View Full Version : March Chat for October08 Mums ~ 1st trimester is almost over!!!

YacinesMommy
01-03-2008, 05:15 AM
:flowerz:Good Morning Mamas:flowerz:

click here for last page of old chat (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=150584&page=51)

Lunar
01-03-2008, 07:05 AM
Morning.
I won't say good as I still feel absolutely awful!
I had to call the MIL for help yesterday. She came and fed the girls dinner and gave them a bth, got them ready for bed so all I had to do was put on a DVD in our bedroom and lay with them til we all fell asleep. When DH got home from work he put them in their beds.
I don't know what it is, but it doesn't feel good.
Might have to call for some help again today until DH gets home from work. I just don't have the energy for my 2 lil energizer bunnies! :no: I just want to crawl back into bed and stay there until tuesday.
I am getting pretty nervous about the scan. I want everything to be ok. Hearing of some losses of late are making my hopes sink. Please pray that I am one of the lucky ones:fingerscrossed:
I don't think I could cope with another loss.

I'm off now to veg on the lounge, wait for a reasonable hour to call Mum for help.

nic28
01-03-2008, 10:25 AM

I have just found out I am pregnant- due 30th October- not feeling too much nausea not as much as my first anyway- there is still plenty of time to come though so I am not counting my chickens...I am with you Lunar- I have had heaps of friends having losses - it scares me and every little weird feeling I panic...... hope your mum comes over to help!

Twiglet
01-03-2008, 10:50 AM
LL - Great news about the BT and good luck with the scan on Wed. :yelclap:

Nic28 welcome

Lunar - I know how you are feeling. I was a mess yesterday before my scan. Even shut my office door in work and cried for a good 5 mins. It'll all be fine. Nice to know you have people round you that can help

Mookie
01-03-2008, 03:20 PM

Jesslee83 - I'm so, so sorry to hear your sad news. You must be feeling pretty crappy at the moment. I hope you are ok - go easy on yourself & take each day, hour, minute a bit at at time. Big :hugs: to you.

Welcome Pinklily and Nic28. Glad you have joined us all in here!

Twiglet, it's great news all is going ok for you.

I think my m/s officially started this morning with :barf: the minute I got out of bed. I'm dreading it, it's anything like last time. Have to remind myself it's a good sign.

Off to do some maternity dress searches on ebay/internet - my brother is getting married in 8wks & I already have a small bump. I'll hopefully be able to find something nice that's not too expensive.

leannelizzy
01-03-2008, 03:20 PM

Lachie and I went shopping this morning. I was thinking I'd be able to get some new maternity bras at Big W. Unfortunately I went in and they had nothing above 18DD which is my normal size, so into Myer where I had to pay $60 each for three pairs of 18E Triumph Maternity bras. Hubby is not going to be pleased but I had to get them. My normal bras are getting quite tight as my (.)(.) are feeling fuller. I still had my four bras from when I was pregnant with Lachie but I keep thinking the elastic might have perished (they are 4 yrs old now) or they won't last the distance, and also with having to wear long sleeves and long pants at work, I get so hot and sweaty there is no hope of getting a second days wear out of them - even in cooler weather.

I feel exhausted now but i don't think Lachie is going to have an afternoon nap so I can't either. He was so good at the shops - didn't try to run away like normal which was a nice change.

Hope you are all having a good weekend.

Leanne

*Chels*
01-03-2008, 03:56 PM
I went shopping today too.Put some baby clothes on layby-2 singlets,a bodysuit,a pant and t-shirt outfit,2 sleepsuits,and some socks.
I already have a few other things so I am putting a ban on anything else!!!Or else I will end up with far too many clothes!!!
I had a horrible dream last night that I wasnt really pregnant!:(

PrincessT
01-03-2008, 04:21 PM
Afternoon all,
Well, I went shopping today too. Ive had a bee in my bonnet about buying a new douvet cover, so I went into Myer to have a look (and not holding my breath) and I found a gorgeous Peri douvet cover reduced from $299 to $200 and there was 50% off the marked price!!! Its gorgeous Egyptian Cotton and 500 thread count. I got the Euro pillow cases for $15 each... very very happy. I just need a change in our room and now it looks so fresh and gorgeous.
Baby clothes hmmmm I'm not buying anything....... until I know what I am having!!!!
Cant wait to kick back tonight with a dvd. I am exchausted!
Maternity bras... I think I'm not ready for one yet. I have a few 10c (i'm usually a 10b) from when my boobs were going down after breastfeeding Allegra and they are fitting nicely at the moment. I didnt need maternity bras until I was about 6 months last time around. I know they go on about underwire being unfavourable during pregnancy but it certainally didnt do me any harm, so I'm not worried again.
Is anyone else really blase this pregnancy? Perhaps its because its number 2 and I know what to expect?

QueensMum
01-03-2008, 05:01 PM
Hi there!

We took the girls to Manly today and had fish and chips by the water and then the girls went for abit of a run and played in the playground for awhile. All in all, a very lovely day!...but I'm now shattered and can't wait to order Pasta for dinner and watch the last recorded episode of "Underbelly"..

I'm definately going to be looking for Maternity Bras very soon. I was a 12DD before I had the girls and then I went up to a 16F (:hair:) and never came back down. My 16F bras are now getting abit too small. Good God!!! I hope I don't have to go up to G(inormous)!!

I have my first scan next Thursday (7wks3days) and like you Lunar, I'm a little freaked out about it. In my mind I'm sure that it'll be all fine but there is always that little voice of doubt that keeps rearing it's ugly head... We just need to keep the little Mantra up.

It will all be fine...

Chant with me....:flowerz::flowerz:

*Chels*
01-03-2008, 05:19 PM
IT WILL ALL BE FINE PLP!!!:yelclap:
Wow looks like we all went shopping hehe.I am not finding out what I am having,so I am just buying unisex-just a few things!Then will do more shopping after bubs is born.
How come everyone is having scans so early???
I have just been to DR,had bloods and thats it.I am STILL waiting to hear if I am into birth centre!!
How many scans do you have?I had 2 last pg and thats only coz my dates were 2 weeks out and I had to go back.Do you have to pay for scans?And how do you get them?

QueensMum
01-03-2008, 05:26 PM
Hey there Chels,

I need a nickname for you now!! PLP indeed!!! (actually it's sorta growing on me now!!) :laughing:

We went through IVF for both pregnancies so maybe that has something to do with the number of scans that we get. I looked back at my Pregnancy Record book from when I had the girls and I had first scan (transvaginal) at about 7 weeks and then second scan (transvaginal) at 9 weeks and then the normal Ultrasound at 12 weeks / 19 weeks (I think I got another one done after that but I haven't recorded it).

The transvaginal ones are just done in the Obstetrician's office and cost just his normal visit charge.

Lilys*mummy
01-03-2008, 05:52 PM
Hi Everyone! :wave:
Just wanting to introduce myself....My name is Jade & I'm already mum to a beautiful, but very active daughter Lily who will be 3 in April.
We are expecting bub #2 on the 17th of Oct.:smiliedance:. I'm looking forward to chatting to you all. Hope things are going well for everybody.... J.

PrincessT
01-03-2008, 06:12 PM
Hi Jade - welcome to the group!
Chels - Ive not had a scan yet either. I have my first at my OB when I go on the 13th. I'll then book in for the NT the week after.

leannelizzy
01-03-2008, 06:56 PM
Chels - I think you will find that all of us who are having 7 week scans needed a little assistance to get us to this point (ladies, please correct me if I am wrong ;) ). From what I can gather it is a normal part of the pregnancy monitoring for IVF. When I was pregnant with Lachie (naturally) I didn't have a scan until my first OB appt at week 10. This time around I will be having two scans in s fortnight - one by my OB at the fertility clinic and another one when I can my first OB appt with him.

Leanne

YacinesMommy
01-03-2008, 07:24 PM
With yacine I was getting scans at my OB office every fortnight from 6 weeks until 12weeks then it was monthly. But I was high risk with her. This time i had a scan at 7 weeks but only cause i had the scare and i saw my dr and she sent me for a scan. now I wont be having another till I see my OB and i'll be just over 10weeks by then. I have already booked my NT scan. I guess everyone is different and if you on IVF they want to make sure everything is moving along, or some of us with numerous M/C they like to keep an eye on you too.
Well I feel like I've been rambeling...... sorry,....

Twiglet
01-03-2008, 07:44 PM
Welcome Lilysmum

Don’t talk to my about (.) (.). I feel like they come round the corner before me at the moment. Last weekend we went shopping for bras. I’ve gone from a 14d to a 16 dd. Arrrhh
Apart from the bras. all I’ve bought is a maternity pillow. It’s a god send. Really helping me sleep. Don’t want to get anything else until the 12 weeks are up

I think QueensMum may be right. I think we’re having early scans because of IVF. However I know that my OB will be scanning me on every visit. Its just something they do

Told my parents today. They are over the moon. We all got a bit of a shock when I said the due date. It’s the day my brother passed away 10 years ago. I’ve been so worried about all the tests I hadn’t clicked.

How spooky. All of the important dates for us have fallen on special days. 1st trimester for us finishes on our wedding anniversary

loulousmum
01-03-2008, 09:10 PM
Sorry I've been MIA. I've been on the road in South West Qld for work and unable to get online!

Welcome to all new people and great news from those who've had + scans and BTs.

I am very jealous of those who are shopping already! I'd love to, but until Thursday when I find out if my twins are still twins or have dropped back to a singleton I'm reluctant to buy anything!! (Although mum has dropped by with two identical 0000 green wondersuits - very cute.)

Any thoughts I had that things might be going wrong without me knowing it have settled down completely. My tummy is looking about 4 months (and is really hard to touch!), my M/S is shocking and I keep on having very vivid dreams that I am holding and breastfeeding baby/babies...

Scan Thursday - a few of us getting scanned this week!

End of 1st trimester is still a way off for those of us due mid to late October, so hang in there everyone!:flowerz:

PrincessT
02-03-2008, 08:21 AM
I'm having more weird dreams!! I had a dream I came into our house with 2 of my friends and Allegra was asleep in the car. I turned off the alarm and asked Lauren to get Allegra now that the house was open. Then a man came down our stairway and put on a balaclava. It was so awful. I think I had this dream as we got robbed when I was pregnant with Allegra and now that i am pregnant again... hmmmm who knows. Too exhausting to think about.
Twiglet - sorry to hear about your brother. A passing even after so long still hurts. It must be hard for your parents.
Take care everyone... we have 2 parties today and already tired!!

nic28
02-03-2008, 10:41 AM
I am having weird dreams too, last night I dreamt I m/c and woke up thinking geez am I really pregnant still.............god I must be paranoid.

I haven't even been to the doctor yet.....i guess I better get my butt in there, how many of you here had a Caesarean first hoping to have a vbac second time round??? I know there is a section for this but just interested amongst those due in October...

PrincessT
02-03-2008, 12:20 PM
nic - I had a caesarian the first time around and am happy to have another. I call myself the anti-mum when it comes to birth because I'm more than happy to have the cut again. For me it was stress free and quite planned, which made the whole experience great. I have spinal probems too which make it unlikely for me to ever have a natural birth anyway.
Will you be going for a vbac? Good on you!

Mookie
02-03-2008, 12:28 PM
Welcome Lilysmum & congratulations. I'm Mum of a Lily also - she's 18ths. I just looooove the name (obviously!!).

