View Full Version : sleeping through but sopping wet!
*My Lil Blondie*
05-04-2006, 09:58
hi my DS is an excellent bubba who will sleep from 9pm till 8am without stirring at all. my problem is when he does wake up in the morning his nappy is full and his pyjamas are sopping wet! should i be waking him during the night for a nappy change? he is 7 weeks old and a nappy change is the best way to wake him up! so because of this im worried he will want to stay awake at 3am or whenever i change him. we use huggies disposible nappies and he never soaks through during the day so i know it isnt the nappies.
any ideas?
oh i know what you mean,, ds1s nappy is sopping wet in the morning too...
i was thinking of getting some sort of pads/liners for his nappy .. maybe that would work :)
NOOOOOOO - dont wake him! If he is sleeping through, let him sleep!
As for the nappy - try a bigger size ... just one size up usually does the trick for us
JoshienEmmiesmummy
05-04-2006, 10:56
BOYS! lol DS used to wet through a lot too, even with HUggies. If you cant put up with him being wet when he wakes and its not disturbing him, just leave it be. DS grew out of it after a while..
CrazyBeautiful
05-04-2006, 14:30
Huggies are the best for sleeping through. Maybe use pilchers also, they help take the extra weewee.
alexandra
11-04-2006, 17:37
if he's sleeping through the night don't wake him. You're very lucky I can't get mine to sleep and they're nearly the same age. Besides the girls here say he'll grow out of wetting right through.
:sleeping:
Hi have had the same prob with Ds who is now 6 months.
If you are using disposables go up to the next size. I found that this worked with DS. For example if he is in the newborn go up to the infant size nappy, they are suppose to hold more. I also found that putting pilchers on helps too.
If you are using cloth, try double nappies, yes two nappies on him, and a pilcher.
Hope this has helped
Belinda
Femme-Fetale
16-04-2006, 14:36
If he wakes at all for any feeds, on any occasion, change him half way throu the feed. Liners are a good thing too, even in disposables. I dont like pilchers personally, ive found they make things sweat too much when on for such long times and help nappy rash along - each to their own, some ppl dont have issues!!
If he isnt waking at all, let him sleep throu, its obviosly not bothering him, just invest in some good matress protectors. I use just a black garbo bag as a liner - its safe if u can do it right! Huggies are the best despo's for nites too i think.
Femme-Fetale
16-04-2006, 14:41
Oh forgot to say too, i would be a bit weary of going up to the next size nappy unless he is at the higher end of the size he is currently in. I say this becoz my old g/f did this and instead of hapving just a soppy nappy, it missed half of it and slid out thro the leg gaps.
If others havent had a issue and your keen, by all means try it. Id just be a bit weary as to how much ur son weighs now (and according nappy to his weight) as to the next size up, u dont wanna jump to much. :ecomcity: on and on i go again
aardvark
16-04-2006, 14:55
What about putting an Eenee nappy pad inside the nappy for extra absorbancy?
17-04-2006, 15:49
I noticed last week when i was shopping, that Bebes? put a range of disposable liners out....I have never seen them before, so i'm gathering that they're new. They were about $3.70 or something for 20 liners i think. They're just like a great big maternity pad (but heaps cheaper!), and they stick on to the inside of the nappy. I've been using them with Charlee (with Woolies Select nappies), as she started filling them when sleeping through, and i haven't had a problem with them. They were from Coles, but elsewhere might stock them too? Hope this helps! :thumbsup:
cjb/jbvd
27-04-2006, 15:51
this might sound wierd, but have you tried using ladies panty liners? i found that when my DS was first home, he would sleep four-five hours at a time and manage to fill a nappy. so one day out of sheer frustration i put one my panty liners in his nappy and it worked a treat. even he cheaper ones work really well, but i've found the ultra thin super absorbant ones work best. if you only use them for the night sleep, it works out pretty cheap as you can usually get about 20 for 4-5 dollars. just wish i had the same problem now...... arrgghhhhhhhhhh getting him to sleep is the hradest thing in the world.....