View Full Version : Brissie May dinner - general discussion

veve
31-03-2006, 20:02
ok guys - here tis...

chat away -

so far we have the idea of

a) a thursday night (a break for those who work on a Saturday)

b) the place in the city (nice and central... street parking... range of menu from meals to coffee...)

discuss :D

sopolicha
31-03-2006, 20:14
I will come out any night. This may influence people one way or the other. Sorry to those who I put off. ;)

31-03-2006, 20:16
Oooh I vote for Thursday night!!!!!!

Forgot to say **** sound delish!:D

Tea Lady
31-03-2006, 20:25
I can't do Thursdays:(

veve
31-03-2006, 20:34
I will come out any night. This may influence people one way or the other. Sorry to those who I put off. ;)

oh bu**ar... is there NO night you are busy???? surely you have SOME commitment with the kids ;)

:laughing: :laughing:

melfunction
31-03-2006, 20:35
Don't do Thursdays

veve
31-03-2006, 20:36
I was thinking that thursday would be unpopular... what about a saturday night???

31-03-2006, 20:36
I can't do Thursdays:(

Bugger, Friday and Saturday nights are out for me!

What about earlier in the week anyone?????

sopolicha
31-03-2006, 20:51
oh bu**ar... is there NO night you are busy???? surely you have SOME commitment with the kids ;)

:laughing: :laughing:

Kids are little and locked into their rooms at 1930hrs at the latest.

31-03-2006, 21:01
Sunday night.
In fact Sunday the 28th.
that's the coolest night in all the year :D :smiliedance:

veve
31-03-2006, 21:04
Kids are little and locked into their rooms at 1930hrs at the latest.

YES DRILL SERGEANT SIR!!!! :laughing:

lukaelmo
31-03-2006, 21:05
I will come out any night. This may influence people one way or the other. Sorry to those who I put off.

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

lukaelmo
31-03-2006, 21:07

Um... Veve... that's yes MA'AM :laughing: .

mumoftwoboys2005
31-03-2006, 21:10
I would really like to come, but unfortunately Friday is the only night I could leave the boys.

veve
31-03-2006, 21:12
Um... Veve... that's yes MA'AM :laughing: .

oh dear... I spose it is :laughing: oops... oh well.. sounds better with sir...

sopolicha
31-03-2006, 22:21

Aren't they just the most put down, belittled children you have ever seen?

veve
31-03-2006, 22:29
Aren't they just the most put down, belittled children you have ever seen?
oh yes... clearly they live by regemented routine - with no freedom of thought :laughing: poor little sods... so few toys to play with... its a tough life :rolleyes:

cwsmum
31-03-2006, 22:35
Hey...if you are bored with the same night every month maybe you could do a brunch one weekend? You'd probably get a few different people come along too. I know it's easier for me to get a babysitter/make DH stay home if it's early in the day.

Just an idea :)

KiLLaKaZ
01-04-2006, 03:40
Sunday night.
In fact Sunday the 28th.
that's the coolest night in all the year :D :smiliedance:

except it's close to my due date.... could make the night interesting... :laughing:

i finish work towards the end of this month, so ANY night in may should be fine... BUT, if it's towards the end i might pass! i don't know if i wanna risk having my waters break when i'm out somewhere! :o

Gribel
01-04-2006, 09:52
Hey Killakaz,

that's ok, at least we get dinner AND a show LOL

TrulyBlessed
02-04-2006, 00:16
Killakaz - well at least the girls will be asking you to put the show on instead of me. HEHE.

Could we make it around the 12th, cause that way I'd be able to come. The 3rd of May will be my inducement day if I haven't had him by then. The weekend of the 19th is my hubby's b'day so would get in trouble if I left him over that weekend. And then the following weekend we have a 40th to go to in Bundy so I wouldn't be able to go, and since VEVE mentioned **** thats all I want now and won't be happy till I get it (the joys of pregnancy)

KiLLaKaZ
02-04-2006, 05:38
Hey Killakaz,

that's ok, at least we get dinner AND a show LOL

well, i'm not really used to that much attention, so i'll pass on being the show! :p

AmyW - u'd come out that soon after having bubs?! wow! that's commitment! :D & i know what u mean about the pancakes thing! i mentioned it to another person in a different thread a little while ago & have thought about the **** ever since... (i haven't been for over 12 years!! :eek: )

btw - anyone remember that AWESOME restaurant called "death by chocolate"?? i wonder why THAT closed! surely they got enough patrons?! :rolleyes:

lukaelmo
02-04-2006, 06:56
****... there is no way in the world I am going to be able to get DP to stay at home with the dude if he finds out I am going to ****! He has been at me to go there for aaaaaaages! And I keep telling him "no, they aren't good for you"!. How am I going to look him in the eyes and tell him I am going to eat bad-for-you ****:eek: :laughing: .