Nic28 - I had a c/s with DD1 as she was a breech bub. My obst says I can try for VBAC this time but I'm not sure at this stage. I'd love to have a go myself but am not sure how nervous I'd be about something going wrong. I'll research it and then make up my mind.

Loulousmum - I hope your scan goes well on Thu - please let us all know afterwards.

re scans - I had a scan at 6.5wks at my Obst office last week and will have another one at around 9wks, due to having had x2 miscarriages. I've booked in my NT scan also. I think the Obst wants to keep a close eye on things.

Well, here I sit with my normally baggy shorts on, with the button & zip undone and my seabands on. I'm definately starting to feel pregnant now!!! :yes:

nic28
02-03-2008, 02:52 PM
yeh I am thinking of going VBAC - apparantly I can because I dilated to 9cm with my first - but then I am already having flash backs of the 36 hour labour and definately don't want that again- so I feel very torn. I guess I have ages to research and decide.

hey has anyone started thinking of names????

Lilys*mummy
02-03-2008, 04:00 PM
Good luck to everyone having scans this week!

We had ours last Saturday, bubs was doing fine Thank-God! I have been really paranoid something is going to go wrong as I work in a radiology clinic and I see things going wrong alot :(. Im paranoid about every little cramp even though I remember being pregnant with DD and getting growing pains alot. I guess I better start to calm down and enjoy this pregnancy as I have hardly been sick much so I dont have too much to complain about (Yet!).

As for names, we have one boys name, Cohen and a few girls names, Ava, Isabell and Charlotte.

Hope everyone is having a nice weekend!

QueensMum
02-03-2008, 07:16 PM
Hi there Ladies,

Well, I went searching for maternity bras today and couldn't believe that most of them didn't go up to E!! I may have to go to a Specialist place for big bazoombas!!! :laughing:

LilysMummy - That's great that your Scan went so well. I can't wait to have mine on Thurs. I hope it will put my mind at ease as I'm stressing out as well. BTW: I love the name Cohen!! We've had the name Jack picked out for about 3 years now and Grace (I love this name but am still trying to coax DH into loving it!!).

Nic28 - I had a Caesarean with the girls (not really given any other option), but I'm tossing up a VBAC this time. I'm freaked out about the pain factor but like the idea of "hopefully" being up and about quicker than with the Caesarean.

zakster
02-03-2008, 07:34 PM

Not feeling too well today - perhaps a bit of morning sickness, but not enough to throw up.

Ah well. Hopefully feel better tomorrow.

Hope everyone has had a good weekend - will be more chatty tomorrow hopefully :)

leannelizzy
02-03-2008, 07:55 PM
Hi there Ladies,

Well, I went searching for maternity bras today and couldn't believe that most of them didn't go up to E!! I may have to go to a Specialist place for big bazoombas!!! :laughing:

Hi QueensMum

I think you will find the Myer and DJs will stock larger sizes (I saw up to a G cup at Myer), otherwise ypu will be looking at the Specialist places. Fairly sad really that given most women these days have larger (.)(.) and they do only get larger when you are pregnant.

Good luck on the bra hunt.

Leanne

nick's mum
02-03-2008, 08:44 PM
Hi everyone, Just thought I'd say hi. No m/s yet but probably too early. Feeling tired (sleeping a lot) and hungry (greasy food) which is very unusual for me and nothing like first pregnancy (very bad morning sickness 7-21 weeks - in hospital at 16 weeks) and very bad heartburn from 5 weeks- 2 days after DS was born. Hoping it won't be so bad this time (less stressed and have a supportive partner this time) - I'm expecting some nausea but hopefully not as bad, because at least I'll know everything is working right. Anyone from Brisbane? What hospital/ob is everyone seeing?

Also - how do you put the cool pictures on the bottom of your posts (details of kids etc)?

QTB
02-03-2008, 08:51 PM

just quickly, can you all keep your :fingerscrossed: tightly for my little sister ~*clairesmum*~

shes currently in hospital, went in this afternoon with sever stomach cramps, they have done heaps of blood tests and as far as i know are waiting on an ultrasound to check if bub is ok. shes been dosed up on morphine and sent to sleep. so hopefully all is ok with bub!

please please keep your fingers crossed for her and bub!

QueensMum
03-03-2008, 08:07 AM
Hi QueensMum

I think you will find the Myer and DJs will stock larger sizes (I saw up to a G cup at Myer), otherwise ypu will be looking at the Specialist places. Fairly sad really that given most women these days have larger (.)(.) and they do only get larger when you are pregnant.

Good luck on the bra hunt.

Leanne

Heya Leannelizzy,

Thanks for that!! I'll definately have to check them out!!

I know..It's so silly that Maternity bras don't go up to the bigger sizes..I know heaps of ladies that are just normal C cups but when they are pregnant go up to DD or E.... very strange..

Sheridan :D

~*clairesmum*~
03-03-2008, 08:24 AM
welcome to the new mums

sorry for the mums that have lost the lil angels

well im ok got out of hospital at about 1030 last nite blood test werent back yet but they are saying its really bad colic so im cutting out anything with bubbles, they had a look at my cervic n its blue(which is normal if ur preggers) n she had a feels n it feels about 10wksish which is about right i have a scan for dates on friday

well besides the really bad cramps n the feeling sick cause of them i dont have much ms sometimes i have a lil bit of a light head then its all good

i cant wait to see bubs on friday n i will be about 10wks then

see ya

PrincessT
03-03-2008, 08:31 AM
Thanks for letting us know QBT about Clairesmum. I hope she and bubs are ok. Keep us posted.
That is silly about Maternity bra's isnt it? I mean with the average cup being at least a C you would think that the manufacturers would understand the need for sizes!
Names - I have a few but I want to find out what I am having before I think about it seriously. I have some ideas for both but am not really in love with any boys name, so if we find out its a boy, I can then concentrate my efforts into the avenue!
Oh Allegra just came over for a hug... is that the best or what? I love it when you get cuddles for no reason other than the fact that you are their mummy!
Have a good day girls.. My nausea thankfully has stayed away for about 6 days, no hopefully its gone!

PS - good to see you Clairesmum, we were posting at the same time and I just read your update!

secretsquirrel
03-03-2008, 09:07 AM
good to hear every thing's ok clairesmum!!!

As for the bra thing i am usualy a 12-14DD and when i get pregnant i tend to go up to a G or bigger so finding bras has always been a challenge.

I am having another c-section i had an emergency c/s with dd and ds was breach so i think i'll just go with what i know and have another.

I still have really bad m/s and on sat i broke my little toe so now i'm not only sick but i have to carry a bucket cos if i need to :barf: i can't get to the loo in time.

i go for my first ultrasound on the 17th to check how far along i am :fingerscrossed: i'm further along than i though!!

*Chels*
03-03-2008, 09:20 AM
Clairesmum-How scary for you!Hope you are feeling better and everthing is OK with bubs:hugs:

Lilys*mummy
03-03-2008, 09:28 AM
Clairesmum - Thats really good everything is ok with you and bubs! That must have been an awful time :hugs:.

I really can't wait till the first trimester is over!

Tina33
03-03-2008, 10:16 AM

Well I am at 9 wks 4 days and feeling fantastic:smiliedance:..I seem to be over the worst tiredness:sleeping:..doesn't help when I have to chase a (DS#1) 2 yr and (DS#2) 1 yr old around..

My tummy has definatley popped out..I have bought a pair of black maternity pants from Target..they are the best:yelclap:!!

I have my first OB apptmnt on the 13th so very excited..I am really looking forward to having this baby..and I am not finding out..would love another boy..

Mookie
03-03-2008, 10:54 AM
Goodmorning All,

Clairesmum - what great news everything seems to be ok. My heart sank for you when I read you were in hospital but I read on to hear it is all ok.

I hope JellyBaby has some good news for us all later. It's can be such a worrying time during the 1st trimester.

QueensMum - we dont live very far from each other at all! I'm due 20/10 and you are on 21/10 AND we're both going to The Wesley!!! Seems we just might be in at the same time! Who is your obst? I have Nikki Whelan.

Anyway, am off for a lie down while Lily has her sleep.

alby2508
03-03-2008, 10:54 AM

Glad to read everyone's storeis. Cairesmum glad ur ok!! I am having my 1st scan tomorrow- which is also my 1st visit to my OB. I am excited because he has the new 3D/4D scanner thing which he only got at the end of my last pregnancy and bub was a bit big to fit on the screen. He told me its unreal in early pregnancy because you can see everything because baby is so little- he gives you a little picture on the 1st visit too. Hopefully he will do it for this one. My OB does an ultrasound each time you visit and i get a little print out of all the stats ie: head circum, length, weight, femur length etc. I really loved seeing bub every month and it was nice toward the end knowing everything was ok. Most of my other pregnant friends OB's do the same. Hope evryone has a good day i feel yuck- can't wait till MS is OVER!!!

mum2ethan
03-03-2008, 11:03 AM
Morning all,

Clairesmum, so glad you and bub are doing well!! :)

i have been sooooooo :barf:all weekend, i got the results for my blood test, everything is going well dates seem to be accurate, havent had a scan yet... had to go to the drs on Saturday due to suspected UTI hopefully get results soon :(.

As for names we have Talitha Jean picked out for a girl, dont know about a boy just yet...
But i am hoping i get the option of a c-section, because Ethan was born via ventouse and i coped a 3rd degree tear, which i still have problems with bowel movement :thumbsdown:(sorry if TMI), so i dont want to do anymore damage "down there" by tearing again... anyone had a 3rd degree tear and still have problems?? (19 months later) i went to the drs about it a few times and all they said to me was that because it is always "active" it needs longer to heal :confused: so i am hoping for a c-section, even tho i know it is Major adominal surgery...

Anyway i got my referral to the hospital so when i have my appointment i will discuss it there and hopefully :fingerscrossed: they will agree to it otherwise im going to panic!!!

Hope you are all feeling well... im off to eat more Jatz!!!

QueensMum
03-03-2008, 11:28 AM
QueensMum - we dont live very far from each other at all! I'm due 20/10 and you are on 21/10 AND we're both going to The Wesley!!! Seems we just might be in at the same time! Who is your obst? I have Nikki Whelan.

I know! I noticed that too! How freaky!!! :D We might just be down the hall from each other!! :yelclap:

My Obst is David Molloy (through QFG on Wickham Terrace).

Have you done anything about booking into the Wesley yet? I can't remember when I did it last time.

I've got my 1st scan on Thursday so I'm assuming David will give me all the information and stuff then..

~*clairesmum*~
03-03-2008, 12:03 PM
hey ladies

well im feeling alot better stil tired but thats to be expected after morphine, well i rang the redlands to see if they have got my referal n they still havent got it yet from my doc's :mad: they did that to my lil sister its the ladies that answer the phone that didnt do it n i only have 2 wks n a couple of days till im 12wks n i want to try n get into the bayside midwifery program lol, well claire is in bed for her sleep n they house is trashed she draw on her tinkle bell tambarine thing with crayon n on the tiles so now i have to scrub it all n scrub her high chair down as well so i better get going on that n ill be on tonite

take care

farmmummy
03-03-2008, 05:34 PM
I'm baack! Well hope you all had a good weekend. Mine was okay, only had a small scrap with DH so we got over it fairly quickly.
I'm sorry and feel for thoes who's babies are too good for this world.
I can honestly say roll on 3 weeks, the ms hasn't been too bad since Saturday night but I still feel slightly off. I think I'll be off to the drs this week as I'm starting to freak a little because of the slackening of ms and I know it's probably my imagination but my nipples don't apprear to be that dark. I hate being such a stress head.
Well Matt got stung 3 times by wasps this morning and had to take an antihistemine (really bad sp) so he is home and in bed. He will be home now until either tomorrow arvo or early Wednesday morning. Well better go and start cooking dinner hope every one else can calm down too. talk possibly tomorrow.

kas3
03-03-2008, 06:25 PM

Morning sickness has kicked in. I haven't vomited yet, but I usually feel really queasy from about 10am onwards. Yuk. I didn't have it during my last pregnancy - which I miscarried - so hopefully, it's a good sign.

I bought two maternity bras on the weekend. I'm usually a 16E, but I've gone up to 16F!!! CAN THEY GET ANY BIGGER?!

I'm due for a third scan on Wednesday - a 'comfort scan'. I'll be 9wks, 5 days. God, I don't know how I will cope if things go wrong this time. I feel pretty positive which is weird. I guess I just have to :fingerscrossed:

babysweet
03-03-2008, 06:45 PM
Hope everyone is well.
I have just hit 6 weeks and not feeling any morning sickness yet! Is this normal?
On top of it all, i have family and friends keep saying (guessing) that i am pregnant (i have not told anyone yet besides my husband). The reason they are picking up on this is that there are obviously certain foods you can not eat and they are picking up on all of this...
How has everyone else dealt with not telling people till they are ready to?
I just so want to scream it from the roof tops but want to wait till the 12 week mark.:yes:

shannysmum
03-03-2008, 07:43 PM
i just told people 2nd and 3rd time round. i have mc for 2nd, but all was ok, telling people, more support i guess. but i dont have work to worry about this time so thats prob another reason y i've told people. i cant remember how i hid it b4, but i did (at work anyway). its definately a joyous occasion and all you want to do is spread the word.
as for me, feeling pretty good this week. im the same as you though farmmummy, worried about the nipples not darkening yet. but im just worried period, i think it becomes worse when you go through it once. b4 that i felt nah, i wont miscarry, but guess what, its sooooo common, as you have all seen in the october thread (unfortunately).
well hope everyone else is doing well, hoping to get in another scan in the next few weeks seeing as though the sonographer thought i had worrying signs but the dr thought otherwise, so frustrating!

loulousmum
03-03-2008, 08:14 PM
BabySweet - I've ended up telling almost everyone! In the past when I kept quiet and something went wrong (two early miscarriages, one before each successful pregnancy) I ended up telling people what had happened anyway. I guess I just wanted people to understand what my state of mind might be etc. So, I've decided this time - especially given that it was a complete shock to just go with it and enjoy it. With DH having a vasectomy the day we got our BFP I know I'll never get to go throug this again either way, so why not live every big fat minute of it!! Of course everyone is different, I have no tips on keeping the secret, sorry!

Re: Bras - the ABA (Australian Breastfeeding Association) sells heaps of different types on line. So do a range of other online stores specialising in materinity and breastfeeding clothes. I bought breastfeeding tops second time around and I'm so glad I did - much more discreet and comfier than trying to pull up or down or across to get you (.)(.)s out!!

Archie (my little boy 17months) has his tonsils and adenoids out and grommets inserted on Wednesday. I will be in with him Wednesday night and I'm dearly hoping they will let him out Thurs morning so I can settle him at home before I go for my scan. I hate the idea of leaving him at the hospital - even if it is with his Dad and or Grandma!!

KrissyM
03-03-2008, 08:17 PM
Just wanted to introduce myself to the group, I'm a 1st time mum to be due Oct 25. Just a bit worried bout a couple of things after reading everyone elses posts so rather than stress myself out thought I'd just ask. A couple of you have mentioned seeing obst my gp said I dont see one till I'm in my 2nd trimester is that normal? Also the discussion on unavailibilty of maternity bras over E cups I'm a 10F noramlly so a bit worried about that and as I live in a country location Myers, David Jones etc not an easy option. Here's hoping I dont grow to much.

Lunar
04-03-2008, 07:13 AM
Just a quick one for me, no personals sorry, haven't read up on the last few pages....

Scan in at 10.30 this morning, not feeling too optimistic about it. I have had quite a lot of bad cramping.:( I guess we will know for sure if bubby is ok or not very soon.:( I feel really sick.:barf: I am so nerveous.:crying: I want everything to be ok but I am about 80% sure it isn't.:crying:
I might be back later to tell you all how it went.

Shera
04-03-2008, 08:24 AM
Hello everyone,
My name's Emily & I've only posted a couple of times so I'm still a bubhub novice!

I would just like to say how sorry I am for all those ladies who have lost their bubs, I wish you all the best for future pregnancies & hope that you are receiving lots of love & support from family & friends.

Good luck Lunar, I've read a few of your posts & you seem like a lovely person. I'll be thinking of you this morning & hoping that you receive some good news via your scan & that you start feeling better soon.

Hi Krissy, I have the same problem with bras as you, I also go up to a 10F when I'm pregnant & find it difficult to get bras, however you can buy bras from the Australian Breastfeeding Association's shop online (with delivery) & they have lots of styles available in F cups & higher. I think that loulous mum also mentioned this? The only problem is that the bras are really expensive - $59.95, I'm not sure whether you can order bras online via Myer or DJ's or Target but google them & see.
As for not seeing a doc till 2nd trimester, I am the same, I saw my doc to confirm the pregnancy but don't see anyone until I'm 13wks pregnant. this is because I'm going public - are you public or private? I think if you go private your ob sees you more often, as this is what happened when I had my son, if you are worried find out whether you can see someone sooner.
For all the ladies who are worried about m/s or lack of it, don't worry as everyone's different in the way they experience it & when it occurs, some women are really lucky not to get any. Even in the same family there are major differences in women's experiences of m/s.
Take Care Everyone.
Emily :wave:

YacinesMommy
04-03-2008, 08:27 AM
:flowerz:Good Morning all you Yummy Mummies:flowerz:

KrissyM - welcome :hugs: I will add you to our due list.:yelclap:
Luna - :chillpill: i'm sure everything will be alright. :yes:

PrincessT
04-03-2008, 10:10 AM
Morning ladies!!!
First of all Lunar - best of luck with the scan (which by now you would have already had) - Ive got faith that everything will be ok with your bubba. To tell you the truth Ive been having so many thoughts the same as you, I have my scan next week, so I'll know for sure on my front too!
I may have to look at the ABA website too.. I cant remember what size maternity bra I wore with Allegra. It feel like so long ago. Regardless I tossed them all out after I finished feeding as i was so OVER them!! I couldnt stand the site of them at all.
Babysweet - it is hard keeping it a secret from the people who know you so well. I had my sister in laws wedding a few weeks ago and not drinking was the dead giveaway. I had a glass of wine in my hand a lot which I made my husband drink every time he walked past... but you are right, the food is another giveaway! I am dying for some soft brie and fresh crunchy bread!!!!!!!
KrissyM - welcome! Dont stress about anything. Are you going public or private? (someone else mentioned this) as the care does differ in timing of seeing midwives/doctors etc. I'm seeing my OB for the first time next week but I have low risk pregnancies, I think if you have a higher risk pregnancy or had assisted conception you may see a doctor earlier. Perhaps someone can correct me if I am wrong?
Well, I'm at work today and its such a beautiful day! I'm looking out my window which overlooks the harbour bridge and opera house and I was thinking that I really am lucky to live in such a glorious city (hahahah I am bias!!). I just finished a press release and now I think I'll have a cup of tea and ring my Mother in law to see how Allegra is!
Have a good morning all xxxx
Teena

~*clairesmum*~
04-03-2008, 10:58 AM
good morning ladies!!

well last nite was the same as sunday nite i went to hospital via ambo as they were worse the ever i would rather go through labour again lol, the gave me morphine again n this time i they gave me extra strengh panadol which is safe in preggers, i have a scan at the hospital at 2 to see wats going on in my tummy n they are going to have a quick look at bub to :D

good luck lunar everything will be fine,

im getting my bras from the pregacy n babie expo again they fitted me n they were like 15-20bucks each in every size.....

i dont see the ob/midwivies till im about 12-14wks but im going to ring n see if they have got my referal yet:mad: dam doctors,

i think my ms started but only feeling light headed as i went to work for 3hrs this morning to open it was really stuffie in the nursury so that mite of being it but now ive eaten n had a tea im fine, well my dp is on his way home cause hes being haveing really bad head aces so have to take him to get bloods done

talk soon

Lunar
04-03-2008, 11:51 AM
I'm back, and everything is fine!:cloud9:
Baby is measuring exact for dates and heart beat was 154bpm.!!!!:yelclap::goodvibes:

I am very happy, although I feel absolutely horrid today. I have a massive head ache and my stomach is still cramping. I told the sonographer about the cramp and she had a good look around to see if she could see anything that looked amiss. Because I suffer with endo and had 4 lots removed last year, they have to keep a close eye to make sure ti doesn't return. But I think it may just be a lot of early stretching etc. I didn't need to have a transvag, she said my uterus is actually quite high for my gestation, but that is probably cos it's P5.
So hubby and I are stoked that all is looking good. I go pick up the report on my way to work this afternoon, so that should tell me a bit more.

Thanks for the well wishes and the good vibes girls, I'm sure it helped.

Twiglet
04-03-2008, 12:49 PM
Lunar :yelclap: great news am really pleased for you

YacinesMommy
04-03-2008, 01:21 PM
Thats awsome news Luna didnt I tell u, u had nothing to worry about. :yes:

PrincessT
04-03-2008, 02:05 PM
Yay Lunar!

mum2ethan
04-03-2008, 04:04 PM
Thats great that everything is fine Lunar bet you are so relieved!! I want a scan done... havent had one yet, i just want to make sure everything is fine... and i want to see the baby :yes:

alby2508
04-03-2008, 05:11 PM

Lunar: Great News!!!

Well I had my first scan today and GUESS WHAT................. I'M HAVING TWINS!!!!! So unexpected!! Both heartbeats good and strong I just can't believe it yet!!!!!!:):):):):):)

Electric Mumi
04-03-2008, 05:29 PM
Holy Dooley Al...you seemed excited about having twins! I'd be crapping my dax!!! Good for you guys...great news!!
Fabulous news for u too LUNAR

October is gona be a fabulous month!! Well Sep and Oct..Im sure some of us will go a tad early seeing as full term is 36-40 weeks!!
Comon 12 weeks...let us all breathe easy again!! :smiliedance:

~*clairesmum*~
04-03-2008, 05:37 PM
alby2508: OMG thats so cool twins due in oct i think some else said they mite be having twins as well...

lunar: thank god that bub is fine

well i had a scan done today n they cant find anything wrong with me n bub is fine i have a pic i just got to work out how to get it from my phone to the comp n on bubhub ill prob get my sister to change it lol

is 171bpm high for a bub's heart beat n wat it that thing about if its over :ecomcity: its a boy n if its under :ecomcity: its a girl

does anyone no that one???

besides that i had a relaxing day went house hunting etc... claire is eating dinner

so i better get going but will be on later

loulousmum
04-03-2008, 06:09 PM
Great news Lunar :)

Alby, I've got twins too (at this stage - it's so early yet...). I'm glad you are so excited - I am freaking out a bit at what life will be like with 4 kids under Prep age!!

I'll know more on Thursday...

