View Full Version : Centerlink payments
04-04-2006, 20:05
Hey guys. Was just wondering what everyone that is on parenting payments thought about how much they were getting for caring for their children & the house? too much? too less? Would love to hear what everyone thinks!
04-04-2006, 20:08
I personally do not think it is enough!;)
yep of course im going to have to agree :thumbsup:
InSaneOne
04-04-2006, 20:32
the threshold for partners income needs to be higher. my partner earns just over the $1140 cutoff each fortnight and we only get the family tax benefit. because he earns too much i can't get any of the parenting payment. how can the government expect anyone to live on $1200 a fortnight when rent and food and fuel, etc prices keep going up and up and up.
if the stupid officials come down from their $100000 yearly incomes and back to what most of us call reality they would understand and might be a little more thoughtfull when putting a limit on these things.
sorry they all make me mad :mad:
I'm sorry but Belinda (billiebeth) I think they are talking about the single parent pension (as it used to be called, but now is called parenting payment) and I am pretty sure that you aren't entitled to it if you have a partner....hmmm..?
I think that single parents do recieve enough. They can also apply and recieve rent assistance which in some cases reduces the amount of rent to be paid dramatically. I was on parent payment for a while but was not recieving full amount due to child support (which I wasn't even getting but that's a different story) and I only recieved $300 a week and I had to pay rent, bills, petrol, therapists for my daughter, medications for her, food etc etc and I tell you that was tough but I STILL managed to SAVE money. Don't ask me how I did it but I did.
the threshold for partners income needs to be higher. my partner earns just over the $1140 cutoff each fortnight and we only get the family tax benefit. because he earns too much i can't get any of the parenting payment. how can the government expect anyone to live on $1200 a fortnight when rent and food and fuel, etc prices keep going up and up and up.
if the stupid officials come down from their $100000 yearly incomes and back to what most of us call reality they would understand and might be a little more thoughtfull when putting a limit on these things.
sorry they all make me mad :mad:
i definatley agree with the threshold for partners income to be higher... it gets to the point where they make ppl not want to work cause they get just as much on the dole :confused:
I'm sorry but Belinda (billiebeth) I think they are talking about the single parent pension (as it used to be called, but now is called parenting payment) and I am pretty sure that you aren't entitled to it if you have a partner....hmmm..?
im on parenting payment, and im not single :confused:
Parenting Payment is for everyone...they just call one 'parenting payment single' and one 'parenting payment partnered'...well, thats what it says on the forms anyway.
Also, the person who started this thread has a partner so I thought she was talking bout the partnered one anyway...
I don't think it's enough and also agree that the threshold for partners income needs to be higher.
Well that's what I thought the parent payment was? For single parents.... or are we talking about the family tax benifits??
ok sorry guys. I am really confused now...? Can you be married and still recieve parent payment partnered?
04-04-2006, 20:47
I am entitled to the single parenting payment even while being with my partner i just get less. My sister who is not with her partner gets about $100 more then me. I think its just not enough. I seen on today tonight once this girl going on about how we get "too much" well i wish i was getting "too much". I dont know how i would survive without my partner because i know my sister who gets $680 a FORTNIGHT is struggling.
hi emysmum, if your partner earns under a certain amount, you are entitled to parenting payment partnered as well as family assistance. :)
Well that's what I thought the parent payment was? For single parents.... or are we talking about the family tax benifits??
think we are talking about parenting payment. and centrelink payments in general.
ok sorry guys. I am really confused now...? Can you be married and still recieve parent payment partnered?
yup. :) ............
I am entitled to the single parenting payment even while being with my partner i just get less.
I think you'll find you are getting the 'partnered' payment...not that there's much diff...like you said only about $100 a fortnight.
EmysMum yes you can be married and still get some parenting payment...depending on you DH's income. Family tax benefits are seperate to parenting payments...you might be able to get some of this too...I know you can claim family tax benefit at the end of the financial year, with your tax return...not sure if you can with the parenting payment tho, that would be done thru centrelink.
I think you'll find you are getting the 'partnered' payment...not that there's much diff...like you said only about $100 a fortnight.
EmysMum yes you can be married and still get some parenting payment...depending on you DH's income. Family tax benefits are seperate to parenting payments...you might be able to get some of this too...I know you can claim family tax benefit at the end of the financial year, with your tax return...not sure if you can with the parenting payment tho, that would be done thru centrelink.
yep if you dont have to lodge a tax return, you are entitled to $600 per child.
truelove2
04-04-2006, 21:04
my hubbie works.
we only get $118 from centerlink a fornight. tax thingy..
my friend gets $500 per child. so that is $1000 then her child's father pays $500 then she and her partner get the pension.
my hubbie said to me the other day that he should tell centerlink that he wants to go on the dole that way we will have some money to buy the things we want each week, instead of hoping that our bills are not high.
i bet u all think the same way when u see what my friend gets. :banghead:
it is so slack what the goverment will do for non working people!!!! :mad:
my hubbie works.
we only get $118 from centerlink a fornight. tax thingy..
my friend gets $500 per child. so that is $1000 then her child's father pays $500 then she and her partner get the pension.
:eek: WHAT THE.....!!!!!!
I didn't think they paid that much per child :eek: I have a single fried with one child and she gets a little over $800 a fortnight, that includes rent assistance...the father hasn't been tracked down yet....
Maybe DH and I should seperate...I'd have all our debts cleared in no time if I was getting that kind of money...
Jem...the $600 gets paid to everyone on...i forget which payment now...as long as you, and DH/DP/etc if you have one, lodge your tax return before oct 31 each year.
I was meaning that if you don't claim family tax benefit thru the year you can put a claim in for it when you do your tax return and have it paid that way, if you qualify.
JoshienEmmiesmummy
04-04-2006, 21:19
DP is around the 60k mark and i earn around 10k so we only get minumum FTB part A and Minimum FTB part b.
It pays for nappies and formulas and some clothes thouigh so it's ok.
I like the $500 we get for DS each year and the $600 for each child at tax time too. They come in handy.
Seems i am one of the few who dont mind the way the govt pays us, i have to ask though is each state different??
I do have one gripe and that is they dont help with any form of "rent assistance" for mortgages. It's not fair that they will help others to pay off someone elses mortgage but wont help people to pay off their own. Just my opinion anyway..
