Soft serve
Soft cheeses
Coffee/ tea??
YES :thumbsup:
Take folic
Take vitamins
Eat healthy
Regular exercise
So can anyone help out and add to my list?
Thanks for you help :D
07-04-2006, 05:45 AM
no:shame:
apparently hot dogs
coke
drinking
drugs
fighting in bar brawls
yes:smiliedance:
enjoy it while it lasts
being lazy on the couch
sleeping as much as possible
warm bubble baths:D
aardvark
07-04-2006, 05:49 AM
NO
taking on strenuous exercise regimens
Avoid new/replacement amalgam (silver) dental fillings if possible
YES
exercise in moderation
ENJOY the ride!
kiwibird27
07-04-2006, 05:50 AM
Okay first the bad news......................... I'm 31 weeks and was told this when i was first pg............
No
Deli foods (Ham, etc)
seafood, shellfish, lobster - everything except fish but then limit it to 2-3 serves a week
Poultry unless cooked by yourself (cook it well)
Prepared salads from deli bar (only use mayonnaise for the first day u open it)
Blue cheese (any unpasteurized milk products!!!)
- this is all because of LISTERIA, it can cause miscarriages in pg women
YES
Was told coffee is fine as long as you limit it to 1-2 a day!!! and be careful with chocolate and tea on the same day so don't overload on caffeine!!!
A glass of wine each day is fine too
The eatting healthy think - u should add unless u have vanilla malt milk and lamb chop and chocolate cravings then take vitamins to make up 4 the lack of quality food!!!!!
Oh - if u live in germany you can't eat steak if your pg??????????:ecomcity:
Okay brains stopped working now.........NEXT................. Good luck:smiliedance:
07-04-2006, 05:52 AM
:eek: i drink 4 cups of coffee on a good day
kiwibird27
07-04-2006, 05:55 AM
Me too.........just repeating what the doctor said!!!!! What do they know!!!!!!
MumsieMel
07-04-2006, 06:00 AM
Gee you guys are great, keep it coming :thumbsup:
blackroze
07-04-2006, 06:06 AM
Try and stay away from dodgy looking restaurants. After suffering SEVERE morning sickness (I even struggled to keep water down!), it finally stopped. To celebrate,I went to a chinese restaurant and ended up in hospital from food poisoning!!!!!!!!
:barf:
07-04-2006, 06:15 AM
(only use mayonnaise for the first day u open it)
I was told outright 'no' to mayo!:eek:
Funkychicken
07-04-2006, 07:31 AM
no:shame:
apparently hot dogs
coke
drinking
drugs
fighting in bar brawls
yes:smiliedance:
enjoy it while it lasts
being lazy on the couch
sleeping as much as possible
warm bubble baths:D
I concur with the what to do's here. Because once you start having babies, YOU'LL NEVER GET TO DO ANY OF THESE THINGS IN PEACE....EVER, EVER!
Other no's:
Spa
Sit-up's (yeah right, like I could have if I wanted to)
tyler's mum
07-04-2006, 07:35 AM
when i was pg there was so many food i could not eat i pretty much lived on coke, crilled cheese for the frist 4 months,,, fruit and veg [which i love] may me throw up all the way through,,, thats was me now on to a sad note....
my cousin was having her 3rd baby a boy [she has 2 girls] she follow the rule on what not to eat and do ect... dont eat deli foods, soft cheese so on,,, and her little boy die when she was 36 weeks:crying: ,,, and she did every thing right now with her girls she ate what she wont did want she wont and they are fine....
i know sometimes just bad thing happen but the way i see it yeah follow some of the rules but if you wanna eat something well do it....
this is just what i think you may not agree:confused: but every one to there own
No
Housework
Yes
Chocolate
MumsieMel
07-04-2006, 07:54 AM
No
Housework
Yes
Chocolate
OHHH like those rules!!! :yelclap:
Sara's Boys
07-04-2006, 08:00 AM
I was devastated when I got my list of things not to eat. OK so I was getting my head around no acohol, and accepting it, but damn it no t the soft cheese!NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I did what I was told no ham(cured meats) no baymaree( sp?)foods, no ready made salads mayo> BUT then I found out, apparantly you can eat soft cheeses made in oz because we pasturise all of our dairy, unlike most other countries! oh, and I finthi out at the last couple of weeks!! I still had 1-2 coffees a day and a 1/2 gl;ass of red wine evry 3-4 weeks. We are only human! And walking for excerise is good, especiallly if you eat as many tim tams as I did!
