View Full Version : Teething early
Nats1681
26-03-2008, 20:41
My daughter has just hit 12 weeks and has started teething already she is constantly dribbling, gnashing her gums and is very unsettled. I am certain it's teething as she has very red swollen cheeks and her gums are swollen as well.
All information I have read about teething and how to ease the pain is for babies 3 - 6 months.
I bought some Bonjella but it says on the instructions not for use under 4 months, I have a teething ring but she can't hold things properly yet and hasn't got to the stage where she puts anything but her hand in her mouth.
Has anyone's child starting teething early? I would be so greatful for any information :(
Craftymum
26-03-2008, 20:52
My DD started teething fairly early too, probably around 3-4 months, with her first two teeth cutting on the day she turned 6 mths..... It seemed to take forever to come through.
Some things I did were:
- Buy a HappyBaby teething dummy.... she might happily chomp on that, if not, I use to sit next to DD whilst she was in the bouncer and hold it in her mouth and she loved noring on it. When old enough for Bonjella, I use to smear it on the teething dummy too.
- A cold face flannel thats been in the freezer and sit it in her mouth for her to suck on.
- I used the Brauers natural Teething Drops too, it says you can use under 6 mths, but maybe check with your MCHN if 3 mths is a little early as I cant remember... think DD was 4 mths when I started using them.
Goodluck, hopefully your bub breezes through hers.... DD has the top front 4, bottom front 4, 2 top molars, 1 bottom molar and is cutting the other bottom molar now.... and shes only just turned 1! JOY!
Sheer Bliss
26-03-2008, 20:53
DD was the same from about 3months - drooling, really red cheeks, and EVERYTHING in her mouth being chomped on. Her first tooth finally came through at around 14months. lol. I'm not saying that she isn't teething, but heaps of the teething 'symptoms' are also developmental things. At around 3months, their bodies start making more saliva, but their mouth muscles don't realise they have to swallow it. If you massage the mouth are gently this can help stimulat the muscles, and speed it up.
I use bonjella now with DS, but TBH I think it settles him because he likes the taste, not because it does much. I used it when i had a painful ulcer, and it didn't help too much.
I have heard of using lemon juice on babies gums, but then thought i heard somewhere recently that this is not a good idea. Sorry i'm not much help.
My son Kai got his first two bottom teeth at 4 months. So be reassured it does happen, despite what all the 'books' say.
however i didn't relise that he was teething i just found them in his mouth one day (parent of the year i know!!!) but since then his top ones have decided to start bugging him so i use teething rings, bonjela and if he is really really sad i give him some panadol.
You could try holding a cool clean wash cloth in her mouth for her to suck on, or even put a piece of ice inside the cloth and rap an elastic band around it to stop it from going into her mouth.
Kai enjoys chewing on the connecting rings or your could simly try washing your hands and letting her munch away on your fingers this may help relieve some of the pain for her???
bindiloo
26-03-2008, 23:27
My DD was acting like she was teething just short of 3mnths and it is tough at that age when you cant use bonjella.
I did the whole sitting there holding the frozen teething ring in her mouth or a cold washer and i also had some stuff made up from a homeopath which is suitable for young babies at that age and it worked great.
Kazamataz
27-03-2008, 00:13
Oh the joys of teething, Asher was born teething! You could feel the top of his teeth almost cutting through the gums. Unfortunately the teeth never actually properly cut until he was 10 months!
when asher was really little and couldn't really hold things I just held the teething ring for him but ofcorse you can't do this all the time. I waited to use the bongella until he was 4 months but I do know people who've used it earlier.
Asher also has a few soft teddies that he chewed on. he found them easier to hold than teething rings.
Hope this helps and your bubs gets some relief soon.
Grizabella
27-03-2008, 00:23
Toran cut two at once at 17 weeks :) great fun this teething business!
xygirl351
27-03-2008, 11:13
my daughter teethed from 12weeks also. If you go into your local chemist you can buy teething gel for a young age. Just tell them her age and they will get the right one for you (from memory we used one in a white green and red tube)
Also i use to get one of her face clothes and put it in freezer she use to love that.
As you said if you get chance just to sit down and relax just hold the teething ring in her mouth.
I was giving my daughter teething rusks at 12weeks but that is a personal choice.
Also you can buy babys panadol and that is from the ages of 1month to 2years. I use to give this to her when the teething was really bad (most at night)
I should also add yes she teethed from 12weeks but we never got a tooth till she was 9months old. Now at 14months old she has 8teeth and so many more we can see and the teething is still as bad as it was at 12weeks haha (fun fun)
Good luck and hope i was some help.
My son started teething at 3 months, but nothing cut through until 2 months ago..... It took forever.
Baby panadol is great, but I only use that if he is REALLY in agony, I don't like using it alot.
The teething rings are great if u can hold them for her.
Good luck, I hope things improve.
gizmoduckus
27-03-2008, 13:51
My DS didn't get his first tooth until 10 months so I have no advice to give but I do know someone who has 2 DD's who were both born with a tooth.
I think the green n red one is sedagel. but there is another good one but can't recall the name. I've used Brauers Teething Relief which helped but not when bub had a fever. Also Neurofen for babies. There are homeopathic teething tablets you can use also but don't remember the age limit.
I never bothered with teething rings .. I found them useless unless bub actually wanted to chew on it which mine never did lol. A cold washer is good though. When bub is older you can use cold fruit.
Nats1681
29-03-2008, 14:19
Thanks to all for the advice have tried the cold facewasher in mouth and that seemed to ease the pain a little. Teething what fun : )
Courtycat
04-11-2009, 20:47
Hi I'm a first time mum and I'm just wondering what signs I should be looking for if i think my baby girl of 16 weeks maybe teething?
She has been really irritable, crying uncontrollably, feels hot to touch but doesn't have a temperature, drooling and blowing bubbles and her sleeping patterns are out the window.
Not sure if it's just a growth spurt or if she is teething. I've had a look in her mouth and I thought I could see a tooth bud at the top right but was under the impression the bottom ones came through first so didn't think anything of it!! What do others think??
Any advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated!!
My bub did the same thing but he didnt cut a tooth untill 5mths, now he is 18mths and has 15 teeth :)
Good Luck its not fun.
BoyCrazy
04-11-2009, 21:12
my ds2 started teething early too. he got his first at about 4.5mths.
he displayed all those signs your talking about.
he also did have a growth spurt around the same time though, but i put those signs down to teeth.
at 9 months old he now has NINE teeth!! :D
things that help
panadol/nurofen
ice teething rings
cold fashwashers
teething blankets (made out of flanel but a squeaky toy thing)
nuby dummies (these have little teething nobs where bubs mouth sits, so they can chew on that for relief)
hylands teething tablets (though these didnt work with my ds2)
hth :)
SurNuage9
04-11-2009, 21:18
DS started teething at 10 weeks, it was terrible, especially since the tooth didnt break until he was 4 months old! The best thing I found for him were frozen damp face washers, he could hold them pretty well by himself which was good since at that age he had trouble holding things. I also found the rubber sophie giraffes to be fantastic the legs and head are easy to hold and chew. Bonjela doesnt really work very well in general, but depending on your little ones weight you might be able to use it, DS was big for his age so the chemist said I could use it.
Courtycat
05-11-2009, 13:10
Thank you ladies for your helpful and quick replies. I'll swing by the chemist today and check if it is ok to use Bonjela on her. I will also try out the teething rings and wet flannels.
Can anyone tell me if it gets better before it gets worse?? We are going away for a camping/skiing weekend from tomorrow so I reckon it's gonna be a interesting one! :crying:
Courtycat
05-11-2009, 16:50
Forgot to ask the chemist when I was there if you can use the hylands teething tablets with baby panadol, does anyone here know? :o
BoyCrazy
05-11-2009, 16:53
yup u sure can..the hylands are purely natural tablets, most kids they work for, some kids they make a bit hyper.
they didnt work for my ds, just made him restless.
u can actually use nurofen and panadol at the same time too as theyre different ingredients, but as im not too sure how old your bub is, id call 13health first to double check :)
They made my DS VERY hyper. I hope you find relief soon if you haven't already. My DS had his first tooth at 3 months and second tooth 1 week later. Now at 6.5 months he has 6.
Courtycat
23-11-2009, 21:53
Thank you everyone for your advice. The Hylands teething tabs seem to be working a treat but if we're having a bad day a little bonjella & baby panadol sorts things out. :)
I got a teething dummy but DD doesn't seemed to fussed on it she is more interested in her fingers/hands or anyone else's for that matter!
No teeth have cut yet but DD has very bumpy gums and I can see at least 2-3 maybe even 4 toothy buds in there when I can get a look in. I can tell when her teeth are sore cos she breaks out in a little rash on her face and she gets really hot too. I had a dream that she woke up with all her teeth one morning so now I'm watching very closely:eek:!!!
Courtycat
17-12-2009, 12:02
Still no teeth and symptoms seem to come and go so I think they must just be moving up and down at the moment. DD is now 5.5 months old so I'm looking every day at her bumpy gums to see if there is anything cut through.
She is a much happier little DD now I have got hylands, bonjella and baby panadol on hand! Thanks for the advice ladies I would have been lost without it. But something I didn't know was related to teething was wind so now we have infacol on hand too as the days she has wind nothing seemed to work. She has gotten better as she has gotten older at working out her own wind but some days her teething days the poor little thing just can't get it out.
Thanks again and Merry Christmas & Happy New Year to you all :reindeer: