View Full Version : Unsure how to make fresh vege meals for bubs
I was wondering if anyone can give me advice on doing my own veges for my 8 month old daughter?
For dinners I have always just given her jars of baby veges that you pick up from the supermarket, however my mum keeps suggesting that I start giving her fresh veges.
I am told I can steam & then blend stuff for her, I'm just unaware of exactly how to do this.. Do I need to mix anything else like milk in, & I'm not sure what veges go well together? etc etc
I could do some research on google but would rather someone on here help me out, if possible
Cheers!!!
Kate
michelleR
28-04-2008, 13:31
I used to steam using a bamboo steamer for my DS (still do some nights). His fave at that age was sweet potato, parsnip and broccoli. I would just add some boiled water to thin it out to the right consistency. You can steam most veges. I would sometimes put some rice or pasta in the water of the saucepan I was using too. Just depends on whether bub is having rice/pasta yet??
HTH.
hey Kate :)
I just got a steam basket (you can get them from the kitchen aisle in woolies .. or any home type shop) .. its like a little wire basket that opens and shuts .. and its on legs .. and it sits inside your saucepan (they are less than $8 .. even at the home shops.. ) all you do is put an inch or so of water in the bottom of the saucepan .. and chuck some vege chunks in the steamer (in the saucepan) put the lid on the saucepan and keep the water simmering .. (I used to set my time so that I didn't forget about it .. you cant let it boil dry ...
once thats done I used to use either my bamix (you know .. the stick blender/?) or the actual blender to puree the veges .. some veges are easier than others .. pumpkin is REALLY easy because it goes so moist and soft quickly .. sometimes with other veges I would just add a little of the water from the saucepan (ie its been boiled and does have some vege nutrients in it) .. to make the mixture smoother ..
with meats etc .. you really have to mush them up .. and its much easier to do so WITH the veges .. e.g. chicken with potato .. if you try to blend them by themselves or freeze them it goes icky ..
hope that helps ..
feel free to PM me if oyu have any questions or stresses ..
Jen
dont forget stuff like avocado .. you just mash with a fork :D Jack used to looooove avodcado
JEn
ETA - oh .. and broccoli?? can be a little harsh to taste .. texture wise .. I would always mix that with either potato or pumpkin .. and you can add cheese to anything if they dont like it plain (if bubs has had cheese yet)
Making food for your baby is really easy and satisfying. As veve said just steam and puree. If they've been on solids for a while though you might want to try just mashing them with a fork to get a rougher texture.
You can always water it down a bit with bm/formula/water if it's too dry.
Don't be afraid to start them on finger foods too. It can be a bit nerve wracking to start with but try a chunk of steamed sweet potato or pumpkin.
Don't forget the fruit:
Banana
Stewed Apples
Stewed Pears
Stewed Peaches
You could also just give her steamed broccoli as a finger food :)
Skittles
28-04-2008, 14:00
Hey. I have never been able to give my DS tinned stuff as he has a reaction. Just steam and mash. I have also steamed some chicken and tried lamb then chucked them in the blender with some veg. Could some one please say when they can try rice? And what do we do with that?
Could some one please say when they can try rice? And what do we do with that?
Rissotto :flowerz:
DS had it at about 8 months but I'm not sure when it's actually recommended to introduce.
Thanks heaps for your responses :-) Very helpful! Am on my way to Coles today to stock up on veges & steaming supplies.
aardvark
29-04-2008, 08:21
I always make my own stock for soups and casseroles.
When the children have been little, I've put some of that aside in ice cube trays, for adding to their vegetables. It's very nutritious.
It's also useful in small amounts for cooking the italian baby pasta in. In most continental delis, there are boxes of baby pasta (brand name is Plasmon). Tiny, tiny pasta shapes for babies. I found it useful as a meal on its own cooked in stock, or as an addition to the veg.