Kaileysmum
07-04-2006, 10:20 AM
I didnt know you couldnt eat soft serve!!!:eek: I had chocolate thiickshakes from Mac Donalds by the truck load when i was pregga's. :shame:
2SPUNKRATZ
07-04-2006, 10:33 AM
i have eaten whateve i felt like the whole time. when it comes to meats i have just been sure to make sur they are fresh and not slimey.
Uniquey
07-04-2006, 10:48 AM
Just a thought with Mayo, the reason they say you can't eat is, is because home-made or restaurant Mayo is made with raw eggs. You can however eat shop bought Mayo in a jar, if it's the 'fat free' version as it's not made with eggs.
The biggest thing to remember is good hygiene when preparing food, for example, have separate boards for chopping meat and vegies. Make sure all foods are cooked at a high temp, especially left-overs.
At the end of the day, we are fortunate enough to live in a country where we do have less cases of listeria etc, and a good Dairy industry, but you never know, so better to be safe than sorry. Just think, that all our Grandmothers and beyond didn't have specific 'rules' for what to eat etc, and they seemed to fare well.
mummy 2 b
07-04-2006, 03:39 PM
My doctor never told me anything about what to eat and what not to eat.
Everything that i know ive found out from family or the internet.
I was told all the things that the other ladies said and also that you cant eat anything if its more than 24 hours old.(so no to last nights left-overs)
Im about 5 1/2 months and didnt know any of this till very recently.
Ive been eating what ever i wanted since the beginning until now.
Sorry i cant give you anything more helpful.
But anywayz, good luck with everything. :fingerscrossed:
Just thought of another one:
No botox.
moonblossom
07-04-2006, 03:53 PM
Well call me a rebel but I eat whatever I want whenever I want LOL All these new rules I can't keep up with so I just do what I've always done throughout all my pregnancies...
javalava
07-04-2006, 08:13 PM
No peanuts.... Makes it easier to prevent severe nut allergies.
For those of you who dont know why peanuts are a problem - The protein in the nuts cannot be broken down in a baby (they recomment you wait until after 5 to try them on it... 5 years that is) and therefore it will poisin them, causing anaphylactic shock. Which is very very serious.
Anyway thats my 2 cents worth.
lilmissymoo
07-04-2006, 08:24 PM
If you have a cat DO NOT clean out the kitty litter, also if you have been patting the cat wash your hands before doing anything else.
I was told spas were fine as long as it wasnt to hot just body temp and dont sit directly on a jet and always wear bottoms.
Pizza is fine only if you eat it that night you get it (No cold Pizza)
Basically anything is fine if you make it yourself or you know that it is fresh and hasnt been sitting around for to long.
JUST DO WHAT YOU THINK IS RIGHT FOR YOU AND YOUR BUBS
jessgray
08-04-2006, 08:31 AM
i was told no coldslaw from delis or kfc (i craved kfc coldslaw like it was going out of fashion)
no sushi
no hotdogs
basically what eevryone else was told
but after 3 months of trying to stick to the what to eat i gave up and my son isnt a deformed mutant with 3 heards or anything. he is prone to knicking chocoolate though....so maybe if you dont want a chocholic bub dont eat tonnes of choccie lol
i ate coldslaw i knew had been freshly prepared. i ate sushi from places i saw make it. and my doctor said it was the best way to do it if i had to eat the stuff lol:laughing:
elissas
08-04-2006, 08:48 AM
If we followed the rules life would be boring. And they're not so much rules, but guidelines.
I ate ham or turkey and salad sandwiches with mayo - would have missed them waaaay too much. Make sure the mayo is commercial bottled mayo as it doesn't contain egg. I always use the packet deli meats from the supermarket, and they're fresh as anything! I must admit, I did avoid cooked chickens that had been sitting there for ages, but I always have anyway.
As far as soft serve goes, McDonalds IMO is fine. If I was going to trust anyone I'd trust them. They have stringent policies about cleaning out the machine every day - as is required with soft serve machines, as they harbour bacteria. But most other places are questionable (ie. they don't want to waste the soft serve mix by throwing it out to clean). I worked in an ice cream shop years ago where it was done once a week :eek: , but still nobody every got listeria poisoning from it.
I did avoid soft cheeses and raw fish (I missed sushi :thumbsdown: ), but I say if you've eaten from somewhere before or it looks safe, chances are it is. Listeria is actually not as common as we are led to believe... It's mainly reserved for "Dodgy Joe's" type shops where you'd question it's safety whether pg or not. :barf:
And I ate Subway at least twice a week during my pg, so don't let anyone tell you that's a no-no either. And I craved fried dim sims and Wendy's hot dogs, and indulged quite often!!!
Just let common sense be your guide and enjoy. There's always a happy medium but the mainstream health / medical industry has no clue as to the meaning of that term anymore. :banghead:
annsam
08-04-2006, 08:56 AM
Eat well, eat whole foods where possible, lots of water, limited or no alcohol, I concur with the no deli prepared salads, salamis, soft serves, dodgy sausages or mince (where you dont know whats in it:barf: ), I avoide caffine but thats just me, I do that normally anyway. No strenuous exercise, aqua aerobics and swimming is great for the aches and pains and at the start of 3rd trimester for keeping bub head down...... um, cant think cant think.....oh allergens and peanuts, if bubs is allergic you would never know if they had a reaction in the womb. No undercooked meats and eggs.....
ok, thats probably my list and pretty much what ever one else said but honestly, theres being careful and going overboard, do what feels right. These 'restrictions' have only been in place a few years yet people have been eating these no-no's and much much more for a long time while PG and no ills have befallen them. Just be sensible is all I can say.
I agree.
But if you DO want to go overboard, that's fine too :D
Its your body, your womb, your digestive system and your precious baby and don't let anyone make you feel stupid for being overly finicky.
BabyJoy
08-04-2006, 08:58 AM
I agree with Lis. I read up on what to eat, what not to eat, but I didn't stick to all the rules. I ate hotdogs, packaged ham, soft serve ice cream (I lurve Wendy's thickshakes!), a glass of wine every now and then, and leftovers heated up in the microwave. And my daughter is fine!
I did avoid peanuts, restaurant mayo (raw egg type), raw fish, soft cheese (very sad about this one, but it was absolute bliss when my friend brought me some in hospital after the birth!) and Asian food (only because it made me feel sick, not because you're not allowed to have it!)
08-04-2006, 09:07 AM
These 'restrictions' have only been in place a few years yet people have been eating these no-no's and much much more for a long time while PG and no ills have befallen them.
These days babies are 10 times healthier than years ago, the survival rate is increasing more and more. I don't meant to be picky but perhaps even just a small part of that could be due to what we eat in comparison to what say the decade before ate!;)
annsam
08-04-2006, 09:23 AM
These days babies are 10 times healthier than years ago, the survival rate is increasing more and more. I don't meant to be picky but perhaps even just a small part of that could be due to what we eat in comparison to what say the decade before ate!;)
Well yes definitely it does play a part but there is no evidence or sufficient research to substantiate a lot of what is recommended and the recommendations continually change from generation to generation as a result. If a product has a higher risk of causing food poisoning by being contaminated with listeria or salmonella, being past expiry or undercooked then definitely stay clear of. Its common sense really. Many of the products eaten for last thousand years such as perfectly good eggs, dairy, nuts, meats etc should not be avoided if prepared properly and brought fresh whereas many people do avoid them because they have heard that they can be risky without knowing the facts surrounding the risk.
All I am saying is that if you have a bit of chocolate, a can of coke or a soft serve cone it is unlikely to cause most women issues unless you are unfortunate enough to end up with food poisioning or eat to excess and then there is still no guarantee of issues but there is a higher risk. Hope that explains that comment sufficiently.:)
mumslilspunks
08-04-2006, 03:50 PM
I was told never to eat raw meat (not that you would) but if you have steak dont have it blue (practically raw just touching the bbq), rare( sort of the same but on the hot plat a bit longer) or medium rare. I was told ther should be no blood comming from it!:(
When i was pg with DS it was right in the middle of a very hot summer so i had the occasional beer of a night and now whenever i ds sees a beer can or stubbie he's trying to neck! Maybe coz he got the taste for it. Or baby he just sees dh with one in his hand alot:D
Whatever you feel happy with eating i reckon. Theres so many do's and dont's out there now days its so hard to keep up with them all!!!!:chef:
08-04-2006, 09:54 PM
Well at work tonight I checked 3/4 of the mayo jars and all of them had egg in them!
So I would say store bought mayo is definately a no no when pg!;)
pegasus
08-04-2006, 10:25 PM
I'd heard that store bought mayo still has eggs, but not raw. Maybe that's what we need to look into as raw egg is a problem, but not if cooked.:detective:
Destiny
09-04-2006, 07:01 AM
Gosh since when could we not eat mayo? LOL
Anyway, I generally steer clear of open salads at salad bars that have been sitting there a long time - the fresh ones are fine. cold chicken/meats that has been sitting, pate's, soft cheeses and things like that. I limit my coffee and coke intake (and 'V' - I've kinda had an addiction to V LOL). And I only buy soft serve from shops that have strict health regulations not icecream trucks.
A lot of this is just plain common sense. They tell you not to eay ANY because they want to cover everyone - even those who don't have common sense. But generally, fresh is best - stuff that's been sitting around in baymarie's for long periods of time etc - should best be avoided.
I eat hotdogs LOL
aardvark
09-04-2006, 07:12 AM
I should also have mentioned - DON'T get stuck in a public loo cubicle!!
The people who design public loos have no concept of how much space a very pregnant tummy can take up. It can be hard to get the door closed past the tummy, and even harder to get it open again!!
KiLLaKaZ
10-04-2006, 02:53 AM
have you tried being sideways when opening/ closing the door? haven't tried it myself to see if it's possible, but i know that's how the sumo dudes get in & out of the loos on an aeroplane!! ;) (i'm shocked they can even squeeze into them in the first place!! :eek: )
pumpkin
10-04-2006, 09:22 AM
Ok guys,
Help me out, i need some reminding of things i can and cant do, :rolleyes:
i remember things like:
NO :thumbsdown:
Soft serve
Soft cheeses
Coffee/ tea??
YES :thumbsup:
Take folic
Take vitamins
Eat healthy
Regular exercise
So can anyone help out and add to my list?
Thanks for you help :D
i know you ant to know about what not to eat etc but sorry to tell everyone that with all my pregnancies i ate soft serve ice cream , had milkshakes from mcdonalds, drank heaps of coke (6 per day), had 1 coffee per day, ate mayo.
and i NEVER had any problems with any of my pregnancies or with the bubs. so i dont know how much truth there is out there for these lists of do not eat/drink lol
they never caused dramas for me
serenitynow
10-04-2006, 11:14 AM
so i dont know how much truth there is out there for these lists of do not eat/drink lol
they never caused dramas for me
The truth is out there, pumpkin - and it lies in factual medical cases, involved studies and stringent testing which is required prior to a medical hypothesis evolving into a proven medical fact.
And if it cannot be proven as yet, but significant relationships can be drawn from evidence, then its suitably appropriate for warnings to be given.
Listeria, caffeine, etc have all been proven/linked to, problems with developing foetuses, pregnancy difficulties and issues concerning the health of the mother.
Just because they didn't cause problems for you, doesn't mean these claims are false.
Thousands haven't been as lucky as you - hence the warnings
pumpkin
10-04-2006, 12:06 PM
The truth is out there, pumpkin - and it lies in factual medical cases, involved studies and stringent testing which is required prior to a medical hypothesis evolving into a proven medical fact.
And if it cannot be proven as yet, but significant relationships can be drawn from evidence, then its suitably appropriate for warnings to be given.
Listeria, caffeine, etc have all been proven/linked to, problems with developing foetuses, pregnancy difficulties and issues concerning the health of the mother.
Just because they didn't cause problems for you, doesn't mean these claims are false.
Thousands haven't been as lucky as you - hence the warnings
can you provide us on here with these "factual medical cases" from say 2000 onwards, like what percentages etc
mum2cooper
10-04-2006, 12:32 PM
I agree with serenitynow. There are many proven and 'suggested' risks in food during pregnancy. I dont want to take any risks with my unborn baby, no matter how many ppl have eaten the 'wrong' or 'unrecommended' things and have been lucky enough to have a healthy baby. Call me pedantic or paranoid, but this is my baby.
