View Full Version : Q: papsmears and ob-gyn's

Kaileysmum
05-04-2006, 11:28

I have a couple of things here to ask, so here it is:

Has anyone not had a pap smear (I have never had one)?

Do you get one from your GP or gyn?

I got told after you have a baby you should go to your ob-gyn once a year to have a cheak, does anyone do this?

Do you prefer women or male dr's and why?
(my gp whoo is female has left need to get a new dr)

Im so scared about having a pap smear, because its such a personal area, my DH finds this weird as Ive had a baby. Does anyone still find it scary after bub???

All advice/comments would be wonderful. Thanks

drewid
05-04-2006, 11:33
Hi there :)

I hadn't had a pap smear until I went to my ob/gyn when I was 12 weeks pregnant. He couldn't do it then, so I had to have it at my 6 week post-birth check up.

I haven't had another one since then, and I should have this month :eek:

I have no concern over male or female doctors, my ob/gyn was male and it didn't bother me one iota. If I think about it, I think I'd be more uncomfortable with a woman, but not entirely sure why.

Don't be scared - it doesn't hurt, its over really quickly. My ob/gyn tried to distract me by telling him a horror story that he'd heard from one of his mates (won't share that story!!!) and it sure did distract me!!

misskittyfantastico
05-04-2006, 11:35
I have a pap smear every two years. I worked in a Drs sugery and this is what is recommended, unless of couse you are in a higher risk category.

Your GP, Womens health centre, ObGyn can all give you a pap smear.

It doesn't hurt, is over really quickly, it's just like smeone checking your cervix. There is absolutely no need to be scared or embarrassed...these people are medical professionals and look at people's bits all the time:D

Chickadee
05-04-2006, 11:36
- Has anyone not had a pap smear (I have never had one)?
Have been having paps since I was a teen. I strongly strongly recommend you start getting them regularly, the Australian recommendation is every 2 years. I have has two episodes of CIN3 which is pre-cancerous cells on the cervix - if I hadn't been having regular pap smears they may well have progressed to cervical cancer and I wouldn't be here today. The first episode of CIN3 was when I was only 20.

- Do you get one from your GP or gyn?
Either. If you're not comfortable with your GP then go to your gyn, or to a womens health clinic.

- I got told after you have a baby you should go to your ob-gyn once a year to have a cheak, does anyone do this?
Australian recommendation is every 2 years. I get every year only because of my CIN3 history.

- Do you prefer women or male dr's and why?
Female tend to be gentler.

- Does anyone still find it scary after bub???
Can't help you on that one. Since having a microscope sighted up me not to mention several treatments, there's not much I find uncomfortable about the process. But to a GP or gyno it's just another procedure and they're not even really looking at you.

melfunction
05-04-2006, 11:46

Have had them every six months since I was 16.

GP

I got told after you have a baby you should go to your ob-gyn once a year to have a cheak, does anyone do this?

Didn't hear this one, but don't think it would hurt to.

(my gp whoo is female has left need to get a new dr)

Have no problem with either, but have found women not to be as rough.

Im so scared about having a pap smear, because its such a personal area, my DH finds this weird as Ive had a baby. Does anyone still find it scary after bub???

This may sound harsh, and I make no apologies for it. Would you rather have 5-10 mins of being uncomfortable or die an extremely painful death due to cervical cancer and leave your child without a mother?

Edited to add: I have seen this disease first hand. It isn't pretty.

bootylicious
05-04-2006, 12:07
I had my first one at my 6 week check up after first bub and i just had another done about 4 weeks ago.

My ob did them both

I was told to get it done every 2 years unless you have an abnormal result and then you should get them done more regularly

Definitely male ... female doctors make me uncomfortable:confused:

I anticipate it to be painful every time (lol all of the two times i've had it) ... but it is just a little uncomfortable

Briannabear
05-04-2006, 12:41
Ive always got mine done with my GP.
Not worth mucking around with -definately get it done soon.
I personally find either male or female is fine. Honestly, they see so many you know whats in their day its just another one to them!! (seen one seen them all!);)

Kaileysmum
05-04-2006, 14:48

This may sound harsh, and I make no apologies for it. Would you rather have 5-10 mins of being uncomfortable or die an extremely painful death due to cervical cancer and leave your child without a mother?

Edited to add: I have seen this disease first hand. It isn't pretty.

It not harsh, I understand what you are saying. I have also seen the disease first hand too, and Im one of those children who got left with no mother as she died of cancer.

I will be getting one done soon, thats why I started the thread to get more info. They do say to have they every 2 years after sexually active so, when I was due to have one I was pregnant. Then my Gp said after birth to wait until she is 6 mths.

nicoleE
05-04-2006, 15:01
i have had one every 2 years since i was about 16 (am nearly 28 now).

i really dreaded them at first but they dont really bother me now. it is all over so quickly. I go to a GP for mine, but a different one than i normally see for the general cold and complaint type stuff. Dont know why, just do.

Seriusly they dont think anything of it, they do it all the time. There is nothing to be ashamed about at all. we are all the same afterall! For the record I do see a female.

I have not had a baby but figured after all that prodding, poking and everyone seeing your bits that a pap smear would be a sinch! lol

Funny, just last Saturday night we were out for tea with the neighbours (which we are friends with but not boosom buddies or anything) and we got on the topic of our local Drs and she happened to casually mention that she is seeing a particular one on Friday for a smear test... it was so casual, like it was an every day thing... but that is how it should be, we shouldnt be embarrassed.

For your own health i would suggest to put your fears asside for just 5 minutes every 2 years and have the tests... i would say after speaking to some women who have cervical cancer and the families of those who lost their mothers, that they would definately recommend it. DOnt keep thinking 'it wont happen to me' as it unfortunately happens to some of us and you never know... :hugs:

Kaileysmum
06-04-2006, 14:19
Hey thanks for the replys.

I will be going to get one when dp has holidays next month, just have to find a new GP, as mine has left Tassie:thumbsdown: .

Ana Gram
06-04-2006, 14:33
I know I am going to get all of you lecturing me about this but I have never had one and I most likely won't. The very thought of it makes my skin crawl.

Chickadee
06-04-2006, 14:40
Chelle, I won't lecture you cause it won't do any good. But I think you're taking a huge risk with your life :( Those stakes are too high for me to gamble with.

06-04-2006, 14:41
its not as bad as you'd think, me and my friends freaked out for a while about them, but its so quick. its worth getting one. my brothers girlfriend is 19 and put hers off for a while, then finally did it and she found out there were abnormal cells, had to get them "fixed".

ElizaDee
06-04-2006, 15:25
Ok I hate them, I have found male dr's are actually gentler than the females. I had a female dr (for my first one ever) and she just shoved it in and it hurt! Told me to shut up and get used to it... don't think she liked sex either :eek:

I was told that when you become sexually active you should have one every 2yrs.

I had gone a while and not had one done for about 3 1/2 yrs and my OB picked up on this, I am currently 18 weeks pg and he just did one on me, so why did you have to wait???? :confused:

kacey
06-04-2006, 15:41
You're not alone Chellegoth, never had one, probably never will. Get asked by my gp every year, and we talk about it at length. He understands my reasons, and that's that. I said I'll reconsider after having a baby, and I will think about it, but I can't say giving birth will change my reasons.

Puk
06-04-2006, 16:02
I'm a little confused about why you wouldn't have one. Is it the discomfort and embarrassment? Because personally i think it would be much more embarrassing and uncomfortable to have to show someone how much wee you can do before they shove a drip in your arm and pour poison into your bloodstream!

My mum had cervical cancer and although she is now in remission she will never be the same again. The radiotherapy fried her bowels, among other things, and she's in constant pain and may end up with a colostomy bag! I'd much rather do a pap smear every 2 years than go through that thank you very much.

I prefer a male doctor, i don't really know why. I don't find them painful or necessarily all that uncomfortable, it's over in a matter of minutes and you're done for another 2 years.

I can't help with the other questions as i've never had a child.

melfunction
06-04-2006, 16:05
I know I am going to get all of you lecturing me about this but I have never had one and I most likely won't. The very thought of it makes my skin crawl.

Do it for your child.

