View Full Version : hot flushes

Farmgirl
11-04-2008, 04:43 PM
I started Provera last night, and this arvo i kept getting hot flushes this was going on for about an hour.

Is this normal symptoms with this pill?

And i think i am getting AF early , i never get it this early now i am a bit worried that i might have to hold off with the iVF till next month
Could this have something to with the pill i just started taking?

:crying:

becster05
11-04-2008, 07:36 PM
Hi Farmgirl,

I am by no means an expert, but I just read the side effects sheet of my provera tablets and it says stuff like sweating can be a side effect. I just did a search on google and it came up with a big list of info. You may find that helpful. I don't think provera will completely stop your cycle either. It will definately usually make AF a bit later but I think it can still come regardless of taking the medication. I hope this helps matey :)

Farmgirl
12-04-2008, 05:55 AM
hey becster,

Thanks for that bit of info i appreciate it.

Late last night i did a search on google and that made me feel a bit better.

And as for the sweating i had a 2nd pill last night and i gotta work today, i hope i don't go as red in the face as i did yesterday, but i bet i do!!!! :)

LivingINhope
12-04-2008, 10:16 AM
Farmgirl not sure what Provera is but I know when I satrted synerol (nose spray) to shut off my natural cycle I had major hot flushes. I also got aggitated, low blood pressure and sent my thyroid levels into a spin.

However its now day 3 and I find the effects are lessening, like anything hormonal it take some getting use to. Hope your OK, have a good day at work I am wrking myself today.

Sound slike we are at around the same stage I am just about to stop the pill and start FSH next week.

Goos luck :)

Veruca Salt
12-04-2008, 12:03 PM
Hey there Farmgirl,

I'm on different meds again (Lucrin) but I've been getting hot flushes also. I spoke to one of the nurses at Repromed yesterday because I'm not really enjoying how I feel right now and she told me it's normal.

Apparently we're in a 'pseudo-menopause' and getting symptoms which are similar to real menopause (not a very nice preview of what life's going to be like at that time).

I've also been getting headaches, and I usually don't get them at all.

The nurse (bless her) said all she could do was offer her sympathy and tell me to stick with it.

LivingINhope, I'm on day 10 of the Lucrin now and I'm finding the symptoms are still here. I hope they start to reduce soon, you've given me hope that they will.

V xx

Farmgirl
13-04-2008, 05:52 AM
LivingINhope,

I am also getting agitated, and i think provera is similar to the nose spray.

tonight it will be day 4 and u right it does take time to get used to stuff like this, i was real worried yesterday as i thought i was getting AF but it was only a bit of spotting, i will check with nurses tomorrow about it.

Veruca salt,

I start Lucrin monday evening, and if this is similar to real menopause i don't like it!!! :doh:

I am so glad i found this site as talking to everyone and also reading alot it actually makes me feel better.

xo xo

jesmon
13-04-2008, 09:26 AM
Hi Farmgirl,
This is my first cycle so like you, am finding these weird things happening to my body!!!
I am on the nasal spray & have a permanently hot face. I went to the chemist & they advised Gingko Biloba & Magnesium as they are both for PMS symptoms & stress. Plus I have been drinking heaps of water.
Whether that has contributed or not I don't know, but I have been very lucky and only had the hot face as a side effect.

Livin In Hope - we are at about the same stage. I am starting injections tonight. Hopefully we are going thru the 2WW together & both get a BFP at the end:yelclap:

Good luck.
Kez

cantwait08
13-04-2008, 01:43 PM
Girls, i am yet to experience hot flushes only on day 2 of Synarel but i was telling my mum and she was like, 'well now you will know what im going thru!'

She has been whining a lot about it of late (headaches, hot flushes, dizziness, etc) and i have been telling her to chill and not be so uptight etc.. :o

She will probably give my own back now!! hehe:shame:

Farmgirl
13-04-2008, 02:57 PM
Hi there cantwait08,

Thats funny i reckon you are right about what your mum will say to you !! :laughing: