View Full Version : October 06 mummies - April

m_jelly
01-04-2008, 11:41
Well golly gosh howdy, april.

Abbey and I went to our weekly singing session at the library, our 5th or so, but I'm yet to convince her to sit down and let me sing to her. She has the attention span, she can sit quietly through 3 long books (like the Gruffalo and Bad Baby) but put her in a room full of kids, books, and toys - you wish mummy!
So she runs around the room playing with things while I sit there mumbling and looking like a complete dolt, whispering pathetic requests to Abbey whenever she sweeps by me. I swear, she thinks everyone is singing to entertain her, and that's the way it should be.

My little darling alternates between devil child and adorable princess. The princess is so wonderful I fall in love deeper every day. The devil child gets locked on the pergola with some chalk while mummy says "la la la la la I can't hear you".

Georgia - that certainly sounds like a good potty training clue. Abbey seems ready, but isn't. After her bath she will intentionally stand up and run around on the bed peeing, and if she's doing really well at her control she will get it on my pillow. But sit her on the potty and she just looks at me like she's uncomfortable and tries to get away within seconds. She will also poop her nappy and then hop on her zebra and bounce up and down. *freak*
I have taught some of her teddies how to use the potty though, hopefully its a start. Elmo sits down and says 'pssss' and then checks for wees.

Sarah - hope J is better now. I cant believe he lets you put drops in. I'm an adult and can't do it without flapping and struggling!

Sare - hope the bug didnt stick around to play. I had it mildly last week but luckily it wasn't interested in abbey.

M~T~J~M
01-04-2008, 13:40
Sarah - lol re the chocolate - how many weeks are you now? Are you still moving?

We're all good, pretty much bought a place now I think we'll be exchanging on Mon or Tues so that's nice but the mortgage thing is pretty scary! Though my lawyer thinks I'm being ridiculous as someone who's run a restaurant for 7 years should be able to cope with the stress of buying a house but it's just soooo much money :hair:
Sophia's great, we've started potty training which is interesting. I though she was ready because she does let me know when she's about to go and then when she has gone so hopefully it's the right time?!?
OK, better get cracking and do some work - don't forget to turn all ya stuff off girls at 8pm!

:wave: Georgia,
I'm 27 weeks this week!! I can't believe where the time has gone!!
We are still up in the air about if we'll be moving. we have decided that it's the best thing for us to do, but it's just the actual planning part and doing part that's getting in our way, lol! We have both lived int he same town for all our lives, and I guess it's just making that initial break away that's the hardest thing to do.....especially when we're talking moving as far from Vic to Central QLD.
How exciting for you buying a new place!! Hope all is going well with it.
How's Sophia going with the potty training?? I'm not even going to attempt toilet training J until at least Oct. DS2 was toilet trained at 23 - 24 months, but him and J are just so different. I don't want to complicate anything that doesn't have to be just yet, iykwim? Good luck with it!!

Michelle: How cute you go to singing with Abbey! I used to take M and T to music, where we sang, danced and played instruments. It was good fun, but trying to get the little ones to stick around and sit on the floor for a whole 1/2 hour was a little difficult at times!! J is feeling a lot better now, thanks. I'm still giving him his drops - I forget how long the Dr told me to do it for, and of course, it's not written on the label, and he's on antibiotics until it's finished. He's back at daycare tomorrow, so I'm sure another nice little bug will decide it wants to come home with him....

Not much happening here. DH was saying to me the other night that he is pretty stoked with the changed he has seen in J since being home this time. It was really nice to hear him talk so positively. Saying that he's really turning into a litlle boy now, and how clever he is, and how proud of him he is :bee: It was really nice. He has also told me that I need to get in as many cuddles as I can with the new little one whilst I'm in hospital as once she's home, she's all his! She's going to be his little princess apparently, lol! I've told him that she can be his during the night feeds too, lol!!

Must be off, have a pile of things to catch up on now that DH has gone again!
Take it easy

sare
01-04-2008, 18:14

Just checking in to say hi. Nothing new to report here...just a disgustingly behaved 3.5 y.o and that I'm so tired and over m/s already.

Oops...Eloise is in big trouble. DH just put her on time out for throwing a handful of cheese at him. When does kinder start again and why can't it be for more than twice a week?

Michelle - lol at Abbey's split personality. Love the chalk on the pergola idea. I wish our outdoor idea was safe to chuck Eloise outside when she's being a PITA.

Sarah - That's great that your dh has enjoyed seeing the changes in Jarvis. He must really miss the kids while he's away. 27 weeks already...that's gone so fast. Sounds like it's flying for you too.

Georgia - Wow on Sophia's TT already. I'm like Sarah, not even going to think about it for a very long time (probably not until March/April next year). Lara's not shown any interest and after all the hassles I had TTing Eloise, I'm not rushing back thera again. It's great that Sophia is letting you know though.
Congrats on the house too. I hope all the contract signing etc went smoothly.

Well that's all from me...hope everyone is well...

~Kimba~
01-04-2008, 19:08
Hi everyone, I'm back!
And guess what I brought home from Bali?
:bfp:

Nah, April fool :laughing:

Gosh everyone else seems to be knocked up now though! Huge congrats Sare!!! :yelclap: I hope Lara is giving you a bit more sleep these days, I remember you saying you didn't want #3 till you'd gotten some decent sleep!

Our trip to Indonesia was interesting - some nightmarish days/ moments, but some awesome days as well. Had a good time in general but it was very tiring and to be honest I'm glad to be home!!!

Jet was good on the 7.5 hour flight over to Jakarta, the Vallergan did nothing and he was awake the whole time, but luckily I had heaps of 'distractors' with me and he only got restless towards the end, then crashed 30 min before landing, and then slept the whole time till we got to the inlaw's place (about 3-4 hours after landing)

Poor Jet got eaten alive by mozzies the first night at the in-laws' place and reacted really badly to the bites, had to get antihistamine and antibiotic creams for him because the bites were huge, red, itching him like mad and getting infected after just 1 day. Even 2 weeks later they still aren't totally healed...poor thing.

Jakarta was just awful (for a number of reasons) so we left the in-laws' and headed to Bali 3 days earlier than planned. Bali was good, but we broke our stroller on the second day and had to buy a new one :banghead:. Jet didn't like the local food or milk, which was worrying because he wasn't eating or drinking much at all for the first week or so. I wish I'd taken more food for him and should have gotten him used to UHT milk before we left (tip for anyone travelling to Asia!)

I have to say, travelling overseas with a super-active tantrum chucking toddler is so frustrating and such hard work! Jet was pretty good most of the time, but a total PITA quite a lot as well - DH and I got head-butted and bitten so many times by the little monster! Although I know it was hard for him too, with the heat and strange surroundings, although I think he was mostly frustrated that we wouldn't let him just run wild - he doesn't understand 'danger'.

Hardest thing was that we couldn't go out to eat (or shop) anywhere without him going nuts and wanting to run around getting into everything, he refused to sit in his stroller or on a chair. So every meal saw one of us having to chase him or walk around with him/ entertain him while the other one would eat super fast, then we'd swap! We ended up eating in our room a lot just to avoid the stress, which was a bit boring, but what can you do...

Jet loved the beach and the swimming pools though and he was a big hit with the locals and other tourists (Japanese girl tourists especially loved him and took photos of him - WTF!? :laughing:) and he got fawned over and cuddled all the time, so he was in his element.

On the flight home he was great, the Vallergan worked a treat (plus he was really tired, and it was an 11pm flight) and he slept the whole way, YAY!

We've created a monster though, because he slept in our bed with us the whole time we were away, and now he refuses to sleep in his cot - he will only sleep in our bed and has to have us laying beside him, or else he won't go to sleep! So I'm thinking that now might be a good time to transition him to a big bed??? rather than getting him used to the cot again.

Anyway :ecomcity: better stop yapping, got to upload our photos to the laptop. Happy Belated Easter and I hope everyone has been good, I haven't had time to catch up on all your posts, so no personals sorry just a big HI from us!

M~T~J~M
01-04-2008, 19:46
I haven't finished reading your post yet Kimba, but OMG! I almost fell off my chair when I saw the :bfp: You cheeky tricker, you!!!

M~T~J~M
01-04-2008, 19:54
Ok, I'm back.

Sare: I'm so much hearing you about the over active children! I'm really lookinf forward to tomorrow, they're all going to daycare for the day :smiliedance: I'm almost at breaking point at the moment....their behaviour seems to get better for a couple of days, then all of a sudden - BANG!! Ten times worse than the worst!! I really hope you manage to lose your pregnancy tiredness come the 2nd trimester....I've been unlucky enough to just get more and more tired as the weeks go on. I haven't managed a more energetic time yet. I'm guessing I'll have to wait until they've all left home now :laughing:

Kimba: Looking forward to having a peak at the photos. Sounds like you are happy to be home though, even though you had a good time away. Jet sounds like he's really starting to push the boundaries now, cute little chap, lol! Hopefully, having him back at home now, he will settle a lot quicker than you think he will. Perhaps to help settle him back in, I'd try the cot again. At least his familiar with this....Perhaps putting him into a big bed now would confuse him and make him want to stay in your bed?? It's too hard to know what to do sometimes!! Nice to have you back ;)

Ok, off to put the nappies out, then off to the couch for me for All Saints. If I can keep my little eyes open long enough to watch!!

sare
01-04-2008, 19:55
I haven't finished reading your post yet Kimba, but OMG! I almost fell off my chair when I saw the :bfp: You cheeky tricker, you!!!

Me too :laughing:

Sounds like you had a great (busy) trip, Kimba. Great to have you back.

Becbabe
02-04-2008, 07:55
Hi guys - I have returned from being AWOL from the Hub!

I have just been through a really busy period, and was selling stuff on Ebay so that chewed up most of my Net time (plus some nappy hunting - thank God that's over but it was fun!)

Also Ella has been through a bad patch for sleep but is now better than she's ever been :smiliedance: she is sleeping through (well waking up now and then but staying in her cot!), going down with a kiss and a tuck-in at bedtime and THAT"S IT!! and this morning, she didn't even wake up til 6.15. Hurrah! So I'm able to go on the Net after she goes to bed instead of sitting in there then crashing early due to the night wakings.

Well I'm sure this will change when she has her next fortnightly illness but it's nice for now.

Di welcome home with your boys! Sounds like you and they are doing great, congratulations.

Kimba - OMG I can't even imagine taking Ella overseas - Sydney is a big enough mission! But I'm glad you got some good moments in there to compensate. And the Vallergan at least would have stopped his mozzie bites itching on the way home (it's an antihistamine, isn't it?)

Sarah - wow 27 weeks. I remember mid pregnancy being really nice so I hope it's treating you well too. And lol about giving DP the night feeds if he's so keen!

Sare :hugs:, that sounds like a lot to put up with at once (early preg symptoms, a crazy 3yrold and a sometimes sleepless toddler). I keep asking Mum how on earth she coped with 4 - even though that's what I want to have :D Although the 7 yr gap between my middle siblings probably helped.

I hope it doesn't take me 7 yrs to fall with the next baby :(

Michelle - they are getting rather polar aren't they - I either just adore Ella and want to cuddle her and am at my wits end trying to control my temper, boy is she learning how to push us! But thankfully the little darling side is the most common. For now...... lol at the poo bouncing. Ella runs away from me when she's pooed - you'd reckon they'd be keen for a nappy change!

Well better go do some work. Have a good one:)

~Kimba~
02-04-2008, 09:23
Morning all,

Jet is at daycare and I'm still on leave for another few days, so YAY I have some child-free time! Gosh that sounds awful doesn't it...of course I'll spend it doing a big clean of the house :rolleyes: but believe me, even that's a luxury without a little monkey 'helping' me.

I'm with the rest of you, the bipolar 'angel and devil child' is doing my head in a bit. He's so adorable I love him so much I can hardly breathe, but other times I don't want to be near him when he's being a PITA. How long does this phase last? (Please don't say another 3 years!)

LOL about the BFP joke, I couldn't resist, being April Fool's and all. Seriously, I couldn't be further from being pg - there's no way could I handle Jet right now if I was pg as well. After being bitten and head-butted for 2 weeks and a monster taking over our bed, DH and I are seriously considering whether we want another one or not! Financially we can't for at least another year, anyway...

Forgot to mention some other highlights of our trip: 4 full body massages, a deluxe facial, a spice body scrub and spa treatment, a hair treatment/ head massage (for an HOUR! lush), a couple of hours knocking back 2 for 1 mojitos during a rainy afternoon which Jet slept all the way through (YAY), bought some lovely (cheap!) silver jewellery, had 2 pairs of knee high leather boots and a leather jacket custom made for 1/4 of the price it would cost here, AND got a new tattoo, as well as spending a few hours lazing around in the pool and getting a wee bit of a tan, so I'm happy :D

Re: pooing - Jet also runs away from us as soon as we mention the words 'nappy change', although he's quick to tell us that he's pooed. He also walks funny (bent legs or up on tiptoes) as soon as he's pooped his nappy, so it's still obvious even when he doesn't tell us / isn't within smelling range :laughing: No progress with potty training though, TBH I just don't have the energy right now to persevere with it, and he usually only tells us AFTER he's gone, not before he wants to. And never says anything when he wees, only poos. So I think it can wait a while...

Bec - I hope it doesn't take you 7 years to TTC #2 either :hugs: Selling on eBay is how I plan to spend all my free time for a while! coming home from holidays I feel suffocated by all the stuff and clutter in our home, so it's all going to go...Yay on Ella sleeping so well, I really hope I can get Jet back into the same routine :fingerscrossed:

Sarah - Can't believe you're 27 weeks already, your little petal will be here before we know it! Pregnancy always seems to fly when it's happening to someone else, LOL. And I hear you on the overactive children!!! Sometimes DH and I think that Jet has ADHD because his behaviour is just so extreme :(. I hope he grows out of it! You might be right about trying the cot but last night was a disaster he screamed as soon as we went near it. I'm thinking at least with a big bed I can lay down with him while he goes to sleep (which is what he likes about our bed, I think).

Sare - sorry to hear that Eloise is being a pain, is Kinder really only 2 days a week? I thought it was more than that. Now that you're pg have you thought about maybe doing some occasional daycare as well, or would that be too much for her? Still can't believe you're pg again and due in November!

Michelle - At least Abbey only bounces on her zebra with a poopy nappy - Jet's latest thing is to try to bounce on our heads in bed in the morning, with that big morning poo, ughhhhh. I wish we had a pergola we could lock Jet in for a while, that would be awesome.

Anyway better log off and make the most of my childless day, because it's sure to be over very quickly. Have a good one everyone!

JuzP
02-04-2008, 13:00

Been MIA for a long time but have been keeping up with the posts and congrats to all those that are expecting again. Couldn't even begin to imagine how to deal with that and a non-sleeping tantrum throwing toddler.

Kimba - we are heading to Bali in August with our little man who will be nearly two at that time and I am really concerned about what he will eat and drink. Based on your recent experience what would you recommend that I take? Did you take formula? Did you take jars of food?

Our little man is still having a morning and night time bottle and I was planning to use bottled water while in Bali but I am just not sure if it is worth taking all the gear.

Any advice you can give would be great. :)

Thanks again - take care all.

Ciao
JuzP

GeorgiaAnne
02-04-2008, 13:06
:shame: Kimba you're nordy and got me all excited! Great to hear about your holiday though sounds like all in all you had a pretty good time which is not a bad thing with a toddler in a foreign country :thumbsup: re: the big bed, you might as well bite the bullet I s'pose. I'm just scared about night time visits but maybe a gate on the bedroom door will do the trick.
Well I spent all last night cleaning about toddler chunder :barf: Yet another gift from day care!

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
02-04-2008, 14:05
:wave: wow, it feels like ages since i have had ME time...with the move etc. keanu is having a nap and dp is at work...

we went for a huge walk this morning, it was really nice to get out, not far is an IGA and a small street of a few other shops - butcher, fruit and veg store and a cupla other shops...so that is good...about a 5 minute drive there is belmont forum which is pretty big so that is great! actually there are a few shopping centres close by.

so far the area is quiet...touch wood.
perth seems lovely, it has a country feel to it. it is cold in the mornings tho lol..we are use to the qld weather. when we arrived (easter friday) at 11pm it was like 27 degrees but it wasn't humid, which was soooo nice.

it is nice to be in our house, settling in!!! we have just been sooo busy organising things.

my mum and dad come and visit in may and then my mother in law (who we are missing greatly) is coming in november, she just emailed her flight details to us..YAY...can't wait, and she will be here for like 3 weeks...awesum - she is just like a mum to me, love her to bit and keanu will LOVE it too...so that is something for us to look forward to when we get to the point of missing home - which will come, but something we will just push thru.

it is great to have time with my brother, fiance and their 3 children though....it has been a long time! we miss the family back home, but at least we have someone here as well which is nice...

keanu has been a trooper...he has been having horrible tanties tho, and me and dp have been so frustrated, i think with the move etc it has got on top of the 3 of us...we realise it is such a big change for a 16 month old and are trying to not get as frustrated...

the 3rd night we were here he woke 8 times, SCREAMING....the 4th night it was twice and since he has woken once for a drink - which i don't mind....but i was like OMG what is happening?? the past 2 days have been GREAT days for him, no tanties at all! i think it is just all the changes, and testing of boundries definitley! they are at that age!

kimba - i say give jet a go in a big bed...see how he goes! we just set up keanus toddler bed but haven't yet used it, due to all then changes, when we do i also thut of what georgia mentioned - putting up a safety gate while they get used to the big bed??!!

keanu just cut one eye tooth and the other is coming down too - another factor as to why he has been so whiney!

the poor darling...it has been such a big few weeks...now we can just relax and settle...whilst trying to look for a bed for us and a couch and a buffet lol...

anyway had better run, washing to hang.
take care for now

~Kimba~
02-04-2008, 16:25
Re: big bed, today we've put Jet's cot mattress on the floor in the corner, with another (our old spare) cot mattress beside it so we can lay down with him while he goes to sleep. Hopefully it will get him at least sleeping in his own room again :fingerscrossed: and then we can transition him to a big bed. He hasn't worked out how to open his bedroom door yet so I'm not too worried about night-time visits - but I am worried he might bang into the mirrored wardrobe door in the night and break it! We're going shopping for gates this weekend though, because it won't be too long before he works the door, out I'm sure.

Jac - great to hear you're settling in and that Keanu is being pretty good about the move. Perth is really lovely, DH and I have talked about moving west but it's just so far from my family...although closer to DH's (only 3 hours to Bali from there! LOL)

Georgia - 22 weeks already can you believe it, you're more than halfway! We'll have to catch up soon. Hope Sophia is over her gastro soon. Out of curiosity did she have the Rotavirus vaccine? I'm wondering if having it was why Jet's never been spewy (touch wood) or if we're just lucky so far...

JuzP - Re: Bali. If your DS is drinking plain cow's milk then get him used to UHT milk before you go because even the 'fresh' milk there tastes like UHT - it took Jet a week to start liking it, so it would've been heaps easier if I'd started him on it at home before we went. It's also good if you can get him used to drinking his milk at room temp (IE straight out of the carton) because then you don't have to worry about heating it up (or keeping it cold) as lots of the brands of UHT milk comes in little single serve popper-type packs which is handy!

There's also Nestle Bear Brand tinned milk, which Jet liked more than the UHT stuff, comes in little cans about 190ml each which was the perfect serving size and it's sterile till opened so you don't have to keep it in the fridge if you don't want to. Was very handy to take out and about and we used a few cans of that on the plane home too!

Of course if he's drinking formula then you don't really have to worry about milk, just take some formula along and mix it with bottled (or boiled) water. Or, they have heaps of formula and powdered plain milk available there as well.

Interestingly Jet didn't like the taste of the bottled water either, guess he's too used to our tap water here! Be careful with the fruit juices in poppers as lots of them have colours or flavours added (if you're watching that sort of thing) - the ABC brand Guava juice was the best I could find that Jet liked.

We also gave Jet a bottle of Yakult every day because we thought it might help ward off any potential tummy bugs - he didn't get sick, so who knows maybe it did help - and he loved it.

With food, I took some of the Rafferty's Garden meal pouches that you can get from Woolies. I wish I'd taken more (IE enough for one per day) because some days he refused everything else, and we ran out of it after a week! You can buy Heinz tins and jars at the bigger supermarkets like Matahari in Kuta and Hardy's in Sanur, BUT it's really expensive - like $5 a big jar! And it's only fruit/ cereal type food, nothing savoury.

Another tip - get him used to eating pancakes, plain rice and scrambled eggs/ omelettes, and spag bog, because that's something simple which you can order just about anywhere :thumbsup:.

Don't bother taking heaps of nappies, the Mamy Poko brand are excellent and about $12 for a pack of 20 (the Huggies over there are not so good), same with wipes, heaps available there. Swim nappies you might want to bring with you, I didn't see any there.

