View Full Version : Annual Pram Ribbon Morning Tea!! - VIC
razzle
07-04-2008, 08:51 AM
:flowerz: Put Sunday the 1st of June in your diary! :flowerz:
:party: Bub Hub Forum's 4th birthday! :party:
All this talk about a national Bub Hub meet has turned into the next best thing - a day where Bub Hub members all over Australia can get together - same time, same day - and have morning tea! Bring your whole family and meet the people you chat to on a day-to-day basis.
We need a volunteer or two for each capital city and regional area to help me coordinate and organise. We can’t do it without help, so if you’re interested in being an official Bub Hub organiser, email me at razzle@bubhub.com.au now!
chellegoth
08-04-2008, 12:07 PM
Cool! I probably won't have the child but would certainly try and come.
Funkychicken
08-04-2008, 12:11 PM
Absolutely I will be there. :smiliedance:
alphafemale2901
08-04-2008, 12:37 PM
You most definitely couldn't keep me away.
Grouse idea. :yelclap:
WorkingClassMum
08-04-2008, 12:38 PM
Ummm - it's my sister's birthday - I think I'll tell her I have something waaaaay better to do
TwoBlue
08-04-2008, 02:03 PM
I'll be there for sure !
*Amethyst*
08-04-2008, 02:07 PM
Id go, except I dont think anybody will be holding one where I live because I seem to be the only one from the ballarat area here and I cant travel to melbs with no car and too hard by train..
baaah I feel so bloody isolated sometimes!! :(
08-04-2008, 02:37 PM
We wouldn't miss it!!!!!!! :yelclap:
jembelina
08-04-2008, 10:32 PM
We will be there!!!!
♥PurpleStar♥
09-04-2008, 07:09 PM
I'LL be there for sure :yelclap::D:yelclap::D
09-04-2008, 09:32 PM
I would like to come. :D
BigGeorge
15-04-2008, 03:23 PM
Oooh, I'm so excited!
I can't wait to meet you all :D.
razzle
16-04-2008, 03:51 PM
It's going to be great!
I'm slowly getting it together with locations and organisers!!
ml2tope
25-04-2008, 08:49 PM
What a great idea! I'll definitely be there :)
nikki78
06-05-2008, 03:35 PM
This is a great idea we will be there for sure
razzle
10-05-2008, 10:55 PM
I think we have a location... still in discussion with the other organisers...
BigGeorge
12-05-2008, 09:40 PM
So... Any more Melbournites interested in meeting some fellow hubbers? :D
Hunt&Deeg'sMUMMY
13-05-2008, 08:32 AM
great idea I'd love to come
SethandRuby'sMum
13-05-2008, 08:35 AM
depends where it is but i would like to come :yes:
razzle
14-05-2008, 10:13 PM
Melbourne chickies have we decided on a final location yet?
bubbleyblossom
16-05-2008, 09:10 AM
It depends on the location but I'd love to come! Any location decided?
razzle
16-05-2008, 09:15 AM
Final decision is still to be made, but it will be somewhere close to the city like the Botanic Gardens, or Fitzroy Gardens...
Guest list: (thought I'd add all the Melb mods!!)Razzle
TwoBlue
Ziggie
StellaJ
FunkyChicken
Chickadee
Hazellew
bubbleyblossom
16-05-2008, 09:16 AM
Can you add my name with a question mark? It depends on the location but I will try my best :D
ml2tope
16-05-2008, 09:24 AM
I will be there!
I might come too depends where it is :)
jag5000
19-05-2008, 11:50 AM
I'd love to go!
any locations etc yet?
mysweetpea
19-05-2008, 11:53 AM
i never got my pram ribbon when i put in for one last year! :(
but i'd be interested in a meet for sure! would love to meet some other mums!
razzle
22-05-2008, 07:52 AM
Location has been set. It's very close to the city and easily accessible via public transport.
Guest list:
Razzle
TwoBlue
Ziggie
StellaJ
FunkyChicken
Chickadee
Hazellew
Chellegoth
Alphafemale2901
Jembelina
Purplestorm
Kymmy
nikki78
mummy21soon2b2
SethsandRubysmum
Bubblyblossom?
ml2tope
mash
jag5000
mysweetpea
*Amethyst*
22-05-2008, 08:00 AM
where abouts is it?
razzle
22-05-2008, 09:13 AM
It's at the Carlton Gardens (http://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/info.cfm?top=25&pa=&pg=1282), just behind the Museum.
ScullyInOz
22-05-2008, 11:49 AM
Can I please be added to the list? I would love to come !