InSaneOne
04-04-2006, 21:22
did you guys know that if you have step children the biological parent of those children is entitled to claim for them too. EG: my partner and i have his 3 children for what works out to be 32% of the year while his ex has them the other 68% of the year. that means that the ex gets only 68% of the family tax benefit each fortnight and only 68% of the $600 tax bonus for each of the 3 children. we then get the 32% for the 3 older children added to the money we get for beth. it works out roughly that we get the full amount for beth and about the same again for the other 3 combined. it certainly helps out with the expenses of running them around and paying for school things. you can back date the claim too i am not sure how far back though. and you have to prove that you are having your children part of the time - we have a court order saying we get the children 32% of the time.
04-04-2006, 21:32
Wow to the ladys friend who gets $500 per child she gets alot i wish i got that much lol! My sister has two children and she gets $720 a fortnight (that includes the two of them not each) and my other who has one gets $600 a fortnight. I think the government should support non working mums cause its not like were NOT WORKING our job is 24/7....we are so UNDER paid!! P.S i dont think its a job though ssshhh...its a privledge :kiss:
The base parenting payment for single parents isn't too much - it becomes a bit ridiculous when maintenance gets factored in and the other parent pays a fair bit.
We don't qualify for parenting payments at the moment (due to the threshold), but I have been working part time due to this. After our 2nd bub is born, (which also happens to be around the time of the end of financial year) we know the maintenance that DH's ex receives will be going up (due to him getting a rise this year and it being based upon previous year's tax return). I believe that her parenting payment should be reduced by the amount that she'll be getting extra (mainly due to the extras such as health care assistance etc), because it makes a mockery of the system when we have a woman who has never worked receiving more money in her pocket than the man who is supporting 4 children, (which is why I've had to go back to work).
I would actually be better off financially if I separated from my husband (and I wouldn't have to work). If the payment system was truly fair, that wouldn't be the case. As it stands, maybe this thread should exclude mothers receiving correct amounts of child support, as the amounts vary greatly (depending upon the ex's income) and it's not a dollar for dollar trade with the government payments.
Wow to the ladys friend who gets $500 per child she gets alot i wish i got that much lol! My sister has two children and she gets $720 a fortnight (that includes the two of them not each) and my other who has one gets $600 a fortnight. I think the government should support non working mums cause its not like were NOT WORKING our job is 24/7....we are so UNDER paid!! P.S i dont think its a job though ssshhh...its a privledge :kiss:
sorry but i agree to a certain extent. but why is that mothers who are seperated and recieve csa payments who are on a full pension plus living with their partner on a full disabilty pension from the services (and by the way their payments are cut back sfa even with 174 per week maintenence- they recieve 200 less then my dh every week and he works his **** off to pay people like those) why should she (as the child is 11 years old) not be required by law to at least do part time work?that way there would be less stress on the government and the ones who are working their arses off like my dh and many and trying to support a family should be the ones who get paid more money.not the ones who have sat back on centrelink for 11 years and show no signs of going to work to actually instill into their child/ren morality.
also these people have the hide to say oh it costs us so much each year as she is asthmatic( 2 of our kids are as well and they use the nebuliser)she only has puffers. and they have a health care card so they pay 4.50 per script yet we who work our arses off don't get any help for when our kids are sick or we are sick we have to pay nothing under $12 for a simple script of antibiotics and nine timeas out of ten it has to be repeated after hte first course.
last year we would have spent at least $600 to $800 at the chemist for 3 kids who got crook tweo or three times during the year plus myself who gets tonsilitis plus my DH, yet we have to pay full price . tell me where the governments brain ends and their **** continues iykwim
04-04-2006, 22:04
Yeah maybe to the ones with a 11 year old and can get off their bums & work but im talking about people with younger bubs & prefer to stay at home with them & cant afford childcare. Also what happened to the women who CHOOSE to become housewives? Someone needs to maintain the household & even those who do work & maintain the household as well thats your choice but i always thought housewives/stay at home mums were considered to be working women as well! :D
I heard that the rules were changing and once your youngest child turned 5...or was it started school...then the parent who was not working goes onto newstart payment instead and has to look for work...not necessarily full time I don't think, but there was a min ammount of hrs that had to be worked.
I have a feeling they may have already changed this...they also make you have an 'interview' with them every 12mths :rolleyes:
oceanblue
04-04-2006, 22:29
I am a single mum of a 19 month old girl and i get just over $800 from centrelink and $100 child support. This may sound like a lot to some but by the time you take out rent $370, car loan $130 that leaves me $400 a fortnight for food, fuel, bills - phone, power, gas, water plus any extras such as clothes the occasional night out for me (i spend $20).
I would love to work but by the time you take out tax, childcare and the amount i would lose from my centrelink benefit and the time apart from my daughter its not worth it.
I just wish there was more support and encouragement for single mums. I am educated and have 2 university degrees but until my daughter goes to school we are better off with me staying at home with her.
Yeah maybe to the ones with a 11 year old and can get off their bums & work but im talking about people with younger bubs & prefer to stay at home with them & cant afford childcare. Also what happened to the women who CHOOSE to become housewives? Someone needs to maintain the household & even those who do work & maintain the household as well thats your choice but i always thought housewives/stay at home mums were considered to be working women as well! :D
i choose to be a sahm i did work about 3 months ago full time for over 2 years and because my DH earns heaps we couldnt see the point in me working to pay child care etc. what i am saying is that the ones who choose to stay at home until their kids are say 8 etc even if their partners are getting a really good income they should also be looked upon better then they are with the current centrelink system. the ones who are single (my DH ex and her hubby) who have lived off the gov for 11 years plus the reason she can stay at home is because she went out and had 2 more kids to another guy but her hubby took her back and took on the other two as his own (she gets no csa from the bio father for the twins)as she never put him on the birth certificate. she had more so that she didnt have to go to work to miss out on her free ride from centrelink as the law is when they turn 8 now it was supposed to be when they are in grade1 6years but it has gone up) so in total she will have been sitting on centrelink for 11 years plus 6 years = 17 years and the gov do nothing to nmake her go to work iykwim.
im all for being a sahm and i can as my DH earns a very good wage and i also get ftb each fortnight not of much but hey better than nothing what i am saying is why arent the ones who are working their arses off entitled to a health care card gee she has been scumming it from them for 11 years so far why should everyone else have to pay full price subscriptions. when they are doing the right thing and not bludging off the gov?
(this is not intended for any single parents that have children under 7 years of age.) only for the ones who have children older than 7 years and who see it fit not to return to part time work to help lessen the load of the government.
SassyMummy
04-04-2006, 23:07
I live at home (as in, with my mother), and with my 8-month-old daughter and get about $750 a fortnight. I don't know how much child support is - I think about $120 a month (which pays for what? My cats' food? lol)...but I don't actually GET my child support in money-form...I just get DP (who is DD's dad and who I do not live with yet) to get me stuff occassionally. He does it willingly anyway, so it's not too bad.
I AM super poor though..and I don't HAVE things like RENT to worry about (well...I pay rent, but not the WHOLE rent of the house)...so I can only imagine how it is for other single mothers out there. I am definately considering going back to work earlier than I would have liked so I can afford the things my daughter needs (and IMO, she deserves NICE things as well...)
sugar n spice
04-04-2006, 23:31
Not enough. It just covers the neseccities for a baby.
I guess a question could be - "How much is enough?" It seems a bit of a rhetorical question as no matter what - I don't think that anything will ever be enough as we all want to give our babies the best. Whether that be private schooling, their own bedrooms or whatever. With number two on the way (but two step children who spend over 10% of their lives with us), but only living in a four bedroom house (yes that seems like a luxury), we're going to have to double up on bedroom space for at least two of the kids. We also have considered if we need a bigger car where we can ferry everyone round at one time (we also sometimes have stepkids friends stay over).
These are just examples - but illustrate why I'm not a full time SAHM (I work part time, but the amount I pay in child care and the cost for me to get to work mean that I feel that I should qualify for benefits, but I'm trying to save for my children's future as well as provide for them now).
I have been on a single mothers pension and personally i thought it was more than enough.
After years and years of never being allowed to have money it was great to finally have some. My ex paid the mortage for me and i got nearly $700 a fortnight from centrelink. This paid all my bills including land and water rates, school fees, preschool fees and i still had enough to buy myself the occasional treat.
I had a friend who was also a single mum and she would whinge to me about how she never had enough money. Well one day i ran into her at the shops, her trolley was filled with junk food, soft drinks and ready made meals, yet i lived off sausages and mince meat. It may not have been the most exciting food but it was cheap and healthy
05-04-2006, 06:15
I wish I could be a sahm but here is no way we could afford to live decently (in Sydney that is) on just DH's wage its too damn hard.
I think the govt should help mums with bubs under 3 stay at home by providing more financial assistance. Personally I think its **** that the govt. will help me go back to work (ccb etc) but wont do the same for the mums who really want/ need to stay home with their little ones for at least the first 2 or so years.
My son has been in daycare (p/t for a year and f/t for 3 months) since he was 8 months old, he has alot of allergies and gets very sick (on a regular basis) I have no more sick leave left so when my son is sick I get no income but am paying $90 a week for care I dont need (while my son is sick )
I wish I could afford to stay at home with my bub, he is almost 2 so I guess that dream is almost over!
I know that I am one of the lucky ones, I have a great job and access to child care but I so wish I could have had the first two years at home with my baby, I can never get that back again.
Sorry for the rant:o
caitsmum
05-04-2006, 07:56
Like some of the other mums I so wish I could afford to be a SAHM. It just doesn't work out for us. Please remember that when you complain that the government is not giving you enough money that there are some mums who have had to go out and work extreemly hard to pay the taxes that fund your benifits. So far this financial year I have had to pay over $7000 in tax. Believe me I miss my kids greatly when I am at work but on the other hand we decided to have these children so I feel we should provide them with financial security.
tyler's mum
05-04-2006, 08:02
i get around $850 but once my rent is paid [$165] and the bills,, plus nappies/milk food i never have much money left it may seem like alot but every day liveing is not cheap
Like some of the other mums I so wish I could afford to be a SAHM. It just doesn't work out for us. Please remember that when you complain that the government is not giving you enough money that there our some mums who have had to go out and work extreemly hard to pay the taxes that fund your benifits. So far this financial year I have had to pay over $7000 in tax. Believe me I miss my kids greatly when I am at work but on the other hand we decided to have these children so I feel we should provide them with financial security.
exactly know what you are saying about the taxes part. when i was at work i paid nothing under 200 per week in taxes and my DH pays nothing under 550 per week in taxes. so really i htink the tax threshold needs to go down especially to the ones who are working and providing for a family.iykwim.
it was costing us over 220 per week in childcare for 2 kids because of DH wage we get stuff all benefit but if i wasnt with DH and he paid me csa i would get a higher percent rate to put the kids in care and sit on my **** all day. seems the government cannot see past their arses. lol
as to the ones who say they are not getting enough governement help assistance, remember you are the ones who get health care cards so you pay stuff all for prescription medication and really if it is not enough as a few on here are saying why not go to work part time????
05-04-2006, 10:39
Like some of the other mums I so wish I could afford to be a SAHM.
Ditto!:thumbsup: :thumbsup:
MissSparkle
05-04-2006, 11:45
I think its waaaayyy to little. My DF earns a fair bit but once u take out mortgage repayments, car loan, bills, shopping theres not much left. I get a lousy $60 a week! That covers nappies, wipes snd maybe $10 left for me!
I considered going back to work but Im not ready to work full time. After staying at home for the first 14months Im not ready to leave my DS yet!
Plus once u work u've got to pay childcare and travelling expenses u end up close to where u started!
tyler's mum
05-04-2006, 11:52
you may think it is easy to go back to work but child care is not cheap,,, so in the end its not worth it plus i would rather watch tyler grow up i dont wanna miss anything,,, i will go back to work when she go's to school just like my mum did,,, i think they money is ok its better then nothing but with saying that some weeks im left with no money,,, but no one ever said life was easy
05-04-2006, 11:55
you may think it is easy to go back to work but child care is not cheap
That is why I work casual hours not full time!;)
Its not just the fact that childcare is expensive, its hard to find a place anyway.
I think that some young single women have babies before they have built up many career skills so they tend to get quite low paid jobs, which means they are having to pay for childcare, plus be away from their child and pay all the bills and rent by themselves, not to mention forfeit the healthcare benefits, all for a low paying job. Its just not worth it financially and I don't blame them for not doing it.
I also wish the threshhold was higher for DP's income but I don't really expect the government to pay for anything because I choose to stay at home. I do expect them to find more childcare places if they expect mothers to return to work though.
Sorry, bit off topic, but its true that these fat cats in parliament seem to have lost perspective of what its like NOT to be on huge salaries with perks and lurks at every turn.
caitsmum
05-04-2006, 12:49
I don't think it is easy to go back to work at all. During the last eight years I have worked a variety of shifts so usually one of us can be with the girls. This has included permanent night duty so I could still breastfeed. It was far from easy to work all night and come home and look after three little girls and nap and sleep when they did. After all this there use to be weeks were we were lucky to have $10 left after the bills.
Its not just the fact that childcare is expensive, its hard to find a place anyway.
I think that some young single women have babies before they have built up many career skills so they tend to get quite low paid jobs, which means they are having to pay for childcare, plus be away from their child and pay all the bills and rent by themselves, not to mention forfeit the healthcare benefits, all for a low paying job. Its just not worth it financially and I don't blame them for not doing it.
I also wish the threshhold was higher for DP's income but I don't really expect the government to pay for anything because I choose to stay at home. I do expect them to find more childcare places if they expect mothers to return to work though.
Sorry, bit off topic, but its true that these fat cats in parliament seem to have lost perspective of what its like NOT to be on huge salaries with perks and lurks at every turn.
they can actually earn 39500 before the health care cards are taken plus they still recieve a paymetn although the parenting payment single is reduced they are not totally cut off until they earn a certain amount. i have a friend who has 2 boys and they are at childcare and for 5 days she pays 70 per week she works full time too and brings in 500 per week after tax and still gets 25 per fortnight from the pension plus the maximum rate of ftb. do not know how going back to work is not more cost effective for the single ones who say the gov don't pay enough??? when she was on the pension and not working at all she used to pay 25 for 5 days. so really it hasnt jumped up by much at all. plus on top of all that she recieves csa of 70 per week. so really she is better off working and not sitting back taking tax paying peoples money iykwim.
i walked into a job 2 years ago they trained me then and there and i havent worked for over 6 years due to be a sahm so as for the low paying jobs as they have no experience i laugh as i had no experience building state of the art air con systems for police , hospitlas etc but i applied for work through a job agency and thats where i found it and the pay was over 600 per week after tax. work isd out there if they really want to find it. and even if the single ones did part time work they would benefit as there payments would drop stuff all and like i said there is a limit before the health care cards are taken off them. i am saying that when their child turns say 6 for grade 1 they should be back at work as they are doing nothing but sitting there for the rest of the day until they pick the kids up now why dont us sahm get paid to do that? my opinion. and why is it that people who have been on centrelink non stop for 11 years not told to get work or get payments cut?they should do that as they are the ones abusing the system for the ones who really need it and isnt that what the single parent pension is for only enough money to get the neccessities to get you through if you want more then you need to work for it. everything cant be handed over.
I thought they cut the health care card out after you earn more than 34 000 combined income (not including family tax payments tho) and I think all those with kids, earning under $50 000 combined income, should be eligble for health care cards/low income cards
We get about $1000 a fortnight in family tax payments. DH has just started a new job, and hes not on wages yet (commission only) so I get some parenting payment because hes earnt so little so far this year.
I do think they should raise the limits a bit. as it is I think after your partner earns $1150 a fortnight, parenting payment stops, I really think it should be $1500 a fortnight, and family size taken in to consideration. and the large family supplments.. pfft, a lousy $7 extra for the 4th and more.. come on... at least $30!! they want people to have kids now.. :D
Hey, and come on, they shold pay us $20 a week fuel allowance hey, to help us get the kids to and from school ;) seeings how the price of fuel is riduclous these days.
You can really only survive of centrelink payments, you cant live off them, unless you budget super well, its really hard to clothe yourself and kids properly, ok, maybe if you dont have loans its easier, slightly, forget about saving any money! Its practialy impossible!
They know the cost of living, and they give you just enough to survive, but its when you have car loans and credit card debts to pay that it becomes difficult, they dont take that into consideration. but then again, the payments aren't for that, they are for you to be able to eat and survive. If they did raise payments and made it easier, who would want to work then?
of course we all would love more money
I thought they cut the health care card out after you earn more than 34 000 combined income (not including family tax payments tho) and I think all those with kids, earning under $50 000 combined income, should be eligble for health care cards/low income cards
We get about $1000 a fortnight in family tax payments. DH has just started a new job, and hes not on wages yet (commission only) so I get some parenting payment because hes earnt so little so far this year.
I do think they should raise the limits a bit. as it is I think after your partner earns $1150 a fortnight, parenting payment stops, I really think it should be $1500 a fortnight, and family size taken in to consideration. and the large family supplments.. pfft, a lousy $7 extra for the 4th and more.. come on... at least $30!! they want people to have kids now.. :D
Hey, and come on, they shold pay us $20 a week fuel allowance hey, to help us get the kids to and from school ;) seeings how the price of fuel is riduclous these days.
You can really only survive of centrelink payments, you cant live off them, unless you budget super well, its really hard to clothe yourself and kids properly, ok, maybe if you dont have loans its easier, slightly, forget about saving any money! Its practialy impossible!
They know the cost of living, and they give you just enough to survive, but its when you have car loans and credit card debts to pay that it becomes difficult, they dont take that into consideration. but then again, the payments aren't for that, they are for you to be able to eat and survive. If they did raise payments and made it easier, who would want to work then?
of course we all would love more money
exactly
the girlfriend of mine who is working but still recieves 25 a fortnihgt of the pension is earning 35000 per annum so i do not know if the cut off is diff compared to partnered.and yes she is doing it legitimately
Now I am even more confused!!!:confused:
I had DD on a waiting list for a specialised pre school for 18 months when she finally got in I was so happy but then centrelink told me they couldn't keep giving me ccb so I am lopped with the $30 a day fee (sge ayyends 2 days a week) I get carers allowance for her as she has a disability but this does not even cover therapies and doctors bills. I have a health care card for her but some of the medications she has are not covered and we don't get them at the discount price.
DH brings home $630, we have tp pay $300 off our car a week then all the ather bill...rent, food, electricity, petrol, etc.
We never seem to get ahead and are always left with nothing. I had no idea that you could get parent payment whilst married and I think it is REALLY unfair that they won't help me out with pre school fees. But yet I have a friend who is on the pension and she gat her son in day care 3 days a week for next to niothing! It just seems I am being punished for trying to give my DD the best. We get FTB but it is only $44 part a and $33part b and that covers nappies (DD is 4 nxt week and still isn't toilet trained)
I was on the pension when she was first born and I got $600 a fortnight and that included the carers allowance and rent assistance and I had to pay rent groceries, car, tharapists, medication, specialists bills (some of which were in excess of $400!!!) etc etc and I still managed to save money and have everything paid.
We just manage to keep our heads above water now and I will have to return to work very soon and my new baby is only 3.5wks old! I really wish there was more help out there for families like ours! I f anyone has any suggestions or information that can help as in centrelink payment as ther is obvoisly so many different payments out there that I don't even know existed!
If you qualify for a single parent pension (parenting payment - single) then regardless of your income, you still get full health care assistance, child care assistance etc. Therein lies the irony of the situation and why I have returned to work, but my stepkid's mother has never had a job (and why she never tells centrelink about her partners - and probably why she's never married, and why she lied to centrelink and told them she was single when she was with my DH).
we have tp pay $300 off our car a week then all the ather bill...rent, food, electricity, petrol, etc.
Holy cow, that's a hefty car repayment!! Do you mean a week or a month?
caitsmum
05-04-2006, 15:47
EmysMum
I remember hearing somewhere that once I child with a disability reaches a certain age they are entitled to funding for incontence aids (nappies ect). I'm really sorry but I can't think of the exact details of how to go about applying for funding. I can try and find out through a friend in the next couple of days if you like. Let me know. I know its not much but it does add up over a year.
DH brings home $630, we have tp pay $300 off our car a week then all the ather bill...rent, food, electricity, petrol, etc.
This is another difficulty - the problem would probably be seen by centrelink as - you have overextended yourself on the car payments. They will take into consideration that you have to pay rent, food, utilities etc, but would see a car as a luxury, so if you took that out of the equation, then 630 might look like an okay income.
You may be over the cutoff for receiving the parenting payment (partnered) - see the attached linkparenting payment (http://www.centrelink.gov.au/internet/internet.nsf/payments/parenting_iat.htm)
According to this, your combined income can only be up to $1258 per f/n - this would be before tax.
If you qualify for a single parent pension (parenting payment - single) then regardless of your income, you still get full health care assistance, child care assistance etc. Therein lies the irony of the situation and why I have returned to work, but my stepkid's mother has never had a job (and why she never tells centrelink about her partners - and probably why she's never married, and why she lied to centrelink and told them she was single when she was with my DH).
ok, yep Im with ya, but thats actually a pension card that single rate pareting payment recipients get, not health care card. Centrelink is too damn confusing :o
yes it is a pension card but it is exactly the same as a health care card, (prescription etc are only 4.50 each) the friend i mentioned earlier was told that she would keep the pension card even if she was only getting $1 per fortnight from centrelink for the actual pension. so she can earn up to 700 - 750 per week before it gets reduced to $1 per week. so she is laughing more or less while families like ours work hard for their money and still cant get prescriptions for $4.50 each iykwim
Yes we pay $300 a WEEK!
There is a type of incontinance funding but unfortunately the waiting list is more than 3 years long! You have to apply and then when they get around to you they send you nappies, I know others who have been on the list for ages and still nothing. The system sucks. We are trying really hard to toilet train her believe me but like everything else she does it takes a while...:rolleyes: .
I am definately giving centrelink a call tomorrow to see if there is any more help we can get.
The only reason why the car laon is so much is DH had another loan that was HEAPS before I met him and we are paying that off with the car loan. We should have it paid off in a few months but will still be putting the same amount away each week for a deposit on our own home so we don't have to continue to line someone elses pocket.
jessgray
05-04-2006, 19:26
hi there
we recently found out that centerlink had been under paying us in the family tax benifet for 11 months and they knew it. each time i asked why my estiamte on the net said different they said it was coz i did it wrong and they were right and would cut $15 off us. before they admited their mistake we were getting $245. now we get $354.
makes me wonder how many other people are beign under paid when they make a big deal about people who are overpaid..
my DP gets parenting partnered $360 and i get youth allowance coz i am studying and it just easier for him to be home :) i get $360
I think that single parents do recieve enough. They can also apply and recieve rent assistance which in some cases reduces the amount of rent to be paid dramatically.
Not quite sure why you think this...
I am a single parent on payments and I survive barely what with the cost of rent (rent assistance doesn't really make a dent), bills, doctor, petrol, food, day care plus all my costs for uni like books, parking etc.
I go without all the time. I haven't bought myself new clothes in ages (and I need them since losing baby weight). My hair is all gross but I can't afford a hair cut or colour. I can't go out for dinner. I can't go to a concert. I can't do anything to pamper myself. But I don't care because I would rather give my daughter everything first before I even think of myself.
So, I am wondering why you think single parents get enough? Just curious...
05-04-2006, 19:43
makes me wonder how many other people are beign under paid when they make a big deal about people who are overpaid..
I overestimate to ensure that I am never overpaid. I get the money in the end in one big lump sum after I/DH lodges a tax return!;) It's just like putting away savings!:D
Polony, if you go back and read all my posts on this thread you will see that I have been where you are now. I was living off $600 a fortnight and had many more expenses than the ordinary single mother. My DD has a disability and at that point required alot of therapies some of which are quite expensive. She was also born with 3 heart defect which needed monitoring by a paediatric cardiologist which charged us on average $300+ each visit which was every couple of months. I had all the usual bills (living on my own renting privately) and all the extras such as what I have described above.
I still managed to survive and put a little aside for emergencies. DD never went without. I admit that I always looked like a dag and lived in my mothers throw outs. I never went out (lack of money and a baby sitter....no one wanted to care for my DD as she required so much extra attention and time than your 'average' baby.
Take a minute to check out what I have already said. I really do think that single mothers on the pension do get enough. And I'm sorry if I have offended you but that is how I feel.
Hey Emysmum :)
I read your posts so I am aware, but I am still now sure how you did it?!
what I was saying was that I don't think we get enough as single parents but you said we get too much. I really don't think we, or should I say I, do.
I must say I live in a nice area - close to home, quiet, safe. I pay $180/week. But that was so my DD and I could live nicely and not have to worry too much about safety. It can get scary enough as it is living alone!
But I seem to have no money left. I would love to know how you did it. I must be a terrible manager of money. I must admit I have been putting $50 per fotnight away for the last year and I do get asked to be taxed so I can have a lump sum each year to add to that (trying to save for a home deposit for when I finish my degree - or emergency money).
But nappies, formula, daycare, baby wash, clothes, food etc. It really isn't cheap. Either is petrol at $1.30 a litre! :eek:
I eat mince and vegies and lots of fresh cheap food. I am not buying quick easy meals, read-made. I don't get take-away.
Please tell me how you did it!! I am seriously wanting to know!! I admire you!!
Polony I seriously wonder the same thing myself. I don't know how but I just managed. I had to there was no other way and no one else there to help me at the time. I was also not getting any child support but due to a stuff up with centrelink and CSA I was being docked from my pension as if I was recieveing child support so that sucked! Long story but it was really DD real dad lying about his income but that is a LONG LONG story that is VERY ugly.
I basically just tried to budget everything. I only bought home brand things, hardly used the phone, only drove somewhere if I needed to (which was only to DD therapy and Dr appointments which was several times a week). You basically have to account for every dollar you have. Keep a record of your spendings. Get a book and write down each week/fortnight your incomings and write for example:
Phine bill- $20
Petrol-$30
Groceries-$80 (take a calculator and add up as you go round this helps you to keep a total and the amount to a minimum and buy only what you NEED)
etc... you get the picture.
And these ways have stuck with me. It really does help to manage your money better. I didn't mean to offend you in anyway. I just know that I did it on alot less than some women get and they still complain and I just can't see why after being there myself with far more expenses than most.
Ive just been reading the last few posts and i know its a bit off topic but it got me thinking, just because it is do able to survive on the small amount single parents recieve, does that mean it is enough? is it fair that because you are studying to give your child a better life, or your partner left you and you cant get anyone to mind your child whilst you work, or you simply want to stay home with your child and give them 100% of your time, that you have to live on an amount that requires you to live on mince and noodles and be afraid to make a phone call?
I dont think parenting payment should be some sort of lifestyle choice where you just stay on it forever, but i dont think the vast majority of woman/men use it this way, and it is for them that i think it should be more, just because you are a single parent does not mean that you should go without, i know when i was in that situation i felt downtrodden enough as it was sometimes without the added embarressment of not being able to even look nice simply because i couldnt afford it, it really is a very small amount of money that only allows people to survive, not live.
I think those with only one or two children don't receive enough, but those who have more children receive too much. Let me explain why.
My mum has 2 children to my step father (I can't call he DSF as I don't like him). They are separated. My mum gets $595 per fortnight, plus $110 per fortnight child maitenence. A total of $705 per fortnight. Both her children are in high school. My sister is in year 12 this year and is 16 so mum no longer gets centerlink payments for her. She gets youth allowance, but only gives mum $50 per fortnight to go towards food. Before she turned 16, my mum was getting $715 plus the maitenence.
A friend of mine on the other hand, separated from her husband after he had an affair. She has 5 kids, the eldest being almost 12. She recieves just over $1500 per fortnight in centerlink payments plus a further $550 per fortnight in child maintenence. She earns over $1000 per week. Plus she gets all the benefits of health care cards, discounted travel etc etc.
The government continues to put an emphisis on "caring for the children" but they make it so hard for the single income families. I personally believe they need to focus on the little things they can do that will help out families, like giving every family a health care card to receive discounted medication, even if it is only for the children. It is usually the children that get sick the most often. I wouldn't mind paying for mine own medication, but it would highly help to be able to get discounted meds for my 3 children, especially considering my eldest was on medication for ADD costing me over $50 per month, and my youngest sufferes from Asthma (requiring a nebuliser) and eczema. Thankfully, I have managed to get my son off the meds for his ADD, though cutting out food additives, colours and preservatives, but it still costs a lot throughout the year.
Think of the other things we could all be buying our children with the extra money we would have if we didn't have to pay so much for medication.
MamaSage
05-04-2006, 21:16
Well said, good points.
There seems to be a certain cut off in general though. The middle income families who are on a little too much to get any help, but are still not doing fantastic are the ones who are stung. I returned to work to help out, only to find my wage put us over the threshold for any child care benefit. Long story short, I quit work after 10 months as over half my pay was going to childcare. Now I could get cheaper childcare, but as I do not work I do not need it. Dumb.
We have always been a tiny bit over the linit for any kind of assistance. No maternity payment, no FTBA. I am entitled to FTBB but do not claim it until end of financial year. We pay full cost for Drs, medication, etc. So really, we are no better off than people on benefits, even though we 'earn' a larger wage.
I do not expect the govt to fund me to stay at home, but I am annoyed that I was basically penalised for going back to work in the fact that I was charged exorbitant fees for the tiny time I used. (I am a shift worker, only used two hours, got charged full day) The govt needs to value women in the workforce as well as women who chose to stay home. And at the end of the day, there is often little difference in the standard of living between families on benefits, and middle income families.
I think those with only one or two children don't receive enough, but those who have more children receive too much
We have 6 kids, that means we need a larger house, which means rent it higher, do we get more rent assistance than those with 2 or three kids, nope. Ok, so maybe with clothes we can hand them down, but usually they are worn out not outgrown.
We use more water, and electricty.
Ok, yeah, we chose to have a large family.
The kids still have to be fed, schooled and clothed, so I dont see how just because large familys get more benifits, why you think its too much? Its not like if the more kids you have, the more parenting payment you get. It's not like just becuase you have more kids they need less clothes or food.
giving every family a health care card to receive discounted medication, even if it is only for the children. It is usually the children that get sick the most often. I wouldn't mind paying for mine own medication I do agree with that, but what when the parent/s need asthma medications, or depression pills, that puts a strain on income too. My DH's asthma meds would cost us $120 a month without the health care card, and my 2 sons added to that, add another $100 a month for them too for their asthma.
Sadly though, no matter the situation, single, partnered, its the kids that are missing out. Education isnt free. And now uniforms are a pretty much a must, and they arent cheap. And then theres all these excursions, fundraisers, lots, school "voluntary'' contributions that need to be paid.
honestly though, those of us that complain we arent getting enough, funny how we can all afford the internet hey :o or that mobile phone for emergencies. Not that I am having a go or anything.. but its the truth. I know if we were finding it really hard, the first things to go would be the internet.
As long as the kids are fed and clothed, and loved, what else do they really need? They dont need that designer outfit, or that fancy game, or toy, I think kids these days have too much, thanks to tv ads and that making us feel guilty and having to buy them all this stuf... but thats another thread.
honestly though, those of us that complain we arent getting enough, funny how we can all afford the internet hey :o or that mobile phone for emergencies. Not that I am having a go or anything.. but its the truth. I know if we were finding it really hard, the first things to go would be the internet.
As long as the kids are fed and clothed, and loved, what else do they really need? They dont need that designer outfit, or that fancy game, or toy, I think kids these days have too much, thanks to tv ads and that making us feel guilty and having to buy them all this stuf... but thats another thread.
:yelclap: Well said Alannah's mum - goes hand in hand with what I said earlier about it all being relative. At the end of the day we spend within our means, and we make do with what we've got. No matter how much any of us have, if we were given more, we'd find a way to utilise it. (Like my example of bigger house so all kids have their own room).:)
jessgray
09-04-2006, 10:53
I overestimate to ensure that I am never overpaid. I get the money in the end in one big lump sum after I/DH lodges a tax return!;) It's just like putting away savings!:D
i did that too but each time i had to change our estimate c/link would ring me say i did it wrong and cut it back. i turned out that it was our rent assistance that had been underpaid. for over year we got $4 rent assistance between the both of us.:laughing: im just happy they admitted they made a mistake
jessgray
09-04-2006, 10:58
i dont want to start a fight or anything but has anyone ever heard of how the american welfare system works? i have been told by an american friend that you are slwoly cut off after 4 children i could be wrong. but what do people think of that? i am all for people who want lots of kids to have lots of kids but it would be a way to stop the people who just have kids for the money
Please don't get me wrong, If the government is going to help me raise my child by giving me some money to help out then great. But I don't think that we should expect it. My Dh and I decided to have kids because we wanted them. not because the government was going to pay us. DH earns 650 per week take home. We are paying off a house and a car. Before we decided to get pregnant we sat down and worked out if we can afford it. Yes accidents can happen and things can change dramatically between falling pregnant and actually having the baby but come on. Who is having these chidlren. You or the government.
Sorry I know this will offend some people, but some people I know keep having more and more kids because that means that they will get more money. I even know a couple who deliberately aren't married because that means the government will give them more money. That just isn't fair.
I even know a couple who deliberately aren't married because that means the government will give them more money.
how does that work, one must be claiming paretning payment single rate then.
Never once have we had kids for the money, mind you, yes, it does help, but its never been expected.
Who would have a child for money? What money? It is estimated that raising a child now costs around the $1 million mark from when they are born to around 18 years. I am pretty sure that even on the best benefits Centrelink has to offer, they wouldnt be paying out this much!! :rolleyes:
madvoice
09-04-2006, 22:01
Well, I get nothing, zip doodah, nada, zero, zilch. Why? Because DH and myself together earn too much. I really do think there should be a minimum benefit regardless of earnings but that's just my opinion.
Sort of goes along with the hoo hah that's been going round WA lately with people protesting about people using the first homeowner's grant to buy expensive houses. Doesn't seem to matter that these people pay a huge amount in stamp duty as a form of tax back into the government's coffers. I figure if you pay taxes, then you have contributed more than some others who don't pay taxes.
jessgray
10-04-2006, 15:17
how do people whoarent married get more money? me and my DP are classed as de facto in centerlink eyes. and we get the standard rate of payment for havign partners.:confused:
I presume these people pretend they don't have a partner to qualify for single parent benefits.
I'm on single parent payments and I shouldn't say this but I think I do get alot.How hard is it going to be when I have to give up all my extra benefits like rent assistance, medical,etc.
I get around the same money my mother get a fortnight and she gets up at 5am every morning to travel 1 1/2 hrs to work she is a nurse.
I kind of think it's a good idea to push single people to work after your child turns 6 otherwise you get to comfortable and won't make that change to work.
I'm planning on going to Tafe next year and I want to get off the benefits to show my son that it's good to work.
sugar n spice
19-04-2006, 20:45
I'm planning on going to Tafe next year and I want to get off the benefits to show my son that it's good to work.
that is really good to hear. im not a single mum but im thinking of studying later this year
Jackson84
19-04-2006, 21:24
how is nothing enough? LOL
it not enough the government keep put up the price of every day living expenses but the pay rate never go's with it. I think its nuts. ooh well they get payed loads to do it so no worries for the ha.:(
I get the minimum amount because I earnt too much before Ds was born. I worked up until 36 weeks & had him at 38 weeks. It isnt fair, its not like I am earning that money anymore. I think they expect you to put away all your income before bubs is born.
Bring on JULY!!!!!!!
before i fell preg with ds 2 (i am high risk and unable to work while preg) i was working part time as an aged care nurse. horrible hours and quite sad, stressfull work. dp was unemployed at the time due to a back injury. we worked out that me working we were $40 a week better off!!! there is no incentive to work if you get just as much doing nothing. another question my ds is currently at preschool (public) in qld. the hours are 9 to 2.45 , 2 days one week, 3 days the next. how does anyone find bosses that are willing to work around those hours. seriously im keen to find out, as im not one who likes to not work even if part time
Briswegian
05-05-2006, 12:05
i get around $850 but once my rent is paid [$165] and the bills,, plus nappies/milk food i never have much money left it may seem like alot but every day liveing is not cheap
I work six days a fortnight and get paid 960. I have a husband and most of his wage goes on our mortgage. my son's day care is 288 a fortnight with the minimum child care benefit. We get no family tax benefit. I will be going back to work in 5 weeks after baby #2 so that we can pay the bills...but then we'll have to double the child care bill. So basically, I go to work for a few hundred bucks a fortnight but we need it to pay the bills....by the looks of things I'd be better off leaving my husband and claiming benefits. Where's the incentive?
jessgray
06-05-2006, 06:32
i agree i once enquired c/link about how much i would get if i was a single parent and they told me it would be just under $1000 all up including tax benfiet and parenting payment and rent assistance :eek:
and you get $10 less then single parents if you have a spouse in jail:confused:
i'm looking for work but i doubt i will get any while pregnant.
07-05-2006, 11:26
my sister is on single parenting payment with two kids but she gets $720 a fortnight..including rent assistance & phone allowance. I dont understand how some people get more than others?!? I know you can get more if you apply for child support & she has but that hasnt made a difference at all!
I'm on single parenting payment and not surving very well.
I went back to work when my DS was 6weeks old, I only really got the Part A&B bare minimum. I gave up work in July last year as I was working 5 1/2 days to pay for 5 days c/c, I was better off as a SAHM with the health card and rent assist plus the single parent payment. I do get CSA which is the only thing he does, he has never meet his son, so the more money I get from him the better:mad: sorry I don't mean to be rude or greedy but he does nothing to help support his child in any other way other than some money each month.
Before DS I had a great job which paid fantastic and I was single, so I had debts up to my eyeballs as you do, I was told I couldn't have kids so I spent my hard earned money on material (Thats what I call them now) things, then I find I am 7mths. So all this debt and a child on the way in 2mths. My DS is just over 2 and I still borrow money of my dad. Ok the govt isn't to blame for my over spending when I was childless but to go from 55,000 a year to 16,000 within 2 mths (if that) was a huge shock. I still haven't recovered and with the $670 abouts a fortnight with $200 a week rent and fuel prices, well I just can't survive.
I have recently decided to go back to work after nearly a year out but I need to way up a few things, fuel and c/c cost to what I will be paid. The only other problem is work times, because I am single I don't have anyone else to rely on to pick up my son from c/c if I'm held back for some reason and if I get a job in the city I get stuck in traffic. I can't get night work because I need to be home for my son, can't leave a 2 year on their own. And the way fuel is at the moment I need to get a job close to home which there are none available, beleive me I 've tried, but remember I also need the job to pay well to make it worth my while to going back to work. I may be struggling now but returning to work will make me worse off financially plus I miss out on my child growing up. I already missed out on his first 14mths because I was working.
I believe the govt should base everyone indvidually to their circumstances.
The lady that was on TT?? who said that we were getting to much, well she had a house no mortage or rent, her kids were old enough to look after themselves and her ex was helping her (paying his bit) of coarse she would say that she didn't have the probs that many of us do.
But as we all know the more we get the more we want, but all I want is to not struggle anymore, not let my child run around the house barebumed because I can't afford nappies.
My only luxary is the internet, I do everyting on it so I don't need to go anywhere, I mean I pay my bills and do banking so I don't use my fuel. It's a bonus to be able to send an email to mutiple people instead of ringing each one. And of coarse talk to everyone on BH as I live out of Perth a bit and don't have many friends up here.
FourAngelKisses
09-05-2006, 21:47
We are a single income family (DH is a middle income earner) and what we get each fortnight is nowhere near enough, it doesn't even cover the bills each month. We have no luxuries except the internet ($34 a month, but we are on a contract so can't opt out of it) so we can't cut back on anything except food. Living out in the sticks we can't cut back on petrol ($360 a month) as there is no public transport and it's too bloody far to walk anywhere.
They were saying yesterday that in tonights budget they were going to increase family payments by $45 per child per fortnight, that would have helped us out a lot and helped us get back on our feet, but it seems they have scrapped that idea. Instead, we get a $10 a week tax cut and $10 a fortnight large family supplement. What an insult.
mythreelittlemonkeys
09-05-2006, 21:53
I presume these people pretend they don't have a partner to qualify for single parent benefits.
yep - I know my DH's ex does - and then she also claims we pay her nothing - when in fact my Dh gives her $100 a week plus clothes for his 2...but it a horrid way to have to do it - she has to lie so much and lives in constant fear of being caught...
kiwibird27
09-05-2006, 22:38
Have been reading with great interest - complaining about credit card bills, car repayments, petrol prices, expensive rents - move, sell the car, cut up the cards, so many people over extend themselves, I you only get $600 a fortnight work out where and how u can afford to live - Public transport in many areas is brillant and single parents get pension concessions - really cheap!!!
Get rid of the mortgage and rent (I know many people will argue with me) If u can't afford your mortgage then rent - It's close to half less than a mortgage - just build up assets in savings or paying off debt instead of ridiculous interest rates - If u disagree - live with your choices!!!!
I know i may **** people off but no point moaning about money - I know people on the north shore of sydney living in Million dollars houses on Double incomes earning over 1/4 million dollars a year with a few kiddies - who still have to live on credit for groceries to pay the mortgage - we all make choices!!!
It has nothing to do with the government - more money won't make a difference - it's about better choices - I need to make some too!!!!!
Oh - wages go up evry year (CPI) in the majority of industries - so why wouldn't living expenses????
MissBrightside
09-05-2006, 22:59
Im kinda with loopi1 here im a single mum too I dont get any child support from my ex, and I get about $730 a fortnight. I have to buy food (bananas alone are now $9.98 a kg) and pay rent plus pay for general bills, then clothes and stuff kids need.
Yes its easy to say budget a little more but you dont know what peoples circumstances are like. My ex put us in so much debt before he left which i try to pay bit by bit when i can, and no Im not whinging about this but life in general is becoming more expensive and harder to buget for.
Yes I do have the internet connected but I find its a good way to keep in contact with people and meet new people. I have met some great people over the net I wouldnt have otherwise, I dont get many opportunies to go out and meet people in person and I dont have many friends, so I like chatting on the net. This is the only luxury I have.
Other than that no i dont think we get enough assistance from the government!
FourAngelKisses
10-05-2006, 05:49
Get rid of the mortgage and rent (I know many people will argue with me) If u can't afford your mortgage then rent - It's close to half less than a mortgage - just build up assets in savings or paying off debt instead of ridiculous interest rates - If u disagree - live with your choices!!!!
Just to add to my previous post, my mortgage is only $180 a week ($116500 house), it is CHEAPER than the average rent in my area.
My husband is self employed so we have to do profit and loss for centerlink as I am on maternity leave we do get a small amount of parenting payment and the lowest amount of FTB A & B .
Money is very short for us but we just cope with what we have we have a morgage which is a lot cheaper then renting by a long shot the average rent in our small town is $165 per week we only pay $116 per week to own this place.
I only receive family tax benefits and rent assistance
because i know how to shop
I think it is sufficient for our lifestyle
hubby works two jobs
full time job is minimum wage
saturday job is very helpful
pays for the car...