View Full Version : How much did/will your wedding cost?

Queen
17-03-2008, 21:46
DP and I have been discussing marriage, and how we should finally get around it it :laughing:and I am wondering how much it will cost?
And how much others spent?

We only want a few guests, very simple...

Please share.....pwease....

Bubble*Crazy
17-03-2008, 21:52
ALL UP (reception, photographer, dress, flowers, invites, etc) allowing for approximately 120 guests, about $13000.

We hired a caterer and bought our own alcohol (including premix/spirits). As we held our reception in our local hall we also had to hire tables, chairs, glasses, table cloths etc.

And that didn't include a honeymoon ...

pkbub
17-03-2008, 21:55
We had a $10,000 budget and stuck to it. We spent a bit more on our photographer than originally planned, but it was so worth it, cause other than the memories all you'll have are those photos and hopefully you will want to show them off for years to come. We had a Cocktail Party for about 60 people to try and keep our wedding simple and no bridal party.

Best of luck to you:goodvibes:

Stargazer Lily
17-03-2008, 22:04
$7,500 is roughly what ours cost from memory

We paid 90% of that ourselves so had to keep the costs down

We opted for a Garden ceremony with a cocktail type party in the same garden as the reception. We had 70 or so guests.

Best of luck! :)

borntobemummy
17-03-2008, 22:07
We had a full church wedding and dinner reception for 70 guests all for under $2400:yes: Our wedding was just beautiful:goodvibes:

Super Trooper
18-03-2008, 07:55
Including everything (gifts for bridal party, wedding bands, dress, shoes, jewellery, photographer, florist, entertainment, etc), except the honeymoon, we are anticipating about $18,000 :eek:, and that is with cutting corners like making our own invites, buying a cheap cake etc.

we are setting up a gift registry for our honeymoon, so hopefully we wont have to pay too much for that :fingerscrossed:

SweetAngels
18-03-2008, 08:01
I wont be spending more then $3000.... If I had of got married before kids I would have gone all out, but with 3 kid's to provide for I feel guilty spending too much on a wedding day.

But $3000 will be plenty, DP and I just want close friends and family attending, something very small, intimate and simple :goodvibes:

lj1977
18-03-2008, 08:05
Ours was 6 years ago so from memory (including honeymoon!) it was 6 or 7 thousand.
we had a beautiful wedding, 130 guests at an afternoon tea reception at a rowing club looking down the river to the bridge and mountain in hobart - gorgeous. we did our own flowers, hired a photographer, purchased wine and put money over the bar, paid a friend to do the catering, dress was $1000. went to qld for honeymoon for 2 weeks.
made our own invites and got a friend to design and print order of service. our friend did our wedding and didnt want to be paid so we bought him a gift.
friends who had nice cars drove us and the wedding party.
so really it can be done. its one day in your life. we didnt spend a lot and it was the most beautiful day. too many people get caught up in spending heaps of money and it loses something i think - it becomes a cause of stress rather than the focus on a celebration of comitting your entire lives to one another. happy planning!!!!

mrsdlc2007
18-03-2008, 08:41
All up including the honeymoon around $9000.

We had 6 bridesmaids and 6 groomsmen, they paid for their own outfits.

We had all the kids except #6 in the bridal party. The girls dresses were $17 from best and less and there shoes were $10 from payless. My older sons suit cost about $65. THe youngest we borrowed from a friend.

We had 133 guests and we had a 2 course alternate drop meal in a beautiful restaraunt on the gold coast. The reception (food, venue, some drinks and basic decorations) cost $4500.

My dress was $1200 - which was the only thing we didnt pay for but have included it in the final cost.

My flowers a friend of a friend did which cost $200, she also did the cake which cost the same.

The photographer was also a friend of a friend and that cost $600.

We were suppose to our mate DJ but he didnt turn up so we just got a mate to change music at the venue.

The ceremony cost us nothing as we had in a public park .

/My girlfroiend did hair and another did makeup so that didnt cost me anything...

You just need to ask around and if ppl offer a cheaper alternative then take it...

Good luck!!!!

kiwibird27
18-03-2008, 08:46
Think it crazy spending lots on a wedding

*Chels*
18-03-2008, 08:54
Ours was about $14,000.The most expensive thing was the reception which was $125 ph.with 40 guests it worked out to be about $7000.
I cut corners everywhere else-invites were $100,dress was $300,shoes $20,jewellery $20.
Photos and DVD were 2 grand but that is something you DONT want to skimp on:no:

blissfullybonkers
18-03-2008, 09:02
ours is coming in just under $15,000 not including the honeymoon, and we tried to cut corners where we could:o
my dress $1000 (not inc alterations)
DF Suit $200
Celebrant $350
Cars $800(df wanted this)
ceremony hire $230
Decorater for ceremony $500
Photgrapher$1100
Flowers $750
reception about $8000 (food and drinks)
bm and gm paid for their stuff after we paid a decent deposit.
flower girls and page boys $200
Gifts for attendants $200
DJ $500
invites paid for as a gift from family
Cake made by a family friend for free
bonboneires $300
oh and rings how could i forget about $100 for df(he cant wear it very often anyway)and $350 for mine
we had about 110 invited so if less come it will cost less:fingerscrossed:
that is all i can think of for now:D

canberramomma
18-03-2008, 09:14
My first wedding was in our backyard, but it was catered and we had about 200 guests. All up it cost about $8K.

This time we will be going to a registry office to 'make it official' so it will only cost the registration fees, oh, and the rings as DH is insisting on having those.

ThomasMum
18-03-2008, 09:50
Abt $5000 at Watego Beach Byron Bay. A small wedding. I remember our flight to Lismore with Rex, all the passengers on that flights were our wedding guests :laughing: (for people who's a regular Rex traveller will understand how small that is hehe)

We also got married in the UK, didnt cost anything coz my big sis organised the whole thing :D a small gathering also because weve told her if its going to be a big wedding we aint going to turn up! :laughing:

Refresh
18-03-2008, 09:53
We spent alot (well our parents did;)) on our wedding.....it was lovely but if we were to have our time again we wouldnt spend nearly that much, I think it is a waste and a bit self indulgent and I feel bad about it now.

Ange&Seth
18-03-2008, 12:17
Yay Rowie!! I'm excited you guys are talking about it :D

Well, we set ourselves a budget of $5k for everything except the honeymoon. At the moment we're still $500 under budget and everything has been accounted for.

-We're having around 40-45 ppl, including the bridal party of 6.
-We're having the ceremony and the reception at a Manor out of town and will be staying the night there as well, so no need for cars.
-Meals are $30 per head for a 2 course and the cake will be served as dessert.
-My dress, veil, shoes, tiara and jewellry cost $300
-Photography $130 (fully qualified photographer who hasn't done many weddings so wants to build her portfolio)
-Rings $1000 (have to get something you like, you'll be wearing it the rest of your life:D)
-Flowers $150 - walked into a florist and said these are the colours I want, this is what I need, and I need you to do it for this amount. They said 'ok' YAY!! (basically means the florist will choose the flowers for me)
-Invitations $88 including RSVP cards and place cards through a girl in QLD who does amazing work.
-Bonbonierre $40 - individually wrapped mints which have 'thankyou for sharing our special day' printed on them. It was $40 for 100.

There are heaps of ways to have a beautiful inexpensive. I believe that inexpensive doesn't have to LOOK cheap and sometimes less is more as they say.

Rowie, I've heard the registry office in Perth is lovely, maybe you could have a look at that? When ppl say 'office' I think a small cubicle thing with a desk lol but I think it's actually a large room so you can have your guests there and still walk down the aisle etc.

megaminz
18-03-2008, 15:11
Ours was just under $10k

-We got married on the beach and had a celebrant. $500
-We hired a nice hall which had a bar and kitchen right on a lake between two VERY posh restaurants $180
-Hired a bar man $80
-Bought all the booze on special (our spare room was a booze outlet for a while) with beer from liquor stores and wine & champers from cleanskins. The wine ended up being $2.30 a bottle after our discount for bulk and they printed wedding labels with our pictures and details on for free so we used them as wedding gifts too. Had MASSES of booze leftover as I bought too much.
-Got spit roast caterers in at $21/head they did appetisers, mains (delicious HEAPS of food), deserts and cheese coffee.... They had their own waiters and everyone loved the tasty food.
-Hired extra tables and chairs that were nicer than the hall $200
-Got coloured organza curtains from freedom that matched our colour scheme and draped them over the white table clothes supplied by caterers.
-Got the vases and tealight holders from Ikea sooooo cheap and got flowers from markets to decorate cake and go in vases.
-Shopped around and found a great car for $350
-Photographer $900- inlcuded all negs, stills...cd of digitals and album (we didnt have her at reception so this saved heaps)
-Dress $750 - off rack at wayne cooper DIVINE
-His outfit $300

you can do it if you want....research is the way

punkbaby
18-03-2008, 15:26
Ours cost around a grand :) we had lamb and pork on the webber in mums back yard, i got some chickens from the chicken shop cooked with salads and also threw some spuds in the webber as well. We had about 20 people, the most expensive was the celebrant which was around $500. Thinking here, my dress was around 150, drinks we spend about 130 on (beer champers and soft drinks only plus i made some home made baileys for the inlaws) food wise it would have been around $200 i think.

Cheap and nice and cosy :) everyone had a great day and it was simple didnt break the bank :)

Jender
18-03-2008, 15:42
Ok, I confess - ours was a wedding that was over $30K and that does not cover engagement ring or wedding rings or honeymoon. But we paid for it ourselves and we were at the time at least - high earning professionals in our 30s without kids.

In our defence I will point out that the vast majority of $ went on the reception for 120 people at a lovely restuarant. No bridal party - makeup done by cousin for free and hair ($100). No video and photographer about $1500. Car $500.

