View Full Version : Magic May Babies # 5 - April chat! Are we there yet?
TheEmpress
14-04-2008, 07:37 AM
Hi , Hope everyone is well .
Lauren - Cute tummy pic ! :)
Princess Jas-So Sorry to hear about your DP , Hope things start to brighten up soon xx :hugs:
Emsmum- Sounds like your def Nesting ! I know I am ! I have been a clean freak :laughing:I have been cleaning out cupboards and drawers , Have thrown out a heap of stuff we never use and I'm totally on top of the washing - There is nothing left to wash - The house is sparkling hehe...
About me - Well, I went shopping yesterday and bought myself some things to help with birthing -
-Some Raspberry Leaf Tea
-Essential Oils
-Massage Oil with Essential Oils
-Some Shamanic music that is like a Relaxation - Trance meditation - It has a relaxed heartbeat drum rhythm that helps you stay connected with your base chakra (which helps you stay grounded), It stays in the same rhythm throughout the whole cd and also helps with breathing .
I am going to be a bit more prepared this time .
Last time I didn't do a thing and I found It difficult to cope with the pain -I had a 22 hour labour - Contractions started a 6am being 5 mins apart from 6 , I gave up and had a Epidural at 11pm when they told me I was only 5cm dilated , - I just gave up then and there- She was born at 4am .
This time I would like to try and do it without the Epi but I do understand that whatever happens -happens and you just have to keep an opened mind- I don't have an exact birth plan but I do want to -
-Try & Stay home for as long as possible this time (I live a few streets from the hosp so I can) I just want to put my music on and burn my oils and have showers If I need to,stay upright and try to zone out until contractions are right on top of each other , then go to hospital and sit in the bath and try to have a water birth this time .
I don't know If this will happen but this is what I'll try and do .
Anyway , I'll stop rambling on .
I'm just excited I'm a bit more prepared this time around (although , I don't even know If it'll make a difference !:laughing:... we'll see)
Have a good day everyone !
happybunnypony
14-04-2008, 07:48 AM
morning may mummies!!
mel: whooooo what a lot of work you did! that's awesome, i know it's such a good feeling when you get all that stuff done!
Not sure about you, but i find it really difficult to get housework done when my DP is home... so i now have decided to just wait until he goes to work this arvo to get stuck into things! When he's home he veges around and i feel it's easier to do similar otherwise it'll stress me that i'm working (cleaning) while he's not! :laughing:
Cassie: i hope your day was fun yesterday! Sound like it would of been!
Marzie: lol @ Grease Musical! I think i would of loved it, i like some of that cheezey stuff, but yeah not good that it wasn't funny!
Supermumof2: LOL! give us time! our bubs are still incubating... they'll be popping out before we know it!!
PJ! :hugs: oooh that's not good about your hubby!!! If he stays with Select, at least 4 days is better than none!
How much do middies cost when you have a home birth? they expensive? I'm sure everything will work out alright for you :hugs:
Ooh i think you should try and call your mum on her birthday... it might be good for you two to patch things up a bit better before bubs arrival! But i can understand, when your not feeling it, your not feeling it!!
V8: ooh dear i hate those days when your after just ONE thing and it takes a million trips to various stores and they still don't have what you need!! Not good about DS and the couch! I guess that is something i'm going to have to get used to! We need a new couch, so i guess a white one would be out of the question! hehee
IsaacsMummy: i'm surprisingly feeling much better now! A few regular aches and pains but not too bad... :)
That's no good your hubby is gone, i would be soo sad too :hugs: but i think your right, the best thing is to stay busy with lots of jobs to do (not too many though, you want to rest aswell!) Will your DH stay home when you have bubs?
Miranda: Whoah! what a trip!!!! How did it feel, thinking you were going through contractions and could have bubs soon? Do you think braxton hicks comes so regularly?
Lauren: aww your bellie is teenytiny!
I'm all booked in this morning to get my hair done!! HOORAY!!!! i can't wait, i think it's been almost 2 and half months since i had it done last! YIKES! that's terrible!
Have a great day everyone... xoxo
cassie0011
14-04-2008, 07:53 AM
hello mummies
i just have a quick question for those further in front of me (im 35 weeks 1 day) or those that have had a bub....
I have a sore pubic bone, just lifting my leg a lil to put undies on strains it, walking as well and walking i feel pressure down there too and my hips and pelvis also hurt. is this normal? im not seeing my dr till thursday so just wondered if anyone else had this?
i also get this, but mine also hurt when i turn over in bed, only happens occasionally thou. i dont know if its normal, speak to ur doctor, im seeing my midwife on wednesday night so i will ask then.
Bel1978
14-04-2008, 08:05 AM
Hi guys just a quick hello from us.....
Mel the magnesium and calcium tablets that you asked about before is for all muscle and bone aches well thats what it says on the bottle so im trying it again.... as i can hardly walk
Maddisonsmummy - ive just put two and two together... are you corie from our MM page???
marzie07
14-04-2008, 08:37 AM
We have asked my mum to attend the birth of our son in May, i want to get something like a keepsake or something special she has never attended a birth before (except her own 5 labours) but i just want something special to give her.
Any ideas?
i have looked on ebay under baby but couldnt find anything.
EmsMum72
14-04-2008, 09:25 AM
PJ, sorry to hear about your DP losing his job. You guys must be the unluckiest people I've known for quite awhile.
Vee, sorry to hear about your couch. Hope you can get the milk off it. We have a velvet type couch (that hubby recently got from a friend cause he moved to Qld) in a sh!tty old 'junk room' out the back of our house and during the massive downpour yesterday the roof leaked, all over the couch (hubby wasn't impressed as he'd asked me to cover it ages ago but silly ol' me forgot :rolleyes:) so now the couch is wet and I'm just hoping it will dry without that mouldy, mildewey smell. The baby's pram, carrier & carseat also got wet, but hopefully they'll dry in the house today cause the heater's on.
IM, sorry to hear that your hubby's gone. I'm sure that you will be busy though and the time will fly, and at least you will get to see him every 2nd weekend which is better than nothing. Maybe on mother's day you and Isaac could go somewhere special, so you can spoil yourself, like the Pancake Parlour (they have colouring in for the kids to do, and usually trains running around the roof etc). If you get lonely or bored just jump on here and I'm sure one of us will be online to keep you company!
marzie, I haven't really had a sore pubic bone but had pain for a few days last week in my lower back which made lifting my left leg almost unbearable. I do occasionally feel pressure 'down there' though, especially this morning - I was walking like an 80 year old hunch back! A keepsake sounds like a lovely idea for your mum. What about a locket, that you can put a picture of your baby in for her?
mirandaj, definately sounds like something is going on with you and I'm guessing that within a week or so you will be a mummy :smiliedance:! I actually surprise myself cleaning the bath. But I was on a mission, very determined I guess. The toilet was easy enough, and my 'little helper' helped with the mopping so it was ok. Don't think I'll attempt the bath again though until after bubs is born.
Ametrine, the goodies you bought yesterday sound wonderful. I hope the birth of this baby goes the way you want it to :thumbsup:
hbp, I don't mind cleaning if hubby is home (if he is working in his shed). I won't do it if he's home, veging on the couch because I get too angry, like you :D. I'm more lazy when he's not home, then tidy up about 30 mins before he's due home so it looks like I've actually done things while he's been working. Enjoy having your hair done, I'm sure it will make you feel so good and I'm sure you'll look wonderful.
Thanks for that info Bel. Not long to go now!
Well, I'm still in a nesting mood and this morning when I got up I made the beds, did a load of washing, tidied up the kitchen, had a shower etc., and now I don't really have anything to do :laughing:. DD has kinder between 1 & 4pm today so I might chill out and watch Young & The Restless cause I probably will have fallen in a hole by then!
Toodles :wave:
mirandaj
14-04-2008, 11:37 AM
PJ: & EmsMum: Thanks for reassuring me that something will happen / is happening
Ametrine: That is great that you are more prepared this time. Maybe feeling more prepared will help you to fell calm and make it that little bit easier.
HBP: Both DH and I were excited when we thought I might be in labour. I don’t think BH are that regular but I could be wrong. I think maybe I wanted to be in labour so my subconscious mind made them regular. DH really wanted to have the baby last weekend as he is excited, and wanted a break from work as it is really busy at his work at the moment. He said I was a bit selfish for wanting the baby early as I am in pain, but he wants the baby early so he doesn’t have to go to work for a couple of weeks. Enjoy getting your hair done. What are you getting done? I was suppose to get mine done but DH gets paid monthly and we have almost run out of money for the month but still have two weeks to go.
Marzie: Sounds like you have separated pubic bones. It is apparently quite normal in pregnancy (although feels horrible, doctors aren’t very sympathetic). I have the same thing and have been wearing a brace/belly belt thing which seem to help. Also the midwife said to try and keep your legs together when moving, so I was doing this little shuffle walk for a while. It is feeling a lot better now. I do suggest you get a support band/belt for your belly as it takes the weight of the pelvis. You can get them for Babies Galore and maternity wear shops. I don’t think you need to get your mum a pressie for attending the birth. Seeing her grandchild born will be special enough for her.
EmsMum: I think you are super woman. I cleaned the toilet a couple of weeks ago and it killed my back. I do the same thing as you – do a quick clean up before DH gets home. I am determined to do more housework today than normal as I am sick of living in a pig sty.
Well I'm off as well to try and get motivated to do some cleaning.
I just realised it is my sisters 5th birthday in 2 days. We have not arranged to do anything with them as not sure when I will have the baby. I might invite them around for dinner if I can get the place clean enough.
MaddisonsMummy
14-04-2008, 11:55 AM
Maddisonsmummy - ive just put two and two together... are you corie from our MM page???
yes Bel :p :laughing:
PrincessJasmine
14-04-2008, 12:06 PM
I just realised it is my sisters 5th birthday in 2 days. We have not arranged to do anything with them as not sure when I will have the baby. I might invite them around for dinner if I can get the place clean enough.
How big is the age gap between you and your sister? My sister and I have a 17 year age gap. She's really excited about being an aunty again. I even told her she could write a list of possible baby names for me.
Why do men just seem to get in the way? DP did nothing yesterday and doesn't seem to be doing anything today either. I'm so mad at him at the moment, but trying to hide it just to keep the peace. He's in a fowl mood and its really not helping. I wish he would go out somewhere, but no, looks like he's about to lay down. :hair: He's waiting for a phone call to tell him if he's got any work this week. :rolleyes:
I'm so over being pregnant this week. It hurts to move, sleeping is getting next to impossible. I wake up with headaches every morning and can't seem to get anything done around here. Instead of sitting on his lazy ass DP could be cleaning and helping me get things ready. I just asked him if he could go to my mums to pick up some mail, but thats too much for him to do obviously. I seriously have to get away from him before I loose it completely. I'm not even allowed to be upset, he has a go at me saying "what do you have to be worried about?" :mad:
meegzz
14-04-2008, 02:09 PM
Ok i still dont get this stupid quoting thing!!!
PJ - :hugs: hope all gets better soon if your already over this week being pregnant its gonna be one long week for you its only monday :laughing:.
Hmmm who else was i gonna write to i have no idea i think i may have to read again!!!
Oh i remember seeing pics Vee and Mel and Lauren yous are look gorgeous!!!!
Umm i will have to come back ok
EmsMum72
14-04-2008, 02:24 PM
Ok i still dont get this stupid quoting thing!!!
Hey meegzz, at the bottom of everyone's posts you will see 3 choices - one is quote, another is " (something like that, which is multi quote) and another one. If you see something you want to reply to on someone's post you click on the quote button, and it will transfer their text onto your own post. If there are many people you want to reply to you hit the " button on their posts and it will transfer them all over to your post, then you just edit the bits that aren't relevant and reply to what you want to reply to. Hope that makes sense!
