since its not a live vaccine.
3Divas&me
08-05-2008, 06:49 PM
Woohoo, Wild :smiliedance: yay for Alex walking- lock your cupboards and shut your doors- life is about to become a whole lot busier!!
Strawberry- I can get Bridget in one day a week with Dh's cousin who does family daycare- will start with that and then get her into a center- well done on Talons speeding entry!
Mouse- :hugs: for your sleepless nights- must be hard with work aswell.
Tabby- hope Katie gets beeter before next week.
Kewlchic- hope my last couple of posts have not freaked you out- it is hard sometimes, but tomorrow is a new day- keep telling yourself that!
Weighed in today and lost another 1.4 kg- thats 5.4 kg lost in 3 weeks- not bad hey?
Bridget went to bed early tonight- so miserable- just crying all the time, falling over etc- just tired anyways.
Phoebe is well, just wish I could sort the nights out with her- I know she is only 8 weeks old, but waking 2 hourly has become a bit much.
Better go help dd with her homework- 3 sleeps til mothers day!:smiliedance:
liviesmum ... that's great weight loss!
flu vax ... josh had it last year, I get it every year. Josh will have it this year, probably in a couple of weeks though as we've got a lot on at the moment.
Mum took Josh for a day a week from when he was 10 months old. I loved that day of freedom when I was a full time mum. It was never long enough to get all the stuff done I wanted to, but oh well.
Controlled crying is going well. He's slept through for 2 out of 3 nights, waking up twice the other night but back to sleep within 30 minutes each time. It only took him 15 minutes to get to sleep tonight, so we're thrilled with that. Ironically though I'm really tired, so this post will be short - sorry for lack of personals. I'm at a conference for the weekend, so I'll be back to read this on Sunday night. Have a great mother's day everyone! I'll be a state away from Josh & dh, but then I'll be home in the afternoon.
Tabby
08-05-2008, 09:56 PM
kewlchic: We were all set for the flu vax this week but this rash and illness she has will postpone it.
Im all for if I can avoid her getting even just one bad flu :thumbsup:
No sign of cold symtoms, just the rash and really cranky, itchy and i think a headache with the ear grabbing etc
Mim: So happy to hear the CC is working. :thumbsup: keeps happening and gets even better.
Have fun away and a happy mothers day to you too.
liviesmum: yay for the continuing weight loss. well done!
Strawberry: hugs for both yours with their needles today :hugs:
wild: woohoo on Alexander walking!!! heh keep you fit now.
The rash has now come out all over her back and front and lower legs. No worse just more of them ( if that makes sense )
Lots of panadol and cuddles today and a sleep in grandads arms at 11-12 while i was work and another at 4-6 pm but back bed at 830 now.
A real sign shes sick if falls asleep in your arms. shes not wanted a bar of that since 6 months old no matter how sick!
Dad felt quite chuffed she chose him, made him all gooey to see she loved him enough to nod off in his arms and never does any one else lol.
Picked up the rings today so thats it with all the big $ stuff! YAY finally! never thought would end.
alls needed is some coke and few little things.
Hope we get a peaceful night here. If not thank goodness its friday tomorrow.
8 days to go!
Cat13
09-05-2008, 12:00 PM
Tabby, hope Katie's feeling better soon and all smiles again by the big day. :flowerz:
Mim - glad the CC is going well :thumbsup:. Shouldn't have opened my big mouth about how much C had improved as naturally we have had a couple of awful nap and bed times since!
I'm not going to get the flu vaccine given to Cameron. No real reason except I've never felt inclined to get it myself and hadn't really even thought about it until you guys mentioned it.
Now, a little but important reminder out of left field - just checking that everyone is being much more diligent about their pelvic floor exercises than I am?! Was talking to my mum who unfortunately has alot of problems in this department and was just a bit of a reminder to me not to be so slack. I so do not want to end up like mum who for years now we can't go anywhere that is too far away from toilet facilities and always has to take a change of underwear with her. She's had several vaginal surgeries and recently also a hysterectomy to help minimise symptoms of the prolapse she suffers from but no real improvement. TMI perhaps but if doing our exercises can help prevent something like this then well worth doing!
kewlchicmum
09-05-2008, 04:04 PM
Heya all not much happening today its a lovely day here in Perth hello to all:wave:
Livesmum No you have not freaked me out at all darls I hope your doing better today I have days like that with Lachlan and I was guessing I sure would have more days like that with 2 little boys. It's good to know that you are not the only one who has days like that.:yes:
Tabby The count down is on now down to single digets. Hope Katie gets better soon.
CatYes yes I must remember to keep doing them at times I am really good and others I just forget....mmm
Tabby
09-05-2008, 04:53 PM
Thanks all, Katie is back to her old self today!
A nap from 4-6 last night then bed at 830 to sleep right through must have made a huge improvement.
Can believe how quick they go back up after being down lol
kewlchic: Oh yes what a beautiful day today, just divine ! I do hope this is what My day is like.
Cat: Very hard to remember isnt it? I find I remember it more often if put somewhere in the same time every day, as it can be done so discretely you could try maybe at breakfast time or similar, no one is the wiser but setting it to a daily time will help once you start getting routine with it.
hope that helps
SammyG
09-05-2008, 05:15 PM
Tabby, I'm getting excited for you! So glad Miss K is on the mend already!
Liviesmum, Hello! You've freaked me out LOL, DS1 will have just turned 4 and M will be 22months when Bub #3 is due. Arghhhh!!! Congrats on weightloss, I'm determined to knuckle down much more quickly after this bub!
Strawberry, daycare will be great for T1 & T2, aswell as yourself, good one! DS1 goes to kindy 3 days next year, and M will start 2 days the year after so it's only 1 year of 3 kids at home.
Cat, thanx for the reminder, I'm usually pretty good but lately if I need to be sick I really have to make sure I have an empty bladder 1st! Sorry TMI.
MS still hanging around like a bad smell. I've popped too! M has cut #7 - a molar WTH, and is working on #8 - back down the front! Still no walking but communicating with his babble a lot more, lots of paddies thrown too! Sleeping thru most nights, bonjela around 3am and he resettles quicksmart. Daytime nap is around 3hrs now - Heaven!!!
Househunting for a bigger rental is taking up most of my time at the moment, Sydney is ridiculous (as much as I love it) Waiting to hear back about a cute 3bedroom house, looks like I won't hear anything till Mon, more Arghhhhh!!!
3Divas&me
10-05-2008, 06:38 AM
Sammy- hopefully only a couple more weeks of m/s and then you can get in and enjoy the pg journey........ although not remembering it to be that jorful myself- but I do hate being pg!
Tabby- 1 week to go!! How exciting.
Cat- Pelvic floors- good reminder- a very scary situation for your mum.
Bridget has a head full of bruises- she fell off the lounge last night in the family room onto tiles and then walked into the side board really hard for another knock- as one bruise fades she gets another- anyone else find their kids are constantly bruised now walking?
We have a date for Phoebe's Baptism- 15th june- will come aroung quick- only 2 more pays really.
Better scoot- Phoebe is awake........ again- I have been up since 5 am with her:hair:
tired*mummy
10-05-2008, 09:03 PM
LiviesMum - Sierra always has at least one bruise :laughing: DD1 & 2 always do too but seem to be on all over their legs.
Sammy - Hope the m/s settles for you soon. Hope you find a house soon too. Its so frustrating. :fingerscrossed: it doesnt take too long.
Us - Not much to report really. DH starts his new job on monday so he is pretty busy trying to sort everything out this weekend. Had to swap phones/cars/keys over with the old manager last night so he was pretty late home... spose i should get used to it though. Sierra has cut her 3rd & 4th Molars. So number 11 & 12 for her.
Happy Mothers Day for tomorrow to all :hugs:
kewlchicmum
10-05-2008, 11:42 PM
Heya all hope you are all having a great weekend.:yelclap:
kewlchicmum
11-05-2008, 10:33 AM
:flowerz:Happy Mothers day to you all:flowerz:
Just thought I would jump on and wish you all a great day with your families. My DH is still away working so it's just the two of us but I am sure we will get up to some thing fun.:laughing:
3Divas&me
11-05-2008, 03:16 PM
:bee:Happy Mothers Day:bee:
Hope you all have a great day. We went for lunch and the littlies behaved quite well so thats good- dad is cooking dinner tonight for mum and me- woohoo:smiliedance:
SammyG
11-05-2008, 05:09 PM
:flowerz: Happy Mother's Day :flowerz:
DH really stepped up this morning, card, choccies & breakfast in bed. He attempted to do brekkie for the boys (they got away with not eating much) Then a massive house clean before the outlaws came for lunch. The house has been badly neglected of late -I'm blaming m/s.
DS1 drew a lovely pic in my card and made a great handprint card at kindy that I helped him hide from myself all week. Soooooo cute!!!
M has been his usual cheeky self all day!
Cordelia
11-05-2008, 05:57 PM
Happy Mothers Day everyone :) I hope you all got spoilt rotten.
I was very spoilt. had to make myself breakfast but i'd rather do it properly myself than sit there and eat overcooked eggs and burnt bacon! :P then we met my parents at church and then had lamb on the weber and other yummies. then walked to the park and came home for a cup of tea on the patio!!! aaahhh.. nice!!!!! And yesterday DH remembered it was mothers day and i told him to get me a scrapbooking voucher (thinking $20) but he got me a $100 one!!!!! So big plans on how to spend that!!!
