View Full Version : Single parents support system!!!!
claireandbailey
04-04-2006, 14:05
I have posted in the single parents section before and also recieved heaps of good advice and support. but i still cant help feeling lonely. I get so jealous of ppl that have partners who they share things with. sure i've got my mum and family and friends but its not the same as a having a partner.
I live with my mum and she is a great help, but lately she;s been working heaps and i havent had a break from bailey for 2 weeks now and i know she is my responsibility and i love her to death but i feel like my head is gonna explode or something. we have great fun throughout the day but i am so tired cos there is noone here to help me much.
sorry i just need to get it out sometimes,
melindabust
04-04-2006, 14:31
:) I totaly understand how you feel,
I have two girls a 19mths old and a5 1/2 year old and i love them to bits but yes it would be nice to share it all with some one.
Im trying to get a parenting group up and running if you are interested. Wot is your age and location. im 23 and live at capalaba.
PM if you'd liked
claireandbailey
04-04-2006, 14:38
I am from Campbelltown. I dont know where Capalaba is though.
lukaelmo
04-04-2006, 15:14
Hey Claireandbailey,
I am not a single mum at all, so I hope you don't mind me replying to your thread.
I have a very supportive partner who works from home, so the care of our little dude is really shared between us. I don't know how parents whose partners are at work all day cope, let alone single mums. So I just wanted to say how much I admire you for doing such a hard job, and doing it by yourself. I take my hat off to you and to all the single parents out there.
To say that you would like a break is an understatement. I go barmy all the time, and I get breaks every day.
I completely understand where you are cmoing from. Oh to have a partner to share things with!!!! Mite have to go on the hunt one day soon. lol!!!!!
Will be back lata to introduce myself as i can hear my son crying
Anna
tyler's mum
04-04-2006, 19:18
hey claire,, i understand and feel the same way,,, i have great help from mum, dad and my sister but at the end of the day its just me and bub,, i dont think im ready to date anyone,,, but i dont wanna be alone:confused: iam always wondering what it would be like with tyler's dad around,,, and wonder if i should try to find him,,, its so hard to know what to do and also hard to ask for help,,, many times mum has said she will look after tyler and i let her but i feel so lost and alone with out her she is my whole life now,,, as sad as that may seem but its ture,,, so i cant win i wont a break but hate being away for her,, i feel alone and not sure if i wanna date:rolleyes: ........
I feel the same way. I have great family support but it isn't the same as a partner. And yeah, I get really lonely. I live alone with DD but always seem to be inviting people over for tea or something. It ends up making my house messier and me more depressed. Vicious cycle.
I also study full-time and I sometimes wonder just how the hell I do it. Oh, and a job on top of that! I sometimes feel like handing DD off to someone and saying "Seeya!" but I know I would die without DD. I would miss her so much and feel all empty and more lonely, but I completely understand wanting some "me" time. Oh for a nice sleep in, brekkie in bed and a massage.
Ohhh.... not for a few years yet I'd say!
Hang in there and pm me if you want. We at bubhub are always here to listen and help.
My name is Anna and I am 24years old and a single mum with a 5month old baby named tyler. At present we live in New Zealand but we are moving over in May to the brisbane/gc area. I would love to make some contacts before we come so i dont feel so housebound when i get there.
I would love to stay in contact until I do get there and meet you all when i do.
Anna
You should look up the Aunties and Uncles service. I don't know what the age limit for kids is, but its basically an organisation that matches people up with parents who need some time out, which is often single parents.
I'm sure there are heaps of people out there who would love to share in Bailey's childhood with you. I don't mean weirdos either, its usually young women who are quite clucky but not quite ready to start there own families yet. Not only them though, sometimes its older people who miss having their kids at that age. Its all sort of people actually, they get police checked and all the rest of it.
Might be something of use to you.
melindabust
07-04-2006, 08:08
do they work in brisbane to or just sydney
I have posted in the single parents section before and also recieved heaps of good advice and support. but i still cant help feeling lonely. I get so jealous of ppl that have partners who they share things with. sure i've got my mum and family and friends but its not the same as a having a partner.
I live with my mum and she is a great help, but lately she;s been working heaps and i havent had a break from bailey for 2 weeks now and i know she is my responsibility and i love her to death but i feel like my head is gonna explode or something. we have great fun throughout the day but i am so tired cos there is noone here to help me much.
sorry i just need to get it out sometimes,
Ditto with everything you have said. My dad lives with me and the only family member I have in WA but he is more often out than home. He has his own life to live which he does, so having a break from my DS is very hard. He is in daycare twice a week, once so I can work and the other so I have a full day just to myself. I don't know why I do this as I usually don't do anything, can't afford it.
Being single, unemployed (4hrs work) and financially broke and housebound is not a life but I wouldn't want to be without my DS. Catch 22 really.
I would like to have a partner in my life but I just don't have the time, finance or energy to do so, and I have that 'Judge the book by it's cover' thing. If only they took the time to read it.
Talking to everyone on BH is great and have meet up with some of the mums around my area, tho most are in their early 20's where I'm not is a little hard to get used to but it's just not the same as a partner.
Just wanted to say to all you fabulous single mums, I think you are doing an awesome job and you all deserve a round of applause :yelclap: :yelclap:
I did it for 5 yrs, and I know how tough it is, I take my hat off to all of you:D
do they work in brisbane to or just sydney
To be honest, I don't know but I think its actually a worldwide organisation, so there definitely should be one in most major cities.
KiLLaKaZ
08-04-2006, 03:48
I know how you feel, my bubs isn't born yet but I still get down sometimes when I go out and see couples with there bubs together or at the hospital when a preggo woman walks in with her partner :(
big hugs
and if you want to chat just add me to your msn :)
i'm in the same boat... i work at woolies doing nightfill & start work when the store's still open. i usually fill the health & beauty aisles & so i'm usually around the baby section & see LOTS of couples come in & shop together for baby needs & i almost cry each time!! but i know that even if my hubby & i were still together, that we'd STILL never shop together as he HATES shopping & always made me do it alone... hopefully i can find someone more supportive in the future if it doesn't end up working out between us (by the way he's talking, tho - there's no chance of getting back together, he's made up his STUBBORN mind)!
sorry about the rant - i thought i was coping okay, but as i type this i have tears rolling down my cheeks & even when i see the couples shopping, i cry sometimes!! :(
melindabust
08-04-2006, 07:35
Im not sure if we've spoken my name is melinda im 23 and have two girls. Sorry did you say u were pregnant? Is this your 1st.
I know what you mean about shopping i feel it to was begining to think going a bit mental,
I dnt know if you have read any of my threads but im am started a group for this area
My original intention was to make it a single parents group just as i have not found any of around this wayso if you would be interested feel free to pm me
Keep smilling:)
Killakaz, I'msorry to hear your are going thru this difficult time. I can Only imagine what some of you ladies go thru when your partner up and leaves while you still pregnant or after the baby has arrived. You have always thought you would have the support of your partner then all of a sudden alone. I never had a partner to start with so I didn't go thru that separation bit but the father of my DS doesn't have anything to do with him which is hard for me.
Kaz I know how you feel in they way you think your coping then you hear something or see something and it triggers a memory or something, it happens to me (about a different thing) but it's only natural we feel sad a certain things. It's a grieving thing, we all grieve over different thing not just death. And you mentioned hubby does not want to reconsilate, that's a shame he wont even try especially with bubs on the way.
I have one thing to say Kaz to youabout being a single mum is that 'You can do it' you may not think so at the moment but you can, take it from me if I can You can. Chin up mate you will soon have a beeeeautiful baby to love and who will love you. :smiliedance:
bootiful
10-04-2006, 00:42
:hugs: BIG HUGS AND BIG KISSES !!!! :kiss:
YOU ARE ALL VERY BRAVE AND VERY SUCCESSFUL. DONT EVER GIVE UP! YOU WILL ALWAYS HAVE SOMETIME TO TALK TO, SOMEONE TO LEAN ON, AND A SHOULDER TO CRY UPON!
WHEN THINGS SEEM TOO HARD :banghead: JUST LOOK INTO THE EYES OF YOUR CHILD AND SEE THE REASON THAT YOU ARE DOING WHAT YOU ARE.
SOMETIMES EVEN IF YOU HAVE A HUSBAND OR PARTNER THINGS ARE NOT AS EASY AS THEY MAY SEEM.
IF ANYONE NEEDS TO TALK FEEL FREE TO DROP ME A LINE ANYTIME. :ecomcity:
KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK! MUMS ALL OVER THE WORLD ARE PROUD OF YOU
angeleyes013_5@hotmail.com
CYA