View Full Version : If you could just imagine....
Frazzled
10-04-2008, 22:05
That you are going to have a new baby and you want to use cloth full time. Your husband gives you a healthy credit card and says - buy whatever you need....:cloud9:
Tell me - what would you buy and from where to build a brand new stash for a new baby....
By the way - this is not my case - I just need your help and I figure if I turn it into a fantasy situation, I might get more replies!:laughing:
10-04-2008, 22:50
Ok here would be my list :
Cherubs Kiss - Either the new Auriel or just the AIO HoneBoy is fine by me heh !
Krap Katchers - The best night nappy for a heavy wetter.
Berry Plush Minkee - Just yummmy heh.
Ecobubs Wool - These are a pocket nappy & im still dying to get one !!!!! They look so awesome & being wool they have to be great heh !
Starbunz - The pocket nappies are just gorgeous & the type of thing you want shown off cause they are so cute !
Blueberry's & Magicalls - Have been great AIO's for us & really handy.
Swaddlebee's Econappies - Interested to find out how others rate this nappy ... Has me interested !
GreenKids - Great all round pocket nappy & are always on the go with us.
BabyBeehinds Bamboo - Great all rounders & always handy whether it be under some gorgeous woollies or under a PUL cover.
Covers - I would always grab 4 wool shorties or longies depending on the season they are so handy ! Then I would also grab some PUL covers like TotsBots love the colours & the fact they hold poo-plosions cause of the gussets, love 'em !
I also like a lot of the WAHM's nappies i have gotten around the way ... THey are great quality & have been great nappies for us !
I would service my sewing machine, buy heaps of yummy bamboo fleece, bamboo velour, PUL, delicious cotton knits, a snap machine and buy some time (laughing) and have heaps of fun sewing up gorgeous newborn nappies :D More addictive than buying them I reckon!
10-04-2008, 23:42
I would service my sewing machine, buy heaps of yummy bamboo fleece, bamboo velour, PUL, delicious cotton knits, a snap machine and buy some time (laughing) and have heaps of fun sewing up gorgeous newborn nappies :D More addictive than buying them I reckon!
Totally .... I still have all my bamboo sitting here waiting for me to buy a bloomin machine but as you commented on its 'buying some time' thats the issue lol !
It will happen though .... Sooner rather than later i hope !!!!
For a newborn.. Minky Bubblebubs..
or I'd just spend a fortune and Minky Delight, Malden Mills & Snaps Australia and make my own.. so much yummier than any I've bought so far.
I am only new to all of this, but I love and would buy:
Green Kids Minky Times (Pockets and they do keep baby's bottom dry)
Itti Bitti D'Lish (these are so trim and fit well under any clothes too)
Bubblebubs Minky (A great all in one nappy and good to show off too)
Don't know about many others yet, I am not into fitted's but a lot of other people swear by them.
I am sure there are sooo many other wonderful nappies out there and I can't wait to here about them too, I will definately be checking in on this thread.
MrsScatterbrain
11-04-2008, 20:26
AIOs - Bubblebubs, Bits for Bots and Bitti D'Lish!
Some fantastic bamboo fitteds (yet to find a perfect one!) and some soakers and longies! (Llamajama and my Mum's hand-knitted ones!:D)
And some Greenkids - LOVE the new giraffe ones! How cute!
Oh - and some GNSTs and Sandman nappies for night.
Sheer Bliss
11-04-2008, 20:39
I'd go for some Bitti D'lish, a few bitti boos, BBB for night with some lovely WAHM soakers. A few of the bummis covers, and i'd like to try a motherease PUL cover - i've heard they are great, but never used one! Maybe a few Magicalls for those in between times.
Cushie tushie couture, and maybe a few of the gorgeous pockets/AIO's i seen about the place in the hunt - sugar shots, craft alley and wahmnaps - CGR designs i think!!
I'd get some BUBBLEBUBS!!!!!!!! They are my fave. I would probably get all bubblebubs LOL. They are sized though so if you want OSFA's then get some Wriggleybumz.
Maybe some bumgenius's and defnitely 4 baby beehinds bamboo for night time and some wool covers.
I'm so jealous!
Aww Frazzled... You had me all excited for you!
Nice dream though ;).
I'd buy up big on BBH Magic Alls, GK's and totsbots bamboozles - That's what Lincoln was in since about 2 weeks old & they were all fantastic.
12-04-2008, 10:57
I'd buy a heap of gorgeous Llamajama's..
Plenty of bamboo flats for the first couple of months when they'd otherwise just grow out of all those gorgeous newborn MCN's (how devastating that would be!!)
Lots of Green kids Anytimes, a couple of funtimes..
BB MagicAll's..
HoneyBoy! from Cherub's Kiss.... whatever you can get and as much of it as possible :D
Bubblebub's AIO's, and Bubblebub's GNST's for when older..
Bamboo velour VBSNs...
Wild Child fitteds...
Circular knitting needles and plenty of the softest, funkiest handdyed yarn for beautiful woolies :yes:
HoopDeeDoo's bamboo fitteds and fleece pockets...
What a nice dream! :bee::cloud9:
Frazzled
13-04-2008, 22:24
Thanks guys!
A couple of questions....
where do you get KK's from?
And, are lots of the MCN's too big for tiny newborns? Is it best to start off with flats? I was looking at my son's GK's today and they just seem so big???