Caitlin just runs everywhere and doesn't pay much attention to her feet. She something catches it on the ground and has 3 terrible bruises on her forehead. What can you do - not let them play? I'm trying to restrict her to the carpet/lawn.
also went out last night to see "made of honour" with some mum girlfriends. 3 out of the 5 were pregnant and moaning all night and because I'm hoping to keep it a secret til 12 weeks it was soooo hard not to blurt it out!! And I couldn't whinge about nausea and tiredness.. siiigh!!!!! I knwo there's plenty of time for whinging!!!!!!
3Divas&me
12-05-2008, 12:16 PM
You can whinge to us Cordelia- we dont mind... just so glad I wont be doing it again myself.
Had a visit from a friend yesterday and she is expectiing her 3rd bub- she is about 10 weeks- not sure when that makes her due?? It is exciting as her secong is 3 months older than Bridget and now another for her.
Sammy- did not get brekkie in bed, although olivia did make me a bowl of albran- lol:laughing: which Bridget ate half of- lol now her poos today are so ferral they could knock you out if you inhaled too much!:laughing:
I am just so over being at home- so badly want to go back to work, just one day a week but I cant, cant even do any casual work as I am on a period of paid leave from the dept. Might ring Tafe and see if I can get some casual work with them.
Better go, want to go for a walk at 2pm- heres a pic of me and the girls:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=596523&id=739556304#pid=596523
2s'nuff
12-05-2008, 01:41 PM
You can whinge to us Cordelia- we dont mind... just so glad I wont be doing it again myself.
:iagree:
Sammy- did not get brekkie in bed, although olivia did make me a bowl of albran- lol:laughing: which Bridget ate half of- lol now her poos today are so ferral they could knock you out if you inhaled too much!
LOL,:laughing:. Sounds like TJ's poo's most of the time.
Tabby...not long to go now and (without jinxing) the weather's set to be fine for Sat:smiliedance:.
Hope everyone had a great day yesterday. I've had some pretty bad nights lately, so wasn't too happy that DH & girls woke me at 8 with toast, coffee and a card. Would have preferred some more sleep. Got cross (well sort of) with DH lkast night. I told him what I wanted and he still didn't buy them for me. Told him it would be nice if he made a decision (shape, size colour, whatever) for once so I didn't have to go shopping for all my presents all the time. Will be interesting to see if he's bought something today.
Have a great day!
Lisa
kewlchicmum
12-05-2008, 05:06 PM
Hope you all had a great mothers day yesterday and all got spoilt.
SammyHope your MS goes away soon not much fun with that hanging around mind took longer to go this time around then with first so how far along are you now? And :fingerscrossed: for your house hunting darls oh what a stressful time.
Tabby I agree with Mouse sure hope the weather is like this for your wedding :sunshine: Not long now are you getting excited?
Livesmum Mouse Sending sleeping dust :babydust2: so all bubs and Mummy's get a good night sleep.Livesmum love the pic gee you are all stunning and you lives are really a knockout dam no icon to match
Cordelia Well how was the movie I am wanting to see that I love McDreamy I think he is sooooo hot (don't tell DH) and you will be happy to know I have done my very first scrapbooking page woho :smiliedance: How are you feeling?
Us well didn't get much sleep last night finding it hard to get any of late and then when I did finally fall asleep around midnight Lachlan woke up screaming and crying which :eek: me so much I went to him but looked around the house I was jumpie don't know why I got scared so much,DH home mora so I will have to try and catch up on some sleep while he is home once he has had some his last week is a week of night shifts finishes his last night then comes back to camp gets his bags and gets the early flight out of there and then we pick him up and come home he has a feed and goes to bed to catch up on some much needed :sleeping:
SammyG
12-05-2008, 06:32 PM
Kewlchic, with both boys I was sick till 13weeks, I am 12weeks tomorrow so am hoping this is my last week of m/s. Very different this time round though, sick after lunch onwards. Was sick the moment my feet hit the floor in the morning with the boys.
Liviesmum, more stunning pics, I'm impressed you get all you girls in one pic.
Been watching a couple of 20min dvds lent to me about newborns, gosh it all comes flooding back, got both DH & I a bit excited. Scan is tomorrow so :fingerscrossed: everything is there and where it should be!
Sounds like Mothers Day was good all round - just as it should be.
3Divas&me
12-05-2008, 07:38 PM
Sammy- goodluck for your scan tomorrow- cant wait to hear all about it!
Tabby
12-05-2008, 09:19 PM
Sammy: all the best for tomorrows scan AND a week or less of morning sickness for you :fingerscrossed:
kewlchic: hope you can get some much needed rest once dh has had his.
Mouse: No sleep in here either!! Do they not think? lol. Hope he manage to mend it with what you asked for. Sorry to here your having crappy nights still! :hugs:
liviesmum: All the best for tafe giving you some casual work.
Not a face book member so cant see your pics :(
Cordelia: whinge away hun! lol makes me remember we all were before in the due thread, dont worry we can handle it.
Hope the tiredness doesnt last too long for you xx
tiredmummy: lots of teeth for yous too by the sounds of it.
My df is late home now too so hes missed Katies bed time for the first time ever, he wont be impressed at all :( What to do though aye? Need to keep the bosses happy if want to do well dont they.
Katies yapping is on a roll again, repeats everything you say! Instead of saying "move" shes been taught "excuse me" and just comes out as "scuse". lol so cute.
Tonight involved saying: oh dear & doesnt matter and another I cant remember. Pretty much copies everything when she hears it now.
wedding. Not nervous at all, very very excited though, is like am on a natural high lol so full of beans, cant sit still and cant sleep!
I CANT WAIT!!
Everything is done now, just some more soft drinks, wines and few little bits with shopping thursday night.
friday = leg wax and nails :thumbsup:
5 sleeps to go!
Tabby
12-05-2008, 09:23 PM
forgot, think the weather should be just fine, days both sides of Saturday are sunny and 21- 22which gives me hope.
Had there been rain the friday or sunday I may have been concerned.
kewlchicmum
13-05-2008, 08:16 AM
:smiliedance:Wo ho DH is coming home today:smiliedance:
Cat13
13-05-2008, 12:13 PM
yep - Cameron is always falling over and bumping in to everything too but nothing too serious yet. Worst has been a bit of a blood blister on his lip.
Mothers day - I'm easy to please. I said I'd be happy withh just a box of chocolates and so I was. Some yummy Lindt dessert ones I hadn't seen before.
Tabby - will have :fingerscrossed: for fine weather!
Sammy - all the best for scans
Us - have my sister visiting for the week so lots of plans to be out and about. Had Cameron weighed for the first time in a few months and at nearly 16months he weighs a whopping.....9.03kg!! As the CHN keeps saying "you can't fatten thoroughbread"! She also had a look in his mouth (as he screamed about laying down to be measured) and looking very sore apparently. Still only 6 teeth but looks like some molars and incisors are all getting ready to cut through at the same time.
Take care all
3Divas&me
13-05-2008, 01:15 PM
Hiya:wave:
Bad morning- me and Phoebe were up at 4am- she did not want to go back to sleep. Mum came and got Bridget so I went back to bed at 9am and so did Miss P, so we then both slept til 12:45pm. Feeling so much more alive now!
Come back later for personals:wave:
SammyG
14-05-2008, 03:04 PM
Everything went well at the scan, even got to count fingers on one hand - amazing considering Bub measures 5.6cm crown to rump. Just waiting on combined result with Blood Test but so far so good! Saw my specialist today, he's very happy with everything and I don't have to see him again till 28weeks, just normal visits to the clinic in between.
Hope everyone's having a good day!
Tabby
14-05-2008, 09:27 PM
Sammy: wonderful news! Glad all went well and you got see your little one. hehe 5 cm!! wow, we forget just how tiny they start off dont we?
liviesmum: sorry to hear of your 4am wake but glad ended well with back to bed nap for you both!
Cat: hope your sisters visit is full of much fun.
oh hope with so many teeth at once its not too much for Cameron and they come through nice and easy!
Us: My last day today work, now a week off woohoo!
my last few days:
Thursday: last min shopping
Friday: nails done and girly stuff at night with my bridesmaid like face masks etc lol check dress and under skirts make sure no crinkles. Hard to do with DF here all the time lol
Sat: 10am hair
12 lunch with the ladies
2 over to hall to deco and drop off drinks etc
3 home to dress
4.05 off in car
415 arrive ceremony :smiliedance:
630 PARTY!
hehe, thought might like a detailed time of all so can now think of me at 430 mid ceremony. :hugs:
so far so good, average of 20 and sunny for saturday.
will be back on tomorrow or friday as days home.
Tabby ... :flowerz: Have a great day! I'll be thinking of you! I look forward to seeing all the photos!
sammy ... that's great news about your scan :)
liviesmum ... I hope you're still asleep at this time today
cat ... that's a great weight for cameron. I hope the teeth come through quickly!
Sorry for no more personals, but I've got to go to work.
Josh is sleeping SO well, it's amazing. I never thought controlled crying could work so well. He goes down into his cot, cries for 5 minutes maximum (some nights not at all!) and then sleeps through! He's slept through 9 out of the last 10 nights! I don't think I could do it at a much younger age, but it was right for us now.
Separation anxiety has become a BIG issue. Mostly from my dh. If Josh & I are in the lounge and dh leaves the room Josh won't stay on my lap, he'll go to the gate and scream until my dh comes back. It seems to have got a lot worse since I went away for the weekend. dh isn't having much fun when he's home alone ... Josh gets hysterical when dh goes to wash his hands. I assume this is normal behaviour, but any suggestions on how to manage it?
3Divas&me
15-05-2008, 08:49 AM
Congrats Sammy!! When you see that liitle being it makes the m/s woth it all doesnt it?
Tabby- Wow- 2 days to go- cant wait to see pics!!
Mim- I was alseep when you posted, however DH was up with Phoebe- his turn!!
Feeding 3 times a night- it is all a bit too much- can she really be that hungry?
DD1 had her eyes tested yesterday and she needs glasses- cant see things from a distance- she has been complaining about not seeing the board at school but I thought she was just looking for an excuse to get some glasses:rolleyes: but no- she was telling the truth!
Tabby
15-05-2008, 09:24 AM
Mim: Only thing I can suggest is when dh leaves the room he tells Josh what hes going to do and " will be right back". Katie went through a clingy time and worked for us, I still tell her where am going and be back soon, or be right back and she quite happily waits, or trails along behind me ( like to the loo! lol) and waits out side the door.
I really think it works as when grand dad is with her here daily she knows she can get away with him taking her outside for short trips but with me I say be right back putting rubbish in bin she waits at door for me no complaints but with him she screams to go! and he gives in. Just get dh to reassure Josh hes not far, calling out while in the bathroom etc saying " coming back just brushing my teeth Josh.
hope that helps. It will take a week or two to work though.
liviesmum: heh cant be blamed for thinking was an excuse, am sure would have done the same. Glad shes got it sorted though and will make a huge difference. Lovely DH to get up to Pheobe!
better go, shes done breaky and must go get that last min shopping done.
Then want to spend as much time as possible with her before leaving her for 4 days!! :crying:
Cordelia
15-05-2008, 12:25 PM
Morning everyone!!!
mim - i agree with tabby. Not because I do it, but because i read about it in a book yesterday and plan to apply it!!!! Talk to the toddler directly and say "Mummy's going to get a drink in the kitchen. Caitlin stay here and Mummy will be back in a minute". [NB make sure you do come back and praise him for waiting when you do!]
As you can see I have been researching managing toddlers :laughing: soooo many tantrums and she's SO demanding. I think she may have had "sixth disease" or roseola last week. She had a fever for 4 days and laid around doing nothing [literally - HIGHLY unusual] and then when the fever had gone she got an immediate rash on her back and stomach that lasted for 24 hours. So that's 6th disease. Not that it makes much difference what it was but at least I can put it down to something!
Oh and how good is that about Josh sleeping through!! That is awesome - makes such a difference. and i reckon you're right = you have to do it when you feel the time is right. there's no point doing it when you're not ready.
2 sleeps Tabby!! looking forward to it. (so's Caitlin - i ironed her very special dress this morning).
I'm 6 weeks pg today and thought I'd ring around to book for an obstetrician and lucky I did because I got 7 no's before I got a yes!! I'm going with someone a few of my friend's have had and love. Bit concerned about the cost as I think he might be a bit pricey. if I have a caesarean then the bub will be born in December so I'll get the full amount of the baby bonus so let's hope that's the case and we can pay off our huge obstetrician debt! (Well I HOPE it's only as big as the BB!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
sammy - congratulations about the scan :) How exciting!
cat: Caitlins is only around 9.4 kgs at nearly 17 months. She only eats enough to keep her fuelled up. Never enough to get any fat rolls!! She's in the 10th percentilefor weight and the 50th percentile for height. Some days she doesn't eat and then the next day she'll eat all day and I'll be rushing around the kitchen trying to find more food for her. the joys!!!
Cat13
15-05-2008, 12:59 PM
cat: Caitlins is only around 9.4 kgs at nearly 17 months. She only eats enough to keep her fuelled up. Never enough to get any fat rolls!! She's in the 10th percentilefor weight and the 50th percentile for height. Some days she doesn't eat and then the next day she'll eat all day and I'll be rushing around the kitchen trying to find more food for her. the joys!!!
Sound like we have 2 peas in a pod Cordelia! That includes the tantrums and demanding behviour.
Tabby - will be thinking of you at 4.30. All the best for a great day.
Mim - I agree with Tabby & Cordelia's advice. If someone (or something) is not going to be returning we find waving byebye helps. Handles it much better than if someone suddenly disappears or we walk away from something without warning.
byebye:wave:
3Divas&me
15-05-2008, 01:44 PM
Bridget is 10kg on the dot- she looks so much bigger though- like a real heffalump!
I entered the girls (2 and 3) in the bonds baby comp- how lame ay? Oh a bit of harmless fun- why not!
Strawberry_Shortcake
15-05-2008, 02:03 PM
Hi lovely mummies
I hope all you mummies had a great Mother’s Day. Had a very quite one as my 2 little ones were sick. Hubby did make me brekky so that was great. Sorry i haven't been on much, i just don't find the time. I'm always on the go.
Tabby - Not long to go till your wedding. I have everyone else ready for the wedding besides me lol.. Have to get myself organized today and find some clothes to wear. Checked the weather last night and Saturday is going to be fine wooohooo.
Cat – Cameron is a great weight. Talon’s between 12 and 13kgs. But in saying that he eats pretty much anything we eat.
Cordelia – Can’t wait to see Caitlin on Saturday in that gorgeous dress you just ironed.
Liviesmum – Checked out your pics on facebook, they’re gorgeous.
Sammy - Great to hear everything went ok at your scan.
Mim- Great to hear Josh is sleeping so well.
T1 starts daycare in a weeks time. I’ve only put him in for 1 day a week. Not much else to report just cruising along nicely. Better go Tarni’s been up since 5 and she’s starting to crack. Well and truly bedtime for her now.
Talk soon
Kel
Tabby
15-05-2008, 02:23 PM
Man my head is spinning! Its worse now its closer, things continually going round and round and over and over in there lol.
I think i have everything covered , any thing I missed cant be too important ( i hope ).
just home from that last shop, and i ran out of $! Now will have go again after hair do on saturday, ah well will keep me occupied.
Mim: I forgot to say how wonderful the cc has worked so well!!! You sound much more rested.
Strawberry: cant wait to catch up with you and all the family too.
Cordelia: awww cant wait to see her in her special dress too.
happy 6 weeks hun xxx
Have thrown in some comfy clothes for Katie so she can change mid of the night for comfort lol.
liviesmum: All the best for the comp.
Am off while Missy sleeps to go try on my dress just one more time..( sure.....lol )
ds2 says: " mum what are you doing?"
reply: " trying on my dress"
ds2 : " jeeeze mum you try it on a lot!"
reply : "Your a 16 yr old boy and not a woman youll not understand the why"
insert rolling of the eyes from ds2 hahhaha
3Divas&me
15-05-2008, 02:40 PM
Make the most out of that dress Tabby- why not!! It makes the experience fun and feel so much more real.:yelclap:
3Divas&me
16-05-2008, 09:41 AM
Counting down for you Tabby!- 1 More day to go!!!!!
My house is the messiest it has ever ever gotten- it is terrible, dont know where to start? Better get on with it! Procrastinating wont get me anywhere!
2s'nuff
16-05-2008, 01:34 PM
Mim...congrats on J sleeping through.
To a certain degree I've started CC. Bedtime is dummy and no bottle. Last night she cried for 45 min. TJ's also been waking at 5 ready to go for the day, so I let her CC then as I'm not getting up at that time anymore. Bad thing about that is DD1 wakes up and comes into bed with me, so effectively kills any chance of sleep. TJ's still not eating much, and on the nights where I can't get her to eat, she wakes lots. Had a great night last night (a weetbix for tea, lol). She was asleep at 7.30, woke at 8.30 (gave her 100ml bottle), she then slept til 3.30 (another 100ml) then woke at 6. Wooohooo:smiliedance:. I know it's not all night, but it's more than I've had in a while.
Tabby...looking forward to tomorrow. Will keep everything crossed that the weather stays fine. Can't wait to see the little ones all dressed up. Still haven't decided on what I'm wearing, but I'll get there (with clothes on).
Sammy...great to hear all is going well with the pg.
Better go, lunch break is over,
Lisa
3Divas&me
16-05-2008, 04:21 PM
:hugs: mouse for your night times- how do you cope with work the next day? Was dd1 a bad sleeper- I find it difficult with Phoebe waking 3 times a night for a feed and I dont have to get up and go to work- atm anyways!!!
Cordelia
16-05-2008, 05:48 PM
mouse: argghhh I agree - you're doing it tough. :( :( :hugs: but it does sound like you might be having SOME success with CC? If it was me (and i have the benefit of one child so let's face it I have no idea what I'm on about) I would just let her cry and not give her a bottle which would be absolute torture for a few nights. It sounds cruel I know. btw the new avatar is too cute!
1 sleep!
aries_moon
17-05-2008, 12:31 AM
Just wanted to jump on quick and wish you all the best for your special day TABBY! :smiliedance:
thinking of you, wish I could've been there (presuming I'd have been invited, lol)
3Divas&me
17-05-2008, 09:13 AM
:bee:Goodluck on your special day Tabby!!:bee:
WA mums have fun at the wedding- wish I was there too!!
kewlchicmum
17-05-2008, 03:37 PM
:flowerz:Good luck on your wedding day Tabby:flowerz:
The weather is looking great for it to. Hope you have a wonderful special and magical day.:cloud9:
dragonflyblu
17-05-2008, 09:58 PM
:flowerz::cloud9: Hope you had a lovely day Tabby:cloud9: :flowerz:
We have been away all week. Our first holiday all together. Went to Zurich for 4 days (its only 2 hours away!) and then to France, Strasbourg. Clea loved all the action and was such a good traveller. But was exhausted last night and slept all night 8pm - 6am which is a long long sleep for our fiesty little girl.
mim1 good to hear the control crying is working for you.
mousebrown that sounds tough. Hope you sall work out some sleep patterns soon that suits everyone.