06-04-2006, 16:31
:yelclap: :yelclap: Puk and KM!!! :yelclap: :yelclap:

KiLLaKaZ
08-04-2006, 04:32
i'm also in the category of 'too scared/ embarrassed, haven't had one'!! i'm EXTREMELY shy & am more scared of doctors/ miudwives seeing me "down there" when in labour than of the actual labour pains, etc!! also, i haven't been able to ASK for one... i don't have a gp & it's hard to get into ANY around here (no one's taking on new patients!!!) but, not just that, i'm too shy to actually ASK for one... :o

i think maybe after giving birth that problem *may* be solved, if not i'll force myself into it... after all, i may never see that doctor EVER again (or at least not for another 2 years)... ;)

veve
08-04-2006, 06:21
oh I hate them oh I hate them oh I hate them oh I hate them

I agrre though... they ARE necessary - I would much rather find no cancer ever... but if it is there - I would rather find it early (one lady on a hospital tv show (reality) had to have her uterus... vagina.. and colon (sp?) removed- that kinda stuff freaks me out ... so taking a few cells every few years I guess is really easy :rolleyes:)

oh pukky :hugs: I'm sorry about your mum... and I'm sorry you have had to watch her go through it :( no one likes to have a sick mummy..... :hugs:

melfunction
08-04-2006, 07:01
If you had all walked in my shoes, you wouldn't hesitate to get one.

Maghan
08-04-2006, 11:10
Just imagine the embarrassment of having radium sticks placed in your vagina to try and combat the disease once it had eaten through your bladder and moved to your kidneys.

Just imagine the embarrassment of losing bowel control in public from the radium/drugs.

Just imagine saying goodbye to your children knowing that you could've lived to see their children. The guilt would consume you in your last days on earth.

Imagine all these things whilst you have a couple of minutes of embarrassment.

Like others have said, don't be selfish, do it for your babies!

I hope I have offended some of you, I wish someone had offended my mum and aunty, then I wouldn't be posting here.

GloomCookie
08-04-2006, 12:39
I've never had one, and I know I should, but I have issues with anyone seeing me naked/"down there", including my fiance. Don't try and scare me into it, I've already read the thread and you don't need to keep repeating yourselves. I'm sorry for everyone who has had to cope with cancer either directly or indirectly, but you don't need to try your scare tactics on me.

Anyway, I have a question. You've all said that it takes about 5/10 mins, but no one has said what actually goes on. What is the procedure? Does any of it hurt, or does that depend on the gentleness of the person doing it?

Try giving us information instead of scaring everyone into having one, maybe that's a better way to go about it? I'd definately feel more comfortable about having one if I knew what to expect. Everyone already knows the reason why you're supposed to have one, but not many people know what goes on unless you have had one.

08-04-2006, 12:59
its pretty simple really, they have this rod sort of thing that they put inside your vagina, to keep it "open" while they get this swap thing similar to a cotton bud, and rub it on your cervix, and thats it, mine took less than 5 mins, its not uncomfortable, and as for embarrasment, these people do this all the time, theres nothing to be ashamed of, its called looking after yourself. the doc spent more time looking at my vagina, stiching me up after birth, than they did with a pap smear:D

sopolicha
08-04-2006, 13:02
This is the link to the Australian Government website about cervical screening. It pretty much tells you everything.

Pap Smear (http://www.cervicalscreen.health.gov.au/papsmear/index.html)

I find it hard to believe that in this day and age and with all the knowledge so readily available to us that some people have never had one. Yes, it is uncomfortable and embarrassing, get over it, having a Pap Smear could save your life.

I don't think anyone was repeating themselves they were simply telling their stories. Scary and tragic ones at that. Doesn't the fact that several people have gotten on here and told you similar stories tell you something? It is not uncommon. If changes in your cervical cells are detected early enough you have a much better chance of survival.

GloomCookie
08-04-2006, 13:13
Honestly it's got nothing to do with them looking at it all day, every day, it's me. I hate my body so I much prefer to be covered up. It's something I've been struggling with for as long as I can remember. Absolutely nothing to do with them looking at me.

But thanks for your answer. It doesn't sound all that bad, I just have to conquer my own fear before getting one. :)

08-04-2006, 13:18
i think almost everyone is uncomfortable with their body, i know i am;)
i still havent had a pedicure cause i think my feet are weird:eek:

Ana Gram
08-04-2006, 13:21
It's interesting that people are talking like they have been personally insulted because some of us don't have pap smears. There is really no point trying to scare us or guilt us, it's not going to work.

KM said that if we had all walked in her shoes, we would have it done. Well if you could all walk in my shoes, you would understand why I don't.

jazajess
08-04-2006, 13:22
ok i just wanted to know my little boy is 9 and a half months old and i got a pap smear done at my 6 week check up and i was told that everything was fine and to go back 4 another 1 in 2 years time......
is that right??

08-04-2006, 13:27
yeah its generally every 2 years:thumbsup:

08-04-2006, 13:42
It's interesting that people are talking like they have been personally insulted because some of us don't have pap smears. There is really no point trying to scare us or guilt us, it's not going to work.

i dont think people are insulted, just worried about you. ;)

sopolicha
08-04-2006, 13:43

KM said that if we had all walked in her shoes, we would have it done. Well if you could all walk in my shoes, you would understand why I don't.

I am not at all insulted. Your body, your issues, you deal with them the best way can, like all of us.

I just can't believe why anyone wouldn't want to do something that may prevent themselves from developing cancer or dying. I don't think anyone was laying a guilt trip on you, they were just sharing their stories with you, how you react to them is up to you.

They are scary because they are true. I know the last thing I would like my daughters do in their late teenage years is to watch me dying from a disease which is pretty treatable if caught early enough.

Maghan
08-04-2006, 13:55
I am not at all insulted. Your body, your issues, you deal with them the best way can, like all of us.

I just can't believe why anyone wouldn't want to do something that may prevent themselves from developing cancer or dying. I don't think anyone was laying a guilt trip on you, they were just sharing their stories with you, how you react to them is up to you.

They are scary because they are true. I know the last thing I would like my daughters do in their late teenage years is to watch me dying from a disease which is pretty treatable if caught early enough.

Thanks for saying that so well Sopolicha. I just thought you may all want to hear it from my point of view. The views of you whom have not had one sound very much like my mum (no guilt, just a fact).

Puk
08-04-2006, 14:15
oh pukky :hugs: I'm sorry about your mum... and I'm sorry you have had to watch her go through it :( no one likes to have a sick mummy..... :hugs:

Thank you so much Veve, it was a horrible experience for everyone involved. We almost lost her and now she has a daily battle with pain and other side effects.

Maghan, you literally have me in tears with your post. Just remembering everything my mum went through. The pain, the illness, the mortification and the fact that i had to watch it all. Even down to the lack of bowel control in public, that's something that may never improve for her.

Chellegoth, i understand what you're saying about having your reasons but in my opinion no reason is good enough. I, myself, have had certain things happen that make me never want to be in such a vulnerable position but it is a neccessary evil! I would hate to think that your daughter will one day have to go through what i've been through in the last 2 years!

Ana Gram
08-04-2006, 14:55
On the flip side Puk, you haven't been through what I have been through and your body doesn't feel the same thing as mine. I do understand what you are saying, I have watched several peopel close to me go through various types of cancer, some with good result some are now dead. But unfortunately my issues are bigger than all of that and tht is something that is unlikely to change.

Scout
08-04-2006, 18:39
My last one was with a male GP and he had me lying on my side - which was just fantastic and discomfort free particularly after having them on my back for so many years.

Personally, I would prefer to have a male do it - probably not a young male GP though, there has to be rapport and trust there like there is with my current GP. The women I have had do it have been horrible.

I had to have a colposcopy many years ago with a really old male gyno, he had me in a chair and stirrups and I saw what was going to go into me and I could also see what was happening as it was all there for me to watch on a television screen :eek:. I passed out and this old guy told me off for not being comfortable with my body. An horrible experience!

Maghan
08-04-2006, 19:01
My last one was with a male GP and he had me lying on my side - which was just fantastic and discomfort free particularly after having them on my back for so many years.

I'm having trouble visualising how it would be done on your side and where that spare leg would go. Can you explain further??

08-04-2006, 19:17
My last one was great, the doc warmed up the instruments for me and I didn't feel a thing. :D

misskittyfantastico
08-04-2006, 19:20
I'm lucky, I guess, I've never had a bad experience:thumbsup:

Funkychicken
08-04-2006, 19:26
- Has anyone not had a pap smear (I have never had one)?
Have been having paps since I was a teen. I strongly strongly recommend you start getting them regularly, the Australian recommendation is every 2 years. I have has two episodes of CIN3 which is pre-cancerous cells on the cervix - if I hadn't been having regular pap smears they may well have progressed to cervical cancer and I wouldn't be here today. The first episode of CIN3 was when I was only 20.

- Do you get one from your GP or gyn?
Either. If you're not comfortable with your GP then go to your gyn, or to a womens health clinic.

- I got told after you have a baby you should go to your ob-gyn once a year to have a cheak, does anyone do this?
Australian recommendation is every 2 years. I get every year only because of my CIN3 history.

- Do you prefer women or male dr's and why?
Female tend to be gentler.

- Does anyone still find it scary after bub???
Can't help you on that one. Since having a microscope sighted up me not to mention several treatments, there's not much I find uncomfortable about the process. But to a GP or gyno it's just another procedure and they're not even really looking at you.
Definately agree here. I was 21 when I had the same condition. I, too wouldn't be here if I hadn't been having regular tests.

Tea Lady
08-04-2006, 20:04
I was pretty nervous before my 1st one, but I took DH and that helped!! It really wasn't too bad at all - a bit uncomfortable like period pain but really quick, and it's good to know all is ok (one less thing to worry about ;) ).

I just wanted to say I can sympathise with you ladies who reeeeeeeallly don't want to get them done - i have other things I really don't want to ever do that other people don't think anything of. It is pretty wierd having someone poking around down there but it's all over so fast and they give you a little towel thing to cover yourself with (it doesn't really cover anything, but it makes you feel bettter - don't ask me why :confused:). If you can psych yourself up to go please do - maybe you could go to a new doctor you've never seen before (and never will again :laughing: ) and / or take someone with you like I did.

If it makes you feel any better I have a Ob/Gynae friend who looks at people's bits all day and she still hates having pap smears. :)

Beany
08-04-2006, 20:21
I didn't see my OB until I was 18 weeks pregnant (very busy man). He took my medical history and asked when my last pap smear had been. I told him I hadn't had one and his head snapped up. He told me that that simply wouldn't do and that we must organise one.

Anyway, he continued on with the various questions and then started the various physical examinations: the routine breast examinations, measuring the fundus height, listening the to baby's heartbeat and so forth and then all of a sudden, without any warning, he did the pap smear.

"Bit of a shock" is an understatement. I yelped ... literally yelped, like I was some sort of Jack Russell terrier. His response to that shock and dismay was "yes, this will make your toes curl a bit".

In retrospect, I think it was a blessing that he didn't warn me that he would be doing the test there and then. If he had told me to relax, my immediate response would have been to tense up and thus made the thing more painful. It was pretty uncomfortable but not as traumatic as I thought it would be.

Given a choice (!) I would probably have said that I'd be more comfortable with a female doctor. Having had it done, it honestly didn't matter ... except I suppose the profanities I was listing in my head would have been slightly different, though equally vulgar.

Mister Noodle
09-04-2006, 00:26
I'm having trouble visualising how it would be done on your side and where that spare leg would go. Can you explain further??

In a word: spoons.

KiLLaKaZ
09-04-2006, 05:57
i was actually surprised coz when i answered that i'd never had a pap smear, they said "oh, that's alright" - like it was no biggie!! :eek: i was actually expecting to get told off/ lectured!!!

09-04-2006, 06:16
my first was kind of a spur of the moment dissision, i was getting the whole range of tests done, she asked if i wanted a pap smear and i just said ok, my second was at my 6 week check up, oh and im due for one this year:D

just been thinking, i didnt find it uncomfortable or embarressing? am i a *****:eek: :p

SammyD
09-04-2006, 06:56
I don't find it particularly embarrassing either. My last pap smear was in November...I went to see a female GP who I don't normally see, it literally took 15 seconds and I couldn't even feel it. Much better these days now that they use disposable plastic speculums (that's the duck-bill thingy that they insert so they can see your cervix) - those old metal ones were cold! And female GPs do pap smears every day of the week - they can do it in their sleep (god I hope they don't dream about them!).

For those of you with body issues or who have had some traumatic incident in the past which is a barrier for you...I can't begin to imagine how difficult it would be for you to get the courage to make that appointment. All I can say is making the decision to do it is very positive for your health, maybe taking along your partner or a good friend would be helpful?

Ana Gram
09-04-2006, 09:50
Going to give a bit of TMI right now but for me it is probably a carry over from me being raped. Plus with the internal examins whilst pregnant they could never finish or complete them because it is so much pain for me that I scream and I tear, so that kind of adds to the trauma of it now, I end up having panic attacks just thinking about it. Even sex tears and hurts me.

10-04-2006, 07:12
well its understandable why you havent had one chelle, i honestly dont know what to write now, so:hugs:

Kaileysmum
10-04-2006, 10:22
I can see why you havent had one chellegoth, Im sorry for what happened to you. See sometimes when people say they cant do something because of personal reasons, they mean it, its not just because they are scared. Its a personal choice, and people shouldnt pressure people into things, especially by using "the leaving your behind", as cancer and death is a touchy subject, my Mum died of cancer 2 years ago, and I dont think that I want to try and make people feel pressured by using that as a example. I was her main carer (at 20years old)and I saw all sides of it, it isnt a good thing, and I wouldnt wish it on anyone!!! I havent had a papsmear yet but Im going to, I think people have to do things in their own time!!! I started the thread so I could get some information, not so people could tell others that they are bad because they havent had one.

Anyways so this is so long. Lets let everyone make the decision to have a pap smear in their own time.:kiss:

Puk
10-04-2006, 13:39
I can see why you havent had one chellegoth, Im sorry for what happened to you. See sometimes when people say they cant do something because of personal reasons, they mean it, its not just because they are scared.

I had no doubt in my mind that Chelle had personal reasons for not doing and i pretty much guessed as to what she was alluding to. My personal stance on it, however, is that no excuse is a good enough excuse. A lot of us have had some kind of sexual abuse and a lot of us have personal body issues, i just can't see how people can't do it for their children, if nothing else!

Lilac
10-04-2006, 14:41
Each to their own. Somebody NEVER having a pap isnt going to effect MY body, MY health and MY future.
Leave it at that!
Lilac.

Mister Noodle
10-04-2006, 16:27
True, though that line of argument can easily be taken places you don't want it to go.

Ferinstance, if someone were abusing their child (no, I'm not saying anyone here is, this is just illustrating a point), it wouldn't affect me, you, or anyone but the parent and child alone. Should we refrain from judging them and 'leave it at that', or is that principle as stated just too crude to be useful?

My take on the situation is that we all must judge, all the time - but that we're all completely free to ignore the judgements of others.

It's my personal opinion that parents do have a duty of care towards their children, which entails taking all reasonable steps to ensure that they can fulfil that duty in the future, instead of just dying. I think it's incumbent on us all to seriously look to our own health, for our life belongs to more than just ourselves.

However, just try and take my nice hot greasy salty chips away from me for the sake of my cholesterol, and you won't live long enough to regret it.

On the other hand, you're more than welcome to thinking the worst of me for indulging, and to say so - I'd expect nothing less of anyone. I don't care if I'm king of the world and save cute furry animals from horrible deaths, it's your ethical duty not to set aside your judgement or criticism. I might tell you whwhere you could your opinion, if you expect me to act on it against my judgement, but I still expect to hear it.

And I think all the above applies in this case.

Chelle, it's entirely down to you. Though I reckon you owe it to your kids not to die on them, there's a hundred things we *could* all be doing to this end, and most of us don't - for the sake of far less pain, fear and trauma than is involved here. All in all, your choice is pretty reasonable.

FWIW, though - vaginismus (which you seem to be describing) is eminently treatable. If you haven't checekd out the options, you could doubtless benefit greatly. Whether you have or want to, however, is none of anyone's business - just a friendly thought.

Puk
10-04-2006, 17:43
I'm not judging anybody, i simply don't understand.

Chelle, i feel for you, i really do and i didn't mean to judge you for a second. I stated my view, i'm going to leave it at that.

Puk
10-04-2006, 19:06
Stop putting words in my mouth, i never said that nor do i think it. I simply do not understand. I have seen the effects of cervical cancer and i just don't get it, that's all. I also feel the same way about smoking.
I already said i didn't mean to judge Chelle and i don't judge you either. I apologise for making you feel this way. Now, this isn't helping the original poster so i will not be back to this thread.
I apologise for any offence taken, all i was saying was that i didn't understand. Certainly not that you are currently damaging your child.