Do take some Aquim gel and packets of antibacterial wipes (the little travel packs like 'Nice N Clean' from Priceline are good) so you can clean his hands and face often - and especially before eating - because he'll be sure to be getting into everything!

For cleaning bottles etc, I took Milton tablets and a container and just sterilised them - I don't sterilise at home any more but with the water over there being unclean for drinking I wasn't taking any chances with washing his bottles in it. For bottles, I took a few Avent Magic cups which you can switch with either a nipple or spout so we used them for drinking water and milk as well (less gear to lug with us)

Also, get your DS used to drinking from a straw before you go (if he doesn't already) and take some bendy straws, because it'll make it heaps easier for giving him drinks on the run rather than lugging drink bottles with you.

If you have any other questions about Bali let me know :)

~Kimba~
03-04-2008, 22:23
Gosh you guys are quiet these days. Many of you are too busy gestating I guess! :p

Jet is back in his cot tonight. Last night he slept on his cot mattress on the floor in his room, but he kept waking and crying for 'Mummy', and he ended up in my bed anyway at 2.30am because I was too uncomfortable laying beside him on the floor!

Tonight he was mucking around at bedtime and wouldn't settle even with me laying with him so I decided to just bite the bullet and get him back in the cot. Resulting in a HUGE tantrum and lots of tears and "Mummy Mummy" - but 90 minutes and 2 more bottles of milk later (!) he eventually went to sleep relatively happily - thank goodness for the FP Aquarium still entrancing him! and hopefully we'll have a good night :fingerscrossed:.

I'm conscious of my poor Mum too - DH and I are off to the Hunter Valley tomorrow night for 2 nights, going to a wedding. And Mum is coming to stay at our place and babysit Jet for 2 nights. So I'm really hoping she'll be able to get him to settle in his cot without too many dramas...

It'll be lovely to have a childless weekend away with DH and enjoy a drunken night at the wedding! but it's bad timing because Jet's still settling back into being home after our trip, is totally out of routine (poor Mum) and I'm worried about his separation anxiety after 3 weeks together, as he's been clingy and crying when I leave him at daycare in the mornings, even if I even leave the room when he's home. But we can't do much about it...I just hope it isn't too hard for him and Mum!

:ecomcity: better get to bed...I've been waiting up to see if Jet has a wakeup call for me, but I can't keep my eyes open any longer :sleeping: Ni-night!

m_jelly
04-04-2008, 17:20
My darling is tippy toeing around the mess she made. She has 3 toyboxes and they are all empty. I'm not cleaning up until its time to vaccuum, there's no point!

I think she might be saying her name too. Its "abb-eh". I was writing it on the wall outside in chalk, saying "A B B E Y ABBEY" and she was making chicken scratches saying "A B E abb-eh". She's been saying "abb-eh" for a couple days now, but when I asked her where Abbey was, she ran off to find her. Box full of clevers there! :rolleyes:

Nothing much going on here, we went to the beach today after a very rare playground visit. Playgrounds she just runs around them, occasionally patting a piece of equipment but never wanting to hop on. Swings? Don't even try and sit her in one, she's far too wussy to enjoy herself.

She was willing to get down and take a look at the foaming ocean today, which is more than other visits, and even go for a stroll along the sand without mummy. I'm sure our more adventurous toddlers would have gotten up to real mischief 5m away from mummy! We'll go out to mums for a week soon, teach her what real kids do.

Kimba - Bali sounded lovely, with tinges of painful! I'm Jet will be a dream for your mum, and save all his terrors up for you. You know, she would probably love to spend a weekend snuggled up to her little man!

Uh oh, sticky fingers are being waggled at me.

sare
05-04-2008, 09:53
Thought I'd pop on and say hi, while I'm on here. Nothing new happening. We're still dealing with Lara's reluctance to go to bed (translates to she screams for 30+mins until she falls asleep...and I mean screams). I don't know how she can't like her sleep, I love mine and I'm missing it. When will I get my weekend lie-ins back?

We're taking the girls to go and see Horton Hears a Who this afternoon. Eloise has been asking for the last week or so and she loves the book. Not much planned for the weekend. I can't go to the footy because I have to run a Baptism class tomorrow afternoon., so I'll have to listen on the radio when I get home.

Michelle - It's cute when they start saying their own name. Lara says Wawa for Lara and Elwee for Eloise.

Kimba - I'm sure Jet will be alright for your mum. Michael's mum and dad have the girls while I work on a Friday and say how good they have been, but the second that I walk through the door, they grow their horns and the fun begins. I find my girls are on their best behaviour for anybody else and save their devilness for mummy and daddy.

Jackie - It sounds like you have made the right move. You do have some family in WA don't you?

Georgia - I hope Sophia is feeling better. :hugs: for you because cleaning spew is the pits at the best of time, but when you're pg :barf:

Bec - mGood to hear from you, I was wondering how you've been. Great news about Ella's sleeping. Hope it stays good for you. How's she going at daycare now?

Sarah - :hugs: I can't imagine how you do what you do. I've struggled for the last week with my 2 girls, but you've got 3 very active boys. Hope you enjoyed your child-free day while the boys were at daycare.
How did you go at the drs after the incident at the playground last weekend? That must have been a horrible thing to have to go through (not to mention disgusting...some people are just feral).

Well enough from me. Have a great weekend (and enjoy the extra hours sleep...for those who are ending daylight savings)

~Kimba~
06-04-2008, 15:31
Back home today after our 2 nights away. Jet was really well behaved for Mum, didn't sook for Mummy all, went to bed in his cot with very little fuss, and even slept right through last night - little bugger! It's always the way though isn't it :rolleyes:, they're always angels for other people. Mum said she had a ball with him, but it was 'very tiring' LOL. She even took him to IKEA yesterday morning - now there's a brave woman!

This was the first time I've spent a night away from Jet, and I missed him heaps over the last 2 days - but it was SO GOOD to sleep in for 2 days straight! especially with the extra hour from daylight saving today - sheer luxury. I'm not sure if Jet missed us but geez he was chatty when we got home, he didn't shut up for 2 hours! :ecomcity:

Re: saying names. Jet says Det-doh (Jethro) which is really cute, but he still doesn't seem to realise that it's 'him' or even a person I.E. if we say 'where's Jet/ Jethro' he still doesn't look for himself in the mirror/ photos or anywhere else, just looks at us blankly.

Sare - I also don't understand how they hate sleep, especially when they get so cranky and upset when they're tired! I hope that with daylight saving you might at least get an extra hour in bed in the mornings (until everyone adjusts, at least)

Michelle - Abbey sounds so gorgeous, I had no idea she was so 'wussy' with the playground/ beach, I imagined her as a real adventurer/ go-getter! (Send her down here for a week and Jet will sort her out :p) I'm sure she'll have a ball at your Mum's place. I'm with you on not bothering to pick up toys until it's time to vacuum, it's futile.

I should make the most of Jet napping and clean this place up but it's just too comfy here on the couch. I can always clean up tomorrow :sleeping:

diesal444
07-04-2008, 06:58
Morning Ladies,

Just a quick post before I head off to work.
Kimba - Wonderful to have you back, glad to hear your trip went pretty smoothly. Thanks for the travelling tips, we are going to Thailand in 4 weeks and i am pretty nervous on how Darcy will go with flight/food etc.

sare - weekend sleep-ins might be a thing of the past I am guessing for at least the next 10 years!!:laughing:

Well nothing really new happening here. Our house hasnt even started yet and its getting really frustrating!!... I am turing 30 on wednesday and am actually really excited about it. I have 4 weeks off work from the 26th April and I cannot wait!!!!!!!!!
I am a little concerned about Darc's speach. She doesnt really say very much, although understands when we ask her to do something. I am thinking its not her hearing coz we had that tested last year and she can point out body parts etc......She doesnt even attempt to copy us when we talk, We have her 18 month check next month but I am wondering if I should wait that long. I know all kids develop differently but I know she should be saying more then she does.
Ok best be off to have a shower and get ready for work:(
Take care allxxx

GeorgiaAnne
07-04-2008, 10:25
Mary-ann - Yay, on your 4 weeks off, are you going away? re: speech, Sophia has only just started saying a bit more but does understand a lot so I know how you feel. I'm not too worried though but if you are, there's no harm in asking the echn.
Kimba - Ooh, a weekend away you lucky duck, bet you got utd ;):D I'm gonna be pestering you from now on. I'd love a boozy night, how sad is that!
Sare - All my hand washing must have been in vain when Sophia was ill as she gave it to me and i've been sick as a dog all weekend!

But aside from being sick as dog, my dh proved his "d" ness and looked after Sophia, made a gazillion dinners for the freezer for me and Sophia as i'm a terrible cook and he feels sorry for her :smiliedance::goodvibes: so i'm pretty pleased with that.
We finally exchanged on Friday so i'm the proud owner of a humungous mortgage!!!

GeorgiaAnne
07-04-2008, 10:31
Oh and a q - does anyone else's baby exhibit these peculiar ocd habits:
1 - Gets nappy wipes/tissues and cleans tables, her firetruck and other surfaces.
2 - While at the beach, will your child obsessively wipe the sand off you.
3 - Hates getting their hands dirty with anything, esp. paint and likes having them clean.
4 - Hates being barefoot in grass and will climb on anything to get off it.

It is quite funny to watch but I am a little concerned about the autism "obsessive" factor but I will just see what happens, she doesn't exhibit any other signs so we'll see :detective:

M~T~J~M
07-04-2008, 18:59
Sarah - How did you go at the drs after the incident at the playground last weekend? That must have been a horrible thing to have to go through (not to mention disgusting...some people are just feral).

Hi Sare,
I took M to the Dr's and he suggested that he have a series of blood tests to rule out Hep C, HIV and something else :confused: I'll ring the surgery tomorrow to find out the first round of results. He will have to another set of bloods taken in 3 months. He was so brave having the test, although it did take 2 of them to hold him down whilst he screamed. I've been trying to enforce the 'you're not to pick anything up off the ground thing', but it's harder than it sounds, believe it or not! I think there must be something 'special' about rubbish on the ground that just calls to children and makes them want to pick it up, lol! I can be a meany at times though, and I threaten if they pick anything up off the ground, it means they'll have to have a blood test needle....that stops them pretty quick! I hope you're feeling ok and that the MS and the girls are being kind to you. Oh, did you end up telling your family about number 3 yet?

I am turing 30 on wednesday and am actually really excited about it.

I am a little concerned about Darc's speach. She doesnt really say very much, although understands when we ask her to do something. I am thinking its not her hearing coz we had that tested last year and she can point out body parts etc......She doesnt even attempt to copy us when we talk, We have her 18 month check next month but I am wondering if I should wait that long. I know all kids develop differently but I know she should be saying more then she does.

I remembered your 30th was coming up, but forgot what date :o So, thanks for the reminder!! So, Happy birthday for Wednesday, you old chook, lol!! Have a lovely day!

Talking about speech, I'm still concerned about J's speech, or lack of, also. I have already spoken with the Dr about it, and he told me that sometimes children will excell in other areas of develpoment before focussing on their speech, and that if I was still worried about it anout 18 months, I could take him back and start with hearing tests, etc. J is the same as Darcy though....he'll follow instruction, etc, but just not say too much. I sometimes think it's because perhaps he thinks he doesn't have too? We do everything for him anyway, kwim? But sometimes, it really worries me. Considering T was almost talking in sentences at this same age?? I have an appoint with the MCHN on the 17th April, so I'll be bringing it up with her then. Perhaps if you are really worried, a visit to the Dr before you see your MCHN wouldn't hurt?

Oh and a q - does anyone else's baby exhibit these peculiar ocd habits:
1 - Gets nappy wipes/tissues and cleans tables, her firetruck and other surfaces.
3 - Hates getting their hands dirty with anything, esp. paint and likes having them clean.

It is quite funny to watch but I am a little concerned about the autism "obsessive" factor but I will just see what happens, she doesn't exhibit any other signs so we'll see :detective:

Hi Georgia,
My boys haven't shown these behaviours, but I could've sworn you were describing my nephew at the same age!! I thought I had 'forced' his behaviours onto him as we spent an awful alot of time together, and I hated having dirty hands, etc too, so would wash his almost immediately after getting dirty, lmao! He also hated walking barefoot on the grass, absolutely hilarious to watch, lol :laughing: Just to let you know though, he is perfectly normal!! Perhaps it's just a stage of her development?? If you're worried too much, perhaps a visit to the Dr wouldn't help also?

Kimba: Of course Jet would be a perfect little angel for you Mum, lol! They always are when we're not around! Isn't it enough to just rot your socks?? M and T stayed at my sister's house on Sat night, and were absolutely fantastic - until I turned up on Sunday to pick them up! It must be part of a child's make up, lol!! Would've been great to have a night away though....(mmmm, what could I do to persuade someone to take my 3 boys so I could have just 1 night away.....just 1???)

Busting for the loo, so best be off.
:wave: to everyone I've missed

~Kimba~
07-04-2008, 19:07
q - does anyone else's baby exhibit these peculiar ocd habits:

I think they get the OCD cleanliness thing from daycare (Jet sure doesn't get it from me LOL) because Jet also wipes things down (including his own butt when we change him!), sweeps the floor, and if he drops food on the floor or table while eating he stops eating, declares 'Kaka! Kaka!' (which he learnt from his carer) and either picks it up himself or points and yells till someone else cleans it up.

Oh and when he was younger he used to love sand and would eat it by the handful, but when we hit the beach in Bali he suddenly hated it being stuck to him. And he hates the feel of sand or gravel on his feet - is a bit iffy with grass too, when it never bothered him before. So it sounds like just one of those picky toddler things to me!

Re: speech - for a while I was worried about Jet too, not so much that he wasn't talking because he's quite chatty, it just wasn't recognisable words half the time or a completely incorrect version of a word (like Babble for Apple etc). But seriously, just in the last week or so he's really taken off, and is getting much clearer and is talking in short 2 word sentences - like Turtle there, Daddy outside etc. He's also started using words when complaining in his cot instead of just crying, I could hear him in there tonight talking to his blanket, whingeing about mummy and daddy being outside (awwww :( )

I guess my point is that it's amazing how much they can suddenly change just in a week, so I wouldn't be too worried about it at this age, IYKWIM?

Georgia - congrats on the mortgage! Your DH is a good boy isn't he. Hope you feel 100% soon. The boozy night wasn't all I anticipated - in fact I forgot that I couldn't handle alcohol any more, especially with no dinner (wedding reception was just finger food) - both DH and I were sick and then passed out in bed by about 9.30pm! How embarrassment...So there's not much chance of being UTD either LOL.

MaryAnne - Happy 30th for Wed, if you don't get back on here by then! 4 weeks off will be lovely for you, I've just had 3 off and I could easily go another week (or more!) but sadly I'm back to work tomorrow...with Darcy's speech, I'd probably just wait till the 18 month check, because SO much can change in a month. But you're the mum and if it would put your mind to rest to check it now, then of course there's no harm in that either.

Sarah - missed your post while I was typing! I must have missed something while I was away, what happened to poor Jarvis, did he step on a needle at the park? That's my greatest fear (and why I don't take Jet to the parks around here as much as he'd like!). I hope all is OK!!!! I also hope you can find someone to look after the kids so you can have one night to yourself...it's such a luxury!

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
07-04-2008, 20:44
:eek: you girls have me worried...keanu says a few words and he rants all day - but not much i can understand....he understands us too...he doesn't seem as advanced as everyone else in the speaking department...i guess he is a mont younger....but hmmm you have me thinking!?

Becbabe
08-04-2008, 06:54

Ella is getting in trouble downstairs from DP... she keeps going into the gap between the fireplace and the brick surrounds, and then having a tanty when she gets stuck...:rolleyes:

Speech - Ella gabbles all day but with a few words, but it's more the intonation and expression that makes her understandable, IYKWIM? She seems pretty normal compared with the other daycare kids anyway.

Kimba that is SO cute about Jett grumbling in bed about being by himself! Isn't it great though how close they are to being able to tell us what's wrong. Ella has had two ear infections in a month and it sucks, because she doesn't pull at her ear or anything, and I had no idea what was wrong with her! (bad mummy:o) Lol at the boozy night too. I always thought it was genetic that I was a good drinker... but no it turns out to have been practice, as I am a mega cheap drunk now! Everyone thinks it's hilarious - probably because I've been bagging them for years about being quick drunks:D

Sarah, what happened to Jarvis? Poor little mite. I'm always impressed at how brave they are at somethign like that (not so brave when they get stuck somewhere as above..sigh) Also I agree with you about kids being perfect for other people. Ella goes down for her nap on her sleep mat at daycare all by herself - but naptime here on the weekend is a minimum of 5 minute hissy fit!

Georgia - nooo, Ella is like the antithesis to that behaviour! I have had to tell myself to stop being so precious about dirt in the backyard. Ella's the kid over next to the tap, splatting her hands on the wet concrete so the muddy water splashes all over her... and eating horse poo from the garden...
Hope you're feeling better too :hugs:

Sarah, I don't know anyone whose house was built in a timeframe they found reasonable:rolleyes: just seems to be one of those things. Not helpful I know!

Sare - Ella loves daycare now, has done from about the first month onwards. She sooked yesterday at the front door, with her bag in her hand, because she wasn't going to daycare! (stayed home with DP so he could take her to the doc AGAIN)

Better go get us ready. BTW I'm going wedding dress shopping on the weekend - hurrah! I found a lovely, lovely one on the sale rack on the weekend, and have an appointment with the store's dressmaker to try it on, but it's two sizes the wrong way for me, so I'm not hopeful. But I'm going to lurve the whole Muriel fantasy!hehehe

Becbabe
08-04-2008, 06:55
Oh and I got a :bfn: yesterday, which was disappointing cos I was really feeling odd - sore boobs, sick all day, tired - but maybe it's an evil combination of PMS and stress from work?

m_jelly
08-04-2008, 07:06
Re speaking - I'm currently on the wait list for a paediatrician to look at Abbey but its okay. Yes, she regressed and no longer speaks in sentences, but she was doing it far too early anyway. She's stopped calling every single thing TE and has learned some new words these past couple weeks, so she must have been doing that 'focus on other things' bit. No idea what, or why for so long, must be another of her secrets.

Her clearest words are kiss and cheese. CHEESE!? Open the fridge...CHEESE! Mummy has a sandwich...CHEESE! She loves cheese apparently. :rolleyes:

She has a few sentences you have to use your imagination for. Like 'bird flew away'. I only know that's what she's saying because she says it every time the birds fly away. Berbluay.

I figure she's learned a whole bunch of new words just lately that she's decided to speak and will progress from here.

OCD habits - not so much anymore. She can wave her dirty hands at me all she likes, but I'm not going to clean them if I think they are fine. She will pick up a wet washer and clean her dolls faces and hands though, so cute. And her own of course.
Her biggest ocd thing is open doors must be shut. Even if mummy is looking in the cupboard still. Gets quite irate when my big bum stops her closing it.

Sarah - missed the drama too, what happened?

Georgia - congrats on the mortgage! Or perhaps, congrats on the investment would sound better!

Kimba - I've never been to an IKEA but I can imagine its not a great place to take an active toddler. Coles is bad enough. Glad you had a smashing time away from Jet, it won't be long before you plan another one.

Abbey has a mild cold. Its only her second illness ever so I can't complain, but she's so gross. Her nose is running and she likes to lick it, and even worse, when kissing my tummy instead of blowing raspberries she is experimenting with the neat sound blowing her nose makes. Yes, snots on my tummy.

GeorgiaAnne
08-04-2008, 08:34
Michelle - Thanks, I hope it's an investment! Sophia is also obsessed with cheese, every time I open the fridge, and also when she opens it herself and trying to drink tomato sauce from the bottle.
Kimba - Oh, you poor love, drinking's not what it used to be is it? You're prob right about the day care thing and cleanliness. It's a bit of a double whammy because i'm pretty obsessive about my hands as well which is hospitality thing. It's so true about how much they change in a week, my mum really picks up on all the changes each time she sees her as I guess sometimes i'm just too close to notice.
Bec - Bugger on the bfn, hopefully it's just too early? lol on eating the horse poo though, I think i'd faint if I saw that i'm such a city girl!
Sarah - I also don't know hat happened to Jarvis, sounds dreadful? Thanks for the reassurance though re: Sophia's behaviour.
Jack - Don't worry about the speech, a month is a long time when it comes to it with that sorta stuff.

Right better do some work and then i'm off for a wax and an appt at the bc for a check up. Oh and my scan's on friday am and we've decided to find out what we're having so very exciting!

~Kimba~
08-04-2008, 11:47
Re: cheese - also a big favourite here right now! and Jet says 'SHEEEEZZE' with great relish. He's also started saying 'Sheeze' with a big grin for the camera when I want to take a photo, which is Oh So Cute and almost makes up for the constant whingeing, tantrums, headbutts and Mummy's black eye/ bruises. I said Almost.