We still bf'ed to sleep. Works most nights with no problems 10minutes and she is asleep. But if we try to put her to bed to early it takes too long. Clea gets all giggly when she is tired, luckily not many tears (yet!)
liviesmum wow you have your hands full. but your eldest daughter looks like she helps out a bit.
gotta go, DH is still on holidays and is bored and wants the computer.
2s'nuff
18-05-2008, 10:35 AM
For those unable to attend 'the wedding' yesterday, here's a couple of photo's of the glowing bride.
http://s280.photobucket.com/albums/kk162/shaintj/2008/RIMG1986.jpg
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk162/shaintj/2008/RIMG1986.jpg
Will process the films I took and will have more glimpses of the day for you then.
Lisa
SammyG
18-05-2008, 11:06 AM
Thanks Mouse, looking forward to seeing and hearing more about the 'big' day!
Strawberry_Shortcake
18-05-2008, 11:39 AM
The wedding was great. Tabby looked gorgeous and so was little Katie. Was great to catch up with you mouse and Cordelia. Have to have another perth meet up soon. On a weekend sometime since mouse works full time.
For the other lovely ladies that wants to see piccies sorry i didn't take any photos cause i left my camera at home. Oh well can't remember everything..
Better go have washing to do.
Strawberry_Shortcake
18-05-2008, 04:15 PM
Hubby did end up getting 2 pics of Talon and Cordelia's Caitlin playing with the flowers.
Caitlin and Talon at the gardens just before the wedding started. (http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s305/kelleigh75/17052008062.jpg)
Caitlin and Talon again (http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s305/kelleigh75/17052008063.jpg)
Cordelia
18-05-2008, 06:27 PM
Ahh cute Thanks strawberry!!
The wedding ceremony was very lovely - everyone looked so nice - very special!
(altho I need to find the trick of getting Caitlin to stay in one spot for more than 5 seconds).
speaking of which - I'm serious!! When are they old enough to be able to understand when to STAY PUT
AND
is this just a baby's character? or is it my fault?? That I don't get her to sit in her high chair for long periods of time. Or if she's sick of a story after 2 pages she just takes off. Nature... or Nurture????????
I hear a bawling baby.
3Divas&me
18-05-2008, 08:50 PM
Congrats Tabby on your wedding day, cant wait to see more photos!:bee:
kewlchicmum
19-05-2008, 12:15 AM
Oh wow the pics look great thanks Mouse and Strawberry the dress is like OMG and the cheeky look on Talon face how cute and Caitlin looks so pretty. Would love to see more pic's esp of you lovely ladies.:yelclap:
Hope every one is good.
Dragonfly Oh being away that sounds nice your 1st family trip :smiliedance: thats great. Hope you caught up on some :sleeping: as well and did heaps of shopping lol.
Cordiela Mmm well Lachlan says in his highchair as long as he is locked in other wise he is trying to climb out its like he thinks he is going to miss out on some thing if he is not were the action is.
Livesmum How you doing hun?
Us well DH is still home so I have picked up a couple extra shifts at work which is good but man oh man I am feeling it when I get home my legs are like trucks lol I am feeling soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo big and I have so much longer to go its getting harder to pick up Lachlan now but on the plus side he is walking more and more which is good so how when he wants to be picked up he is standing up which makes it easy for me. Me not feeling very pretty if you can't tell :crying:
tabby ... congrats on your wedding ... I look forward to more photos when you return from your honeymoon.
Thanks WA mums for sharing photos and stories from Tabby's big day already :)
cordelia ... even 4 year olds don't sit still for long. 5 year old sit still better. So, it's a long way away yet! Josh will sit and read his books for ages sometimes, but rarely when I actually need him to so I can do something ... that's when he's standing at my feet screaming to be picked up.
kewlchic ... I remember that stage of pregnancy and I struggled then too, but I didn't have a toddler to carry. You're doing well! I'm glad lachlan is walking more!
dragonflyblu ... I'm glad you had a fun time away. Family holidays are a bit more work than a couple going on holiday, but they can be lots more fun!
We've just been away for a 4 day weekend ourselves (dh had a work conference). It was great for me to have a complete break from work for 4 whole days - I didn't even had internet access or cable tv :). Josh & I spent lots of time together, I got lots of cuddles and he enjoyed running around outside (when it wasn't pouring with rain!). Thankfully mum bought him gumboots on Thursday and he was in them most of the weekend. He loves jumping in puddles! Oh and splashing in them with his hands (learnt that the hard way).
Controlled crying is still going well - 2 weeks now. Some nights he doesn't cry at all when he goes in his cot and at worst he's crying for 10 minutes. The afternoon nap is a bit more of an issue, but we're working on it. He's mostly sleeping through with the exception of our first night away when he woke up 3 times - but he was silent as soon as we went in and said 'time for sleep Josh'.
The reality is that he's really at an age when he understands what we are saying. If we say 'time for bed/sleep' he knows what we mean. If we say no bottle, then he understands. He may not like it, but that's tough. Babies over 12 months don't need a bottle overnight. His paediatrician said that if he's hungry he'll just eat more during the day. That's true - he eats more in the day now that he doesn't have an overnight bottle.
Enough ranting, I should go and get ready for bed. We still need to unpack as we've only been home a few hours.
Cat13
19-05-2008, 08:30 PM
Well looks like Tabby pulled off a successful wedding day then. As if there was any doubt! Big congrats!!
Cordelia, if you learn the secret of getting Caitlin to sit still then please fill me in too. My sister was desperately trying to get a nice photo with Cameron before she headed back down to Melbourne today but no luck. He was everywhere except in front of the camera.
Mim, I agreee that it does help that they are at an age where they understand alot more. Cameron knows full well what I mean by 'lie down'. Doesn't mean he's going to co-operate all the time but definitely helps.
Time to go to bed but hope everyone else is well.
Tabby
21-05-2008, 12:49 PM
argh had a massive post and lost it!
heres some phone pics from the honeymoon scenery
http://picasaweb.google.com/Kaitlyn2006/WeddingAndHoneymoon
(edited to say found a couple of pics off ds2 for now and have uploaded for yous ) ( i think it must have been towards the end as my smile is wearing down haha)
DS1 is at work so havnt caught up yet to get the wedding photos off him, will try get tonight and have upload on the weekend as am back to work tomorrow and house is like a bomb exploded so am off to clean.
Thanks everyone for the well wishes! and especially to Lisa ( mousebrown ) whos help on the day to get ready and enjoy it with me made the day all that more special :kiss:
back tomorrow once thigs settle down, Katie is due home in a couple of hours, WOW do I miss her and cant wait!!!!
Vicki
3Divas&me
21-05-2008, 05:23 PM
Cool pics tabby, cant wait to see some more- the one with Katie and her granddad is gorgeous!! Congrats once again:yelclap:
aries_moon
22-05-2008, 12:04 AM
ahhhhhhhhhhhhh just lost a huge post!!! why does this always happen to me!!!!
was just saying Congrats again to TABBY! pics look great, look forward to seeing more.
tired*mummy
22-05-2008, 01:16 PM
HI everyone
Tabby - Congrats on your wedding. Loved the pics.
Us - Well just the usual happening here... busy busy busy!! Dh is working heaps more & isnt home much so i've been doing everything. I'm exhausted! Time to get Sierra into a big bed i think. She is climbing out of her cot when she doesnt want to sleep so will start looking around for a nice bed to match the rest of her furniture. Her cot does go to a toddler bed but when we had it redone in white we didnt do the side rails & they are still the wood stain so cant put them on. My mum is coming to stay tomorrow until sunday so it will be nice to have some company while DH is working all weekend. My mum doesnt get to see the girls very often so it will be nice for them. DD1 is very excited that Nana will be picking her up from school tomorrow & going to dancing & swimming with her.
Better go... have lots to do before i pick DD1 up.
3Divas&me
22-05-2008, 02:01 PM
Tiredmummy- sounds like you are busy- not easy with 3 kiddies when dh is working- I find that myself- when he has a day off I leave everything to him- slack I know but I hardle even hold Phoebe when he is at home as it is my time off!!
Aries- not long now- 8 weeks!! How exciting!
We had a little fire in our toaster this morning- it did not pop up the toast that dh put in before he went outside! House filled with thick black smoke- it was crazy- fire alarms were going off, kid s were coughing so we moved them to a smoke free area. The house still stinks now like fire- lucky the house did not burn down reallly- Olivia noticed it and bought it to our attention just before the smoke alarm went off. Can never be too careful.
Off for Phoebes first lot of needles in an hour, wish me luck!
kewlchicmum
22-05-2008, 03:10 PM
Livesmum Good luck on the needles darls...wow that Olivia brought the toaster to your attention good on her :yelclap: for Olivia
Tabby Congrads again on your wedding the pic look really nice can't wait to see more and your dress
OMG WOW
aries_moon Gee it's gone so quick so are you all ready?....Us well we are sorta mmmm scary :rolleyes:
Us not much happening we had a couple of Mum's and there bubs over for Morning tea which turned into lunch but all the bub's got :devil6: and we finished up early to put them all to bed lol
Tabby
22-05-2008, 09:46 PM
Finally got a few more sent over via net from ds1 just now
http://picasaweb.google.com/Kaitlyn2006/WeddingAndHoneymoon
am continually updating so just keep checking :thumbsup:
Will get back tomorrow with more personals.
am rather tired since week off and back work today lol
xxx to all !!
