View Full Version : Disposable Nappies
Jamaica
23-03-2008, 05:15 PM
Im generally a name brand nazi, so with DD I used Huggies all the way thru til one day I was caught out without any & borrowed a baby love off a friend it seemed great but I continued to buy Huggies, anyway with this one I thought it was atleast worth weighing up the idea of using another cheaper brand I was just wondering are the cheaper brands any good & if so which ones? My SIL uses aldi ones her theory is new borns are changed so often that as long as they dont have a problem with it that they all do the same job. What are your experiences?
the_queen
23-03-2008, 05:16 PM
My experience is that disposables are gross and wasteful and awful for our planet.
Go cloth! :D
SethandRuby'sMum
23-03-2008, 05:19 PM
:laughing: plug it why dont ya :p
i used homebrand box of 72 nappies from woolies and safeway (depending on the state) untill they stoped STOCKING THEM :mad: now i use the coles brand.. but ive heard the aldis are good too
Jakois
23-03-2008, 05:19 PM
For the times that I do use sposies, I think Aldis are just as good as huggies..
punkbaby
23-03-2008, 05:27 PM
My experience is that disposables are gross and wasteful and awful for our planet.
:iagree:
my sister swears by babylove though
Craftymum
23-03-2008, 05:33 PM
I use the You'll Love Coles Brand.
mummalisciousto3
23-03-2008, 05:36 PM
I used Huggies from day dot till 3yrs with my first 2 and 6mths with my 3rd (full mcn convert :D - and definately recommend cloth over disposables any day :yes:)
I found them better than any other nappy brand when on the odd occassion I had to use another brand.
My son is a heavy wetter, and pees thru huggies really fast, so we tried Aldi nappies and they are FANTASTIC!!!!
we use modern cloth now, and sposies only at night, but iv also brought one packet of newborn aldi sposies 'just in case' id never go back to huggies now!
justmum
23-03-2008, 05:41 PM
I used Huggies and Woolworths homebrand (they were great but the price got put up) but now am a full time cloth user.
Hayden&Ryan&Joel
23-03-2008, 05:57 PM
I use huggies as i don't have to worry about changing him quite as often (i am slack LOL), Plus both my sons have got rashes from baby love, and snugglers.
I have used both Coles and Aldi at different times too. The aldi were great, especially when my first DS was older and toilet training. But i didn't find them much cheaper than the bulk huggies, so went back to them for DS2. and will do for DS3 also.
Wy & Deeky
23-03-2008, 05:58 PM
I used to use Huggies, then I found a company called ""Cuties" here on the the Coast. They were the same as Huggies for half the price :thumbsup:
SalTheGal
23-03-2008, 06:03 PM
Modern Cloth!! :D :D :D
But I do keep some sposies hanging around of emergencies, and I usually swing between huggies and babylove.
WitchHazel
23-03-2008, 06:09 PM
I reckon Aldi are quite good, as are Baby Love. DS is in disposables at the moment because I'm too fat and lazy (ie too pregnant!) to be bothered with even a few extra loads of washing! He's in Baby Love and they're doing him well. It lasts overnight and he's a really heavy wetter.
My sister used newborn Aldi and had no problems at all.
preciousbabyboy
23-03-2008, 06:09 PM
i found the babylove for newborns annoying cos the hole is the fabric were to big and when the nappy was wet the gel stuff came thru onto bubs bum!
I have always liked huggies best and woolworths select, also home brand isnt bad either!
23-03-2008, 06:10 PM
When I was a using sposies (now 19 months ago) I used nothing but Huggies because I was a name brand nazi too. Now I'm a modern cloth nappy nazi - no ifs or buts ;)
Coffee
23-03-2008, 06:29 PM
I use the Aldis and never had any problems with them.
The Huggies gave my DS 1 rashes, so I stopped using them and the other brands just seem to leak way too quickly.
I'd give the Aldis a go, you won't be dissappointed.
We use Aldi and will never go back to Huggies.
I think Aldi are better, its as simple as that for us. Being cheaper is just a bonus.
Huggies have a big advertising budget, but that doesn't mean they are the best.
If they were the best then my baby would have them :p
missie_mack
23-03-2008, 07:19 PM
We've tried a few since starting to use disposables mostly for night and long length use (like going out etc) Huggies are one of the better ones to suit my DS bot but can be a bit pricey. We really like the ecobots but have found snugglers and aldi ones leak as DS doesnt have enough bum :laughing: Havent used the babylove ones before but in saying that we bought them on sale this morning and shall see how we go :fingerscrossed:
Mamalicious
23-03-2008, 08:31 PM
:laughing::yelclap:
*~alegna~*
23-03-2008, 08:37 PM
Huggies or Coles Select do the job IMO.:D
DonnaL
23-03-2008, 08:55 PM
Modern cloth - Baby Beehinds magic-alls are my preference.
But I don't have enough yet to use them full-time :no: - I'm working on building up my collection, but use Huggies or Pampers when I don't have any BBH ready to go.
I'm planning to phase out disposables completely, depending on how we go at night time when I try the bamboo MCNs.
KapowSchazam
23-03-2008, 09:02 PM
:iagree: :thumbsup:
i use Baby love they fit my DD better than the other nappys I some times use huggies but they leave a mark on her no mater what size i get..I have use baby love since she was born love how they come in a big box at big W and there cheap and i get heaps when there on sale so they work out the cheaper than all the other nappies..
OopsieDaisy
24-03-2008, 06:46 AM
Huggies are great, we recently tried homebrand and believe it or not, they worked just as well :yes:
LiL'Muggos
24-03-2008, 06:56 AM
I found when DS was born ANY brand i used he wet thru he was an inbetween size. I used huggies and aldi i found aldi was rough on his newborn bum! Then i used snuggles i found they where cheep but i was going trough alot of them so went back to huggies and was useing half the amount. Im sticking to them for now but if we have a 2nd bub soon might go cloth and use huggies when out.
delirium
24-03-2008, 06:57 AM
We use Woolies HB with DS during the day and huggies at night (although for some reason I can't get the HB ones in medium anymore, have they stopped making this size?) DS is a heavy wetter and anything bar huggies (including cloth) and he's soaked thru to his sheets by 4am.
BlakeNatsMum
24-03-2008, 07:12 AM
We are 100% cloth here! We love our cloth! :D :yes:
Lissa7
24-03-2008, 07:59 AM
Huggies all the way !!!!!!!!!!!
Don't even want to try anything else. Have found them fantastic with both my girls and plan to use them again this time too :yes:
Never used cloth and have no desire to !!!
Mumma2three
24-03-2008, 08:06 AM
I use Huggies on all my kids when they are newborn then change them over to Home Brand.
My 2 year old was getting the worst.. I mean the worst rash.. his skin was bleeding from Huggies, Baby Love and another organic brand nappy's!
We tried him on home brand and have not turned back.. he has not had one rash using home brand, and they last for hours.
I tried Baby Love again 3-4 weeks ago on him.. and again a massive rash :(
I don't know what causes the rash but I do know he only gets it when he wears them nappy's!
the_queen
24-03-2008, 08:08 AM
It's the massive amounts of chemicals used to soak up the urine. Some brands of disposables have more than others.
SweetAngels
24-03-2008, 08:15 AM
Huggies are great, we recently tried homebrand and believe it or not, they worked just as well :yes:
:iagree:
I'm amazed at the Homebrand nappies!!!
BUT I think huggies are the best for under 6mnths, they prevent leakage and nappy rashes the best!
Although because hamebrand just came out I'm not to sure what they would be like on a newborn.
Mumma2three
24-03-2008, 08:37 AM
It's the massive amounts of chemicals used to soak up the urine. Some brands of disposables have more than others.
Ohh Thank you.. that makes sense!
squiglet
24-03-2008, 08:48 AM
Well Nappies, nappies, nappies:rolleyes:
I started my collection on fitted cloth nappies well before bub was due. Only to find they are cr@ppo and I had bought the wrong sort.:thumbsdown:
So I used Huggies wich I find to be leaky, expensive and irritating as the tabs make sore red patches on dd's legs.
Baby loves are good. I use them mostly, but I've noticed I always have to keep a size ahead so that the dreaded leaks don't happen.
I'm now waiting on my new fluffy mail for some AIO. I sure hope these work out better for me. I'm over washing the sheets.
rowiechb
24-03-2008, 10:02 PM
I used Huggies at night, as they are better though expensive, and BabyLove during the day...now since DD is TT I just use Huggies at night:)
Bubble*Crazy
24-03-2008, 10:08 PM
We use MCN during the day and Huggies at night. I do send sposies when he's at daycare though (1x day per week). He's a heaver wetter and I've found the Huggies to be the best at night ... can't contain it all in a MCN for some reason.
mummeeto2
24-03-2008, 10:17 PM
Only use Huggies at night. Use terry flats at home & MCN when out. Want to give sposies the flick, but gotta get soakers first & know they work all night before I can do that
the dargonfly faery
25-03-2008, 07:25 AM
I used babylove switched to Huggies now cos t when the nappy was wet the gel stuff came thru onto bubs bum! Found Baby Love had a horrible smell too, even though I changed nappy regularly. No problems wiht huggies, thinking of using Aldi sister swears by them.
BeachBaby3
25-03-2008, 12:11 PM
I use You'll Love Coles
A friend of mine who is/was a Huggies addict now swears by Aldis. She reckons they are softer and more absorbant!!
PrincessJasmine
25-03-2008, 12:57 PM
I have to agree with all the Aldis nappies comments. They are more absorbent, and don't have the same chemical smell as the BabyLoves. They are cheaper and last longer than Huggies or BL's. Never had a leak, where as with the other brands leaking did happen during the night. The sizes are also more generous (the newborn nappies didn't fit DD till she was 4 months). I'm yet to try the new coles ones, but probably will in the near future. Honestly I'd rather spend $16-$17 a week instead of $30 for what I consider better quality.