Anne
alias ScullyInOz
TwoBlue
22-05-2008, 05:05 PM
Guest list:
Razzle
TwoBlue
Ziggie
StellaJ
FunkyChicken
Chickadee
Hazellew
Chellegoth
Alphafemale2901
Jembelina
Purplestorm
Kymmy
nikki78
mummy21soon2b2
SethsandRubysmum
Bubblyblossom?
ml2tope
mash
jag5000
mysweetpea
ScullyInOz
Now that the location is set its starting to get exciting !!
Who else is coming?
It would be great to have an awesomely HUGE turnout !!
SethandRuby'sMum
22-05-2008, 05:57 PM
what time? and how is the parking?
Hunt&Deeg'sMUMMY
22-05-2008, 08:14 PM
theres parking underground at the Museum and i dont think it costs that much around $10 for the whole day?????
ml2tope
22-05-2008, 08:15 PM
what time are we meeting?
TwoBlue
22-05-2008, 09:03 PM
theres parking underground at the Museum and i dont think it costs that much around $10 for the whole day?????
OOOh and you could even go to the museum after the BH meet !! :yes:
bubbleyblossom
24-05-2008, 05:25 PM
If I am not in Gippsland for my brothers birthday I will so be there! Next Sunday?
SethandRuby'sMum
24-05-2008, 05:36 PM
:yelclap::smiliedance: i will be there.
after today how it went so well :thumbsup:
do we have a time?
bubbleyblossom
24-05-2008, 05:37 PM
I just thought of something which is probably dumb! Do I need a pram ribbon? Lol
BigGeorge
24-05-2008, 05:41 PM
:D No! You don't need a ribbon!
And it starts at 10.30.
Oooh, I can't wait to meet you all... I'm sick of all the same old faces... :raspberry:... It'll be great to make some new friends :thumbsup:.
TwoBlue
24-05-2008, 05:43 PM
:yelclap::smiliedance: i will be there.
after today how it went so well :thumbsup:
do we have a time?
Great to hear :D I'll PM you
I just thought of something which is probably dumb! Do I need a pram ribbon? Lol
No I dont think so.. it wont hurt but we are aiming to make the location pretty "BubHub" obvious :p
bubbleyblossom
24-05-2008, 05:44 PM
I just had that thought and was horrified thinking what if i cant go coz i dont have one! Silly me! Lol
I will see what I can do. After missing the meet today id love to come next weekend.
What exactly happens there?
BigGeorge
24-05-2008, 05:57 PM
What usually happens at meets (that I go to anyway!)... The kids run amock, and the adults stand around and chat/eat/drink/be merry :D.
bubbleyblossom
24-05-2008, 06:00 PM
Okay cool, sorry Ive only been to a meet once before for a different site so didnt know what happens
Also is it okay for me to come even tho I dont have kids yet?
SethandRuby'sMum
24-05-2008, 06:08 PM
bec - yes, u dont need kids. i will lend u mine :laughing:
would love to meet u
bubbleyblossom
24-05-2008, 06:13 PM
Thats okay then, as long as nobody has an issue with it!
TwoBlue
24-05-2008, 06:15 PM
bec - yes, u dont need kids. i will lend u mine :laughing:
No way she has to take mine first !! Yours are too easy :p
Of course you are welcome Bec, kids or no kids :thumbsup:
*Amethyst*
24-05-2008, 06:16 PM
oooh why does it have to be just that little bit too far for me to go :hissy:
BigGeorge
24-05-2008, 06:37 PM
Amethyst... You have no excuse!!! I know where you live, and it's not too far :D. Come on!!! The more the merrier!
Do I have to bribe you?!?!?! :raspberry:
*Amethyst*
24-05-2008, 07:00 PM
but Id have to catch a train and then the metlink trains and its so much stuffing around :( not to mention Id be traveling during dd's naptime and she will be super cranky (yes I have built a rod for my own back)
jembelina
24-05-2008, 07:46 PM
Do we have details yet?? If so could someone please pm me??
Oh, and is everyone bringing their dp?? Mine is really not teh slightest bit interested in coming, but if others are I will force him, lol!
SethandRuby'sMum
24-05-2008, 08:18 PM
my dh is coming :thumbsup:
and is it the north gardens or south gardens? (my dh is wondering)
jembelina
26-05-2008, 08:05 AM
Please.........can someone pm me the details???!!!
TwoBlue
26-05-2008, 08:08 AM
Do we have details yet?? If so could someone please pm me??
Oh, and is everyone bringing their dp?? Mine is really not teh slightest bit interested in coming, but if others are I will force him, lol!
