View Full Version : Magic May Babies # 4 - March Chat
meegzz
19-03-2008, 12:55 PM
Yes he likes tattoos haha its good though as he has a great friendship with one of the guys at our local tatooist so it helps make it a little cheaper for us!! And he is a very good tatooist at that.. I have only one so far a small butterfly in between my shoulder blades im planning on getting it made a little bigger and bubs name and DOB underneath it soon after bubs arrives!!
Hmm im so bored i have 29 days of work left not including PHs or weekends that is just the 5 working days inbetween weekends haha but still im getting excited :smiliedance:.
PrincessJasmine
19-03-2008, 01:22 PM
LOL we'll have to swap pics sometime, I've got a fair amount of ink, I have a chinese symbol somehwere :o I can't see it at the moment! I've got the character for panther and dog (as I was born in the year of the dog) on my back, they're the small ones. I have a black panther on one shoulder blade, and a red dragon on the other. On my lower back I have a huge blue and red snake. Thats all at the moment, I like to get mine done where I can cover them.
I hope their not cracking down on people coming and going at the Melbourne show, isn't that why you have to keep your ticket? Does't really matter since my pram has a big enough basket in the bottom. We parked in the grounds of Flemington race course, from memory it was free (but it may have been something like $8 which is about what you spend on train tickets in there anyway).
Isaac's Mummy
19-03-2008, 01:23 PM
Wow - we are a talkative bunch today!!! :ecomcity:
RM - I'm so glad that your ob has told you to slow down and start taking things easy! And even more glad that you're listening to him. I get exhausted just READING about your days!! I'm so thankful I don't have to hold down a full time job this pregnancy - I just don't know how I'd manage this time around.
Mel - the class at your DD's kinder sounds great. Have you found out any more info yet? It sounds really, really interesting, so it'll be good to hear how it all goes once bubs is here and Em gets to show him/her off and talk about being a big sister!! Sounds like a great program.
Hotpink - hi and welcome. Can't wait to get to know you a little better over the next couple of months.
Bel - don't you get to pick the name this time seeing as your DH chose Sienna??!! :laughing: I'm going to be different and say Orlando. Cause Orlando Bloom is HOT! I like all of the names though. Sorry - probably not much help!
Kayla - so glad you enjoyed your antenatal class. Sounds like you had a whole heap of fun!
Lauren - I love the name you've chosen for your little girl. I'm sure it will fit her perfectly! And I totally understand the whole clucky feeling!!
PJ - Sorry to hear your DH is being a pain in the butt. It's hard when you try your best to set your family up and get them out of debt, and he doesn't care and just flitters money away. I'm so thankful that my DH doesn't drink - it's such a waste of money, and doesn't achieve anything. He does however have a weakness for chocolate - but so do I!!!
Meegzz - YAY!! Not long to go now until you're on leave. How long are you taking off work?
meegzz
19-03-2008, 01:30 PM
Kayla - i forgot to say that im really happy for you that your classes went so well!!!
Glad they are fun for you!!!
Isaacs mummy - im taking 12 months off unpaid... so who knows really but i do plan on coming back!!!
PJ - Wow you are like covered mine is tiny at the moment i have some more i want but at the moment i am more concerned with bubs stuff than tattoos for me haha
PrincessJasmine
19-03-2008, 01:38 PM
DP is a pain, he doesn't really drink a huge amount, its just that it all adds up at the end of the week. I get why he is annoyed, he feels like he's working for nothing. But he's got no idea of what or how much we owe, he never pays attention when I tell him what I need for the following week. So when pay day rocks around he complains that I'm taking all the money when I should have already been caught up on bills etc. Yet he never factors in the amount that he spends per week on petrol and drinks. Instead of just bringing water to work, he stops and buys icy poles and big bottles of softdrink every day when its hot. But my biggest peeve of all would have to be the fact that he hands over the money, but then goes to my purse and helps himself. I hide it, he finds it and just takes, doesn't mention it at all. So when I go to grab money for something there's nothing there. Its a really bad habbit that no matter how much I complain about it, he wont change. I'm getting sneakier though!
