View Full Version : Why do you use fitteds and covers?
I am sure this has been asked before but I am curious.
Fitted and covers seem a little more work that AIO or AI2 or pockets. I can only see myself using them for night time.
Do you use them in the day or only at night? Why does it suit you? Is it more work than AIOs, AI2s or pockets?
TIA
Fitteds are great for winter, cause they go under your woolies :yes:
but they are great for summer as well - we don't use covers on our fitteds much at all - we like to change when the nappies wet and fitteds allow us to do that easily.
If you have a super dooper heavy wetter you may find fitteds with covers work better for you, or little ones with pooexplosions, it's just a second barrier of containment.
No more work imo - I have AIO's, AI2's, fitteds and covers. the only thing I only have a couple of is pockets, and I won't buy more - I'm pocket challenged.:hair: lol!!!
I am sure this has been asked before but I am curious.
Fitted and covers seem a little more work that AIO or AI2 or pockets. I can only see myself using them for night time.
Do you use them in the day or only at night? Why does it suit you? Is it more work than AIOs, AI2s or pockets?
TIAI love them because I find they are generally more natural materials (bamboo, hemp, wool) rather than PUL. Plus they are just too cute :D
I have a few because I like variety...
MummaBear03
25-04-2008, 14:54
If you have a super dooper heavy wetter you may find fitteds with covers work better for you, or little ones with pooexplosions, it's just a second barrier of containment.
Yep great response :laughing:
We used fitteds and covers cos it worked better for us when Av was a bub. More protection I reckon. Also I love wool. I like the natural feel of fitteds.
As he tt I did use AIOs for the convenience as he was dry more during the day (still fitted and wool at night til he tt)
I found pockets the most work as I am too lazy to stuff and unstuff pockets though very easy once stuffed. (MIL loved that)
I like variety so have diff types for unborn bub but I think I will go for the fitteds and wool first.
GraceUnhearing
25-04-2008, 23:27
my son is HUGE wetter!!
i cant use anything BUT fitted and covers when out and about
he pees through everything else!
i prefer fitted for nights too. a wool cover over the top cant be beaten
i love fitteds the most out of all the nappies :)
new bub will be in mostly fitteds and covers too for the first few months :)
GraceUnhearing
25-04-2008, 23:28
As for more work
no not at all!!
i dont know why people dot 'do' fitted or use fitteds at all
I find fitteds with covers are more leak proof... esp with little ones who are fully breastfed :)
A little more work with wriggly toddlers, I agree, but I guess you just get used to it! I use fleece pants in winter so then I don't need a separate cover.
MrsScatterbrain
26-04-2008, 13:25
I use them for the breathability, and I love natural fibres.
There's a kind of romance to them, too - the same thing my Mum used for me, and so on ...
There is a bit more faffing around, especially if you use a liner, but I enjoy it! :o
Thanks chicks - lots of good stuff here. Can't wait for my fitteds to arrive now :smiliedance:
Sheer Bliss
26-04-2008, 17:26
Ditto, ditti, ditto - :laughing:
When Nick was newborn, he slept for 3-4hrs at a time, and was SOAKED by the time he woke, so fitteds provided that bit of extra protection, and being b/f the poos were rather runny, so if any escaped the nappy, it was usually contained inside the cover. Once you leak out of an AIO, then it's over the clothes or the floor. :barf:
Now he is older he pees more in the morning than the afternoon :D, so he will usually have a BBH or a bitti boo on in the morning, esp if we are going out, as it can often be longer between changes, and again, it gives extra security.
He is also getting a pair of wooly jeans from mimi couture soon, and they are soooo stunning. Using fitteds gives me the perfect excuse to buy them!
I also have HEAPS of itti's & magicalls (and a few greenkids) I love my AIO/AI2's, but fitteds have their place too!