You only live once!

shed
18-03-2008, 16:07
We are eloping to Fiji and taking a friend each (plus one of the friends girlfriends, which wasn't in the original plan but don't get me started on that :rolleyes:).

We used our frequent flyers for the flights and all up for the rest it comes to around five grand, unless I have forgotten something. Six nights in Fiji, so its our honeymoon as well.

studyingECS
18-03-2008, 17:33
My parents wedding cost $500....it was in a backyard LOL....with a spit roast.

Queen
18-03-2008, 21:21
My parents wedding cost $500....it was in a backyard LOL....with a spit roast.

:yelclap: Yay how how I want details.....

studyingECS
18-03-2008, 21:22
You dont want there wedding LOL honestly........It was like 20 years ago to and from what I am seen in pictures it was dodgy:laughing:

Queen
18-03-2008, 21:26
You dont want there wedding LOL honestly........It was like 20 years ago to and from what I am seen in pictures it was dodgy:laughing:

:laughing:I like the sound of that:laughing:

melg
18-03-2008, 21:30
We're getting married in just under 5 weeks...aargh!! and it has come to 17k...a little over what we wanted to spend but am really looking forward to it and know that I'm not going to regret one bit of it...

studyingECS
18-03-2008, 21:33
Well it was the year of 1989 apparently.............They got these massive as spit roasts:barf:.....and heaps of alcohol LOL.....dad hired a suit but when he went to pick it up it wasnt what he thought it was and it looked like and alfoil suit so I have been told so he wore a shirt, tie and pants..eww LOL

And mum wore a white suit with a gross as hat:laughing:

there was no invitations but apparently my nanna gave them $500 to invite the extended family.
I wasnt born than............i think thats a good thing:laughing:

madcate
18-03-2008, 21:51
Ours is costing us just over $20,000 for the entire wedding and about another $10,000-$12,000 for the honeymoon, so around $32,000 all together.

I've cut a few corners, my dress was $220 on ebay, my fiance's aunty is making the cake for free as her gift, our table centrepieces were a steal from Dusk on sale, our caterer is only $29.90 pp and we're buying our own alcohol.

But then we splurged a bit as well, our videographer is $2,100, photographer $1,700, cars $1,100, 3 piece music ensemble (violin, cello & flute - sounds amazing!!) at $1,200 and last but best of all my beautiful shoes cost us $220 from Panache Bridal Shoes in Sydney.

We're spending a bit more than we originally intended, but we're mostly paying for it ourselves with some help from the parents. My dad is giving us some dosh and my future inlaws are having the reception at their huge palatial house.

We're only getting married once, I don't plan to do it again, so for me personally, I want my day to be perfect, within reason and I'm happy to pay for it.

MissSparkle
20-03-2008, 19:18
I only just got married 2.5weeks ago but it feels like a lifetime!
Our Wedding cost somewhere around the $45 000 mark.

It went something like this

Reception- $20 000
Ceremony- $1 000 (Incl candles, stefana etc.)
Flowers- $1000
My dress- $4000
Bridesmaid Dresses- $1200 (There were 4)
Suits- $1500
Photographer- $1200
Video- $1500
Cars $2500
Shoes, Jewellery n Accessories- $1000
Hair- $475 (For 5 of us)
Make Up- $275 (For 5 of us)
Bridesmaid & Groomsmen Gifts- $1500

They r just the major things. There were many other small details. We were very lucky my parents wanted to pay for the entire wedding!

4babycinos
20-03-2008, 19:27
Our wedding 8 yrs ago cost $12k which we didnt pay for and was definately not 'my' day - whole other story :rolleyes: and my honeymoon cost $11k.

I'm already planning my 2nd wedding in 2yrs time and have budgeted for $50k including our second honeymoon :D

Melly_11
20-03-2008, 19:28
We spent $2,500.

We did it at the registry office (which is alot nicer than we imagined) and then had the reception at a lovely resturant/bar on Southbank. My brother works there so we got that all cheaper. The food was just DEVINE and it was so much better than any other wedding I had been to. We had three courses.

It was small, about 50 people and it was just...so...us!!! :D

shed
20-03-2008, 19:32
I always wonder how people decide what to cut corners on.

I went to one wedding where the guests were asked to pay for their own meals but the bride was wearing a six thousand dollar dress.

I don't think I would have done that. I would prefer to feed the guests and be a bit more clever in sourcing the dress I think.

I dunno.

I don't think I would have the balls to do that :detective:

She looked lovely though. Well, ya would! :laughing:

Melly_11
20-03-2008, 19:33
I wore a nice comfy dress. It cost me $60 lol! Rick wore a suit which cost us $100 all up.

I think if u want presents then dont expect people to pay!

20-03-2008, 19:36
We didn't spend much at all.

I paid for my dress, hubby paid for his suit. The Church paid for the certificate. And my MIL paid for the reception.
So just for the clothing less than $1000.
We got some wedding gift money so we could have a honeymoon.

4babycinos
20-03-2008, 19:45
I went to one wedding where the guests were asked to pay for their own meals but the bride was wearing a six thousand dollar dress.

My MIL said she went to a wedding were the people were quite well off - but really cheap.... Her dress was $10,000 and after the ceremony they had a Jiffy Food van come buy and people could buy food if they wanted to :laughing:

Pretty sad really :confused:

Izy
20-03-2008, 19:56
Ok... I said under $5000 but when I added it up... hhhmnnnn

DH suit $150
Celebrant $200
Cars Free (daddy has a red valiant :D)
Photographer$1190
Flowers Free (a friend did it cause we weren't going to have any)
Fans for the girls (in lieu of flowers) $10 (had 5 bridesmaids, only $2ea)
Reception $4000 (aprox 85 people)
Flower girl $10 (dress from best and less)
Invites $150
Cake $30
Bonboneries $70
Rings $500
My dress $500
Gifts for wedding party $52
Centrepieces $99.50 (from bunnings LOL)

Total $6961.50

We had to pay for the whole thing ourselves too. The Honeymoon was a trip to France (and some driving around Europe) for a month and cost us about $6000 including all our spending. (So good to have family over there! LOL)

If you wanna see wedding pic's http://s239.photobucket.com/albums/ff49/labelleisabel/Wedding/
And if anyone wants to buy the candle thingy's let me know.

janiceg
28-03-2008, 00:40
We eloped to Thailand and it was beautiful! and cheap:yelclap:
you can see our video http://www.youtube.com/user/janiceingerman

Verdi
28-03-2008, 07:37
I got married 11years ago Tomorrow! We spent $30,000 we both are from really big families so we had 300 guests we paid for a really nice reception a big band which cost $1800.

Dress was $4000
We paid for the bridesmaids dresses ihad 5.
We paid for the groomsmen suits

We a had the lincoln limousine $2000
Photograph and video were about $3500, he is now $10,000:eek:

Flowers were around $500 as the recpetion provided flowers and candlelabra so i only had to pay for the bouquets and corsages.

Invites were expensive (can't remember price)

Ring were about $5,000, mine $4000 his about $1000.

Hotel for the night was $600 a night x 2

We had our honeymoon in Thailand, Bangkok, phuket and Koh Samui

We did not have an engagement party i didn't want one so we decided on a big wedding and it was great!!

I loved my Wedding, but i think as i have gotten older i really love the small intimate weddings ( which there was no way i could have)
Cocktail weddings are wonderful and don't nearly cost as much.

A Party of Five
28-03-2008, 16:04
Our wedding cots under $500 :yes:

I think people forget that the wedding is just one day, and a marriage is for the rest of your life.

If people spent more time getting ready for marriage than a wedding I think a lot more of us would still be married.

Lila
28-03-2008, 16:10
i said 10-20k, but adding up now....
i think we spent more likely around 30k's....

if i'd do it again
no way far too much stress, i'd go easy peasy relaxed, without THE dress and everything....

Zandersmum
28-03-2008, 16:11
We're getting married on the Gold Coast in November and our rough estimate is just over $20 000, then our honeymoon with spending money will probably make it come to about $30,000 all together.

Sometimes I feel a bit silly talking to my friends (theres about 6 of us who will be married all in the space of 2.5 years) comparing prices because they budgeted sooooo much, but I know I won't regret it in the end. We haven't gone too extravagant, we have actually cut out a few things we wanted like fireworks and special finishing touches like that. I can't wait!!! :smiliedance:

Lila
28-03-2008, 16:20

I think people forget that the wedding is just one day, and a marriage is for the rest of your life.

If people spent more time getting ready for marriage than a wedding I think a lot more of us would still be married.

you said that very lovely it is SOOO true,
there are soo many people having THE wedding nowadays...and 50% of marriages get divorced ...

get a grip. i mean i was the same, don't get me wrong i had to have THE wedding, although i was laid back a bit...but man. looking back i should just have gone to a pub/park/friends house and have a great day.....:goodvibes:

jacks mum
28-03-2008, 16:29
$9500 that was 8 years ago and we had 125guests.

we're both chefs so it was sort of self catered (friends of ours did the food) which was all cost price

alcohol was bought through work incl some spirits/kegs of beer and premium beer, all cost price + 10%

we had a church wedding but hired a hall for the reception as we wanted all our family and their kids there.

staff were from places we worked

it was the best day except my dad was too sick on the day to make it but he did see photos. Lucky he was still with us to see that much.