Another favourite word is TOUCH. Used constantly because he has to touch EVERYTHING, including every blimmin statue we came across in Bali (which was 1000's), he was in love with them!

Another fave word is 'HiPie' (his beloved hi-5). He loves body parts and says eyes, ears, nose, mouth, hair, belly, so I'm now trying to teach him BUM :P

Since Bali, we all have new names. Jet has decided to call us Daddy-dah, Mummy-mia, and his blanket (prev known as Ninny) is Nanny-nah. NO IDEA WHY :laughing:

Georgia - Ooh can't wait to hear how your scan goes, I hope it's a blue bump this time!

Michelle - LOL at the snotty belly! And at berbluay, so cute, that sounds pretty much like most of Jet's sentences right now. My Mum had no idea what he was saying most of the time whereas I could tell you exactly! Like "Dah-di-da owDYED" = Daddy's outside (usually said with tears streaming down his face at the horrific injustice of Daddy being out while he's still in :laughing:)

We're obsessed with closing doors and drawers here too...and putting things in the sink when we're finished. Even if they're pens, toys, remote controls, books...

Bec - Enjoy your Muriel-ness! Sorry about the BFN :hugs: but like Georgia says maybe it's too early? I got 3 BFNs when I was preg with Jet, so you never know...Isn't it frustrating how they'll behave and nap at daycare but not at home? Maybe I need to hire some other kids to come and nap with Jet at home, just to get him to copy them.

Oh and LOL at the horse poo - that would be Jet too! In fact I narrowly averted goat poo in the mouth at the Bali Zoo, in their petting zoo section :barf: He's OCD with 'cleaning' indoors and doesn't like sand but give him mud or potting mix (and I'm sure by extension, poo) and it's all over the hands and straight in the mouth.

Jac - I wouldn't be too worried about Keanu, Jet was barely saying anything a month ago and now he won't shut up - his speech seems to come and go in phases, but from the sound of it everyone else is pretty similar!

sare
08-04-2008, 11:52
Mmmm...munching my way through a french onion and cheese box of shapes as I type. I must stop, but I feel so much better while I am eating. If the girls' pgs are anything to go by I should only have 2 more weeks of it, but not sure as this one is so different.

re speech - Lara's wayyyy behind what Eloise was doing at this age (she knew colours, names of most common body parts, foods heaps of words and was moving on to using 2 word sentences). But that being said, I'm not concerned about Lara at all. She's trying to repeat words that we say, she clearly says no, she names things like tv characters (Dorothy, Elmo, Hi-5). They words that she says may not be identical to how we say them, but she meaningfully and repeatedly says words, like hi-eee for hi-5. From memory they only need to use about 5-10 words at their 18 month check up.

Georgia - How exciting...do you have a gut feeling about what you are having this time? Good luck for Friday. Eloise sounds a bit like Sophia, she hated being the slightest bit dirty and always needed clean hands. Now you should see her, there is nothing she enjoys more than making mud milkshakes in the backgarden.

Michelle - lol at Abbey and her cheese. Lara says cheese whenever she sees a camera, my little poser. Hope abbey gets over her cold quickly :laughing: at the snotty raspberries.

Bec - How exciting about the wedding dress shopping on the weekend. How are all the other wedding plans coming along? Sorry to hear that you got a :bfn: I hope you get your :bfp: real soon.

Jackie - I agree, a lot can happen in a month. Don't worry too much.

Mary-anne - happybirthday for tomorrow. Hope you have a great day and get spoilt rotten. How exciting that your holiday is coming up so soon. I am sure that Sal will be able to give you lots of pointers when she gets back. What a pain about your house. I wonder how Beck's house is going.

Speaking of Beck....where are you? Hope you and the gorgeous Kayley are both well.

Sarah - I hope Mack's results come back with really good results. (Sarah started a post about how Mack had picked up a used condom in a school playground). The wait must be horrible for you guys, but I am sure that it will all be ok. :hugs:
Yep...told the family about #3. They were all really happy for us. DH's family were a bit shocked, I think they thought that my SIL would have the next baby as their daughter is few months older than Lara.

Kimba - Glad Jet was good for your mum. I had a look at your holiday photos on Facebook. Looks like you guys had a great (relaxing...all those spa treatments....jealous) time.

Well enough from me, Lara's asleep and Eloise is playing quietly in her room, so I think I may go and have a lie down on the couch and get in my first nanna nap of this pg (desperately needed because of the pre-6am wake up calls now that daylight savings has finished!) Take care....

M~T~J~M
08-04-2008, 13:39
Sarah - missed your post while I was typing! I must have missed something while I was away, what happened to poor Jarvis, did he step on a needle at the park? That's my greatest fear (and why I don't take Jet to the parks around here as much as he'd like!). I hope all is OK!!!! I also hope you can find someone to look after the kids so you can have one night to yourself...it's such a luxury!

Sarah - I hope Mack's results come back with really good results. (Sarah started a post about how Mack had picked up a used condom in a school playground). The wait must be horrible for you guys, but I am sure that it will all be ok. :hugs:
Yep...told the family about #3. They were all really happy for us. DH's family were a bit shocked, I think they thought that my SIL would have the next baby as their daughter is few months older than Lara.

Yeah, as Sare posted above, M picked up a condom in the playground across the road last weekend. DH was with them.....I have no idea if it was used, etc, but couldn't get it out of my head that something could be wrong. So, we took him to have blood tests. I've been a bit slack in ringing for the results, but I think it's due to me stressing about what the results will say. I'm just about to ring now actually.....Be back in a minute.....

ETA - *sigh of relief* Dr surgery has told me that all results are normal!! Thank god! Now let's hope the next lot still say the same thing.

GeorgiaAnne
08-04-2008, 14:22
Oh, good news Sarah, how awful for you all, what a worry :hugs: People can be so disgusting :shame:

re: the sex, I really have no idea this time which is odd because with Sophia I was very sure it was a girl but we'll soon know. I truly would be equally happy both ways as would dh who would love about 6 girls he is so in love with dd :cloud9:
Hmm, Sare you've got me thinking about cheese and bacon balls :p

sare
08-04-2008, 15:08
Oh Sarah, that is great news. Glad everything is ok. I'm sure his next round of results will be good news too.

Georgia - It's bad isn't. I've always craved sweet things, but now they just make me feel sick. It's savoury and salty all the way this time.

M~T~J~M
08-04-2008, 19:40
Oh Sarah, that is great news. Glad everything is ok. I'm sure his next round of results will be good news too.

Georgia - It's bad isn't. I've always craved sweet things, but now they just make me feel sick. It's savoury and salty all the way this time.

:detective: Sare....very interesting indeedy!! You know, I never craved sweetness with the boys, jusy savoury, breads, etc. But, this time, OMG!! Sweets, sweets and more sweets thanks!!

I think you're cooking a BOY!!

Georgia - I know! I was so horrified when DH came home and told me what he'd picked up. I felt physically ill for hours. Thankfully, as Sare said, the first set of results have come back ok, so here's hoping the next lot will too! I must have missed reading - are you having your ultrasound this week? If so, good luck!! Can't wait to find out what you're cooking!!

I've had some exciting news tonight!! My Aunty came over to share with me that my cousin, who has been TTC for over 12 months, is 12 weeks pregnant tomorrow........with identical twins :smiliedance: Oh, it's so exciting!! She is due 5 days after J will turn 2. And here I was thinking I'd be able to off load everything to her once I was done with it - She needs 2 of everything now, lol!!

AND.......... I'm going to be an Aunty again tomorrow :smiliedance: My sister is having her baby via c-section at about 10.30am. I'll jump on at some stage tomorrow and fill you in with a name, etc.

beck75
08-04-2008, 20:12

I know I have been a stranger lately but am still around and fairly well.

Since last time I have been on DH & I have had bday's, Kayley has been sick a couple of times (child care presents) - I have been sick a few times (Kayley presents) and we have been over to Melbourne last weekend for a wedding - sorry couldn't catch up girls but it was a very busy trip there and back.

I have a cold today and feel yuck and look forward to going to bed soon!!

Work is soooooo busy which is the main reason I have hardly been on. I have had to increase my hours to keep up and am now doing a little bit at home on Mon & Fris as well as my 3 full days in the office. We are going through a huge repositioning project at the moment but shoudl be finsihed this month so hopefully will return to some sense of normality after that.

I think I have been a bit run down - probably still getting over my glandular fever as well as dealing with all of Kayley's germs. Had the worst cold sores last week and have a cold now and have been feeling a bit off colour for a few days but sure will be better soon.

I am moving child care centres for Kayley next week. She is going into a brand new one which will be in walking distance of our new house.

Sare/MaryAnne - not much progress ont he house here unforunately but we do have provisional building approval. Hopefully not too much longer and they will think of starting - the process has taken SOOOOO long and the price keeps going up and up!! We got a $7K variation last week we were not budgeting for but it appears to be Delfin requirments - :hair:.

Sarah - Can't beleive you are 27 weeks already!

I just found out a friend of mine in Melb is 7 weeks pregnant which is exciting!! Another friend is about 3 months as well. 3 friends over here are pregnant too (ranging from 8 - 3 months) plus a girl from work, 4 of my mothers group girls in Melbourne and heaps of you guys!!! I have to admit it is making me a little bit jealous!!

Words - Kayley has just starting doing the occasional 2 word sentances and says quite a few words but she does gabble a lot as well. I am nto at all worried at this stage. She does try to copy what you say bit sometimes makes a mess of it! She definately understands what we say.

OCD symptoms! - Kayley does like to wipe her face and the table etc and doesn't really like to be dirty but again something I am not really worried with at this stage. I do have to get her out of sucking on wet ones though!!

Sare - it does sound like you could be cooking a boy - are you going to find out??

Sarah - boo on the condom. People just don't understand the risks when they leave theri junk around (or just don't care). I am also worried about needles and stuff.

Kimba - glad you had a pretty good time overseas. We were thinking about going soon but now looking at puttin off for a while as son much work and money!

Michelle/Georgia - Kayley also loves her Cheese and says it well. Considering cheese makes me sick I think she is doind well.

Bec - sorry about the BFN - hopefully you get a better result soon!!

Kayley got a flu shot last week and will have to have a second one with her chicken pox next month - has anyone else gone with the flu shots? The doc recommended it as she is always getting sick.

Anyway I have to run.

Look forward to catching up more than I have recently!!

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
08-04-2008, 21:25
hi all
here are some piccies of keanu

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=32253&l=88f74&id=713368451

hope the link works...he is growing way too fast!

sarah- great news!!!! :) just adding some people just do not care these days!!! GRRR!

M,T & J's MUM - how exciting twins!!! congrats to your cousin!!
xoxoxo

sare
09-04-2008, 10:33
:detective: Sare....very interesting indeedy!! You know, I never craved sweetness with the boys, jusy savoury, breads, etc. But, this time, OMG!! Sweets, sweets and more sweets thanks!!

I think you're cooking a BOY!!

lol...It certainly is different, but I won't be surprised if it's another girl. We're not finding out, as tempting as it is, I love the surprise at delivery. If it's a girl, we're set for clothes, because all 3 will be the same size for the same season seeing that we'll only have 7 weeks between all 3 birthdays (that's going to be fun/expensive when we hit the big milestone birthdays). Plus I know what to do with girls :laughing:.

Kayley got a flu shot last week and will have to have a second one with her chicken pox next month - has anyone else gone with the flu shots? The doc recommended it as she is always getting sick.

No, I haven't even thought about it with the girls, but they only get a couple of head colds a year, not like poor Kayley who gets tonsilitis and all the other cr@p that can go with colds. How did Kayley go with the needle? I'm not looking forward to taking Lara for her chicken pox vac next month, I've got a feeling that she will scream the place down.

Gee it sounds like you have been busy with work Beck, I hope it settles for you real soon.

Jackie - Great photos. Keanu's really growing up. Where have our babies gone?

We're back to doing kinder runs today. Eloise is so excited about going back. She's so independent these days. It's amazing how much they grow and mature in such a short space of time.

Have a great day...

GeorgiaAnne
09-04-2008, 11:00
:detective::detective: the Sarahs re: the cravings, i've been all about the savoury cravings this time....last time was very much about the sweets as well hence the 30kg weight gain. So far i've only done 3 kg which is great considering this time last pg I was about 12kg up! YIKES!
Sarah - Congrats on becoming an aunty again!

sare
09-04-2008, 11:22
:detective::detective: the Sarahs re: the cravings, i've been all about the savoury cravings this time....last time was very much about the sweets as well hence the 30kg weight gain. So far i've only done 3 kg which is great considering this time last pg I was about 12kg up! YIKES!
Sarah - Congrats on becoming an aunty again!

:detective: Georgia, if you find out you're having a boy on Friday then I may start thinking blue. :laughing:

GeorgiaAnne
09-04-2008, 12:59
Oh I can hardly wait now :hissy:

M~T~J~M
09-04-2008, 14:42
:wave: all,

Well, I got the news early this afternoon that my new little nephew had arrived!! :smiliedance: Little Nash was born this morning....he weighed 8lb 3oz, and was 50cm long. The pic I have got of him is just adorable!! Makes me really want this little bub out now :goodvibes:

I had an Ob appoint today. Was good to see that he couldn't see any boy bits, so his guess was also a girl :cloud9: I've only put on a little under 2kg in 5 weeks, so I'm really pleased with that. Lil bub is head down already, so I'm pleased with that too!! Seeing as though J was transverse, then breech until about 34 + weeks, I was really expecting this one to be the same. My Ob told me, however, that he will be on holiday around the time I'm due. Now I'm unsure as to what I want to do - if I will be induced before he goes away, or if I'll just wait and let it happen and have a stanger of an Ob there instead. I'll talk about it with DH. I can see that this is all I'll be able to think about now until my next appoint in 3 weeks.

Beck - Hi! You do sound busy! Re: Flu shots - I hadn't really thought about it either, but we're sort of the same of the same as Sare - the boys are very rarely sick, so touch wood, they'll stay healthy this winter. I may ask the Dr about it though when I take J for his 18month immunisation in a week or 2.

Sare - You are so strong not finding out!! DH really wanted this one to be a surprise, but I just couldn't wait, I had to know!! I still say it's a BLUE one for you :goodvibes:

Off to vaccuum before DH gets home! I have to make it look like I'm a little bit tidy when he's not home, lol!

sare
09-04-2008, 14:57
Congratulations on becoming an Aunty Sarah.

Good luck on the decision you make with what to do re OB being away. It's hard when you develop that bond with your OB only to find out that they won't be there for the important bit.

Georgia - LOVE your new avatar. Sophia looks all grown up. She's adorable.

It looks like I've been on here all day...I swear I haven't. I've even managed to do some housework today for the first time in a few weeks. In fact I might go and vac the lounge room while the girls are happily watch Hi-5.

~Kimba~
10-04-2008, 09:00
Sooooooooo tiiiiiiiirrrrrrrred. Is is so unreasonable of me to expect a decent night's sleep after 18 months? Jet is waking at least 1-2 times in the middle of the night and then I end up having him in bed with me after DH goes to work (2.30am-ish), purely so I don't have to keep getting up. Then he tosses and turns for the rest of the night, usually wakes at least once more, and is up before 6am! Lack of unbroken sleep surely can't be good for him either :(

Do you think it's too early for them to be getting their 2 yo molars? Jet's had all his other teeth for months, but he's been dribbling and chewing on stuff and I'm wondering if maybe that's what's causing the night waking...:detective:

Sarah - congrats on the birth of your nephew, Nash is a cute name! And twins, how exciting...I never had an OB with Jet, just my own Shared Care GP and the birth centre middies for antenatal care - then ended up with the OB Registrars on the day when it all went pear-shaped, and TBH by that stage I could really care less who was delivering the baby LOL. But I can imagine that it's a big decision for you, the whole point of paying for your own OB is the continuity of care...

Georgia and Sare - I have a blue feeling for both of you but then again I was convinced Jet was a girl so what do I know??? :laughing:

Jac - Keanu is very cute. They're growing up so fast aren't they? Turning into little people, right in front of our eyes.

Beck - gosh you guys have had a bad trot with illness etc, I bet you're so over it! No wonder you're getting the flu shot for Kayley. Boo to Delfin putting the price up on you - how is that legal, if you've signed a contract?

GeorgiaAnne
10-04-2008, 09:48
:hugs: Kimba, i'm with you on the wake ups. Sophia has a few coming through and is a grizzlebox as well. re: the blue bundle, If I had a gun at my head to guess i'd prob say boy only because of the cravings but my m/s was exactly the same but this time tomorrow we shall know unless the tyke has it's legs closed!
Sare - Thanks for your comment re: Sophia, she is a big girl now but still not with much hair!
Sarah - Nash is a gorgeous name, big congrats to your family!

Becbabe
11-04-2008, 06:19

Just a quick hi before I have to get Ella and I ready for the day. I'm a bit nervous as I have a school group to talk to at a tree planting day today, and I really hope what I've prepared isn't too "dumbed down" for them - but it's a game and I just thought it would be better than them just standing around while I talked at them!

(there's a good reason - or two - why I'm not a teacher!)

BBL for a chat.

Georgia good luck!!:goodvibes:

GeorgiaAnne
11-04-2008, 11:22
It's a lovely baby

BOY :cloud9::cloud9:

We are thrilled!!!!!

Becbabe
11-04-2008, 11:25
Yay! Congratulations on the blue bump :smiliedance:

All else is well, measuring to dates etc?

GeorgiaAnne
11-04-2008, 11:55
Thanks hun, yeah all is measuring well and good which is great. I don't think he'll be as big as Sophia because every time I had a scan with her my edd would move a week because she measured big :D
Sare - Well, well you might have to think about some blue curtains lovey! The cravings thing was the only thing that pointed towards a boy otherwise my pg has been exactly the same, even to the day of when ms finished!

M~T~J~M
11-04-2008, 12:13
:smiliedance: Georgia!!! I knew it, lol!! Congratulations :smiliedance:

beck75
11-04-2008, 13:20
Congratulations Georgia - that's great news and I am glad you are excited!

I do love your pic too - Georgia does look so grown up!

GeorgiaAnne
11-04-2008, 13:36
Thanks Beck, I love your typo! I actually put up that av pic because it's one of the few shots she looks like me in :o

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
11-04-2008, 13:37
Congrats Georgia and family!!

we have just been to playgroup for the first time, was a lot of fun and the mums were nice...think we'll join as of next term :)

~Kimba~
11-04-2008, 13:47
:yelclap: Yay congrats G on the blue bump!!!! How exciting! Seems I'm right about predicting OTHER people's babies just not my own :laughing:

And more importantly, glad to hear that all is well with him in there and that he's not a huge bubba so far, should make a VBAC a lot easier ;)

I forgot to ask, are you going to the BC at RPAH again?

So now the big question, thinking of names yet? :D

PS Sophia does look like you in that pic! very much so.

Jac - I wish I could take Jet to playgroup, one of the things that working mums miss out on! I'm sure he gets plenty of socialisation at daycare though...just without me :(

Bec - I'm sure you'll be fine with the kids. Don't you remember when you were at school, other people were always so much more interesting than the teachers!

GeorgiaAnne
11-04-2008, 14:00
Kimba - Thanks love! Yeah, i'm going to bc at rpa again. It was weird the other day I went for a check up and the middie was the one that was in the c-sect with me!!!!???? She has moved across the hall :devil: Names is a struggle for boy so far i've got Aidan, Luca, Charles, Henry.......

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
11-04-2008, 15:49
my friend named her boy Henry

i love Lucas and Aidan :yes:

sare
11-04-2008, 16:25
:smiliedance: Congratulations Georgia. That's brilliant news. They're lovely names you've chosen. I'm so happy for you. :smiliedance:

Not much going on here...going through all the pg paranoia. m/s has died right down (just a little queasy) and the stretching pains have stopped too, so of course I think the worst. Got my first OB appointment on Mon, so he'll use the ultrasound machine to check all is ok. This parenting caper is a worry from conception...

Georgia, I've got my fingers crossed for a blue bundle, but still thinking it'll be pink (and I'd be more than happy with that).

~Kimba~
11-04-2008, 18:27
Jet is sick :( he had a shocker last night, whinging and tossing and turning like he was in pain, about 1am I noticed he was hot, temp was 38.6, gave him Panadol and then we both got a few hours sleep. He was up at 5.30 :rolleyes: and seemed OK this morning, just a bit sooky and clingy, so he went to daycare, but when I picked him up his carer said he had a fever again.

Straight to the doc who ruled out ear infection and said his chest and throat are OK, but he obviously has some sort of viral infection - doc said to keep an eye out for sore eyes, because Measles is going around. Great! I'm hoping it's just a cold...either way we're in for a couple more sleepless nights I bet, esp with Jet refusing to sleep in his own bed.