Sorry again for the vent, I'm over it now. At least I got to go out with a friend on Saturday night (by myself, for the first time since DD came along) and I'm going to see Nelly Thomas "Not a yummy mummy" on Friday night with another friend (I won the bub hub comp). Looking forward to it since it will be the last time I get to go out for a long time. DP doesn't complain since he knows he gets a chance to go fishing!
mummajugs
19-03-2008, 01:46 PM
all i have done is the 2 stars on my lower tummy, which im sure youve all seen in my belly pics. some people say my tats are lame, which really annoys me, i got them when i moved over here from perth they sybolise my mum and brother. as soon as i get more, i will post them. im sure it wont be too long after bubs is born. so in the birth months threads we will do a swap!!! :D
isaac's mummy- thankyou. your so sweet. the clucky feeling is good but sometimes the hormones kick in and give me tears of joy. hehe. im a sook!
QUESTION FOR EVERYONE:
i am looking into getting a visa debit card. so i cant spend money that i dont have. but have the freedom of been able to purchase things online. does anyone have one of these and what bank are you with? what are the fees like etc?
thanx in advance to anyone that answers!
mummajugs
19-03-2008, 01:54 PM
pj- one of my ex's used to take my money all the time and you know what i done, i put a slit into the bottom of my handbag in the lining, maybe you could do something like that.
its a shame you have to go to extravagant measures. maybe once bubs born he will realise? just let him know the situation your in with money. maybe write a list of what you have to pay every week/fortnight and stick it to the fridge so he has to look at it everytime he goes to the fridge to get one of his drinks... or write up a budget. DP and i also do a weekly budget and it works out quite well. sometimes theres little things we cant help spending money on, but i find it works well.
hope some of this helps. i hope you dont think im being rude. just trying to help as i know how hard it is when partners dont listen.
Kayangel
19-03-2008, 02:05 PM
My doctors appointment went well expect that i now have to come up with $200 for a private scan to check my little boys kidneys my doctor didnt want to send my public as he doesnt think there any good for this type of u/s he wants to spend me somewhere where all they do is pregnancy scans so now im alittle upset as to what i should do not have the scan?? or come up with the money?? i have lay bys which i have to pay off, i no if i asked my parents they would give me the money but they have all ready given me so much.
Now to the good side of things, bubs is measuring 30 weeks and im 31 weeks 2morrow doctor said his a nice size bub, his got a good heartrate it was 137.
meegzz
19-03-2008, 02:18 PM
Kayla - Ask your parents for the money... you can pay them back with the BB but i think you should do the scan!! I know that there probably is nothing worng with bubs but just in case there could be you should definately get it to make sure!!
I have paid 200 for both of my ultrasounds so far and i would do it again if i had to..
I understand where you are coming from regarding bubs things laybys etc and the money situation as we are tight at the moment too!!!
Glad bubs is measuring well and heartbeat is good... i dont see my doc again until 32 weeks but i may wait till 33 and yeah and then it will be fortnightly for a little bit and then bubs will be here before i know it!!!
:hugs: to you kayla i know how hard it can be sometimes!!!! luv ya xox
Isaac's Mummy
19-03-2008, 02:42 PM
Lauren - we have a visa debit card with Heritage. We got it over the Christmas holidays. For us it's great, because when we moved from Qld to ACT found it really hard to use our cheque account without being charged extra fees because there's no heritage down here. We don't pay any fees. It's all tied into our cheque account with heritage (who are FANTASTIC by the way!). Works well, we can only use the money that's there, but we can still buy things online and use credit when we go shopping so as not to go over our free transactions per month. Hope this helps a little!
PJ - It's funny how guys don't realise that all of the little things they stop in at the servo/supermarket for add up, huh? A coke here, an ice block there, a packet of biscuits every second day - it all needs to come from somewhere!! Glad to hear that you're becoming better at hiding your money though :p It's sad that you have to, but better to be stashing some money away than not being able to buy groceries and pay the bills. Have a great night on Friday. Sounds like it will be a great night!
Kayla - oooh that sucks that you have to pay $200 for the ultrasound. I agree with Meegzz though, ask your folks and pay them back. OR cancel one of your laybys. Pick the stuff up after bubs is here and you've got the baby bonus. You'd never forgive yourself IF something was wrong with bubby's kidneys. This way if anything is there, they can be prepared for it and bubby will have treatment as soon as possible.