Bel1978
14-04-2008, 06:59 PM
yes Bel :p :laughing:
Gee im slow....:wave: kayla... did you know this it took me a while i notice maddisons bday.....
Guys all this time and i know this person hahaha
Lillybelle
14-04-2008, 08:59 PM
3 weeks today till our beautiful baby boy will be born!!! :smiliedance:
I have had a fairly quiet week. Had a friend, her hubby and darling 2yr old little boy over for lunch on Saturday and then met up with 10 girlfriends for Yum Cha lunch on Sunday. So a nice weekend.
Somehow the "nesting bug" seems to have missed visiting me. :( I have not been motivated enough to do any housework lately or to even start washing all bubs clothes. I was hoping to get my craft/scrap booking/sewing room ("the junk room") cleaned and sorted out before bub arrives but I have not even stepped foot in there. I really have no excuse, just laziness, as I have been on maternity leave now for 6 weeks!
Here are my most recent belly shots taken in the last few days-
http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh280/LillyBella75/baby%20bump/P4110019.jpg
http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh280/LillyBella75/baby%20bump/P4110023.jpg
I still have not been and taken photos of the now complete nursery... Will do this and post them in the next couple of days.
Spending the day card making with 2 friends tomorrow. Then on Wednesday I have an appointment with my OB and will combine this with a visit to work.
Pregnancy wise I have been getting quite a few braxton hicks each day. Some times they are painful in my belly or throbbing in my back, but luckily they only last for about 30secs and I don't get them very often. Like everyone else here I am also finding sleeping very uncomfortable and waking up 3-4 times to go and wee. I can not wait to be able to sleep on my back again.
Not long to go now girls. It is so exciting. Hope you are all well and that we 'all' get a really good, deep, pain free and long nights sleep tonight!!! :sleeping:
Sorry this post is so long :ecomcity: I will make an effort to get back on again on Thursday if not before.
cassie0011
15-04-2008, 09:12 AM
morning everyone:wave:
Kayla and PJ- just thought i better put down that we are meeting this friday at 12 in front of target at dandy plaza. is this ok with you both?:thumbsup:
Last night i wasnt feeling to well, i woke up around midnight feeling like im going to :barf:, this has happened a few times.
Bubs has been very active the last couple of days. sometimes it hurts.
hope everyone is well..:)
meegzz
15-04-2008, 09:27 AM
Hello girlies...
I tried all this quote stuff mel but im just fully retarded at it haha i will work it out when my head isnt so clouded im sure!!!
I had a great sleep last night - it was soooo goood i mean i havent had a good nights sleep in soooooo long im always up weeing or im uncomfortable or bubs is having a party so im kept awake but i must say im still so tired!!!!
Lillybelle - Thats soooo soon are you scared a bit??? I still have over 6 weeks so im not scared yet i figure it has to happen!!
Your pics are great cant wait to see your nursery all done!
PrincessJasmine
15-04-2008, 10:39 AM
Friday at 12pm got it!
Just when you think things can't get worse...got a letter from the real estate agent today, they are putting the rent up from $245 to $270 as of July. In October it went up from $220 to $245. First time the rent went up the oven had just been replaced. This time the hot water system has just been replaced. I'm so mad right now.
mirandaj
15-04-2008, 12:07 PM
Nothing new to report with me. I am so anxious about the baby coming. I can't wait to see him but he is not here yet. Don't know if I am patient enough to wait another couple of weeeks. If he is overdue it will be even worse. Just trying to keep busy. My dad, mum, and sister in law ring every couple of days to see what is happeneing as well.
How big is the age gap between you and your sister? My sister and I have a 17 year age gap. She's really excited about being an aunty again. I even told her she could write a list of possible baby names for me.
Why do men just seem to get in the way? DP did nothing yesterday and doesn't seem to be doing anything today either. I'm so mad at him at the moment, but trying to hide it just to keep the peace. He's in a fowl mood and its really not helping. I wish he would go out somewhere, but no, looks like he's about to lay down. He's waiting for a phone call to tell him if he's got any work this week.
I'm so over being pregnant this week. It hurts to move, sleeping is getting next to impossible. I wake up with headaches every morning and can't seem to get anything done around here. Instead of sitting on his lazy ass DP could be cleaning and helping me get things ready. I just asked him if he could go to my mums to pick up some mail, but thats too much for him to do obviously. I seriously have to get away from him before I loose it completely. I'm not even allowed to be upset, he has a go at me saying "what do you have to be worried about?"
There is a 20 year age gap between me and my sister. She doesn’t really understand about being an aunty yet. When I told her she will be an aunty she was worried that means she wouldn’t be my sister anymore. She is excited about the baby though, she kisses my belly and wrote a list of names for me also (was her friends names from school).
You are going through a really rough time at the moment. I hope things get better for you. Be upset if you want to. Please don’t get upset at me for saying this, but it sounds like you DP may be a bit depressed about loosing work. It is a horrible thing to happen and a blow to the confidence. Maybe have a chat with him about how he is feeling.
Lillybelle: Congratulations about having 3 weeks to go! Don’t worry the nesting bug hasn’t hit me either. I have to force myself to clean, and am only doing it as this house is so messy it is unbearable.
Meegzz: I am jealous of your good nights sleep.
Hey All
Well we have had such dramas with Josh and the spilling the milk episode on our lounge! It's supposed to have fabric protection, which has worn off in only 7 months, supposed to have a 5 year warranty. I've just spent $200 cleaning one lounge and there is no fabric protection on it now as it has all worn off both lounges and ottaman. So i have rung the company who did the fabric protection and they will hopefully sort something. But the couches all need re-cleaning and then re-done with the fabric protection. I'm so darn annoyed, the guy came and quoted me today on the fabric protection and cleaning and it was over $500 to get done. I'm so p*ssed cause it should have been done properly the first time. So now we wait and see if the place that should have done it properly will send one of their guys down here to inspect the sofa and get it cleaned and re-protected and i shouldn't be bl00dy paying for it either! So yeah, so annoyed about that.
Anyways, that's enough of that dramas! lol Everything else is going along fine, the weather here is beautiful, i have started taking my homeopathic remedies, which is kinda exciting :smiliedance: and in a few short weeks we'll be having a new baby, i'm so excited. We also have mums birthday next week on Anzac Day so will catch up with the family then. Still needing to get a tap attachment so i can fill my birth pool, but Dad is sorting that out for me. :) Also spoke to my sis last night and things are going well with her at the police recruits and will see her next week for mum's birthday so that should be good.
Nothing else to report really, i don't get up much through the night just once for a wee and it's hard to turn over as my back aches etc.
mummajugs
15-04-2008, 03:19 PM
Mummajugs - Lovely pics, you have such a great belly for 34 weeks!
haha thankyou, sometimes it doesnt feel that great, i feel huge.
Lauren - lovely little bump you have there. It still looks so small. Especially compared to mine! I feel like a whale. And I'm terrified of what the family will say when they see me on the weekend. I don't need to hear that I'm huge - I know that already thanks very much!
haha thankyou i guess, i feel huge and heavy, its annoying. haha i firgured out the other night, im still sleeping half on my belly. dont worry about the family, just tell them they 'havnt changed' hahahaha that will hit a soft spot for them as calling you huge would hit a soft spot for you haha. family are great like that arnt they.
Lauren: you are still very tiny!
does it count if i feel huge?
sounds like you have had a rough few days waiting for bub to come and the contractions!!! ohhh its sooo close! im getting nervous for you! i hope he comes soon, he sure seems ready! yippeeee
lol, i keep seeing all these comments that my belly is soo tiny... haha, i guess this is a good thing? it makes me worry that bub isnt growing properly!
but im sure she is fine!
i have a feeling she will be a smallish-average baby. i think she has taken after her dad in that department. he was only 6pounds when he was born where as i was 8pound 9. im hoping shes about 7ish pounds! that would be great!!! with a small head circ, haha i wishhh
well, ive been really good, although my back has been killing me, i think its just because im centreing my weight further back. well i hope anyways.
other than that, ive been pretty good over the weekend.
seems a lot of you are having terrible pains and things. i hope it all gets better sometime soon!!!!
my braxton hicks have setttled a little bit, not getting as many everyday... only usually 1-3 every 2hours instead of every half hour or so.
hope everyones looking after themselves and those precious bundles!
HazyDazeinMay
15-04-2008, 05:35 PM
I am new to this Bub Hub and would like to joing you lovely ladies in your countdown to the big day. I too have an EDD in May, thought it could well be June as I am not due until the 28th May. I think I am joining a few others on this date?
I have started lurking in the forum of late, particularly during my restless/sleepless:sleeping: nights, and hoped to join u all in this final countdown.
Not sure it this will work, so if so, I will pop back later to find out more.... Hope you are all doing well and looking forward to getting to know you better.:thumbsup:
mummajugs
15-04-2008, 06:02 PM
hazydazeinmay- its never too late to join, so welcome to the thread! and congrats on you pregnancy.
Im Lauren due on the 24th May with my first pregnancy, a little girl.
what is you name?
do you know what you having?
look forward to chatting in these final weeks!
take care!
WHERE IS EVERYONE TONIGHT? I HOPE YOU ARNT ALL IN LABOUR HAHA. JKS:laughing:
isaacsmammy
15-04-2008, 06:08 PM
Hey ladies! I'm soooo far behind it's shocking! Haven't been able to log in for some reason?
Will bbl to try and catch up, just going to have dinner. Hope you're all well!
MaddisonsMummy
15-04-2008, 09:27 PM
evening ladies,
just thought id pop in and let you know how my u/s went today...
bub is looking great, very cute and cheeky... couldnt get a clear face shot, bubs hands were covering its face as if he/she was playing peek-a-boo pix arent really clear but ill show you them anyways...
atm bub weighs 2.5kg & has a head circumference of 33.1cm.
my next midwife appt is on the 24th...
(you have to use your imagination)
bubs hands covering its face
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/MaddisonsMummy/belly%20pix%20-%20maddy%20and%20bub/100_1914.jpg
a foot:p
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/MaddisonsMummy/belly%20pix%20-%20maddy%20and%20bub/100_1919.jpg
hope your all well xx
Bel1978
16-04-2008, 07:24 AM
Friday at 12pm got it!
Just when you think things can't get worse...got a letter from the real estate agent today, they are putting the rent up from $245 to $270 as of July. In October it went up from $220 to $245. First time the rent went up the oven had just been replaced. This time the hot water system has just been replaced. I'm so mad right now.
Sorry that this is happening but we had a rental property we sold it just before we had sienna.. with all the interest rate rises we pay hundreds etc per month now on the current house
Bel1978
16-04-2008, 07:28 AM
I am new to this Bub Hub and would like to joing you lovely ladies in your countdown to the big day. I too have an EDD in May, thought it could well be June as I am not due until the 28th May. I think I am joining a few others on this date?
I have started lurking in the forum of late, particularly during my restless/sleepless:sleeping: nights, and hoped to join u all in this final countdown.
Not sure it this will work, so if so, I will pop back later to find out more.... Hope you are all doing well and looking forward to getting to know you better.:thumbsup:
Hi and welcome.. im Bel im 29 and have a 11 mth old, im due end of may but i have been told i cant go past the 21st.. yay
cassie0011
16-04-2008, 08:06 AM
Morning everyone :wave:
well im 36 weeks now, so only 4 weeks left till my due date :smiliedance: yay!!!!
i also have my midwife appointment today and so i get to hear the heartbeat too, i want them to make sure that bubs is in the right position for birth too otherwise im demanding an u/s. they did one there for me last time to make sure my sons head was down, otherwise i have to go see my gp for a referral.
:babydust2:well everyone have a good day!:babydust2:
TheEmpress
16-04-2008, 08:59 AM
I have started lurking in the forum of late, particularly during my restless/sleepless nights, and hoped to join u all in this final countdown.