Sare - I'm sure everything is OK, but oh I remember those feelings - as horrible as MS is I remember freaking out every time I felt 'well'. I'm still getting a boy vibe for you, but I'm not as sure as I was for Georgia - so maybe you're right about pink!

Georgia - some of the Labour Ward middies were a bit nicer than the BC so at least if the nice ones have moved, that's a good thing! Are they being encouraging about a VBAC for you? Re: names, I LOVE Charles/ Charlie, and Aidan and Luca too. They were all on my list at one stage but DH vetoed them! (Men have no taste, LOL.) Henry is also cute - reminds me of my Great-Granddad...

diesal444
11-04-2008, 19:11
Hiya lovely ladies:wave:

Congrats Georgia on baking a boy!! You must be so happy ( I know I would be)!!

Just finished workies and have the weekend off yay!.. We FINALLY got our building permit yesterday so hopefully they go onsite in the next few weeks..:fingerscrossed:

All is well in our household, Darcy has been her perfect little self, she is such a friendly little soul, cracks me up every time she waves at strangers.
My birthday was good too, I am going out for dinner next weekend to celebrate so it will be nice to catch up with all my friends and family.
Well I hope everyone has a terrific weekend, I am off to have a shower and watch the bombers play!!!
Take care all........xxxxxxxx

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
11-04-2008, 20:03
kimba - aww sorry to hear jet isn't well...hope he gets over it quickly....my nephew has chicken pox i found out today...we haven't seen him for about 2 weeks, so doubt keanu has contracted it.

we went to playgroup today, keanu had a BALL!!!!

i had a comment that he is very confident...i guess thinking of it he didn't care he was in a new environment and didn't cling to me, he just went off and played and enjoyed himself....but she also said he was confident Gross Motor wise...in all honesty i thut he was a bit behind...but seeing him today, even tho he might be (i haven't given him the opportunity to do a lot of gross motor activities), he was still confident and determined! so that was a nice thing to hear...it was soooo BUSY...like 20 odd children easy! was fun tho and going to enrol for the year next term, cos he loved it.

does anyones DS have a pram? or/and a doll?

jackie

mumofKieran
11-04-2008, 20:38

I don't know anyone here well at all yet but would like to join your chat and hopefully get to know you all if that's OK. I can be a bit slack about keeping up with things LOL.

Kieran is getting teeth left right and centre, having lots of sleepless nights, which is a pain as I am really needing my sleep at the moment. We are expecting #2 in December which is exciting. I am trying to convince DH that we need to homebirth this time round after an unnecessary caesarian last time but he is not convinced as yet! I am also having trouble finding a midwife in our area. Very frustrating.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
11-04-2008, 20:42
:) hi katherine
your most welcome!!
can't wait to hear about your family!!

sare
12-04-2008, 09:09
Hi Katherine. By all means join in here. Lara's been teething too and I hate it. Can't wait until she gets her 2 y.o. molars and teething will be over (well at least until #3 starts)

Mary-Anne - Glad you had a nice birthday. Celebrate big next weekend...you only turn 30 once!

Kimba - I hope Jet feels better soon. Poor little man. Hope it's not measles. Oh and I think they can get their 2 y.o. molars early. I'm pretty sure that Eloise cut 2 or 3 of them before she turned 2 (but not as early as 18 months)

Jackie - It's great when kids play independently and don't need their mum their every second. Eloise is like that, whereas Lara is a little more clingy.

Ok, need your advice girls...

I'm a bit peeved with my MIL at the moment. The ILs look after the girls while I work on a Friday and always take them to the local library for storytime. A friend of mine takes her ds too. Anyway MIL was chatting to my friend and happened to mention that I was going to be very busy soon, and my friend asked what, is Sarah pregnant. She told her that I was. Now I have been waiting to see this friend one-on-one to tell her that I am pg, she would love another baby and has had numerous miscarriages. She has been told that she is unlikely to have anymore children and gets quite emotional around new babies. I wanted to be a bit sensitive when I told her and my MIL went and blabbed Not sure now how to deal with it now, to pretend that my MIL never told her and tell her next time I see her or to give her a call and let her know that I know that MIL told her.

Hope you all have a lovely weekend...

Becbabe
13-04-2008, 09:57
hi girls,

Well wedding dress shopping was lovely and I have a shortlist of three - but it suddenly hit me: do I want to commit to a $1000 dress and then get pregnant? But with my family history of fertility issues, do I want to put it off for 9 months or so just to have a wedding?? Maybe I should just put off buying my dress until 3 months before the wedding - just stick with my colour theme and get everything else organised? Hmmm. Big thoughts to have.

I reckon I haven't conceived yet because I'm not looking after myself. I'm tired and rundown, and when I conceived Ella I was jogging every afternoon and on a healthy eating plan. Might be something I need to look at :yes:

Sare - grr at the MIL - you never share that news unless the mother to be has told you you can! I would call your friend and talk to her about it. If she's someone that you care about then honesty's probably the best way to go.

Hi Katherine - wow another mum from regional Australia for our group! Looking forward to hearing about you & yours. Good luck finding a good middie for your homebirth - there are lots of places to go for information.

Jackie, glad you had a good time at playgroup! At Ella's daycare they do roleplays with the baby dolls, boys and girls both.

Kimba the first time Ella had a bad temp, we took her to the hospital and they couldn't find anything wrong with her that night - she showed no other symptoms until the next day (upper resp. infection). So maybe have another look?

Georgia, I really like Henry too. I'm a sucker for the old fashioned names.

BTW the talk with the kids was great!

Better go, miss Wake Up At 5am Then Be Really Cranky All Morning is bellyaching at me.:rolleyes:

m_jelly
13-04-2008, 20:20
Abbey is such a crack these days. Yesterday she made her dinosaurs kiss each other quite vocally (good thing they don't have tongues), today she discovered how to open the fridge, and tonight she had her stuffed toys take turns using the potty.

Gotta wonder what kind of crazy kid she will be.

Got some new words too, turtle (dur-dul) and fish (fessshhhh). No idea where she got turtle from. Same place as 'chip' I guess.

She's almost finished being snotty from her cold, but still has enough to blow it out onto her dinner for extra flavour. Apparently being called disgusting is hilarious.

Bec - No helpful advice re wedding vs pregnancy. You could always get married 8 months pregnant and tell everyone its shotgun. I'm sure you'll conceive again soon, jogging or no jogging. Sex is cardio with benefits, so that could work too.

Sare - that's a bit insensitive of your MIL. Hope your friend didn't take it too badly. Have a 1-1 and explain you didn't mean for her to hear 2nd hand, she no doubt knows of course, but give her a chance to be happy for you. Sucky situation to be sure.

Katherine, hi and welcome!

Jackie - don't you love how as soon as they get to playgroup they no longer need you? I don't even know what gross motor skills Abbey is supposed to have, so I declare her to be appropriate for her age.

Kimba - hope its not measles! Jet got the MMR didn't he? Not much point stressing about vaxxing or non-vaxxing if they go and get the darn virus anyway. Hope he's feeling better and didn't give you too much trouble and worry.

Georgia - yay blue bump! Nice to have a complete set. I like all those names too.

Michelle

~Kimba~
14-04-2008, 11:26
Fever finally went down with no sign of red rash so I guess it's not measles, although I got a bit worried when Jet had red watery eyes on the weekend! But he seems to be getting better now so who knows what it was. And no, he didn't have the MMR...still undecided on that one.

Fish are 'Shish' in our house, Jet can't say F...so frogs are 'Wogs' which cracks me up. His current thing is putting S on the end of everything, I guess because he finally figured out how! Apple-s, Narna-s, Juice-s, Shish-s, Duck-s, Mummy-s...

Forgot to mention that we recently took Jet to a petting zoo and he ran around smacking all the baby animals :eek::o. Not because he doesn't like them, in fact it's the opposite, he gets really excited because he LOVES animals. Seems he just couldn't contain himself and the more excited he got, the more he smacked :rolleyes:. I got so many filthy looks from other parents - as if I wasn't trying to make him stop!

He also smacks me when he's excited - and if I'm upset or 'crying' (E.G. if he's hurt me in play) he gets concerned but smacks my head rather than giving me a hug! it's like any time he can't contain his emotions (good or bad) he expresses it with his hands, and I have no idea why, as we don't smack him...

Anyone got any ideas on how I can teach him to be gentle? Saying 'no, don't smack' or 'gentle, gentle' and guiding his hand, even gently stroking him to show him, has absolutely no effect - been trying that for over a year now! And holding him back just makes him more agitated/ excited = more prone to smack as soon as he gets the chance.

Whoops - little monster is whinging instead of sleeping, dammit I was hoping he'd have a long nap - will try to get back on later to do some personals...

sare
14-04-2008, 11:50
Well I rang my g/f up for a chat about MIL telling about this pg. She got a little upset and explained she was really happy for me, just sad for herself (which I knew she would, and fully understand why). I'm still annoyed at MIL, but what do you do?

GeorgiaAnne
14-04-2008, 12:50
Oh Sare, i'm sorry to hear about that with your gf and her feelings are so understandable it must be so frustrating/upsetting watching your mates get utd all the time :hugs: Do you think mil knows she shouldn't have said anything? I suppose it just slipped out and she had no way to save it? Even so, they should think a bit more. My mum told all and sundry by the time I was 4 weeks pg :rolleyes:

Kimba - If you get any ideas re: the "gentle" thing can you tell me please!!!??? When I say it to Sophia she slaps me on the face and then herself so then I show her again that gentle is a nice stroke and she slaps me harder! I am only hoping it will get through eventually. We should meet for a cuppa this week, shall I come down your end near your work?

Michelle - lol on the dinosaur pash, it's amazing the stuff they come up with.

All is good here, we had a lovely night out for dinner last night, Sophia was so good the WHOLE night and didn't grizzle once I am really hoping it's a sign of things to come, though i'm not going to hold my breath but she really seemed to enjoy the social side of it.
Still thinking names, now I hate all the ones I wrote before. Geez, it's going to be a long 20 weeks lol.

Becbabe
15-04-2008, 12:48
:bfp:

I knew it!!!

Now I have to wait til DP gets home this evening to tell him!

GeorgiaAnne
15-04-2008, 13:32
:smiliedance::smiliedance:CONGRATULATIONS BEC BABE :goodvibes::goodvibes:

I told ya to take the test again!!!!!

Becbabe
15-04-2008, 13:48
I was pretty sure - this morning I woke up feeling hungover, and I thought: Bingo!

Also I have been so tired lately, even though Ella has been sleeping through. And HUNGRY!

5 weeks yesterday anyway. Very excited (and only a little bit scared). But we certainly won't be telling everyone for a good few weeks yet. But I had to tell someone, boy I love having you girls to blab secrets to!!:D

sare
15-04-2008, 16:14
:babydust2: :smiliedance: Congratulations Bec. :smiliedance: :babydust2:

That's excellent news. I'm so very happy for you, your df and Ella.

Well we've had a really busy day today. Had Eloise at her Kings Active class, then at the drs with a suspected UTI (she's been leaking in her undies for 2 weeks now and when I told mum y'day, she said I should get it checked out). Then out for lunch with my Grandma, mum, auntie and brother for my Grandma's 93rd b'day. I've only just got home about 45mins ago.

I'm feeling ok today. The m/s has eased off at 10 weeks with both girls, so only 1 more week to go of feeling crappy if this one is the same. Feeling absolutely knackered though.

Hope you guys are all doing great and Sal...I'm waiting to hear all about your holiday :yes:

m_jelly
15-04-2008, 19:20
Congrats Bec!
Ok, who's next? *Looks at Kimba*

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
15-04-2008, 20:16
Congrats Bec....that is fantastic news!!!

(whispers) I would love for it to be me next...hehehe

who knows maybe it might be...but i think we are a few months off yet (maybe sept) lol....wishful thinking..i feel ready and clucky lol! :laughing:

ikis84
15-04-2008, 22:01
Just jumping in here...

Congrats bec!!!

~Kimba~
16-04-2008, 14:30
Congrats Bec!
Ok, who's next? *Looks at Kimba*

:laughing:not bl00dy likely - I have the best contraception ever - a sick 18 month old sleeping between me and DH every night!

Bec - HUGE CONGRATULATIONS :smiliedance:I also had a feeling you were pg - see, you just gotta keep testing to confirm it! I know how badly you wanted this, I'm soooooooo happy for you. See, your intuition was right, when you were having second thoughts about wedding dresses the other day! So does this mean you'll have a gorgeous bump to walk down the aisle or are you due before the wedding? Either way it will be lovely - I love pregnant weddings/ weddings with babies.

My big news is that Jet has rubella, at least we think so. The doctor wasn't 100% sure because Jet's glands weren't really up, but he has all the other symptoms and the rash is identical to the rubella rash. But Doc is being carefully non-committal and only saying it's a 'viral infection with a rash' LOL - but told us Jet needs to be kept home for at least 3 days or until the rash clears - so as far as I'm concerned it might as well be rubella!

I feel so bad because after Jet being so sick last week and then getting so much better by Monday, I sent him to daycare yesterday because he seemed fine (I was watching him like a hawk for any suspect symptoms believe me) Only to come home yesterday and find the rash had suddenly come up all over his body! Yikes...

So yeah, he's to stay home for the rest of the week, so DH and I are taking turns to stay home with him. Work would actually be fine with me taking the rest of the week off, but I'm already having a week off from next Wed because I'm having surgery, so DH is 'sharing the load'.

In the meantime Jet has decided that our bed is now his bed and won't sleep anywhere else - and since I'm actually getting a better night's sleep than I have in weeks (because I don't have to get up to him), I'm not complaining! He's nice and snuggly :)

Sare - bit late I know but that was darn rude of your MIL to blurt out your news like that and upset your friend, I'd be annoyed too. I hope Eloise is OK!

Georgia - yay for Sophia not being anti-social at your dinner out. I can't wait till we can take Jet out in public again without tantrums! Re: coffee, yes would love that, but probably not till after the 30th as I won't be around much over the next couple of weeks! Oh and I had a dream you called your son Hugh or Hugo (bit fuzzy sorry) so how about that? LOL.

SalTheGal
16-04-2008, 20:26
Hello lovely ladies! So nice to be back, I missed you all. :flowerz:

So we are back from sunny Thailand, and although we had a great time, it is nice to be home!

We got back last fri…I won’t bore you with all the details of our trip- but here are a few bits and pieces:

Nedd was an angel, slept all the way on the flight there and back, we got seats at the front, and put him on the floor both times so we didn’t even have to nurse him, he was cosy as and we even got some shut eye too.

The holiday itself was good- we didn’t love Thailand the way many do, it was nice to do, but not in a rush to go back, and we would have been of that opinion Nedd or not. Nedd definitely had the best trip of all, the locals loved him (and the Jap tourists too Kimba), actually in the first week he got quite annoyed at having so many people in his face all the time, but got used to it. By the second week he was blowing kisses to all the resort staff- such a suck!

The wedding we travelled for was absolutely amazing- we are so glad we made the effort just to be a part of that, they even had a baby elephant attend, which was awesome, we all got to have a pat and a cuddle, it was very special- of course seeing heaps of elephants during our trip (and going on a couple of rides)- Nedd is now obsessed with them.

We left Nedd with the inlaws for two nights whilst we had a trip to Bangkok- and hated it! It is a horrible stinky, busy place, which is too overwhelming for the likes of us country bumpkins! We went down Patpong rd to shop and check out the local “sex shows” but got so frustrated by having so many spruikers in our faces the whole time. But we also did a trip to the tiger temple which got us into the country side- and that was brilliant- I will upload photos asap- amazing to sit and pat the tigers and have photos with their head in my lap.

Second week we headed off to a resort away from the wedding group and tht was lovely and relaxing…just beach, pool, reading and body treatments with the occasional shopping thrown in. We found an amazing local “restaurant/shack” on the beach which had $5 cocktails, and the most divine meals, so made the most of that! :goodvibes:

I got shockingly sunburnt which meant missing my daily massage for a couple of days, I do have a tan which is amazing for me- but don't think I will be trying for one that hard next time! Nedd is our little bronze baby- he is dark as dark, hope his skin stays that way- both DH and I are pale and freckly.

As I said Nedd was brilliant- although it is rather hindering to travel with a toddler (really hits home how holidays will NEVER be the same again! No such thing as a sleep in every day) we couldn’t have asked for better from him….he took everything in his stride, and honestly loved every bit of it- I think most of all he loved having us to himself for two whole weeks!

Anyway, we are back on our beloved aussie soil now, and happy to be home! I have this week off too which has been nice so far- lots of play dates with friends who I can’t normally see due to work…

Unfortunetely Nedd didn’t settle too well back into the time change here, Fri night I was up to 1am with him (he did sleep into 11am the next day so that was nice!), and similar times through until last night- I finally think we are getting back to normal. :sleeping:

DH and I came to the conclusion though that we aren’t good tourists, and we are now searching for a spot we can call our annual holiday destination- you know those spots that you return to every year at the same time- that’s what we want! We aren’t good at being tourists, and don’t really enjoy doing the touristy thing (too lazy)!

Advice for anyone travelling: our top three tips!

Pack the baby monitor and ask for a room near the pool, we were ground floor close to pool both resorts, and could go swimming lounge etc whilst Nedd was sleeping, and after he went down at night. Rather than being stuck by/in the room. This was the most successful thing of our trip I think!
Take containers to breakfast and stock up for lunch- we filled up Nedds night time bottle, took ham and rolls, pancakes, fruit, yoghurt and crossiants for his lunch and snacks through the day. (Also second Kimba with plenty of meals packed, Raffertys were a hit with us too/tinned spag etc)
Use the babysitting service! At roughly $5-7 an hour they were brilliant and we used them a couple of times at night. It was funny actually- both times we told the sitter she could turn on TV/lights etc once Nedd was asleep but we returned to the poor thing sitting in the dark! Also because they come from the housekeeping staff they tidy the room too, one even fixed Lloyds broken thongs!!
OK, enough ramble from me! That was our trip to Thailand, last holiday we go on for quite a while!

Post two with personals coming up!

SalTheGal
16-04-2008, 20:58
OK, now to catch up on all the goss!! (sorry this is a mammoth post!)

BIG BIG CONGRATS TO BEC!!! :goodvibes:
Yay for you, DF and Ella, I am so excited

And Congrats to Georgia on a boy:flowerz: that’s wonderful news…will this be it now that you have a pigeon pair? Or would you have gone for third if this one was a girl?

Happy 30th to Maryanne! Hope you got spoilt rotten.

And congrats Sarah on the birth of your nephew! My last nephew born (turning 1 this month) is a Nash too, it is an adorable name.

Sare- Pooh to you MIL, I would be saying something to her, just so she is aware of the damage she caused! My MIL went and told heaps of family when we told her not too…why can’t they just keep their mouths shut?!? We have decided for the next one we will not tell anyone (cept probably my mum and dad) till we are twelve weeks…figure it’ll also make the time go quicker!

Toilet Training: Nedd is very good at telling us when he has done a poo, and is starting to tell us as he is about to do it- but I am not even close to toilet training him (he wouldn’t have a clue about when he does wee). However, we are about to purchase a potty- Nedd spends most of his time at home nappy free so might as well get him used to the idea. He also loves to come investigate how the toilet all works when we go, he gets the paper for me, and loves to watch it flush.

Talking: He has come ahead in leaps and bounds since we have been away- I think it has been great us spending the time practicing with him. He is a parrot and tries to say everything we do, quite well too usually. His general words include all automobiles (obsessed with the ‘b’ ones- boat, bike, bus), animals and some sounds, body parts (he loves saying doodle!), gone, more, no more, kiss, various foods, bye bye, c-ya, hello, etc etc. He is also starting to use two word sentences, and the cutest little sentences that he hears us say- ie at the lights I always say "red means stop", so he parrots that when we get to the lights. He also got used to us counting to three on holidays (to jump in pool, swing between us, peekaboo etc) so now he counts too- "un, oo, ee", very cute. He says his name, and points to himself in pictures, we have also put photos of all our family members on the fridge and he loves pointing them out and trying to say their names after us.

The one thing we cannot get him to say is Ta, Thankyou or Please…and I am finding this extremely frustrating…I know he can say Ta, but he refuses, even grins so cheekily when I ask him to say it, but will throw an almighty tantrum if I withhold something- yet still will not say it! Any suggestions appreciated! :hair:

OCD- He loves cleaning up mess, and also taking dishes to the sink, he is also obsessed with putting shoes away…which is kinda nice for us- our own little personal maid! But flip side he hates getting his hands and face wiped.

Curious as to who is/isn’t getting the chicken pox vaccine? I am not getting it for Nedd at this stage, if he reaches school and still hasn’t had them I might reconsider, but don’t see the point right now.

We have our 18mnth check up on thurs- looking forward to seeing how he is going.

