View Full Version : Do you/did you let your 10 month old watch tv?
UmmInayah
31-03-2008, 20:49
And if so, for how long?
My DD has really taken to one show that is about 30 mins long. It's great for me cos I can just plonk her in her bouncer and let her watch the show while I quickly vacuum and mop or do some cleaning around the house.
Just wondering if this is okay? I don't really want her to watch too much tv and I hope I am not setting her up for a bad habit?
MummaBear03
31-03-2008, 21:03
Each to their own but personally I didn't even have the tv set up when she was that age. She was over a year old when the tv came in from the garden shed for the olympic games but due to the time difference watching the events live meant staying up all night, and she slept all night so didn't get to see it and it was off through the day. She was over 2 when she actually watched anything on tv, and even then it was a movie together not a tv show. We got into the habit of watching a movie together every tuesday ($1 day at the local video shop :p) and not watching it any other time. She was over 4 when we hooked up Pay TV and that's the first time she's been able to watch actual TV and it's only really on some mornings and most afternoons. It's not on in the mornings when we have something on like work or her swimming lessons. So yeah I wouldn't but it's up to you and your family set up.
lochiebearsmum
31-03-2008, 21:03
hi
my son is 13 months and has never watched tv.... he is not interested and is far to busy outside playning... someone has told me that children shouldnt watch tv in the first 12 months of their lives however i dont think it would really hurt for half an hour a day... it gives you a chance to get things done and bub some visual stimulation!!
At the end of the day if your baby is happy then thats all that matters!
punkbaby
31-03-2008, 21:06
ds was the only one really interested in tv, even now they dont really watch it and when they do its pretty limited.
Mind you though if it gives you half hour peace then i dont see anything wrong with it, if she is happy to sit there i dont really think 30 minutes is a huge thing, as long as shes not sitting under it really close, if that makes sense.
UmmInayah
31-03-2008, 21:08
Yeah, I thought 30 mins isn't too bad because it's not like she is sitting infront of it all the time and she's not right near it either :). It gives me a much needed break as most of the time even when I am doing housework she is at my legs wanting to be picked up, or constantly in my arms. (My right arm today is absolutely caning!! SIL has my ergo :()
Mummy2R&K
31-03-2008, 21:13
DS is 8mo and doesn't 'watch it' so much - but he laughs at Deigo, and likes this show on foxtel that is a cartoon, but has photos of babies heads on the body. He thinks it's real children.......oh and there is this cute bunny ring tone add, no matter what he's doing he'll turn to look at it. He loves to look at Bear in the Big Blue House occasionally as well.
When he was really sick last week - all he wanted to do was lay on the couch and look at the TV - so I let him. He was resting and that's all that matters.
I was told the opposite by my nurse, to let babies look at the TV as the different colours and movements fascinate them and are good for their eye development.
1/2 a day is nothing.
However, when they do get older, alot of kids programs like Dora, Deigo, Micky Mouse on Playhouse etc, are actually educational.
4babycinos
31-03-2008, 21:15
I really dont see the harm in half an hour of T.V, as long as you dont have her in front of it all day long. My first 2 enjoyed the occassional half an hour-hour watching the kiddie shows on ABC and they are fine - no long term habits, and dd2 who is 9mths enjoys watching playschool :thumbsup:
~Temet Nosce~
31-03-2008, 21:17
My dd watches tv, probably more than half an hour a day too. Well. .she watches the colours and listens to the music and funny voices lol. I have a few baby einstein dvds which she gets REALLY excited about too. Shapes and colours and made for certian age ranges..
in my opinion, as long as they get plenty of other things to do too, and get to go outside when older and run around and play, who cares if they watch a bit of tv.
Just watch what they are watching, always make sure its appropriate. I only ever have the tv on abc or abc 2 or one of her dvds when shes watching it.
Sure did DD was in hospital at ten months olf and she had a TV above her cot it was on all day every day we watched Dora and thomas and all that sort of stuff over and over she was to sick to play and there is only so much reading she could handle she got sick of it quick was happier to cudle and watch her Toons, when we got home she also watched it.
at 2 she stil has her shows she likes dora and thomas and new fav Toy story but her physio, and speech work takes priority overt TV all the time as does physical play etc but she fatigues eaily so is alowed to watch TV we sit together and watch and talk about the picures
forbetoel
01-04-2008, 00:01
Yes I did. I see nothing at all wrong with it.
my kids watch tv. dd is nearly 9 months and likes to watch cartoons. only keeps her entertained for about 5 mins though. and my ds watches probably a bit to much telly. but he gets up at 5.30am and watches cartoons for bout an hour while i nap on the couch before the baby gets up. then in the afternoon he has another hour of tv as "quiet time" while dd naps. gives me some time to myself
01-04-2008, 00:47
Yep I did. I believe there is nothing wrong with it :no:
I don't really have it on much at all. I understand that the background noise can prevent them from hearing other things, like your voice. I'd rather foster a love for books and talk.
But a bit of tv is fine. DS and I watch bold and the beautiful together some days for a laugh. He thinks Brooke is funny.
Nope not for us but I don't think there is anything wrong with 1/2 hour a day. I just prefer to not do it. No tv at all under 12 months here. Our tv is in the bedroom so my almost 2 and a half year old only watches playschool about 2 or 3 times a week and that's it.
boy wrangler
01-04-2008, 07:23
My DS loves Postman Pat, he comes running every time he hears the music. But as soon as the music stops he finds something else to do, and comes back for the song at the end! He's the same with Playschool too. If the presenters are singing he'll watch and bop along, otherwise it doesn't interest him!
I think the longest he's watched the tele for is about 5 minutes. But he is a very active and non-stop 10 month old who doesn't like to sit still.
I think half an hour is ok though.
mumx3littlies
01-04-2008, 07:23
Yes I did. I see nothing at all wrong with it.
:iagree:
Sheer Bliss
01-04-2008, 07:39
Dora the Explorer was how i was able to have a shower in peace (and not worry about DS) when he was first born!! DD was 2 and i'd sit her infront of it, knowing she'd be there when i got back. DS was in our room in the cradle, so if she came looking for me (in the ensuite) i knew she was there & had no worries about her pulling DS out of the cot or throwing things on his head!! LOL.
DS is 11months & watches a bit of TV now. It's on for DD, and sometimes the pretty colours catch his attention, and he stops to look at it. He won't sit still for long now, so it's usually only 5mins here or there, i don't see the problem with it. Mostly he stops when the songs are on & dances away. They also have a CD player in the toy room, which they think is much better than the TV. I can have Dora on for DD, and DS will crawl to the toy room & dance on his own.
TBH. i think the whole TV thing has got a little out of control. I think pretty much everyone would agree that sitting a child of ANY age infront of the TV for all their waking hours is NOT a good thing. But IMO a little bit is fine. We also go outside a lot, walk to the park, read, play with puzzles & other toys. If the TV is on & i go outside to hang the washing, DD comes running out, hat & shoes on, and DS crawls so fast to the door, and has a screaming fit if we shut him in. They have access to the TV heaps, but they also have a variety of other activities.
emme0020
01-04-2008, 07:49
My son is in love with the wiggles. If he is inconsolable he stops as soon as he hears "big red boat". I dont see a problem with it, he is 10 1/2 months old. When he is older i will be only letting him watch at certain times of the week, such as early mornings because hopefully he will want to play outside for the rest of the day, and we will be encouraging sports etc. But at the moment i think he is fine watching the wiggles here and there, and if it helps us busy mums get the chores done etc then so be it. I agree totally with charlis_mum, as long as they have a range of other things to do it fine, and anyway most kids find that compared to all the other activities tv is pretty boring.
TeamAwesome
01-04-2008, 08:24
My little boy was so active at that age he just wouldn't sit still all day long would be going here there and every where, so for 30 mins in the afternoon I'd get to sit down and relax (I was a few months pregnant) knowing he wasn't going to disapear on me while watching HI 5.
