View Full Version : Prams
KatieLou
31-03-2008, 07:38 AM
I'm very overwhelmed right now with the range of prams available. The number of variables available and the range of prices are astounding! :confused:
I was hoping that anyone with any experience with this could share their knowledge. What are the pros & cons of 3 vs 4 wheels? Are the expensive brands worth the extra money? What brand/s do you have and do you like them? What add ons should I be wary of?
I have absolutely no idea so any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. :D
PinkAngel
31-03-2008, 08:09 AM
Oh honey I was totally overwhelmed as well being a first timer... alot has to do with personal preference also... we wanted a traditional looking 4 wheeler with a bassinet attachment so we were fairly limited on that... I'm not sure if 3 wheels are better than 4 and again it might just be dependant on what you feel most comfortable with...oh and we were also limited as to what could fit in the boot of our car... some prams have wider chassis than the others! LOL so much to think of....
It would be good to here from mums and their experiences....
:goodvibes:
GeorgiaAnne
31-03-2008, 08:12 AM
I have a Phil and Teds and I hate it :thumbsdown: doesn't steer well, seat doesn't recline fully and it is hard to put the seat back up when dd is sat in it which is quite important.
I am going to sell it and get one which has a bassinette and can have a toddler attachment.
I would just recommend to go for something light and easy to get in and out of car or get a stroller as well. I've also got the Mclaren ryder which I love :bee:
We have a Emmalouga (spelling?) 4 wheel, front facing one. Got it with first bub. It's of good quality, so will will used 3rd time round. It's quite bulky though - not as bulky as some.
We have a babylove 3 wheel side by side tandem, which I got on ebay (there's LOTS on ebay!). This was handy when I was trying to get out of the house for a walk when the kids were a big younger. They are 2 and 4 now, and they still fit ok in it.
3 wheelers seem to be easier to steer around/go walking with etc.
The size is the big factor. Some don't fit through doorways or aisles in shops.
How big your car is is a big factor. Whether the wheels are removable is handy too.
How easy is it to fold?
To clean?
To store?
The price?
There are so many factors :)
Good luck :D
I found that baby bjorn carriers are a lot handier than prams when going to the shops etc. :)
PinkAngel
31-03-2008, 08:26 AM
Jel we decided on the Emmalunga Duo Combi yesterday... when DH was wheeling around the store he was speaking to another mum who had the same for her first two and loved it... she bought a Valco for the third as she wanted something a little cheaper and wasn't as happy... i hope we made the right decision... oh well if we hear other wise i guess I can swap the layby....
There are so many to choose from....
AmyLou
31-03-2008, 09:56 AM
I am feeling the pressures of this whole pram thing aswell!!!!
I want probably a three wheeler.. not for any reason in particular really just thought that's what i would get.. We also want one that has a toddler seat attachment as my sisters bub will be 1 when our bub is born so when we go shopping which is quite regularly we can just use one pram, her bub in the front and mine in the pram... There are a few around but i just think of that looks good but what if it's not! The other thing i am looking at with this type of pram is when the seat is upright in the back how close will that bubs face be to the toddler seat... there was one is target which i REALLY liked the look off but we attached the toddler seat and put my niece in the back and it was quite close! I'm was quite disappointed as it looked great and was on like a 50% off sale!
When i find one i like i research is and there is ALWAYS mixed reviews.. i am guessing that no matter which pram i get i will always hate something about it whether it be how i have to put it down etc.. it's just so hard!
EquineMum
31-03-2008, 11:38 AM
I have a big issue with a lot of prams facing away from Mum. Does anyone else feel the same? I wonder if it is very scary and overwhelming for the little one to be pushed through crowds of unfamiliar people/things and not be able to know that Mum/Dad is just above/behind them. DH and I want to get a forward facing pram that faces us, but that seriously limits our choices. Are we overreacting or just trying to do the right thing??:rolleyes:
Interested in your thoughts,
Kayls
Due Sept 20 with Bub #1
I too am having troubles figuring out which pram to buy. When you talk to sales ppl they seem to try & sell you the most expensive.
I want a 3 wheeler pram (had a 4 wheel pram with DD & got stuck all the time walking, as we live up a fair incline) The sales assistant tried to sell us a Mountain Buggy @ $750... which doesn't cater for a toddlers seat (of course if we need it down the track) We don't really want to spend $900+ which was the next cost of the AB Adventure pram, but need something that will fit through the aisles of a supermarket & can walk up a hill
Any help would be appreciated as the reviews on Prams don't seem to be easy to see
GraceUnhearing
31-03-2008, 12:30 PM
i have a steelcraft strider 4 wheeler. I cant stand 3 wheelers so unstable!
i love it
steers So well easy to push even with one hand. the seat is movable to bub can face you or the world.
im not sure whether or no i will get the bassinette for it, as i was just thinking using the pram and the ergo, or i put a babyhawk mai tai on layby so i might just use that for bub
KatieLou
31-03-2008, 12:30 PM
So CJ, 3 wheelers are better for walking in hilly areas are they?