Maghan
02-04-2006, 07:42
I'm an anywhere, anytime gal. With that said, I do prefer nights though, it helps me get through my guilt of working full-time and having a social life - at least they're asleep for the majority of the time I am spending on myself...

melfunction
10-04-2006, 16:02
So, any ideas on a day or date yet???

veve
10-04-2006, 16:08
I think the 17th was bantered around??? (I think OM wanted to meet on a night other than friday - but it kinda got a thumbs down response... sorry OM)

10-04-2006, 16:13
I think the 17th was bantered around??? (I think OM wanted to meet on a night other than friday - but it kinda got a thumbs down response... sorry OM)

Nooooo so I won't be able to come again! Come on girls how about Thursday nigh!

melfunction
10-04-2006, 16:19
What about a Sunday night?

10-04-2006, 16:21
What about a Sunday night?

That would be great just not a friday night! I do a double shift on a saturday that's all!

I do work on a monday morning too at 5am but at least it is better than trying to function for a double shift!

10-04-2006, 20:12
Nooooo so I won't be able to come again! Come on girls how about Thursday nigh!
17th is a Wednesday is that helps?

I guess I should pip up being gnome-holder and all?

xkwzit
10-04-2006, 21:40
Just a thought, was chatting to some of the Syndey girls and they are a bit more protective of their privacy than us Brissy chicks, and maybe that is wise. Any idiot can read a thread and gatecrash our event, so I have a suggestion. We can talk dates and times on the thread, but venue is given out by PM only. That way only registered hubbers have access (and the hub has their details :detective: ). WDYT?

I can go through and clean out all references to the venue. Seekrit as the gnome holder gets to decide where we go. Everyone adds their name to the sticky (when its created) and that way Seekrit knows who to PM details to. Does that sound workable?

veve
10-04-2006, 21:42
(shrug) as long as I'm invited I'm ok with anything ...

Just dont change the venue seekrit ... or I'll hunt you down :p

Shelly68
10-04-2006, 21:47
Me, Me, Me

In my mind I'm already sitting there munching away on Lukaelmo's dessert, pmsl

Count me in girls, I've missed the last 2

Oh and Supermum I've still got those coasters from the Brekky Creek meet, I'll make sure I'll bring them and either pass them on to you or to Draught (if she's there).

10-04-2006, 22:09
Okay, I won't change the venue (fear of Veve! I may be talked to death!) :ecomcity: :p

Let's pick a date (but not your own! ooer, now I'm using 'dad jokes') and a time :) Then I have Nick-o-less help me make a sticky! (not date!)

rynosmum
10-04-2006, 22:10
Great idea X !

Count me in for this one too ! Friday and Saturday nights are best for me as I work fulltime but I'll go with the flow !:D

veve
11-04-2006, 06:01
Okay, I won't change the venue (fear of Veve! I may be talked to death!) :ecomcity:

DAMMIT!!! they're on to me..... :ecomcity: I will have to change my form of torture!!! ok - to the next dinner I'll bring a hammer :p

(poll added Seekrit... I just wish I had added the option of - I dont care what night we meet - just feed me ****NOW!!!! :laughing: )

mixi_mama
11-04-2006, 06:31
i play netball thursdays so that out for me - the only night i can really do is friday. DH has the kids on a friday anyhow

Puk
11-04-2006, 07:40
I voted Friday but Saturday nights are good for me too! Thursdays are a bit tough as i work full time.
I vote not sitting next to Veve and her hammer!

11-04-2006, 07:57
Yay Veve!

veve
11-04-2006, 08:04
no worries honey :) happy to help :hugs:

11-04-2006, 12:58
Friday nights are prolly the best for me but I'm sure I could make it to most nights.

I cant wait to hear the details!! Have we decided on a date so I can mark my Calender? :rolleyes:
We need to soon, otherwise I'll get booked up again!! :o

xkwzit
11-04-2006, 13:31
OK thread now cleaned up

Mention the venue NO MORE. Seekrit will PM those who are going IF THE VENUE CHANGES.

If you forget or have only just now read this thread and want to know where it will be PM Seekrit and she will let you know (if she thinks you're OK :thumbsup: ). PM = private messages, access from the top RHS of your screen under Welcome, *put your username here*.

I think that it would be nice to change the night around a bit (since you can't choose one night that suits everyone), we've had a Thurs and two Fridays - what about a brunch? Or a Sat / Sun night.

11-04-2006, 13:34
hmm, not a sunday night please... :o

11-04-2006, 15:10
we've had a Thurs and two Fridays - what about a brunch? Or a Sat / Sun night.

Did I mention I have to work 5am on Saturday so that is why Friday nights are no good for me and then have to work another shift till 10pm on Saturday so Saturdays are no good for me either. I really really want to go though! I missed the last 2 because of them being on a Friday!

veve
11-04-2006, 15:58
what if we had a dinner AND a brunch :D or am I just being greedy??? :laughing:

I'll attend both :) whoohooo TWO lots of ****!!!

11-04-2006, 16:01
:laughing: You're a git!

So. Can I jsut ask - who absolutely cannot make it on a weekday? (Mon-Thur)

Puk
11-04-2006, 16:03
I assume you mean a week night? Technically i could make it if it's a week night but i would prefer not to, these things tend to be late nights!

MammaMia
11-04-2006, 16:05
what about a brunch?

A brunch, a brunch, a brunch!:smiliedance:

But I can't eat what you are all intending to have for the May dinner and I understand the fervour with which you have all embraced that particular delicacy, so maybe as a compromise you'd all consider a June brunch?

Yes, I know - I have reservations about attending.

But I did give serious consideration to the April dinner...until I realised we wouldn't be in town. Bit difficult that one!

But I am a huge fan of BRUNCHES! (and prone to beginning sentences with prepositions when I'm chatting away merrily!:D )

Come on, we're all awake early anyway!! And we could do an early brunch so as not to interfere too much with family time.

sopolicha
11-04-2006, 19:31
Brunch a certain deli at New Farm.

Is that too much information?

Maghan
11-04-2006, 19:34
Ooh yes, I'm with you Sopolicha.

rynosmum
11-04-2006, 19:38
Come on, we're all awake early anyway!! And we could do an early brunch so as not to interfere too much with family time.

Would that not make it a breakfast ?:D

11-04-2006, 19:47
Well the May one we'll stick with the current plan, yeah?

Dinner at Veve's favourite place. :p

June you can brunchitup?

I'm trying to guage how many people will be fine with a weeknight before a more informative post is made. :p

MammaMia
11-04-2006, 20:53
Would that not make it a breakfast ?:D

I thought exactly the same thing after I posted it.... right after I slapped my hand to my forehead and proclaimed loudly "My MIL is right - I am an idiot.":eek:

And to the Dynamic Duo, yes, just what I was thinking re a breakfast location.:D

Mmmmm, tasty!

Tea Lady
11-04-2006, 21:14
Thurs night is out for me, but I could prob do another weeknight. Brunch would be fun too. :)

mixi_mama
12-04-2006, 06:34
:laughing: You're a git!

So. Can I jsut ask - who absolutely cannot make it on a weekday? (Mon-Thur)

me.... ive got prior commitments (sporting household here).... so only friday is really good for me

rynosmum
12-04-2006, 06:44
Technically i could make it if it's a week night but i would prefer not to, these things tend to be late nights!

I'm with Puk on this one.

sopolicha
12-04-2006, 07:48
And to the Dynamic Duo, yes, just what I was thinking re a breakfast location.:D

Mmmmm, tasty!

I was going to use the quote "Great minds think alike". But I think "Fools seldom differ" is more appropriate.

MammaMia
12-04-2006, 08:10
I was going to use the quote "Great minds think alike". But I think "Fools seldom differ" is more appropriate.

:eek: I've joined the fools?:eek:

Well, so long as I can enjoy their fantastic mushrooms, I'll gladly wear the badge of the fool. :D

sopolicha
12-04-2006, 08:15
MammaMia, there are a lot of worse things to be.

TrulyBlessed
15-04-2006, 15:51
I'll be happy with any night of the week (just not Thursday the 18th of May cause its DH birthday and I think I would get shot if I went out for a girls night that night) and that weekend is out for me also due to family commitments. Depending on when the little tyke makes an enterance too as to if I'll be there :)

15-04-2006, 16:25
Ok, so when is it? :rolleyes:

15-04-2006, 16:31
Just to make a more definative poll :)

mysonroger
15-04-2006, 19:25
can i just ask, have you all met each other before already???? will there be people there who haven't been to a dinner before??

15-04-2006, 19:37
some have, some haven't :D
come along :) I was a newbie at the last one.. but if you don't come, we'll never meet you.

Am I making sense.

mysonroger
15-04-2006, 20:13
yeah, would love to do it providing i don;'t have a shy attack.........................

veve
15-04-2006, 20:17
at the third brissie dinner we had HEAPS of newbies... (it wasn't the BEST brissie dinner.. I think the restaurant was a ... well... little tooooo classy for us bubhubbers :laughing: it was lovely though!!) - I THINK the newbies had a good time???

One thing I CAN guarantee... is that all familiar bubhubbers try to make the newbies welcome... :hugs:

melfunction
15-04-2006, 20:21
Sorry girls..May is out for me..Maybe next time.

draught
15-04-2006, 21:05
I haven't voted because, to be honest, all nights are equally good or equally bad, depending on whether DH is in town - which is completely unpredicatable and not governed by days of the week.