View Full Version : how to get rid of 5-8 kgs????
so does anyone have any advice or story of how to lose between 5- 8kgs, or how did u do it??
any diets u would recommend?? but not interested in any meal replacement drink diets.
need to get motivated!!! anyone want to join me on this mission????
I had almost 8 to lose still after my pregnancy - DS is now 10 month old :o. No matter how hard I tried, I couldn't get it off on my own. I kept losing and putting on the same 2 kgs.
I joined weight watchers last week and am already 2 kgs (I think) into the loss. :fingerscrossed: it stays off and keeps falling.
Good Luck.
nsmonkey
28-03-2008, 15:29
Okay, I will join you.
I am looking at losing anywhere between 5-8kgs before my 21st and thats in June.
Mostly need to do some toning on my tummy, butt needs to lose its excess weight as with my thighs.
I am currently 60.5kgs.
I hope I can join you?
Hollywood
28-03-2008, 15:39
I can join you! I am 177cm tall (5'9'') and weigh 70kg, and think that I look best at about 65kg, and most of the weight needs to just come off my thighs and butt. It's such a small amount, and most people think I look just fine, but I really feel happiest a little bit skinnier than I am now.
Mamalicious
28-03-2008, 15:44
I'm in!
I'm 165 cm tall and weigh 69 kilos, I want to be between 62 and 64 though. :yes:
I'm buying some gym shoes this week, for me exercise and eating less chocloate helps, although I have befriended a girl up the road who always brings me candy! :crying:
I've also really started watching my portion sizes, hopefully this works for me. And drinking fruit or hernal tea helps, plus 2L of water a day.
Mamalicious
28-03-2008, 15:45
I can join you! I am 177cm tall (5'9'') and weigh 70kg, and think that I look best at about 65kg, and most of the weight needs to just come off my thighs and butt. It's such a small amount, and most people think I look just fine, but I really feel happiest a little bit skinnier than I am now.
Same here, DH calls me his 'skinny girl' now :laughing: but still!
thanks for the replies everyone!
i know what you mean, because it isnt really that much weight that we want to lose people are like, "u look fine" but i know i am really starting to look "fat". i almost lost all my pregnancy weight, had about 3 kgs to go and then BANG i put on 5 kgs, and am now stuck at 65kgs!!
ideally id love to be down to 53kgs, but i know how hard it is to stay at that weight, pretty much cant eat, so id be happy to be 60kgs, but more happy at 57kgs.
anyway im 165cm tall and 65kgs.
so my plan so far;
dinner from now on will be on a bread and butter size plate (and not loaded up :laughing:)
drink 2 ltrs water a day (have been slack with that lately)
exercise..... getting back to walking atleast 4 times a week, and aqua aerobics occasionally
Im not going to go on a huge diet, coz i never stick with it, although am thinking of making up a huge pot of vegie soup (AKA SOUP DIET) but i also put chicken in it!
anyone else have any ideas/ tips or plans???
yeah I'll join the group. Must keep each other motivated!
I'm 165ish cms, 63 kgs but I would like to be 57-58kgs with a lot more toning of the legs and tummy.
:smiliedance:<--- little exercise man - each day I will aim to have *that* much energy:p
I'm not overweight (168cm, 60kg), but I occasionally find the kgs creeping up higher than I'd like (I'd like to be 55kg). Whenever I need to lose the odd 5kg, I go on a low-carb diet. It really works for me. I just eat meals of mostly meat with veges (mostly greens) and soup is good too. Its a bit boring (considering I love pasta, rice and wine), but I usually lose about 1kg a week with pretty little effort. Its not a diet I'd recommend long-term, but its great to just get down a quick 5kgs or so.
I have some friends who swear by this (I haven't had great results yet).
No sugar, not in tea, no biscuits, no chocolate, no ice cream ect -- NO SUGAR -- only two serves of fruit per day is allowed and only eat wholemeal bread/pasta and brown rice (also all your veges and meats).
DP and myself have been doing this for 4 months (easter was a disaster). DP has lost 4kg and I have lost 2kg. Not great results but its a start. (I still have sweetened yogurt)
I saw a dietician and he taught me a few things.
Cut out cheese, switch to muligrain breads, low fat marg or spreads. Low fat/Low sugar yoghurts (Yoplait have one on the market)
Diet coridals/softdrinks or water only. Tea and Coffee is OK, just make sure you watch the milk and sugar in it.
Low fat milks, NO fruit juice as it's 100% sugar/fructose.
Walk 30 mins 5 days a week :)
I dropped 15kgs in 15 weeks :)
WOW, theres heaps of us wanting to do the same thing!! we will have to keep each other motivated!! make sure you share ur tips and secrets and we'll keep updated on our efforts!!!
good luck everyone!!:thumbsup:
BTW I had my dinner on the small bread & butter plate tonight, and drank a 600ml bottle water along with it..... if the rain keeps away tomorrow morning im off for my walk and/or my workout DVD.
:sunshine:
I am joining this group for sure!!!! I would love to lose 10 kgs. I just want to feel better about myself and get back to normal! I have just started this week. My aim is to ride my ex. bike for 30 min a day and go for a walk with bub at least every second day. and boo hoo cut out chocolate. ( it has been two day so far ) I tried dropping my carbs like i used to - but i just get soooo hungry. so i think i will just up the activity. I am going to weigh myself each Friday morning- I will look forward to telling you all how much i loose each week on this thread.....
hiya,
count me in please. I have a few stubborn kilos to loose after putting on about 3 kg in 1 month when I was sick last year and couldn't get to workout. Though I do gym 2 times a week and have a trainer, I still can't shed the extra kilos. I am not overweight, but like alot of you, just need to loose those last bit of kilos to be at the "ideal weight" and to feel better about myself and to fit into my favourite jeans/trousers. In 5 weeks of personal training I lost a total of 3.5cm which was great in such a short amount of time, but i was also running 3 times a week in that time.
I am presently around 55-56 kilos and would like to be around 50-52 kilos again, I am 155cm tall.
As for any tips, I say get a pedometer to see how much you really are moving in terms of steps. Home fitness DVD's also good for winter when it is too cold or wet to get moving outside.
well this is a very slow start diet for me, but anyway i have been eating dinner off the bread and butter plate for a few nights now, and i think im getting use to it, still a little hungry later in the night but im sure ill get use to that too, maybe i should try eating dinner a bit later, i normally eat with DD at about 5.30pm, maybe i should hold off an extra hour or so, that could help.
Im off to the shops today to buy stuff for my soup.... am making a slightly different version of the "soup diet" but i am putting some chicken in it. And i am not sticking to the actual "soup diet" rules.... still having normal breakkie, then soup through out the day and something small (on the bread and butter plate) for dinner, along with some more soup no doubt.
as for the exercise.... well that hasnt exactly started yet, but will try for an arvo walk today and perhaps one in the morning.
hows everyone else going???
oh and ive been a little slack on the water too, not quite up to 2ltrs a day, but will try hard for it today!! :ecomcity:
That's a good idea ealing, about the pedometers. We could have a pedometer challenge each week? See who can do the most steps?
Yeah that would be a great competition, I will have to get one. I am in how about we start next Monday and see how much we do over the week?
I have lost 1/2 a kilo in 5 days! I am happy with that start. Still have huge night cravings for chocolate!!!! Good on you pooks with the soup. I am so lazy with the cooking.....
31-03-2008, 13:24
I'm going to join this group too. I'm sitting at 58kg's atm and I would like to get down to 50kgs, before you say omg 50 kgs is nothing blah blah blah wait for my height. I am a whole 147cm's, yes I am TINY, the height of the average 12 yo. :o
I joined the gym on Saturday and plan to do 2 x mums and bubs classes a week and do my gym program one night during the week, Sat and Sun. My eating is getting better. I have cut out chocolate but still can't stop my Friday night Thai green curry, it just taste so good.
Gotta go DD jsut woke up. BBL
Hey Dani!
I did the same as Beth (wyattsmama) and saw a dietician, she recommended it to me actually!
Its a very simple easy diet to follow! And not very hard to stay on track as its more a lifestyle change than a diet.
I got to my goal weight at Xmas but have still been losing weight because the diet fixed my metabolism! So I have been trying to eat more so I dont keep losing weight. LOL!
I do walking and workout DVDs!
PM me if you want any info on this hun! Im happy to tell you what I ate etc
nsmonkey
01-04-2008, 08:45
Well, I started yesterday with running up and down 14 steps. Done that 22 times. I can also carry a 40kgs bag of pig food 72 metres. YAY!
I done a workout this morning. Will go for a walk later on as its such a nice day.
Since a guy asked me yesterday what was my secret for losing weight that has got me motivated know. I have lost 600gms since last thursday, so 4 days.
LETS GO LADIES!!!
heres a new thread so you can leave your name and how much you want to lose etc, keep eachother motivated
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=2510927#post2510927
:hair: Yes! I'm in the same boat!! I am 175cm and 72kgs and want to be at least 65kgs. My dream weight is about 63kgs :yes:.
I find the only thing that works for me is exercise, exercise and more exercise. I generally eat the same foods but just try to limit portions (very hard when you LOVE food like I do :crying:).
I also go through good weight loss times then seem to stay the same weight for a few weeks. Very frustrating! But it is coming off SLOWLY. About 1 kilo a week. Does anyone know how to make it come off faster????
boymommy- sorry i dont know how to make it come off faster, but if u find out can u please let me know~~ :laughing:
anyway went ok today, drank lots of water, i think over 2ltrs, and had two bowls of my soup!!
and i went for a walk with a friend this arvo..... i weighed myself already and i know i have lost almost a kilo, but want to wait till friday for the "official" weigh in!!
anyway hope everone else is going well!!!
proudmama
01-04-2008, 21:07
can i join can i join can i join - i sooo wanna get rid of these stubbon last 3kg or so - I'm about 170com tall and at last check i was 60-61kg but would love to get to about 56-57kg - more so to get rid of this little ridge that hangs over my jeans/trackie pants and pull my butt up.
a friend told me (she owns a gym) that the best and fastest way to lose weight is cardio cardio cardio (running is best - but walking is just as good) - as your heart races your body uses more energy to keep up thus attacking fat deposits
and to tone up to go swimming either laps or aquarobics or even justa few hours playing with the kids in the pool every other day - it's not as excessive as running but the heart rate does go up so it all beneficial
food wise i was told all is good in moderation just think twice before reaching for that cookie/ice cream/milkshake/chocolate etc
my reigme will be an hours walk a day to slowly build up to a run and every wednesday while ds is at daycare go swimming for an hour or so(starting with a low number of laps and slowly build it up)
i sooo excited :smiliedance: i've been looking for the motivation to do this and now i do
looking forward to seeing how everyone is doin - good luck everyone:shakehands:
Lastcenturymum
01-04-2008, 21:16
Yes. I lost 8kgs and it took about 5 months. I ate healthy and no gimmicks (and had Christmas in the middle of it!). I counted calories. I burnt more than I ate, hence I lost weight. It's the healthiest, safest way to loose weight that isn't a diet. Fast weight loss is unhealthy. It took a long time to put it on, it will take time to come off (unfortunately!)
I got a calorie counter book and I kept a log of what I ate, probably did this for the first 2 months, after that I tended to know what I ate.
I didn't eat snacks, takeaway, baked or processed food. I also used a website caloriesperhour to work out how many calories I needed a day based on my age, height, weight.
I also exercised, went to the gym 3 times a week and did some running and cycling, but being older my metabolism is slower, so I had to work harder!
I just remembered what my BIL did when he lost a bit of weight. He started to ONLY buy things with a heart tick on them. He had very bad eating habits before hand and just wanted to put the right things in his body. He lost a few kgs in a short period of time. Because it was normal foods, just heart ticked, he had been able to keep it off for a number of months.
check out www.bodyforlife.com (http://www.bodyforlife.com)
It is the best site ever and he has a book and if you have a look at the transformations you will see why hes so good.
And the best part.........no starvin and u will eat more than u do now
DH and I had our first session with a PT this morning. It was great. I'm not as unfit as I thought I was! We did weights, boxing, step and stretching. She said boxing is great for getting fit, the fitter you are the faster it is to loose weight.
Don't forget to eat before exercising. Just something small and healthy to kick-start your body.
Hi there!
Yes count me in for sure. I am sooo over the flab! I am 175cm and was 60kg before ds 1 and now 11 months after ds2 I am 76~ not happy!!!!
I just find it so hard to plan healthy meals when often I have to do something easy due to work or tiredness or whatever. And exercise is the hard bit. Being a working at home mum its hard to find the time.
and the fact that our Phil and Ted is stuffed does not help. but enough of the excuses - here I am. Wanting to lose 8-10kg. Sheesh I hate to think how long that will take!
please give me an idea of your soup ingredients that would be great!!!
Thanks - look forward to supporting each other!!!!