Everyone else, glad to hear we are all moving along despite morning sickness, bras that are too small and food aversions!!

I might be MIA for the next day or so while Archie has his op. - can't wait to read what I can imagine will be 10 pages of messages....

KrissyM
04-03-2008, 06:52 PM
thanks for those who answered my questions, I'm going public as thats the only option for where I live (really starting to wonder why I pay health insurence) so I can stop worrying about not seeing an obst till my 2nd trimester.
I'll have to check out the ABA website for bras as for them being expesive, thats a normal cost for me I paid $80 for a sports bra not long ago. I just dont like the idea of buying bras without being fitted properly have to check out my local lingre shop.
I booked my scan today so I'm looking forward to seeing bubs and making sure they only 1 not sure if I'll be quite as happy as Alby if there 2. Congrats Alby glad you're happy.

Ffrenchstar
04-03-2008, 06:57 PM
Great news Lunar and everyone who has positive scan results....I doubt I will have a scan until 20 weeksish.

Speaking of boobs, mine havent changed all that much - I am still breastfeeding so they kind of go up and down during the day anyway. I just wear sports bras or little crop tops from Kmart all the time anyway.

We are deciding between a homebirth or going back to the RWH birth centre (which is 3 hours away! Lol...)

mandamum
04-03-2008, 07:15 PM
I'm so jealous of everyone who's having scans! I can't get in for an appointment at the RPA Birthing centre till the end of April, and I'll be 17 weeks by then! Nearly half finished.
My morning sickness seems to only be getting worse and worse. I'm 9 weeks now and I'm getting sicker in the mornings and it's lasting all day. I go to bed sick and wake up sick. I keep haing to have days off work because I just lack the sheer energy to get up and have a shower let alone work in a busy office all day.
Does anyone else have a really short temper at the moment? I seem to be snapping about everything and at everyone. Maybe it's just me and my moodiness :)

Re: Bras. I went to Bras 'n' Things. They have a good range, and go right up to the larger sizes. I'm now an 18E normally a 14DD, so I have a feeling I may still get bigger.

I'm already getting stretch marks - eek! I'm applying cocoa butter like it's going out of fashion. any other tips for preventing stretch marks?

sweetperfectchild
04-03-2008, 07:32 PM
Hello. I thought I'd join in as I'm also due in October, 25th. I've known I was pregnant since 10dpo, [knew I'd been careless] and had a scan at 4wks5days due to weird pains, [nothing wrong; one blob in the right place]. Now waiting for the nuchal scan at 12 weeks. If there was such a thing as pregnancy bingo I'd have a full house...nausea, bloating, exhaustion, 'dampness', spots, atomic boobs and mood swings. Congratulations everybody, even if this one doesn't stick at least we know our ovaries work and the fallopian tubes are open for business!

Electric Mumi
04-03-2008, 07:54 PM
Found this and thought I'd share....
For anyone else who is 9 weeks like I am.

WHAT'S HAPPENING WITH YOU AT 9 WEEKS
Your breasts may be feeling full and tender. This can be one of the earliest symptoms of pregnancy. The areola typically darkens and Montgomery's glands, lubricating sweat glands on the areola, may become prominent and more numerous. Especially for those with a light complexion, veins in the breast often become more pronounced.

Emotionally, you may feel like you are suffering from an ongoing bout of PMS. Even silly commercials may make you cry!
WHAT'S HAPPENING WITH YOUR BABY
This week, your baby-to-be grows to between 20 and 28 millimeters from crown to rump, or about an inch. Weighing in at one gram, your baby is very active, although you can't feel its movements. He or she now has all the major organs, muscles and nerves. A Doppler may be able to identify the heartbeat. While testes and ovaries are formed, external genitalia appear sexless, which is why it is too early for an ultrasound to reveal gender. Eyelids are beginning to form and the trunk is straightening and elongating.
EATING FOR TWO
Adding a few tablespoons of nonfat milk powder to many of your recipes is a great way to sneak in some extra calcium. For soups and hot cereals, use nonfat milk instead of water. (I thought that was a top tip..never heard that b4!)

lucydarling
04-03-2008, 07:58 PM
Hi , I guess I just make this group - due on the 30th. Singlepregnantchick I'm with you at bingo - all of the above. Will find out on Friday if my tubes are open for business, at risk of ectopic, so on tender hooks until then! Good luck to everyone, love reading all your stories and knowing that I am not the only snappy, sick, emotional, tired chick out there x

leannelizzy
04-03-2008, 08:37 PM

I'm so glad everyone's scans went well. I have mine tomorrow and I'm getting more anxious as it draws closer. I'm sure I'm carrying twins (at least!!) but only time will tell (1 transferred embie and a natural attempt while on ovary stimulating drugs). My boobs are getting huge, I don't think I'll be wearing my normal bras by the end of the week - I've got that lovely 4 boob thing happening in the one I have on now :laughing: .

Anyway better go. I'll be on tomorrow night to let you all know how I went.

Leanne

alby2508
04-03-2008, 08:44 PM
Great news Lunar :)

Alby, I've got twins too (at this stage - it's so early yet...). I'm glad you are so excited - I am freaking out a bit at what life will be like with 4 kids under Prep age!!

I'll know more on Thursday...

Everyone else, glad to hear we are all moving along despite morning sickness, bras that are too small and food aversions!!

I might be MIA for the next day or so while Archie has his op. - can't wait to read what I can imagine will be 10 pages of messages....

Thanks everyone!! I am freaking out let me tell you!! Just hasn't sunk in yet. I'm in early stages too but I'm just being positive and know they're here to stay!!!:):) Goodluck for urscan on Thursday!!!

Have a good night girls!!!

*Chels*
04-03-2008, 08:47 PM
Good to hear everyones bubbas are doing well:yelclap:
I am sooo tired!Work is making me tired!
I saw a bad car accident yesterday.It was frreaky coz it was the exact spot I had just been in.I was looking for a park for work,found one FINALLY,ran across the road and just turned to see the crash.A minute earlier,it could have been me and my baby:(Bloody hormones!Cant get it out of my head!
I am crying at EVERYTHING!Just watched Bondi rescue and cried at a little boy who was lost!
Not much else to report.Am STILL waiting to hear from the fricken birth centre,I am getting so annoyed!!!
I brought a basinette!I know its early,but I was JUST like this last preg.Have to be super organised or I panic and stress:rolleyes:

farmmummy
05-03-2008, 08:26 AM
Well Matt is finally back at work, because of my moods things had been a little tense but it seems to be sorted now.

Luna - glad things are okay

Alby - Twins omg congratulations.

Well the weekend was pretty big, we went and did some shopping Friday then Saturday night we had a friend of Matts over and his soon to be ex wife (they are splitting up and remaining civil). They didn't leave till 10:30pm Saturday night so very tiered Sunday. Which we went to visit the outlaws for the night. Monday morning we had to go and treat some of our cattle for ticks and flys and that is when Matt got stung by a wasp 3 times. I had an interview and then Matt and I drove home. (I'd given Matt and antihistamine so he slept all arvo and night) then we didn't do a great deal yesterday. Monday night I had some spotting and I wasn't feeling really sick at all so I hit panic stations. Yesterday I felt really sick not enough to :barf:. Feeling ill again today but to be on the save side and to settle my paranoia I'm going to phone the drs in a tick and make an appointment so I can get a referal for another scan to settle my nerves. If I had the patients I'd just get a bt but I want to know now not next week. So thats all from me just have another counselling session in an hours time and Sarah only woke up at 8 after a bit of a rough night so I'm going to go and give her breaky. Talk again soon.

shannysmum
05-03-2008, 08:30 AM
BOOBS....wish i had some. i had none b4 ds and never really got much more when i had him, still breastfed for 6mths though (along with the bottle). i find it hard for bras too but in the opposite direction to you guys, thank god for breastfeeding pads i say :laughing:

loulousmum
05-03-2008, 08:45 AM
Shannysmum, I'm feeling a bit left out too. I'm not complaining - I'm a 12DD but I never seemed to get bigger or smaller. In fact, the only time my 'bra size' changed was the first few days after the birth, and then it all went back to normal.

Luckily for me, I bought some really nice and good quality materinity bras last time around and didn't end up breastfeeding for very long - so they are still like brand new!

I'm on scan count down now. 30 hours to go....

I've had conflicting dreams - in some I have two babies and in some it's one. I've completely lost any perspective or idea about whether it's one or two!!

There's a few of us having scans tomorrow am I right? Can't wait to hear everyone's news!:)

farmmummy
05-03-2008, 09:07 AM
Well booked into gp for referal at 4:30pm this arvo and booked in for scan tomorrow at 3:30pm which means I have to leave home at about 1pm tho I guess I'll do anything for piece of mind.

I too am on the opposite end for bras I'm like a 10a normaly then I go up to a 10b while pregnant and feeding I'm a 12b by the time the feeding ends I'm almost back to normal. I love having the (.)(.) while pregnant everything sits so much better on me.

babysweet
05-03-2008, 10:08 AM
My boobs are so painful!! I'm 6 weeks, when does the pain of sore boobs stop?? Will i be having this up to 12 weeks??

Twiglet
05-03-2008, 10:12 AM
Fantastic news Alby :yelclap:

Welcome Singlepregnantchick and Lucydaring

Good luck with your scan leannelizzy am sure its going to be great.

mandamum
05-03-2008, 10:19 AM
My boobs are so painful!! I'm 6 weeks, when does the pain of sore boobs stop?? Will i be having this up to 12 weeks??

I'm 9 weeks now and my boobs have settled down a bit. still a bit tender but nothing compared to those first few weeks when even wearing a tshirt would make them hurt!
BUT everyone is different ;)

babysweet
05-03-2008, 10:24 AM
I'm 9 weeks now and my boobs have settled down a bit. still a bit tender but nothing compared to those first few weeks when even wearing a tshirt would make them hurt!
They are that painful, i can bearly touch them. Sleeping at night, tossing and turning is just painful!

Electric Mumi
05-03-2008, 11:09 AM
:iagree:
Im the same...9 weeks now and i have some bsd days but a hellava lot better than a few weeks back!

babysweet
05-03-2008, 11:16 AM
So they might start to calm down around the 9 week mark??

Also, I have no morning sickness.... is this normal??

mum2ethan
05-03-2008, 11:27 AM
Also, I have no morning sickness.... is this normal??

You are so lucky!!!im jealous!!:laughing: im really REALLY sick! some ppl get it and some dont everyone is different with their symptoms, but you are only 6 weeks pg, my ms didnt start until i was 6wk 3 days so you still might get it... i would be treasuring the time you dont :laughing: its horrible!! :(

YacinesMommy
05-03-2008, 11:29 AM
Babysweet - when I was Pg with Yacine my boosies were soooooo sore, It seemed like it was almost through the sentire PG I ended up wearing a wireless soft cotton bra to bed as I ended up with 18E's. was so much better to sleep didnt feel like they were "floping" arround as much when I slept IYKWIM. With re to M/S be happy you dont have it although last time I didnt get it till about the 7-8 week mark and it stayed until the 14 week mark.

babysweet
05-03-2008, 11:31 AM
You are so lucky!!!im jealous!!:laughing: im really REALLY sick! some ppl get it and some dont everyone is different with their symptoms, but you are only 6 weeks pg, my ms didnt start until i was 6wk 3 days so you still might get it... i would be treasuring the time you dont :laughing: its horrible!! :(
:) Thanks for your reply!! I turned 6 weeks on monday and nothing. I have read some threads and some people say that its good they have morning sickness as they know the bub is doing ok. I only have sore boobs and also starving.... thats it!

farmmummy
05-03-2008, 11:33 AM
Hey Tina how is work :) will try and catch up for a chat one arvo wont be tomorrow because I'll be on my way home from my scan.