Jack- Nedd has a doll…it is a boy ragdoll, so not a girly doll, but he loves to drag it round, takes it to bed and gives it cuddles, calls it his "baybee". I am thinking of buying him a doll and pram when I am next pregnant.

Speaking of which- if I have my way I will be next!!! :D I am desperately trying to convince DH that we should start trying…and I think he is coming round to me! He firstly wanted us to be in our house and know how much we would be paying before we started, but as I pointed out it doesn’t make any difference how much our mortgage is we will still be having another one, and the sooner we have it the sooner he will have me back at work …so I am hoping to get my implanon out in the next month or two…ideally I wanted to conceive around june/july so that Nedd will be 2.5yrs, I think it will be a nice gap.

Smacking: Any advice throw it my way too! That is the one thing Nedd does which drives us nuts…he will smack for no apparent reason, and also when things aren’t going his way. Telling him off doesn’t work, and neither does holding his hand still…at the moment, we are walking away from him- just put him down and tell him not to smack and that I am walking away- if nothing else it is a diversion tactic which seems to work at the time, just doesn’t deter him from reoffending.

In regards to the gentle thing- we have just been re-inforcing over and over how to pat gentle, everything from the dog, to us, to his toys. He has got it pretty much worked out- he will start rough but if I ask him to be gentle he eases up- we also show him the difference too though- so he knows “hard/loud” and “gentle/soft”- not just with patting/banging but with noises aswell- don’t know if that perhaps has helped him learn?

Nedd is also still creating issues during the night with his headbanging, I am still up several times and am thoroughly sick of it…I am going to get a referral to a paed this week, I would like to think I can have some chance at normal sleep if I am going to have another baby soon!

Other than that he is just brilliant :valentine:…we were discussing with the inlaws whilst we were away the chances of us getting another gem like Nedd…I think it is highly unlikely that we could be blessed with two children so amazing, so am not holding my breath, just making the most of my little munchkin whilst he is such an angel. :angel:

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
16-04-2008, 21:24
Speaking of which- if I have my way I will be next!!! :D I am desperately trying to convince DH that we should start trying…and I think he is coming round to me! He firstly wanted us to be in our house and know how much we would be paying before we started, but as I pointed out it doesn’t make any difference how much our mortgage is we will still be having another one, and the sooner we have it the sooner he will have me back at work …so I am hoping to get my implanon out in the next month or two…ideally I wanted to conceive around june/july so that Nedd will be 2.5yrs, I think it will be a nice gap.

i am kinda using the same theory...the sooner we have another, the sooner i will be back working p/t....as i don't plan on going back til both kids are in school and only 3 days a week anyway, so i can still do schooly stuff!! lol...

anyway i wud love to fall pregnant now...for some reason i feel Ready...? don't think DP is though...we were thinking of starting to try in sep...maybe i can convince him to start soon lol...

i really want a brother or sister for keanu...but 2 is all we want.

anyways better stop rambling...:laughing: wishful thinking!!

your holiday sounded great sal....

keanus words are also coming along too...he is saying old words clearer and blowing kisses...which i love...he has settled real well here in perth...

ha ha how funny, i am currently chatting to DP on msn as he is at work.... our convo goes like this

me
"hmmm i can go back to work sooner....! he he i love you"

him
"yeah......well until you know if your studying......you should look into that child care"

my point is that we were talking about having another and he didn't reply a flat out NO lol...so maybe he is warming to the idea...

now where was i...keanu has settled real well now. we miss everyone like crazy but perth is lovely...it has lots of family orientated things to see/do...going to the choclate factory friday and having a family day at a park too...can't wait to take keanu to the zoo! he loves animals...

oh he now says woof woof, and miaow...sooo cute!!

anyways had better stop rambling..this post is probably boring everyone.
xoxoxo

m_jelly
17-04-2008, 14:11
Abbey is having a late nap. She's taken to waking obscenely early (4-5am) and thinking I should stroke her cheeks until she falls asleep again, or offer boobie, or whatever. Its all about her!

Jackie - Touring a chocolate factory? mmmm say hello to the oompa loompas!

Sal - welcome back! Thailand sounds lovely, apart from the population crush of course. Glad Nedd was such an angel for you, it would have been a very different holiday were he not so easy going. So jealous about the elephants. I want to ride one too! Abbey loves elephants as well. She does her elephant impersonation, sticks one arm up next to her head and says 'woo'. Its such a lame 'woo' though. Like a really exhausted elephant.

I'm not getting the chicken pox vax, already put in my CO for it. There's just no point as far as I can see. The kids get chicken pox anyway, just a mildler form, but it also means they are never immune like I am. If she hasn't had it by the time she's 10 I will probably do it then.

I get the occasional ta, thankyou and please. I don't think she understands why they are important yet though. And to any other person they are indecipherable of course.

Smacking/gentle - Abbey used to get excited and smack, but everytime she did that I would grab her hands and clap them together and make whooping noises. Now she just claps when she is excited, flaps when she is too excited to coordinate a clap.
Gentle is a little trickier, she knows what i mean when i say 'gentle...soft' and will amend her touch accordingly, unless she is pulling my hair to wake me up, that's different.

Kimba - rubella, eek! Hope it passes quickly. Will he get a natural immunity now?

~Kimba~
17-04-2008, 19:48
We're not bothering with chicken pox vax either, I also don't really see the point. The only argument the doc could give me in its favour was 1) I wouldn't have to take time off work to care for a sick child (like that's a problem? LOL) and 2) they won't get shingles as an adult. But having the vax doesn't guarantee against getting chicken pox nor shingles anyway...

I've had a lovely day at home with my 'sick' boy today. He's being such a Mummy's Boy at the moment, following me around adoringly, and I love it, especially all the cuddles. DH is quite jealous LOL. Jet's rash is pretty much gone already, so that's passed really quickly, thank goodness. I'm going to ask the doc to do a blood test to confirm if he's now immune to rubella - hope so. Then we can forget the MMR and look at doing the measles and mumps vax separately if he hasn't had them by the time he goes to school. Being a boy it's probably important that he has the mumps vax at least...

Re: please/ thankyou/ ta - we get spontaneous thankyous (tah-boo!) all the time, he usually only says ta when he's giving us something. Not saying please very much, but he'll sometimes do it (peeez) if we prompt him - still working on that one!

Sal - welcome back! Your trip sounds so much more relaxed than ours was, bless easy-going Nedds little socks. (Sometimes I wonder if Jet has ADHD! :laughing: or maybe we've just got the Terrible Twos early...) We missed the tiger temple when we went to Thailand in 2003 and I've always regretted it...hopefully we'll be going back again someday though. We rode an elephant when we went, and it was scary because the elephant was huge and cranky and clearly having a Very Bad Day, we thought it was going to bolt and shake us off at any moment!

Re: annual destinations, that's definitely Bali for us (if we could afford it). Not only because it's cheap and DH is a local and I speak the language which makes it heaps easy! but it's relaxing to go somewhere where you've already seen all the sights and don't feel pressured to go out and do stuff to 'make the most' of your visit, and where you're familiar with where everything is and how everything works...

Michelle - I hope Abbey stops the 4-5am wakeups soon. Jet does the arm up and the lame elephant noise too, I'm the only one who realises that's what he's actually doing! He can't say elephant so I taught him the Indonesian version (Gajah) instead, so of course other people have no idea what he's talking about LOL.

Jac - Great to hear that you're all settling in well in Perth. Yum enjoy the chocolate factory! I'm told you should take little plastic bags in your pockets so when they offer you samples you can take a few and fill up your bags for later, LOL.

beck75
18-04-2008, 07:30

Just wanted to jump on quickly and say CONGRATULATIONS BEC.

I am doing work at the moment (day off - never seems to happen!) but will try and jump on later for more personals etc.

Sal/Jac - I am with you - I am so ready but still trying to convince DH! I don't want a huge gap and only want 2 so I want them to be able to play together and it means the earlier I can go back F/T etc but unforunately I am still getting a 'No' from my DH!

Anyway I have to run!

Becbabe
18-04-2008, 11:39
Thanks for all the congratulations! I'm really happy (God bless those preggo hormones!) which is an odd emotion to feel while you're contemplating being sick.

I'm gearing up for a (now not so) big weekend in Sydney - meeting some old Uni mates and going to the Rocky Horror Show. So excited! One guy I haven't seen for 8 years... doesn't seem that long ago.

Kimba, I'm also the favourite for sooking, but I alternate between feeling smug and irritated by it... sometimes she screams if DP touches her and she wants me! I'm also chuffed my intuition was spot on. Wedding - we'll probably go back to the October plan, bub will be 10 months and old enough to be babysat over night. I will have to plan my dress around b/fing though - a challenge!

Jackie - don't you love those conversation moments that give you a window of hope? Good luck convincing your DP (you too, Beck & Sal!) Wow a chocolate factory mmmmm.

Sal - thanks for being excited for me! Nedd does sound like a total angel. Glad your holiday went well - you're a braver woman than I! I think it's cool to buy little boys toy babys and prams/carriers, especially if you had a new one. Very good message reinforcing for the modern man! Ella also counts, it is SO cute - she holds her fingers up and counts them with the other hand, "two, siss, whee, two" and etc, over and over.

Better go finish off some work then I'm outta here yay! I'm going on the train too so it will be nice and relaxing...ahhhh...

have a good one girls!

diesal444
18-04-2008, 18:50

Bec - CONGRATULATIONS on your:bfp:. You must be so happy. I am absolutely thrilled for you!!

Kimba - Hope Jet starts to feel better soon, very cute of him putting s's on the ends of words. Now if only I can get Darcy to say something...anything............:rolleyes:. Thanks again for all the travelling tips.

Sal - your holiday sounds devine. Be good to get some more tips on travelling, hopefully we can catch up next week!! Glad Nedd was an angel for you both whilst you were away!!

Jack - Hope you can convince your DH to start trying for another soon. I guess us women know when we are ready to go again dont we?

Michelle - Love the lame elephant action. Sounds adorable. Hope Abbey starts pushing her sleep till a more human hour!

Beck - Wow, so your trying to convince DH to go again too!!... I have a strange feeling that I will be the last to be preggers again. Hopefully I will just KNOW when I am ready.

Well just got in from work and put my little munchkin to bed after a very playful bath.
I have been really trying to get Darcy to copy my words but she seems to have NO interest whatsoever.
eg: mummy say " car"..darcy says "broom broom" (sound a car makes). Mummy says "clock"...Darcy says "tick tick"...mummy says Duck... Darcy says " quack quack"... ok so you get the idea. She knows what things do and the sounds they make but doesnt actually say the WORD.. iykwim???:confused:
I am going out for dinner as a belated birthday celebration tomorrow night and there is about 25 of us, so it will be lovely to catch up with everyone, I am really looking forward to it:yes:
So as of next week I have 4 weeks off and I just cant wait. I feel so ready to be on holidays and am soooo looking forward to going to Thailand.
On the home front, Our house is looking to be starting very soon. Apparently they went onsite today and done some scraping on our block so thats a start I guess.
Ok ladies, have a great weekend and kisses to all bubbas and pregant bellies:laughing:

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
18-04-2008, 20:52
keanu has started that too

mummy says dog and it is 'woof woof'...

he has only just started though, i actually believe it is part of language development...most children do this before saying 'dog, cat' etc...well at least some do anyway, in my experience as a childcare worker....so don't stress :)

going to play buzz....lol
cheerio
and nite

sare
19-04-2008, 09:12
Well Lara is back to her shocking sleep patterns. I'm trying really hard to sleep through her crying, but bl00dy dh can't, so he brings her to our bed and then wonders why she wakes up screaming each night. She's well and truly worked out if I scream, I will get to cuddle up to mummy (she won't have a bar of dh when she's in our bed).

Eloise has been surprisingly good for the last few days. I'm predicting that her horns will emerge in the next day or so, just in time to coincide with dh's business trip to Malaysia tomorrow night!!!

Mary-Anne - Have a wonderful time tonight and a fantastic holiday too.

Bec - Sorry to hear that the m/s has kicked in, but it strangely reassuring isn't it? Mine seems to have disappeared earlier this time around :smiliedance:
Have a great weekend away.

re chicken pox vac - I'm going to go against the grain here. I'll be getting Lara vaccinated. I had Eloise done and I am so glad I did. She was exposed to it when Lara was only a few weeks old, and I would have hated for her to get it and then try and keep her away from Lara. She didn't have any adverse reactions from the vac either, not even one spot.

Sal - Glad you had a good trip and that Nedd was the perfect angel. I'm with you though on not really enjoying my time in the SE Asian countries, I've been to a few and haven't really enjoyed it. DH loved it though.
DH wants a regular holiday destination for us too, but I know that it involves camping, not caravan park camping, real camping. Needless to say I'm not rushing into that.

Michelle - 4/5am that's crazy. When will these girls become good independent sleepers?

Well enogh from me... hope you all have a great weekend.

Jeffy
19-04-2008, 13:40
Hi all :wave:

I'm not around much anymore but do check in every now and then to see who is :bfp: and the like!

Congrats Bec!

I have decided I want another one myself, it's taken me a couple of months of subtle hints to get DH away from flat out "NO!", so we'll see what happens.

Well - not much to say, I'll check in again sometime soon (yeah, right - every three months isn't really 'soon'!)

beck75
19-04-2008, 14:08

Jeffy - great to hear from you. I am still getting the flat out no at this point but still working on it!!

MaryAnne - Kayley does the sound thing too and has done for a while. It is cute! But she is saying the words more often now then she used to. SHe also tries to copy what you say now - which isn't always successful!! I do want to have another but DH is not on board so we will see. It might be the both of us with everyone else pg!

Sare - sorry to hear about the sleep issues again - you have had it sooo hard.

Well I have to run and do more work. As part of our big change program at work we have had a big issue come up which I am helping with testing for the fix etc - joy!

Cheers to you all.

M~T~J~M
19-04-2008, 19:24
:wave: everyone,

I've been MIA due to my damn computer deciding to give me a fatal system error message the other night! So, it's been in the shop since Wednesday, only for them to tell me that it was riddled with viruses and almost at the unreapairable stage!! I was so mad! So much for this bloody anti virus protection we pay top dollar for!! Anyway, i've got it back now, and post away I will, lol!!

BEC: :smiliedance: OMG! YAY! Congratulations! Sending you lots of sticky dust, and in a weird way, here's to hoping you get really bad morning sickness, lol!!

JEFFY: :wave: good to hear from you! Hope all is going well.

SARE: Sorry to hear of Lara's sleeping efforts. They know all too well don't they? Cheeky little monkey. Hope you're feeling good and that the morning sickness stays away :fingerscrossed:

MARYANNE: Hope you're having a good night tonight!! How exciting that things may be starting with your house! Sounds like it will get moving before you know it!

KIMBA: How's your little darling Jet doing? Hope all is not too bad, and he's feeling a bit better now.

MICHELLE: Little J started waking up at 5.00am too! OMG! I neally drove me mental. There was no way I was waking up at the that time, so lazy ole me, toddled off to his room, gave him a cup of milk :shame: then popped myself back into bed. It worked wonders and he started sleeping until 8.00am or so. Lucky for me, he has taken to waking later again now, and is usually awake at 6.30am. Still too early for me though, and I make him hang out in his cot until at least 7.15am, lol! Mean mummy I am!!

Chicken Pox Vaccination: Sare, I'm with you. I've just had J immunised on Thursday. He has also been fine with it, as were my other boys. If they are going to still get it, I'd prefer it to be a really mild case over a really bad case that may make them very very ill.

Speaking: We had our 18 month MCHN check on Thursday too. I bought up the issue of talking, etc with her, and she informed me, which I probably already knew, that it's in the normal range for an 18 month old to have 5 - 10 words (I think you mentioned this Sare). J is saying this many, maybe a few more, so I'm not worried now. I mentioned, however that T was speaking in sentences at this stage, and that J must be slow. She quickly corrected me though, and told me that T was advanced and J is quite within the norm. All good. He has just started saying shoes (soos) this week, and it's the most cutest thing! Almways has to have the soos on, lol! Also, he's started saying nose, and will point to each of our noses....too cute, lol!

Ok, enough ramble from me. Off to pop the nappies through the dryer, then baby name hunting I think. Have a good night

beck75
20-04-2008, 10:15
Hi Again

Sarah - you have to love viruses.....

I am going to get Kayley immunised with the chicken pox vaccination. She is also getting the flu injection this year so in a couple of weeks time she will have chicken pox and her second flu shot.

Well I worked on a big work problem until 1.30 last night and then Kayley was up at 3am which is odd for her these days. Didn't get her back to sleep until after 5am and then we were up at 8.00am. I have taken her swimming this morning and I have to play hockey at 12.30 - I think I am giong to pass out this afternoon!!!

SalTheGal
20-04-2008, 20:36
Hey Ladies….

I am back to work tomorrow :(…I have had such a lovely time off, spending time with Nedd has been totally awesome, and I am going to hate being away from him. Grrr, why can’t I win tats lotto and never work again?!?!

We have had my Brother, SIL and Nephew for the weekend, Sam my nephew is 3mnths younger than Nedd, and just started walking- so it was great to have the two together. Usually Nedd and Sam get a little lost in the mayhem that is my other brothers three children, when they are around it is a madhouse. But just watching them together this weekend was wonderful! The difference in their ages is getting less and less noticeable- in six months they are just going to be the best of mates. :goodvibes:

We also have my MIL arriving tomorrow for two nights, glad she is here this week when I am back at work- she was going to come last week, and considering she totally takes my son away from me, I would have hated it whilst I was on leave. This week will be flat out so it will be good to have her around.

Had Nedds 18mnth check up- he is 12.5kg, 85cm and all looks great developmentally. So very happy here! She also recommended getting a referral to a paed re Nedds headbanging- just to rule anything out so that we can work on soundproofing our room! :rolleyes:

Jack- great to hear you are settling in over there in Perth, sounds like it is all falling into place!

Bec- hope you had an awesome wkend in Sydney- sounds wonderful!

Maryanne- I think in my unprofessional opinion that what Darcy is saying is fine! She is clearly understanding what you are saying to her- and has her own way of verbalising, and she will get it all sooner or later….Nedd has literally taken off with his speech since we went to Thailand- before then he wasn’t that switched on to it at all- his day carer was astounded at the difference she could see in two weeks….I wondered if it was the fact we were with him for those two weeks full time- maybe Darc will take off during the time you have holidays and have four weeks to focus on it.

Hope you had a great weekend with your birthday celebrations.

Sare- So sorry to hear Lara is not sleeping well again/still! You really do deserve some decent sleep before pregnancy makes it impossible and you are dealing with a newborn…have you thought about another trip to sleep clinic? :hugs:

Oh and Coldrock opened while we were away in Ballarat- I am yet to go in, but think it might be on the cards this week..dangerous!

Beck- phew what a 24hrs you have had- hope you get a chance to catch up tonight.

Well on the baby making convo- I think I am getting somewhere, he said tonight that he just doesn’t want us to have a newborn when he is still trying to finish things off with the house- and considering we are doing heaps at the end stage ourselves (erecting veranda, laying all flooring, tiling, all joinery in cupboards plus helping a good mate install kitchen/bathrooms, some painting etc) I get this- he hadn’t really explained it like this before. So we will play the waiting game again, and once the house is started and we have some idea of end date we can make some more concrete plans. :smiliedance:

On the subject of house building we see the bank this week for final approval- then council permit is maybe a week after that- once it comes through we are all systems go- so DH is saying maybe 3-4weeks away, finally! Not that I am holding my breath. :hissy:

OK, well I am off to bed, big day tomorrow…

Take care all, Cheerio!

Becbabe
21-04-2008, 09:05

Wow my Sydney weekend was absolutely amazing, there wasn't a minute I didn't enjoy. It was SO unbelievably good to spend so much time with my old friends - to be "just me", not Mummy or an employee etc. Had an absolute blast (and ate some truly sublime food...mmmmm)

But it was also just lovely to be met off the train by DP and Ella yesterday. Awww.:hugs:

Mary-ann, that sounds totally normal to me, because Ella used to do that all the time too - noises, not names. She says almost all the names now (except a rabbit is still a "hop hop" with actions!) and she's over a month older than Darcy so seems like a normal progression!

Sare - it's not an ear infection or anything is it? Whenever we have a "screamy" night it's that or a tummy ache (I just love checking the poo chart at Daycare!) in fact the first ear infection she had, I thought she was just being a brat so I'd pick her up :eek: bad mummy! Also Ella's been sleeping through for about a month now (barring the above incidents!) so there's still hope...

Thanks Jen :)

Beck - good luck softening up DP!

Sarah - thanks for the ms vibes hahaha. It's just because last time, I stopped feeling sick for a week before I had the m/c, so it's reassuring. I also got Ella the chicken pox vac without thinking twice about it.

Sal, glad to hear you are getting somewhere with the babymaking - I love it when you get a reason/explanation for something where previously you may just have thought they were being stubborn! Isn't it great to see your kid playing with their family? I love it but it's sad there's such a big age gap between Ella and her next cousins.

Back off to work now:D

sare
21-04-2008, 10:07
Well Lara's still being a PITA. Dh left last night for 4 nights in Malaysia for work an she was up screaming at 9.30 (self-settled after about 15mins) and again at 2am. After over 30 mins of screaming I went to get her and the she stopped when I went in. She refused to lie down and I was thoroughly exhausted so I pulled her in to bed with me. The little monkey even screamed when I put her in my bed because I wouldn't let her snuggle up to me. I am so over this, but don't know what else to do. I don't think it's anything medical, she's really healthy at the moment and she's cut all her teeth bar her 2y.o molars. I will speak to my MSN when she has her 18 month check up next month and see what magical suggestions she has.

Bec - Your weekend away sounded lovely. Something I wish I could do, unfortunately with this one on the way and Lara still being so clingy, it's going to be a while.

Sal - GL for your return to work. That's great news on your dh coming around to your way of thinking re ttc.

Mary-Anne - I agree with Sal. When we have had the speech pathologist assess the kids at school with speech problems they talk about receptive and expressive language. Darcy's receptive language sounds just fine, she understands what you say and follows instructions and is definitely making cognitive links with the animals and the noises they make. Her expressive language sounds like it's developing too. It's just so hard not to compare to what other kids of the same age are doing (hey, I even do it with my 2). Lara's come along leaps and bounds in the last few weeks. Some of it is me becoming more in tune to what she is saying (I've learnt in the last 2 weeks that she says 'lee-wa' for water ...goodness knows how).

Beck - OMG you poor thing. I hope you got to have a nanna nap y'day afternoon.

Sarah - eek at the computer. I'm scared what I could be doing by downloading my fav tv shows, but figure that my anti-virus should protect it....maybe not.

Jen - Good to hear from you.

Well I'm off to play Candyland with Eloise (sounds better than it is, it's just a board game). Then off to the hairdressers this afternoon for a cut and colour ... and some peace and quiet :laughing:

~Kimba~
21-04-2008, 20:08
I just spent the weekend in Melbourne for an old friend's 30th birthday. Great weekend, but so exhausting! flew down Sat morning and back again Sun afternoon. We had a massive night at her party on Saturday night, and while it was Most Excellent at the time, yesterday I was paying for it, feeing verrrrrrry seedy and worn out, reminding myself that I'm just way too old for partying like a rock star, LOL. Was quite good to get away though, and like Bec, just 'be myself' for a while with my old friends - but honestly, I was also just so glad to get home to Jet, I missed him so much. Oh and DH too of course (but not as much as Jet - is that bad? LOL)

Jet is completely over his virus and talking heaps now. Today he pulled off my socks (although he calls them 'shoes' - everything on the feet is shoes) and when I asked him why? he said 'Touch toes' and started playing with my toes. Awwww cuteness! New word for today was 'shark' (totally out of the blue) and he's finally adding the K and saying 'Mook' for milk - used to be just 'Moo'. It's great that he can ask for things or tell us what's wrong - so much less frustration for all of us. And cute...oh, so cute...I love how his voice sounds!

He's obsessed with toast - making it, not eating it, he even asks me to put his slices back in the toaster to make them hot again! and loves announcing that things are 'hot' 'wet' or 'cold'. He's also obsessed with brushing his teeth, or rather gnawing on the toothbrush - and won't let me do it properly - he has to do everything himself. Oh and he's decided that he's the boss of our cat - he follows her around saying 'Ah-Ah! No! Down!' :laughing:

Sare - isn't separation anxiety supposed to peak around 18 months? Jet was being the same recently (quite a while before he got sick): screaming if I left him to sleep alone, wanting to be with me, and complaining if he wasn't snuggled close. So I thought it was just SA esp. after spending so much time with me while we were in Indonesia. He seems to be getting better again, he even slept through last night till 5am (and if there was ever a night I really needed it, that was it! LOL). Anyway hopefully it will pass for Lara soon...

Bec - sounds like you had an awesome weekend! I totally hear you on enjoying some 'me' time where you're just being totally yourself.

Sal - hope the transition back to work isn't too horrible. I want to win the Lotto too! Sounds like Nedd is going great guns, I hope that the paed can give you some answers re: the headbanging...

Beck - sounds like your weekend was as tiring as mine but for different reasons, hope you got to catch up on a bit of sleep...

Sarah - poo to the viruses, that's one thing I love about my Mac, although I still get really nervous/ paranoid about it...Don't you love the 'soos'! so cute...

Jen - great to hear from you, I bet the next time you check in it'll be to tell us you got a BFP!

As for TTC and flat out no's...I think my DH would be OK with it if I really wanted to...it's actually me saying No right now. But as soon as I'm ready I'm sure I'll be able to convince him quite easily! (and if not, there's always the Happy Accident :D)

Better get to bed, this Nanna still has to catch up on her sleep and recover from her Big Weekend.

Oh yeah - I'm having surgery on Wednesday (gall bladder removal - so I don't go through the hell of painful gallstone attacks next pregnancy) so I probably won't be around for a few days, will catch up with you all again next weekend!

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
21-04-2008, 21:40
:laughing: kimba - jet sounds like keanu with our cats...

for hot keanu blows...it is so cute...and also keanu has taken to taking off my socks...what the? my feet are cold!!! he he...

they are just gorgeous....at a great age...keanu chatters all day...

yesty we put him in his toddler bed as we thought we'd give it a go...well the dogs 2 houses down started barking...and then we hear steps coming up the hallway...and 'woof woof'...it was keanu...he went straight to the window looking for them and watching them and saying 'woof woof'...we tried again at bed time, i didn't want him to think it was a game...i think we'll wait a few more months, he is happy in his cot and i don't want to mess with his sleep - as he sleeps GREAT!!!! don't change something if it is working i say lol!

Goodluck with the operation kimba. we'll be thinking of you!!!

we might be going out weds night, my sil and bro have offered to come over and watch keanu..it would just be for tea somewhere as dp has to work early the next morning...but sounds nice, to have some US time...but i kinda don't want to leave keanu (i have left him before, overnight as well as day time...will be the first time with my bro and sil - and they will be great...guess i have just had him all to myself since moving here IYKWIM? will be great for him to see his 3 cousins too...i am having the eldest for a night here as well. think it'll be nice for him to come and stay...he lives with his mum so we haven't seen him in a few weeks as when he was with his dad (my bro and sil they took the 3 kids away for the holidays)...he is 7 and will love staying...be something different for him!

my mum is coming next month for a month, so that will be great :) and then MIL in november...can't wait...can't wait for keanu to see her (she was there when he was born..so has a different kind of bond. so will be great as i think ke misses her a lot...even though he is so young..)

oh my god...i am not sure what is happening with my body...i have had almost 10 days or brown discharge (sorry if too much info) instead of a normal period - this has never happened before...i usually get heavy periods. I did 3 tests at the beginning at they came up as:bfn:....but i still have it and slight pink when i wipe...i don't know what is going on - can't be implantation as it wouldn't last this long...? anyone experienced this before?? :confused:

anyway enuf :ecomcity:
take care

m_jelly
22-04-2008, 07:11
Kimba - Jet sounds like a real little kid now, so cute telling the cat off! And giving you explanations, wow, he needs to teach Abbey.

Jackie - You didn't really think he'd stay in bed when he has the ability to get out and woof did you? lol, I know Abbey won't stay in bed by choice, and I know its only a matter of time before she realises she can climb out of her cot, so I'll try a big girl bed at the end of the year. Plus that way I don't have to buy one for ages. Sounds like you are excited about your mothers visiting, think of all the help they will give!
Sorry, no advice re the discharge, you could try calling 13 HEALTH for quick advice.

Sare - Lara and Abbey must be experiencing some sort of lunar synchronicity. I just tell myself it can't last forever. Sometimes I actually believe it.

Bec - A weekend of me time sounds lovely.

I'm feeling all Abbey does is sook and scream. She doesn't really, its just her episodes are so concentrated they break all my barriers and drive me bonkers. She used to wake me up with kisses and giggles, now she wakes up sooking which turns to screams if I dare roll away from her or refuse to let her pull my hair. And of course since she is waking up before dawn I'm already tense and aggravated. Snuggles don't satisfy her, boobie doesn't satisfy (mostly because I let her have it for drinking only, not hour long comfort sucking), stroking her cheek doesn't satisfy, being given her cup of water and teddy doesn't satisfy, she wants me awake and getting her breakfast and telling her how much I love her. Before dawn. I refuse to get out of bed before dawn, its not her place to dictate when the day starts, she's old enough to know dark means sleep. She won't get off the bed to play, even in the pre-dawn light where she can see her toys, she just wants to bother me.
This morning she was being a little sh!t from 4am onwards, and at 6am I screamed back. Did the old "what do you want!?" which obviously didn't help, followed by me screaming in frustration, which shocked the jeebies out of her. For a second. Then back to her sooking and screaming.

She's getting really hard to put down for day nap too, yesterday she didnt take one until 3.30pm, and evening sleep only lasts a couple hours before she wakes screaming in what sounds like terror.

What happened to my beautiful darling? She's still great fun and adorable and I love her, but oh :hair:.

I can't wait for Saturday. We're going to mum's and all those kids will wear her out and play with her and I can read a book and be there for kisses only. :cloud9: I'll throw her into bed with them when she wakes too.

In the meantime I'll adjust her diet and buy earplugs.

Becbabe
22-04-2008, 08:10
Anyone ever had someone creepy add them as a contact on Flickr or the like?

I've just had this guy add me, and his groups include four breastfeeing ones, a "sexy brides" one and a "pregnant porn" one. I'm really disturbed and contemplating pulling all my pictures off there!

I don't give a damn who's looking at me but I can't stand the thought of freaks looking at Ella.

Michelle how's the site you use? I like the password security, rather than having to be a site member. is it easy to use and download?

~Kimba~
22-04-2008, 08:44
Bec - re Flickr:

1) you can block anyone creepy by going to their profile and clicking 'block this person' - that same guy added me and I blocked him already
2) you can set privacy settings on any of your photos by marking them as viewable by yourself only, or by friends/ family (you can also do this by default) - keep in mind that if you do this and want to share your photos with anyone they'll need to be a flickr member (see below) OR you can send them a 'Guest Pass'
3) you can mark your flickr contacts as friends or family (or both) so that only they can see the photos you've marked as private - this is handy if you have photos that you only want family to see, or vice versa
4) you can also set other privacy settings, EG so that nobody can download or copy your photos (or only your friends or family can) and so that your photos can't be found in search engines
5) If you're curious about which of your photos are being viewed the most you can go to your stats page and see - the ones of mine that are viewed most are of my big preggy belly and not Jet which is a relief.

If you need a hand with any of it let me know (I've been using Flickr for years)

My rule of thumb with anything on the internet - Facebook, Flickr, everything - is to make full use of the privacy settings and even so, I just don't put anything on there that I wouldn't feel comfortable with other people looking at...just in case.

Anyway :ecomcity:

I have a question about sleeping! What do your kids wear to bed, and what bedding are you using? How do you keep them warm? :confused: I'm having problems with Jet at the moment because he doesn't like his sleeping bags any more. By having him in bed with me recently I've noticed that one of the things that wakes him in the night is getting uncomfortable and then tugging crankily on the sleeping bag and waking himself up - who knew!!! I think he doesn't like the way they pull on his shoulders when he rolls around in bed (he's a real tosser and turner and likes to sleep on his belly). When I take the sleeping bag off he's immediately happier and goes right back to sleep, but then he gets cold because he sometimes doesn't seem to like the quilt on him, or he rolls and kicks it off accidentally. He won't wear socks in bed either and pulls them off if he can get to them, so his feet get cold. And I can't find footed onesies that will fit him (size 2) except the Bonds Wondersuits and he hates the feel of them.

What to do??? I don't want him waking because he's uncomfortable in the sleeping bag, but I also don't want him waking because he's cold. Hence sleeping with me is the 'best' solution at the moment because it's the only way I can keep him warm :rolleyes:

Michelle - I totally hear you on Abbey's behaviour, Jet has been much the same..I keep telling myself it's just a developmental phase and/ or separation anxiety and 'this too shall pass' (yeah, when?). Last night was one of them - had him in bed with us at 12.45, screaming for no apparent reason at 2.25, wouldn't go back to sleep till 3, up for the day at 5.30. Yay! :D I hope you manage to get a bit of rest at your Mum's this weekend.

Jac - LOL at Keanu getting out of bed to woof at the dog - that's why I haven't bothered with a bed for Jet yet - there's too many distractions for them! Jet used to blow for 'hot' too - it's so cute isn't it. I have no idea with regard to the bleeding etc, maybe check with your doctor. Do you have 13 HEALTH in WA? I thought it was just a QLD thing...

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
22-04-2008, 09:51
thanks girls for your responses...it is still there slightly. i am going to get a preg test today and see what the go is....and if i still have it on dp next day off i'll go to the doctor...

re sleeping - keanu is the same kimberley...he has taken to not liking his sleep bag, wont wear socks ansd kicks the blankets off...however i put flannie PJS on him and he sleeps comfortable...i also put either a long singlet or short sleeve one piece underneath(keanu is a size 1) to keep his back warm...i couldn't find any footed one pieces yesterday...but bonds you said do them in their size...i might have to grab a couple!! thanks for the info, keanu doesn't mind them lol...lucky! i bought 3 pairs of flannie pjs from target they were $11 each :)

anyway best run and shower and take keanu for a walk!! dp is back at work today!
xoxoxox

m_jelly
22-04-2008, 10:51
I thought 13Health was national, maybe not. I obviously live in a bubble.

Jackie - hope the test gives the result you're after, and if its a BFP the bleeding settles quick smart.

The photosite I use is good, people have to contact you to request a password, and its up to you whether or not to give it. Once they have it you can't pick and choose what they see though, its all open to them. I'm the same as Kimba though, I won't put anything on the internet that isnt suitable for public viewing, I just passworded it after all those freaks started stealing kids photos and pretending they were theirs. I also like the scrapbook effect and how I can write journal entries etc if I were so inclined. Its free, so long as you don't mind google ads and uploading something every 30 days. Premium is of course better.

re sleeping warm...we stress about this every winter. It will never end! Abbey is still in her sleeping bags but she does the same as Jet and tosses and turns and I think she is getting tangled and then getting mad. But they also mean she can't stand up and run away without falling over. She has to stand up and strain and push until the snaps pop and she can worm out of the bag. I've tried her in jammies with a blanky but she always ends up at the foot of the bed on top of the blanky.

What about those blanket suits from Best & Less? They're like the bonds suits but fleecier and come in larger sizes. I think they go up to size 5 or something. And they have feet. I wish my jammies had feet.

sare
22-04-2008, 11:06
Kimba - What about the snugtime fleecy blanket sleepers? They make similar ones at target. I use them on Lara when it gets colder and they go up to size 8 or something ridiculous. The ones I get are lined so I just pop a singlet underneath and then the suit on. They're an all in one footed sleeper (no need for socks :smiliedance:)
We're having issues with Lara not wanting to be covered to.
Good luck for tomorrow.

Michelle - My gosh Abbey and Lara do sound similar with their sleeping habits. We had a good night last night...I'm thinking her teeth might be contributing to the problem a bit. She's been chewing her fingers near where her 2yo molars will be. So last night I gave her some of the hylands teething relief tablets and some dymadon and she slept from 8pm until just after 7am in her cot (when the dog woke her up) :yelclap:

Jackie - No idea here what could be going on. I haven't had implantation bleeds with any of my 3 pregnancies. Go to the dr and get it checked out. I hope you get your :bfp: soon.

Bec - That guy tried to add me as a contact too. At that point I pretty much stopped adding photos and made it so only my contacts could see the photos that were up there. I now put photos on my facebook page and have upped my privacy on there so that only my contacts can see them.

I'm really peeved with dh at the moment. He called quickly y'day morning to say that he'd arrived in Kuala Lumpur, just as we were on our way out for swimming and no phone call since, not even to wish the girls goodnight. Is he going to bear the brunt of my pregnancy hormones when he finally does call :banghead: :devil6:

Becbabe
22-04-2008, 12:59
Thanks Kimba - I have been in there and upped all my security - but for my mum and DP's mum signing in to a flickr account would be all too hard! So I will have a look at the scrapbook site too, it sounds really nice. I will also take all the pictures of Ella in just a nappy & shirt and swimmers off too. Ick. Horrible people.

Also re pajamas, I'm ordering some from a WAHM at Ozebaby with feet, she is making them special as Ella is too long for all the baby ones I could find! I'm even picking the colours I want, in tracksuit material, and they cost $45 for a set. They are so cute!

M~T~J~M
22-04-2008, 13:05
:wave: everyone,

There's been a lot of chatter going on in here, I've missed out, lol! I've been trying not to spend too much time on the computer lately, and more time with my family! Seems to working...who would've thought, lol!!

I've had little J at the Dr's, yet again, today. He has now got bronchitis and another ear infection :thumbsdown: It's so upsetting. He was such a healthy little boy before I started him at daycare (1 day a week), and since starting him, only 4 - 5 weeks ago, he has had croup, 3 ear infections, conjunctivitis and now this. I'm not happy, and it's not fair for my little man, so I'm taking him out. He doesn't need to go. I'll just have to try and find us a nice playgroup or something so he can still get some interaction with smaller children, not just his very boisterous brothers, lol! Hopefully the antibiotics I got for him will help him get back to himself soon.

DH is home again tomorrow. I've been pretty worried bout him lately...hoping he's not slipping into some form of depression. He has put in for a week off, so he'll be home for 3 weeks this time. He said he just wants to be at home with us for a little longer. Hopefully, we'll get away for a night or 2, just the two of us. Time we need!! We're off out for lunch on Thursday, then we'll spend the rest of the day together, so hopefully that will help him too. After he goes home after this longer stay, there'll only be 3 more times he'll be home before lil bubs is due :eek: It'll sure make the time go quickly!

Sare: Men just don't get it sometimes!! I'll leave it at that, lol!

Kimba: I have just started putting J back into his sleeping bag as he's been getting too hot! Go figure, lol! All I had on him was a pair of flannellette pj's, a singlet suit, a sheet and a blanket. Most of the night he would spend on top of the blankets, but didn't seem to get cold. I can't be too much of a help, sorry. Perhaps look into some of those suit things the others have mentioned....I think I will! Good luck for your op tomorrow. Hope it doesn't leave you out of action for too long. How long will you be in hospital for?

Michelle: Sounds like your little Abbey is really starting to let you know what she wants!! I have one of those....but he's 5!!

Ok, once again, I've rambled on for long enough. Have a good day all

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
22-04-2008, 13:19
keanus issue is that he unzips the sleep suit so will probably do the same thing with the pollar fleece suits...argh!

of late he doesn't like zips, if i put a jumper on with a zip he tries to unzip it and gets real cranky...

just got DPs garduation certificate for his degree...i am hiding it and going to frame it...and suprise him...he says it was a waste of a degree/money....but still he achieved it...and i am proud and so should he be...!!! he never went to the graduation so i thut it would be nice!

~Kimba~
22-04-2008, 14:00
Thanks Kimba - I have been in there and upped all my security - but for my mum and DP's mum signing in to a flickr account would be all too hard!

For your mum/ MIL you can send them a Guest Pass and they don't need to sign up - if you want to PM me I can explain how ;)

Thanks everyone for the sleep suit suggestion, I think that sounds perfect - something that's warm enough 'on its own' and yet comfortable enough for him to roll around in in, and he can't take off the feet! I haven't seen them anywhere I usually shop - might have to track down a Best n Less! :D

JuzP
23-04-2008, 19:34
Kimba - we are also big fans of the Snug time sleep suits with in-built feet. I got ours from DJ's on special and it is cotton double layer with a 0.5 TOG. I found the polar fleece ones didn't breeth and made J's skin sweaty so I wanted to get a cotton suit. The one we have is in a size 2 but I noticed that they did go up to a size 4. :yelclap:

diesal444
25-04-2008, 06:27
morning everyone :wave:

Ok so its my turn to say my bubba is sick.
Darcy has croup and quite severe so the Dr tells me.
Its a bit of a long story so skip if you cant be a$$ed reading it.
My MIL commented to DP that Darcy can look quite black/purple/red, under her eyes at time. I know its not a lack of sleep coz she easily gets 14 hours in a 24hour period, so thought it may be a deficiency of some kind.
So we trot to the Dr's to see whats going on, Dr orders some bloods to be done for iron, celiac etc... Dr not overly concerned anything serious because her behaviour and eating habits not changing when she looks dark under eyes.
So the next day after I get back from meeting Sal ( thanks again Sal), DP is getting back from poppys house and she has a runny nose, and a sexy voice..iykwim??... Well things go from just a bit of a wet nose to struggling to breath in about 4 hours. Totally miserable and getting to the point of crying so much, making herself sick. So i trot off to the Dr's at 7pm and am told she has " severe croup". They pop her on adrenilin and steroids through a nebuliser mask which she struggles with the whole time.
She is still sick today and very miserable, I bought a steamer for her bedroom for nighttime and it must work coz she still sleeping for 12 hours. ( Thank goodness )
So I am told its a virus, is it something she possibly got from trying to play with all the infected toys whilst waiting to see the Dr the day before?? Thats what i thought of straight away anyway. :mad:
Well hopefully it doesnt last too long, I had never heard of it before, the Dr assures me that it will pass after a couple of days but may be something reoccuring:thumbsdown:

Sorry for the me post, I better run as my little independant girl is super clingy and I am not allowed out of sight..........
Hope everyone has a lovely long weekend!

Becbabe
25-04-2008, 07:06

Mary-ann, sorry to hear about Darcy getting croup. I'm a bit aware of it cos a lady at work's daughter gets it every now and then and it's off to the hospital for the nebuliser etc. Poor little Darcy and poor you. hope she's feeling better today :hugs:

I was going to sell loads of things on Ebay today but am trying to summon the energy. Boy I feel crappy. Achy back, tired and sick sick sick. Oh and a stuffy nose. (grump, whinge, whine :rolleyes:! sorry) and on top of that I'm anxious about losing the pregnancy, AND trying to decide whether to apply for the new (better paid) jobs at work or stay int he comfort zone?? Phew.

Glad it's the long weekend. We're going to see the parade here at 11, and an old friend of mine who found me via facebook is dropping in this afternoon. I haven't seen her since high school!!

They are forecasting good rain here later in the weekend :fingerscrossed: for us please. Send us some rain you Sydney girls!:rain: From Goulburn right out to Mum & Dad's the country looks terrible, so brown & dry.

sare
25-04-2008, 08:19
Mary-Anne - Sorry to hear about Darcy. I've seen a few kids at school with croup and they've all been pretty sick with it, so I can only imagine what poor Darcy is going through.

Bec - Hope you guys get the rain and then can you send it down south? It's been ages since we've had any in Melb. Hope you feel better soon. I've hit 10 weeks now and still feely yuck. I had a few days of respite, but the constant dry retching is really starting to get to me. I had a bit of a fall the other night, I slipped on some water and fell on my hip, but feel ok and there's been no bleeding so I'm presuming everything is ok. Pregnanacy is so worrying and must be twice as hard for you, with what you have already been through.

Sarah - Poor Jarvis. I think I would have taken him out of daycare too. A sick toddler is the last thing that you need when you're so close to having #4. I hope your family has a lovely time while dh is down. It must be so hard on him too. Have you guys decided what you are going to when the baby arrives?

Kimba - Hope your op when went well and that you are recovering quickly at home with your men looking after you.

A quiet weekend for us...today I plan on sitting in front of my TV for most of the day and watching the footy. I'm sure my cherubs will have other ideas, but I can dream can't I? I hope you guys all have a lovely long weekend...

di_matt
25-04-2008, 09:04
Gee sare you make me jealous. I like the sound of a quiet weekend. I have Shaun on my lap and Jack in the bouncer at my feet. Adam is being a terrorist and pulling every book he owns out of the bookcase whilst practising his choir voice that he has developed (especially at the supermarket when plenty of people get whiplash turning to see what the squealing/singing noise is). Hayley is laughing at him, Chloe is in bed still, Aiden is at the ANZAC march with scouts. Dropped him at 5.30am and John is building his sisters pergola for her. haha All I wanted was a sleep in.
Can't complain though I'm loving every minute of it.

Sorry to hear Darcy has croup, I had one severe crouper who used to get pneumonia at the drop of a hat and 2 asthma sufferers. Touch wood Adam and the boys don't end up
with anything. Both for them and me.

Hope everyone else is well and happy. Also hope all pregnancies are going well.

beck75
26-04-2008, 08:27

Mary-Anne - sorry to hear about the croup - hopefully Darc pulls through it quickly.

Sare - hope you start feeling better soon. I am sure the fall was fine - we are very well padded in the right places to cope with pg and I think it can take quite a bit to do damage.

JuzP - might have to check DJs out for those suits. I don't really like the fleece ones that much and I love my gorbags but Kayleyis growing out of them and I wasn't sure I wanted a bag again rather something with legs.

Jac - your DP sounds like me - I didn't go to my graduation (didn't want to and was around when Kayley was due anyway) and I don't even know where my certificate is at the moment!

Sarah - Kayley is still getting sick from childcare - she is due for her second flu shot today and chicken pox and hopefully that works a bit across winter.

Talking about childcare - Kayley loves her new one so I am so happy I took the plunge and moved her - it is so much more convienient for us and she seems so much happier which takes a load off my mind.

Work is finally strating to calm down and I don't have to do anything this weekend - yay! Meeting up with some Melb friends toay and the parents in law are over for a few days.

One of my best friends is due to pop at any time now so looking forward to seeing her new bubba!

Oh and I do have some very surprising news. I had a :bfp: yesterday!!! Who would have guessed. I thought I would have to go on the drugs again when I finally talked DH into it. The good thing is he hasn't freaked out and seems to be OK about it all so yay!! Lets hope it is sticky!!

I better run.

Have a good weekend everyone!

~Kimba~
26-04-2008, 12:04
Oh and I do have some very surprising news.

:laughing: you sneaky bugger slipping it in at the end like that! Congratulations Beck! :yelclap: That's awesome news - and great that your DP hasn't freaked out, wasn't he the one being emphatically 'no' or have I confused him with someone else...

I'm at home after surgery, very sore (worse than the c-section, I was surprised!) and trying to get some rest, but Jet is being super clingy and not wanting me out of his sight, wanting me to pick him up all the time, and dragging me all over the house. I can imagine now just how hard it is for mums who've had a c-section when they already have a toddler at home...and glad now that we are waiting a bit longer before ttc #2, just in case VBAC doesn't work out and I do need another c-sect.

Oops gtg little monster is awake - will be back later for personals if I can get back online again.

M~T~J~M
26-04-2008, 12:23
:wave: all,

:smiliedance: CONGRATS BECK!!! :smiliedance: Wow, that's awesome!! Sometimes it's better to get your :bfp: surprisingly.....that way, your DH doesn't have to 'worry' about when he's ready, lol!! The baby has made up its own mind!! Congrats again, it's so exciting!!

Sare: YAY for you on the Magpies win!! Yay for our win too, although we didn't really deserve it!

Mary - Anne: I hope little Darcy is feeling better really soon. We had croup here with T only a couple of weeks ago, it really is horrible.

Kimba: :hugs: Make sure you rest up plenty and recover quickly. The hardest thing is, that the little oes just don't get what's going on.... Take it easy!

We've been out this morning buying T and J new shoes. I bought J the cutest little pair, if only they would fit him forever, lol! I had to travel further than I wanted to get them though as the store closest to me didn't have his size (size 7 !!!) T is only in a size 8!!

Must go, J has a stinky bum and we're in the study together...I can't handle it anymore!!

Oh, just over 9 weeks to go until we welcome another lil bub!! :bee:

sare
26-04-2008, 13:05
:babydust2: :smiliedance: Congratulations Beck :smiliedance: :babydust2:

When are you due?

So many new babies on the way. Can't believe that you've only got 9 weeks to go Sarah. Your pg has just flown.

Kimba - Take care of yourself. I take it you didn't have the keyhole surgery then? I've heard that the other way where they cut you open is pretty painful.

Di - I think I've said it before, you really are a supermum. Adam still sounds like an angel. How are the twins going?

Congrats again Beck...I'm really happy for you (I did a happy clap and told dh straight away :laughing:)

Becbabe
26-04-2008, 16:39
Congratulations Beck!! :smiliedance:
Wow when are you due? Will you be with me over in the Dec 08 forum or starting the Jan 09 one?? How exciting. Wishing you a little sticky :babydust2:

I am making Mum's Vegie and Barley soup with the turkey bones from Christmas (I always have bones lurking in the freezer for making stock!) and it smells AMAZING. mmmm

Well I dunno about the rain but it's supposed to snow down to 900m on Sun night...

Kimba :hugs: hope you recover well and Jet isn't too boisterous for you!!

Di it's great to hear from you and you sound so happy, it's lovely!

Sarah, shoes can be a pain, and we're in the last size of hand me downs ATM! Wow only 9 weeks to go. Are you excited - how are you feeling? Where are you having the bub?

M~T~J~M
26-04-2008, 18:22
I am making Mum's Vegie and Barley soup with the turkey bones from Christmas (I always have bones lurking in the freezer for making stock!) and it smells AMAZING. mmmm

Sarah, shoes can be a pain, and we're in the last size of hand me downs ATM! Wow only 9 weeks to go. Are you excited - how are you feeling? Where are you having the bub?

Firstly, that soup sounds great!!
Yeah, I've had J in a pair of Nike's that I had bought for DS1, but they're getting a bit squishy on him now. And, I've decided that I'm going to start buying them their own shoes now, and try not to use hand me downs as they all have totally different foot shapes/widths, etc, and I'd be devastated to find I'd had something to do with foot problems later on in life, iykwim?
Getting excited, but also still happy being pregnant, iykwim? I'm not really suffering any discomfort, etc, just getting bigger, lol. I'll be really excited when I get to around 38 weeks or so I think! I'm feeling really good still, just tired (but I'm always damn tired anyway!) Oh, I'm just starting to find it uncomfortable to sleep at night, but nothing too major ATM.
This time, I'd love to labout at home for as long as I can, then head in to the hosp. Although, the more I think about it, I probably shouldn't, as my last 2 have been born in under 4 hours!! I've recently found out that my Ob will be away when I'm due, so I've even been tempted to have my Doula here at home, and just have the 'accidental' homebirth, lol! Will see how I feel on the day!

Hope you're feeling sick, lol, and that all is going well with you. Oh, I keep forgetting to say that your due date is a great one - It's DS2's birthday!!

beck75
27-04-2008, 10:04
Thanks guys

It is freaking me out a little bit at the moment but I am sure it will all be OK!

Not sure what my due date is at this stage. From the start of my last cycle (6th March) would suggest I am due 11th December but as I have crazy all over the place cycles I don't think I ovulated until the about the 11th or so of April which would suggest I am not due until about the 2nd of January so who knows.........glad I didn't book for Thialand because we were going to be there then! I guess I will see when I get an antenatal test etc.

I only had a very faint line in the docs test yesterday so I think it is very new.

It is going to be an interesting Christmas!!

beck75
27-04-2008, 10:05
Oh and Bec your soup sounds great - I was actually looking at a bacon hock yesterday and thinking about making my winter vege & barley soup too!!

sare
27-04-2008, 10:56
Sarah - Not sure if you were still looking for an umbrella stroller, but I was just looking at the toys r us baby catalogue and they have a tandem umbrella stroller that can be used from birth. It's the Amorč Baby Compact-Fold Hi Rise Tandem ($299.99) on page 2. I think I may even go an have a look at it, even though I love my Bertini Shuttle, something tandem and compact is definitely appealing.

Beck - Sounds like my cycles, everywhere and never know when I am due until I have an early scan. You certainly are going to have a busy Christmas.

M~T~J~M
27-04-2008, 19:00
Sarah - Not sure if you were still looking for an umbrella stroller, but I was just looking at the toys r us baby catalogue and they have a tandem umbrella stroller that can be used from birth. It's the Amorč Baby Compact-Fold Hi Rise Tandem ($299.99) on page 2. I think I may even go an have a look at it, even though I love my Bertini Shuttle, something tandem and compact is definitely appealing.

Thanks Sare...I'm still looking around. Unfortunately, all of the baby stuff at Toys R Us isn't available at our store :thumbsdown: otherwise I'd be in there having a look! It's so frustrating. I think I'm going to be buying one of the Mclaren layback strollers, and I'm buying an Ergo too, so 1 will pram it, and 1 will Ergo it, lol!

Went to the FIL for lunch today. We had only been there for about 5 mins, when T decided he'd vomit all over the floor. I spent the rest of the afternoon looking after a sick child - he vomited at least every half hour! Poor FIL has a sink full of towels to wash tonight :barf: Anyway, at about 3.30pm, T decided he all of a sudden felt better, and put his shoes on. He went outside, started playing soccer and basketball, then had a spin on the motorbike....it was like he he'd never been sick :confused: Can't figure that out!

Oh, and while we were there, I found that my little J has got both his eye teeth come through!! It was quite a surprise...He hasn't really been that bad, although he has been sick with an ear infection and bronchitis. He has had a shocking red bottom though since yesterday, and I just thought it was the anti biotics. Obviously it was the new teeth!

I'm off to have a big bowl of ice cream now, then into bed to settle in to watch Grey's and Brothers and Sisters.

Almost forgot - looks like we've settled on a name!! We have a first and a middle name, we just have to decided which one we're going to put where. YAY!!

sare
27-04-2008, 19:12
Just popping on to let you guys know that Marion says hi to you all. I got a message from her on facebook today. She said she's now 27 weeks pg and has her c-sect booked for the 23rd July. She's still sick too...poor thing, here I am complaining after 6 wks of morning sickness :o

Sarah - Glad Tallan is feeling better, maybe something that he ate didn't agree with him :confused: Yay on the name decision. Are you keeping it a surprise? We've decided on Amelia Claire for a girl and Oliver John for a boy...just got to wait 6 and a bit months to find out which one we get to use.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
27-04-2008, 20:31
sare - i think i have a dr appt tomorrow. i have one for keanu and they couldn't get me in at the same time, i am pretty sure though i made one in the arvo...however my brain is thinking maybe i didn't...will have to ring in the morning and confirm lol.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
27-04-2008, 20:32
also love the names..it is so hard picking names...

we had one of each when i had keanu....so the next HAS to be a girl otherwise will be nameless :laughing:

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
28-04-2008, 17:40
went to the doctor - it is possible that it is the nuvaring that has caused it...so we are waiting for my next period, to see if it is normal...if not we'll do further tests. they also did a blood test to check for pregnancy and to rule it out - i don't think i am but you never know...

he made comment while we were discussing things which was "you do look like a very fertile woman" what the????????

the dr i took keanu to was female, she was lovely....(so was he but i wud prefer a female - so will also start going to her). she was great, very thorough and nice, engaging, etc. we got keanu flu vax (the first one - there are 2 - he will get another at his 18 month needles next month).

got to run, cheerio for now :)

beck75
28-04-2008, 19:19
Now what does a fertile woman look like exactly!!

Things OK here. I have to get a dating scan which I will probably get next week. Not feeling as sick today and I guess that is a worry - I would prefer to be really sick and have a sticky bub!

I find boys names so much harder than girls. DH is stuck on a name that a friend has already used which we both like but not sure if I want the controversy!!

Anyway I have to run.

Take care everyone.

~Kimba~
28-04-2008, 20:10
Hi all :wave:

It's chilly here today - I love it. I always enjoy the start of winter and being able to rug up and put heaters on...I'll be over it in a month or two though.

Still sore and trying to take it easy - Sare yes I did have the keyhole surgery, but you end up with FOUR holes in various places around your abdomen, so no matter which way you move, one of them is hurting...can't lay on my side in bed, or cough or laugh hard, and no sudden moves or heavy lifting. At least I have a doc cert till the 30th and I'm looking forward to a REAL day of rest tomorrow with Jet at daycare :yelclap: - he's been home for these last 4 days and running riot!

WTF does a fertile woman look like??? :laughing:

Re: shoes. The sizing is driving me nuts! There are such huge variations between the different brands/ styles. Jet's grown out of his 6's in some, but other 6's are still swimming on him. And everything for boys seems to have velcro closures, too easy for him to take his shoes off - he wants to be barefoot all the time, no matter how cold it is! he won't even wear socks to bed and complains if I put footed onesies on him (there goes the Sleepsuit idea!) :rolleyes:

Re: names. I found boys' names really hard too, even when I was preg with Jet, whereas I have so many girls names! but I have this strong feeling that I'm going to have another boy next time. If we do, we've already agreed he'll be Elijah - it was a name I'd wanted to call Jet but DH refused, then decided he likes it after all. So at least that decision is made! If we have a girl, hmmm...DH thinks it's decided (Aisha) but I'm still not 100% sure. For years we've always said that would be it, but there are so many names I love and only one baby to use them on...dammit! LOL. Unless of course we have twins...yikes!

Speaking of which Di, great to hear from you and I'm still amazed at your WONDER MUM abilities!

To everyone who's suffering MS (which seems to be most of you right now!) I hope you all feel better soon - except Beck and Bec: if you'd rather feel sick so you know the bub is sticky then 'sick' vibes to you it is! :babydust2:

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
28-04-2008, 20:50
me :laughing:

kidding....yeh that's what i wondered...but obviously he meant something entirley different..?? well at least i think it was almost like he was being sleezy lol.

sare
28-04-2008, 21:02
Kimba - That sucks. I didn't realise that they made 4 holes. I hope the pain goes away soon. I can't imagine how hard it must be with a toddler. Enjoy your day of peace tomorrow. I think Aisha is a gorgeous name.

Jackie - I'm with the others...what does a fertile woman look like? :detective: Yuck, yuck, yuck if he was being sleezy. I'd definitely be giving him a miss and visiting the nice female dr. Maybe a stupid qn, but what is nuvaring?

Beck - Sending sick vibes your way too. You can have my m/s if you like.... :p My m/s kicked in earlier this time (5wks) and has lasted longer (with the girls, I stopped at 10 wks and I'll be 11 weeks tomorrow).

re shoe sizes - drives me batty too. I bought Lara a pair of slippers today. Tried a pair of Hi-5 size 5's on her and her feet swam in them. So tried 4's in a pair of playgro ones and they were way to small. Then tried a pair of Grosby 5's and they were perfect. Eloise has shoes that are size 8.5 and ones that are 10's. It's crazy!

Oh my angel seems to have a new word that she has learnt off her sister...I swear she's asking 'why' when I ask her to do anything. She's going to do my head in well before she hits puberty!

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
28-04-2008, 21:06
nuvaring is a contraceptive ring, like the pill but half the dosage and you insert it (just like a tampon)..trust me i thought NO WAY i am not going to like it...but it is easy, you leave it in for 3 weeks and have a week ring free....don't have to remember to take a pill everyday lol...mind you i have been using it for 10 months or so...i had one month off it and now this...?????

sare
28-04-2008, 21:11
Thought it might be something along those lines... So what do you have to do to stop the bleeding (if you don't mind me asking) , keep on using it, or stop and wait for your cycles to return to normal?

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
28-04-2008, 21:22
i can do either. i can take it out and let my body go back to normal OR i can leave it in until i am due to take it out, which is like a week away and see what happens....??!

so i have decided to leave it in until i am due to take it out, so i am not messing with my body/confusing it more....if that makes sense?

but again it may not be the nuvaring...i mean i have been on it for 10 months, had one month break and inserted it again this month....

sare
28-04-2008, 21:29
What a pain. I hope it all sorts itself out soon.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
28-04-2008, 21:32
trust me so do i sare...i would love to just take it out in all honesty lol!

diesal444
29-04-2008, 07:25
mornin...:wave:

Well ahem!!... CONGRATULATIONS BEC!! I was so not expecting to read that in one of your posts!!
Thats such terrific news, I am so so happy for you as we know you really wanted another one. Hope you start to feel sick soon..:barf:
Di - You really are a supermum. Some people were born to be mums and I definitely think you are one of those people. You always seem so relaxed and patient!

Sare - Love the names for the new bub! i found choosing names the hardest part but you seem to be on the ball. Re shoes: We have grown out of 4's as well but some 5's are wayyyyy to big. I dont get it.

Bec - So did it snow??..... I put my hand up for some soup too!!:yes:

Sarah - Great to hear you have a name picked out. Gald to hear T recovered from his vomiting spell quickly.

Jackie -So you look Fertile huh???...Thats kinda a weird comment..:laughing:. Cant say i had heard of a nuvaring either.

Kimba - OUCH! Its a bit hard to take it easy with an active 18 month old isnt it. At least you know that the pain you are feeling now is nothing in comparison to the pain you were in and will never be in that pain again.:hugs:

Well on this front, Darcy's croup has gone but honestly she has eaten bugger all in the last fews days. Its so stressful when they just refuse everything offered and seem to have eaten NOTHING all day. She has always been such a non fussy eater so its quite a shock.
I havent taken her to get her bloods taken yet as she has been pretty sick and I dont wanna get her more upset. ( Mummy the sook )

I just love not going to work. Its been 4 days since I have been at work and I am absolutely loving it. I feel so less stressed and more playful with Darc, Like I have so much time instead of cramming and organsing for the next week of work... IYKWIM???

Another great note is that our slab for our house should be getting poured today which is sooooooo exciting.
Ok best be off give my chickie some breakie. HA!!! Thats if she will eat anything today!