Strawberry_Shortcake
23-05-2008, 09:13 AM
Liviesmum – omg thank goodness you got to the toaster before anything serious happened.
Kewlchic – I have pm’d you darl.
Tabby – Your photos are beautiful.
SammyG – Congrats on reaching 12 weeks. TSaw that on your facebook. The weeks are slowing going down for you. How are you feeling these days?
Tired*mummy – Good luck with the cot to bed transition.
Cordelia – How are you? Hope the morning sickness isn’t to bad for you..
Better run, Talon's feeding himself weetbix and strawberries and the 2 bigger kids are arguing about something.. Tarni is still asleep. She’s sleeping any where from 10 to 13 hours a night.
Kelxx
3Divas&me
23-05-2008, 12:27 PM
What beautiful pictures tabby- your camera must be a good one as even the detail in the candle and flower pictures are amazing. You looked gorgeous- loved the dress- has made me want to have a look back on my wedding photos just to remember the day- which I will probably do now!!
2s'nuff
23-05-2008, 01:48 PM
Liviesmum...Good thing you got the fire in the toaster sorted so quickly. :hugs: for you and P for the needles today.
Tabby.. Photo's look fantastic!
Aries...not long to go now. For your sake I hope you go a few days early this time around.
Kewlchic...good to hear your morning tea went well.
Us...DD1's been sick since Monday night. Went to daycare yesterday as she was on the improve again. TJ's being a horror with food. She won't eat much/anything (last night it was 3 spoons of weetbix) for me at night. Wed night we ate at a friends. She ate spag bol happily so I grabbed a plate for last night. She didn't even swollow a bite:hair::hissy:. She's eating at daycare, but the empty/near empty tummy at night isn't helping with sleeping through. If anyone has any suggestions my ears are open. I'm going to try sitting her at a little table of her own this weekend to see if she's anti-highchair. But aside from that I'm lost.
A wet weekend ahead here, might have to pull out some of the dvd's I've got stashed to keep the girls amused.
Take care,
Lisa
Cat13
23-05-2008, 02:09 PM
Hi Mouse, isn't the refusal to eat soooo frustrating. It's not even that you are worried they'll starve but rather you know an empty tum means lots of waking during the night! Cameron has been eating not too badly but just picky. Will not touch some stuff he has previously been happy to have. His food of the week is plain white rice but must not have a hint of any sauce or it gets frantically scraped off his tongue. The up side is it does seem to fill him up for a good sleep. What is TJ's mood at dinner time? Does she get cranky about the food being offered or she seems just not interested. Could it be she's too tired by dinner time - possible to feed her earlier? Maybe she's filling up during the day at daycare? Does she refuse everything or would she still happily grab a bikkie if offered (not that I think you should!). Just trying to brainstorm - probably not much help though sorry!
2s'nuff
23-05-2008, 02:48 PM
Hi Mouse, isn't the refusal to eat soooo frustrating. It's not even that you are worried they'll starve but rather you know an empty tum means lots of waking during the night! Cameron has been eating not too badly but just picky. Will not touch some stuff he has previously been happy to have. His food of the week is plain white rice but must not have a hint of any sauce or it gets frantically scraped off his tongue. The up side is it does seem to fill him up for a good sleep. What is TJ's mood at dinner time? Does she get cranky about the food being offered or she seems just not interested. Could it be she's too tired by dinner time - possible to feed her earlier? Maybe she's filling up during the day at daycare? Does she refuse everything or would she still happily grab a bikkie if offered (not that I think you should!). Just trying to brainstorm - probably not much help though sorry!
She's starting to drive me insane. I wouldn't care if she at the same thing day-in, day-out. The fact that I can't rely on her eating anything specific makes it hard.
I don't think she's full from daycare as they have afternoon tea about 2.30. Dinner is usually 5.45-6. She has a bickie in the car on the way home, and for the past couple of days that's about it. No milk or anything else to fill her tummy. Last night she was hungry when I sat her down. But the first mouthful went in, then came out, scraping it off her tounge with her fingers. I usually offer weetbix after this and some nights she'll eat one, last night she spat it out after 3 spoons. And she keeps spitting/wiping her tounge until every last bit is out of her mouth.
Mashed potato and veges get spat out quickly. I've tried vegemite sandwiches, toast, yogurt, finger food, mushed food, anything to get her eating!
I give her a spoon to feed herslf, turn tv off, leave tv on (in the hope it will distract her form the fact she is eating), nothing seems to work.
I've tried feeding her soon after getting home (5.30), and I've tried leaving it until later (Monday she was asleep in bed by 6, so I couldn't leave it too late).
Arrrrrgh!
Sorry about the rant,
Lisa:hair:
SammyG
23-05-2008, 03:44 PM
Mouse, breakfast is our tough meal of the day - goodness knows why as M must be starving after 13hrs without anything. I find if he's occupied with a toy with buttons he will eat 2 weetbix mixed with mashed banana, sometimes we go through 3 toys in one breakfast. Thankfully his other meals are more popular. This morning though he kept throwing paddies in the chair so I resorted to time out. 3 times he refused to eat and threw himself and toys around and 3 times I calmly took him from the chair and put him in his cot till he calmed down. He seemed to get the idea as breakfast did eventually get eaten!
Hope your DD1 gets better soon!
Strawberry, I thought m/s was finally behind me as I had a dream morning but have only been a little off this afternoon, crossing fingers it goes away completely.
Liviesmum, how is house smelling now? Did it sink into any soft furnishings?
Tabby, you make a gorgeous bride, photos are gorgeous, looking forward to seeing more!
Cordelia, does it feel real yet?
Cat, DS1 likes latina beef ravioli with no sauce, it's actually not too bad.
Better go, I have a late night ahead finishing a cake order due tomorrow!
Cordelia
23-05-2008, 05:19 PM
Tabby - lovely photos. you have a beautiful family.
liviesmum - how did the needles go? I guess we all have 18 month ones coming up soon :(
Ahhh... getting these little .... "monsters" to eat: my pet subject. If all else fails she loves the rafferty's garden's squeeze bottles. She sucks on it and it's gone within 20 seconds. I too picked up a freebie little table and chair to try that too. All in all, the only time she eats is when DH or I am eating and she eats off our plate. I know it's not ideal, but at least htere's something (other than chips) getting to her stomach.
Thanks for everyone remembering me! The morning sickness has well and truly started. "morning" meaning late-afternoon evening. so cooking late in the day has me in the bathroom. Good excuse as I haven't had to cook dinner in the last week! Very well behaved DH.
Today I had to go to Subiaco Oval to pick up some donations for a quiz night I'm organising. I went with my Mum and we were walking down Hay Street (lunch hour - busy). Caitlin walking in between us holding both our hands. We were chatting away not paying much attention and she was starting to slow down and get out of sync with her walking so we were kind of dragging her along. Well we got to the traffic lights and looked down and - HER JEANS AND HER NAPPY WERE DOWN TO HER KNEES!! She was completely starkers waist down. There were some very amused passerbys to say the least.
SammyG
23-05-2008, 06:52 PM
Cordelia, very funny! BTW I don't think there are any more needles till 2yrs now!
dragonflyblu
23-05-2008, 08:13 PM
tabby thanks for sharing your wedding photos. did kaitlyn actually walk down the isle and sit at the dinner table? she is so good, clea gets so distracted. looks like it was a lovely day.
food... Clea has never been a big eater but she is getting better. I am slowly weaning her and her food intake is increasing but we have days where all she eats is some yoghurt and some toast with cream cheese. We did a few things to encourage food. Cheese is on of the words she says, so gets very excited with cheese. "hmmm yummy cheese" goes on for about 5 minutes before we give it to her. Some favourite foods are bread soaked in egg and then cooked in a non-stick pan. beef goulash. rice with spinach. I juts cook rice, buy plain frozen spinach and cook it like rissotto, sometimes I add cream at the end. She loves baked chicken, chicken soup. Today I made anchovy, spinach, tomatoe rissotto. I am a lazy cook. I am really into the one pot dishes so lots of soup that i can leave for hours and lots of goulash. but, one day she devours something and the next day she hates it! I just keep offering, and usually helps if daddy is eating the same thing.
Tabby
23-05-2008, 09:15 PM
Again thanks everyone for well wishes and Congrats!!! :flowerz:
DFB: She sure did! walked all the way then into granddads arms for the rest until she headed all the way back up the path to the reception room and sat at the table for a bit but then proceeded to go from one person to another all night lol.
She truly was amazing, just as I thought she would be, am very lucky to have such a well behaved and content little girl thats for sure.
Cordelia: Yes 18 months ones soon for us. Going to be very hard this time round for all of us.
Hope your ms doesnt last too long hun, lovely DH to take over the cooking.
LOL @ your outting to subi.
Sammy: Hope you managed to finish the cake.
Any more new pics to show of your latest creations?
Mouse: How frustrating with the meals. sure hope you find a solution soon. Only thing I can think of is could it be something throat or mouth that affects he desire to eat maybe? Might be worth a check gp if not.
cya tomorrow
liviesmum: The candles and flowers were taken with a friend of ds1 camera, not sure what it was but yes they turned out just beautiful didnt they.
phew glad you got alerted by Olivia ( well done btw! ) to the toaster and yes they do smell BAD for ages when that happens.