Not sure it this will work, so if so, I will pop back later to find out more.... Hope you are all doing well and looking forward to getting to know you better.
Hi and welcome to the thread !
I'm also Bel and have bub No 2 Due May 19th .
Lauren - Don't worry about your tum looking small - It doesn't mean a thing , with my 1st preg I was tiny and a lot of people worried me and said my baby will prob be 4-5 pound , they were wrong as bub was 7 and a half pounds , bub was just further back I think - again this preg my tum isn't very big- a lot of people keep commenting , I'm not going to let them worry me this time but I know what you mean - I feel huge !:laughing:When people say I'm small I'm like "really??:confused:-Don't feel like it !"
Maddisons mummy- Cute pics ! Wish I could have another u/s but will just wait for bubs arrival now to see him/her again !
Cassie- YAY on being 36 weeks !:smiliedance:Not long to go now .
Anyway - I am now about 95% sure bubs head is fully engaged , I feel so much pressure and feel sometimes like the bub is hitting my pelvic bone and It sort of hurts when that happens .
Also I have been drinking my raspberry leaf tea (i love it !) but when I drink It bub moves sooo much ! Does anyone get movements from their bub and It hurts ? Well It's not really painful but the movements are so big It's uncomfortable - I never got that with my dd , she didn't move like this bub ! This movement is unbelievable !
Anyway - Hope everyone is well !
Looking forward to chatting more soon :ecomcity::D
rynosmum
16-04-2008, 09:36 AM
Morning Ladies!
Well today is a LOVELY day! I finally had my last work function (a trade show) yesterday and as of today, I am officially just 'on call' but not having to actively be working. I'm so relaxed already!:yelclap: I have a new builder coming within the next hour to quote on our silly wall and had my OB appt this morning to check on bub who is positioned perfectly:D (my son was posterior so I'm hoping that we may be able to avoid the intervention we had last time).
One thing though, I'm measuring 41 cms to which my OB stated that this baby will be 'enormous!'. Cheeky bugger - my son was 8p4 and when we compared back, I was measuring 39 cms at this point with him so maybe a little bigger than that which shouldn't be too bad (ouchie!).
Okay, so.....what now? I can't do anything on the nursery until the wall is up and DS's ceiling is painted....sooooo....what should I be doing? I took DS to daycare this morning just out of habit but will pick him up at 2 after his sleep. I've cleaned the kitchen, made the beds, put some washing on...maybe I'll repack my hospital bag and nap for the rest of the day ;-)
I hope everyone is well!:wave:
meegzz
16-04-2008, 09:55 AM
Goodmorning girlies....
Just at work, working away cant you tell?! :laughing:.
I only have 12 more working days left im getting very excited!!! Also next Tuesday is my birthday so that is exciting also im getting excited especially coz DP is taking me out for dinner this Saturday hmm im actually starting to get nervous as him and my parents have been whispering a lot and he sold his dirt bike which im not allowed to know about... his mum accidently goes to me "oh let Rory know his bike is sold" and im like"oh i didnt know he was selling it" and she was like "ohmigod umm please dont mention that you know then" and im lik"ok" and she was like "i forgot it was your 21st coming up i think there might be a surprise in store" i just laughed it off but now i am getting nervy as there are all these little things that are making me suspect that there may be a proposal on the cards.... im actually really scared hahaha i dont know why i would love to marry him and i know it would be quite a long engagement as we are both wanting to do other stuff before marriage like raise this bubby, buy a house and buy new cars and go on a holiday. Im not scared as such as he may not even do it but its a little bit scary :laughing:. I think im just hoping that if he does do it its not just because we are having a baby together and its classed as the next step i hope he is doing it coz he really does want to spend forever with me... i dunno sorry im just gonna keep talking hahaha :ecomcity:.
Ametrine and Lauren - Your bellies are both beautiful, smaller than mine but every bub sits in a different position yous both just look perfect!!!!
Bel - See you arent gonna be last 21st is not long!!!
Corie - Your bubs is beautiful haha she/he doesnt want you to see what it looks like wants it to be a surprise for you... love the foot!!!
Hazydazeinmay - Hello and welcome im Megan due with mine and DPs first bubby 30th May although im sure it will be a June bubby haha.We dont know the sex but everything is basically organised!!!
Not worried though as my May girlies in here are cool!!!
Oh i got my nappy bag i will put a pick in the bubs stuff thread or maybe the nursery pics thread haha wherever i normally put my stuff!
Vee i hope you can get your couch protection fixed... pretty sucky how it is already worn off!!!
PrincessJasmine
16-04-2008, 11:29 AM
Since I turned off java (those moving ads were giving me headaches) I can't reply properly now, so sorry if I missed anyone.
Hi! HazyDazeinMay I'm due on the 29th with our second daughter.
isaacsmammy- hope your doing well, haven't seen you on in a while.
MaddisonsMummy haha, bubs looks like he/she is hiding from you. How cute!
Cassie- was your appointment at Monash Clayton this morning? I'm suprised I didn't see you I was in there from 10-11:30.
Meegz- How exciting! I hope he does propose, it must be a pretty good gift otherwise. For him to sell his bike it must be worth a bit.
Ametrine- You using the red seal brand of RLT right? I'm hoping I can grab some tomorrow. I was hoping it was going to taste like berries, but from your other thread I guess not. I'm pretty sure this bub is engaged or well on her way too, I feel so heavy down there and lifting my legs hurts.
I had my hospital appoinment earlier, got my bounty bag. I was like, "where the mother and baby magazine?" mine didn't have one. In fact it only had the two creams a bag of wipes, and the newborn nappy sample. I remember there being heaps more last time. I'm going to drop into baby buntin and pick up that free gift bag though.
Hospital appointment was really funny, I saw the midwife and then because I'm birthing at home I had to see the doctor, so he could try to convince me to come to hospital. DP stood up for me really well, I'm proud of him and feeling the love today (which is a nice change!)
marzie07
16-04-2008, 01:06 PM
ohhhhh im soooo sore my hips are killing me, i cant lie on 1 side for to long so i switch sides then it happens again. im getting a shooting pain from the groin outwards. i just want to cry it hurts to walk or lift my legs:crying:
cassie0011
16-04-2008, 01:20 PM
Cassie- was your appointment at Monash Clayton this morning? I'm suprised I didn't see you I was in there from 10-11:30.
My appointment is at Monash clayton but i have my appointment at 7.30 tonight, so that my hubby can come aswell after he finishes from work and he can hold on to my son.
amandaw
16-04-2008, 01:55 PM
:hugs: Marzie - it'll soon be over!!
:smiliedance: Megs....everythings crossed that it's a well wanted suprise...even if it's not 'that' suprise!! I can remember the day DH proposed... we'd been at one of my mates engagement lunches, and DH decided we should go up to Mt Cootha...did the whole look around, then hopped back in the car...I actually got a bit shirty when he then stopped at Roma Street parklands...I was tired and just wanted to go home... needless to say, it was all an absolute suprise to me :p and i certainly got my energy back!!
Morning Ladies!
and had my OB appt this morning to check on bub who is positioned perfectly (my son was posterior so I'm hoping that we may be able to avoid the intervention we had last time).
I took DS to daycare this morning just out of habit
OMG - I was there again today as well!! One day we may even run into each other yet :laughing: though fast running out of time for that!! Bubs is still head down, but not engaged (1/5 inside the pelvis), so maybe I won't be as early as I've been thinking - DD was 6 days early, so that would put me at next Friday :eek: Only time will tell. Did however find out that I've tested positive to the Strep B swap (actually found out frm the midwife at the Wes yesterday...obviously I was too caught up in the whole lying transverse issue at the appointment after the swab that I didn't even ask!!)- sounds really scarey reading up on the internet about it (not for me...just the issues that could arise if bubs was to get it :fingerscrossed: not) but as per usual David was very laid back about it all!
We also have Charlotte in daycare - makes me feel silly dropping her off knowing that I'm coming home (well not today...picked up the bassinet from DH's aunt and also went shopping so it's been fun!), but trying to keep routine as close to normal. Am actually feeling a bit down/guilty about the day carer....we had planned to talk to FDC about dropping Charlotte down to 2 days a week in June/July, but we don't want to move carer (had it all planned - 2 of the other kids were only 4 days a week, so we were going to offer to take up their 2 individual days)...found out yesterday that the mother of 2 of the others (one full time, one 4 days) is pulling both to move them closer to her new job....so now I feel like by reducing C's hours (which we will have to do...I want to spend some time with her once we're a little settled, and no need to have her there) the FDCer is going to lose 3 full time charges all in one foul swoop - and that'd suck for her
EmsMum72
16-04-2008, 03:16 PM
Firstly, welcome hazydazeinmay and congrats on your baby, hope all is going well with your pregnancy. Hopefully we can get to know you a little better in the next few weeks. I was also due on the 28th, but it's been brought forward to the 22nd now because I'm having a c-section.
I can't chat for long as I have to go and make tuna mornay, but I thought I'd let you know about my mini drama. Last night I went to the toilet 3 times, 2am, 4am and 6.30am. Each time it hurt to wee (sorry TMI) a little more and when I wiped at 6.30am there was a really light pink discharge on the paper :eek: (no blood in the toilet bowl or anything). Hubby, who was just about to leave for work, came in and asked what was wrong. I was upset :crying:because I thought it was the start of a bleed, we were both concerned. I rang the hospital and told them about it, they said it sounded like Thrush. To cut a long story short, I went to the doctor and they believe it is the start of a bladder infection. The dr said it was good that I came in early because if left untreated it could lead to kidney infection and premature labour. I'm now on antibiotics and hopefully things clear up quickly. The one good thing is that bubs is still really active :yelclap:. So that was my little scare for the morning.
I'll be back on tonight to do personals :wave:
PrincessJasmine
16-04-2008, 03:25 PM
Haha, we had tuna mornay last night for dinner!
Ooh lucky you caught it in time Mel! Those toilet trips in the middle of the night are normal for me, I think I've spent half this pregnancy on the toilet.
cindye
16-04-2008, 03:35 PM
Good Afternoon Girls!
rynosmum - I can sympathise with you about the builders - we had a leak in our ensuite over 3 months ago now, which took forever to get fixes. Half the ceiling had to be replaces and we've been waiting for i think 2 months to get it repainted. There's a dispute between our landlord and the strata on who's going to pay for the painting - but all this time we've not been able to use the ensuite and i want to get our other bathroom set up with the baby bath and everything. It's so frustrating!:hair: I hope you have better luck than I have with getting all the work done on time.
mirandaj - i suspect, like me, you can't wait to meet your little one! Not long to go now. I asked my OB what we could try to get labour started and she said the same thing you did - all the old wives tales don't work! She said that until bub is fully engaged and pressing down on your cervix, labour won't start. But she said that keeping active and upright will help gravity do it's job!
hpb - Don't bother with foxtel! we got it on in december, and had the full package for a couple of months, then cut back to basic + sports (DH can't miss rugby season!) Foxtel seems to play the same thing over and over again- it drives me nuts that we pay for it and there's STILL nothing on!
emsmum72 - it sounds like you're in nesting mode with all that cleaning! :detective: I hope you're taking it easy now! The nesting bug hasn't hit me yet - only the sit down and put up your feet bug!
pj - you have had a run of bad luck haven't you? I hope things start to do a turn around. I'm sure that your DP will find a new job soon. My DH's work circumstances have changed lately - he's now working off-site with one of their contractors on a 3 month trial. After that, he's technically without a job, unless the contractors take him on. It's not a good time to be stressing about where the money is going to come from, and our rent went up this month too by $160/month.
