View Full Version : Hedges......

*Country Bumpkin*
29-03-2006, 16:22
Ok so I have my first appointment with my midwife tonight and Im wondering what to do.... Do I shave or not.....:confused:

Of course I did my legs....but do I trim or parltly shave the ummm hedge or leve it au-natural??

So it got me thinking...what do you/did you do for dr's appointment and while preggi?

I dont want to be all "bushy" but i dont want to be "naked" either so Ive gone with half- half........ partly shave LOL:laughing:

So girls what do you all do????

Mamaduke
29-03-2006, 16:25
I got all worried about this too for my first ob's appointment.
Much ado about nothing!
Went to the trouble of making sure everything was 'neat & tidy' and he didn't even look...such a shame really...the effort I went to & all!!!:rolleyes: ;)

the_queen
29-03-2006, 16:28
hmmmmmm during my first pregnancy, I only had the ole vaggy exam once, at 40 weeks, to check if I was dilated yet. So far with this one, haven't had one yet (but scheduled for a strep b swab next week, 36 weeks).
Has your MW told you she'll be doing a VE adele? I would think there's no real reason to do one at your stage of pregnancy :confused: .

drewid
I didn't get "looked" at until I was about 30 weeks!

They've seen it all....I really don't think they would care much, you know? Its not a beauty contest :D

I went for neat and tidy - just so I didn't feel like a bogan. :)

*Country Bumpkin*
:laughing: u crack me up......

Midi probably wont look either- Il have to remember to be neat and tidy next week though having a Pap WOOOHOOOO fun!!

tanni_83
29-03-2006, 16:33
i dont get enough alone time now with elise so mine gets maintained prolly very few months lol :eek:

29-03-2006, 16:49
I trim, and that's what I've been doing. I don't like to mow the whole yard, I get all itchy :S

Cinta
29-03-2006, 16:56
I trim, and that's what I've been doing. I don't like to mow the whole yard, I get all itchy :S

Same with me! :)

Cupcake
29-03-2006, 17:00
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

I got a wax(from a friend) but made no difference, maybe shave a pattern(like a heart) & see if she smiles, then we will all no if there mind if just set on the job at hand. LOL

I got a wax the day before I was due and DD came 2 weeks later :banghead:

giggles
29-03-2006, 17:06
Take it off!

Not that you'll need to, she probably won't be having a peeksy just yet but you'll feel so much tidier! And the chances of getting out of the house to get it done after bub is born are slim so make the most of it now :D

Something I would never put off before and now if I do get out on my own, I would prefer to sit with a very long cup of coffee somewhere.

hummingbird
29-03-2006, 17:11
I am due in a week and haven't had below attended to in quite a few months. I figured if I couldn't see it why bother. But it was on the to-do-list leading up to the birth. Now the time has come and I was worried that a waxer wouldn't feel comfortable doing a g-string bikini on a 39 week pregnant woman (what do you think?). So I got out the old tub of Nads and cotton strips this afternoon for a quick tidy up and it's just too messy. I think I'm going to have to book in to fix up my rather poor effort.

MumsieMel
29-03-2006, 17:14
I am due in a week and haven't had below attended to in quite a few months. I figured if I couldn't see it why bother. But it was on the to-do-list leading up to the birth. Now the time has come and I was worried that a waxer wouldn't feel comfortable doing a g-string bikini on a 39 week pregnant woman (what do you think?). So I got out the old tub of Nads and cotton strips this afternoon for a quick tidy up and it's just too messy. I think I'm going to have to book in to fix up my rather poor effort.

I went and had my 1st Brazilian when i was 6 mths pg :eek: , no probs! :thumbsup:
They just wont let you lay flat on your back for too long :D

*Country Bumpkin*
29-03-2006, 20:08
kristy_ryan&?- I was told I would need to have a cervical emamination and while they were doing it they would do a pap.....HOWEVER seeing as Im going to the birthing CENTRE I dont need ANY of those horid boob exams or paps!!! HORRAY:smiliedance:

Ill tell ya what though Im still gald I did my umm "hedge" today...I hadnt done it for aaaaaaages and I like it:smiliedance:

Tam-I-Am
30-03-2006, 09:53
Hey just to let you guys know - you do the strep B swab yourself - they send you off to the loos with a kit and instructions and do it yourself - no-one did a VE on me until I was in labour!

I had all the very best intentions of being all "neat and tidy" for the big day, but this went out the window. Unfortunately on the day I was "au naturale" and DD was delieverd by the CUTEST doctor (male, obviously!!) I'm sure that's not what he was looking at...but....was still embarrassing! LOL:laughing:

Briannabear
30-03-2006, 10:58
Its not a beauty contest :D
That made me laugh! :laughing:

Briannabear
30-03-2006, 10:59
Dunno about you guys but when I got too big with my first pregnancy I couldnt trim myself - I had to get DH to help!! :o

the_queen
30-03-2006, 11:03
Also, any of you first-time mums who are worried about your hedge - you do realise you will poo during the pushing stage, right??

Veritas
30-03-2006, 11:35
Also, any of you first-time mums who are worried about your hedge - you do realise you will poo during the pushing stage, right??