:hugs: for needles
kewlchic: Cant believe how quickly time has gone, 9 weeks!
aries: Of course you would have been invited hun lol
Mim: thats great that the cc is working so well there! Sounds like your 4 day break was lovely!
Strawberry: wow 10-13 hrs, very lucky there!
She sounds an angel baby.
Speaking of I got to meet the lovely Tarni at the wedding and oh my is she a cutie! I got several HUGE cheesy smiles off her when saying goodbye/goodnight, she captured my heart right there.
tiredmummy: Hope the bed transition goes well.
I was going to do same after things settled down here but have decided since shes quite happy the cot and not climbing it then why change what works until I have to? lol
Sorry if missed anything. I think im back off cloud 9 now so should be all head back here when need be lol
Katie was the perfect angel for the il's while we were away, slept 12 hrs a night ( the usual ) so obviously a place thats not home didnt faze her one bit. She was taken to a small pig farm to see the baby pigs and some horses, also went boot scooting with Nanna and got all the ladies attention lol.
She clung to me tightly for ages when she came home so I think I can say she missed me. awwww
Cat13
24-05-2008, 12:02 PM
Back to reality now Tabby? You might be a bit lost for a while with no wedding to plan! Hope married life is treating you well so far :yes:
Mouse, I know it is sooo not funny but couldn't help laughing at the image of TJ scraping all that food out of her mouth. Only because I can picture it so clearly since Cameron does the same. Started all of a sudden, don't know if it's a texture thing but hopefully a short lived phase. He is teething so don't know if that's part of it? Often use Cordelia's 'eats of our plate' trick & Sammy's 'interesting toy' trick. Others are the 'fun to steal & use mum & dad's cutlery' trick. I agree with DFB, just keep offering. Took a month of offering before he'd eat weetbix and after 2 weeks he'll now have porridge.
DFB, 'chiz' (ie cheese) is also one of Cameron's favorites. It's a ritual to have cheese and bikkies with DH when he gets home form work and he gets sooo excited about it. He doesn't use them alot but seems to be throwing in new words everyday now. The most recent is 'moon'- one night after tea we showed him the full moon and same time next night he pointed outside and said moon and made us show it to him again. Clever cookies they are.
Now, not that I don't enjoy spending time with you all but should probably make more productive use of the big sleep Cameron is having after his morning swimming lesson!
SammyG
24-05-2008, 03:19 PM
Just a quick note, have uploaded the latest cake of a cartoon figure to my facebook album (you don't need to be on FB to view)
Let me know if the link doesn't work.
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=5762&l=00370&id=680994496
Sammy ... another fanstastic cake ! I'd missed the easter eggs you decorated - they are amazing too!
tabby ... welcome back! Glad Katie survived without you (and vice versa) and I'm sure she was thrilled to be back home with you too! Your wedding photos are great! You looked so happy and that you were having good fun!
food ... it's so frustrating when I cook special food for josh and he throws it on the floor! He's also quite unpredictable as to what he'll eat. On days that mum has him during the day he can eat a lot, so he rarely wants much dinner when he gets home. But sometimes he does. grr!
A few suggestions I've been given include offering the same food repeatedly and not giving up. Apparently it's not uncommon for a child to reject a food for 20 times before actually eating it! And another suggestion was to offer a child a wide selection of food at meal times. That was on a parenting tv show I saw and they showed a bigish plate with about 10 different foods on the plate - different colours, textures, sizes, etc. So, it's not necessarily much of anything. It is a lot of work to prepare but worth it if it means our little darlings eat something.
My MIL is funny though ... she had Josh over a meal 2 weeks ago and was appalled that he threw food on the floor. She said that her 2 boys NEVER threw food on the floor and that Josh had to stop doing it. Good luck! It's the only way he has of communicating that he doesn't want the food on offer!
us ... josh is away at the beach with my parents for the weekend. I had lots of work to do as did my dh and mum wanted to take him away. I miss him dreadfully, but he's having lots of fun and even sleeping through with minimal fuss for mum! I haven't done the work I needed to do, but I've got some of it done. At least dh & I had an opportunity to discuss finances at length this afternoon (a long overdue discussion) and we got to go out for dinner tonight which was lovely. I do look forward to josh's return mid afternoon tomorrow!
Tabby
24-05-2008, 11:00 PM
Sammy: what lovely new additions since last looked! You really are talented.
Mim: Ah isnt it a mixed emotion, the need for personal time but when away from them the want of them being with you is so strong! Those 4 days were hard for me but I knew it was doing me good to have the break, also "us" time of course hehe
Speaking of! Katie has a bad case of the clings now since home :(
Its so not like her. Even to the point of not wanting to go to bed and not wanting anyone but me..Sure hope this passes quickly. Dont realise how much they remember.
Cat: Reality is just as good to me :thumbsup:, I would say the only thing that will change is my name and maybe bank accounts to make things simple.
I dont miss all the planning actually. Im quite happy to run the home and go work without that added stress lol
Cheese is also a big fav here. Stands at fridge door saying "door" till you open it to then proceed to point where the cheese is saying "cheese" till she gets a slice.
while at il's she was taught to say "where are you" comes out a little odd but you can tell thats it. Not that can confirm that seeing as when Mouse visits all she says is " urghh" sort of thing to everything lol
yet when shes here with us we cant shut her up, not that would want too!
Caught up with the lovely Mouse and the girls this morning for coffee to receive my lovely gift of photos from the wedding all put into a album and on cd !!! :hugs:
Hope everyones having a great weekend xxx
3Divas&me
25-05-2008, 05:01 PM
Man you guys have chatted a bit lately- just popping in quick as I have tonsilitis and not very well and bridget is screaming because things arent going her way.
Needles went well- no major probs apart from a few tears.
Sammy- AWESOME CAKES- YOU ARE SUCH A TALENTED LADY!!
Cordelia-:hugs: for your m/s- as bad as it is it is a positive step in the pg journey.
:wave: hello to all, getting chaotic here so better scoot!
Tabby
26-05-2008, 10:57 PM
liviesmum: Hope your feeling better soon. :hugs:
Not much here, had the day off as work very quiet but that was okay I needed another day to catch up with the housework and washing! It never ends.
I think Katies clinginess of late is due to teeth, (that will make 18 teeth! ) and not because she was away from me as we also have the dreaded runny smelly burning poos and a few wakes last night. :fingerscrossed: they come quickly.
Am making a gp app for that flu needle for this week now that shes well though. Dad said he will take her while im at work which is okay by me. Im dreading the 18 mths which is soon as it is.
kewlchicmum
27-05-2008, 11:08 AM
StrawberrySweet no worries darls I will reply back don't know how much help I will be but will also ask my DH Tues or Wed as he just flew back this arvo and see if he can offer any advise.
Mouse :hugs: Oh you poor thing darls I don't really have any advise was thinking a little table and chairs would be a good idea. Is she feeding herself yet if not maybe try that or maybe finger foods.
SammyGWow your cakes are sooooooooooo great you have a talent and should start up a business if you don't already have one I for one sure would be buying your cakes.:chef:
DragonflyWhat a cute pic Clea how old she is now?
Cat13What a clever little cookie you have on your hands there darls I can see he is going to keep you entertained that's for sure.
CordeliaOh morning sickness already you poor thing I really feel for you darls. Oh lol poor Caitlin these things happen so fast.
MimHow was your weekend without Josh I bet you missed him so much. Hope you caught up on some much needed sleeps.
Livesmum How is the tonsilitis going darls hope your feeling better.
Tabby All I can say is your wedding dress is stunning I loved it all and it all went together so perfect the pic's are really great what a good camera you guys must what detail it picked up. I bet you guys are still :cloud9: I hope you had a magical day.
Oh and is there any pic's of the girls that are on here would love to see you all dressed up woho.....
I hope I have not forgotten any one we have been real talkative in here of late which is a good thing so much as been happening in all our lives of late.
Us well DH just flew back to work yesterday and is going to be away for 3 weeks this time :crying: for Lachlan and me. I am feeling alright just not being able to get comfy and sleep much of late and heartburn OMG what can I say about that bugger. :devil: Apart for the norm Lachlan is keeping me very busy not much time for rest and I guess the count down is on........:eek:
2s'nuff
27-05-2008, 01:46 PM
Mouse, I know it is sooo not funny but couldn't help laughing at the image of TJ scraping all that food out of her mouth. Only because I can picture it so clearly since Cameron does the same.
You gotta laugh (while TJ's not loking) as it is so funny.
Bought some chairs for our little table on Sat. So far TJ's sat there for all her 'meals'. Although she's not eating huge amounts, she is at least eating. Which means I've had some better nights lately. Still getting up at least twice, but not continually. Might have to retire the highchair to the shed.
I gave her a bowl of yogurt (one of the things she is eating) the other night then went and did something in the kitchen. When I sat down at her table with her to help, she smaked my hand as if to say 'no helping mum'.
Sorry, no personals. Have been following what's happening, but can't remember much.
Take care,
Lisa
3Divas&me
27-05-2008, 03:00 PM
Sorry no personals, jumping in to say hi:wave:
Tonsils are on the mend- slowly. Everyone else is well. DD1 is starting Karate this arvo so need to go get her ready was just popping in to quickly read up on what you are all up to... bit quiet though, hope your all well.