Isaac'sMummy - Only a couple more sleeps until you get to see your DH! Lucky his work are making it up to him by flying him back every couple of weeks, but it's a bummer he won't be there on Mother's Day. Maybe you should tell him that you've changed Mother's Day to a week earlier or later!
meegzz - it definitely sounds like your DP has a surprise up his sleeve - let us know what happens!
Hazydazeinmay - welcome to the thread! I'm Cindy, due on the 2nd with our first - a little girl. Be warned - these girls love to chat - it can be hard to keep up sometimes!
A big hello to everyone else I missed!
For anyone who's interested, the inessence website has a whole section on aromatherapy in pregnancy.
DH and I had a great time in QLD on the weekend - but i needed a big nap on Monday to recover. It was pretty hectic! Once again we came back with a heap more stuff for bub, and my Mum is going to to bring more when she comes down in May. She'll be down for a week and then my MIL is coming for the week after that.
At my appointment yesterday, my OB did some more ultrasound measurements of bub and her growth has plateaued a bit. She measured 3.1kg yesterday, so hopefully won't be as enormous as we thought. She hasn't engaged any more since last week (4/5ths), so my OB has booked me in for an induction on the 8th as a back-up plan. :fingerscrossed: I go into labour before then because I've had enough!
It's DH's birthday on Saturday and we have our 2nd day of classes at the hospital and then have to go to his goddaughter's 1st birthday party. Poor boy! But I'm planning on making Sunday a fun, relaxing day - we're going to the movies - maybe for the last time in quite a while?!!
Well that's about it from me. Hope everyone has a good night's sleep!
Ciao!
Lillybelle
16-04-2008, 03:57 PM
Haha, we had tuna mornay last night for dinner!
I was just sitting here thinking "What am I going to make for dinner tonight?" Thanks girls I now have the answer.... :yelclap:
Bel1978
16-04-2008, 03:59 PM
Goodmorning girlies....
Just at work, working away cant you tell?! :laughing:.
I only have 12 more working days left im getting very excited!!! Also next Tuesday is my birthday so that is exciting also im getting excited especially coz DP is taking me out for dinner this Saturday hmm im actually starting to get nervous as him and my parents have been whispering a lot and he sold his dirt bike which im not allowed to know about... his mum accidently goes to me "oh let Rory know his bike is sold" and im like"oh i didnt know he was selling it" and she was like "ohmigod umm please dont mention that you know then" and im lik"ok" and she was like "i forgot it was your 21st coming up i think there might be a surprise in store" i just laughed it off but now i am getting nervy as there are all these little things that are making me suspect that there may be a proposal on the cards.... im actually really scared hahaha i dont know why i would love to marry him and i know it would be quite a long engagement as we are both wanting to do other stuff before marriage like raise this bubby, buy a house and buy new cars and go on a holiday. Im not scared as such as he may not even do it but its a little bit scary :laughing:. I think im just hoping that if he does do it its not just because we are having a baby together and its classed as the next step i hope he is doing it coz he really does want to spend forever with me... i dunno sorry im just gonna keep talking hahaha :ecomcity:.
Bel - See you arent gonna be last 21st is not long!!!
Im not fussed if i am last.... going to go down the hall way to see corie if she is there as our hospitals join.. funny that i had no idea that she was the same person i speak to on our other page...
As for the proposal how exciting.. you will say yes wont you... and why not just a quick marriage ceremony before bubba?? or just after then do the big thing in a few years..
My DH didnt want a baby until we had done every thing like you said but no baby until it was all done...
Look what my aunty bought me in hong kong..
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n56/bel1978/Kodak235.jpg
Oh forgot to add, DH and i i went out on saturday to Star City for dinner and then the Imax for our Ann and his bday its the second time ever sienna has been watched.. although i sat at dinner and said Sienna would like this food.... We missed her that much that we picked up breakfast and took it over there 1st thing in the morning..
Cant belive from this
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n56/bel1978/DSC08492.jpg
To this in 11 months
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n56/bel1978/Kodak002.jpg
rynosmum
16-04-2008, 04:54 PM
my hips are killing me I'm the same, I've actually been sleeping on the couch for about 4 weeks now so I don't keep annoying hubby with my moving and groaning when it hurts:o My acupuncturist is trying to treat it at the moment with some needles in my ear but now they just hurt too...lol
OMG - I was there again today as well!!
Funny! My appt was at 9 and can you believe I arrived but left my purse at home? Luckily DH came up from a meeting and was my 'money man' although Vicky offered to lend me some money for the carpark (isn't that nice?).
Bugger about the Strep result. What will he do about it now? I'm wondering if David did your test the same way as he did mine. It was a fairly humiliating 'manouvere' but quite effective. Was it the same for you?:o
That's a bugger about your FDC but I guess you can't really be responsible for what the others have done. I'm going to keep Ry in 3 days (but obviously will be more flexible for pickup and dropoff times) but only because he's in 'pre-prep' and learning so much. The other 2 days, my MIL normally looks after him at our place (we pay her though:rolleyes:). I have told her that we won't need her on those days anymore as they will be days that DS, bubs and I do things together but she seems to be completely ignoring me and still referring to the 2 days per week. I can't actually afford to pay her (it's the equivalent of high child care fees) whilst I'm on maternity leave but she doesn't seem to understand....
...but I thought I'd let you know about my mini drama.
Oh Mel, I can't imagine how nervous you must have been. Thank goodness it is a UTI and nothing else. This bubba's a keeper though, you know that, right?:hugs: How scary though.
rynosmum - I can sympathise with you about the builders - I hope you have better luck than I have with getting all the work done on time.
Thanks Cindye, I'm not holding out too much hope though. What a pain about your ensuite!! We're nesting - don't people understand that?:laughing:
Good to hear that you had a great weekend - it's a pity we couldn't have organised a meet whilst you were here.
Well, I was feeling quite good about myself today although my lovely neighbour just dropped around to see how I was doing and said 'Wow - your face is so puffy - you were looking great last week':( Sometimes people don't need to be completely honest....
TheEmpress
16-04-2008, 05:26 PM
Ametrine- You using the red seal brand of RLT right? I'm hoping I can grab some tomorrow. I was hoping it was going to taste like berries, but from your other thread I guess not. I'm pretty sure this bub is engaged or well on her way too, I feel so heavy down there and lifting my legs hurts.
Yeah ! Thats the one , red seal !
I really like it but I drink tea normally anyway - It doesn't taste like berries at all, I was expecting It would & so glad It doesn't other wise I wouldn't be able to drink it !:)I have to go out and buy more over the weekend as I've nearly run out already !!:laughing:
Bel - Sienna is just gorgeous! Loved that t-shirt too that you got as a gift from Hong Kong.
Emsmum - That's a bit of a worry with the pink discharge, glad to hear you got on top of it quickly so it doesn't turn into a bad infection.
Marzie - Sorry you are in so much pain. :hugs:
Meegz - That's so exciting that it's your 21st soon and that your DP may have a surprise for you, can't wait to hear what it is! :)
Rynosmum - I hope the builder does a great job so you can get stuck into everything else. Must be such a relief to now be able to not have to go to work.
Hope everyone else is going well :) Same old same old here.
PrincessJasmine
16-04-2008, 06:22 PM
OMG my back and stomach muscles are killing me tonight, does this mean bubs is posterior? I'm feeling kicks on the inside though...
Just got back from a market research survey, $40 for filling out a survey that took half an hour. So now I've got some spending money for the meet up on Friday!
mirandaj
16-04-2008, 07:23 PM
I have nothing new to report again today. I have spent the last couple of days doing my 2006 tax return that I never did. Yuk.
HazyDazeinMay: Welcome!
Sorry that this is happening but we had a rental property we sold it just before we had sienna.. with all the interest rate rises we pay hundreds etc per month now on the current house
I second that. Not to whinge but my interest rate has gone up 3 times so far this year. My loan payment is $300 more a month than it was in January. It is $1000 more a month than it was a year and a half ago! Everyone is in the same boat with increased housing costs.
Rynosmum: Hope you get your wall soon. I can’t believe your neighbour said that. How horrible of them.
Meegzz: How exciting if he does propose! Let us know what happens. When is your birthday?
PJ & Ametrine: I am using the read seal brand of raspberry leaf tea also. I don’t taste any taste. Lately I have been adding honey to mine to give it a taste. My bub moves when I drink the tea also.
I got two bounty bags, one from the hospital and one from the ultrasound place. Both were different. One had the magazine and the other didn’t. Some of the stuff was the same though (nappy, palmer’s stretch mark cream, sudocream). I think it just depends on when you get the bag and what samples they get form the companies at the time.
EmsMum: That is good that the infection was picked up early. How scary for you though.
CindyE: Thanks for passing on the advice re trying to get the baby to come. I suspected the old wives tales would not work but it was worth a shot.
Funny you should say Foxtel has nothing on. The reason I am on here right now is because I was watching TV. I have foxtel and there was still nothing on worth watching, and I have most channels. I have everything except the sport and kids channels.
Why are you booked in for an induction? Is it because your bub is big? I am confused, sorry I might have missed something you said earlier.
EmsMum72
16-04-2008, 07:59 PM
Thanks for everyone's kind words about my stupid, naughty UTI. Yep Vee, the discharge was concerning but luckily I haven't had any more all day (still hurts when I wee though :(). RM, I do know that this one's a keeper but still part of me won't stop being apprehensive until it's in my arms, and then it will start all over again with new things to worry about. No wonder I'm getting wrinkles and grey hairs :p
RM, glad to hear that you had a new builder coming. Hopefully you will have the wall finished before you know it so you can start getting everything ready. How did your dinner party go on Saturday night? Is your neighbour one of those people who talks before they think?? My SIL is like that. My face hasn't puffed up yet, touch wood, and I'm sure your face looks just lovely :D! Glad to hear that you're only just 'on call' now and are already feeling more relaxed. Put your feet up lovey, you deserve it. BTW, have we exchanged mobile numbers seeing as we're SMS buddies? I can't remember! :doh:
Lillybelle, hope you enjoyed your tuna mornay. We certainly did!
cindye, I think my nesting bug has gone for awhile, hopefully it comes back next week at some stage when my house is filthy again. I hope you and DH enjoy your day at the movies, make the most of it. Glad to hear that you had fun in Queensland. It's so hard not to buy things for the babies isn't it? I went to Target and got a few things DD needed, and just couldn't resist a little outfit for the baby - even though I swore last week that I wouldn't buy anything else until she/he arrives. Oh well!
meegzz, very exciting - can't wait to hear what 'surprise' your DP has up his sleeve. Very exciting if it is a marriage proposal, but I can see why you'd be not wanting him to propose just because you're having a child together - I'm sure that if he does propose it IS because he wants to spend the rest of his life with you and having a baby together is just an added bonus.
MM, loved the pics. Couldn't quite make out the hands over face one (but I'm hopeless at looking at scans) but the foot one was very cute. Sounds like everything is progressing nicely. :yelclap:
Well, hi to everyone else - PJ, Ametrine, Bel, IM (hope you're coping ok without hubby), Kayla (where you hiding??), cassie, mj, hpb, isaacsmammy, mirandaj, Lillybelle, Hazy, marzie, amandaw, and anyone else I've forgotten.
Have a great night!
Bel1978
16-04-2008, 08:10 PM
Mel the meds are ok for bubba too? glad you caught it in time... did they say what it can be from????
amandaw
16-04-2008, 08:59 PM
Funny! My appt was at 9 and can you believe I arrived but left my purse at home? Bugger about the Strep result. What will he do about it now? I'm wondering if David did your test the same way as he did mine. It was a fairly humiliating 'manouvere' but quite effective. Was it the same for you?:o
That's a bugger about your FDC but I guess you can't really be responsible for what the others have done. I'm going to keep Ry in 3 days (but obviously will be more flexible for pickup and dropoff times) but only because he's in 'pre-prep' and learning so much. The other 2 days, my MIL normally looks after him at our place (we pay her though). I have told her that we won't need her on those days anymore as they will be days that DS, bubs and I do things together but she seems to be completely ignoring me and still referring to the 2 days per week. I can't actually afford to pay her (it's the equivalent of high child care fees) whilst I'm on maternity leave but she doesn't seem to understand....