MumtoJordan
28-03-2008, 16:38
$6000 for us and we are finding it really hard to get under that not having a lot of the things that we want. We can't have a honey moon cos we cant fit it into the price even. Say the word wedding and everything tripples in price!

fra99le
28-03-2008, 16:42
Our was under $5000, we had 180 guests, hired a wedding marquee and had ceremony down by the river and reception in the marquee in my inlaws paddock (prettied it up in the weeks before the wedding a bit lol) and had a spit roast for tea, got Lamb, beef and chicken, ( you could pick 3 meats from lamb beef pork or chicken) roast potatoes and pumpkin, carrots and peas, 5 salads, 5 different desserts, tea and coffee and they did all the washing up for $11 a head!!!!!!! Couldn't be better! People had to go and get their own meals, but you could eat as much as you wanted, and there was STACKS left over, which they slice up and leave for you (which we didn't actually realise and didn't know why the dogs weren't hungry at the BBQ next day, but they had filled up on all the left over sliced meat!!!!), and with my family being rather large didn't want to pay lots per head as I wanted to have as many of them there as possible. It certainly is possible to do things on the Cheaper side of expensive, rather than the dearer side of expensive (as it's all still expensive in reality! lol)

MyFourCubs
28-03-2008, 16:59
Ok, I confess - ours was a wedding that was over $30K and that does not cover engagement ring or wedding rings or honeymoon. But we paid for it ourselves and we were at the time at least - high earning professionals in our 30s without kids.

You only live once!

I don't think you should have to defend yourself!:) Our wedding will only be max $12000 but we are on single income with 3 kids. I would not feel right about spending anymore on a wedding but our situation is very VERY different to yours was!! It's a completely individual choice and I'm really glad you had a great day!!!

At the end of the day, reality is even 30k is cheap for a wedding. I bought cosmo bride where almost all of the 100 weddings featured were well over that! Couldn't justify it but there you go... crazy!!

Sara

Sara

shed
28-03-2008, 19:57
I agree, no need for anyone to defend themselves, wedding are very personal and everybody has a right to have their dream day!

On a personal note, my wedding is exactly what I want, I had to convince DP which took awhile, he wanted a big family 'do', but now he is happy with what we are doing - running away to get married on the beach. I think its so romantic and intimate and special and I am much more excited about it than I was about having the big fluffy event we were originally planning. I found the thought quite terrifying and it stalled in the initial planning stages last year because of this. It was never going to happen, or if it did, I probably would have been miserable.

My dream wedding is costing around five grand instead of around twenty five grand for my nightmare one, lol, and I am much happier. We haven't cut corners on anything, we didn't need to because thats all it costs for everything!

Some people want the big event, some people want the small intimate event, its a Big Day no matter what you decide to do, so it should be how you want it, if possible.

Saying that though, um, I think my family are going to be a bit p!ssed off because we are telling them afterwards, heh, bit scarey.

tootiredtosleep
28-03-2008, 20:12
Ours cost $1000 max - that included celebrant, spit roast in the backyard, my dress, hair and makeup, 1 week honeymoon, invites, cake, wedding night in motel, photos etc. It was just parents, brothers, sisters, and nephews, the rest of my family were interstate and understood that we wanted something easy.

I have no regrets at all ... we lived in a small town where I didn't have the chance to spend much.

Kanne
28-03-2008, 20:50
We spent approx $14,000 which included honeymoon for two weeks - driving along great ocean rd and to the barossa valley for about two weeks. Garden Ceremony and reception centre (three course alternate meals and alcohol included with canapes on arrival) - approx $5500 for 60 people. The flowers were about $400, the cake about $300, my dress was about $2000, cars about $500 (we only got one - the boys didn't need transport as they stayed at the resort the night before the wedding), photography about $2500, gifts to bridal party $400. Made own invites and bombonierres - supplies $50-$100 approx.
It went absolutely perfect and was all that i could've dreamed of and a little bit over budget (originally $10k), but parents paid for reception in the end and have just given us money for the balance now, three years later, that they have some money. The only thing we could;ve saved on was possibly my dress, but i loved it.
The photos were worth it. Oh and my husband also bought his suit approx $400, plus $100 to hire shirt and vest etc.
Saying all this, my cousion got married a couple of years ago and had twice the no of guests and it cost less than half of ours. But it was a buffet at a scungy old club, but they enjoyed it and this is the main thing, if the couple who married enjoyed it, thats all that matters, it is your wedding after all, and hoepfully the only one you will ever have, so do what you both want and not what you think other people would like. Goodluck with it all.

Starlet
28-03-2008, 21:37
I wanted a cheap wedding, but all the little things add up.

Including everything but a honeymoon, ours was around $15k.

