View Full Version : Thinking of moving down south?
Kazamataz
22-04-2008, 21:10
Hi all now that I've quit my job, we are thinking of moving down south.
Busselton area and surrounds
We've been there a few times on holidays and absolutely love the area.
Was wondering if there is anyone in here who lives down that way and could answer a few questions for me?
*What medical facilities are there?
*Is there a hospital where you can birth your baby or is there a birthing center?
*What is crime like?
*Are there many families in the area or is it more of a place people go to retire?
* Are there many playgroups and such?
* Why do you live there?
Do you just love it or is it a work or family thing?
Thanks in advance :thumbsup:
goldilox24
23-04-2008, 01:34
I thought I'd post some info about about Albany in this thread so anyone else who's also interested can have a squiz!
There are heaps of families in Albany, varying from the young mum to the older mums, blended families and single parents, it shows with what Albany has to offer families. There are many things for families to do and many services available. We have HEAPS of fantastic parks around, beautiful beaches, many play groups and some really fantastic support groups.
We have a GREAT hospital here, which allows parents to be decide what they want during their birthing experience. I've had my 4 kids there and the staff have been fantastic. If you want or need any advice or help before, during or after the birth they are there 110%, at the same time, if you feel confident that you know what to do they wont be in your face telling you what to do or how to do it. Ultimately they really try and give you what you and your family want. If you want to leave hospital anytime after having the bub you can and a midwife will do home visits to do anything which is needed like the Guthrey, and taking obs. There is also a large selection of doctors (male and female) to choose from so the chances are you'll find one to suit you.
Albany has many of the services that larger cities have but it's also retained it's country town way of caring, which is one of the things I really like about it.
In the way of support "family house" is a one in a million. They set up groups for mum's of all ages. The staff there have helped me and a lot of other mums so much, there's a creche there for when you're doing a class so child care isn't another thing you have to worry about. Some of the classes they offer for 16 - 25 yr mums include (with a FREE creche) "parent play" (a time for mum/dad to be themselves instead of just mum or dad, time for you to have a cuppa or chat with other mums n dads without the liddle ones) budgeting skills and a play group so you can interact with a group of families. There are more classes aimed particularly at this group.. I'll get more details and post them.
There are many reasons why I live here, I grew up close to here, in Denmark but moved here shortly before I fell pregnant with my 1st. The ppl are friendly and really do care, there is a lot of support for families and in general it is a GREAT place to live.
What type of medical facilities are you looking for? Is there anything else in particular you would like to ask?
In the next few days I'll update what exactly family house can offer you, because they really do offer quite a bit depending on what you are looking for ;)
sugar n spice
23-04-2008, 10:46
i was going to tell you a bit but sounds like your looking at bussleton bunbury area. im in albany if your considering the area and would like to chat. i have been here9 yrs.
i agree the hospital here is GREAT.
Kazamataz
23-04-2008, 11:11
Thanks guys, I guess I when I said medial facilities. I wanted to know if there was a good hospital and good doctors/medical centers for the general health issues we all have.
The thing that worries me about Albany is the fact that you have a jail.
In general most country town with a jail are very rough and unsafe towns.
With fairly big crime rates.
Whats the crime rate like in Albany?
goldilox24
23-04-2008, 11:23
Honestly there's not that much crime, Out my way (bayonethead) there's practically no crime. Some suburbs like Lockyer have some issues but in general I feel safe here. You don't have to worry about what may happen unlike unlike alot of other cities.
sugar n spice
24-04-2008, 11:04
wow thats sterotyping. albany is very safe and very little crime. the prison is further out
Kazamataz
25-04-2008, 10:43
wow thats sterotyping. albany is very safe and very little crime. the prison is further out
Its not sterotyping at all, if you look at the facts in general towns with Jails have higher rates of crime then towns that don't.
Hence why people are so reluctant to have new jails be built in their towns.
goldilox24
25-04-2008, 11:22
:iagree: I totally understand your concerns if, i didn't know Albany as well as I do I'd be worried too. And crime rate is a question I'd ask before moving ANYWHERE!
While it's true Albany has the Max security prison 4 the south of WA, it also has a pretty low crime rate when you look at other towns our size. Every week in our local paper there's a small article about crime watch etc, if you'd like to get a proper idea of what happens here I can send up a few articles. PM me if you'd like some :D It'd be easier to decide if your information comes from facts instead of opinions.
Kazamataz
25-04-2008, 11:53
:iagree: I totally understand your concerns if, i didn't know Albany as well as I do I'd be worried too. And crime rate is a question I'd ask before moving ANYWHERE!
While it's true Albany has the Max security prison 4 the south of WA, it also has a pretty low crime rate when you look at other towns our size. Every week in our local paper there's a small article about crime watch etc, if you'd like to get a proper idea of what happens here I can send up a few articles. PM me if you'd like some :D It'd be easier to decide if your information comes from facts instead of opinions.
Thats good to hear and yes it is better to have the facts then the opinions :)
Thanks heaps Goldilox24
goldilox24
25-04-2008, 12:51
No worries ;)