Kayangel
19-03-2008, 02:56 PM
Thanks Meegzz and Bec for the advice :hugs:
I just asked my mum if she would be able to give me the money for the scan and she said of course, she doesnt even want me to pay her back she loves her grandbaby so much and would do anything for him.
Im booked in at 9am 2morrow. Fingers crossed :fingerscrossed: all is fine.
cassie0011
19-03-2008, 03:00 PM
good luck 2moro kayla, i hope everything will be fine. im seeing my midwife 2nite for my check up.
Kayangel
19-03-2008, 03:13 PM
Thanks cassie. Let us no how ur appointment goes!
cindye
19-03-2008, 03:39 PM
Good Afternoon Girls!
Kayla - we've both got ultrasounds tomorrow - mine is to check if the placenta has moved up high enough. They'll also check the bub and give us an estimation of how big she'll be. I told DH that I don't know what's worse - them telling us that she's a nice healthy little size, but I'll have to have a c-section, or that i'm able to have a natural birth but she'll be 13pounds!!!:laughing:
Isaac'sMummy - have you had any news about your DH's work in Brissie? I don't know if I'd be more stressed going up for 6 weeks just before my due date or taking a new baby and toddler. You're a brave woman!
MJ - I had to laugh at your slit in the bottom of your handbag! Luckily my DH is pretty good with money - he earns it, I do the budget and spend it all! What I earn is my "pocket money". Our rent will be going up next month, so I'm squirreling away some extra pocket money for the first few months when bub is here. Still working 3 days a week and hoping to keep it up for another few weeks.
PJ - enjoy your night out on Friday!
Bel - I just love the name Connor, but I quite like Rylan too - it's not on my "Schoolteacher's list of Naughty Names!"
Hello to cassie0011, meegzz, mirandaj, EmsMum, rynosmum, Amanda and anyone else I've missed! Also, a big welcome to hotpink, and a big welcome back to lilybelle - love the pics of your nursery and cookies, by the way.
I'm feeling fairly "human" at the moment - have been sleeping ok, although I keep waking up with pins and needles in my hands which is annoying. They're quite swollen - i haven't been able to wear my rings for months now, but my OB said the swelling puts pressure on the nerves which causes the pins and needles. It gets better throughout the day, but the other morning i couldn't even lift my hand up to turn off my alarm!
Besides that I've just got the usual pregnancy complaints! Bought some nipple care cream from the health food shop to use twice daily from now on - don't know if it'll do anything, but it smells nice! Have also bought a couple of breastfeeding tops which i'm pretty happy with.
My SIL is coming on Saturday to visit for the weekend, which will be lovely. That's about it from me at the moment.
Hope everyone has a lovely relaxing long weekend and the easter bunny brings you all lots of chocolate!
Bel1978
19-03-2008, 03:41 PM
Kayla how exciting good luck
Bel1978
19-03-2008, 03:42 PM
QUESTION FOR EVERYONE:
i am looking into getting a visa debit card. so i cant spend money that i dont have. but have the freedom of been able to purchase things online. does anyone have one of these and what bank are you with? what are the fees like etc?
thanx in advance to anyone that answers!
I have one... sorry cant help im with a credit union we dont have fee's......
Kayangel
19-03-2008, 03:42 PM
cindye- Good luck with ur scan 2morrow, wat time is urs?? my fingers will be crossed for u that the placenta has moved up high enough.
Bel1978
19-03-2008, 03:44 PM
Bel- I'm hopeless with names, but I like Xavier. I'm doing a list of names and then deciding when I see the baby. LOL our baby might be nameless for a couple of days since I'm so indecisive about what to name her. I like Lilly, but then again I think I can come up with a better name, but can't think of any at the moment.
We dont name them till they are here also.. but i refuse to have baby(Surname) on the tag when they leave the delivery suite.... personal opinion
Kayangel
19-03-2008, 03:45 PM
Bel- hehe sorry posted at the same time. Im excited about my scan and scared at the same time, excited because i get to see my beauitful little boy and see how much his changed but scared because something might be wrong.
Oh and i forgot to say before.... i like the name Ryan! and connor.
cindye
19-03-2008, 03:46 PM
Not until 3.40pm. And I'm not sure if they'll tell us at the scan anyway - last time we found out the placenta was low when we went for our next OB visit.
Your little boy is going to be just fine, I know i!:yes:
Kayangel
19-03-2008, 03:54 PM
cindye- Thanks for being so positive hun :hugs: means alot.
When do u go back to the doctors next?
PrincessJasmine
19-03-2008, 04:21 PM
I'm sure little Jaylen will be fine Kayla, its nice of your mum to pay for the scan. I wish mine would pay some of my bills lol, can't complain though since she's buying me a car!
Can you believe I've even tried a lock box? but I'm really bad at hiding the key, he knows all my little spots.
Ooh my cats are going off! They just ran full speed into the door!
I put a lamb mini roast in the slow cooker today, the thing is now a quarter of the size it was. Not much of a dinner, I think I'll be getting Macca's tonight somehow. Its so tempting with all these fast foods so close to me.
Kayangel
19-03-2008, 04:30 PM
PJ- my parents are wondeful! they never say no to anything i want for Jaylen, i am very grateful to them both just wish they knew how much! i do also feel bad tho as it shouldnt be them buying things for Jaylen it should be me and bubs dad but insted of mathew buying things its my parents.
Lucky u getting a car off ur mum, my dad brought a car for me and got a called a idoit off my grandad for it :rolleyes:.
mmmm ur dinner sounds so nice!
mummajugs
19-03-2008, 04:35 PM
I put a lamb mini roast in the slow cooker today, the thing is now a quarter of the size it was. Not much of a dinner, I think I'll be getting Macca's tonight somehow. Its so tempting with all these fast foods so close to me.
haha thats the only prob ive found with the slow cooker, everything shrinks so i used to end up eating something else while the rest of the family eats what i cooked!
i then learnt that i needed to buy a bigger cut of meat... who ever said less is more is a liar haha
Hello everyone -
Goodness me, so chatty today!! I had my appt with my doula today, she was fantastic, she even gave me a massage! Sweet! She gave me a book i've been really wanting to read and some info and i've got a web address to get myself some homepathic remedies for before, during and after labour.
That's about all, then i got to meet a few bubhubbers today, one was up from Sydney so that was great to meet her. :)
I better go and get myself some dinner. :)
amandaw
19-03-2008, 06:55 PM
Holy Heck!!! ME TOO!:D
I was there at 9.....when did you go in?
More and more freaky!!! I had a 9.40 appointment - was up there about 9.30 but imagine that I would have missed you cause they're only short (had a pram so would have been easy to spot!)
Just promise me that we won't go into labour at the same time.... If so I bags David :laughing:. It's be nice to know someone in there though...it actually ended up that one of the other August mummies was in there last time with me (her son was born about 8 hrs after C) but we didn't know till afterwards....and she managed to snaffle the 'magic' room ...cow :laughing: (You know I'm kidding Alli!!!)
[I
Em's teacher at kinder has asked us to participate in a new program which will hopefully help Em adjust to having a new sibling. A lady from the council will come and have chats with both Emily and myself, then once I have the baby I have to take it in a few times (to kinder) and all the kids can ask me questions etc. It's supposed to help Emily cope with everything, for her self esteem, and to make her feel so special being a big sister because everyone will be asking us questions etc.
That sounds amazing! Everyone keeps asking if C realises what's going on ..I don't think she really does at 19 months, but who knows....In fact hasn't even acknowledge the bumb, though yesterday it was poking out the bottom of my PJ's and she drew on it!!
[B]Amanda: My ob hasn’t mentioned Strep B test yet, and I hope he doesn’t. I don’t want him doing it. I might ask if my female GP can do the swab instead, and I read you can do it yourself in the toilet if you want.
I just figure it's the least of our worries really! Dignity will be laeving the room in 6 weeks time :laughing:. My ob doesn't make a huge deal of it which is a bonus
LOL our baby might be nameless for a couple of days since I'm so indecisive about what to name her.
C was nameless for 4 days....was just "our princess"...awwww
Well 6 weeks tomorrow...really on the home stretch now!!! Bring on the school holidays so that I actually get started with baby no 2 stuff...guilty of doing nothing here!!
Lillybelle
19-03-2008, 09:09 PM
Wow! I have been reading all the new posts for the last few hours. I think it is going to take me a few weeks to catch up on everything that is going on with everyone and getting to know who is who, but I will do my best.