GeorgiaAnne
31-03-2008, 12:31 PM
Oooh, we're all struggling, maybe just get the one you like the colour of :p
Kayls - You can get ones that the handle can move so that they can face you or face out. Once they get to about 4 months, I think it is good to have a look around at the world jmho of course! The Steelcraft Strider's pretty good for that but it is pretty bulky.
GeorgiaAnne
31-03-2008, 12:33 PM
Oh and just one more thing the Ergo carrier is about 1000 times more comfortable than the Bjorn esp. when they get a bit heavier. I still use mine sometimes with an 18 month old and I had to stop using the Bjorn around 4 months as it put too much strain on my shoulders
mummy22boys
31-03-2008, 12:43 PM
I brought a Steelcraft Unity Pram for my 2nd child, what is great about this is that you can buy the capsule that hooks into the pram. This means that if you are out and about and your baby falls asleep you don't need to disturb it you just unhook the capsule and place it in the car and off you go. Also if you are driving and your baby falls asleep you can get the capsule out and take it inside without disturbing the baby's sleep. The capsule comes with the base to fit into the car. When you place the capsule into the pram, the baby faces you and both the roof of the capsule and the roof of the pram join to give the baby darkness, with a viewing window for Mum.
So CJ, 3 wheelers are better for walking in hilly areas are they?
So the sales ladies say... after explaining the hill we live on & path I need to take to walk to the park, they said it would be best for us as it has the front wheel lock & the tyre on the front is larger just makes it easier to get up.
I'm hoping this is the case, as my 4 wheeler's front wheels always kept moving underneath the grass.
GeorgiaAnne
31-03-2008, 12:49 PM
Mummy 2 2 boys - The unity sounds good. Can you have a toddler attachment when it has the capsule in?
mummy22boys
31-03-2008, 12:55 PM
Mummy 2 2 boys - The unity sounds good. Can you have a toddler attachment when it has the capsule in?
Hi GeorgiaAnne, no the toddler seat wouldn't have anywhere to go because the capsule takes up the entire pram. The only option would be to get one of those steps that the kids stand on at the head of the pram where you push. The unity system was great for me as I had a 4 year old as well. Not sure how it is going to work this time as I have a very active 2 1/2 year old boy who doesn't seem to think he needs to walk beside me and tries to explore on his own. haha Considering buying a 3 wheeler with a toddler seat for when I have both the kids and when Dad or Nan are with us my 2 year old can either walk holding their hand or go in the stroller and the bub can use the unity system.
GeorgiaAnne
31-03-2008, 01:02 PM
Sorry for the q's m22b but which steelcraft pram does the capsule attach to and when it is just in "Pram mode" does it take a toddler seat?
onemummmy
31-03-2008, 01:06 PM
I brought a Steelcraft Unity Pram for my 2nd child, what is great about this is that you can buy the capsule that hooks into the pram. This means that if you are out and about and your baby falls asleep you don't need to disturb it you just unhook the capsule and place it in the car and off you go. Also if you are driving and your baby falls asleep you can get the capsule out and take it inside without disturbing the baby's sleep. The capsule comes with the base to fit into the car. When you place the capsule into the pram, the baby faces you and both the roof of the capsule and the roof of the pram join to give the baby darkness, with a viewing window for Mum.
Im not sue in september but i have 2 come second this system! I love it! I have the new profile pram 2 go with the capsule:thumbsup::thumbsup:
http://www.pramwarehouse.com.au/product.asp?pID=5929&cID=22
GeorgiaAnne, Im not sure what toddler attatchment u wan but i think u can get one of those skateboard thingys 2 go on the back?
onemummmy
31-03-2008, 01:09 PM
Sorry for the q's m22b but which steelcraft pram does the capsule attach to and when it is just in "Pram mode" does it take a toddler seat?
here are the prams it goes with :)
4 wheel-
http://www.britax.com.au/Websites/Business/brproddb.nsf/LUPages/Strollers-Profile%20Layback
http://www.britax.com.au/Websites/Business/brproddb.nsf/LUPages/Strollers-Enigma%20Layback
3 wheel-
http://www.britax.com.au/Websites/Business/brproddb.nsf/LUPages/Strollers-Terrain
http://www.britax.com.au/Websites/Business/brproddb.nsf/LUPages/Strollers-Enigma%20Three%20Wheel
http://www.britax.com.au/Websites/Business/brproddb.nsf/LUPages/Strollers-Elite%20Three%20Wheel
hope that helps:thumbsup:
mummy22boys
31-03-2008, 01:12 PM
No worries GeorgiaAnne, you can buy the pram separately and the capsule fits to either the 4 wheeled pram or the 3 wheeled one. I brought them together and it was called a "unity system" so I'm not sure of the correct brand of steelcraft prams such as the model etc. But yeah you can definately just use the pram without a capsule, it comes with the boot cover etc but I'm not sure if a toddler seat would attach to it - I've never seen one the same with a toddler seat - quite possible though. Not sure if you check into unity systems on the internet if it might give you more info about the toddler seat and whether one was ever made for it. I just like this pram because you never need to wake your sleeping baby to get it in and out of the car.
mummy22boys
31-03-2008, 01:14 PM
here are the prams it goes with :)
4 wheel-
http://www.britax.com.au/Websites/Business/brproddb.nsf/LUPages/Strollers-Profile%20Layback
http://www.britax.com.au/Websites/Business/brproddb.nsf/LUPages/Strollers-Enigma%20Layback
3 wheel-
http://www.britax.com.au/Websites/Business/brproddb.nsf/LUPages/Strollers-Terrain
http://www.britax.com.au/Websites/Business/brproddb.nsf/LUPages/Strollers-Enigma%20Three%20Wheel
http://www.britax.com.au/Websites/Business/brproddb.nsf/LUPages/Strollers-Elite%20Three%20Wheel
hope that helps:thumbsup:
Thanks Onemummy, you have done all the hard work, excellent.
onemummmy
31-03-2008, 01:15 PM
hehe ur welcome :)
GraceUnhearing
31-03-2008, 01:34 PM
Oh and just one more thing the Ergo carrier is about 1000 times more comfortable than the Bjorn esp. when they get a bit heavier. I still use mine sometimes with an 18 month old and I had to stop using the Bjorn around 4 months as it put too much strain on my shoulders
thats for sure!
DONT WASTE MONEY ON A BJORN!!!
i go the one with back support sand it killed my vback and shoulders!
horrid thing a huge waste of money. Thankfully i sold it on ebay for the same amount i bough my ergo for!
:yelclap: yay for baby wearing! i am getting the strider 4 with bassinette attachment. i have it on layby but i am STILL waiting for them to get it in! and planning to buy a wrap stye carrier, still looking into that, price style etc.
just my opinion but i hate 3 wheelers as i had one with DS and it tipped while he was in it, lucky he was straped in but he still hit his head on the floor. really scary, never used it again.
GeorgiaAnne
31-03-2008, 08:53 PM
:yelclap::yelclap: Thanks so much for those links etc I reckon i'll get one of them now!!
loz10
01-04-2008, 11:58 AM
I have too scared to come in here and post, prams are such a touchy subject around my place, I have 4. But mostly I love my Maclaren stroller, nice and tall so no bending for mum/dad to push and even my 3 1/2 yo can easily sleep in it, a lovely deep stroller but really light and easy to steer, a bit pricey (around $250++++) but worth it.
My 1st pram was a Peg Perego, it is broken now, it was reversible and had lots of extra's like eating tray and snap up basket (more room for your feet). I paid $500 and simply got past all the bulkiness of prams and opted for a stroller, which only works when I have one child with me. My stroller also accommodates a newborn, it had a newborn kit with it plus the leg rests come up with these little slide bars.
Seriously, there is so much on the market u will never be 100% satisfied, I still find faults in all of them.
I also have a Babylove Tandem, a bit heavy and very sturdy but comfy for both boys at any age/combo, I will use this again with newborn in back, 2yo in front and 4yo walking :doh:.
missmilliesmum
02-04-2008, 02:35 AM
I just bought a Valco - 3 wheeler, with the bassinet attachment. It is fab! So easy to steer! I love that I can have the bassinet for the first few months facing me and then change to the regular pram seat which has adjustable height. My SIL has one, and I have walked her kids in it several times and thought it was just great. It also has a toddler seat attatchment which was important for me for down the track. Also easy to manage with a dog aswell! We have a very active Border Collie, so this was important too!
Sarah xo
sarahhollands, thanks for sharing that I was wondering about that brand & have seen a nice one but wasn't sure.
Looks like I have found my choice
KatieLou
02-04-2008, 10:00 AM
Yes Sarah, that one sounds good. Have you pushed your SIL's one up a hill, there was suggestion earlier in the thread that 3 wheelers are harder to push up hills?
Does anyone have a Bugaboo or whatever they are called. They are soooo much more expensive, I'm wondering if they can possibly be worth the extra?
GeorgiaAnne
02-04-2008, 10:05 AM
re: Bugaboo - they just look nice, that's about it! It has no features that you couldn't get on one a third of the price.
