View Full Version : Anyone been to Bali with a baby under 1?

2 Cherubs
17-03-2008, 23:46
We are thinking over going towards the end of the year before the baby is 1.

Im a little concerned with bubs catching something.

Anyone thats been with a little one, I love to hear from you and how it all went!

~Kim~

mysonroger
17-03-2008, 23:50
yeah yeah yeah....good thread. we might have to head off there later in the year for a wedding. i'll be watching this thread..... although, i reckon it would be ok if you were extra cautious with kids.

Missy75
18-03-2008, 08:09
Oh I think twoblueones might be there right now, or she could be back?? She's been before with little ones and said it's no drama. I'm hoping to hear how the trip went when she gets back so I'll let her know about this thread so she can update us all.

Butterflies&Hurricanes
18-03-2008, 08:29
We went to Bali when DS was just 6 months old last year January. It was fine! no probs at all. We did seem to be the only holidayers with a baby there though. And the people there just LOVE babies so be prepared for a lot of attention from them.
I was BF so didnt have to worry about bottles etc. so dont know how that would work if you FF.
I gave DS bits of fruit and juice and he had no probs with that either.
Def dont forget a mozzie net for you pram etc. cos there are HEAPS!!

Any other questions just ask...

2 Cherubs
18-03-2008, 12:43
Thanks girls, much appreciated.
I will be BF too so that will be easy Im more concerned about the mozzies and bub catching maleria (sp?) thats the main thing I have been told to watch out for.
Im trying to find a repellent that is for bubs under 1? Any Ideas?

Thanks heaps again
~Kim~

Anyone else with experiences??

Shakey
18-03-2008, 12:52
Hey kimmy

my friend has just got back from fiji, and she's got a 5mth old, the trick is when going to thoes places is not to drink their water, bottled water for drinking is the way to go

I think you can use natrual stuff on babies for a repellant,

twoblueones
14-04-2008, 10:34
I've been a slow in organising my time to get here and post, but here goes.:ecomcity:
I enjoyed our time away, although it was a challenge with the boys. They boys handled it all very well and the only problem we had with regard to their health was a mild outer ear infection in my older boy - thanks to a bunch of drunks who lined up around thirty bintang bottles on the bar and didn't get out of the pool for hours (I think you can all guess what I'm inferring).

I found going through Melbourne airport was fairly easy. I went with the idea that I’d pack what I could and if they took it off me then so be it, if not I had heaps of snacks and drinks for the boys on the plane. I had no problems at all – I packed baby bottles with water, prima for the boys, ready to drink formula packs and pop tops. I gave the boys a dose of demazin ½ hr before takeoff, to help keep their ears clear (please note this was recommend to me by my doctor before the first trip with DS when he was 8 months old), I gave DS1 a lolly pop for takeoff & landing, DS2 had either a bottle or a drink.
I found Denpasar airport to be a bit stricter in what you can take through, they will confiscate any bottled water going through the airport and before you get on the plane. Although basically whatever I had in the nappy bag was fairly safe

On arrival you have to pay for a visa which is $25 US per person, we have always found it easier to take US$ with us rather than doing a conversion on the day.On departure you will also have to pay tax of 175,000 rupiah per person (I think under two is exempt)

Getting around Bali is fairly easy, a day trip (8 hours) with a driver should cost you around 300-400,000 rp depending on your bargaining skills or around 50,000 per hour, otherwise it can be just a cheap to grab a taxi. Most of the roads in Bali are one way so it may seem like they are taking you the wrong way. We bought some cheap car seats from eBay ($15 each) before we left and left them over there, seat belts only exist in the front seats.

Food for the boys was fairly easy most places have a kids menu, we ordered one dish and one drink with an extra empty plate and glass and the boys shared the meals.
They loved the fresh juices, I also made sure they drank plenty of water; I simply gave them the bottled water that I was drinking. It really depends what your travel budget is, I would also suggest buying a portable booster seat as you can’t always guarantee there will be high chairs available.[/font]
[FONT='Arial','sans-serif']Here a novelty you can order McDonalds and get it delivered to your hotel – just call 14045.

There is plenty to buy over there although I didn’t actually buy too much this time.
You can get DVD & games everywhere, they all run on a set price of 10,000 per DVD and up to 50,000 for games (Xbox, PS & wii). The shops also do a bonus buy e.g. buy 10 get 4 free, most of the time you will get good copies – the newest releases will only be cinema copies – but they’re still good to watch.
There are factory outlets for surf clothing; these are the real deal as most things are made in Indonesia now anyway.
A great place to check out is Carrefour, all drivers know where this is and it’s great. It’s a huge supermarket & department store all in one; it has electrical goods, clothes, toys and food. They stock the local brands as well as Heinz, Huggies, Pampers, Cussons, Pigeon. We packed a small supply of nappies then I brought more from here. A pack of Huggies ultra premium cost around 90,000, for a 48pk (toddler size) roughly $9. The top brands of formula were also in good supply. We also brought some toothbrushes from here, Oral B stages for around 75c
I took some Milton sterilising tablets, disposable bibs & change mats, take & toss containers & drink bottles - no harm done if they're lost or forgotten. I would suggest you pack sunscreen for your little one, stingoes, antihistamine, baby Panadol, insect repellent, etc.
We used a natural repellent called Scatterbugs which worked really well. Google this and you can buy online.

Well I think that enough for today, if you have any other questions feel free to PM me.:thumbsup:

Karen