View Full Version : Meet at Lollipops Playland (Cannon Hill)

purpleant
03-04-2006, 19:16
10am Tuesday 11th April 2006-Lollipops Playland

Would any of the Brisbane Southside mums like to meet at Lollipops Playland on Creek Rd Cannon Hill (via Bunnings entry) ??? There is an entry cost but at least it isn't weather dependent and there is a cafe for a cuppa and chat...

sopolicha
03-04-2006, 19:25
I may be interested. The only thing is, it is school holidays. It gets very busy in there over school holidays.

To avoid a bit of the hassle with this you could meet at 9.30 - opening time.

veve
03-04-2006, 22:24
oooh are you interested in going soppie??? (sorry - I've decided that is your new nickname - is that ok ??? :D) - If you are going... I might go too :) I dont see charlie enough ... Jack would love another playdate :smiliedance:

sopolicha
04-04-2006, 00:31
soppie by name.......getting soppier by nature :o

purpleant
04-04-2006, 09:21
9.30am is good for me, for those who may come later, we can meet inside at the cafe? Jenny, maybe this time we will meet for sure?

veve
04-04-2006, 10:18
:laughing: you better be there .. or it is strike two for you !!!!

cluck cluck
04-04-2006, 14:46
hi purpleant
me and samara will try and be there, 9.30 a little early for us :sleeping: :we probably wont get there till 10.30, but ill drive by and see if your all still there, youll probably be getting ready to leave by then! :rolleyes:

purpleant
05-04-2006, 15:37
Cluck Cluck

I will be there if you are definitely coming, we may have to leave before 12noon though or my little man turns into the biggest grump! He still has a midday sleep. Hope to see you all....

Shelly68
05-04-2006, 16:19
I just went to that place about 6 week ago for another meet.

It's pretty good in there for kids, they have a separate baby/toddler area.

The cost for adults is $3 from memory but that includes a hot drink ie, cappuccino/hot chocolate/coffee/tea etc.

Not bad value.

cluck cluck
07-04-2006, 10:21
purpleant

not a prob if I get there at about 10.30, an hour at the most should be plenty for my little one anyway, so You and your wee one can get home by 12.00 for a nap and lunch:thumbsup:

sopolicha
07-04-2006, 10:50
Will be giving this one a miss as well, maybe another time.

There is a bash at the Roma Street Parklands for kids who turn 5 this year so we will be going there instead.

maddymoo
07-04-2006, 14:06
We would love to come too! Depending on the morning we have, I will try to get there around 10:30

purpleant
07-04-2006, 15:20
Sopolicha-have fun at the Roma Parklands. We were there on the weekend and it was a fantastic place! :thumbsup:

Shelley68 are you coming to our meet? :confused:

I hope Veve, we can still meet with cluckcluck and maddymoo. I will be there at 10.30am instead, seeing as sopolicha was the one requesting 9.30am. Hope this will suit others better.

tash n jag
07-04-2006, 15:40
... us too! Just realised I haven't responded to this thread yet. We'll be there @ 10.30. Looking forward to seeing you gals (+ bubs) again.

Shelly68
07-04-2006, 21:37
No, I won't be at this meet.

My 2 girls are on school holidays and they're too old (as in they won't let them play in there cos they're 8 and 11).

Besides which I need to go the doctors and get the results of some blood tests that I had taken today (the doc seems to think I'm p/g, but I do not).

So we shall see.

I'll try and make another meet though, (I will keep an eye on the Brisbane thread).

jacks mum
08-04-2006, 10:46
jack and I will see you all there too

em's mum
10-04-2006, 07:11
Hi guys!

Do mind if Emily and I join in as well?

I've never been to a meet up as they have always been at a time that didn't suit Emily's sleep times etc, so we would love to come along and meet some new faces and playmates.:yelclap:

Looking forward to meeting you all.

cluck cluck
10-04-2006, 09:00
the more the merrier em's mum! see you there!:smiliedance:

purpleant
10-04-2006, 17:16
Yes, definitely the more the merrier!

Also I forgot to mention that Lollipops have a 'socks policy', ie. all bubs need to have socks on. Socks can be purchased there if you forget but at a cost of $3. For bubs under 12 months it's free entry.

Hope to see you all. I will wait for everyone at the seats adjacent the carousel just inside the entry.....for late comers look for us at the cafe.

em's mum
11-04-2006, 13:05

Sorry, I missed you this morning. I went there, and was hoping to catch Purpleant waiting at the carousel, but must have been too late!:crying: And there was a stack of people over in the cafe, and not knowing who to look for, I just decided we'd come home - I'm too shy to walk up to complete strangers and ask who they are!!:o I felt really bad for Emily though, I think she was looking forward to getting in there and running amuck. But we decided to stop off at a park on the way home :smiliedance: so she was happy. Hopefully we can catch up with you all another time.