The way I look at the symptoms - sore boobies, ms etc is it's short term pain for long term gain.

babysweet
05-03-2008, 11:33 AM
Babysweet - when I was Pg with Yacine my boosies were soooooo sore, It seemed like it was almost through the sentire PG I ended up wearing a wireless soft cotton bra to bed as I ended up with 18E's. was so much better to sleep didnt feel like they were "floping" arround as much when I slept IYKWIM. With re to M/S be happy you dont have it although last time I didnt get it till about the 7-8 week mark and it stayed until the 14 week mark.
So you can be fine at the beginning of your pregnancy then get morning sickness in late first trimester??

mum2ethan
05-03-2008, 11:36 AM
Ive heard of ppl not getting ms untill the 12 week mark...

shannysmum
05-03-2008, 11:37 AM
my friend was fine at the beginning and ms in the last few months. i didnt really get sore boobs this time, did for about 3 wks with ds. but if your bbs are sore now, wait till your feeding...ouch, especially the first night they sleep longer than 'normal', they are like rocks and ouch!! but all worth it. will definately be trying to feed again, im more determined to do it more explicitly this time.

babysweet
05-03-2008, 11:39 AM
Is it also normal to be always hungry at 6 weeks?? I was starving even when i was 4 weeks pregnant

mum2ethan
05-03-2008, 11:43 AM
i found that my bb's hurt the most when weaning DS off them OUCH!!! my bb's are HUGE today!! lol has anyone else started producing colostrum (sp?) already?? i am but only in 1 bb sorry if TMI!!!:o i didnt until i was about 30 wks with DS

YacinesMommy
05-03-2008, 12:06 PM
Hey Niki - Work is fine,... am sooooo tired though when i get home from work. The last couple of days I've been in bed by 730-8 and asleep by 830-9. It's yacine's first day of Family Day Care. I hope she's ok. First time that I have left her with anyone other than Hans or my parents. I am soooo trying not to call the day care mum.
Mum2Ethan - :yes: I am already porducing colostrum (sp?) aswell, also only from one boosie

farmmummy
05-03-2008, 12:37 PM
Tina - I know how you feel about beeing tiered. I want to have a sleep now. It's always hard to leave babies (doesn't matter how old) with some one you don't know.

Hey just thought I would let you all know that there is a thread you can read to get freebies from (especially if you like to recieve free stuff in the mail) and there is one that isn't on there from FreshMums website. All you have to do is join their newsletter email list and you can get a Tummy band (rrp $14.95) for free all you have to do it take in your redemption that they email you to the nearest store to you that does the gift thing if not there are a couple of online stores who you can get it through and all you do then is pay postage which is like $5. Good I think for hiding that expanding waist line early on and later on.

Leisa3
05-03-2008, 02:09 PM
Hi guys, feels like I've been away for ages. I had lots of reading to catch up on. My five year old had his tonsils out. Had to travel away to get it done and then stay local for two weeks. Good to be home. Don't remember being this tierd with my other two. Could be a combination of lack of sleep the last couple of weeks, and pregnancy. Can't beleive 10 wks already. Time flies. Well definately can't hide my belly anymore. I'd been told on your third you get big quick. I have a bump. Need new clothes. Looking foward to my next ob appointment next thursday. Can't wait to hear the heartbeat. So much better than just seeing it. Well so much for some quiet time. The kids found me. Can only try. Hope everyone is doing well.

Leisa :flowerz:

Ffrenchstar
05-03-2008, 02:11 PM
Wowsers, i can't believe eveyone is having scans already..I haven't even seen a doctor yet...:)

MOrning sickness has officially started for me today and I kind of feel relieved!! I am feeling rather tired today....trying to decide when and how to wean Tayla from breastfeeding....I dont want to do it too close to when the baby is born because I dont want her to feel rejected or something....BUT I want to keep breastfeeding until at least July when we fly to Germany.....breastfeeding is so handy on plane rides and a good distraction! Hmmm, what to do?

*Chels*
05-03-2008, 02:18 PM
Ffrenchie-I know where you are coming from.I am trying to get my 28 month old off.Hes only havng it at night/early morning but its killing me!!!

Well I got a call from the birth centre.....and I'M IN!!!!:yelclap:Woohoo soooo relieved and excited!!
Have my first appointment next monday!!!!

Ffrenchstar
05-03-2008, 02:20 PM
YAY! WOW< they let you know early down the coast! The Brissie one that I went to doesn't do the ballot until 16 weeks.

About the breastfeednig,m it is a hard one hey? I thought I would be but have realised that I am not that keen on being a tandem feeder:no:

PrincessT
05-03-2008, 02:21 PM
Wow so much to read.

First of al Congrats to Alby on Twins! How exciting for you all.
Lou's Mum - good luck with Archies op. Hope everything goes well.
Mandamum - I am finding bio oil really good for both dry skin and helps with strechmarks. I used Palmers cocobutter with my first pregnancy and I got no strechmarks at all!
Singlepreg and Lucydarling - welcome and congrats on your pregnancies!!
Babysweet - its normal to have all or no symptoms! I got NO morning sickness with my first pregnancy but my boobs were sore and this time boobs are fine and I fee rotten!

Hope everyone is well. I need to lie down, am so tired!

*Chels*
05-03-2008, 02:26 PM

Lunar: Great News!!!

Well I had my first scan today and GUESS WHAT................. I'M HAVING TWINS!!!!! So unexpected!! Both heartbeats good and strong I just can't believe it yet!!!!!!

CONGRATS!!!!:smiliedance:
That is awesome news!!:cloud9:

Lunar
05-03-2008, 03:12 PM
Don't talk to me about morning sickness!!! ARGH!!! Mine is driving me insane!!!

With DD1, I had it until 16 weeks.
DD2, I had it before my period was even due! Up until 20 weeks, then it returned at 26 weeks and stayed.:(
It was horrible. But not as bad as what I have it this time!
Nothing helps me feel better, some days I keep nothing down. Some days I feel so sick but know I need to eat, so I eat and then I start to feel better, then when I'm done, up it comes!
Then sometimes eating makes me feel better, so I pick all day long, on good things, like grapes, nuts and seeds, cereal, whatever doesn't make me feel sick. And then there are days like today that even the thought of food makes me wanna:barf:so I try to avoid it. I have eaten just 2 pieces of toast today, but I have had plenty to drink... oh, I had a spoon full of yogurt too. That's it, I can't stand the thought of eating atm.

I bought another maternity bra today, just from target, they have 20% atm, so I only paid $26 for it, and it's pretty, and comfy! bonus!
Got DD1 some clothes for next summer all drastically reduced and then a FURTHER 50% off the reduced price! I ended up getting her 2 tops and 4 pairs of shorts for about $6!:thumbsup:

Hope everyone is doing ok, good luck for everyone having scans tomorrow!:bee:

farmmummy
05-03-2008, 06:14 PM
Luna - I so know how that feels.

I went to the drs, there were 3 in before me but they hadn't arrived and couldn't be contacted so I got in 1/4 of an hour before my my appointment. So thankful because that saved me at least an hour or so. Anywho I stated my case and the dr was more than happy to give me my referal so I'm off to toowoomba for my scan tomorrow arvo. I probably won't get home till about this time as well so it looks like take away (:yelclap:) I want fish and chips for some reason.

I told you all about the bubhub comp I won last Friday well I got an email Monday, replied monday arvo (late) got another email Tuesday and I got my parcel today. Sooo cool. I won a Jazsling (will come in handy for bub) and little girls sling for dolly and nursing braclet a wee target (not sure on this one because it's for a little boy and I don't have one of thoes) as well as a super cushy change mat. I think I did well.
Okay Sarah has tipped heaps of stuff out so I have to go and clean that up before dinner. Hope you all have a good night. Hey Tina who got kicked off SYTYCD on monday night?

leannelizzy
05-03-2008, 06:17 PM

I'm back from my scan - size is fine, fetal pole is fine but my OB/FS is concerned about the heartbeat. He could only see a flutter when I held my breath so I have to go to his OB rooms tomorrow arvo where he has a more sensitive ultrasound and can zoom in better. I've arranged for the inlaws to look after Lachie and hubby to come along just in case - looks like another restless night, couldn't sleep last night 'cos I was anxious and now not knowing is going to be hard. My BT results were 27100 up from 10000 so I'm hoping bubs was just being shy or playing tricks.

:fingerscrossed: for some better news tomorrow.

Leanne

~*clairesmum*~
05-03-2008, 07:46 PM
hi everyone

well no one replyed to my thing about bubs heart so im guessing no one noes that old wives tale?

work was ok but stupid preggers brain thought i started at 830 i started at 8 so i stayed behind 30mins so i get a full day pay as we need the money cause i had 1 day n a half off hehe dam cramps

not much to tell here still only some light headness no :barf: yet so maybe i mite miss out on ms but then again the cramps could be my ms as its "colic"

do u think that u can get stuff for adults for colic???

well welcome to the late arrivals n a big congrats

oh n i got a right due date is the 5th but just keep it at the 4th cause im not comeing on either of those days neways lol

take care n good luck for anyone having scans

YacinesMommy
05-03-2008, 08:07 PM
I'm off to toowoomba for my scan tomorrow arvo.
Good luck with the scan tomorrow, I'm sure everything will be fine.:yes:

Hey Tina who got kicked off SYTYCD on monday night?
hehe it was the couple Steff and Marko. Good for the rest of them cause they dont have to get new partners. I am still VERY upset :mad: that they sent home Hilton the week before. clearly it should have been JD.

mila
05-03-2008, 08:27 PM
hi there ladies:wave:

just want to introduce myself, i'm mila.

due around oct 27th . this will be our second and we are very excited. DS is 16 months old so i think it will be a lovley age gap.

have a scan booked for tues to check due date. so am excited about that and like eveyone else also a little nervous. i will be relieve though
once i get to see bubby on the screen.

had a few pains in my boobs, but sadly for me no increase in size yet!! i am hanging out for so boobies, mine have gotten even smaller since having DS. DH is looking forward to those Breast laden boobies too!!!! it is so nice to have cleavage when i am usually so flat chested.

i :barf: out the fron of work on sunday but have managed to keep MS at bay by having tea and toast as soon as i get up in the mornng. i have it with honey and i think the sugar hit makes a difference.

well i look forward to hearing about all your scans,m/s and random crazy days!!!

good luck to those with scans in the next few days.

bye for now :wave:

kas3
05-03-2008, 08:39 PM
We had our third scan today :)

I thought I was 9wks, 5days, but it came out as 10wks, 2days.

Everything is good. Baby was moving - s/he even 'jumped'!

Gosh, DH and I were so relieved. I burst into tears. Even DH tear'ed up - very unusual!

Next 'milestone' is the nuchal scan in three weeks...

Twiglet
05-03-2008, 10:29 PM
leanne. Please don't worry sounds like you have a shy one there..... might be a little girl. Try to get a good night's sleep.

Claire'smum. No idea about the heart beat thing.

shannysmum
06-03-2008, 07:44 AM
clairesmum, i think its the slower heart rate for boy and higher for girl. but it is an old wives tale so who knows??? glad your feeling better.

Lunar
06-03-2008, 08:11 AM
claresmum~ I don't believe in the heart rate telling you the sex. I think it's all BS. Plus at this early stage the heart rate is always different and changes as baby gets bigger.

Good luck farmummy on your scan today! I have everything crossed for you!

Had a horrible night last night. I ended up trying to eat something for dinner around 8.30 and it came straight back up again.
I have the worst cramps this morning, and (TMI) really bad wind.:o
I have a very long day ahead of me at work. Don't know if I'll make it through the day, but I'll try.

Hope everyone has a lovely day.:flowerz:

Ffrenchstar
06-03-2008, 08:13 AM
Good luck with your scan FM.

Lunar, I hope you get through the day....

I dont feel too bad today (yet) despite having no sleep last night.

Onward and upwards everyone:smiliedance:

Ffrenchstar
06-03-2008, 08:14 AM
OH, and welcome Mila!

My DD is 16 months and this baby is due on the 26th (from my calculations anyway lol...) so we have a ery similar gap!

CraigS
06-03-2008, 08:30 AM
Gosh, DH and I were so relieved. I burst into tears. Even DH tear'ed up - very unusual!

I wasn't crying........there was something in my eye that's all ;)

Craig.

farmmummy
06-03-2008, 09:04 AM
Thanks for the well wishes. I've got a couple of hours to kill before I get ready to leave home. I'm not too nervous but then again you just never know. They want me to drink the 1ltr an hour and a half before so not going to happen I only drank under 1ltr for the last one 3/4 of an hour before and was almost too full. Just not going to happen. Going to go and do some groceries while I'm over there so if I leave at 12 or there abouts I should have about and hour or so before hand to do food shopping.

Not only did Sarah get into and open the salt shaker last night she got hold of the cordial bottle and tipped a fair amount on the carpet in the lounge room. Sooo not happy (new carpet) Then because she was in a nappy while at the Dr's she took it off to do a number 2 and managed to get most of it in the potty except for the dag on her bum all I can say is it's a good thing I had a sheet on the lounge.

I managed to only eat half of my bowl of all bran this morning I felt like if I ate any more I would chuck and I just about did. I hate soggy cerial. One of my chooks has gone to laying on the back step which is good because I don't have to search for the eggs and I can get to it before the dogs find them (our red dog loves eggs). Well 3 weeks today till 12 week scan yay.

Hope everything goes okay for every one today scan or not.

YacinesMommy
06-03-2008, 12:10 PM
Very quiet in here today........

Twiglet
06-03-2008, 12:27 PM
Good luck with your scan today LeanneLizzy

Leisa3
06-03-2008, 12:40 PM
Attempting quiet time again. Kids in bed for a nap. Have a suggestion to those with morning sickness (all day sickness) :barf:. A friend of mine told me to nibble on crystalised ginger. I hate ginger. But if you like it or can stand it a little might be worth a try. I have a open packet of jatz on my bench everyday. Real healthy I know. Promised myself would eat really healthy this time round. I'm trying but unfortunately someone else is making that choice for me. Did groceries this morning, a load of washing, and since haven't lifted a finger. No energy. It's unbelieveable really. Have to find some for this afternoon. Sister watching kids so can go shopping for my sons birthday presents. Youngest son turns 3 on Tuesday, and Hubby's birthday next Saturday. I swear I felt bubbles/Flutters in tummy yesterday. It definatley wasn't gas. Googled it and it just may have been movement. Very exciting. You feel things earlier in subsequent preg. Starting to sink in now.:ecomcity:

*Chels*
06-03-2008, 12:44 PM
Leannelizzy-Good luck for your scan:goodvibes:
And Kas-great news about your scan!!!

I am off to do some shopping.I need some fat pants for work:laughing:

Electric Mumi
06-03-2008, 12:57 PM
Welcome Mila!!

Heya girlies...How are we all feeling today??
I am ok, Been geting lots of headaches but I recently got hair braids & extensions so that could very well be the answer to that!!

So great to hear about all the scans!! My NT scan is on 1st April. Hope their is no April fools jokes at the hospital that day !

Ffrenchstar
06-03-2008, 12:58 PM
Everyone have a look here:D

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=161237

PrincessT
06-03-2008, 02:09 PM
I'm sickkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk I just want to cry. I feel like ive been hit with a truck : ( and to top it off its our anniversary booo hoooo.
DH just come home for half an hour to make sure I was ok because I started crying on the phone when he rang to ask how I was. I think I was crying more for emotional issues than physical ones as I feel so drained at the moment.. is any one else feeling really emotionally drained?
Will post a bump pic once I take one... most likely tommorrow xx
Hope everyone is well.

Twiglet
06-03-2008, 02:11 PM
PrincessT you poor thing. Sounds like a nice bath and an early night is needed and loads of hugs :hugs::hugs:

Have a special dinner on the weekend to celebrate the ann.

mum2ethan
06-03-2008, 02:36 PM
Well i just got a phone call from the dr with my test results for a urine test and just as i suspected i have a UTI so on the antibiotics for me.

But i got a letter yesterday from the hospital and my 1st appointment is the 22nd of April... seems sooooooooooooooo far away i will be 16 weeks then...

In a week and a half i will be going back to my dr to discuss the NT scan.

Well better get back to work will post again later, enjoy the rest of the day ladies :)

QueensMum
06-03-2008, 02:42 PM
Hi there Ladies!

First of all - Goodluck to all those ladies having scans today :flowerz:

Second of all - My thoughts are with all you poor ladies with MS. I hope you are all feeling better soon!! :hugs:

We had our 7 week scan today. Obst calculated me as being 7wks2days and the Ultrasound dated me as 7wks1day so it's all good that everything is on track. We got to see the little heart beat so I'm SO relieved.

Due date is officially 21st October and I've booked into the Wesley.

It's all full steam ahead!!!:yelclap:

lovinmummaof2
06-03-2008, 02:51 PM
hihihi all!!!
my 3rd is on her :fingerscrossed: way!!
i really want another girl. just love my 4mth old girly now. yeh i know... thats really close. i was just about to go on the pill too. didnt think id get preg so soon.
am 7wks but havent been sick yet. was terrible w/ my girl. lasted a long time.
wasnt feeling too good - tummy aches, headaches, and bleeding. so had an ultrasound the other day and the notes say i have a subchorionic haemorrage. googled it and it seems ok. hope it doesnt get any worse.
got doc appointment on fri. so will ask about it then.
:hugs::smiliedance: hugs n cheers to everyone. hope everything goes smoothly

Twiglet
06-03-2008, 04:21 PM
Due date is officially 21st October and I've booked into the Wesley.

It's all full steam ahead!!!:yelclap:

The same as me. :smiliedance:

Lilys*mummy
06-03-2008, 05:54 PM
OMG, I havent been on for 2 days and had about 5 pages of reading to catch up!lol

Welcome to all the new mums :wave:

Alby - Congrats on twins! How exciting!

MumtoEthan - My boobs have started leaking too! I cant believe it. I was 8 weeks yesterday and it didnt start till around 28 weeks when I was pregnant with DD. Are anyone else's leaking?!

Clairesmum - About the heart rate...It changes all the time this early. I had a scan just under 3 weeks ago and the heart beat was 126bpm. I had a litte scan yesterday at work (I work in a radiology clinic) and the heart beat was 181bmp! We were joking around that at first it was a boy and now it's decided to be a girl,lol.

Hope everyone's week is going ok! I haven't been sick at all....well except for the smell of bananas making me want to vomit.

leannelizzy
06-03-2008, 07:06 PM

Thanks for all your good wishes but unfortunately there was no heartbeat this afternoon, so I have had a "missed miscarriage". I'm feeling very numb at the moment and only seem to cry when I have to talk about it. I'm waiting for my mum to get home from work to call her and give her the sad news. Also have to break the news to Lachie (not looking forward to that at all... he will have far too many questions).

:gloomy:

I'm booked in for a D&C for Tuesday unless I start to bleed naturally. Then back to see my FS in 6-8 weeks when they will have the chromosome results to discuss our ttc journey.

May you all have a fantastic pregnancy - how I wish I could be continuing the journey with you.

Leanne

Ffrenchstar
06-03-2008, 07:09 PM
Oh no.....so sorry to hear that....take care of you and yours....kids have an amazing way of understanding these things and letting life go on, so I am sure Lachie will be fine.:hugs:

loulousmum
06-03-2008, 07:40 PM
LeanneLizzy, so sorry to hear your news. I won't be sharing with my little ones until further down the track unless they ask or guess, so I have no advice on how your little bloke will cope.

Queensmum, glad to hear it's all good.

My U/S news today still has me reeling. The twins ages have evened up and now they are only one day apart! Both are looking good, heartbeats are 152 and 160 and the doctor says that all is well. They are 7 weeks 1 day. Two weeks ago when they were dating 5 days apart the average of the two would have had them at about 7 weeks 1 day now, so all of that makes sense!

With that confirmation, I called my cousin - I was meant to be her bridesmaid in August but don't want her to have a massive mumma in all the photos!! She was fantastic and asked me to MC instead.

Now we just have to start talking house extension and new car!!

I didn't know how I'd be feeling, but it is safe to say that while still in shock I am very :smiliedance:

Lilys*mummy
06-03-2008, 07:47 PM
:hugs::hugs::hugs:LeanneLizzy I'm so sorry for you and your family.You must be devestated.

jaface
06-03-2008, 08:35 PM
LeanneLizzy I am so sorry for your loss, this is such devastating news. Please take the time to grieve and look after yourself.

Sending you heaps of :hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:

mila
06-03-2008, 08:37 PM
leannelizzy, soooo sorry to hear that. v sad for you and your family.:hugs:

mila
06-03-2008, 08:47 PM
great news loulous mum, you must be so pleased:smiliedance:

loninmumma2-congrats to you:thumbsup:

queensmum-great news that all is running smoothly.

i hope my scan goes well next tues:fingerscrossed:

a bit nervous, but cant wait to get it too.

feeling dreadfully tired, but not to bad with the nausea. have to eat ALL the time other wise i start to feel sick. the morning is the worst, i cant even lie in. once i am awake i have to eat staright away. then i just graze all day on just about eveything.hopefully i dont end up the size of a house. i am a big eater anyway so hopefully not.

Lunar
06-03-2008, 08:59 PM
HUge hugs to leannelizzy, take care of yourself hun.

Attempting quiet time again. Kids in bed for a nap. Have a suggestion to those with morning sickness (all day sickness) :barf:. A friend of mine told me to nibble on crystalised ginger. I hate ginger. But if you like it or can stand it a little might be worth a try. I have a open packet of jatz on my bench everyday. Real healthy I know. Promised myself would eat really healthy this time round. I'm trying but unfortunately someone else is making that choice for me. Did groceries this morning, a load of washing, and since haven't lifted a finger. No energy. It's unbelieveable really. Have to find some for this afternoon. Sister watching kids so can go shopping for my sons birthday presents. Youngest son turns 3 on Tuesday, and Hubby's birthday next Saturday. I swear I felt bubbles/Flutters in tummy yesterday. It definatley wasn't gas. Googled it and it just may have been movement. Very exciting. You feel things earlier in subsequent preg. Starting to sink in now.:ecomcity:
I can't stand ginger!!! I'm willing to give it a try tho... it might make me worse tho... worth a try I spose.
My Youngest' birthday is tuesday too! She will be 2... it's gone SO fast!

- My boobs have started leaking too! I cant believe it. I was 8 weeks yesterday and it didnt start till around 28 weeks when I was pregnant with DD. Are anyone else's leaking?!

it.
One of my boobs have been leaking from 5 weeks... NO JOKE! That's why I thought I was further along! It's freaky!

Horrid day today at work, had an argument with the boss... she is a really young 'girl', authority has gone to her head and she caught me at a bad time, so ... she copped it.... oh well.

Not too much to add, except bad headaches and I've had the stitch in my side for about 5 hours now! The bloody thing just won't go away!!!

alby2508
06-03-2008, 09:07 PM
:hugs: to leannelizzy sorry to hear your news

loulous mum my babies are 7 weeks 1 day too- how bizzare. Nice to know that we're both going through thesame thing- its so exciting isn't it!!

Hi to all- i feel :barf:

write tomorrow when i feel better!!

farmmummy
06-03-2008, 09:22 PM
Well I had my scan and everything is okay. Still have a strong heart beat and I am definatley 9 weeks today. There is blood around the sack but can't tell me why it's there and it's too early to tell if it's a possible mc so I'm just going to take it easy so close to the 12 week mark now. I explained about Jack and that I'm totaly paranoid she was great she said if helps to get me to the 12 week mark. Sarah was pretty good to. The heart beat was faster than she expected then I remembered on the way home that on the way to Toowoomba I stopped into maccas to get a bottle of water and then caved and got a small coke, I'm sensative to caffine and it went straight to the baby. Feel slightly guilty.
So sorry Leanne :hugs: to you and your family.
I had a craving for fish and chips, I had it and then felt really ill after no fun. Well off to bed will come and chat again tomorrow. 2 1/5 hour drive each way to toowoomba really takes it out of you.

Electric Mumi
06-03-2008, 09:31 PM

Thanks for all your good wishes but unfortunately there was no heartbeat this afternoon, so I have had a "missed miscarriage". I'm feeling very numb at the moment and only seem to cry when I have to talk about it. I'm waiting for my mum to get home from work to call her and give her the sad news. Also have to break the news to Lachie (not looking forward to that at all... he will have far too many questions).

:gloomy:

I'm booked in for a D&C for Tuesday unless I start to bleed naturally. Then back to see my FS in 6-8 weeks when they will have the chromosome results to discuss our ttc journey.

May you all have a fantastic pregnancy - how I wish I could be continuing the journey with you.

Leanne

Oh Leanne I am so sorry to hear this. Wishing you all the very best and good luck if you ttc again darl. Lachie will be fine, kids dont have a great understanding of the whole thing but they are very resillliant and even more so if you do try to concieve again let him be involve with that process. Maybe just hold off telling him until you are on safe ground. I am almost 10 weeks and just told Kane yesturday, I wanted to wait till at least 12 but he has overheard conversations so I wanted to clarify it for him. Thinking of you. Lots of hugs. :hugs:
MONIQUE x

leannelizzy
06-03-2008, 10:08 PM

Thanks so much for your :hugs: and thoughts. I've hit the red wine tonight - a bit naughty but it has helped me get through some of the phonecalls tonight. My mum rang to check on me as I was in tears when I called her earlier but after a couple of glasses of red I could talk openly and not :crying:.

I don't know about keeping anything from Lachie, he's a clever cookie and recognises our bag of "goodies" from Fert WA and asks "have you been to the baby doctor mum, did you go behind the curtain?". I have explained all to him (using the example of a dead bird at day care earlier in the year) and he has said "good bye baby". It will take a bit more explanation but I really feel he is too switched on to keep anything from him.

So thanks again for all your kind words and I am now focussing on my preparation for another ICSI cycle and hopefully a better result.

Leanne

P.S. Please don't think I don't care about this pregnancy but I need to move on and focus on the future if I am going to remain sane.

Electric Mumi
06-03-2008, 11:24 PM
Good for you Leanne! You do what you feel is right. Get on with things if u are ready to, that way you can ttc again!!!!
Wishing you all the best of luck in the world! xoxoxoxox:kiss:

PrincessT
07-03-2008, 07:35 AM
My thoughts are with you Leanne. I think what you are doing is great - focus on the positive now and your new ttc journey. Naturally this baby will be missed and you will always have this with you but for your own piece of mind moving forward helps so much with long term grief. Hugs to you xxx

farmmummy
07-03-2008, 08:55 AM
I kinda understand where your coming from Leanne. Best wishes in your future.

Well the morning started off fairly good except almost meeting the toilet for the first time while getting Sarah breaky. Then I pluged the phone back in after sitting on the net last night and the phone rang straight away, it was my gp's office he wants to see me this afternoon at 3:30pm so after a cry I am now sweating bullets. I'm scared that something is wrong, I am also thinking that he may just want to put limitations on things like no doing the deed not lifting heavy things etc. I'm really scared the sonographer didn't say anything discouraging so I don't know what to think:gloomy:. Either that or he might want to set up more scans who knows until I get in to see him. I didn't wait for the report yesterday just the images and they faxed the report to gp yesterday arvo and he asked his wife to give me a call and set up an appointment. I can see it now either more pimples or another cold sore from all the stressing. I suppose I'd better go and finish the house work, it'll help pass the time I hope.

Mookie
07-03-2008, 08:56 AM
LeanneLizzy - I'm so sorry to hear your sad news. I wish you all the very best for TTC again. Please let us all know how you go. Be kind to yourself - you have a fantastic attitude in focusing on the future now. :yes:

Thinking of you........

*Chels*
07-03-2008, 09:03 AM
Leanne-I am so so sorry:hugs:Your posts made me want to cry!!I hope you are feeling better soon.I wish you all the best for your TTC journey,and hopefully you will have a BFP soon:fingerscrossed:

Loulou-Great news about your twins!!:smiliedance:

mila
07-03-2008, 11:15 AM
farmmummy, you must be doing you head in thinking about it. i would be doing the housework too, as you said at least it passes the time. hoping the doc just want to put some restrictions on you as you said. i hope all goes well and will be online tonight to see what the doc has to say.:fingerscrossed:

~*clairesmum*~
07-03-2008, 11:42 AM
well not mch to tell here im really bloated still my boobs have doubled in size popping out everywhere. im not working today cause they rooasted me off but i have my dating scan today even though i ahd one at the hospital i still want to see bub is ok.... still no ms :yelclap:

leeanne: i am so sorry for ur loss, glad u are moving on n that lil angel will always be in ur heart good luck with the ttc.

YacinesMommy
07-03-2008, 01:10 PM
LeanneLizzy - :hugs: I am so sorry and my heart goes out to you and your family. Remember to take time to grieve it was still you baby :bee: no matter how early it was.
Good luck to you in your TTC journey and hope that you get your :bfp: very soon.
I have taken you off the DIO list and added you to our October :angel:

loulousmum
07-03-2008, 02:38 PM
Hi Yacine's Mummy, would you please change my due date to 21 Oct? Seems my two have finally worked it out and have met in the middle or their original gestational ages!!:laughing:

YacinesMommy
07-03-2008, 03:05 PM
loulousmum - Done :yes:

farmmummy
07-03-2008, 05:39 PM
I'm back from the gp and may I just say first of all if your intuition is nagging at you it's probably for a good reason. I've been worried for weeks about a missed mc and I even thought about twins (Tina and I had this conversation one night) because I had two different cravings (sweet with the 2 girls and savory with Jack). Guess it turns out I was pregnant with twins and sadly one has passed away (no twins in my family on either side) a missed mc. The sonographer decided not to tell me yesterday but she did put it in the report so feeling a little sad at what could have been and relieved that there is a survivor in there who must be fairly strong. In away it's also kinda put my mind at easy and that it's done now so I can get on with my pregnancy in piece and contentment.
On top of that way out news I found out today that I passed my last subject for a certificate I was doing 8 years ago (left TAFE and started work and never got back to it). and I got my acceptance letter from the Mater Mothers and my first appointment is on the 2nd of April at 8:30am plus I have to see an op from the hospital on the same day (will be organised same day). That one is going to be a huge day think I might leave sarah with mil and go down the day before stay that night and come home on the Thursday. Any who I am a little spun out by the news from the drs still, explains soo much why some of my symptoms died down.

Hope you had an eventful day to.

Lunar
07-03-2008, 07:27 PM
Oh Nikki, I have been waiting your return to see how you got on.
So sad about your little angel, but the other is a fighter, and is stickin around!;)

babysweet
07-03-2008, 08:04 PM
Feeling a little off today, sore everything. Is it normal to have a change of bowel habits at the end of 6 weeks??? Sorry if too much information. :confused:

farmmummy
07-03-2008, 08:34 PM
Feeling a little off today, sore everything. Is it normal to have a change of bowel habits at the end of 6 weeks??? Sorry if too much information. :confused:

You'll find that it is all hormones, you can almost blame everything on the bloody things:yes: It does get better once the placenta kicks in.

Oh Nikki, I have been waiting your return to see how you got on.
So sad about your little angel, but the other is a fighter, and is stickin around!;)

Thanks Luna, was packing death there for most of the day. I am just so relieved that at least one survived I just can't believe that I was carrying twins in the first place that one needs a big "Please explaine?":laughing:. I'm not too bad considering strange isn't it.

Electric Mumi
07-03-2008, 08:38 PM
FarmMummy: Hi darl, sorry to hear about the loss of one twin. It is very common to lose one I believe. My friend actually lost one of her twins in December last yr and at that stage she didnt know she was having twins. So when she did find out it was rather bitter sweet. You are so lucky to still have one survivor though, clearly the stronger one.

I will be having my anti natal appointment on the 4th April - 3 days after my NT scan. Anyone else going to be there that day around 2pm??

Babysweet: Bowel movements hmm.. well mine were up and down from 6 weeks as well as ms. i found that between 6-7 weeks has been my worst so far, Im almost 10 weeks at the moment. One day i would have the squirts the next I would be clogged up to the high hilt!! Yep, all over the shop! One night I was squirting on the loo and had a bucket on my lap! So yeh I understand what u are talking about and I hope it has passed for me cuz it was horrid! :thumbsdown:

loulousmum
07-03-2008, 09:00 PM
Farmmum - sorry to hear about your other twin. Your story seems to be a common one. That's why I have been on edge and was fully expecting my scan yesterday to show one and not two. In fact, they tell me that because most of us don't have a scan until 12 weeks, there are many more twin pregnancies than we ever find out about because by 12 weeks the 'missed miscarriage' has simply dissolved back into our bodies and we never know about it! It's a double edged sword - we want early scans to know everything is alright and we find out news we may have been better off without....

Thanks for reminding me that once the placenta takes over, the hormones should settle. I'd forgotten about that and have been fretting that I will feel this bad for the next 7 and a half months!!:yes:

I can't believe how very very average I feel. I want to be glowing and happy and beautiful but instead I am pale, shell-shocked and pudgy.:(

shannysmum
07-03-2008, 09:10 PM
hi all, glad to hear many happy stories, but sad to hear the bad.

ive been up and down. i had major headaches for 2 days straight, not to mention feeling sick on and off. I tell you what, im hating this getting up in the middle of the night to pee...i keep putting it off till i cant hold anymore then oncce i go it takes me ages to get back to sleep, its so annoying.
dh gone for drinks at his mates place so home alone tonight, so off to bed very shortly...im buggered as im sure you all are.
speak soon,
sharon

Lunar
08-03-2008, 07:54 AM
Babysweet and Electri Mum~ I too am having bowel issues. I am so full of wind my stomach cramps all day long, it's worse at night. I had this with all the other pregnancies too, diarhea (sp), and bad wind. When does the placenta take over? I can't remember.

I too hold off to empty my bladder in the middle of the night, then when I can barely move I get up and go, then takes me another hour and half to get back to sleep. It's awful! Seems I really do have a close relationship with the porcelain thrown:rolleyes: no matter what end it is.:(

Not much to report other than that.
I'm not coping too well without my meds so I think I'm off to the chemist to get a refill and take some, just to calm me down. I snapped a few times yesterday at the girls, they didn't deserve it, and it made me really hate myself.

Ffrenchstar
08-03-2008, 07:58 AM
Farmummy, sorry to hear about one of your twins but glad to hear the other one is staying strong! Must be a bit bitter sweet at the moment?

I keep seeing the title of this thread "first trimester nearly over"and think 'NO!' its really only just beginning for me! I am 6 + 2.....looong way to go lol~!

Glad some of you are nearing the end though! :thumbsup: ENJOY!

KrissyM
08-03-2008, 10:45 AM
Morning all
LeanneLizzy I'm so sorry for your loss my thougths are with you.
Farrmmummy glad you still have one with you. Good luck with the rest of your pregnacy, hopefully you can relax now.
Still no ms for me so happy about that keeping my fingers crossed it stays that way, but I'm only 7 wks so I guess anything is possible. My bbs have suddenly gotten really sore and heavy, feel like ive been punched in the chest (is that normal?) quick question on calcium, Im worried about my intake, i dont normally drink milk cause i cant stomach i (always been like it) and after about a week of eating yoghurt im sick of it I've tried eating yoghurt more and drinking milk but my stomach just turns at the thought of it. Any sugguestions?

*Chels*
08-03-2008, 11:01 AM
Nikki-sorry to hear about one of your twins.Wow how many people with twins in our thread??Its crazy!!

DH is at work today so I have cleaned the house,and done a basket of ironing I have asked DH to do 5 times:rolleyes:I got sick of looking at it!
Am 9 weeks today yay!!!Not much happening with me,I am just SOOOOO tired!!Have no motivation to do anything but sleep:sleeping:

Heres a thing I found bout calcium:

Here’s how to get more calcium in your diet:

Try and have at least one glass of skim milk each day (three is enough for your entire calcium intake). If you don’t like milk, try disguising the taste in a smoothie or milkshake, or have a hot chocolate before bed. Give the kids a treat by adding marshmallows.
Look for calcium-fortified brands – soy milk and orange juice often come with extra calcium. Just check the label. There are even some brands of fortified water around.
For a light dessert, have a yoghurt or, as a treat, a small helping of ice-cream. Be inventive – have yoghurt on chopped-up fruit, or make a rice pudding for those comfort food moments.
Incorporate foods that are rich in calcium into your cooking. Add a handful of sesame seeds to a stir-fry, use plenty of leafy green vegetables, and try to have fish such as halibut or mackerel at least once a week.
Have cereal for breakfast instead of toast or pastries. Adding a small handful of hazelnuts, almonds, walnuts or brazil nuts can also boost calcium levels.
Make cheese on toast for a quick evening snack – top with Worcestershire sauce or yeast extract to pep it up. Or for an easy evening meal, have a baked potato with cheese or cottage cheese and some leafy green salad.
Pack salads for lunch that include leafy vegies such as spinach and lightly steamed broccoli or, for lunch on the run, grab some sushi. The nori (seaweed wrapping) and fish are high in calcium.
Some calcium types are less easy to absorb than others, and so more of that food type may need to be eaten to get the same amount of calcium. Dairy products are easy to absorb, while vegies and seeds are less easy. Up your intake of both. If you don’t eat or are allergic to dairy, eat plenty of natural calcium sources and take a good calcium supplement.
Vitamin D is shown to improve calcium absorption, so make sure you have sufficient dietary intake. Vitamin D is found in fatty fish such as mackerel, in cod liver oil or in some fortified cereal and dairy products. A 15-minute sunbake a day will also produce adequate vitamin D – but make sure you wear sunblock!
Equally important to strong bones is weight-bearing exercise. Regular exercise increases bone density by making them ‘work harder’. Any form of exercise where your legs and feet carry your weight is helpful – try running, walking, hiking, dancing or just getting off the bus a couple of stops sooner on your way to work.

KrissyM
08-03-2008, 11:21 AM
thanks for that info chels, now if only the heat would stop so i can start walking

CraigS
08-03-2008, 11:29 AM
I'm starting to go insane.

Our last pregnancy was a missed miscarriage at 7-8 weeks. We only found out at the first scan and were completely unaware of any problem. It was only in hindsight that we realised that all my DW symptoms had vanished in the last few weeks.

So this time around we have become fixated on any symptoms she has developed. Which was great at first because she had more of them and they were much stronger, we actually celebrated MS.

But now as we approach the end of the first trimester, 10 weeks now, these symptoms have started to ease and in some cases have gone away, no MS for several days, boobs becoming less sensitive.

My DW has told me that I'm starting to drive her insane with my constant checking on her current state of being. Especially as I am starting to stress out over her answers. We had a scan a few days ago and everything looked ok.

But I still can't stop fixating on the state of her symptoms :( It's bringing me down.

*edit* Whoops, forgot the question. Is anyone else finding their symptoms are starting to ease?

Craig.

alby2508
08-03-2008, 01:30 PM
I'm starting to go insane.

Our last pregnancy was a missed miscarriage at 7-8 weeks. We only found out at the first scan and were completely unaware of any problem. It was only in hindsight that we realised that all my DW symptoms had vanished in the last few weeks.

So this time around we have become fixated on any symptoms she has developed. Which was great at first because she had more of them and they were much stronger, we actually celebrated MS.

But now as we approach the end of the first trimester, 10 weeks now, these symptoms have started to ease and in some cases have gone away, no MS for several days, boobs becoming less sensitive.

My DW has told me that I'm starting to drive her insane with my constant checking on her current state of being. Especially as I am starting to stress out over her answers. We had a scan a few days ago and everything looked ok.

But I still can't stop fixating on the state of her symptoms :( It's bringing me down.

*edit* Whoops, forgot the question. Is anyone else finding their symptoms are starting to ease?

Craig.

Hi Craig

With my last pregnancy mine went away about 10 weeks- everyone is different though. Sometimes you just get used to it sore boobs etc so you kind of don't notice as much- you get so used to feeling like **** that you don't notice (if that makes sense). Don't worry everything will be fine- just keep supporting ur wife as you are and it is perfectly normal to worry every single day when ur pregnant and it doesn't ease when they are born either :laughing: Ahh the joys of parenthood.

YacinesMommy
08-03-2008, 01:39 PM
First of all Nikki am am so sorry about the loss of your one twin. No wonder your cravings were all over the place. Did you want me to put the lost twin on the Oct :angel: list?? Let me know. Hope everything is ok with you. :hugs: At leaast you only have a little over 3 weeks till the 2nd trimester.
Secondly I am sorry for the title I guess I gota little excited at the thought of my 1st trimster almost being over. I will see if the Mods can change it. Any ideas mamas??
Now Craig :) - it is quite normal for MS to ease off in the weeks leading up to the end of the 1st trimester. Mine (i too am 10weeks) has almost disappeared (sometimes things like changing my DD nappy :dizzy: in the morning will still make me gag :barf: Is she still feeling tired?? thats another symptom, I am usually in bed by 830-9pm when i used to be up till atleast 10-11pm. I'm sure everything is fime with you DW. I think its great that you are coming on here. My DH is very much into the PG too but I am not sure if he would chat on this forum.
Thats it for me. I updated the list yesterday. can everyone check and make sure I have it all correct.

Ffrenchstar
08-03-2008, 01:52 PM
Secondly I am sorry for the title I guess I gota little excited at the thought of my 1st trimster almost being over. I will see if the Mods can change it. Any ideas mamas??

Oh no dont change it on my account lol! I was just commenting on how I feel like I have got a long way to go,I would feel loike that anyway!:hugs:

kirst85
08-03-2008, 02:35 PM
Hi all i havn't posted yet, i am due 20th oct this is my 4th, can i please be added. Havin a bit of a stress lately with lots of little aches and pains but my hcg is high which is good and my uterus is growing, just being paranoid.

~*clairesmum*~
08-03-2008, 03:40 PM
hi ladies

not much to tell no ms, nipples still sore im 10wks today :smiliedance: i had my dating scna n bub has grown n is back due on the 4th lol i could see it moving n its lil arms to be, 171bpm still which im happy with

my hospital app is at 2:05 on the 19th of march, i forgot but am going to read enoughter thread but who else choose to go to the redlands public?? scott n claire are still alseep

i was going to start writing on here about half an hr ago but got side tracked but cleaning so its all done now n its time to relax till claire wakes up, oh my utrus is reversed anyone else heard of that, it should go to normal when i hit 12wks ish

anywho take care

farmmummy: im sorry that you lost one of ur twins, but so happy that there is a stronger one in there, stay strong xx

krist85: welcome to the due in oct thread good luck

Mookie
08-03-2008, 04:35 PM
Kirst85 - Hello & welcome to the group! I'm due on 20/10 also (this is my 2nd).

Farmummy - I'm sorry to hear you lost one of your twins. Must have been a very emotional day for you finding out about that. I hope you're ok.

Craig - I think it's so sweet you're posting on here - good on you! I can understand exactly how you and your DW are feeling at the moment. I too had a missed m/c late last year. I m/c at almost 12wks to find out the heartbeat had stopped at around 9wks. It was such a shock. Mind you, all my symptoms had disappeared also & I had kind of wondered why. This time I'm scrutinising every symptom and worrying. I've come to the conclusion that worrying wont change anything & just trying to take it a day at a time. If your DW had a scan recently & everything looked ok, then that's great! Try & focus on that. My MS has been coming & going ie I feel ok for a few days & then it's back. I think it could be starting to ease for your wife at this point anyway. Try & relax if you can - I'm sure once the first trimeter ends you will both start to enjoy it a lot more :yes:.

Well, we're getting takeaway tonight which is exciting, but I'm finding it hard to see something on the menu I actually feel like! Damn this queasy tummy!!

kirst85
08-03-2008, 05:01 PM
Thanks for the welcome clairesmum and mookie, i had my bloods done at 7 weeks and they were showing that i was 8 - 10 wks which is good cause it means they are high which i like. My first scan is 14th Apr and i can't wait!

Lilys*mummy
08-03-2008, 06:03 PM
Welcome Kirst85!:wave:

So sorry to hear your news Farmmummy! As the others have said,what a bitter sweet time. It must be comforting to know that there is still one little bub sticking in there!

Clairesmum-I'm not going to Redlands Public but Im going to the hospital right next to it, Mater Private Redlands.

Well I was beggining to wonder if my bowel habits were normal too, seems other ppl are having the same issues!lol

I'm really glad I've had nearly no morning sickness. But I do think sometimes if everything is alright with this pregnancy as it's so different to my 1st. Being pregnant with DD, I had 24/7 morning sickness plus a list of other things happening to me! I suppose I should relax and enjoy it.

Hope everyone is having a great weekend. :flowerz:

babysweet
08-03-2008, 07:20 PM
Babysweet and Electri Mum~ I too am having bowel issues. I am so full of wind my stomach cramps all day long, it's wor