This is my biggest fear about the whole process!! :(

Peaceangels
30-03-2006, 11:46
I wasn't worried about it where the ob. was concerned, but I did get a brazillion (with landing strip) towards the end purely for my own selfish reason's.

I knew I would be bleeding for 6-8weeks, during which time you cannot use tampons :eek: , so I figured it would be a bit easier to deal with without the jungle!:D

shed
30-03-2006, 12:38

bwah ha ha ha ha ha ha. Once again, the_queen takes the cake.

I had a friend who was more worried about that than any other part of the labour.

As for me, I couldn't give a rats if I poo. Its the least they should have to put up with if I am doing all the work :laughing:

I heard that they clean it up so quick that half the time you are not even aware of it?

the_queen
30-03-2006, 12:41
LOL shed, yeah IMO the husband should have to clean it up!:D

But yes they do clean it up pretty quickly. And any experienced MW or OB will have seen it a thousand times before.

Gives the med students a bit of a shock though!!!:laughing:

tanni_83
30-03-2006, 15:05
about the poo thing....lmao, when i was in labout i screamed out I NEED TO DO A BIG POOOOOOOOOO! :laughing: (talk about bringing back memories) and all the mw said was...well love if u need to go just do it. we'll handle the rest and that was what made me a bit :o lol oh well 10mths ago now. not to worry ;)

ButterflyKisses
30-03-2006, 15:39
here's a great :laughing: joke :laughing: for all you first time mum's who maybe a bit embarrassed :o at your first OB examination - think about this at the time and it will make you laugh and all your nerves will disappear (I hope)...

A lady was anticipating a visit to her gynaecologist later in the week, when she received a call from his office one morning. It seemed his appointments had to be rescheduled and she could take the opening he had in an hour and a half or wait until he returned from an unexpected trip that would mean waiting another month. She was eager to get it out of the way.

It was already 8:30 a.m. she'd just packed everyone off to school and work and the trip to his office took 35 minutes so she had no time to spare.

As most women do, she liked to take a little extra care with her hygiene when making such visits, but this time she wasn't going to have the luxury of time for the full effort.

She rushed upstairs, threw off her robe, wet a washcloth and gave herself a quick scrub in front of the sink with one hand, while I wrestled a brush
through my tangled hair. She tossed the cloth in the hamper, pulled on a dress, and hopped into the car and raced to her appointment.

They called her name soon after she arrived and she followed the nurse's instructions to disrobe, hop up onto the exam table and use the paper sheet for a cover-up. Her doctor had delivered her three children so the smile and greeting he gave her was customary. She was surprised to hear him say,"My, …we have taken a little extra effort this morning, haven't we!" But she didn't respond. When the exam was over, she sighed in relief and went home.

The rest of the day went normally. She did a little shopping, ran a few errands, straightened the house and made dinner. At 8:30 her daughter Julie was getting ready for her prom when she called down from the bathroom, "Mom, where's my washcloth?"

She told her to get another from the linen closet.

She called back, "No, Mom, I need the one that was here by the sink. It had all my glitter and sparkles in it."

As I was IVF I had a lot of vaggy ultrasounds and then when I got preggers another lot and then several examinations by my OB so I use to shave a bit to tidy it all up and now I regret it because it has made it heaps worse and I'm too much of a wuss to wax.

Ruby Slippers
30-03-2006, 15:39
Well i'm bare as can be , after i had my c-section i just shaved the rest off
and have been Bare ever since , i have no winter coat on for the cold days but i will be fine , and when i do fall pregnant again ,
i'm really going to try to keep it bare it just feels fresh
and easy to manage :laughing: .

suemp
30-03-2006, 15:40
for someone who is (well on leave ) as a nurses aid in a nursing home, and used to dealing with poo all day and both men and ladies never regions, trust us its the last thing on our mind whether its tidy or not, and you see that much poo that its just a mess that needs to be cleaned.
that said i prefer all natural just tidied up abit. cant stand the itch.

ButterflyKisses
30-03-2006, 15:41
hey gidday Ruby S - we posted at the same time - read my joke above :laughing:

Ruby Slippers
30-03-2006, 15:47
hey gidday Ruby S - we posted at the same time - read my joke above :laughing:
I love glitter and sparkles :laughing: That's soooooo funny
well that could be a nice Bedroom outfit :devil6:

shinebrite
30-03-2006, 16:00
Well Im usually a little school girl when it comes to down there HA HA HA HA and i recon its the BEST for AF so I will definalty be cleaning up before I go in for D-DAY cause I think it is SO much cleaner for me not because of what other ppl think.

Also i find it easier to clean up after we "do the deed" :eek:

OBTW I LOVE THE joke i will definalty b thinking of that when someone is looking down there next... hehehe

Ruby Slippers
30-03-2006, 16:11
Well Im usually a little school girl when it comes to down there HA HA HA HA and i recon its the BEST for AF so I will definalty be cleaning up before I go in for D-DAY cause I think it is SO much cleaner for me not because of what other ppl think.

Also i find it easier to clean up after we "do the deed" :eek:

OBTW I LOVE THE joke i will definalty b thinking of that when someone is looking down there next... hehehe
you crack me up :laughing: :laughing:

shinebrite
30-03-2006, 16:15
:D honesty is the best policy!!!

when i get it done, DH always says i look like a school girl!!! HAHAHA :shame: