View Full Version : Flights to Nz are getting ridiculous

Jax Tellers Old Lady
14-03-2008, 09:02
They sure arent making flights home any more affordable. We were looking at taking a trip home in June but our flights alone would be $2200. To me that seems like alot. Has anyone else found this to be the same. How often can you travel back?

Shakey
14-03-2008, 09:08
I go back on average every 6mths or so

you'll probably kill me when I tell ya what I got my last flights for :D

$31 each there and $1 back :D

in early 2006 I got flights for $31 :D

although in mid 2007 I had to pay about $230 each way, and in late 2006 about aug I payed about $230 but that was a emergency flight cause my cousin died

it is getting more and more expensive to fly back but then again its more expensive sometimes to fly from chch to auck then to fly from oz and back

*Chels*
14-03-2008, 09:08
Totally agree.We had a friends wedding to attend back in November,and we couldnt afford to all go so just DH went.
I havent been home for over a year and a half.
I really want to go over after baby is born,but it will prob be a grand just for me and DS:no:
Its just so stupid:crying:

Jax Tellers Old Lady
14-03-2008, 09:12
I go back on average every 6mths or so

you'll probably kill me when I tell ya what I got my last flights for :D

$31 each there and $1 back :D

in early 2006 I got flights for $31 :D

although in mid 2007 I had to pay about $230 each way, and in late 2006 about aug I payed about $230 but that was a emergency flight cause my cousin died

it is getting more and more expensive to fly back but then again its more expensive sometimes to fly from chch to auck then to fly from oz and back

Do you work for an airline?

Chels I hear ya it is ****. We havent been home for two years now also and Ds being over 2 is nearly full fare its crazy. They wonder why so many kiwis come and stay its because we cant afford the fare back:laughing:

prideNJoy
14-03-2008, 09:14
Yep the prices now are crazy. We had planned on going back over again this year so my family and friends could meet our DS, but it's just too pricey these days. :( Hopefully something good will pop up so we'll able to go this year. :fingerscrossed:

My dad is going to Phuket for 5 days, accomodation included, and also a breakfast, all for $1100!!! That's less than what we would pay just getting flights there and back to Auck. :banghead:

Jax Tellers Old Lady
14-03-2008, 09:16
I know what you mean. Ds has 12 cousins in nz and he is at the age where he would love to spend time with them. I wish they would all come here but thats not going to happen. When we first moved here we could get return fares for around $900 why cant they go back to that:hair:

NZMEL
14-03-2008, 09:22
Yep, I agree it is getting more expensive....but I find you just have to watch out for the special deals....earlier this week Emirates had a 24hour sale going - $165 each way incl fees...I thought that was a pretty good deal but we aren't heading back to NZ (for a Wedding) until Jan/Feb 09...I cannot stand their winter months anymore :laughing:

Shakey
14-03-2008, 09:24
Do you work for an airline?

nope don't work for a airline :no: I just for some reason jump online and there are good deals on, I couldn't believe the $1 fares though, couldn't pass them up, I missed out on $1 both ways though

Jax Tellers Old Lady
14-03-2008, 09:26
Yep, I agree it is getting more expensive....but I find you just have to watch out for the special deals....earlier this week Emirates had a 24hour sale going - $165 each way incl fees...I thought that was a pretty good deal but we aren't heading back to NZ (for a Wedding) until Jan/Feb 09...I cannot stand their winter months anymore :laughing:

Oh no way where was that advertised:hair:

Jax Tellers Old Lady
14-03-2008, 09:27
nope don't work for a airline :no: I just for some reason jump online and there are good deals on, I couldn't believe the $1 fares though, couldn't pass them up, I missed out on $1 both ways though

what sites do u use for checking those???

Jax Tellers Old Lady
14-03-2008, 09:29

I cant stand the winter months either but thats the only time we can go this year. I swore last time I would never go again in winter, If we make it back i will be investing in ski clothes just to wear around the house:laughing:

NZMEL
14-03-2008, 09:30
I have a habit of checking airline sites every few days atm, booking flights for family to come here to meet bubs in April, so I just saw it on their site, next time I see a good deal I will post it in here - I promise :thumbsup:

Jax Tellers Old Lady
14-03-2008, 09:32
I have a habit of checking airline sites every few days atm, booking flights for family to come here to meet bubs in April, so I just saw it on their site, next time I see a good deal I will post it in here - I promise :thumbsup:

That would be great thanks. what site did you see the emirates deal was that webjet??

NZMEL
14-03-2008, 09:44
Ummmmm...nup just the emirates site - it may have been the NZ one though.

I still cling to trademe quite a bit and it showed up as one of their adverts :D

Jax Tellers Old Lady
14-03-2008, 09:45
Ummmmm...nup just the emirates site - it may have been the NZ one though.