Hope you all have a happy Easter.

jacks mum
11-04-2006, 14:36
just a quick thanks for today. Thanks too for feeding my son as I'm a slack mum. Look forward to catching up next month when the kids can get down and play. Tash n jag - thanks for the coffee, my shout next time

tash n jag
11-04-2006, 14:38
Sorry Em's mum. There were a few of us there. We sat by the carousel for a while but then moved over closer to the little playland. Unfortunately the place was full and some people had to wait to be allowed in so we moved to a cafe in the shopping centre (probably about 11.15am). We're going to go again in the first week in May (not school hols = not so busy). Watch for a post from Purpleant. We'd love to meet up with you. So sorry again. Out of interest, were you standing by the carousel with Em on your hip for a while?? Next time we need to make it easier for you to recognise us.

Thanks everyone else - great to catch up! Thoroughly enjoyed myself. Have a great Easter.

cluck cluck
11-04-2006, 14:45
so sorry we missed you ems mum :eek: . we were there but we weren't! the place got too full so they wouldnt let us all in (fire risk policy). those of us that recognised each other managed to band together in the foyer and decided to go for a coffee in the canon hill mall as we couldnt all get in. we did a quick scout round to see if you were there but as you know the place was mad and it was very hard to find anyone! so sorry you went to the effort of coming and couldnt find us, would of been nice to meet up again. we decided that we will try again after school holidays, maybe after anzac or beginning of may when its a bit quieter! hopefully you and em can come then !

as for the lovely ladies that had coffee today thanks heaps, Samara and I had a lovely morning, and as the panadol ad goes "i learnt things today that only a mothers group could show me" well something like that anyway! Jacks mum (ex school teacher jacks mum!i think its "tash and jag?" isnt it) thanks for the tip on sultanas and grapes Im trying Samara on them for lunch tomorrow!:thumbsup:

hope to catch up agin soon and hope you all have a lovely easter:yelclap:

veve
11-04-2006, 16:05
(laugh) there were TWO ex teacher Jack's mums there today - but you are referring to the other one :hugs: (what are the odds of having THREE Jacks at one morning tea :D )

I had a lovely time today - although next time I think we REALLY need to choose a brightly coloured ribbon (orange or pink) ?? and just put a bow on the handle of our prams.... it would save that 'I'm looking for someone - but scared to ask' look- which I wore for at least 10 minutes!!! :laughing:

thanks for being so warm and welcoming ladies ... I hadn't met many of you before... and it was a lovely relaxing morning tea

:hugs: hope to catch up with you again soon

purpleant
11-04-2006, 19:19
Thanks all for making such a great effort. Ant and I thoroughly enjoyed the company. :D Thanks also for the Kangaroo ride Cluck Cluck. Yes, three Jacks in one go; weren't we lucky!

Sorry Paula that you missed us...I'm surprised, actually that most of us did manage to meet up, as the place was CRAZZZZY...Next time, ribbons/signs/any other suggestions...would be welcome. Again, sorry for the venue; school holidays seem to bring out all the parents and kids (even though most kids weren't school age???)

I will definitely post again (unless someone beats me to it) for the first week of May...Monday/Tuesdays/Thursdays around 10.30am. Any objections?

Have a fantastic Easter, don't eat too many choccie eggs ;) and take care on the roads for those going away.

cluck cluck
12-04-2006, 08:25
thanks Purpleant for organising such events!:kiss:

Could we maybe make it the 1st or 2nd of May? just I have my Mum arriving from NZ on the 3rd of May for two weeks, so will be tied up entertaining. sorry to book in so early, but would hate to miss out! anyway see how everyone goes and look forward to the next meet:smiliedance:

jacks mum
12-04-2006, 18:29
not wanting to take over but maybe the 2nd May woul be good as the 1st is labour day holiday and then cluck cluck can still make it. Should we try lollipops again? Will start a new thread when I'm not on the run, got to go hear from everyone soon:smiliedance:

cluck cluck
13-04-2006, 09:10
thanks jacks mum. i didnt realise the 1st was a holiday. the days all just blur into one when your at home! The 2nd of may sounds fan-dilly-tastic!
will look out for new thread then.

em's mum
13-04-2006, 10:58
Next time, ribbons/signs/any other suggestions...would be welcome.

The bigger, the brighter, the better I say!!! I'm sorry, but I'm one of those stupid people who could be standing right next to you and still not see you!!! I still can't believe I missed you all!! :o But while I was lined up I was surrounded by a gazzillion kids all with birthday presents as well....so I gave up before we went inside. I think I left a little bit before 11, so must have walked right past the group of you that were outside!! DOH!!!

Anyway, our Playschool DVD is about to finish, so my free time is over! Hope you all have a happy and safe easter.

Catch up with you next time.:fingerscrossed: