View Full Version : Do u get involved with your kids school/daycare??

bAaM
05-03-2008, 21:27
Do you????

Like ready in classes or helping the teacher or doing tuckshop ect......
same with daycare do u go in to help out??

I dont cause i cant take bub, but i see all the other mums and it makes me a little sad, but i have no one to watch bub and i dont want her in daycare.

BUT i do manage DS footy team so i think that makes up for it.

abibelsmum
05-03-2008, 21:30
My preschool has fruit duty where once a term we have to go in and cut up all the fruit for morning tea. I always take DD2 but I'm not sure how it will go much longer when she starts to walk.

05-03-2008, 21:36
I don't because Cobey goes there when I work.. :(

Refresh
05-03-2008, 21:41
Yes, I AM their school:D

MummaBear03
05-03-2008, 21:58
My daughter goes to daycare while I work, but next week she's going in when I'm not working and we're making vegetarian marshmallow bunnies with the whole group, and biscuits with easter egg and bunny cutters :)

4OnEarth1InHeaven
05-03-2008, 22:03
well i do but thats cause i work at the childcare centre my kids go to :yelclap:

Roxy
05-03-2008, 22:13
I did where I could with their daycare - but given the fact that they were at daycare because I had to work, my time was limited.

Now I am a SAHM, I am getting more involved with DD's school. I do reading with her class 2 mornings a week, volunteer to sort the lost property once a week, and have gotten involved with the P&C....

forbetoel
05-03-2008, 22:16
Yes, I AM their school:D

:yelclap:....where is your principles office?

Yes I am very involved, i do a lot around the school. To me it is very important.

Refresh
05-03-2008, 22:18
....where is your principles office?

LOL...um, right here...by the computer....very important duties to attend to on a regular basis....

forbetoel
05-03-2008, 22:20
LOL...um, right here...by the computer....very important duties to attend to on a regular basis....

LOVE it! ....you are one clever committed mum.:yelclap:

mum23girls
05-03-2008, 22:20
I used to when DD1 started school. I would help in the class room and even took DD2 when she was little.

Then I ran the tuckshop for three days a week when pregnant with DD3 and DD2 was in kindy. I also was doing the school fundraising for the P & C.

But now I just don't have the time. :no:

Helping around at school gives you a great way to get to know the teachers and also hear all the goss ;)and get to know how the school runs.

Refresh
06-03-2008, 07:48
LOVE it! ....you are one clever committed mum.

awwww:hugs::flowerz:

melbryan
06-03-2008, 08:26
Ds1 goes to pre-school and I have offered to help out as they have their easter parade next week. I put the other two boys in daycare while I spend some time with him at pre-school. This is uaully my day to myself but when I got back to work in 5 weeks I won't be able to.

sja
06-03-2008, 13:19
Why can't you take bub? Have the school said no or do you think it might be too hard? DD's kindy have said mums are welcome to bring their younger kids in with them, but I think I'll get mine looked after when I go in - I now have 3 younger kids, and when I hang around in the morning reading her a story before I leave, I'm so busy trying to control my 17mth old as he has now figured out how to open all the little paint pots! I feel a bit guilty that I'm not going in this term (as I have a newborn), but the kindy welcomes dads and grandparents to go in too, so I'm getting my MIL to do a morning so DD doesn't feel ripped off.

punkbaby
06-03-2008, 13:28
I do a bit at the school but as we have only been here 6 months its very clicky, i find that i am stepping back as they are all snobs LOL but with kinder i am involved, as i can take both bubs and dd3 as well when i am parent helper its heaps easier so i often stay one morning a week and do crafts etc.
Next week we are assigned the task of taking bubs and letting the kids watch a baby have a bath, i am scared lol, but the teacher said alot of them are the last born child from their family so they dont get to see these things, be interesting to see how it goes but apparently they listen to the teacher and do as told so they will only watch. Not sure how indie will go having her bath at 10am opposed to 5pm though but its blazes day so hope it works out well :)

bAaM
06-03-2008, 14:45
Why can't you take bub?

Cause its in school time and bub is really loud and all the kids try and play with her.

plus i cant really take a 1 yr old into a grade 1 class, I dont really have anyone that can watch her.

DS doesnt mind cause he doesnt want his sister screaming his class down, but i still feel bad that i'm not helping out.

our little treasures
07-03-2008, 11:11
DD has just started kinder and I have helped 2 days in the 3 weeks she has attended,. I have taken both my 2yr old and 7mnth old and even BF, nappy changed while there.

I think it's very important and I think more parents should be involved.]