It comes down to the individual. I think people should just do what they feel is right for them!:thumbsup: :ecomcity:
serenitynow
10-04-2006, 12:44 PM
*The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention ( CDC) estimates that 2,500 people become seriously ill with listeriosis each year in the United States. Of these, one in five die from the disease. Listeriosis can be particularly dangerous for pregnant women and their unborn babies. Foodborne illness caused by Listeria in pregnant women can result in premature delivery, miscarriage, fetal death, and severe illness or death of a newborn from the infection.
According to the CDC, pregnant women are about 20 times more likely than other healthy adults to get listeriosis. In fact, about one-third of listeriosis cases happen during pregnancy. Listeriosis can be transmitted to the fetus through the placenta even if the mother is not showing signs of illness. This can lead to premature delivery, miscarriage, stillbirth, or serious health problems for her newborn.*
*Taken from the USDA Website*
Any more info you can google yourself, I can't be bothered proving to you what is known as medical fact.
Pumpkin I don't know why you seem argumentative - do you seriously believe that the medical authorities just make stuff up??
The word used in warnings is CAN, not WILL.
If you want to argue this case, take it up with the medical fraternity.
I'm sure much more learned people than I, could furnish data relevant to your questions.
As stated before, just because it didn't happen to you, doesn't mean it doesn't happen to others.
Just because you didn't have a problem, doesn't make it false information, untrue, or unsubstantiated.
They are called warnings for a reason.
If you choose not to heed them, thats your call.
pumpkin
10-04-2006, 02:58 PM
maybe i am an argumentative person? too bad anyway there are just as many people out there in AUSTRALIA that do not get anything either so i was actually looking for figures not some american website on cases i want real australian figures that are up to date to prove your point and my point together. i want to know whether there are actually more who get nothing from these "do not eat" foods then there are who actually get it iykwim.
google hahaha there are so many pages with different info i personally do not have tim,e to scope them all out to prove my point.
10-04-2006, 03:10 PM
maybe i am an argumentative person? too bad anyway there are just as many people out there in AUSTRALIA that do not get anything either so i was actually looking for figures not some american website on cases i want real australian figures that are up to date to prove your point and my point together. i want to know whether there are actually more who get nothing from these "do not eat" foods then there are who actually get it iykwim.
google hahaha there are so many pages with different info i personally do not have tim,e to scope them all out to prove my point.
Pumpkin really we understand where you points are coming from but surely you can see what we are all saying too!
misskittyfantastico
10-04-2006, 04:41 PM
I googled "listeriosis" +"pregnancy" + "Australia" and found this fact sheet that states:
There are 3 cases of Listeriosis per million people in non-preganant people per year
Vs
4.6 cases per 100 000 births per year
Anyhow, here is the site http://www.health.vic.gov.au/ideas/bluebook/listeriosis.htm
serenitynow
10-04-2006, 05:23 PM
Thank you Milliesmum, for obtaining the relevant data.
So, Pumpkin - my point proven with statistical data, relevant to Listeria - it DOES happen.
Your point, in which you doubted the truth of these food do's/don't has been refuted.
With hard statistics.
So yet again, I will state my point is that just because it didn't happen to you, doesn't mean it does not happen.
It does happen.
Just because you were not affected, does not mean the warnings are untrue, or unsubstantiated.
They are.
And by minds far greater than mine, and I daresay, yours.
How do you so frequently put it? - oh yeah - pmsl
moonblossom
10-04-2006, 05:29 PM
Gawd I've been pregnant for SO MANY years, I would never be able to eat ANYTHING I wanted too.
I think the listeria question is tricky. Yes, it's true there are so few cases each year, but still the risk does exist. Pumpkin - it is great that you never encountered any problems, and I'm sure most women wouldn't, but the risk exists and it is up to each woman to decide how she feels about that risk.
I was super careful about listeria for both of my very short lived pregnancies, this was simply my choice, bearing in mind the information I had been given. I think it is a bit dangerous to suggest that it is OK to eat these foods. Women need to decide for themselves what risks they will and will not take.
gypsy girl
11-04-2006, 11:26 AM
I have had my hair straightened with the ionic straightening method before I was pregnant and would love to get it done again - has anyone else done this while pregnant or heard if it is safe?
MumsieMel
11-04-2006, 12:36 PM
Gosh some of you have just cracked me up!! LOL
But seriously i do think it is a combination of common sense and everythingin moderation. :thumbsup:
Thanks so much for all your help EVERYONE!!!!!! :hugs:
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.