Had a very busy few days but thankfully we have nothing planned for the entire long weekend, which will be great.
Went and visited a friend today who has kindly lent me a capsule, a swing and a steam steriliser. I also bought the fabric for the nursery curtains which I will attempt to make over the coming week.
Cindye- I just noticed on your ticker that you are due on 2nd May. We may well meet again in the maternity ward as I am booked in for my caesar on Mon 5th May. Are you doing the antenatal classes? We did the 'Caesarean Section & Parenting Intensive Workshop' last weekend and it was really good.
Hope everyone gets a long, peaceful and pain free nights sleep.....
Ava&Jacksons_Mumma
19-03-2008, 10:53 PM
Hello Girls:wave:
I have been fairly quiet on the posting front, but i do make sure i read what everyone is up to.
I had a few questions.. everyone seems to be seeing their obs or midwives much more frequently than i am.. I had my last appointment on the 4th of march and i won't have my next one until the 1st of april (which will make me around 36 weeks) does this sound right to everyone? :confused:
I remember having more appointments with my DD.
Last time i had PE with BP at 117/190 and i was induced so hopefully this time around i can avoid all that drama and have a natural birth :yes:
I have noticed there are a few mums here who are having their 2nd & 3rd bubs, are you all as nervous as me thinking about how you will cope with more than one?
Well i hope everyone has a great easter long weekend, we'll be taking DD to this egg hunt thing thats being held in adel
:goodvibes:
rynosmum
19-03-2008, 11:29 PM
More and more freaky!!! I had a 9.40 appointment - was up there about 9.30 but imagine that I would have missed you cause they're only short (had a pram so would have been easy to spot!)
Just promise me that we won't go into labour at the same time.... If so I bags David It's be nice to know someone in there though
No, you weren't there yet but we literally must have just missed each other. I had my appts wrong - was supposed to be there at 10:50 but thought it was 8:50. Luckily the 9am appt didn't show so Vicki put me straight in there but David was running late after doing a couple of deliveries so didn't arrive until about 9:10. Too funny.
It would be nice to know someone at the hospy. I found the experience pretty full on last time - I had no idea what I was in for with my first bub and we had trouble starting b/feeding. This time I'm hoping :fingerscrossed: for a bit of a more chilled out time of it so would be lovely to know someone there. If you bags David though, I definitely want the special corner suite :laughing:
Well 6 weeks tomorrow...really on the home stretch now!!! Bring on the school holidays so that I actually get started with baby no 2 stuff...guilty of doing nothing here!!
Yes me too - the builder isn't arriving until the 5th April to do our building work :hair: so we literally have nothing to start until he has been here....
Had a very busy few days but thankfully we have nothing planned for the entire long weekend, which will be great.
Hope everyone gets a long, peaceful and pain free nights sleep.....
Us too, I'm looking forward to 4 days of no pressure:yes:
As for the long night's sleep. I slept for about 2 hours and then was woken by an alarm up the street. Wide awake now but hoping to get sleepy soon.
everyone seems to be seeing their obs or midwives much more frequently than i am.. I am now on fortnightly visits which moves to weekly visits at maybe 36 weeks? I would have thought with your history that they would have you on more frequent visits? Maybe not - every situation seems to be so different.
I have noticed there are a few mums here who are having their 2nd & 3rd bubs, are you all as nervous as me thinking about how you will cope with more than one?
I'm actually more nervous about how I will bond with the new baby as well as I did with my son. My DS is almost 4 and really is my little best mate. I adore him and our special times together so much. I know that I'll love our new baby - no doubt about that but I'm so conscious of how I can make the transition for my son better and not to make him sad that he's missing any special time together with me.
Mel, the program that Em and yourself are doing sounds really good - I can see how that would help the transition so very well.
Cindye and Kayla - Best of luck tomorrow/today with your scans! Will be thinking of you both.:hugs:
PJ, have you ever thought of having a private bank account where you just squirrel away any extra money? DH really has to get a better handle on your budgeting, it must make it so hard. It's almost tempting to put a sheet up on the fridge every week - almost like a profit and loss showing money coming in and commitments for the week etc?
Hi to everyone I've missed!:wave:
Ava&Jacksons_Mumma
19-03-2008, 11:41 PM
I am now on fortnightly visits which moves to weekly visits at maybe 36 weeks? I would have thought with your history that they would have you on more frequent visits? Maybe not - every situation seems to be so different.
I'm actually more nervous about how I will bond with the new baby as well as I did with my son. My DS is almost 4 and really is my little best mate. I adore him and our special times together so much. I know that I'll love our new baby - no doubt about that but I'm so conscious of how I can make the transition for my son better and not to make him sad that he's missing any special time together with me.
I was thinking exactly the same thing, they did assess me to see if i was high risk and i never heard anything back so i guess the obs decided i was the same as everyone else :confused: I might just have to call up and see if my appointments are on track and there hasn't been any mistakes.
I'm worried about bonding with my bub too, and how this will make my DD feel, i don't want her to feel neglected or left out at all because she's such an amazing lil girl.
Ahh the worries of motherhood :hissy:
Bel1978
20-03-2008, 06:16 AM
:goodvibes:
I will have a 12 month age gap.. which is what we wanted but now im thinking my baby isnt ready for another baby
Bel1978
20-03-2008, 06:18 AM
Bel- hehe sorry posted at the same time. Im excited about my scan and scared at the same time, excited because i get to see my beauitful little boy and see how much his changed but scared because something might be wrong.
Oh and i forgot to say before.... i like the name Ryan! and connor.
What time is your appointment?? Every thing will be perfect! :hugs:
Sienna was up every hour until 1.30am so i took her downstairs to play to make her sleep.. she played until 4am then slept till 7.30 am why isnt she tired im going insane i cant take much more of this being pregnant.. going to ask the community nurse next week for advice.. why she doesnt seem to need sleep.
cassie0011
20-03-2008, 07:30 AM
my appointment last night was good, got to hear the heart beat at 130bpm and she had the hiccups at the same time! also my midwife i saw last night was pregnant too, and also due at the end of may, she is 30wks and she looked bigger than me. fundal height was 32.5 at 32wks. my glucose level was 7.4 and she said that anything under 8 was normal. so all was good :thumbsup:
Hello to everyone and have a good day!:wave:
TheEmpress
20-03-2008, 08:20 AM
Hi everyone !
I haven't been on for a while so just read the last few pages & I'll try to do as many personals as I can .
Bel - Sorry , Haven't been on for ages last time we spoke you were telling me how you went to hospital - Hope all is going well with you and bub these days , Seems like you are well !
I really like the names Connor and Blake - We also have Blake picked for our boys name haha - I really like the name Blake , girls names we are having more difficulties with - We are running out of time and we're still not sure on names .
Mirandaj-Glad things went well at your app.
Last pregnancy I was made to do the strep B test myself at home and take the swab in after to my next app ,I'm not sure but I don't think the midwifes do It for you (what a relief!)
Hotpink- Hi & welcome ! I'm Bel & I'm now 26 (had a birthday last week)I am 31 weeks preg and have an 18 month old dd -Looking forward to chatting to you in the threads !:)
Mummajugs-Kyla Louise is a beautiful name !Congrats on choosing a name , It is soo hard!
Princess Jasmine- I love the name Kayleigh !
That's beautiful ! I know you were going to use It for your dd but do you think you'll choose it this time around ?Kayleigh and Jasmine go nicely together :)
Ohhh.. talking about tattoos , I love them and are highly addicted .... I have 2 but plan for more -have been meaning to go back for years but I have been pregnant for years :laughing:
My next one I want a Goddess as for the last few years I have felt a lot of Goddess/feminine energy around me and I'll also get my kids names or star signs once I have bub - When I go to get mine DF wants more too , he wants a 3/4 or full sleeve (which will be hot ,can't wait!)
Kayla-Glad your app went well , Hope your scan goes well for you today !Thinking of you!
Cindye- Goodluck at your scan today too !
Hope all goes well !
Ava&Jacksons mumma- My apps are the same gaps as you, the midwifes said It's cause It's my 2nd baby I don't need to come in as often but to call If I have any problems - I quite like it actually , felt like I was at the hosp so often last time and I've hardly been this time which is great !
About your question, this will be my 2nd bub , my 2 will be 20 months apart , I'm trying not to think about how I will go with 2 , I'll cross that bridge when I come to it - I don't want to feel stressed now, when I think about It I feel a little nervous but I think we'll all settle in fine - I just hope dd goes ok with having a brother or sister , she love's bubbas so I'm hoping all will be good :fingerscrossed:She keeps coming up and putting her hand on my tummy and saying bubba which is cute - When she sees bubs and she gets excited I tell her soon there will be one living in our house with us !
It's exciting !:D
Ok , About me -
Twice this week I have been really violently ill at night , Last night I was so tired I went to sleep at 9 , I woke up at 10 in a sweat and I couldn't move I felt so bad - I yelled out to df as he was watching tv and he brought me a wet facewasher for my face and a bucket and I just started being really sick .
I was sick a few days ago during the night (too much info I think but the other way If you get what I mean:o) I don't know why this is happening to me & It makes me worry about how the baby might be feeling when I feel this sick- It feels like food poisoning but no-one else gets sick and they're eating the same thing so It's not that ... Has any one else felt really sick ? I have read in books that It can be signs of pre labour to be sick like that -but I didn't have that with dd so I'm not sure ..
What do you think ?
Anyway , sorry for long post ,
Better be off & look after my dd !
Hi to V8,meegz,Amanda,Rynosmum,Emsmum,Cassie
Issacsmummy& anyone else I missed , hope your all well ! Speak soon !!
Hi Everyone :)
Ametrine - I am a bit the same too have had diarhhoea the last 2 mornings now, and get pretty bad headaches, i just have to lay down a bit longer in the mornings and then i'm right. But not throwing up sick, urrghh i hate throwing up, thank god i never got morning sickness or i seriously would have only got pregnant once! lol
Bel and Rynosmum - Sorry you guys aren't getting much sleep, that must be so hard, Bel i don't know how you do it sweetie. :hugs:
Rynosmum - Hope the builders get in and get it done quickly, at least it's not too long to wait now i guess. It must be frustrating wanting to be organised and not able to, i guess your hubby could help out a bit though.
Cassie - Good to hear your appt last night went well.
A&J'smum - I also think maybe that this is your 2nd pregnancy they don't need to see you as much. I don't plan on going to the GP again this pregnancy unless i feel something's not right.
Hope everyone else is going along well. :wave: to everyone i missed :)
mummajugs
20-03-2008, 10:41 AM
hi everyone!!!!!
ametrine- i know what you mean about being sick the 'other way' its terrible. i was like that a few weeks ago. i also thought it was food poisoning from undercooked chicken. but i think its just part and parcel with pregnancy. if your cooking dinner, maybe your picking at the food while your making it and it may be a little undercooked. sometimes you just dont know. thats how i got food poisoning one time and that was horrendous. hope your feeling better soon!:hugs:
bel- sienna isnt getting too much sugar in her diet is she? maybe without you even noticing? just a thought. that happened to one of my friends. maybe its just cause of her teeth coming through, she might be in too much pain to be able to get to sleep? i hope you can get a good night sleep soon!
ava&jacksons_mumma- with my hospital we have to go in at, 28,31,34,36,38,39,40weeks. so they are quite often. maybe just ring up and see if its correct cause it sounds like you should be going in more often considering how high your BP was with DD and the fact you had PE. id definitly be checking it out. you can also ask if you can go more often, it eases your mind alot when you get to hear bubs well more often.
well im going to DP's this arvo and we are going shopping for easter gifts for the family, looking at somethings to put in my labour/hospital bag. and having a look at some nursing chairs to put in bubs room as i wont be able to BF around the house as DP's family live there too. so a little awkward haha. hopefully i find one at a reasonable price.
hope everyone has a wonderful long weekend! just sit back and take it all in!
hope all is well!
PrincessJasmine
20-03-2008, 11:40 AM
RM- I've got an online savings account, but can only afford to put in $10 a fortnight, I'm putting whats left of the baby bonus money in there so we have some money for rainy day.
Ametrine, its sounds like you've got a bit of the gastro bug. You don't need to have eaten anything bad to get gastro. I've had it a couple of times at the start of this pregnancy.
