View Full Version : living on $450-$500 a fortnight

chrysalis
12-03-2008, 23:49
I'm wondering if people think it is feasible to live on around $450 - $500 a fortnight, excluding rent/mortgage.

I'm a single mum giving birth to twins in June. I plan to breast feed and use cloth nappies. I don't drink, smoke, have pay TV, use a lot of petrol or have any credit card debt.

Is it feasible to plan to pay for food/bills and other living expenses on around $500 a fortnight? I'm just trying to get an idea if $450-500 is sufficient to cover living costs with 2 kids (not including rent/mortgage).

Any one have any ideas on that? Is it way too unrealistic?

OJandMe
12-03-2008, 23:54
sure you can :yes:

Do you have an Aldi near you??

I can do our whole fornightly shop for about $200.. and that's for 2 adults, 2 hungry toddlers and a baby.

Cloth nappies are an excellent way to go! And breastfeeding will be great! I reccomend getting a good twin feeding pillow. And be prepared to spend ALL DAY feeding.

It will be tight, but you can do it.

chrysalis
12-03-2008, 23:59
ok, that sounds good!

I think if I estimate fortnightly:

$200 for food
$120 for bills
$50 saving (for rates/rego etc)
$50 petrol
$50 clothes etc

that sounds feasible?

the_queen
13-03-2008, 00:07
Yep I think that sounds fine - and if you're in a city with public transport, the petrol part can be a "sometimes" if needs be.

I'm of the opinion that "you get by" regardless of whether you're on $2000 a week or $200 a week. You'll manage! Babies don't cost much - it's when they turn into school kids that you need the extra money.

Can I be nosey - is this money from centrelink, or work? And child support? Please be sure to look right into your entitlements because you may be eligible for a lot of stuff you haven't thought of. I don't think having twins entitles you to "multiple birth allowance" though (which is just ridiculous :laughing: ) but you will get double maternity allowance, so that should set you up pretty well.

:hugs: Twins!! *squeeee* I love twins!!! :D

Kizmet
13-03-2008, 00:16
you should be fine with that! It is great that you are planning on putting money away to savings as well!

It is definately do-able! i find the best way we manage is buy doing our woolies shopping online-sure you pay an extra $9.90 for shipping but you dont buy things you dont need aka no impulse shopping, buy fruit and veg online-fresher nicer and cheaper and shop around for bargains! All th ebest!

OJandMe
13-03-2008, 00:22
yeah... twins don't 'count' as 'multiple births' :rolleyes:

Stupids... believe me.. they'd class it as multiple if THEY'D have to carry them for 9 months...

This is our budget and it's for a family of 5.

Fortnight:

Food: $250
Petrol: $40
Bills: $120
Kindy: $60
Misc: $100 (this includes medicines, extra petrol, gifts for birthdays, etc)

And then basically whatever is left we save.

Freya
13-03-2008, 00:25
Well I survive on 400 a week including rent and I get by.:)

Just be smart with your money.:D

OJandMe
13-03-2008, 00:26
Oh... have a look at THIS (http://www.aussiefarmers.com.au/NSW/products.php). Look at the 'farm pack products'

would be VERY handy when you're a single Mummy with Twins..

It's the home delivered fruits and veggie packs done by Aussie Farmers. :thumbsup:

If you did something like that with your fruit and veg...

then you'd only be paying $70 a fornight for fruit and veg... then all you need is cupboard items, dairy, bread, and eggs.

Cordelia
13-03-2008, 09:53
I guess it depends how big your house is - how much your electricity/gas/phone bills are.... $120 wouldnt cover that for us by far. Also, how much you drive? We spend about $250 a fortnight. You know how much you spend. I'm sure you'd get some family assistance as well?

I agree with an above poster that you get by no matter what you're on. we have been struggling for 18 months and jsut have a lifestyle where we dont spend and do everything we can to save money. Just got the car put on gas yesterday!

Lila
13-03-2008, 10:07
I'm wondering if people think it is feasible to live on around $450 - $500 a fortnight, excluding rent/mortgage.

I'm a single mum giving birth to twins in June. I plan to breast feed and use cloth nappies. I don't drink, smoke, have pay TV, use a lot of petrol or have any credit card debt.

Is it feasible to plan to pay for food/bills and other living expenses on around $500 a fortnight? I'm just trying to get an idea if $450-500 is sufficient to cover living costs with 2 kids (not including rent/mortgage).

Any one have any ideas on that? Is it way too unrealistic?
very realistic!!
:yes:

chrysalis
13-03-2008, 11:06
thanks everyone for your input :) it's very reassuring, I was starting to panic

I guess it depends how big your house is - how much your electricity/gas/phone bills are....

I will be moving into the house in late April so don't know yet what the utilities may be. It is an average size home, no heating and with gas stove. I've been in share accomodation recently so pay only partial bills on utilities. I have no idea what a rough amount is per quarter on electricity, gas.

Also, how much you drive? We spend about $250 a fortnight

I will be walking distance to shops and schools, may need to drive very short distances of a few km a few times a week for shopping. Right now I spend on av. $50 a fortnight on fuel.

I'm sure you'd get some family assistance as well?

Including all benefits, assistance and so on, I will be getting around $500 a fortnight after paying the mortgage (but maybe slightly less).

It's a little nerve wracking, but like everyone has said - you get by on what you have. I'm not extravagent and can live quite simply. I will check those links, and great ideas. Thanks again! Great to have some reassurance and tips.

PunkyDiva
13-03-2008, 11:11
This site has lotsa great tips on budgeting etc

http://www.simplesavings.com.au/vault/

chrysalis
13-03-2008, 11:15
i was getting panicky because you do constantly hear how hard it is for people on the sole parenting payment to survive. E.g. eating only every second day, never going out, always scratching for a few extra $

It really made me start feeling like I may be living in poverty and noever have enough to get by ... but I do have around $450 a fortnight and that sounds sufficient for basic food & bills

LivinOnAPrayer
13-03-2008, 19:28
I used to be on centerlink, as well as my dh, with no intention to work or earn our own money. We smoked and drank and were always complaining we were poor. Since we've had DD and have 'grown up', we're living on not much more than a payment (after you take out the bills from debts we earnt ourselfs in our 'stupidity') and doing really well. It just depends on how you handle your money. Buying second hand or brandless, and not being silly with extras is all you need to know. I also agree with others that recomend paying monthly bills weekly, so you never need to scape up that money when the bills screaming at you.
Im sure you'll do yourself proud!

canberramomma
13-03-2008, 20:16
You can do it, I'm sure. Sounds realistic to me!