I had a later one today - 11.20 (figured that would save fighting the peak hour traffic on the way in...and much easier to find parkng later) - figured I obviously hadn't seen you cause there was no other 'whale' in there :laughing: (and I mean that in the nicest possible due in May look type way!!!)
The Strep means that I'll have a canula in my wrist/hand to administer antibiotics into when I'm in labour - won't restrict anything apparently....am wondering though if it'll have time to have any impact - last time I arrived at the hospital at 2.30, waters broke at 3.30 and DD was here at 5.30!!As I said, David is very blase about it all, so guess I just have to trust him! The test is very 'straight foward' when he does it isn't it - they say leave your dignity on the floor when you're pregnant don't they :o :laughing:
I know I can't be responsible for others decisions- but we like our FDCer and am hoping that she'll happily take on the 2 of them part time if I go back to work part time next year...will just sit on it until the last possible moment and hope that she's replaced the other 2 happily by then. We used to pay my Mum last year when DH was doing supply work - She'd volunteered to do 1 day a week, so any day above that (like if he went on a camp...he was only doing supply back at his actual school, so got a few contracts for camps) we'd pay Mum $50 a day - is cheaper to send her to day care as at least we get some rebate :laughing:.
I guess if you stop paying your MIL she might get the picture - or just give her house cleaning suties on those days and you go out...that'd scare me off pretty quickly :laughing:
Ava&Jacksons_Mumma
16-04-2008, 09:43 PM
Hello girls:wave:
I haven't posted in a while but i still read everyday.
PJ- You seem a lot happier lately, did you end up seeing anyone?
Marzie- Lol you sound like me, i wonder if this is what it will feel like when i'm old and my hip joints are no longer flexible.
Emsmum- I'm glad you got the UTI sorted out as soon as you did, i would have freaked out too!.
Well the personals from me are.. My older sister had her little boy on the 3rd of april, he was 8pd 4oz and they named him Harlem! it was so strange holding a newborn again but i'm going to be doing a lot of that soon enough!
I had my U/S to see how the growth of bubba was going. So now at almost 37 weeks the bub is est at weighing 3kgs or 6pd 13oz.. I wonder how much he will weigh by the time i give birth:confused:
I hope everyone's bubs stay put and you all take care of yourselves :goodvibes:
HazyDazeinMay
16-04-2008, 10:01 PM
Hi all, and thanks so much for the warm welcome. I won't start the personals just yet until i get to know you all.....being a late starter it will take me a while to catch up.
I'm Clare, and hoping to for a hazy, lazy month of may and due on the 28th. This is bub #1 for myself and DP. As I am working up to the 16th, I am hoping the arrival is pretty much ontime. Not sure whether a boy or girl at this stage - still guessing. It is frightening to see a few of you with only a couple of weeks to go, just under 6 weeks left for me which seems like forever. But who knows when the little one will decide to arrive:confused:.
Looking at this group I feel so far behind. To date my purchases have amounted to a buggy - that's it:laughing: Think I'd better hit the shops on the weekend and start shopping, you are all putting me to shame. Good to see some advice on a Target sale, I think I will have to get the skakes on, and roll on down there.
Sorry to hear some of you are having a tough time right now, physically and emotionally, hopefully things will get easier? Can't complain too much other than the inability to sleep every so often - hence I am most likely to be online later in the nights. I have no idea of bubs current position, recent visits have indicated bubs to be head down, but getting kicks on all sides I am still convinced it is turning around....is this still possible this late?
Better head to bed and try to get a few hours sleep, the alarm clock will be going off early. I am so jealous of those of you who are now on leave....but just 21 work days to go, so I will survive.
Look forward to getting to know you all a lot better and joining you on the last leg of this epic journey.:thumbsup: I will be in touch soon, hopefully better positioned to add some personals.:fingerscrossed:
Hi HazyDaze :) Gosh you need to go shopping! lo There are plenty of shopaholics in here that can help you out with things! lol
I am feeling rather strange right now, i have a headache, i have just had the runs (TMI sorry) and i feel queasy in my stomach and also have been getting what i reckon are some mild braxton hicks. So yeah, feeling some tightenings and other pains too which are like stabbing pains, it's a little ouchy. Wonder if it's anything to worry about, or if i can just lie down and go to sleep and it goes away. I hope so!
rynosmum
17-04-2008, 12:46 AM
Must be such a relief to now be able to not have to go to work. You know, it really really is. My aches and pains have literally halved today - it's fantastic already!
OMG my back and stomach muscles are killing me tonight, does this mean bubs is posterior? I'm feeling kicks on the inside though...
My DS was posterior and all kicks/punches were definitely to the front. To be honest, whilst I remember contractions being in my back for the most part of the start of labour, I don't remember the labour itself being specifically bad, then again I've had nothing to compare it to until now:laughing:
. I have spent the last couple of days doing my 2006 tax return that I never did. Yuk Oh yuck Miranda, that doesn't sound like a fun job at ALL! How did you motivate yourself to get that done?
. Rynosmum: Hope you get your wall soon. I can’t believe your neighbour said that. How horrible of them. I know she didn't mean to be nasty, it was more of an observation....I guess a little tact wouldn't have gone astray though...:footinmouth:
. Funny you should say Foxtel has nothing on. The reason I am on here right now is because I was watching TV. I have foxtel and there was still nothing on worth watching, and I have most channels. Same here! I am having late pregnancy insomnia and there is literally nothing decent on TV at this hour....ugh
RM, I do know that this one's a keeper but still part of me won't stop being apprehensive until it's in my arms, and then it will start all over again with new things to worry about. No wonder I'm getting wrinkles and grey hairs I know, I'm with you on that - someone told me yesterday that I look so calm. I worry about this baby 100 times per day. I just want him/her to arrive safely.
How did your dinner party go on Saturday night?
It was lovely - although I spent all afternoon preparing for 8 adults and 4 kids and ended up having 4 adults and 2 kids....that's what you get for allowing your hubby to invite his friends - all last minute of course so they couldn't make it. At least we have some yummy food for a couple of days.
I have PMd you my mobile number again but yes, we swapped over email ages and ages ago. I have to admit though that I only put your number in my phone last week....I had been meaning to do it for ages!
figured I obviously hadn't seen you cause there was no other 'whale' in there (and I mean that in the nicest possible due in May look type way!!!) I know what you mean. Hey when's your next appt? Mine's next Tuesday morning. Hey! I've just realised that m baby capsule is being installed next week too - gosh it's all getting a bit real now!
David is very blase about it all, so guess I just have to trust him! The test is very 'straight foward' when he does it isn't it - they say leave your dignity on the floor when you're pregnant don't they Yep, I went home and said to hubby 'It's started! Dignity is officially gone again!:laughing:' Good news that it is just antibiotics on the day. David would stress if he deemed it stress-worthy so if he's happy, it's all good.
You might be right about the housework although for some reason, we pay MIL $70 - it drives me batty although it was an agreement that DH worked out ages ago. I'm sure that he just wants to help his Mum (she is almost 80). She'd probably stay and do the housework though - I akin some of this to slave labour - I just hate the thought of her doing it at her age and all (and it would make me feel so guilty I'd probably do it before she arrived anyway).
So, if you can hold out another couple of weeks - we can have a little celebration party in hospital!
I had my U/S to see how the growth of bubba was going. So now at almost 37 weeks the bub is est at weighing 3kgs or 6pd 13oz.. I wonder how much he will weigh by the time i give birth:confused:
Wow, can they tell actual size from u/s? That's awesome, I didn't realise. I'm not sure that I want to know the size of mine yet though...:o
... but getting kicks on all sides I am still convinced it is turning around....is this still possible this late?
It sure is! Bubs can keep turning quite a bit. I get the OB to show me how bub is positioned at each visit, I can then generally feel the body parts myself and get a better indication of where he/she is at.
Don't worry about your last days at work - the next 21 days will fly! I'm still working but working from home as of yesterday, can you arrange anything like that with your job?
I am feeling rather strange right now...Wonder if it's anything to worry about, or if i can just lie down and go to sleep and it goes away. I hope so! Hey Vee, I wonder how you're feeling now? I've been feeling a bit the same for the past 3 nights - just generally out of sorts. I hope the niggly pains are all gone by morning. We're about the same time along in our pregnancies....just a few more short days until full term!!:hugs:
cassie0011
17-04-2008, 09:22 AM
Good Morning everyone :wave:
hope everyone is well...:yes:
well i had my 36 wk appointment last night and everything is fine, bubs heart rate was 140, fundal height is exact for dates, bubs head is down and 3/5 engaged already, and this is my 2nd child! so everything is good. :yelclap: so bubs is pretty much getting ready to go...
Kayla where are you???
meegzz
17-04-2008, 09:55 AM
Hazydazeinmay - You really need to get shopping haha i dont know how you havent yet!!! I was to excited not to although i wish i hadnt done so much as bubs will be very unisex for the first month or two!
I cant wait to finish work though as i am over it only 11 working days left woohoo i dont know how you are working until the 16th!
Vee - i hope you are feeling better today!!! Maybe bubs will be an april baby hehe i had a system clean out yesterday so it looks like things are progressing slowly for all of us!
Kayla - Where are you?????? You have been very quiet in here lately!!! Are you ok???
Hi Ava and jacksons mum - What is your name??? it takes so long for me to type that :laughing:. only 3 more weeks for you how exciting!!!!
Bel - Sienna is goregeous and i love the tshirt!!!!
If it is a propsal i will say yes of course i love him a lot and couldnt imagine my life without him! I just hope (actually i do know) that its because he wants to not because he feels he has to! But we will see!
My Bday is the 22nd so next Tuesday but he is taking me out this Saturday so hmm we'll see it might be saturday it might be Tuesday you never know!
mirandaj
17-04-2008, 11:12 AM
I don't really have much to say again today. But just wanted to let you all know I am still here & just read all your posts.
V8: Ooh maybe you are in prelabour?? Think you are full term today.
RynosMum: The tax return wasn’t very fun at all. I did it because I knew I would not get it done after the baby is born, and heard that if you have some unresolved business or feelings it can hinder you from going into labour. I thought maybe I would go into labour once I did it (silly I know).
Cassie: That is great news that your bub is on track and head down.
Ava&Jacksons_Mumma
17-04-2008, 11:17 AM
[QUOTE=rynosmum;2567506]Wow, can they tell actual size from u/s? That's awesome, I didn't realise. I'm not sure that I want to know the size of mine yet though...:o
Hi Rynosmum- (lol sorry don't know your name) they say they can estimate the weight by measuring the head circ, but from what i have read on the net about growth scans they don't seem to be very accurate. My bubba is in the 63% for this gestation so "should" be average size.
Even though my dd was 8pd 10 :confused:
Hi meegz-My name is Rachel, i'm guessing yours is meegz? lol i'm very observant! i know only 3 weeks i'm getting scared!
Talk soon everyone :flowerz:
PrincessJasmine
17-04-2008, 11:30 AM
PJ- You seem a lot happier lately, did you end up seeing anyone?
No I didn't end up seeing anyone, I put it down to pregnancy hormones in the end. Its been really hard to stay positive when life just keeps slapping us in the face. DP didn't get paid today, thankfully I did a paid survey last night so we can afford to get nappies at least. DP lost his job, for reasons unknown (thought it may have been the medical he failed, but apparently its because he doesn't meet Linfox's criteria, WTF!!???), we're currently trying to find out why and possibly file an unfair dismissal claim. It really hurts both of us because he loved that job, and was so good at it.
I'm not sleeping very well at night, I was up every hour last night, then was awake from 4:30 to 7:30 this morning. I'm so worried about whats going to happen next week when we have no money left and none coming in. Can't do any grocery shopping today so we're eating left overs. DP is really upset, but thankfully not taking it out on me.
I feel like this baby is never going to arrive, I hate the fact that we now need to rely on the baby grant to keep a roof over our head and the lights on. Things honestly can't get any worse... (knock on wood)
Hey Ladies
Rynosmum - Yeah we are due pretty much the same time, so i am reassured you've been feeling a little funny too. I also think it may have something to do with me taking the homeopathic medicines, but as long as it's prepping my uterus for a nice birth i'll continue with it. I never had braxton hicks with Josh, so this is very different.
Meegz - I knew when DH was going to propose to me too, well i didn't know when but i knew it was imminent, i did some snooping found the ring and said, just bl00dy ask me, i'll say yes! lol Ooops, kinda ruined the romanticness of it, but ahwell! lol I hope your DP surprises you though!
PJ - Far out hun, that is really worrying and then having to pay the midwifes etc with the baby bonus, geez, can your DP at least get some centerlink benefits for the meantime till he gets another job.
Me, yeah the pains last night were a bit stange, nothing totally painful and thankfully they stopped when i went to bed, told my mum though to make sure Dad gets this tap thing so i can fill up my birth pool! I am full term on Saturday i guess if that's 37 weeks being full term?
Where is everyone in here, Kayla, HBP, Lillybelle, Isaacsummy? Hope you are all going well. :)
We haven't had any May mums go into labour yet have we? Some of the April mummies went in Feb, i guess we are lucky we haven't had any major complications or early arrivals, maybe our bubs will all be cooperative and arrive when they are due with little fuss - that would be nice! lol
mirandaj
17-04-2008, 12:29 PM
Yeah I had a bit of a look in their thread a couple of weeks ago. A few of them poped in Feb, one was really early 6 weeks or something?
mirandaj
17-04-2008, 12:30 PM
My ticker is really scary today.
mummajugs
17-04-2008, 01:11 PM
hiiiii everyone!
i have read through the past however many threads and cant remember anything that was said haha!
im hopeless!
i had my first antenatal class at the hospital yesterday, was quite interesting. suprisingly.
after that i came home and had a VERY sore pelvis/pubic bone... it feels as though it is extrememly bruised, to me it seems that bub is head down and headbutting me and causing me this pain. so yeah i dont know what the prob was/is but i can handle it at the moment. i was told by a midwife if it gets any worse to call them back and they will try and see what the come up with.
i went to bed last night at 7.30pm haha. am i a grandma or what? the worst thing was, i didnt wake up today til 9.30am... hahah. although the night before i only got 2-3 hours sleep so it makes up for it!
i hope everyone is well and not in too much discomfort.
tata
rynosmum
17-04-2008, 01:15 PM
2 weeks Miranda!!!:eek: That is scary isn't it? Is it just me or is time just seeming to fly by these last few weeks?
PJ, is there something that we can do to help you out just in the meantime? Do you need some nappies or even just a 'survival pack' of essentials? I'm more than happy to pitch in - we all go through tough times and it's nice when there are some people around you who can help to pick you back up again :hugs: You have had such a run of bad luck lately, it's really not fair.
Rachel, it doesn't sound silly at all. I'm trying to get everything organised too - I think that's a great idea. A tax return would really hang over your head too so it must be nice to get it out of the way.
Fantastic that the pains stopped Vee, at least until you get the tap for your birth pool! :pHow is everything else going? Are you ready or as ready as you hope to be?
Meegzz, if he does it, it's because he wants to. If he has gone out of his way to sell some of his possessions to get some money together, I doubt he's making any decisions only because he feels obliged. Lucky girl - I really hope that he's about to do what we think he is!:hugs:
Well, I've just been out and spoilt myself - new PJs for the hospital and fluffy slippers ;) a going home outfit for bubs, a couple of shirts for DS and a couple for DH. I haven't been shopping in so very long so thought I would get something little for all of us. I hope they like their clothes! There are sales on everywhere! Cotton On had shirts for DS and DH for only $5 each!:smiliedance:
isaacsmammy
17-04-2008, 01:17 PM
Thought I should finally get on and update seeing as it's been sooo long!
Sorry to read that a few of you are having a bit of a tough time of it. Hopefully things will start to look up sometime soon.
I'm not doing too badly, just got some pretty bad rib pain, especially when I'm in bed (typical!) I lie on my right side and it hurts my ribs on the right side so I wake up and turn onto my left side only for it to start hurting on the left side. This seems to be the one thing that's really driving me mad.
I had an appointment at the hospital on Monday (35+4). I went in with a few questions I wanted to ask. But that all went out the window when I had a scan and found that my little Jelly Bean is breech! I wasn't supposed to be back to hospital for a fortnight but I now have to go in on Monday coming to check bub's position and if he/she is still breech I can either try ECV or I'll be booked for a section. Very scary for me as I've already had four kids and never needed a section before:eek:
I think bub is still breech now but :fingerscrossed: that he/she will shift in time. If not then I'm going to try the ECV but tbh I'm not hopeful that it'll work anyway. The doctor said that of all the ECV's they've done in the last three months none of them have worked!
But the fact that this is my fifth baby could work in my favour.
Can't remember who it was that mentioned about the UTI. But I just wanted to suggest cranberry juice. It's menat to be very good at helping to treat and prevent UTI's.
Anyway, Isaac is asleep atm. So I'm off to have a cup of RLT in peace and quiet before he wakes up!
Take care ladies!
rynosmum
17-04-2008, 01:31 PM
IsaacsMammy, that doesn't sound great but he's still go some time to turn on his own.
Tell me, I've always been curious, how do they do ECV - is it external manipulation?:confused:
PrincessJasmine
17-04-2008, 01:40 PM
PJ, is there something that we can do to help you out just in the meantime?
Thanks RM, I think we'll survive (somehow!). Thankfully it was just system stuff up, and he'll get paid tomorrow. What we get will have to last us the next fortnight. Food etc, is covered I'm just stressing about bills and paying my midwife.
Sorry, forgot who mentioned DP getting centrelink payments....unfortunately he can't since he owes them money (its being taken out of his tax this year) he hates the whole process so wont do it until we have no other choice. I've spent most of the day looking and applying for jobs for him.
:fingerscrossed: something will come up next week through the agency, but in the mean time he needs to find FT work.
isaacsmammy- dont worry too much, there is still time for bubs to move into the right position. Try spinningbabies.org they have some good suggestions for optimal foetal positioning.
OMG Miranda- I'd gladly swap tickers with you!! 5weeks 6 days seems like forever.
I was thinking the other day and I have come up with a few "predictions". I'm probably way off, but it will be interesting to see if any of them come true.
MirandaJ could be the first
A couple of us will have our babies on the same day (I think its possilbe Kayla and I will go into labour on the same day)
(I keep changing my mind on this one)
Meegz will have a boy
I'm going to have my baby sometime in the 38th week (I damn well hope so anyway!)
Someone here will have a June baby and be a week over due.
Anyone else got some predictions?
isaacsmammy
17-04-2008, 01:41 PM
IsaacsMammy, that doesn't sound great but he's still go some time to turn on his own.
Tell me, I've always been curious, how do they do ECV - is it external manipulation?:confused:
You have to go into hospital for at least a couple of hours. First of all they monitor baby's heartrate for a while before they do anything. Then you have a drip put in which they use to give you drugs that will help relax your uterus. They'll do another scan to check and see what way baby is lying and then the doctor puts one hand on baby's bum and the other hand on baby's head and manipulates baby into the right position. I think they monitor baby's heartrate all the way through as there's a chance that bub can become pretty distressed and in some case they need to do an emergency section straight away.
Sometimes it's a success and bub stays put, sometimes bub just turns straight back to the position they were originally in! In my case (if I need to have it done) I think there's a good chance that it could be a success as this is my fifth baby.:fingerscrossed:
But then as this is my fifth baby it could also work against me cause bub could just keep turning until I go into labour:confused:
I suppose I'll just have to wait and see what happens on Monday!
Hey All
Miranda, gosh that is scary 2 weeks to go!!! Awesome!!! Someone has to pop soon! lol
Isaacsmummy - bummer about bubs being breech. There is a thing called a tilt you could try doing to turn bubs too, you basically get a piece of board and lie so that your head is facing downwards and your feet body are elevated, otherwise you can probably google a few things to try and turn bubs, you still have time anyways and being your fifth bub you never know what bubs might do before labour! lol
Rynosmum - Funny i guess apart from the tap to fit for the hose, i don't really need anything else. The birth room is set up, i have my homeopathic birth kit ready, hmmm, have nappies and clothes for Cameron, not really anything else that needs doing actually! lol Just waiting patiently! :D Good job for going shopping and spoiling yourself, new jammies are always good, i probably need some too but can't be bothered! lol Will wait till it gets a bit cooler before i get some i think, or maybe i can convince my mummy to buy me some jammies for mothers day! lol She loves having an excuse to buy stuff for us anyways. :)
Mummajugs - You probably needed to catch up on the sleep by the sounds. Sorry to hear about your pelvic pain, thats a bit annoying i would imagine. Ahwell it can only go on for so long now at least there is an end in sight. :)
isaacsmammy
17-04-2008, 01:47 PM
isaacsmammy- dont worry too much, there is still time for bubs to move into the right position. Try spinningbabies.org they have some good suggestions for optimal foetal positioning.
I've had look at spinning babies. What worries me is that bub seems to be flipping and turning all the time:laughing: So I'm just worried that bub makes his/her way head down and then I try inversion or something similar and he/she ends up the wrong way again!
Bel1978
17-04-2008, 01:52 PM
2 weeks wow.. still 6 for me.... although i too feel like bub is trying to escape....
cindye
17-04-2008, 03:17 PM
Yeah - there's definitely "escape" type movements going on in my tummy too! I also get the feeling that my little one is playing with her feet all the time, like she is holding onto her feet and then just lets go and they bounce on the inside of my tummy. There's definitely something funny going on in there!
mummajugs - i know what you mean about feeling like a granny - I went to bed at 8.30pm the other night. I'm finding that every 2nd night is a good night sleep after a really restless one. Napping / sleeping in / early nights do not help me get a good night's sleep - I just have to be completely buggered!
isaacsmammy - hope your little one starts to play nicely and spins around. I've heard that the ECV is not really a pleasant experience. :fingerscrossed: for you!
Bel1978 - Sienna is just too cute for words. I hope that we can organise a Sydney meet after our bubs are born so I get to meet her. And all the new little ones too!
PJ - I'm glad your DP is getting paid tomorrow. Hope he has luck finding a new job.
V8 - sounds like you're very organised! I've still got a few things left on my to-do list. My cousin gave me a baby hammock, but the fabric part was torn, so I"m making a new one, and there's a bit of organising i have to do in our study/ spareroom / nursery before I can set the cot up - but at first bub will be in the bassinet in our room, so that's not urgent. I'm sure that I'm going to end up cleaning out my kitchen cupboards before too long - I suspect the nesting bug is starting to kick in!
rynosmum - good on you for spoiling yourself! All the PJ's I have in my hospital bag are so old and daggy! But I've packed some of my new breastfeeding tops for daytime so hopefully I won't have any visitors see me in my PJ's!
mirandaj - I know how you feel! We're going to have babies before we know it! BTW, my OB has booked me in for an induction on the 8th at my request. She usually induces 1 week past the due date if her patients haven't gone into labour anyway, but I really just want to make sure that bub will be born while my mum is still here - she's visiting from the 4th - 11th. But with bub being a bit bigger than usual for this stage, I'm not really that keen on waiting any longer than necessary! I suspect that she'll need bit of encouragement to give up her comfy little spot in there!