30 mins really isn't that long in their day and if it means OP gets to do something constructive then why not?
Lipsmacker01
01-04-2008, 08:39
Sarahs 11 months and has only just taken interest in the telly. She seems to like Thomas and friends a lot and that big big world show...anything musical. I dont have bouncers for her no more though sold them all on ebay as shes outgrown them so she just plonks herself wherever she can. We have an lcd mounted really high and she can watch from her high chair as well. She couldnt sit and watch constantly though her attention span isnt that good!
I used to be against them when she was a baby but now that shes a bit bigger she can dance, bop her head to music, point etc. Shes a lot more interactive now. some people think tellys are ideal baby sitters...i still think id limit her watching. Nice day outside so wed rather be out there checking out the birds! and playing in the yard.
pennylane
01-04-2008, 09:02
yup! DD is almost 10 months old and she watches TV :yes: I dont see a problem with it. she watches sesame street and abc kids stuff and kids dvds like happy feet and the little mermaid.
Thats not all we do so I dont see it as an issue for her to watch while im eating my lunch or cleaning or while shes in the high-chair eating breakfast.
we have plenty of out-door play and reading time.
everything in moderation i say!
And if so, for how long?
My DD has really taken to one show that is about 30 mins long. It's great for me cos I can just plonk her in her bouncer and let her watch the show while I quickly vacuum and mop or do some cleaning around the house.
Just wondering if this is okay? I don't really want her to watch too much tv and I hope I am not setting her up for a bad habit?
I don't see a problem with 30 mintues a day at all.. It's not as though, she's watching it for hours on end. And, as you said, it gives you a much needed break, which I think is really important too.
I wish Lily would sit still long enough to watch a little bit of TV sometimes and give me a little break too! :)
squiglet
01-04-2008, 10:06
DD is not interested in tv at all.
I have noticed that when a song comes on that she knows or likes she will bop to it, but still not really watch the set.
So I haven't hat to think about it really.
Jelly Baby
01-04-2008, 10:10
and likes this show on foxtel that is a cartoon, but has photos of babies heads on the body. He thinks it's real children........
:iagree: My little man absolutely loves those babies heads.
Jeclipse
01-04-2008, 10:19
My DS is nearly 7 months and loves watching thomas and other shows on abc in the mornings.
I don't see anything wrong with him watching it as long as its not garbage Tv soapies.
Mummaholic
01-04-2008, 10:19
Yes DS has watched TV from a young age. He does have his shows that he likes more than others. Some he will sit down and watch but most he plays with his toys, runs around and stops and watches for a few mins at a time (usually the bits with singing and dancing).
He sometimes "la la la"s along and dances too.
I don't think it's a problem as long as you also encouarge physical activity.
UmmInayah
01-04-2008, 10:39
I don't see anything wrong with him watching it as long as its not garbage Tv soapies.
:eek: Nothing wrong with soapies! At least they learn about facial expressions, suspense and drama! :D
Jeclipse
01-04-2008, 10:41
:eek: Nothing wrong with soapies! At least they learn about facial expressions, suspense and drama! :D
aha, I love Soapies but I don't want my DS watching them. They really do rott the brain:laughing::p
UmmInayah
01-04-2008, 10:43
aha, I love Soapies but I don't want my DS watching them. They really do rott the brain:laughing::p
:laughing: And I guess you don't want him to think it's okay to marry his sister's brother's cousin's aunt's daughter's niece!
Jeclipse
01-04-2008, 10:45
:laughing: And I guess you don't want him to think it's okay to marry his sister's brother's cousin's aunt's daughter's niece!
:laughing::laughing::laughing:
Exactly my point aha
TheMamma
01-04-2008, 10:48
my DD is just over 10 months and watched some TV. Mainly DVD's in another language though (my husbands native tongue) with songs and stuff. Loves it!
Yep when DS was 6 months old and in hospital we watched spongebob for hours!
He is not really that interested but I do not see the problem with it being on a little.