View Full Version : False Positives??
PurpleButterfly4
01-04-2008, 20:27
I did HPT yesty arvo & then this morning which I got 2 lines for both. So at docs they did their test & got negative, 1 line. Took a blood test & find out tomorrow. Asked the Doc if bloods came back BFN, what does my tests mean. Doc said that they're false positives. So... not exactly sure what this means??
It is frustrating & confusing..... :confused: :no:
PurpleButterfly4
02-04-2008, 09:02
Anyone have any advice??? please
the_original_duchess
02-04-2008, 09:05
so have you got the blood results back yet?
i wasnt sure. it is possible to get a false posotive, but i dont think 2 is right.
maybe the docs was just a false neg???
you'll know for sure when the blood results come back.
goodluck hunni:hugs:
Yummy_Mummy
02-04-2008, 10:55
how did you go with you blood results??
Good luck
PurpleButterfly4
02-04-2008, 11:13
I phoned at 9:30am & they didn't have anything back yet. Phoning them after lunch to see if back yet.
Fingers crossed lots!!
I'll be keeping my :fingerscrossed: for you PB4 :yes:
Good luck :babydust2:
Ciao,
Brooke.
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
02-04-2008, 11:24
From my experience home test are much more sensitive than the doctor surgery ones..this is what both my GP for both my pregnancies have told me....
Generally depending on the brand of home test you buy the hormones levels only need to be very low to get a + hope test...most of them have a sensetivity level of about 10-50 ml HCG
But he doctors test need you you to have a much higher level ther for be slighty further alonf till you will get a +..there levels normally start from 50 ml but mor commonly high as 100 ml HCG level is needed to get a +...
Hope that helps...good luck...I would say though with 2 home test you will probably definately get a + when the blood test come back :yelclap:
jennababe
02-04-2008, 11:24
how dark were the lines? did they come up straight away??
last month i got a 2nd line on 3 tests. i think they were just evap lines..
:fingerscrossed: you get a positive result today!
gizmoduckus
02-04-2008, 11:27
:fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed:
It ain't over until the fat lady sings.....
:fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed:
It ain't over until the fat lady sings.....
well put!:fingerscrossed:
Kojigirl
02-04-2008, 11:45
OH GOOD LUCK!
I hope you get a :bfp: That would be FANTASTIC!
Disney Baby
02-04-2008, 11:47
Is it still too early to call?
I've been refreshing this page like nothing else! lol
Taylors_mum
02-04-2008, 12:10
Is it still too early to call?
I've been refreshing this page like nothing else! lol
haha...me too
Kojigirl
02-04-2008, 12:19
HEHE And me too!!!! I really wanna hear GOOD News!!!!!!!!!!
PurpleButterfly4
02-04-2008, 12:33
Thanks ladies!!
I phoned them but they only got today's batch of results back at midday, so I've gota phone back later. :hair:
So, sitting here eating lunch waiting....
Thanks for the advice.
The lines came straight up & they were a bit lighter than the 'negative' side.
:fingerscrossed:
PurpleButterfly4
02-04-2008, 12:41
From my experience home test are much more sensitive than the doctor surgery ones..this is what both my GP for both my pregnancies have told me....
Generally depending on the brand of home test you buy the hormones levels only need to be very low to get a + hope test...most of them have a sensetivity level of about 10-50 ml HCG
But he doctors test need you you to have a much higher level ther for be slighty further alonf till you will get a +..there levels normally start from 50 ml but mor commonly high as 100 ml HCG level is needed to get a +...
Hope that helps...good luck...I would say though with 2 home test you will probably definately get a + when the blood test come back :yelclap:
Thanks mate! That really does help & it is very good to know.
I reckon if I am PG I'm only a couple of weeks PG, cause I reckon I got PG when I O'd in March (which was 12/13 march). Also, with my AF being like it is, & I know my body isn't doing it's usual thing for AF, I just have more of a hope that the blood test will come up ++
Funny how ur all up there being anixous with me :-) Thanks for all the support!!! :D
PurpleButterfly4
02-04-2008, 14:49
:banghead: :mad: :hair: :thumbsdown:
AAAAAAAARRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!!!
Damn doc still hasn't looked at my results! bl**dly h*l!! Poo bums!
Receptionist said, do u want me to call you. I said yes please!!!
geez!!! Why do ppl have to be sick all the time, taking up my doc's time?! ;) (just kidding)
However i do wonder why some ppl with just colds or flu go to docs... its called rest & lots of fluid ppl!!
Soooooo just have to wait, again, & lets hope the doc does phone me before he goes home. I'll be very peeved if he doesn't. I just want to know - negative or positive. Then deal with whatever I have I do after that.
jennababe
02-04-2008, 14:52
:banghead: :mad: :hair: :thumbsdown:
AAAAAAAARRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!!!
Damn doc still hasn't looked at my results! bl**dly h*l!! Poo bums!
Receptionist said, do u want me to call you. I said yes please!!!
geez!!! Why do ppl have to be sick all the time, taking up my doc's time?! ;) (just kidding)
However i do wonder why some ppl with just colds or flu go to docs... its called rest & lots of fluid ppl!!
Soooooo just have to wait, again, & lets hope the doc does phone me before he goes home. I'll be very peeved if he doesn't. I just want to know - negative or positive. Then deal with whatever I have I do after that.
wow that must be so annoying!!
i had a blood test last month at 9.00am and had the results at 3:30pm the same day.
and my blood test on monday i had at 11:30am and had the results at 5:30pm the same day!!
there should be a special lab and phone number just for preg results hehehehe!!! i wish!!
aww goodluck!! let us all know when you find out.
everyones:fingerscrossed: for you!!
gizmoduckus
02-04-2008, 14:58
Even I am annoyed and it's not even my results. I can't even begin to understand how you are feeling.....
Oh cant wait to hear your news.. Do you have a pic of your test there? I love looking at pregnancy tests..lol
PurpleButterfly4
02-04-2008, 15:33
Oh cant wait to hear your news.. Do you have a pic of your test there? I love looking at pregnancy tests..lol
Nah I chucked them away yesty after got back from Docs. bit bummed bout fact that Doc got negative on his HPT... just hoping the blood test picks up any pg hormone.
really feeling preggers!
02-04-2008, 15:42
If you used the first pee of the day at home and the line came up in 5 mins then I reckon it WAS a BFP. But your still in early days... I'm guessing you did a pee test at the dr that WASN'T first pee of the day - so that probably came up BFN cause a) they're not as sensitive a-test as what your first one was; or b) it wasn't first pee of the day.
That said - I had a false positive test a few months ago; but the blood test results came back negative.
Dont give up yet!!!
When do you get your BT results?
Well do you know yet........we are waiting:detective:
PurpleButterfly4
02-04-2008, 16:05
The doctor is phoning me back, but nothing since 3:30pm & its 4:10pm here now.
I finish work in 10mins so will get onto the phone & harass them. I want to know today!! ah!
PurpleButterfly4
02-04-2008, 16:08
If you used the first pee of the day at home and the line came up in 5 mins then I reckon it WAS a BFP. But your still in early days... I'm guessing you did a pee test at the dr that WASN'T first pee of the day - so that probably came up BFN cause a) they're not as sensitive a-test as what your first one was; or b) it wasn't first pee of the day.
That said - I had a false positive test a few months ago; but the blood test results came back negative.
Dont give up yet!!!
When do you get your BT results?
Well first test was Monday arvo bout 5:30pm & got 2 lines... lines came up pretty much straight away.
2nd test was bout 7am Tuesday morning & same again, the lines came up basically straight away.
The doc's test was done at 12:15pm, so it was my 4th pee for the day. so not my first 1 for day. i even drank lots of water so I could have a good pee to give them. :laughing:
Just waiting for my shift to finish, which is just about to.... will have to get back on when I get home tonight, so talk to you all later!
THANKS!!!
:fingerscrossed: :babydust2: :babydust2: :babydust2: :babydust2:
plumptobump
02-04-2008, 16:40
What brand hpts did you use? I have gotten false positives on Fortel and Pregnosis (and a couple ICs), so if the bt comes back neg (hopefully it wont!), I would think false postives. Oh, and I know mine were false because the bt the same day came back neg. The lines came up within the time frame and had colour as well. Hope that doesnt bring a downer to the thread, just giving my experience. Good luck! :)
Kojigirl
02-04-2008, 18:23
I really think your preggers!!!!!!!!!!!!!
If you drank lots of water before your pee at the docs that would have dialuted your pee and thats prob why it didn't show up on his test!
But you used your undialuted first morning pee for your HPT and thats why they could pick it up!
EEEEK Can't wait till you get the results back!
All this waiting SUX!
Kojigirl
03-04-2008, 11:34
Have you got the results yet???
gizmoduckus
03-04-2008, 11:40
Check out this link, she posted the results here
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=168146
Kojigirl
03-04-2008, 12:55
Thanks I saw that just after hehe!