Are MagicAll's good for little bubba's? Are BB ones have been good for DS till he was toilet trained at 2.
Anyone got a top ten list of websites I should be hitting?
Is it worth waiting to the expo? are the specials better there?
Ta x
Oh and in an ideal work - how many nappies, inserts and covers etc - would you get for a newborn stash?
14-04-2008, 02:20
Ooooohhhhh how could i forget Bubblebubs !!!! :doh: They are awesome !
Thanks guys!
Krap Katchers dot com .... iykwim ! Hollie may have some up atm havent looked lately otherwise she may still have a list for you to go on !
And, are lots of the MCN's too big for tiny newborns? Is it best to start off with flats? I was looking at my son's GK's today and they just seem so big???
Some will be yes like the osfm although it does depend on the bubba ! We used the GK's as covers for the first few months using either CK's Raphaels or BBB's !
Some like your Magicalls are sized so you can get something that fits better but be warned remember they do grow fast !
For us we stuck with flats for the first months or so when they have the icky meconium ( didnt want it to ruin my gorgeous nappies :o ) & then cause it was easier when they are pooing every nappy change !
I used PUL covers like the TotsBots or Eenies for the day then longies at nite.
Are MagicAll's good for little bubba's? Are BB ones have been good for DS till he was toilet trained at 2.
I love our Magicalls but many dont so you really would be best getting a couple then seeing how you go !
Anyone got a top ten list of websites I should be hitting?
Is it worth waiting to the expo? are the specials better there?
Oh and in an ideal work - how many nappies, inserts and covers etc - would you get for a newborn stash?
I would go with Darlings Downunder, The Wee Wuns & Ozebaby for a start but then just google your nappy name for the true website iykwim .... Sorry im not allowed to post them as its against the rules !
Havent been to the expo so im unsure but i know there are only limited items there.
Ok well i did go overboard but here was mine :
40 Terry Flats
20 Half towels with liner attached ( homemade )
4 PUL covers - Tots Bots & BB's
2 Longies ( winter bub ! )
4 Eenies
6 GK's + 6 microfibre inserts ( didnt use any others as they get changed so often when little ! )
6 CK's
2 VB
8 BBB's
1 KK
1 VBSN
That was to start with because i only used the CK's when going out & then flats at home.
By 2mths i got the following to add :
4 Blueberrys
6 Magicalls
4 more BBB's
2 Bubblebubs
I then added more by 4mths including more woolies & he started wearing Boof's GK's & there are around 20 of them !
I tend to use mainly the microfibre in the GK's alone as i change him every 3hrs but if we are going out i throw in a hemp but for nite use a bamboo insert.
I have waaaaay too much in our stash !
jembelina
14-04-2008, 08:41
From what I have, know adn love.................
I would stock up on.............
Mandy Macs fitteds
Greenkids anytimes
BBB's
BB PUL covers
I'd buy a heap of gorgeous wool(and soem spare time too!) and knit up a heap of woolies!!!
And i'd love to try.....
Krap Katchers
Wild Child nappies
itti bittis
Hi. Just wanted to say KK's can mean Keester Kovers as well. If you were looking for these they are on Ozebaby sometimes under the store name Gossamer Dreams, or at Possum Pouches (dotcomdotau).
Have fun building your stash.:D
I am working on my dream stash now for my baby due in Sept.
Patch
Pookey Pockets
Bits for Bots
Whizz Kidz
Wild Child
Zada
Bubblebubs
Happies (flats)
prefolds (Chinese are suppose to be best)
Auriels (would love a HoneyBoy!)
Definitely woollies!
Frazzled
15-04-2008, 21:09
Thanks guys, appreciate the advice. Just bumping this up too if anyone else wants to add anything! (Puhleease!).
Another question - can you explain the role of the woollen covers to me? Are they just as good/better than a PUL cover? I can knit, so obviously they would be more economical as well. Where could I find a pattern? Size of needles and ply of wool?
Ta x
Frazzled
15-04-2008, 21:19
Also - for BBH - hemp or bamboo?
Frazzled
15-04-2008, 21:21
20 Half towels with liner attached ( homemade )
And what precisely does this entail? Used for?
Sorry I am so clueless....:confused:
15-04-2008, 21:32
Also - for BBH - hemp or bamboo?
Bamboo all the way because i find my boys have both incredibly smelly urine lol so bamboo doesnt get the rank stink that hemp can.
And what precisely does this entail? Used for?
Sorry I am so clueless....:confused:
LOL ! Sorry shouldve explained better !
These are just terry toweling like your towels or you could even use terry bought by the metre cut into a square then folded & sewn together with the polar fleece on top to make a rectangle pad. Makes life really easy when you are lazy like me & want to throw them into say an Eeenie or cover like TotsBots.
As for woolies they are much better in that they breathe really well this then means they are somewhat evapourative. They keeps bubs warm in winter & cool in summer. If you google wool soakers you will be able to find loads of patterns & free ones also.
bubbyboy
15-04-2008, 22:16
At the mo my favorites are the Itti Bitti D'Lish.:cloud9: They are always the first one's I grab! Don't know how well they would go with newborn explosions though!:no:
Then:
Bubblebubs - love minky!
BumGenius - my workhorse nappy!
Cushie Tushies Courture - For showing off!
Frazzled, check out ozclothnappies for links to different soakers and various nappy information :)