Cordelia
27-05-2008, 05:41 PM
Thanks for your morning sickness commiserations!! This week is tiredness :sleeping: doesn't help when our meetings for playgroup go to 12.. ridiculous!! for goodness sake.
yep - we're retiring the good old high chair. what's the point? st00pid thing.
kewlchic - no offence but if anyoen put a photo up here of me i would KILL THEM!!!!!!!!! Hope your heartburn starts to feel better!! (probably when you get your baby out but hey.. there's light at the end of the tunnel?!?)
liviesmum - hope your tonsilitis gets better for you. It's shocking. I've had it about 8 times since Caitlin was born. grrrrr
I'm very excited as some mum's and I are going down to Dunsborough for a mum's weekend in a few weeks!! CAN YOU IMAGINE!!! ohhhhh..... aaahhhhhh. jealous???? teeehee
anyway, our only big news is that caitlin is wearing pigtails for the first time today - yeah, exciting hey! well, i was so excited. she's such a big girl now!
kewlchicmum
27-05-2008, 11:04 PM
Cordelia :yelclap: pigtails oh how cute cute cute...and what's this a Mummy's weekend away oh I am sooooooooo jealous :eek: wow how great I hope you and the other Mummies have a great time..:D
3Divas&me
29-05-2008, 12:43 PM
Cordelia- weekend away....... fantastic- enjoy it, soak it up!!!!
kewlchic- dont know how I would cope if my dh had to go away for long periods of time- how do you manage? Are you close to family?
Tonsils are much better now so thats great. I weighed in at ww today and lost another 1.3kg so I have lost 7.6 kg in total since starting 7 weeks ago- feeling very proud of myself.
Better fly, lots to do!
kewlchicmum
29-05-2008, 02:57 PM
livesmum It gets hard at times and I think:bfp: has made me more emotional then norm nar I can't blame:bfp: I am emotional before that :laughing: My Mum and Dad moved down south just before Chrissy and I have really felt that and my 2 sisters well ones overseas traveling and the other just started uni so as you could prob tell I am the oldest and the first out of us to have kids...It was hard when Mum and Dad first moved away but I am alright now I have a couple of really great friends who are always telling me to lean on them more and leave Lachlan with them so I can have some time out.....but I still don't I don't know what is wrong with me :geek: I just get on with it. And DH roster is a really good one 2 weeks on 2 weeks off altho this time he is away for 3 weeks and only home for 1 week then back for 2 weeks and then home for 6 cause of bubs being due :smiliedance: so looking forward to that.
And a [COLOR="rgb(255, 0, 255)"][COLOR="rgb(255, 0, 255)"][COLOR="rgb(255, 0, 255)"][COLOR="rgb(255, 0, 255)"]BIG CONGRADS to your weight loss you should be really proud that's soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo great.
How is everyone doing all good I sure hope.
Cordelia
29-05-2008, 05:07 PM
re: mums' weekend away. Thanks! I'm already packing my monopoly board. 4 out of the 6 of us are pregnant so we won't be doing the wineries!
you FIFO girls need to be nicer to yourselves. and get some time for yourself!! Take advantage of people's offers. heck, drop your kids off at our place and go get your hair done or shop or even better sit in an empty house and do nothing. you take on too much. :hugs:
that's very good weight loss. I get the feeling that I'm goign to blowup this pregnancy. last time i lost weight in the 1st trimester. this pregnancy I'm definitely putting it on. Altho maybe the vomitting will offset it. :laughing:
3Divas&me
29-05-2008, 07:08 PM
Kewlchic- definately take up offers of help by people, trust me you will need it when this bub comes along- some days I really struggle (dont mean to scare you) but having the offers of help will give you an option and extra hands do make light work!
Cordelia- you would be suprised- running around after a toddler will help you keep the weight off. I started loosing weight when 30 weeks pg with Phoebe as that was when Bridget became so active- I ended up 3kg lighter after Phoebe was born then when I fell pg. you'll be right- pg is a good excuse to gain anyway:laughing:
Feeling very tired tonight- better go get Olivia ready for bed- the other 2 have caved already- Woohoo!
Tabby
29-05-2008, 10:37 PM
Just quickly as its late and need go to bed work tomorrow but need advice.
As yous know Katie sometimes throws up and have pinpointed some.
example: flavored milks, strawberry, spearmint and chocolate. Plain milk as well has also done it, we cut that out several months ago, when she has a bottle full she throws up, if just cereal and milk shes fine...
chock ice cream and we assumed a slight lactose intolerance but trying chock flavored soy milk today did that same!
have just cleaned her up after bed from a huge vomit.
Cheese and yogurts are perfectly fine, she loves both and eats heaps of them.
Usually the throw up comes about 15-20 mins after
Is there something in "flavored" & milk things ( even soy ) that am not aware of that could set her off?
am going to go see what can find on net but was hoping someone here might have come across it.
Im so confused!
any help appreciated!
Tabby
29-05-2008, 10:59 PM
So far
"many kids who are allergic to milk protein are also allergic to soy protein." but that would mean cheese would affect her as the protein is still there
or:
Many adults are unable to digest the lactose in milk except in small quantities, and yogurt or cheese can provide the calcium and vitamins.
Cheese is formed from the milk protein, casein, and still contains most of the protein, fat and vitamin A of the milk. It has lost most of the lactose and the B vitamins. Fromage frais is a low fat soft cheese that retains high levels of calcium.
Yogurt is nutritionally similar to milk, except that the lactose level has been reduced. It still contains excellent levels of protein, calcium and riboflavin. Fat levels can vary from 0.2% to 9% according to the type of milk used. Yogurts often have added flavourings and sugar, but plain yogurts to which you add your own flavourings give the greatest control of the nutritional content.
lactose intolerant if shes okay cheese and yogurt right?...Im so confused
maybe slight lactose intolerant then as first thought as lactose levels are reduced cheese and yogurt..
best get to bed and I think Ill get to the gp for maybe some allergy tests rather than trial and error of what she can or cannot eat/drink.
Its so distressing to see her vomit like that, her whole stomach wretches so bad till its all gone. :(
I thought lactose intolerance usually resulted in diarrhoea rather than vomiting. I really don't know. Josh is still banned from yoghurt as it used to make him vomit ... he loves cheese though ... and he hasn't yet officially had full cream milk - just formula. What about taking Katie to your GP?
Just a super quick post. Things had been going well til the last few days. Josh came off Zantac 8 days ago and seemed ok til Monday when he wouldn't sleep during the day. Then he's been waking up more at night instead of sleeping through. Mum has given him zantac in the morning for the last 2 days and his daytimes have been better, but I think he woke up 4 times overnight (I lost count) ... not ideal. But, I'd rather avoid zantac if I can. At least I got a cuddle whilst calming him this morning - I didn't see him yesterday as he was asleep when I left and then I didn't get home til nearly 11pm and obviously he was asleep then.
Cat13
30-05-2008, 10:41 AM
Tabby, When Katie has a bottle of milk (flavoured or otherwise) is it a big bottle? Maybe she just likes it so much that she drinks more than her tummy can handle in one go. I know I feel pretty ordinary the times I've tried to tackle a giant milkshake!
Other than that, it could be a reaction to an flavour or preservative - I don't really know how bad flavoured milks are for these as I don't buy them. My shopping trolley usually contains stuff with only natural ingredients.
Or could well be a form of lactose intolerance or an intolerance to some other milk/soy component. Unfortunatley if it's an intolerance and not an allergy may not show up in an allergy test and you may have to do an elimination diet to confirm.
Mim, sorry Josh has been unsettled again lately. May be just another hopefully shortlived unexplained phase!
3Divas&me
30-05-2008, 01:35 PM
Sorry Tabby, dont really know- could it be preservatives that set her off- all foods have them, but then it comes down to nailing which one it could be?:confused:
Mim- Sorry to hear Josh is unsettled- maybe try weening him off the zantac?
All good here- bit of a restless night with Phoebe last night- not a very good sleeper, but glad Bridget has settled and now sleeping through.
Hope you are all well, talk later!
2s'nuff
30-05-2008, 01:38 PM
re: mums' weekend away. Thanks! I'm already packing my monopoly board. 4 out of the 6 of us are pregnant so we won't be doing the wineries!
you FIFO girls need to be nicer to yourselves. and get some time for yourself!! Take advantage of people's offers. heck, drop your kids off at our place and go get your hair done or shop or even better sit in an empty house and do nothing. you take on too much. :hugs:
that's very good weight loss. I get the feeling that I'm goign to blowup this pregnancy. last time i lost weight in the 1st trimester. this pregnancy I'm definitely putting it on. Altho maybe the vomitting will offset it. :laughing:
I'm jealous of the mummies weekend. Oh for having a full nights sleep....:rolleyes:
Sometimes leaving your kids with someone else isn't as easy as it sounds. I think that we took on the decision to do FIFO, so I just roll with it. And I think 'they don't want my monsters to deal with as well as their own'.
Don't panic about the weight gain. With TJ I gained lots more weight in the first trimester than I did with DD1.
Is there something in "flavored" & milk things ( even soy ) that am not aware of that could set her off?
am going to go see what can find on net but was hoping someone here might have come across it.
Im so confused!
any help appreciated!
If K was lactose intollerant, the milk in cereal would set her off too. And as well as the :barf:her poo's would be horrific (back to runny, exploding - poonarmi). By cereal what do you mean - weetbix, ricebubbles, coco pops? If you think she's reacting to the flavours & colours in the milk, then you might want to think about everything that she eats/drinks.