SalTheGal
29-04-2008, 09:03
Hey girls, gosh you girls have been making up for my absence! I have been totally slack last few days....I lost my wireless connector, and the adsl port is in another room- and this house is so bl00dy freezing anywhere cept for the lounge (even is there half the time) I haven't wanted to sit on the computer at all.

Wireless found so back in action.

Anyway-

BIG CONGRATS BECK!!! :yelclap:

I am so excited for you, wonderful news, and hope it all goes well.

Oh and I am going to be in Adelaide for work in a couple of weeks, possibly with Nedd, definitely by myself, I will PM you to see if we can find time to catch up.

Kimba- Sorry to hear you are in pain lovey....hope it gets better super quick, you should try taking arnica if you aren't already- helps enormously with internal bruising etc. :hugs:

Maryanne- Hope Darcy is heaps better by wed...poor little mite. It was lovely to catch up- hope the baby carrier goes well in thailand, have you given it a test run yet?

To all the pregnant loveys- hope you are all doing well.

And a special hi to you Di- nice to hear from you, I am super impressed....I am often in bendigo for work, so if you ever want someone to come cuddle a spare baby for an hour then send me a PM!

Things here so so at the moment....I am going through a bit of a down time due to various reasons. :no:

DH and I are struggling big time at the moment- just seem to be both having a competition to see who can make the others life more miserable (me to blame aswell) and neither of us seems to be able to pull out of it, so much so that we are booking into a counsellor to try and get on top of it....it is so weird when you know you love someone so much and I know we will be fine- but we just can't seem to pull out of this rut we have fallen into.

I am hating work...something that has been there bubbling under the surface for ages- but I am finally being open about instead of just sucking it up (not so good when I already have a history of depression and giving people the impression of being fine when I am not)...but then so many decisions to make- my maternity leave policy is brilliant with J&J (3mnths paid, plus car and a few other perks) and any jobs I could get locally would be a pretty big pay cut- plus nowhere near the fexilibity I have now. So I would really love to be able to stick with it till I have my next bub- but that means potentially being in this role for atleast another 12mnths and I just don't know if I can do it- nearly four years now of being on the rd, travelling 100's kms each week, being so lonely, not to mention having to constantly motivate yourself in a very autonomous role it is getting harder and harder to leave the house each day...I think I could if I was trying/pregnant and had an end in sight.

Re babies...for reason above I desperately want to get pregnant NOW, its either that or find another job and will have to wait a few months! But DH is not budging...he wants to wait till our house is started and we know where we stand- which is meant to be only weeks away- but it is dragging out so long grrrr..

Anyway- :ecomcity: thats totally enough of my woes, I could go on all day the way I am feeling at the moment, but won't make me feel any better!!

And our stupid rental house is freezing! We have a wood heater that is chewing through the wood- but goes out easily so needs to be relit every time we leave the house/go to sleep...I am trying to find out if there is some kind of policy with rentals and obligation to provide heating that is efficient cause it will be a long winter at this stage.

Hey Bec- how do you go selling stuff on ebay? Do you get much for your clothes? I have 3 big stripe bags full of clothes I have cleaned out since losing wieght- and some of them are practically brand new...I am thinking of selling but don't know if it is worth the effort.

Re shoes- Nedd is the same with different brands, anywhere from size 5 to 8, although I just bought a pair of grosby boots (which he loves, carries all over the house showing us his 'boots') which were 7's.

Re Nedd- well he is the one light in my horizon at the moment, by god I just adore him.....I keep saying to people there is no way we can get another one as good next time- he is just a treasure, sigh :valentine:. Last week he started calling himself a 'ratbag'- it is adorable!

He has been unwell though poor poppit- first real bout of gastro, which he came down with on sunday. Mum and dad took him away for the weekend to visit my borthers for my nephews 1st birthday- and on the way home they had to stop 5 times to change him...poor thing got delivered to our door sunday night in a nappy, wet top and blanket as they had run our of slcothes for him. But he was a trooper, sick several times through the night, but fine in his spirits. Is it bad that I hope I get it now to get some more time off work?!?!

OK, this has been long enough! Time for me to go do some real work so I don't get sacked before I can resign!!! :rolleyes:

sare
29-04-2008, 12:43
Sal - :hugs: I hope your house starts really soon. You really sound well and truly ready to ttc, and I know how hard it can be when you are ready and your dh is not (dh made me wait 2 years before he was ready to ttc Eloise...and then turned to me after we had her and said "I don't know why we waited so long" :hair:) It sounds like this may be a lot of the reason why you are feeling low and I guess maybe why you and your dh are snapping at each other. I really feel for you and hope it all begins to sort itself out soon.
Oh and I'm hearing you on the freezing cold. Our bl00dy ducted heating system decided to have a moment on Sunday and hasn't worked since. We couldn't get anyone out until tomorrow morning. We do have a reverse cycle split system in our back room where we are most of the time, but the rest of the house is like an ice block. Doesn't help that the girls and I all have a headcold too.

Mary-Anne - So glad to hear that Darc is getting better. I'm sure her appetite will return soon. When do you leave for Thailand? You must be getting really excited.

I'm really procrastinating at the moment. My house looks like a bomb has hit it and Lara threw her scrambled eggs from lunch all over the floor, but I just can't be a$$ed. I'm in such a cranky, grumpy mood today, but am feeling ok otherwise. My poor girls dealing with their irritable mum :laughing:

SalTheGal
29-04-2008, 13:19
My poor girls dealing with their irritable mum :laughing:

Nice change from the poor mum dealing with the cranky girls- see how they like it!!! :D :laughing:

Thanks for the thoughts- I agree that it probably comes down a lot to TTC- I feel like everything would fall into place if I were, and I have been over it all so many times that I know its the right thing for us to be doing now... but alas its not to be (yet:p)- and I am not the most patient person in the world! :rolleyes: :o

di_matt
29-04-2008, 13:56
Hey all

No Supermum here just making the best of what we have. But thanks anyway - I am slowly learning to accept the praise. Funny thing about having twins I had an old lady tell me at the market the other day that the twins were lucky to have a mummy like me.....I nearly burst into tears. One thing about having kids is the unconditional love they give you....if only their fathers were the same...

Sal: Big :hugs: love. I hope it works out. Isn't it funny how we are our own worst enemies in life. I regulary tell Dh we don't need enemies as we can make our own lives miserable without help. If nothing else it makes me smile no matter how sad it sounds.

I have such a thrilling life I just watched Oprah. It was a show on autism and I will admit after 15 years of child care, 10 as a director and doing numerous courses on autism I never knew that it typically starts at 18 months to 2 years. I always thought it was something babies were born with. It was heart breaking to watch the stories of these parents but I tell you after everything I know their journey's are just being with no happy ending in sight.

Poor Adam has never had so many kisses and cuddles. He even dried my tears a couple of times. We are all truely blessed and need to remember that.

Well poor little Shaun and Jack have had a rough week. They are going fantastic (if busy), Shaun broke out in sebboric dermatitis on his head and neck (like cradle cap but chunks were forming on his face).
We seem to have got on top of that and then Jack had these (bites we thought) on the back of his head. They started weeping and looking like pressure sores.
Turns out after a major expedition taking the three of them off to the doctors 9and having Adam give every old lady in the waiting room a hug and a pat) that he has a staf infection.....

I now have had a good laugh with master Adam that it isn't good to wipe boogers in your baby brothers hair because this is what happens :laughing:. He looked very serious and stuck his finger up his nose at the appropriate parts of the conversation. God love him.

Jack is on antibiotics but it should clear in a couple of days.

All other kids are good.

Chlo is back off to the gold coast on friday and back monday (young love!!!!!!!)

Hales got her first excellent report in 3 years so something good came out of us leaving Qld ( I do believe this is the only thing :(.)

Aiden enjoyed Anzac day and is enjoying school and helping me plan a diet that we are all going on.....eventually ha ha.

Well I best be off before my little treasure decides to sweep his brothers not the kitchen floor....and before the other little treasures decide to do tandem feed time as they do about this hour when we need to go in the car to get the other kids.........

Boy am I a glutton for punishment - all be it a very happy one.

Take care and hugs to all.

SalTheGal
29-04-2008, 20:40
:barf::barf::barf:

DH went down sick today- and now I am up vomiting....grrrr why oh why did I wish this upon myself today just to be able to take another sickie! :doh: :banghead:

Have a nice night everyone! :wave:

m_jelly
30-04-2008, 07:43
We had a great time at mum's. Well, I plodded around and made her change Abbey's poopy nappies and got fed meals I didn't have to cook, Abbey had a blast. Dogs, chickens, guinea pigs, vegetable gardens, and lots and lots of kids. She was in heaven.

Every now and then I asked someone where she was but apart from that I was just there for hugging.

She even slept through the WHOLE night once. It was a once off but it sure was nice. She went back to whinging regularly throughout the night after that.

I brought my eldest little sister (16) home with us to ease the transition back to boring mummy's house. And because I could.

Lots of new words, climbing tricks, being less wussy...she even told me to shut up! In the car on the way back I was chatting to her and she yelled 'shah-p!' at me! Well I never. The downside of associating with older children. :laughing: Lucky she's so cute.

Sal - you don't have to wish gastro on yourself to get a day off. You're Aussie, chuck a sickie and have a pleasant day, not a pukey one! It must be really hard having to wait for hubby to agree too number 2, does he know just how loud you are ticking?

Di - I am blessed I know. I watch sick children on tv and always tear up thinking about it. I would never have done that before I had Abbey. Motherhood has made me soft.

Sare - the trick to being a lazy a$$ is to pile the mess throughout the house so the eggs don't stand out. I have cereal stuck to my floor. A few pieces here and there. I am SO not in a hurry to stuff around and mop it up.

Jackie - Can you take it out and rely on other methods? Or not rely on methods at all? Pregnancy is a pretty good contraception.

Beck - wow, you're certainly a dark horse! Congrats, how exciting.

Seriously, are there any of us who are stopping at a one and only child?

Small snotty human says its time for a shoe change. She spends all day swapping shoes. Very cute.

~Kimba~
30-04-2008, 08:54
Today is my last day at home (back to work tomorrow) and I'm sitting here watching a TV show about 'the first 3 months' and reminiscing about life with a newborn - it all looks so simple now, but my God it seemed so hard and scary back then! I think I didn't stop crying for 3 months, LOL. It'll be good to do it again one day with the benefit of experience.

I'm feeling clucky again - especially with you lot all announcing your :bfp:s! - but waiting till December. In the meantime I have a bit more weight to lose, and I want to get back into Yoga then continue it through pregnancy. So that's something to keep me occupied for the next 8 months: getting myself into the best 'pre-conception' condition that I can, especially since I'll be 37 by the time I have the next bub :eek: so I'll need all the help I can get!

Jet is still being super clingy. Yesterday was our first major drama with him not wanting to go to daycare - he went running down the street in the opposite direction, and howled and struggled when I tried to put him in the stroller to walk there :( This morning was marginally better, but when we got there he grabbed me and didn't want me to leave, saying 'mummy mummy' and almost crying...makes me feel so awful! But I know he enjoys it once the 'goodbye' part is over...

He's waking through the night again too, whether he's in his own cot or in our bed seems to make no difference, although at least if he's in our bed I don't have to get up and get cold! Maybe it's his 2yo molars...but I'm wondering if I'm going to get a full night's sleep ever again...??? is he going to be one of those kids that doesn't sleep through till he's 5???

Apart from that he's all good. So cute with his talking! If we say 'what's your name?' he says 'Jat!' :laughing: (and we didn't 'teach' him that, so it was a surprise the first time he did it - he must have picked it up from people saying 'what's his name' and us answering?) And he loves pointing at 'Jat' in the mirror and in photos. He's cottoned on to the concept of 'ow/ ouch' and says it if he hurts himself, he also complains that the wipes are 'cold' when we change his nappy!

He's also suddenly enmoured of the Wiggles - or 'Wuggooszh!' as he calls them, OMG too funny :laughing: - he's hardly ever seen them so I don't know where that came from!

Michelle - glad that you and Abbey had a good time at your mums. It's great when you can relax a bit and know that someone else is taking care of your kid (and you). LOL at Abbey telling you to shut up! I'm with you on the cereal on the floor. My current excuse is that i can't do anything physical after surgery but that won't last long! Re: one and only child - sometimes I seriously consider it, it would definitely make life easier with respect to financial pressure and me wanting to work less hours etc, but I really do want to have another baby...we'll see I guess!

Sal - ooh gastro, poor you! hope that you're all feeling better soon and I also hope that DH relents with respect to TTC #2, it sounds like you really want it badly and I totally understand how you're feeling with respect to work - I was like that before I had Jet. Things do have a way of working out - what a shame you didn't 'accidentally' get pg while on holidays in Thailand! With TTC and my DH, I guess I'm lucky in that respect: once I'm ready, I know DH will agree (sometimes there are benefits to a DH who leaves ALL the decision making to me, as infuriating as it is the rest of the time :rolleyes: )

Di - sounds like you have your hands even fuller than usual with the boys' ailments, I hope everyone is A-OK soon. I totally agree with you about counting our blessings. Autism scares me, especially the 'regressive' autism where kids have developed normally until now, then suddenly it appears. You just never know do you?

Sare - I hope you get your heating fixed soon. A bit of scrambled egg on the floor won't kill anyone - sounds like you need a bit of time out with your feet up. Any chance of getting the IL's to look after the girls for the day? Or a cleaning lady LOL (how nice would that be...sigh...)

MaryAnne - glad to hear that Darcy's croup has cleared up. I totally understand what you mean about being able to relax at home and play with Darc instead of being consumed with juggling home and work - that's exactly how I feel. During the working week I'm constantly rushing around just to stay on top of things, and I hate hearing myself say 'not now Jet, Mummy's busy cooking/cleaning/washing/packing daycare bag etc'. There just aren't enough hours in the day...

Jackie - sounds like going back onto that contraception is what's mucking you around a bit with the bleeding etc? hope that it all sorts itself out for you soon.

GeorgiaAnne
30-04-2008, 09:30
:wave: girls
Kimba - Are you feeling better now after your op? Yeah, the first 3 months, i've been remembering them and am hoping it's better 2nd time :fingerscrossed:
Michelle - re: having one child, I guess that's why you got such a character in Abbey :thumbsup:

Beck - Congratulations on your bfp~!!!!:goodvibes: That's great news - how are you feeling?

All is well here, i'll try and get on later for a proper chat!

sare
30-04-2008, 09:49
Sal - Hope you feel better soon. I never used to get gastro before I had kids, look what they do to you :laughing:

Kimba - Do you feel like you're ready to go back to work?
That first 3 months is just hard. I think I'll be asking for more help from my mum and the ILs this time around.

Di - Hope the boys are all on the mend. I still think you are remarkable.

Michelle - lol at Abbey telling you to shut up. She's going to be one independent little miss. Sounds like you both had a great break.

Well the heating has been fixed, which means Lara's back to the cot tonight (too cold for her in the cot as she kicks off her blankets). Hopefully she gets straight back to sleeping 12 hrs straight (like she did 3 nights in a row last week...for the first time ever).

Otherwise same old same old here. Eloise has kinder this afternoon and Lara will have a sleep then, so I'll have some quiet time to myself :yelclap:

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
30-04-2008, 10:13
Hope you feel better soon sal...

i still am bleeding and this morning and yesty morning it was dark red and like a normal period flow....but then back to the brown (it isn't justy spotting which concerns me)...i have the nuva ring in...argh you think that would stop it...not prolong it...ARGH!!!

might go and see the doc on friday and have a chat....

i want to just take it out and let my body work itself out...might talk to DP tonight...ha ha, he hates condoms, well so do i...i said to him last night if we get pregnant we wont have to use condoms for 9 months...:laughing:

don't you LOVE quiet time to yourself sare....!!

argh i am just over it....it has been like 18 days...! wouldn't it be nice to be male for a day!!

got to run....
all is well here except ke has a slight cold from the flu vax...!

sare
30-04-2008, 10:32
wouldn't it be nice to be male for a day!!

:laughing: pmsl...I'd love it more if dh were to become a woman for a day (no maybe 9 months). :laughing:

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
30-04-2008, 10:37
:laughing: that's a great one sare!

sare
30-04-2008, 11:30
If I hear dh whinge about my grumpiness one more time I think I'm going to give him a swift kick up the butt.
Seriously it would be hilarious to see him cope with sore boobs, cramping, a weak pelvic floor :o, gas...hmm what happens during pg :detective: Then add the 2 terrors and a puppy to the mix and see him not being grumpy...I don't think so.

di_matt
30-04-2008, 13:38
pms is our relief girls. men need to relieve their built up pressures in other ways.....we don't have a valve to pull like them. Not sure I'd want one lol I get more cuddles as a mum.
Just a quickie to let you know I have finally added my facebook link on the bottom of my signature so you can check us out if you're that desperate :laughing::laughing:

SalTheGal
30-04-2008, 20:24
Hi Ladies, thanks for the thoughts....it was definitely a 24hr bug, feeling much better tonight, but last night was a doozy! I was literally wrapped in a blanket hugging the toilet bowl for most of the night...took Nedd to daycare today and slept most of it.

I really feel for those of you who have to be at home sick with a baby- there is no way I could have coped with Nedd today, I was just too exhausted, thank god for daycare!

Thanks also for the well wishes, I am sure we will be fine....and we will get it all sorted sooner or later. I think it isn't even so much the wanting to TTC- its just my job is really getting me down, so hanging in limbo means I stay at a job I hate with no end in sight....I would love dearly to try and get another job, but don't see the point at this stage.

Sare- glad to hear your heating is fixed- fingers crossed Lara gives you a great night tonight.

Jac- definitely sounds like a trip to the Dr for you....it must be getting frustrating.

Kimba- Hope work goes ok for you...don't over do it. Nedd is super clingy to me too at the moment, poor DH is getting so frustrated as he doesn't get a look in.

Michelle- sounds like you had a lovely weekend...if your anything like me its great to spend time with the family, whilst yours is a tad bigger than mine, by the time we all get together with brothers, partners and kids it is a mad house, and we are all so boisterous it is a lot of fun. Abbey is just so cute, I would love to meet her one day- maybe I will get to do a trip to QLD soon for work!

Re having one child....do you think if you meet mr right you would like to have more? Or are you happy with just the one?

Well I am off to bed to catch up on some more sleep, this bug has really sapped me of my energy.

Take care all. :goodvibes:

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
30-04-2008, 21:23
here are some piccies of keanu tonight....growing up too fast!!!

i set his toddler bed up, as suggested by MIL, just so he could get on it when/if he wanted to...as last time we tried putting him to sleep in it, he didn't want a bar of it...well, well, a different story tonight, i set it up today, he had a bit of a roll on it, then come bed time i went to put him in his cot and he CRACKED it big time...wanted to go in the bed...so here he is...wonder how he'll sleep (he is a great sleeper let's hope it stays that way)....was very suprised..he didn't even get out lol. i am sure it will come.
might leave the cot in his room for a while tho...

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=758352&l=647c2&id=713368451

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=758353&l=b497e&id=713368451

Becbabe
01-05-2008, 06:49
Darn - just got on here to have a chat and say I've been reading but not posting as I've been so busy (and the computer room is so cold :D) but now I've looked at the clock and it's time for getting dressed for work!

Dating scan today...:fingerscrossed: all is well.

BBS for a better chat!

m_jelly
01-05-2008, 08:00
Abbey won't sleep while she has a cold. She calls me in every 20 minutes with another 15 minutes to soothe. In my bed its the same, except once she's exhausted me I don't wake up so ha ha be snotty all by yourself. I had the vaporiser going and stunk up the house but it still wasn't enough to keep her snoozing. Oh well, it will pass soon enough. Meanwhile its snot city.

bec - Hope your little blobby is all well, it must be exciting to get to see your bubs weeks before you normally would.

Jackie - Who wouldn't want to sleep in a Spiderman bed?? It looks great. I still haven't bought a bed, I think its going to be one of those things I put off until she climbs out of her cot and bangs her head.

Sal - Glad you're feeling better. I always avoid hugging the toilet, preferring to carry a bucket with me. Toilets are unpleasant places!

re having just one child:
I don't want to stop at one baby, I thought I would, but then Abbey came along and she needs a sibling. I want her to have a sibling too. I also want a pregnancy on my terms, where I don't cry myself to sleep or feel like dirt. I don't need Mr Right to do that, all I need is suitable, safe sperm. Which is available at a price thanks to modern technology and lovely american boys willing to give their time to produce it. You can expect a BFP from me before the year is out.

I don't want to put my life on hold for a Mr Right who may never come, and even if he does I will push him away with my trust issues. I need to go back to work sometime, and if I have a baby now I'm only extending my sahm stay for another year or 2, rather than another set of 5 years.

sare
01-05-2008, 08:29
Time for a new thread girls, can't believe it's May already! :eek: Here it is. (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=2611100#post2611100)