LisaS
28-03-2008, 21:41
Hello
We just got married 2 weks ago...We had our wedding at Daydream Resort & Spa on the whitsundays, and it was beautiful. The actual wedding itself only cost $3700 which included flowers, celebrant, wedding coordinator, 3 nights accom full buffet brekkie daily.
The total cost was $14000 if you add up the rings, dress, suit, kids outfits, invites 2 weeks honeymoon at cairns/port douglas etc etc, that was everything from go to whoa.

korahblue
28-03-2008, 21:42
Ours was around $16,000 including the rings but no honeymoon

I nearly dropped dead the other day when a girl at work told me she is spending $11,000 JUST ON FLOWERS!!!! **** me, they have more money than brains

MonkeyMum05
28-03-2008, 22:29
Our wedding didn't cost much at all... we payed for the celebrant, a beach permit... DH's mum bought a cake, mine bought some champagne... and that was about it?! :valentine:

Queen
29-03-2008, 01:47

This is my kind of budget:Dwe have just brought/buying a house so we do not have lots of spare cash.
If you do not mind me asking, can you tell me about your wedding?;)

A Party of Five
29-03-2008, 11:28
This is my kind of budget:Dwe have just brought/buying a house so we do not have lots of spare cash.
If you do not mind me asking, can you tell me about your wedding?;)

Sure can do :yes:

We got married on St Patrick's Day back in 2002. We got married in my Mum's house out the front in her beautiful garden right near the wisteria covered arch way and the fish pond. We had a celebrant ($100) and my great uncle Harold gave me away.

We had our best friends as our witness, Jim wore a black suit and Mel had a black lovely dress that she had brought of the Hobart Cup. My hubby already had a black suit so he just wore that I hired a dress for ($100), I already had shoes to go with the dress.

I did my own make up as I'm a beautician/hairdresser and my best friend Mel is also a hairdresser/beautician did my hair. My little cousin Georgia had been in a wedding the year before so she wore the same dress as my flower girl.

I collected rose petals from my Mum's garden and Georgia gave then to our family and friends in paper cone's we had had made to toss after the ceremony. We had some photo's (free) taken and drank some champagne (gift).

When we went in side and we all got changed out of our good clothes put our shorts and t-shirt's on and went out the back for a BBQ!

Most of the $500 was spend on food and drinks which we had more than enough for the 25 family and friends we had. We had a square chocolate mud cake cover with white icing with our name's in gold icing on it with little green shamrocks in the corners. It's also had a green ribbon around the sides finished of with a bow.

We did not have a honey honeymoon as Isabelle was only 18 days old.

:bee:

Queen
29-03-2008, 11:34
YummyMummy that sounds wonderful

My Mum will make our cake, and my dress:D I would like to find a celebrant for $100 though..I have got quotes $300-$1600:eek: so $100 would be lovely.

As for food and drinks, we will probably end up with BBQ or spit roast. And guests well I guess there will be about 20, none of DP's family will fly over for it:(and I only want close friends and family.

A Party of Five
29-03-2008, 11:37
I would like to find a celebrant for $100 though..I have got quotes $300-$1600:eek: so $100 would be lovely.

:laughing:It was six years ago, $30 for th licence and $70 for him!

Queen
29-03-2008, 11:45
:laughing:It was six years ago, $30 for th licence and $70 for him!
That is a massive price hike though? What will they do today that thye did not do 6 yesrs ago???

Queen
30-03-2008, 02:48
I am so excited, DP is actually 'helping' plan our wedding:valentine: wow....

He says I can spend as much as I want:DI told him, as little as possible lmao.....

Hoping to keep it under $3000

Izy
30-03-2008, 08:55
It costs alot more for the celebrants now. They pay to lodge the intention of marriage, to get the certificate, the licence etc etc. :no:

But you can still have something REALLY BEAUTIFUL and special for not too expensive! Good Luck- and if you get stuck for ideas we're all here to help you, your DP and your budget :yes:

Mahjong
30-03-2008, 09:45
We got married in April 2004. Including the honeymoon in Noosa for a week, our wedding was $3000. That was with 35 guests. We married in a beautiful garden in Surfers Paradise, had a lovely seafood lunch :thumbsup:

Cake and flowers were the most expensive things on the list we had! Cake was $120 (chocolate sponge) and the flowers were $300. My aunt is a professional hairdresser, no cost there, my other aunt did my makeup, Daniel's dad worked with a guy who loved photography as a hobby and did a fantastic job, all he wanted is a seafood lunch for his work :laughing:
My uncle filmed the wedding on video, again, no charge and the video is awesome!

My dress would you believe was only $50 :eek: It is a red cocktail dress, I love it. My tiara was $30
The boys wore black pants and shirts, with DH wearing a Red tie to match my dress and his best man wearing a white tie to match my bridesmaid's black and white dress she wore.

Everyone commented on how lovely the colours stuck out in the photos in the green garden. It was a "gangster" colour wedding they called it :laughing:

RHJ
30-03-2008, 10:37
I got married 6 years ago now. Ours cost around $10,000.
We had a morning wedding (10.30am) then a lunch reception. We saved $30 per head just by having a lunch reception rather than a night time one. Also meant that we weren't hanging around all day getting stressed etc, And all the rellies went back to my parents house for a casual catch up that night.
Reception was $4500 (55 per head and $100 for using the chapel)
Dress was $880
Photographer was $600
Bridesmaids were about $600 (we chose to buy them for them!)
Minister was $200
Cake- My mum made for us
Make up my aunt did
Can't remember all the rest of the costs now! LOL

But we had NO dancing! HAHA much to everyones disgust, as we are not dancing people, and it was a day thing anyway, not a night time one!!

A Party of Five
30-03-2008, 10:43
I am so excited, DP is actually 'helping' plan our wedding:valentine: wow....

He says I can spend as much as I want:DI told him, as little as possible lmao.....

Hoping to keep it under $3000

I think you can have a really lovely wedding with that budget :yes:

Myztik
30-03-2008, 10:49
ooh Yay Rowie.. I'll patiently await my invite :p

Queen
30-03-2008, 21:25
ooh Yay Rowie.. I'll patiently await my invite :p

;) It will be small ceromony, large party:D come one come all....be nice to meet you:p

SpecialMumma
30-03-2008, 21:44
I nearly dropped dead the other day when a girl at work told me she is spending $11,000 JUST ON FLOWERS!!!! **** me, they have more money than brains

WOW! Id LOVE to be able to spend 11 grand on flowers! lol

Our wedding was around 14-15 thousand mark, and that was a church wedding, and reception for 100 guests. We were lucky though, the caterer was a friend so we got a full smorgusboard for $20pp and the hall was free because my step father runs the club lol.

cindye
04-04-2008, 11:38
We saved a lot of money with our wedding because friends of ours work in the industry and were very generous with their time and resources.

DH and I made the invites.
DH's friend did the video.
BIL did pics (he's a professional wedding photographer)
Friends did flowers (at cost price)
My best friend's Mum was our celebrant.
My cousin did all the chair covers and decorations.

But, we paid a lot for live music (string trio for ceremony, band for reception), food was expensive $75/head + drinks and we still ended up spending close to $20,000, plus honeymoon!!! Luckily we had lots of help from our parents, and although it cost lots of $ I wouldn't have changed a thing!

Carla84
07-04-2008, 18:41
my wedding cost about 8 k

i cut all corners i could.
* got married on a cliff $60
* had the reception at my mums pub (food was like $15 a head)
tab and food - $1500
* cake i went overboard on. $600 BUT it was a cake we both fell in love with.
* flowers and decos including tables, chairs, linen etc - $2000
* dress $500
* hair and make up and nails,me and two bridesmaids
plus all the other little bits.

Myztik
07-04-2008, 20:42
;) It will be small ceromony, large party:D come one come all....be nice to meet you:p

:laughing: I like the sounds of that.

Queen
07-04-2008, 22:10
:laughing: I like the sounds of that.

;) Bring the kids, they can all play together....
Might have to have coffee first....just in case you are too normal....:p

Myztik
07-04-2008, 22:38
:laughing: what's this 'normal' you speak of? :p

coffee sounds good :D Just gimme a yell when you're down my neck of the woods next.

Queen
08-04-2008, 12:52
:laughing: what's this 'normal' you speak of? :p

coffee sounds good :D Just gimme a yell when you're down my neck of the woods next.

June long weekend;)

bethwana
09-04-2008, 11:59
After reading what other people spend on their wedding I think we went a little overboard!

We spent approx $17K on our wedding and then another $11K on our Honeymoon (inc spending money)

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
09-04-2008, 23:08

i totally agree, and was talking to my mum the other night and said that if dp were to propose anytime soon, we would porbably just find a really nice park or the beach and have a celebrant and any of the family that were here on the given date and get married....i would just want a nice dress and DP a nice outfit.

Most of all i really want myself, DP and our DS, with a celebrant....when we can afford to have a proper wedding (if we decided to) then we would do it later down the track when we could afford it.

marriage isn't about what a wedding costs, marriage is for a lifetime....and that is what the day is about :yes:

MountainGirl
14-04-2008, 15:16
Well over $30K for the venue, photographer, flowers, makeup artist etc,..

$6.5K for my dress
$2K for DH's suit
$1500 for my shoes

plus rings, Jazz Band, String Quartet, celebrant, car, etc,...

$50K +,.....

Queen
14-04-2008, 21:14
:o I am hoping to keep ours under $3000:D

joy2me
15-04-2008, 09:43
We eloped to Thailand and it was beautiful! and cheap:yelclap:
you can see our video http://www.youtube.com/user/janiceingerman

:flowerz:I can see why that is the wedding of your dreams - that is just beautiful - thats exactly what I want to do and dp wants to go to Thailand - could you pm me some details as to how I could go about it?? I love that!

Me
15-04-2008, 14:16
Ours was $9000, inc honeymoon, hair, make-up, photography, celebrant, venue hire, shoes, everything.

Of that, $2500 was my dress & $500 was DH's new suit.

We had 32 people at the reception inc ourselves, while we had our photo's done we provided a 'nibblies' and drinks time for our guests.

I was pretty happy with what we spent.

blackdog
18-04-2008, 14:30
Ours would have been about $5000, I think. I thought I did brilliantly, as my sister got married the same year and hers cost twice as much.