Have a great afternoon girls!
Ciao!
meegzz
17-04-2008, 03:19 PM
Bel - Your my due date buddy!!! Ive got 6 weeks too :D
But didnt you say that your not allowed to go past the 21st?? Thats only 4weeks 5 days!!!!
Im liking being one of the last ones that are due!! But lately everyone reckons i will go early so we will see, i personally think i will go over i reckon bubs will be born on the 2nd June and will be aboy but who knows really its all a guessing game!!! I hope i dont go over but if i do thats only 2-3 days im predicting!
PJ - I reckon you will pop on your due date or maybe 2 days before haha
Kayla - A week late just so that you can be closer to me (i really have no idea)
Ok well my predictions were **** coz i really have no idea at all hahahaha :laughing:.
Hows everyones days been???
My brother got his licence finally :smiliedance: he just called me to tell me and i burst into tears haha im just so happy for him!!!!
isaacsmammy
17-04-2008, 03:23 PM
Cindye I have heard that ECV can be a bit unpleasant. Some women have said it was really painful, some say it was a bit uncomfortable and others say that they were actually ok. I suppose I'll just have to wait and see if I need to have it done. Like you said:fingerscrossed:!!
MaddisonsMummy
17-04-2008, 03:57 PM
fingers crossed isaacsmammy that bub turns for you!
Maddy was breech up until 35 weeks and magically flipped into position herself, im hoping the same happens with your jellybean!
becskids
17-04-2008, 03:59 PM
Have not been on for ages, I guess baby number 4 is taking its toll. Have totally pushed my body to its limit (LOL)
Sorry won't be any personals, but I do hope that everyone is doing well.
Well not long now for any of us to start having our babies Yippie!!!!!!!!!!!:yelclap:
Had a scan about 2 weeks ago, they brought if forward cause i am large for my dates (29 weeks measuring 34) lucky me. All is well with bubs, she said another big Head, bub weighing about 2.5 kgs (that was 2 weeks ago) but the best news of all was that I am able to try a viginal birth at this stage no C section is needed. Now they have told me this I think I might want the C section I so confused. There is talk of an induction early may, so bub will be about 3 weeks early.
Still not organised for this baby, but went to target today and got a few things. Am thinking i might pack a hospital bag, (I think that i might go into labour early)
Had a stressful time on Monday my DS came out with Chicken Pox, I have not had it so I had to have blood tests done to make sure that I had a antibodi against it which i did Needless to say my DS gets another 2 weeks off school (I am going to go insain)
Well, i shall try and watch this more, but cant promise.
All the best if any of us go into labour early.
BEC
EmsMum72
17-04-2008, 04:05 PM
Well I've just put a beef & red wine casserole in the oven, which we'll have with mashed potato & steamed vegies, so if I'm lucky I might get 10 mins to myself to type up some personals before DD harasses me!
You've all been very chatty in here today, great to see.
Mel the meds are ok for bubba too? glad you caught it in time... did they say what it can be from????
Yep, the meds are fine for the baby. They don't cross over the placenta, double checked with the doctor and also checked with the pharmacist! It's just a common pregnancy problem, nothing caused it in particular I don't think, but having GD can increase my chances of getting things like this.
My older sister had her little boy on the 3rd of april, he was 8pd 4oz and they named him Harlem!
I had my U/S to see how the growth of bubba was going. So now at almost 37 weeks the bub is est at weighing 3kgs or 6pd 13oz.. I wonder how much he will weigh by the time i give birth
Congrats to your sister. It is a bit strange holding newborn's isn't it? Better get used to it, although it feels completely natural when you hold your own. Sounds like your baby is a perfect weight, and shouldn't be too big when born.
Think I'd better hit the shops on the weekend and start shopping,
Nice to meet you Claire. Enjoy your shopping. I think I'm pretty much up to date, but already had alot of stuff from DD. Just jump on in, don't be shy and don't feel like you're too far behind because we all just love to chat about anything and everything, and we all have the most important thing in common with each other - the fact that we're all going to be holding our precious bundles in our arms very soon!
RM, thanks for PMing me your mobile. I thought we had exchanged mobiles ages ago but was too lazy to go through my emails and check :D. Glad to hear you went and did some shopping today, so much fun isn't it? I've certainly given the credit card a work out the past few weeks, think some of the baby bonus will be going towards paying that off.
Vee, hope you're feeling better, and anyone else who isn't feeling good. I'm feeling ok today, giney feels better :laughing: but I feel tired, lethargic and huge.
PJ, thanks for the tip on the cranberry juice. Will have to give it a try.
miranda, bl00dy he!!, 2 weeks. YIKES, how exciting & scary at the same time. I have just under 5 weeks now until my c-sect so that's pretty fab.
isaacsmammy, I'm pretty sure my baby is still in breech, but it doesn't really matter for me seeing as I'm having a c-sect anyway. Hopefully he/she turns around before making his/her grand entrance.
In saying that I think my baby is still breech, I noticed when I got out of bed this morning that I feel like I have a water melon between my legs and that something might 'pop' out every time I take a step. Has the baby turned and is the head starting to engage? Who knows, but now I understand why alot of preggie women waddle like penguins, because I'm sure I was looking like one today. I don't think I felt such pressure down there towards the end of my pregnancy with DD.
Well, no doubt I'll be on later tonight. Better go and fold the washing and continue getting dinner ready. My 10 'peace & quiet' is up :rolleyes:
isaacsmammy
17-04-2008, 04:08 PM
MaddisonsMummy I know a few people who've been in the same position. My sister's daughter did the same thing, flipped when my sister was about 38.5 weeks. Hopefully this bubby will do the same. But for the time being I can still feel a head sitting nice and snug under my ribs and I'm now 36 weeks!:laughing:
becskids Sorry to hear your ds has got chicken pox. It must be the time of year or something because there's a lot of it going round, even in the UK!
amandaw
17-04-2008, 05:27 PM
Hey when's your next appt? Mine's next Tuesday morning. Hey! I've just realised that m baby capsule is being installed next week too - gosh it's all getting a bit real now!
I'm sure that he just wants to help his Mum (she is almost 80). She'd probably stay and do the housework though - I akin some of this to slave labour - I just hate the thought of her doing it at her age and all (and it would make me feel so guilty I'd probably do it before she arrived anyway).
So, if you can hold out another couple of weeks - we can have a little celebration party in hospital!
Don't plan on holding out that long!!! My next 2 appointments are both on Wednesdays...hopefully that'll be it (though have reached the medicare so it doesn't hit quite so hard :rolleyes:) I can understand why you don't want to give housework to her (I hated my mum doing while she was here and she's only 53!)
I did it because I knew I would not get it done after the baby is born, and heard that if you have some unresolved business or feelings it can hinder you from going into labour. I thought maybe I would go into labour once I did it (silly I know)
You really are desperate for this to happen aren't you....:laughing: quite happy to let you go first!
But that all went out the window when I had a scan and found that my little Jelly Bean is breech!
:fingerscrossed: for you! DD was breech till 36 weeks, and this one decided at 36 weeks to turn transverse:eek:. Has since popped back around, but I'm worried bout it just spinning in space too!! I know it sounds odd, but shining a torch down low on your belly (s it turns to follow the light) is something that we did both times and both did flip, so maybe some merit in it???
Kayangel
17-04-2008, 05:56 PM
Hey May Mums! Sorry i havent posted in a few days but emotionally i have been very unwell, a few things are starting to get the better of me, i have been panciy, scared, teary, cant stand being alone and have a constant sick feeling in my tummy. Im hoping this will all soon pass and ill be back to myself in no time.
Thank you to those who asked about me :hugs:.
I will do a few personals but not alot sorry im not upto and so far behide.
PJ and cassie- Sorry girls, i wont be able to make the meet 2morrow, my dad has a surpise planned for me. I will meet up with u both after our bubs are born! sorry again.
PJ- We could come on the same day, if u come early :) im hoping my GP wont let me go past a week ova so that will make it around the 27/28th latest.
Meegzz- hehe can u come early? to be closer to me, i really really really dont want to go late. I cant wait to hear how saturday night goes arrr how exciting!
Bel- yep! i knew who corie was. :yes:
Welcome to HazyDazeinMay.
Mel- ur dinner sounds yummy!! u always have nice meals.
PrincessJasmine
17-04-2008, 07:00 PM
Aww, sorry you've been feeling down Kayla :hugs: I can understand if you don't feel like coming.
Cassie- I'll leave it up to you if you still want to meet, if you don't feel like it thats fine. I'm sort of all over the place this week too...let me know. I'll check on here again in the morning.
Kayangel
17-04-2008, 07:16 PM
PJ- Thanks for understanding hun, once again sorry. I promise i will meet up with u both once our bubs are born.... im dying to meet all the Melbourne mums in here.
Cassie and PJ- if the meet goes ahead 2morrow, i hope u both have fun! enjoy yourselfs :hugs:.
mummajugs
17-04-2008, 07:22 PM
just had to share with you all how crappy im feeling tonight.
my tummy is in a muddle... somethings making me feel really sick...
i really want to go to bed, but im not tired cause i slept so much last night and also, DP isnt home yet and hasnt called me... hrmmmmmm i hate the waiting game!
sorry you havnt been feeling well kayla... i hope it all blows over soon. im going through a tough time too emotionally.
if you needa talk, im here. just take care of yourself and that bubba!
:yes:
hope everyone esle is well
Kayangel
17-04-2008, 07:36 PM
Lauren- Thanks for the offer hun, i might just take u up on that! Im sorry to hear u r also going though a tough time grrr pregnancy makes everything a million times worest, i hate feeling this way. I am happy and excited but also so down and out of it aswell, how is it possible to be feeling 2 different ways?
marzie07
17-04-2008, 07:49 PM
hi everyone
i had an ok sleep last night and went and got a belly belt thing last night to and slept with it on and wore it today and it helped soooo much. i have a tri pillow but its annoying to move it when i roll over lol.
Went to my ob today, good and bad news. bubs head is "firmly engaged" the pain is because the pelvis has 3 bones joined together byy ligaments, with the hormones, the ligaments soften and stretch which causes the pain.
I had protein in the urine, swollen hands. feet, blood pressure was a little high and i had a headache for the last 4 days, and gastric pain, so they want me to get more rest as it could be pre eclampsia, midwife was very worried, dr wasnt toooo worried just said i HAVE to take it easier and if i get any worse straight to hospital
30 days to go!!
Lillybelle
17-04-2008, 09:12 PM
Another busy day and I am exhausted :sleeping:. Thankfully I have nothing planned for tomorrow.
I saw my OB yesterday, for all of about 90secs as she had a patient in labour and had to race off to the hospital. Baby is head down and still floating above the pelvis so she is confident that I will make it OK to my caesar in 2.5weeks time :yelclap:. (I really don't want to go early. My sister went 2 weeks over with both hers so I think I will be fine). I did have a few questions that I had written out that I wanted to discuss but I can do that at next weeks visit.
Had another cr*p night sleep last night :(. I am so sick of having to sleep on my sides and my hips ache constantly, then if I go onto my back my belly starts hurting. DH said he will bring the jason recliner into the bedroom for me so that will be good.
Today I spent about 3 hours down at Westfield getting all my last minute things. I feel relieved now that I have everything I need. Just need to start washing all bubs clothes and linens and do the hem on the curtains and that is about it. Of course there are plenty of other jobs around the house I would love to get done but I am still waiting for this nesting bug to arrive :fingerscrossed:.
No plans for tomorrow so hopefully I can sleep in (if I can sleep?) and then I can start the washing and maybe do a bit of cooking. Do you think it is OK to put all the clothes and stuff in the dryer or would it be better to wait for a sunny day? :confused:
Best wishes to all....
mummajugs
17-04-2008, 10:02 PM
kayla- i know exactly how you feel... it is extremely possible to feel more than one emotion. its also hard when you have people telling you 'its going to be ok' and then you look at th reality of it... and all you can think about is how hard its going to be regardless of how much help your getting. everyday i think to myself, 'is this really happening to me' sometimes you just dont want to believe it and other times your so taken away by the whole pregnancy and your child that everything seems perfect. its so hard to juggle all emotions at once. just dont get your head in a knot and know that we are always here alright!
lillybelle- i hear you about the crappy sleeping, although i had a great night last night, its only 1/10 that are any good! its all just soo uncomfortable! glad bubs in the right position. getting so close for you now!!!!
cassie0011
18-04-2008, 07:41 AM
Morning everyone!
Kayla- sorry to hear how u have been feeling, i hope you cheer up soon. its ok if u dont make it today. well all meet after bubs are born, thats perfectly fine by me.
PJ- if u want to meet today its fine by me. we'll have some lunch and have a little wander.
Leishie
18-04-2008, 07:45 AM
My goodness, the May Mummies are such chatterboxes!! I struggle so much with trying to read all the posts.
I am 38 weeks now wooohooo :smiliedance:
My Dr is going on some big fishing expedition leaving next Friday until the 5th of May (I WISH I was joking!!) but at my appointment yesterday bubby is 'well engaged' (down to 2/5) and he is 'quietly confident' I'll go before he leaves for holidays!!! ARGH!!!! :eek:
So, next week I am cutting back to half days at work. I am looking forward to having some extra spare time for nesting LOL.
I am sorry to hear that some of you are having a rough time of it at the moment (I am waaay too hopeless to do personals!)- just think, it is not long until we're all not pregnant anymore and we get to move into the next stage. :hugs:
Have a great day girls- I will try to keep up today I promise!!!!
EmsMum72
18-04-2008, 08:16 AM
Hey May Mums! Sorry i havent posted in a few days but emotionally i have been very unwell, a few things are starting to get the better of me, i have been panciy, scared, teary, cant stand being alone and have a constant sick feeling in my tummy. Im hoping this will all soon pass and ill be back to myself in no time.
I'm so sorry to hear that you're feeling this way Kayla. Becoming a parent is a very daunting experience for people in a happy, loving, committed relationship, let alone doing it by yourself and you're still so young (not having a go at young single mummies :D) so I'm not surprised you're feeling all those emotions that you're feeling, especially knowing that there might be a problem with Jaylen's kidney's when he's born (but I'm sure he'll be fine). I know you will have the support of your family, which is awesome, but I know how much you'd like Jaylen's dad to be involved and I guess this isn't the way you thought everything would turn out.
But, you know what? You seem like such a mature, strong young lady and I have no doubt in my mind that you will be fine. When Jaylen's born it will initially be stressful, you'll be exhausted, your hormones will be all over the place and you may well feel even more overwhelmed, but at least when he's here you can pick him up, watch him sleep and marvel at what you created, and give him cuddles, and when you do that everything won't seem so bad. It will probably even make you stronger and more determined to look after him and be the best mummy you can be.
Take care of yourself, chin up :hugs:
Bel1978
18-04-2008, 08:42 AM
Only on for a min will read all the posts soon..
Kayla i hope it all works out well...
DH is on his way home to take me to the delivery suite... they told me this morning to go in i need to be monitored.. it looks like to me i have a stomach bug but the midwife said that the symptoms may push some one into labour... will keep you posted
rynosmum
18-04-2008, 08:49 AM
Eeeek Bel!! Good Luck!:smiliedance:
You may have the first Magic May Bubba!!!
cassie0011
18-04-2008, 08:49 AM
bel- i hope everything is ok.
PrincessJasmine
18-04-2008, 08:54 AM
just sent you a pm cassie, we can still meet today.
Now to catch up on everyone else....
happybunnypony
18-04-2008, 08:56 AM
heeey may mummas!
long time no post... but i have been lurking when i can!
Gawd i can't believe how busy i am, even more so now that i aren't working! I don't know how i handled working aswell as all these extra things i do!
ANyways, things seem to be going ok for me so far... i have my emotional days, yaknow the ones where you worry if baby is going to be alright when he/she is born? does anyone else get this? I try to stop thinking about it, but it does come up! Especially since bubs still has that eccogenic focus thingy...fingers crossed baby is all good though.
Marzie: ooh deary! Sounds like you need a big rest! that doesn't sound good at all! *HUGS* i hope you start feeling better soon!!!
Lillybelle: yeahh i know what you mean about the terrible nights sleep... i'm sick of sleeping on my sides too, the pain is terrible when i try to switch sides!
Leishie: ooh noo that's not good about your Doc going away!!! typical!! BUT i can't believe you are still working... and you only have a week and a bit to go!!! that's crazytalk!!! what kind of work do you do?
Lauren, awwww that doesn't sound good that you are doing the emotional rollercoaster too! Big Huuugss :hugs:!! I hate it when i haven't heard from my DP for a while too when he's meant to be home, i get all worried, like i'm not already worried about so much at the moment! hehee
Are you spewy sick or maybe it's tense stress feeling in your tummy... you need to relax with some funny movies and chamomile tea maybe?
Kayla :hugs: Big hugs to you lovey! You are doing sooo well.... just from your posts alone you come across as a very strong lady and i wish i had as much balls as you! hahaa I would be a blubbering mess without my DP. I think there is a reason Jaylens dad isn't going to be in the picture, you and Jaylen are destined for bigger better things in the future, there will be someone who will come along and put in as much love into your little family as you do! :hugs:
Mel: YUM that sounds like a yummy dinner you made, i really feel like making that too now!!
BEL: holy moly, i hope your okay? Stomach bug doens't sound good at all!!
We went to target last night and my DP bought up a bunch of things for us.... we got a Cot Matress, Breast Pump, box of Newborn Nappies and some cute outfits (couldn't help it! hehe)
Bel1978
18-04-2008, 08:57 AM
Sienna isnt well either thats why i think its nothing, but the bathroom ep, tightening of the tummy and the pain is enough that they want me in there.
EmsMum72
18-04-2008, 08:57 AM
Good luck Bel .... keep us updated!
Thinking of you :hugs:
PrincessJasmine
18-04-2008, 09:32 AM
Oh Bel, I hope things are ok! Jasmine has had a bit of a stomach bug as well, but it doesn't seem to have effected me. Could you just be a bit backed up?
And Kayla, what Mel said in her last post... couldn't have worded it better. There will be times when you probably want to send Jaylen back (not seriously!) but there will be days when you feel like you need a break. The first few weeks are the most overwhelming, but I suspect you'll get through them fine. I didn't cope so well at first, but having mum and DP there made all the difference. I know you don't have FOB in the picture, and thats probably going to hit you a bit harder once he's here. I can't tell you that things will be ok, but they will get easier. Babies bring so much joy, you tend to forget about all the other little problems in life. Just remember that we're all here for you, when you need to vent, cry, or whatever. Don't be afraid to ask for help and talk about how you are feeling, no one will think any less of you for it :hugs:
OMG, useless rubbish collectors, they left our bin as it had a pizza box sticking out of it. They refuse to colllect it until next fortnight, so I told DP to take it to their office and drop it out the front haha. Its not our fault if the bin was closed when we put it out, someone has tampered with it during the night.
Leishie
18-04-2008, 09:50 AM
Ooooh, goodluck Bel. Hope everything is Ok- better to be safe than sorry!!!
happybunnypony- I have an admin job, so nothing too difficult! I think I would be a little bit bored at home, I am enjoying the time at work getting everything organised (a weird form of nesting perhaps?? haha).
Kayla- you know, I totally forgot how old you are!! You should be proud of the amazing job you are doing!! :hugs:
jacquie8653
18-04-2008, 11:56 AM
Hi all, hope everyone is doing well & everyones bubs are all fine. Not long at all to go now!!!
I had my 36 weeks checkup with the hospital this morning. Got to see bubs on the ultrasound machine. He was sucking his thumb which was soooo cute to see. The doc said that he is obviously very calm because we could see his little tummy going up & down as he was breathing, she said usually you don't see that. So was happy about that, but then she said that he's laying with his spine against mine, so fingers crossed he's going to turn around in the next couple of weeks. She was going to see if she could give me a rough weight of him, but i started feeling hot & woozy from being on my back, so she cut it short.
Was just happy to see that he is doing well & he's healthy.
TheEmpress
18-04-2008, 12:57 PM
Hi everyone ,
Am just getting ready to go away for the weekend - just thought I'd pop my head in & say hi :)
Kayla - Just wanted to give you some hugs :hugs: You are being so strong you should be so proud of yourself !! Yeah at first It may be hard but when you love something so much you'd do anything for them it makes it all worth it - It has happened for a reason and your not given anything you can't handle , Hope you start feeling better soon . :hugs:
Marzie- Hope you start to feel better !
Lillybelle- I know EXACTLY what you mean !
I am so over my hips hurting through the night- It kills ! Switching sides is soooo hard , I can hardly roll over !:laughing:
Happybunnypony- Don't worry , you are not the only one worried about If everything will be ok with bub, I have been fine the whole way through but now getting to the end I'm really worried , really hope everything will be fine & healthy with bub :fingerscrossed: I think It's pretty natural to worry about it ...especially at this stage
Bel- Goodluck with everything !!!
Keep us posted ... wow ! You may be the 1st to have bub :bee:
Jacquie- Glad ur app went well !
Anyway , I'm off to eat pizza ! Yum
Have a good weekend everyone .
EmsMum72
18-04-2008, 01:01 PM
I'll do some personals later but for now I have a couple of questions!
Is anyone else finding it difficult just walking from one room in the house to another. When I say 'difficult' I mean, tiring, like it's such a huge struggle to just get out of a chair and walk about 15 steps? I am SO tired today, my whole body just feels really heavy & lethargic! Getting in to the car is hard work too.
Also, do you have many maternity singlets or button up shirts/singlets etc for feeding, or will you just be pulling your normal singlets/t-shirts up and exposing some lovely 'fat rolls' when feeding? :D I know with DD I just pulled my t-shirt up and had a pillow covering the 'fat rolls'. I've been meaning to buy some from target/kmart or wherever but just haven't bought anything that opens from the front. I have 1 pair of jammies that has buttons down the front, but that's about it.
isaacsmammy
18-04-2008, 01:20 PM
I did intend on typing a decent post but Isaac's just come along with his blanket and decided that he wants to snuggle. So will probably bbl to do a decent post.
Bye for now!
meegzz
18-04-2008, 01:30 PM
Hello
Firstly i would like to do some personals...
Kayla - :hugs: I think that you are underestimating yourself!!! You are going to be fantastic i know how you are feeling with the doubt thing and even though i have a DP i still think it will be tough! One day your son will look up to you and realise how terrific and brave you were being a single mum at 18 would be tough but you have a great support network to help you through the troubles that you will face! You have your family, friends and of course all of us other May mummies... with some exceptions as some may be April and some may be June :p. Hunni i seriously look up to you and believe that you will do a fantastic job at raising your child!!! You are already so caring and motherly that can only double once Jaylen makes his appearance!!!
PJ and Cassie- i hope you are having fun... feeling sad i couldnt come today!!!
Mel - I went shopping yesterday as i had one of the bonds bump feeding singlets and that was it haha so i bought two more i bought some flanny pjs for hospital only 1 pair because i have plenty i mean heaps!!! umm i bought some nice socks, some trackies and another pair of pj pants (just the bottoms though) i still need to get a few more bits and pieces but im basically done for hospital and when i get home yeah!!!!
Ametrine - I am starting to feel pain while sle