Jaileth
25-03-2008, 01:11 PM
we found huggies to be ****. No offence to huggies users, but they just didn't work for our boy. We use the Woolies diapers which are higher up the back and a better fit than the huggies for ds.
We'll be using woolies diapers again for the new bubba.
tootiredtosleep
25-03-2008, 01:18 PM
Aldi's for sure. DH complains if I buy anything else. They work really well and are affordable.
I've tried huggies, babylove, coles, snugglers, woolies select and homebrand and regretted it.. always come back to the aldi ones.
toni796
25-03-2008, 01:24 PM
I use huggies 99% of the time. Then woolies brand the other 1%.
BlessedWithBlue
25-03-2008, 01:25 PM
I used Snugglers with my first ds and found them great, with ds2 i used cloth and only disposables at night which were always Woolies Homebrand and found them to be great and we had no leaks at all.
With the twins the Snugglers were awful, the quality of them was terrible so i used Baby Loves for a while and found that they leaked straight through them at night so now i use Factory Seconds during the day for all three babies and for the twins i use either Huggies or Coles Brand for night time. I could never find any other brand but Huggies that Jett didn't leak through until the Coles brand was likened to Huggies so i thought i would give them a go since having 3 in nappies gets quite expensive and they worked great and had no leaks at night time.
RmumR
25-03-2008, 01:32 PM
I'm a babylove fan. i used huggies on DD for newborn then when we went away one weekend i ran out and the shop only had babylove so brought them and haven't looked back. I've heard different nappies for different babies as babylove work great for my DD but not for my niece she is a huggies girl, my friend uses aldi and loves them too so i think you just need to try them out and see what works best for you.
Nickyps
25-03-2008, 02:20 PM
I use the Aldi nappies on my son... They are a great quality nappy for a good price.
Becs999
25-03-2008, 02:38 PM
Huggies or Babylove for daycare - cloth at home. :D
naiwen
25-03-2008, 02:39 PM
I love Aldi, but not the newborn ones. I found the mediums were softer than the newborns!
Although I use mostly cloth anyway!
25-03-2008, 02:41 PM
Huggies! :yes: I like snugglers or Aldi for day time use. But at night time... huggies are a must at our house!! :yes:
25-03-2008, 02:44 PM
Huggies all the way here. The other's my kids just pee straight through them and they go way too fast.
mum2peanut
25-03-2008, 05:51 PM
We're Huggies here too, have been since the start. Although when DD started pulling off her nappies, that Huggies nappy pants were a touch too big, so I tried the Aldi ones, and they are great. We use them at night time, cause that's when DD most likes to take off her nappy.
My sister is an Aldi girl, and I've used soem of hers on DD a couple of times, but I'm a huggies girl, and I always buy tem on sale, or in bulk so they're pretty similar in price.
Bewitched
25-03-2008, 06:04 PM
I have just finished trying Woolies Select brand for two weeks and they leaked every single night, not happy AT ALL :mad:...going back to my trusted Aldi brand tomorrow :thumbsup:
onemummmy
25-03-2008, 06:04 PM
i am really a huggies fan at heart, though dont mind homebrand 4 daytime.
Crazy Bananas
25-03-2008, 07:17 PM
Can someone please tell me what modern cloth nappies are?:confused:
NewMe
25-03-2008, 07:23 PM
I started out with Huggies, then switched to Snugglers, decided to give Aldi a go, went back to Snugglers and I'm not even a 3rd of the way through my Snugglers box and I already know I am going back to Aldi. Price wise there isn't much difference for me between Aldi and Snugglers, but the Snugglers have an awful smell to them in the morning(we're only in nappies at night), and I am a size ahead of the weight recommendations, but they are still too small for DD.
:thumbsup: to Aldi nappies from me.
mum2bub78
25-03-2008, 07:26 PM
Huggies at night and Aldi Mammia during the day. Aldi rocks!!!! :yelclap:
baylismum
26-03-2008, 07:12 AM
I love Huggies nappies, and I switch between them and babylove (the wiggles ones).
I use the babylove during the day and the huggies for at night or car trips.
Got caught last week and had to use a babylove over night, and found out that they worked just as well as a huggies.
--The only thing i will say is that the sizing is slightly different.
In a huggies nappy my son wears a 'junior' size (16+kgs), but in babylove he wears the 'walker' size-the junior size didnt hold much poop in,.
Becs999
26-03-2008, 07:32 AM
Can someone please tell me what modern cloth nappies are?:confused:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=62852
http://www.ozclothnappies.org/info.html
Warning: MCNs are highly addictive. By clicking on the posted links you should be aware that you are likely to become a cloth bum addict.
*Amethyst*
26-03-2008, 08:15 AM
I prefur to use huggies and they are usually the best for my dd, but I often use snugglers or baby love for the cheaper price, and they come close in quality to huggies.
neekynoo
26-03-2008, 08:20 AM
just started using babylove during the day and no probs so far. still using huggies at night though. wishing we had aldi in tas cos they seem to be getting great reviews.
Samaras Mummy
26-03-2008, 08:46 AM
I used to use Babylove.
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.