View Full Version : 16 month old day sleep times?

sebmum
24-04-2008, 11:09

Just a quick one for all you mums out there with bubs around the same age as my 16 month old DD.

What time do they usually have their sleep and for how long?

My DD will generally go down at about 11am and sleep for 1 and a half to 2 hours....if I'm lucky!:sleeping:

The lady at my daycare centre is getting annoyed with my DD and she is always missing lunch as she's asleep. I sort of got a bit cranky :mad: when she mentioned this to me, as DD can't help when she gets tired. She's never been big on lunch anyway - usually has a big brekkie and dinner.

What do your DDs or DSs do?

ikis84
24-04-2008, 11:14
Same thing as your DD... I just give her a big morning tea and a big afternoon tea - almost like 2 mini lunches!

Noah_and_Elijah
24-04-2008, 11:22
It depends on whether we are out and about but 99% of the time Noah is down for his nap by 11am and will sleep anywhere from 2 to 3 hours.

He goes to bed with a bottle and will have a late lunch when he wakes from his sleep.

gizmoduckus
24-04-2008, 14:03
My DS usually goes to sleep at around 12 to 12:30pm and sleeps for 3 to 3 1/2 hours.

I usually give him his lunch first and then put him to bed.

StarMumma
24-04-2008, 14:14
My DS2 has just changed his sleep pattern.
Used to be 10am til 1130am when I would wake him for lunch and then back down around 230pm til 430pm (DS1 is nearly 3 and I like to put them down at the same time in the afternoon).

The last week he hasn't been sleeping in the afternoon, so I figure he has grown out of 2 sleeps.

So now I keep him up and give him lunch at 1130am and put them both to bed by 12pm. They usually get up between 2 and 3pm.

We do the usual afternoon/night time routine and DS2 is bed by 7pm and DS1 730 - 8pm.
They both sleep through til 8am.

Hope that helps :)

Cat13
24-04-2008, 14:49
If you and your DD aren't fussed about her missing 'lunchtime' I don't see why the daycare centre should!

My 15month DS had been going down at 11 and sleeping 2-3 hours. Just a late morning snack and milk and then a snack/late lunch when he wakes up.

Lately though he does not seem at all tired by 11 unless we've had a 5am start or very busy morning. Yesterday he 'slept in' until 7am and didn't have his nap until 2pm. I put him down at 12 but it took 2 hours to get him to sleep. I'd really like to encourage a sleep at 11/12ish though otherwise it means he naps past 3pm which throws out our 7pm bedtime routine.

LittleMissyMoo
24-04-2008, 15:37
DD is up at 6:30am

Has lunch then sleeps at 11:30am for two or two and a half hours.

Bed time at 6pm.

She grazes all morning and I give her a snack when she wakes up.

littlechomper
24-04-2008, 19:26
DD is 16 months also..

Gets up 7-8am, has a big brekkie..

Goes for a sleep around 10- 10.30am for about 1.5- 2 hours..

Gets up and pretty much grazes all arvo.. She just never seems to want anything for lunch...

Then calls out for another sleep around 2-30pm for about 1.5-2 hours.. Sometimes she goes for 3 hour.. Just depending how active we were..

Gets up. Normally has tea around 6-6.30, bath & bedtime at 7-8pm..

We've had this routine for months now.. I love it..

DD will always let you know when she's hungry.. Don't worry about what other people say...

mim1
24-04-2008, 19:48
Daycare needs to be more flexible. My 15mo ds is the same. If he has one daytime sleep (which is most days) it's from 11/11:30am for 2 - 3 hours. Yep, he misses traditional lunchtime and usually has lunch after his nap. He doesn't mind and neither do we!

MummaBear03
24-04-2008, 19:56
I'd be mad too!!! I had a little man today about your little one's age who fell asleep about 10:45 until 1. Rest time itself is from 12 to 2 but at that age, who cares. He was so tired, I just told the girls not to heat his lunch up yet as he's gone to sleep and can have it when he gets up. He woke up, nappy change, lunch and at the lot. Apparently he's not one to eat his lunch and today I kind of thought that maybe it's because he prefers it later, when he's had a sleep. He only ate half an apple for afternoon tea then, but that's ok, I'd rather he was happy and eating his lunch then be grumpy and not eating his lunch. They're just babies still, and while there needs to be some semblence of a routine, childcare workers are ultimately there to give the best possible care for the children. That includes ensuring they are happy and settled.

(sorry, but I've worked at the dodgiest centre on the planet this week and am just totally over the lack of care shown by the staff there and what you've said is something like what they would have done, when really instead of being angry with a baby for going to sleep they need to realise all children are different, some are tired earlier than others, some sleep heaps and some don't, some eat lots and some don't seem to need as much)

coogeemum
24-04-2008, 22:01
I agree that your daycare staff should be more flexible and certainly not make comments like that! My 17 month old has one sleep at around 11.30am, for an hour 20. I give him an early lunch and a late lunch. He never eats much at all in the morning, but has milk before his nap. He has arvo tea at 3.30 and dinner at 5.30. He's in bed by 7.15pm every night.

blissfullybonkers
24-04-2008, 22:18
my DD doesnt sleep well at day care but only goes 2 days a week, max she sleeps there is 50 min, tell ya what she goes to bed early on those days.
usually at home she wakes about 7-8 then has a big morning sleep about 2 hours, no set time for day sleeps just when she gets tired between 1030 and 1130 i spose, sometimes also an arvo sleep about an hour from 3 til 4 and goes to bed at 730-8.

Nooshie
24-04-2008, 22:26
My DD is nearly 18mths and she used to have a morning nap but now she goes to sleep about 1ish-2ish and sleeps maybe for 1 -1 1/2. She sleeps better through the night when she has an early afternoon nap.

As for the daycare lady what a *****! You cannot control when a baby/toddler is tired or hungry.

purtig
24-04-2008, 22:34
My DS is almost 16 months. He is up at 5/5.30am, has morning tea at 9.30am, lunch at 11.30am then goes down for his sleep around 12.15pm. He sleeps anywhere from 1-2.5 hours, but usually around 1.5 hours. Arvo tea at 3pm in front of playschool, dinner at 5pm, bed at 7pm. We are quite a routine based family but I like being organised and that is all part of it I guess.

Cordelia
24-04-2008, 22:38
my 16 month old wakes up at 7 and then is back in bed at 11-11:30 for 2-3 hours. That's what they do at this age - i realise that it would be nice for them to have all the babies in bed at the same time but it doewsn't work that way :/

MummaBear03
25-04-2008, 01:05
You cannot control when a baby/toddler is tired or hungry.
And that's what many of the workers need to realise too. It's hard though because in the centre I've been at this week they are all learning from one another and none of them know their job! Who cares if they have kids, their own kids are unkempt and run wild so you can imagine what kind of carers they make for other people's children :dizzy:

Half the reason I'm up at this time of night is because that place gave me nightmares :eek:

Children have to be looked as close as possible to the way their parents would like them to be looked after, within reason of course. If it affects the other children or is against policy then the parents need to be made aware of that and come to some other arrangement with the staff. But kids have different routines, particularly at that age, and their needs cannot go ignored just because the staff want to get other things done without dealing with the children. The children are the reason we even go to work! Well for me it is anyway, I'm not at all concerned with weekend events or the latest TV drama :rolleyes:

danik
25-04-2008, 15:23
DD wakes up between 7-7.30am, has lunch at 11am and then goes down for her sleep at 11.30 for an hour and half. This works for us and this is also her daycare routine.

kyiethree
25-04-2008, 22:16
my son is a little older almost three but usually he doesnt have a sleep during the day and if he does its on the rare occasion its about 3 and he sleeps till 5or 6 but lucky for me he stills goes to bed at 8

bma_one
25-04-2008, 23:38
My 16 month old wakes at 6am and is ready for his morning nap at 9am and sleeps til 10.30/11am and then goes back for his arvo sleep at 2pm until 3.30/4pm. He goes to sleep at night at 7pm.