Here's the link to a website we live by. It's all about avoiding addivies, preservatives and other baddies in food that might affect her. People (including kids) all react differently to the baddies.
http://www.fedupwithfoodadditives.info/
Us...I'm going to give CC another go. Relented last week when DD1 was sick and I was exhausted. As a result we're back to waking several times a night. The little chairs don't seem to have been the magic trick I needed to get TJ to eat. Instead she spends the meal getting up & down continually. If I turn my back I find her carrying her bowl into the kitchen and trying to put it up on the cupboard. Noticed last night her top K9 teeth are almost through. So hopefully this is forming part of our problem.
DH is home this weekend, so might get a couple of sleep-ins.
Have a great weekend
Lisa
2s'nuff
30-05-2008, 01:44 PM
Sorry Tabby, dont really know- could it be preservatives that set her off- all foods have them, but then it comes down to nailing which one it could be?:confused:
All good here- bit of a restless night with Phoebe last night- not a very good sleeper, but glad Bridget has settled and now sleeping through.
The website I listed has a printout of the additives, preservatives and colours to avoid (handy to have in your purse when shopping). We find it easier to avoid all of them rather than just some. I also find different baddies give us (yes me included) different reactions. For me it's headaches, mouth ulcers, burning mouth etc.
:hugs: for you and your restless sleeper.
Lisa
Tabby
30-05-2008, 05:42 PM
oh my gosh! Accidentally pressed a button on the side of mouse and back paged me to lose my post :mad:
Had all the personals but will make it back tonight or tomorrow to redo.
Lots of thinking today and decided will just remove those things from Katies diet, she gets plenty of calcium from cheese and yogurt am sure as she has plenty, not like the others were good for her anyhow!
Mil is most concerned Katie is missing out on something if she cant enjoy a chocmilk or icecream! what a croc
anyhow lol back tonight with those personals, until then if miss the restless sleepers, hope those good nights return for yous from tonight:hugs:
tabby ... Josh has never had either and isn't missing out at all :)
I think we worked out what set him off overnight - he had lots of grapes yesterday. That was a bad idea last time we tried it too! So, zantac can stay away and so can grapes! In large quantities anyway.
mouse ... although we had a josh free weekend last weekend I slept a lot worse than when he's at home. I slept REALLY well Sunday night eventhough he woke once or twice. When I went away earlier in the month I did not enjoy it as I slept extremely poorly. Ironic, but true.
Better get back to dh & Josh ...
wild at heart
30-05-2008, 06:15 PM
sorry guys.. i am still around just don't ahve much to say most of the time.
The weather is so bad here that Alexander spent most the day sleeping while dh looked after him. hmmmh.. TYPICAL..
He is so active now and walking everywhere and he is so cute.
He is syaing so many words and says "what's that". He imitates everything now.. so he is a little sponge!
He is doing the "food throwing" off the highchair, so I have decided I will give him one chance and then he gets mothing. He eats so much normally that he is not going to starve. If I put him next to little Cameron, I;m sure Cameron would think he was going to eat him up :laughing: nah he's not that big, but like all the other kids on here, he has decided that food is not important to him. In a way I am glad that he is not just eating for the sake of it anymore. Now, its about finding what he feels like.. oh well.. I had been giving him the same thing over and over so he is trying new things again which he is enjoying.
Tabby- alexander only has a few cups of milk per day. I was told that he needs about 600ml per day, so if she is having cheese and yoghurt then I wouldn't worry. Alex sometimes :barf: after cup of milk and that's when I know he's had enogh so I decided to cut down on the milk anf give more calcium. You can even add cheese to food like omelettes and frittatas etc.
Mouse- :hugs: for the sleeping and eating.. its so hard at this stage where sometimes you feel they are little moulds and you are just trying to figure the right way to shape them into a wellbhaved little child... (well that's the theory anyway.. he he). Good luck for some sleep ins.
Mim- hope Josh is back on track soon. My sleep clinic people say that if they are unwell it should only cause a minor disruption, so wehn they are feeling better it should only take a night or so to get them back into a good routine. I hope it works for you.
Liviesmum- welldone on weightloss. Have you got much more to lose... betcha looking very slim with all the feeding!! I am mindful of the weightgain so I hopefully don't have tooooooooo much to lose... but who knows how much I will gain this time... I am bigger than I was the first time, though.
Good night girls and have a good night
Strawberry_Shortcake
30-05-2008, 06:39 PM
Sorry no personals have heaps to do but i have read all your posts. My grandmother past away yesterday so hubby and I (and the 2 little ones)are flying to QLD tomorrow night for the funeral on Wednesday. Girls are staying at a friends place. Better go and start organising stuff be back on Friday to catch up on every thing.
Kel
Cat13
30-05-2008, 07:17 PM
Strawberry, sorry for your loss. Hope your travel plans go smoothly.
Wild, maybe if Cameron had Alex for company (and didn't get eaten by him ;) ) they'd both eat a little better. A bit of competition seems to make the food more interesting!
Mim, if you have a look at the website Mouse mentioned for Tabby you'll see grapes listed as a nasty for those sensitive to salicylates - a type of compound found naturally in some foods. May be worth looking into whether food intolerances could possibly be causing any of Josh's troubles? It's a website that offers hope and possible solutions but also gets me very depressed and frustrated at the content and quality of most readily available food. But I have done a couple of almost completely additive free shops recently. Easiest on my own without DH who complains I take too long reading the labels! Which by the way Tabby, I don't know which brands you've offered Katie but I had a quick squiz at the supermarket tonight and was horrified that all apart from the Brownes brand had multiple artificial colours & flavours. One sip would probably give me an asthma attack :(.
3Divas&me
30-05-2008, 07:22 PM
Strawberry- :hugs: sorry to hear of your loss- take care.
Wild- how ya doin? How far are you now? Feeling very good with my weightloss- bought a very comfy pair of size 14 jeans today which is a first for many many years- B/fing rocks@!@! Would like to loose another 10kg at least.
Mouse- sorry had to laugh about TJ and the cupboards- Bridget re-arranges ours all the time and she knows where it is all kept- food and all. I do hope you get to the bottom of TJ's sleeping patterns soon.
Was suppose to go out tonight with friends but was cancelled on- even after going and buying something to wear:crying:. I guess I was more excited and eager to go out as I dont get the opportunity to do it very often then those I was to go with. A little depressing... but will move on.
Better go got some cooking:chef: to do (going to a bbq tomorrow and bringing dessert).
wild at heart
30-05-2008, 09:07 PM
Liviesmum- I am almost 18 weeks, and I have been going well. I am feeling well and his pregnancy is going well. Bubs is making lots of movements which are starting to become more distinct.
Strawberry- goodluck with the long flights. I hope all goes well.. Sorry for your loss.
additives- I have really started to try to cook more of alexander's snacks etc so i have been making treats like cookies etc. I found a great recipe for weetbox muffins which has very little sugar and uses bananas as sweetener (no good if you can't have banana I suppose). They are yum.. hmm.. maybe I'll go and have one soon...:chef:
Ohh.. and on the topic of milk, I was just reading in my book that its very common for babies of this age to not want to eat meals at meal times because of all the liquids they eat such as bottles/ cups of milk etc. Worth thinking for us (even though alexander only has two and a bit cups of milk per day) if alexander decides he doesn't want to eat. He sometimes gets lazy and opens the throat and the milk goes down like he is entering a beer sculling competition- quite hilarious to watch. after the milk is finished the cup gets thrown over the shoulder... hmm another habit to work on!
Tabby
31-05-2008, 05:44 PM
Strawberry: Sorry for your loss hun, hope the litteones travel well for you :hugs:
Mim: Hope it was grapes and can get back to routine now you know. Im still at a loss, cheesy ravioli and yogurt for lunch = vomit today. cheesy ravioli in tin has been in place for months so wasnt that, different yogurt though! BUT I think she coming down with something as well..
slight rash on face and sneezing a lot today, time will tell.
Mouse: Like today we have the smelly explosive poos as well as that vomit, just not always. Most time is just vomit. I always put them together I assumed was teething. so blooming confusing!!!!!
Will try get to gp this week..
I dont hold much hope of any help though as hes quite hopeless really, we might be better of with a referral to a paediatrician.
wild: Lovely to hear from you, glad alls well.
Yep, we add cheese whenever we can to up the calcium there. :thumbsup:
liviesmum: wonderful on the weight loss, your doing so well hun!!! Good for you.
Am trying really hard not to add any mine back on now wedding is over, I even want to lose another 10k so am starting back seriously on work start day next week. Easier at work as lunch is short and simple so easy to start off there lol.
argh dog barking at thunder now Katie has woken, though its been a 3 hr nap so far!
Back later to finish
kewlchicmum
02-06-2008, 08:40 AM
:smiliedance:Started new JUNE chat thread ladies :smiliedance:
Hey Sweets,
Just thought I would jump on and say hi. I haven been in this section for probly a year no time.
LOL 3 under 2 1/2 will do that .
Bailey is 13 kgs now. He ses mum, dad, nose, Ta And waves and ses TATA. He has been feeding himself since 9 months as he is adiment that he needs no help. The funny thing is he always eats the brocilli first. Then the other veg then the meat.
I noticed the talk about milk. Bails has 3 bottles a day With 100mls of water a scoop of step 3 and the rest milk. he gets them after his meal so he eats more. Not that thats a real prob with him lol. He is shocking at cups he sticks his tongue out under the cup and it goes everywear. So its milk in a bottle and juice in a sippy cup.
How is everyones elses lil bubbas going.
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.