Kristy1979
25-03-2006, 22:59
Well after trouble free pregnancy and what seemed like an eternity to my first born son, the day came for my elected C section. March 20th 06
We left home and drove by the fabulous Gold Coast beaches on the way to hospital just in time for morning sunrise and took photographs. ( i did this with my first sons birth also)
Monday Morning 6.30 am we were at the hospital ready to be admitted and anxiously await the arrival of our new baby.
After the initial wait in the maternity ward and pre op preping the DH and i were taken down to the theatre reception where he was suited up for the theatre.
I was taken in the theatre prep room and given my spinal block which i must say was absolutely brilliant compared with the epidural i had previously. The anethatist was fantastic, he gave me the local anesthetic before my drip went in the arm cause im such a sook about needles in the wrist etc.
After all that was done they took me into the theatre where i was meet by my DH, as soon as we all got settled they started on me with the ice to make sure i was completely numb, i was right up to the boob's which was funny.
The DH looked more nervous than me but all i kept saying to him was Make sure you take photo's over the curtain, i want to see our baby come out.
I couldn't feel any pain at all , only the pushing and pulling which wasn't uncomfortable or painful like the epidural.
So after about 10 mins they said that the baby was about to be born, i heard a pop sound as Coopers head came out and a big cry. The curtain was droped and i watched as they delivered him out. he was so beautiful.
I remember seeing this big set of boys bits and thinking "Its a Boy"
After that the DH cut the cord and he was wrapped up and brought straight over to me , he layed on my chest for 5 mins then they asked if it was ok to take him and get weighed etc. So off he went with DH and i layed there whist they stitched me up.
After that was all done i was in recovery for half hour then straight back up to feed bubs in the ward. He came in the same time i got back which was great , no waiting...
I breast feed him for a while and enjoyed some time with my husband and 2 sons. It was a great experience and everything has gone really well since.
I left hospital on day 2 as i have been ok to walk etc and feeding has been no worries.
My incision hasnt been painful, despite what i was expecting. I havent taken and pain medication since the Wednesday night when i came home. Other than the no house work etc things are normal.
Im so blessed to have 2 beautiful healthy sons, what a miracle.
Thanks for reading my birth story.
Kristy :p
We left home and drove by the fabulous Gold Coast beaches on the way to hospital just in time for morning sunrise and took photographs. ( i did this with my first sons birth also)
Monday Morning 6.30 am we were at the hospital ready to be admitted and anxiously await the arrival of our new baby.
After the initial wait in the maternity ward and pre op preping the DH and i were taken down to the theatre reception where he was suited up for the theatre.
I was taken in the theatre prep room and given my spinal block which i must say was absolutely brilliant compared with the epidural i had previously. The anethatist was fantastic, he gave me the local anesthetic before my drip went in the arm cause im such a sook about needles in the wrist etc.
After all that was done they took me into the theatre where i was meet by my DH, as soon as we all got settled they started on me with the ice to make sure i was completely numb, i was right up to the boob's which was funny.
The DH looked more nervous than me but all i kept saying to him was Make sure you take photo's over the curtain, i want to see our baby come out.
I couldn't feel any pain at all , only the pushing and pulling which wasn't uncomfortable or painful like the epidural.
So after about 10 mins they said that the baby was about to be born, i heard a pop sound as Coopers head came out and a big cry. The curtain was droped and i watched as they delivered him out. he was so beautiful.
I remember seeing this big set of boys bits and thinking "Its a Boy"
After that the DH cut the cord and he was wrapped up and brought straight over to me , he layed on my chest for 5 mins then they asked if it was ok to take him and get weighed etc. So off he went with DH and i layed there whist they stitched me up.
After that was all done i was in recovery for half hour then straight back up to feed bubs in the ward. He came in the same time i got back which was great , no waiting...
I breast feed him for a while and enjoyed some time with my husband and 2 sons. It was a great experience and everything has gone really well since.
I left hospital on day 2 as i have been ok to walk etc and feeding has been no worries.
My incision hasnt been painful, despite what i was expecting. I havent taken and pain medication since the Wednesday night when i came home. Other than the no house work etc things are normal.
Im so blessed to have 2 beautiful healthy sons, what a miracle.
Thanks for reading my birth story.
Kristy :p