View Full Version : how much for a gift

Oblena
01-04-2008, 13:59
Hi everyone.

DH and I have a wedding in a few weeks. The invitation gave the option of gift registry at DJ's or put money towards Honeymoon. We are thinking of putting money towards the Honeymoon.

Is $100 enough or is that stingy? I have no idea how much weddings cost nowadays. Should we up it to $150? I am worried about it now after seeing the gift registry prices ( we could never afford most of the stuff), and am worried that we won't put enough in.

Any advice will help heaps.

punkbaby
01-04-2008, 14:01
I guess it depends on how well you know them, if it was someone that i was just invited as it was through someone that i knew or a relative that i never see i would only give around $50 but if they were a close freind, or someone that i saw regulary i would prob give $100-150 depending on who they were :)

Do what you can afford, i know its a wedding and all but its not worth putting more than you can afford in if it puts you out for the week, if you get me :)

kylza
01-04-2008, 14:03
When we got married the norm seemed to be between $50 - $100. Most people even put their names on the card & i didn't judge anyone for how much they gave.

Refresh
01-04-2008, 14:05
We normally try to give the equivalent to what we think they may have spent per head on the reception. I think $100-$150 sounds fine though:)

RmumR
01-04-2008, 14:07
I think $100 is a generous amount to give and no need to give anymore unless of course you specifically wanted to.
At my wedding it seemed most people gave between $50 - $100, a couple gave $200 but they were wealthy relatives.

At the weddings i've been to with the honeymoon fund we've usually given $100, though once we were a bit short so just gave $60.

veve
01-04-2008, 14:11
gosh I would be STOKED to received $100 .... you think if ten people do that .. they have $1000 to spend!! sheesh!!!

I think that amount is ample :yes:

Jen

MummaBear03
01-04-2008, 14:14
When a friend of mine got married, I gave her $50 in a card which was all I could afford, but felt bad about it and still do since we've been friends since we were 3 and I couldn't get down to Brisbane for her wedding. Didn't help I had 8 weeks notice and was out of work at that time (it was when I pulled my daughter from daycare and quit my job due to mistreatment of her) so there's no way we could get down there. For my brother I spent $75 on a wine set that had the 2 parts fit together in the shape of a love heart with their names engraved in one each, the engraving cost another $30. After I bought that they said they want no gifts, they want to do a treasure chest instead as they've lived together for years so they got another $50 from me. I think it depends how well you know them, but also how much you are able to spend. I was more financial for my brother's wedding than when my friend got married, but you don't want to feel guilty over it for years either like I have been. $100 is a safe amount.

chameleon
01-04-2008, 14:14
We usually spend about $100, but if they are really close friends you could go up to $150. I think $100 is plenty though!

missie_mack
01-04-2008, 14:42
We normally try to give the equivalent to what we think they may have spent per head on the reception.

:iagree: (see Ffrenchstar we agree on more than you would think :p)

I got married about 2 years ago and I could provide food and drinks for everyone for less than $50 a head and that was a cheap club style meal(and a friend paid similar per a head for a spit in her backyard with drinks).
So if I was going to any wedding I would always aim to give $100 at the minimum but for the two of us I would probably be aiming towards the $150 mark if we could afford it

Jakois
01-04-2008, 14:45
We normally try to give the equivalent to what we think they may have spent per head on the reception. I think $100-$150 sounds fine though:)

:iagree: I usually go by that as well..

Mummaholic
01-04-2008, 14:45
I think a gift between $50-100 is very reasonable.

I had a trvael registry at our wedding and this was this normal amount, unless they were very close and then they gave more. One person gave $20. I was grateful for any amount, it all helped pay for a great honeymoon!

cheekypossum
01-04-2008, 14:54
Depending on how much you know them I suppose but I would say that $100 is fair....I definately would not go over it.

$50 - $100 is a reasonable gift amount

Refresh
01-04-2008, 16:36
:iagree: (see Ffrenchstar we agree on more than you would think :p)

OMGosh!!:goodvibes:

Oblena
01-04-2008, 19:44
thanks for that . I really wanted to go with the 'idea' that you sort of give an amount similar to what the reception etc would cost, but don't know how much that would be. It is a very close friend of DH, but he has been married before. However as it is his new wife's first I wanted to not discrim. based on that iykwim.

$150 wouldn't tap us out, but I've only been back at work for 8 weeks and we are still building ourselves up. Maybe the $100 would be ok.

I think I will have to keep thinking about it.

madcate
01-04-2008, 19:46
$100 is stacks.

H2B and I have attended two weddings since we've been together, both had wishing wells and each time we put in $50.

At the wedding we went to in January the day afterwards family went around to their house for a bbq. They opened the cards and read out who they were from and everyone could see what amounts had been given. I personally thought it was very poor taste to open them in front of other people, but, my point is, some of their guests gave them $300 and quite a few put in $20 or $30.

Give your friend what you can afford, true friends will be happy with whatever you contribute and happier still that you were able to attend their wedding.

kas3
01-04-2008, 21:00
$100 sounds good to me. That's what I usually aim for when I'm buying wedding gifts or giving $.

Oblena
01-04-2008, 21:06
ok ... I'm thinking $100 should be OK.

Thanks for all you help with the decision :yes:

MyFourCubs
01-04-2008, 21:15
My general rule is $100 if I didn't have to buy an engagement present. If I bought an engagement present as well then I think $50, unless they are close friends or family then I will give a $100. Sory if that sounds stingy but how greedy can you be? My brother got married last week and the general gift was $100. Some people gave $200 but I think thats extreme. I also think it depends on whether people have children/ are working etc. For instance if friends with children, esp on one income gave us $100 or more I'd feel awful. That could buy a week of groceries! (WEll, almost.) But if a couple are working with no kids then maybe they could afford to spend more. Not that I would care if they didn't!

forbetoel
01-04-2008, 21:17
I would give $100 if not that close and $150 if very close.

shanz
01-04-2008, 21:31
I usually go with $75-$100 for non family and a bit more depending on finances for family.
In saying that my predicament is my brothers wedding is coming up and we already have to travel 1300kms to get there, and though saying he was financial at my wedding and promising a present, never delivered............................what do i do there??
BTW i got married 2.5 years ago now!

oncebittentwiceshy
01-04-2008, 21:57
These tips are great ladies! (and gentlemen?) as I'm having the same dilemma. I'm going to a wedding in a month (good mate of DP) and they are having a wishing well. I suppose we'll aim to cover the reception cost (say $50 each) and then anything over that is up to DP. For this wedding maybe $150 because they are both quite close to DP and have let us stay at there place and such.

If you have a long way to travel though then I'm sure they won't mind if you put in less!

Oblena
02-04-2008, 20:13
I usually go with $75-$100 for non family and a bit more depending on finances for family.
In saying that my predicament is my brothers wedding is coming up and we already have to travel 1300kms to get there, and though saying he was financial at my wedding and promising a present, never delivered............................what do i do there??
BTW i got married 2.5 years ago now!

That is a hard one. I would try not to let myself not buy a pressie or give money just because I didn't receive, but it would be hard - especially for a brother!

After working out travel and accom costs etc I would probable buy a nice gift that was on the lower end of my budget. This would be going with the theory that you should not go broke from buying a gift after all the other expenses.