PinkAngel
02-04-2008, 10:10 AM
LOL these maybe a couple of weird points but I liked them about my Emmalunga... apart from about 100 features i won't use... i like the fact that it has closeable air vents on the bottom of the bassinette for those cold days and then you can open them for the warmer days (ok maybe i just get excited but odd things LOL - sounds lame now I have typed it out)... oh and the bassinette itself can be a rocker... you can place it either in the stand as a cradle or on the floor and it has little legs which enables it to be a rocker...
Ok I admit simple things amuse simple minds... that's me... simple :ecomcity:
Pinl i hope you have a big car because as far as i know all the Emmalunga are huge! I was chatting to a lady at the baby expo a few years back that had a medium size car but she wanted the pram so much they brought a 4WD so the pram would fit!
3KIDSMUM
02-04-2008, 10:51 AM
I have no idea what im going to get! :confused: Anyone know what age the toddler seats can hold up to? I want one that can carry my very active almost 3 year old as well!
PinkAngel
02-04-2008, 11:07 AM
LOL Mixy the lady buying a car to fit around a pram ... actually we only have a hatchback and had liked the pram and thought there is NO chance that's getting in there... but luckily it did... the Duo Combi has a less wide chassis than the other sportier looking Emmas... I mean I won't fit in there and nor will DH or the baby but it fits fine...LOL just kidding... we definitely made sure it fit before we laybyed it.
KatieLou
02-04-2008, 12:01 PM
re: Bugaboo - they just look nice, that's about it! It has no features that you couldn't get on one a third of the price.
They do look nice though :) Thanks for that Georgia, I probably would have tried to talk myself into them being far superior just because I like the red one!
GeorgiaAnne
02-04-2008, 12:09 PM
The Strider's pretty similar looking i think KatieLou, maybe one to check out? I think it comes in red as well.
LucyB
02-04-2008, 12:13 PM
The Strider does look a lot like the Bugaboo and does come in red - I saw one the other day and went for a closer look as I thought it was a bugaboo so wanted to see it up close!
Didn't get to play around with it though as there was a baby in it and I didn't think the mother would be so keen on me doing so...:D
KatieLou
02-04-2008, 12:23 PM
Thanks Georgia, I think I have seen them, I'll make sure I look closely next time. I remember that the chassis looked really wide though, does anyone have a strider and can comment?
How silly to like something just for the colour, but I do it all the time. It's a running joke in my family - I like anything that's red.
Lucy - lol, no I don't think the mother would have been too impressed!
missmilliesmum
04-04-2008, 01:10 AM
Katielou - I have pushed my SIL's Valco up a hill and it was fine. It has three levels of steering lock, which can be changed depending on where you are and what you are doing. I am still a big fan. It is easy to collapse and it isn't too heavy (12kgs, but there is also a 10kgs lighter version) or too big! As you can tell, I love it!
KatieLou
04-04-2008, 06:51 AM
Thanks Sarah, sounds good, I'll have to check it out.
KatieLou this is the web site for the striders (3&4) click 'click here' on the page and it will take you to picture etc, also it shows the sea spray nad not the pebble colour but it has the red on, also look at 'realated products' and it has the foot muff and bassinette
http://www.britax.com.au/Websites/Business/brproddb.nsf/LUPages/Strollers-Strider%204
i found this the best place to have agood look before i played with it, if that makes sense
KatieLou
04-04-2008, 08:42 AM
Thanks Mixy, that's great. :)
AmyLou
04-04-2008, 09:02 AM
Well i think i have decided on a Beema Q Swallow... $399 from Babyco... on a bit of a special... looks great, the wheels aren't wide at all at the back which is great!
04-04-2008, 09:38 AM
We have been through quite a few prams. They didn't last very long! Each baby has had 2/3 prams. So when I had my last baby I didn't buy a pram cos I wasn't impressed with any that I saw. But was forced to get one when he was a few weeks old.
I got a 3 wheeler which wasn't stable. I hated it.
I then got a Peg Perego Pliko on sale and its great. It also has a toddler stand on the back. I will use it for next bub and hope to get a bassinette for it.
I think its worth getting a quality pram. I don't drive so its so important.
I also have an Ergo which is good when a pram isn't helpful (such as when I pick up the kids at school where they have stairs)
KatieLou
28-04-2008, 02:39 PM
Well i think i have decided on a Beema Q Swallow... $399 from Babyco... on a bit of a special... looks great, the wheels aren't wide at all at the back which is great!
We discovered this one on the weekend too Amylou, seems to be a good compromise on all of the features (not the best at any of them but it doesn't seem to have as many negatives as many of the others). I think it's the one we have decided on as well.
Does anyone have this brand or know anything else about it?
GeorgiaAnne
28-04-2008, 02:51 PM
I had one to start with and it is nice to push and the bassinette is a good size (we used it for 5-6 months) Like all these bigger ones though, it does take up a lot of room in the car.
My only negative was the the straps used to "bite" but maybe that was just me!
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.