Hannahsmumma
10-04-2006, 19:40
Just to add my little bit....
I really thought a papsmear was the the same for everyone. I mean... that the doctor (no matter which doctor you see) does the exact same thing.
I can't understand why some of the people on here that talk about having papsmears have felt pain or uncomfortable. And I don't mean uncomfortable as in having someone touching you or that close to you.
I have had 4 papsmears all together with my last one being 2 weeks ago and I have never felt pain or ANYTHING. I don't even feel them in there. All I feel is the initial thing going in that holds you open. I know the swipe your cervix and take some cells but I have neve actually felt this being done. Am I abnormal??? Or is just different for everybody? Although not one of my family members or friends have felt pain or discomfort either.
Are there just rougher doctors maybe??

Beany
10-04-2006, 22:32
It's not roughness on the part of the doctor, per se.

Some women, myself included, have trouble relaxing the vaginal muscles due to fear/tension/past trauma. It is this lack of relaxation causes the pain.

Tisme
10-04-2006, 23:24
Anyway, he continued on with the various questions and then started the various physical examinations: the routine breast examinations, measuring the fundus height, listening the to baby's heartbeat and so forth and then all of a sudden, without any warning, he did the pap smear.

I didn't get my breasts checked ......... NO FAIR ......... I want a titty exam .......LOL
Sorry Baby brain still hanging in there (although I gotta find a new excuse ... he is 2 months old ....!)

I had my first pap after my son was born ..... and I must admit had it not been that I felt pressured into getting it done, I would be in the group saying "Hell no, we won't go ... down there!!!" I was scared witless, and hated seeing myself, and was above all REALLY did not believe that it wouldn't hurt .... no matter who told me otherwise.

I have been lucky I have known only 2 people who had cancer. 1 died within 6 weeks of being diagnosed (and my mum was with her for diagnosis) and the other locked himself away from me cos he didn't want his "princess" to see him dying as I was too young to remember him like that. So I unfortunately am one of those select few that has no personal experiences and so can almost kid myself into believing "it won't happen to me".

But now I have had a second one done and figure that I may as well keep going back ... hell I'm not letting my partner anywhere near there (I get pregnant TOOOOO easily) and so someone may as well ...... LOL

(Sorry, gotta lighten the mood a little .... no offence intended)

Beany
10-04-2006, 23:46
I didn't get my breasts checked ......... NO FAIR ......... I want a titty exam .......LOL

Believe me, with the 18-weeks-pregnant soreness, the ... um ... titillation was minimal.

Besides, he looked like the mayor from The Vicar of Dibley.

rynosmum
11-04-2006, 00:19
Wow, so much has been covered in this thread.

I find p/s tests intrusive, uncomfortable and sometimes painful - perhaps my own fault as and I dread having them (less so since having bubs) but I'm a firm believer that prevention is better than cure.

I've had 2 friends over the years have surgery for cervical cancer (ages 32 and 21)and my MIL had a full hysterectomy 2 years ago because of it.

I try to put a positive spin on it - I'd rather have one done than run around Suncorp Stadium in the nudie at a Broncos game. See, given that option, a P/S test is easy !:laughing:

Chickadee
11-04-2006, 22:17
All I feel is the initial thing going in that holds you open. I know the swipe your cervix and take some cells but I have neve actually felt this being done. Am I abnormal??? Or is just different for everybody? Although not one of my family members or friends have felt pain or discomfort either.
Are there just rougher doctors maybe??
Yep, basically there are rougher doctors. Let me try to count pap smears & colposcopys... somewhere between 20 and 30 I guess. I have never felt the actual swab of the cervix. Some doctors are better than others at getting the speculum in than others, so that can be uncomfortable to painful. But it doesn't need to be - I've had plenty that weren't. And I know it is not any tenseness on my part which is making it hurt cause I'm truly over any anxiety about the procedure.

imwatto
18-04-2006, 10:04
I find it amazing as women we put our own health on the back seat but if our kids sneeze we rush them to the doctors.

If you find a doctor who you feel comfortable talking to, then let that be your guide to getting the pap smear.

While you are there perhaps you should request a general bill of health: blood pressure etc.

Happy days:yelclap:

Mybaby
19-04-2006, 21:53
I agree with imwatto if you find a doctor who you feel comfortable with then it makes the whole situation not so horrible.I've had 3 pap smears and each time I've have one I start to talk to my doctor about what i've been doing lately and it's not so uncomfortable on both of us and it's very quick.

I think of it this way I have a child and I have a responabilities to look after myself so that I'll be around to take care of him so I get them done when i have to.