I still cling to trademe quite a bit and it showed up as one of their adverts :D

Thanks for that please pm me if you see specials again:wave:

NZMEL
14-03-2008, 09:48
Yep will do :D

Shakey
14-03-2008, 10:15
I just randomly check all the websites too, cause ya just never know when they have the really good deals, air NZ never advertise theirs which is who I flew with last time

i'll let ya know as well when I see some good flights, where abouts are ya wanting to head to in NZ?

Jax Tellers Old Lady
14-03-2008, 10:24
I just randomly check all the websites too, cause ya just never know when they have the really good deals, air NZ never advertise theirs which is who I flew with last time

i'll let ya know as well when I see some good flights, where abouts are ya wanting to head to in NZ?

Thanks for that I would appreciate it. I am looking at 29 june till the 9th of july. We can fly to any major airport as still have to connect to Nelson. So is it possible that one day flights on those dates could be different prices today than they will be tomorrow?

Shakey
14-03-2008, 10:29
So is it possible that one day flights on those dates could be different prices today than they will be tomorrow?

yip totally possible, i've hit that heaps of times, i've booked flights and then 2 days later they have a better sale, really bugs me lol, i'll let ya know when the sales are on for chch or wellington, i'm usually looking at the chch ones, cause thats where most of my family is

Jax Tellers Old Lady
14-03-2008, 10:31
yip totally possible, i've hit that heaps of times, i've booked flights and then 2 days later they have a better sale, really bugs me lol, i'll let ya know when the sales are on for chch or wellington, i'm usually looking at the chch ones, cause thats where most of my family is

What dates are you flying? I also dont mind auckland if I can get a good deal with emirates. I flew with them last time and they have the best service by far.

Shakey
14-03-2008, 10:34
I second the emerates comment, they are just fab to fly with

i've only just got back from NZ, I flew mid feb and came back last week

i'll keep a eye and ear out for ya

Jo9999
17-03-2008, 07:00
There will be a new airline flying Brisbane to Palmerston North next month - $199 each way, its Ozjet have a look at their website.
DH just flew to NZ for the weekend for work, cost the Company $1500 because it was a last minute booking.
Virgin Blue also have some good fares - can get for $164 each way out of peak season.
These fares include taxes, you just don't get fed but it is only a 3 1/2 hour flight.

melbryan
17-03-2008, 07:13
I went on Feb 9 and it was around $800 and in July last year $600. I reckon it's my rather large family who books on the same flight which bumps up prices.:laughing:

Once I booked for my brother and it was $900 and then when I looked half hour later on the same flight it was $700. I thought they weren't there before.

Jax Tellers Old Lady
17-03-2008, 11:11
I looked at Ozjet and on the dates we would travel it doesnt work out cheap at all after we pay for connecting flights. I will continue to check for specials each day. I am hoping that Air nz will have grab a seat fares again.

NZMEL
30-03-2008, 20:14
I have only JUST seen this about 5min ago....

EMIRATES have:
Oneway fares to AKL/CHCH AUD$99
Return fares to AKL/CHCH AUD$198

It does finish TOMORROW, and is valid most dates through to end of November (bugga, cos we aren't heading back until Feb 09!!!)

GO AND CHECK IT OUT IF YOUR HUNTING FOR AIR FARES RIGHT NOW!!!

Mel :D

prideNJoy
31-03-2008, 14:26
We got the heads up on Friday about Emirates cheap fares. 2 Adults, 1 child + 1 Infant for $795! (Return) Awesome! Off to Auck in the first week of June :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

QTB
31-03-2008, 14:33
wahooo Mel (jellybean!)- how exciting!! :D

We are also going back in feb 09... so Mel (NZMEL) when you find cheap fares then let me know :D

Does anyone know if there is any direct flights bris-hamilton anymore? i heard that freedom arent doing them any more!?

conorexnz
11-04-2008, 11:00
Hey ya, just thought I'd join in on this chat - Freedom doesn't exist anymore (as of 31 March) so that's why there's no direct to Hamilton flights anymore.

We're looking for flights to Chch from Townsville - looking at approx $1,800 rtn for 2A & 1 baby, gees, we won't be doing that trip too often, we also need to factor fares from Chch to New Plymouth (where my family is), but I hear they've got direct flights now which is awesome!!!

We flew back last Nov for 5 wks but did the drive down to Gold Coast, won't be doing that again esp with a baby - 1,600kms each way - takes the toll on anyone.

We were thinking maybe only going back every couple of years, at that price you've got to make it a worthwhile holiday so no quick trip over, will probably be about 4 wks - 2wks in Chch/Timaru and the other 2wks up north... add in all the expenses, not working etc and it adds up to be a huge cost... argh!!!

MyGuys
11-04-2008, 11:18
We're also hoping to go back in Feb/Mar 09 (depending on cost!!!)

Don't they still do the Gold Coast-Hamilton flight? We will probably look at that as a cheaper alternative to Auckland as its really only 45 minutes from there since they've done the road works.

Please let us all know if you do find cheap flights and where you found them.