View Full Version : Unsupportive Obstetrician

Briannabear
04-04-2006, 20:00
Hey all,
Just wondering if anyone else has found an obstetrican, only to be disappointed with them?

I had my first ob appointment today (Im 10 1/2 weeks pregnant) and Im not happy with the response I recieved.
She asked me about my previous birth so I filled her in on the details. (it ended up in an emergency caesar due to bub being breech). She asked me what type of delivery I wanted and I said a natural vaginal delivery. She then persisted on me having another caesar. I dont know why she bothered asking me what I wanted in the first place.:shame:

Her only reason for not wanting me to go natural is the fact that she is unable to induce me if I dont progress. I already knew that. If I not progressing Im ok with having another c-section. I just dont see that as an excuse not to try!!

All I want is the opportunity to have a go at a natural delivery. I dont think that is unreasonable. I dont have unrealistic expectations, I want whats best for my baby and myself.

She is going on holidays in the start of October and Im due at the end. I feel like she wants me to have a c-section so she has a date on her calendar - no guess work. Its just not what I want. :crying:

So anyway, Im considering finding another ob.
Have any of you had to find another ob through your pregnancy?
Is it possible to find an ob supportive of a VBAC?

Any help or support would be appreciated, thanks! :(

tickle
04-04-2006, 20:07
I would definately be looking for a new ob. You can definately change! I know my doula Tracie said she changed hers at 37 weeks!
Good luck with it.:)

Briannabear
04-04-2006, 20:09
Thanks heaps! She was thorough, but we just didnt see eye to eye on the birth part - and isnt that pretty much the most important thing!

MamaSage
04-04-2006, 20:12
Firstly, I reckon find another obstetrician!!

I am assuming you are going as a private patient? If so you will more than likey find you will be pushed to have the operation. All you can do is know your facts, be confident and know in yourseld that you are paying this person for their services, and that you will have the birth that you want, not the operation that the ob wants you to have.

I am 12 weeks pg, and had an emergency C/S with Bridie. I am going public again, as I feel I have more chance of getting the birth I want. Sadly, statistically you are more likely to have intervention and/or a C/S as a private patient, and I will not go down that road again.
If you want some more info, I have a heap of good links you can arm yourself with ;) Good luck, stand up for your rights!

Briannabear
04-04-2006, 20:15
Thanks Carlia!
I went public with my DD and it was such an awful experience that I vowed to go private this time. (although its bitter/sweet because maybe this time would have been better public :rolleyes: )

Tracie
04-04-2006, 22:52
Hi Brianna Bear,

Certainly did change my OB at 37 weeks! (Hi Happy Lady - how are you doing?)

You are in a great position in that you are still early in your pregnancy...don't settle for second best...ask around and find an OB who is supportive of VBAC (and I mean supportive enough to get you to the finish line - you probably need to connect with some mums who have had successful VBACS).

Also, for my second bubs I shopped around and actually went to see 4 different OB's before I found one who I felt really listened to me, and understood me and what I wanted.

Wish you all the best

Tracie

wattle
05-04-2006, 05:56
Hi Briannabear.

Definitely find another OB. It should be all about you and bub, not about them and their holiday schedule!!

I wasn't happy with my ob last time, he insisted I deliver on my back although I didn't want to. (That must have added at least an hour of extra pushing :mad: ) He was a nice person, but we didn't agree on certain things. However I stayed with him, but wouldn't do it again.

I guess you can have good or bad experiences with public and private.

Make sure you're 100% happy, there's a zillion ob's out there so you don't have to have one you're not sure about.

Briannabear
05-04-2006, 06:51
Thanks everyone. Im going to ring around today and see how I go.
Does anyone know of a good ob in South Brisbane who is supportive of VBAC's?

Briannabear
06-04-2006, 19:27
I had an appointment with Dr Neil Shilton today and he was fabulous.
I wont repeat myself too much because Ive posted the details on another thread, but he is willing if everything is going well to let me have a trial labour!!
He said as far as VBACs go Im in the category of women that are more likely to have success with one!! Yay!
:fingerscrossed: things go to plan!