PM's havnt been sent yet but its pretty straight forward... its in the Carlton Gardens (I'll PM the time to you) on Sun 1st June
My DH is coming and I know a few are...
and is it the north gardens or south gardens? (my dh is wondering)
Its where the playground is....
jembelina
26-05-2008, 08:39 AM
oh.......I just pm'd you, but never mind....I didn't know where it was.
Hunt&Deeg'sMUMMY
30-05-2008, 07:56 AM
Originally Posted by mummy21soon2b2 theres parking underground at the Museum and i dont think it costs that much around $10 for the whole day?????OOOh and you could even go to the museum after the BH meet !! :yes:
Its Mummy21soon2b2 ive have a name change:D:smiliedance:
If my DH agrees (he drives the car & we are over 2hrs away from Melb) I'll be there. :D
chellegoth
30-05-2008, 10:51 AM
Looks like the child won't be coming at all but I should still be there.
Chickadee
30-05-2008, 12:27 PM
DD & I should be there.
TwoBlue
30-05-2008, 12:36 PM
Are we getting excited ladies (and gents !!) ??
Its going to be a GREAT meet..
it looks like AWESOME sunny weather... (17 and fine :sunshine:)
Really looking forward to seeing and meeting you all
BigGeorge
30-05-2008, 12:54 PM
Yay!
Hey... Anyone want to bring a football? The men can run with the kids then :D. I'd bring one if I had one :o.
TwoBlue
30-05-2008, 01:46 PM
Yay!
Hey... Anyone want to bring a football? The men can run with the kids then :D. I'd bring one if I had one :o.
We will.. we only have about half a dozen here :rolleyes:
munchkins
30-05-2008, 04:10 PM
I will be there if it's not to late to join... oh what time are we all meeting?
hwy, i would love to go... but unorfunately we have other plans!!! i made a promise to dp and cant break it!!!
maybe next time...
bubbleyblossom
30-05-2008, 04:24 PM
I dont think ive had the time pm'd to me.
Can someone plz pm me?
Im hoping to be there, have other plans for the weekend too but we'll see :D
razzle
30-05-2008, 11:11 PM
It's at 10.30 at the Carlton Gardens in Rathdowne St, just behind the museum near the Exhibition Buildings. There's a playground there.
We'll have a sausage sizzle going, so just follow your nose!
PunkyDiva
31-05-2008, 06:03 PM
Bub has a cold but if he seems ok in the morning I will be there:thumbsup:
BigGeorge
31-05-2008, 06:20 PM
Thanks TwoBlue, about bringing the football... Now all our DP's/DH's can do the male bonding thing :cool:.
See you all tomorrow guys :wave:.
SalTheGal
31-05-2008, 10:02 PM
Hope its not too late for me to say i might be there- stupid me only just found this thread!!!
Chickadee
01-06-2008, 08:19 AM
It's at 10.30 at the Carlton Gardens in Rathdowne St, just behind the museum near the Exhibition Buildings.
ok, now that just confused me! In my head, 'behind the museum' is the opposite side from the Exhibition Buildings. :laughing:
The playground is in the north part of the garden, North of the museum and closest to the intersection of Rathdowne St & Carlton St.
http://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/rsrc/PDFs/Parks/NewMapPDFs/carlton.pdf
chellegoth
01-06-2008, 01:49 PM
Great morning! Ruby fell asleep on the way home :smiliedance:
TwoBlue
01-06-2008, 02:02 PM
Really fun morning !!!
It was great to see you Razzle, Chickadee, Ziggie, SethsandRubysmum, KayteO, Jembelina, Salthegal, Chellegoth plus partners, children and sisters :p
(Hope I havnt forgotten anyone :o)
My boys had such a wonderful time, ate far too much cake and came home, wet, dirty and exhausted :yes:
Hope someone posts some pics soon :D
TwoBlue
01-06-2008, 02:08 PM
You most definitely couldn't keep me away.
We wouldn't miss it!!!!!!!
I'LL be there for sure
I would like to come
This is a great idea we will be there for sure
great idea I'd love to come
I will be there!
I would love to come !
I will be there if it's not to late to join...
Well Ladies.. where were YOU all ??? :confused:
;):)
SethandRuby'sMum
01-06-2008, 03:34 PM
it was really nice to meet people and get out the house even if seth was a tad cranky but he slept well on the way home
WorkingClassMum
01-06-2008, 03:45 PM
A great morning - sorry I was late. We did the museum afterwards.
Both kids want to go to both the Zoo and the museum again - like next week!!!! DS - "And mum, all those other kids can come so you can talk to other Mummies about kids things":laughing::laughing:
(I am sorry if I was a bit offish - I needed a few painkillers this morning:o)
WitchHazel
01-06-2008, 05:07 PM
I just realised I never RSVP'd :o. Sorry, my brain has been on the blink since I had DS2!! Sounds like you all had a great time, and I can't wait to see the pictures. I couldn't make it - I had a birthday party that I couldn't miss, but I really wanted to come!
BigGeorge
01-06-2008, 06:45 PM
Well Ladies.. where were YOU all ??? :confused:
;):)
It was a great morning... Cranky husband aside :rolleyes:;)...
Must do it again - SOON!
WorkingClassMum
01-06-2008, 06:52 PM
Cranky husband aside ...
Must do it again - SOON!
Owh - He wasn't THAT bad - MOTH went to the tradies expo - you know TOOLS:rolleyes:
I'd like to do it again:yes:
munchkins
01-06-2008, 08:02 PM
I am so sorry girls DD2, was up until 5am tis morning with alot of wind, no matter what we tried it wouldn't come up... we finally got her to sleep around 5.15am then at 6.30DD1 woke up, we were so tired and couldn't keep our eye's open...
Next time we will be there for sure, but is it posisble to make it in the afternoon next time, just in case this happens again?
Funkychicken
01-06-2008, 08:29 PM
So glad you all had fun. What a great day weather wise!:thumbsup:
Looking forward to photos. :yes:
razzle
01-06-2008, 08:57 PM
I had a great time despite being late, and buggering up the bit about "yes the park DOES have a bbq" and then having a fight with DP about it and realising that HE was right and that it DID NOT have a bbq and what the heckles were we going to do with 60 sausages.... SuperTwoBlue came to the rescue and bought her portable bbq thank goodness and a lovely sausage sizzle was cooked by her DH and my DP.
And, it's also just occurred to me (as the official organiser - der) that we forgot to collect donations from everyone for the Biggest Morning Tea...
Please please please go here (http://vic.cancercouncilfundraising.org.au/personalPage.aspx?registrationID=29700)and donate a little something. Bub Hub have said that they will make up the shortfall of $1000... but every little bit from us helps!!
Leeny
01-06-2008, 09:01 PM
:laughing: I had to giggle.. I was just looking in on the VIC thread to see if it was similar to QLD's... We forgot donations too :o Sorry to intrude :D
razzle
01-06-2008, 09:03 PM
That's alright Leeny... you're more than welcome to intrude!
I think that SA was the same... :o
Leeny
01-06-2008, 09:06 PM
Geez the excitement of the day must have got to everyone :laughing: Oh well, I hope people do online donations instead :)
SalTheGal
01-06-2008, 09:14 PM
Hey everyone, thanks for a lovely day, it was nice to be able to make it to a meet :yelclap: as usually I am working! :gloomy: Nedd had a blast, and slept all the way home, which made my 1.5hr drive all the more peaceful.
I will upload the pics off my camera tomorrow night, on the wrong computer tonight.
Laine
01-06-2008, 09:29 PM
That's alright Leeny... you're more than welcome to intrude!
I think that SA was the same... :o
Tut tut tut you can take that back :laughing: The girls did give me their gold coinage :D And I just donated a little extra too as its going to a good cause.
Now I have defended SA I will lurk elsewhere :laughing:
razzle
01-06-2008, 09:43 PM
I'm so sorry Laine - you're absolutely right!! It was Brissie that forgot - not you guys... a thousand apologies! :o
So if anyone wants to donate... that link again.... http://vic.cancercouncilfundraising.org.au/personalPage.aspx?SID=24020
Leeny
01-06-2008, 09:46 PM
Shame on us Brisbane girls :o
razzle
01-06-2008, 09:47 PM
Shame on us Melbourne girls... :o
Laine
01-06-2008, 09:49 PM
I'm so sorry Laine - you're absolutely right!! It was Brissie that forgot - not you guys... a thousand apologies! :o
So if anyone wants to donate... that link again.... http://vic.cancercouncilfundraising.org.au/personalPage.aspx?SID=24020
To say that its totally ok and we forgive you :p would imply I am lurking here again. Which I am clearly not. So continue on :D
bubbleyblossom
02-06-2008, 08:58 AM
Im glad you all had a good day, Im really sorry I didnt make it. I aimed on going to Mums friday so i could be back saturday night meaning i could come to the meet on sunday but DP had to work :(
next meet I will so be there!
PunkyDiva
02-06-2008, 09:04 AM
Sorry we couldn't make it, all come down with colds now but glad a fun time was had by all. :thumbsup:
SalTheGal
03-06-2008, 01:10 PM
Just in case anyone missed it I have posted some pics here:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=181974
JoLily
03-06-2008, 03:39 PM
aww....sorry i missed it guys, i didn't make it....
:(
i'll blame my baby brain...thats always my excuse..
sounds like it was a great day
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.