I lashed out on the food....we had a fantastic buffet at venue in a bushland location,(at my sister's wedding she insisted that everyone lash out on dressing formal, and then the food was rubbishy alternate drop RSL style mush...yuk!) and the photographer...because what has to last the longest? What do you show your kids/grandkids? I thought having a proper photographer was important to record the event.

My Dad got the dress fabric wholesale...the bridesmaids and I all wore red...and it wasn't that expensive anyway...it was a satin back crepe. A friend of the family made my dress, and the bridesmaids had friends/relatives or dressmakers make theirs.

We didn't have special cars, or anything. My hubby worked for B&W so we had taxis.

Both wedding rings are plain 9ct bands...after all, it's just a symbol, and it's not as though I would sell it...even if you have an expensive one you can never get your money back by selling it.

Things I think are a waste of money....bows on the backs of chairs, paying extra for coloured napkins, table centres and extra decorations that are just going to get chucked out.

Something I have learned since....never tell the hairdresser that your set is for a wedding! Just say you are going to a formal event. It will not cost as much! I think the same applies for the cake.

In hindsight, I would rather have the money put straight on the mortgage, but when you have two incomes and no kids these things don't seem nearly as expensive.:o

michelleR
18-04-2008, 20:52
Our wedding was one of the over 30K ones.. only just over though!

It was a few years ago but cant remember the exact costs of everything. I didn't cut corners with the photographer/videographer (as most ppl here have also said!). We did go 'all out' but we also had a lot of help.

I see your point mummy of 5, but my husband and I saw it as an investment, as the wedding itself was a symbol of our future together! We are glad we did it exactly how we wanted because we will always remember it as 'our perfect wedding'. Everyone is different :).

MrsO
18-04-2008, 22:27
$50k + incl honeymoon and rings. I don't regret a thing! We were intending to pay for it ourselves but at the last minute FIL chipped in about $30k. And it's not like we went overboard with everything. An aunt made our cake, we only had one attendant each, I wore ballet slippers :laughing: (by choice). What we did get for our money was a gorgeous weekend away in Margaret River with our guests and we had a fabulous time!

It does bother me a little when people say, in relation to spending a lot of money, 'It's not about the day, marriage is for a life time', or insinuate that people who spend a lot of money don't really consider the reality of marriage, because this is so far from the truth for us. I completely respect someones decision to spend $500, $1000, or $15,000, and understand the appeal of doing so. I just hope that the same courtesy is extended to me.

our little treasures
18-04-2008, 22:50
Mrs O you must have had all the trimmings. God 50k:eek: Our wedding cost around $10,000 and that was very cheap as we got a great deal on the reception as we had it on a Monday. I cut back everywhere I could:yes: but still wanted a nice wedding. DH and I paid for all of it but mum made my dress (I paid materials and trimmings) and they paid for the apartment for our honeymoon for a week. DH's mum gave $250 from memory so we paid for the rest. We had a loan of 4k that we paid off when dh finally sold his studebaker.

quaver
26-04-2008, 16:06
You can spend endless amounts on a wedding.!But some of the nicest I have been to have been close friends that have spent under 10k. I went to a wedding recently that would have cost a bomb! It was the worst wedding i have ever been to. It was on the harbour and I know that they had 200 guests at $200 a head. That is only the food! It was such a fake wedding and she was such a bridzilla!
Anywhoo, ours was 15k. We could have done it for a lot less but we wanted 150 people so the food and drinks is where most of the money went. You can have a great reception place with less people and you dont have to spend a fortune on decorations. Simple is often the elegant. The dress does not have to cost a fortune either. The rings were our priority. You are going to be wearing them forever!
If you want to get married dont let money stop you. The moments i look back on for my wedding day cost nothing! Walking to the alter with my parents either side of me, seeing my husbands face beam when he said I do and standing with my new husband by the waters edge when we sneaked a moment alone on the day.
good luck

Queen
27-04-2008, 18:35
The moments i look back on for my wedding day cost nothing! Walking to the alter with my parents either side of me, seeing my husbands face beam when he said I do and standing with my new husband by the waters edge when we sneaked a moment alone on the day.
good luck

:valentine:Awww those sound like the best bits.:hugs:

BlakeNatsMum
27-04-2008, 18:40
Ours cost us around $12,000 and it was a beautiful day, not overly extravagant, it was very intimate!.. Close family & friends!

Skittles
27-04-2008, 18:50
All up we spent about 15000 on our wedding. That was everything. Reception dress etc. If i could do it again i would do something much smaller and simpler.

27-04-2008, 18:59
About $10000 maybe just under.

mummybunny
27-04-2008, 19:00
from our calculations our wedding will coat no more then $12,000 we are looking more at $9,000 so hopefully we dont go over..

quaver- i hope i can have all those beautiful moments you mentioned gosh im so excited and what you said just gave me butterflies..:goodvibes:

Yummy_Mummy
27-04-2008, 20:35
i was wondering if everyones price includes there honeymoon or that will be an extra? because that wasnt included in our total hehe