Hollywood
09-04-2008, 14:44
I haven't been back here for a while, thought I'd touch base. I've managed to lose about 1kg :yelclap: since my first post and it has been pretty easy. I'm not hurrying it in any big way, slow weight loss is always more permanent. Plus, I'm still breastfeeding so I don't want to do anything drastic that might affect my milk supply.
I still walk for exercise, at least 45 minutes daily at a fast pace. I have a gym in our apartment building, but it's just too hard to go there with a 14 month old, and DH gets home too late for me to go when he's at home. So at the mo' walking is the easiest thing to do with the pram.
What I've been doing a bit different is having a protein shake in the afternoon between lunch and dinner. I use whey protein isolate (the brand is Elite) in 'Rich Chocolate' flavour. I put 250ml skim milk in the blender, add the protein powder, half a banana, some icecubes and it tastes really good.
For lunch I have a sandwich most days, with tuna (mixed with fat free mayo), low fat cheese, tomato, lettuce, salt and pepper. If we have left over cooked chicken breast I use that.
Dinner varies, but is always healthy and contains vegies (I find casseroles great, easy to keep hot for DH as he is unpredictable with finishing times at work).
Apart from the number on the scales, I use my clothes as an indicator as to how I'm going. I wear size 11 Levi's and they are getting a little bit looser, so that's encouraging.
I am starting the kick start diet today - had soup for brekkie - weird!!
its going to be interesting - i have never in my life done any kiind of diet before!!!
how is everyone going with this? i off to the gym today to sign up which is exciting. have lost 2.5 kg so far in just under 2 weeks
Hollywood
26-04-2008, 11:03
I've lost 1kg, but I think because I have such a small amount to lose (and it's all on my butt :rolleyes:), it's not going to happen super quick.
Plus, I think that for me, the slower the fat loss, the more permanent it will be, so I'm happy as long as it steadily does go down. Also, muscle weighs more than fat, so I have to take that into consideration.
:wave:Hellooooo Ladies!! Just a quick thought....................... (and this is just my opinion - please don't jump on me:()
As you guys are all only a few kg over your "ideal" weight, wouldn't it be better to look at it from a different angle? As in - not "woohoo I lost 1kg this week" but - "woohoo I feel more fit, toned etc and nearly fit into that item of clothing that hasn't fit for a while." Sometimes I think we put too much into the whole weight issue. I understand if you are 10kg+ "overweight" but when you are so close, sometimes shifting your focus can help with the last bit. Sometimes you will find that your weight hasn't changed at all, but you have lost a cm or 2 off your waist measurement:thumbsup:
Sometimes it is better to have a goal of "I would like to fit into (insert item + size here)" than to say I would like to be ??kg.
Just a thought!:o As I said it is just my opinion, but it may help for some!:)
Good Luck!!:thumbsup:
Seeing there is no 'need to lose 4kg' thread, I think I am likely to belong here...
I find this super useful, and extremely accurate: a calculator of how many calories you need to consume in order to lose target weight within set time frame.
It works whenyou stick with it, but oh so hard to stick with!
Ladies
:yelclap: Good Work getting motivated and the hard work your doing.
It can be done :thumbsup: I lost 15kg on my own well walking around 1/2hr a day - now at an average of 45mins, I also for the first year used a weight watcher point book (i found at a 2nd hand shop) to roughly calculate and monitor what I ate. I also found it useful to put everything I ate into a diary (to make me face my own music)
I've had the weight off for around 3 years now - of course it fluctuates from time to time (especially around Xmas) but not constantly adding to it iykwim.
Susan Mac
15-05-2008, 18:32
Hmm... I need to lose at least five kilos fast. My clothes are not fitting. I was only a kilo or two over what I wanted to be, but then summer came (when it's still 30 degrees when the sun goes down it's too hot), then christmas (two weeks at in-laws being fed every three minutes), then being pregnant for four months and too tired to doing anything but look after DS, then stopping breastfeeding DS means that I am now 6 or 7 over what I wanted to be.
I need my clothes to fit because we are going to melbourne for a holiday in five weeks and I need my jeans to fit a little better!!!
I do need to exercise more, but DH is riding home from work in the afternoons now, so I can walk every day.
But there isn't a whole lot I can change about my diet. I generally eat well already. My husband lost close to 10kg in the first six or so months we were married!
I'm starting to think I might do the protein shake thing for a couple of weeks just to get enough off that my clothes aren't too tight, and then go from there properly. I'm generally fairly against 'dieting'.