Hi to everyone else, I'm really out of it today. My leg feels worse than it did yesterday, I can't drive with it since my car is manual. I'm finding it hard to walk, let alone try and clean the house. Its staying a mess over the easter weekend. DP said we can look into hiring a cleaner for a couple of hours a week for when I'm close to labour and the weeks after. Its just so overwhelming trying to clean up after a toddler, there's toys and pencils everywhere. It hurts just to bend over.
Bel1978
20-03-2008, 12:56 PM
I thought the sugar thing as well, We are booked into doctor brown on tuesday her paed... I have to set a strict routine at night, dinner, bath , bottle book as we havent done this at night.. its the long weekend so we can stick to it over 3 nights..
Ametrine - as for girls names i have soo many what type of name are you looking for ???
EmsMum72
20-03-2008, 02:12 PM
Here's a few personals! :D
Im booked in at 9am 2morrow.
How'd you go today Kayla?
I keep waking up with pins and needles in my hands which is annoying.
I've had a bit of pins & needles too lately, very frustrating. Mine just comes on during the day. I get bad calf cramps during the night.
I had my appt with my doula today, she was fantastic, she even gave me a massage!
She sounds awesome Vee. It's great that you have someone you feel comfortable with.
That sounds amazing! Everyone keeps asking if C realises what's going on ..I don't think she really does at 19 months, but who knows....In fact hasn't even acknowledge the bumb, though yesterday it was poking out the bottom of my PJ's and she drew on it!!
:laughing: I think the younger ones are pretty blaise about their mum's being pregnant again and don't really understand until the baby is actually here! My DD is 4, so she's at a great age & knows what's going on.
Well 6 weeks tomorrow...really on the home stretch now!!
Jeez .... scary stuff!
I had a few questions.. everyone seems to be seeing their obs or midwives much more frequently than i am.. does this sound right to everyone?
I'm still going every 4 weeks. I had a check up at 28wks, dr said to come back in 4 weeks but I'm guessing at the 32 weeks check up they'll make me start coming in fortnightly. They seem to be pretty blaise with women who have already had a child, and from what I've heard they're like that in the hospital too because you're 'supposed' to know what you're doing.
I'm not really nervous about how I will cope with a new baby. I think my daughter is at a great age and she will be so helpful. I worry that DD has too much stuff going on during the week and I'll be pulling my hair out by the end of each week running her here there & everywhere, and caring for a new baby on little sleep, but I'm sure I'll survive, as will we all! :yes:
Mel, the program that Em and yourself are doing sounds really good - I can see how that would help the transition so very well.
Yes it should be great! Sorry to hear that the builders have taken so long to get to you, talk about stress! Will the baby be sleeping in your room initially? That's why I'm not freaking out yet about not having started the baby's room, because she/he will be in with us for the first few months anyway. We need to remove all the plaster, insulate, re-plaster & paint the baby's room. Goodness knows when hubby thinks he'll find the time to do that, but he assures me he will!
my appointment last night was good, got to hear the heart beat at 130bpm and she had the hiccups at the same time!
Glad to hear that cassie!
Twice this week I have been really violently ill at night , Last night I was so tired I went to sleep at 9 , I woke up at 10 in a sweat and I couldn't move I felt so bad - I yelled out to df as he was watching tv and he brought me a wet facewasher for my face and a bucket and I just started being really sick .
Sounds like gastro to me too!
having a look at some nursing chairs to put in bubs room as i wont be able to BF around the house as DP's family live there too. so a little awkward haha. xxx
Why not? I thought your partner's dad would love a good perve :laughing:
Someone mentioned tatts. My hubby has something out of the 'footrot flats' cartoon on his left arm, a lion & sunset on his left shoulder blade, his family crest & a kiwi bird on his right arm & 2 roses on his bum cheek :o with Melissa & Emily, and the new addition will be added to that next time we go back to NZ (that's where he's had all his tatts done, same guy).
Bel, DD is doing well at kinder (thanks for asking). She's a bit excited about the easter bunny, she's been more excited about making easter things & deciding what she would like the easter bunny to bring her. I'm going very low key this year, I've only bought her a small kinder surprise easter pack, an egg with smarties in it, and some small eggs to throw around in the backyard for a little treasure hunt, oh and 2 easter books.
Thanks to everyone who mentioned how great the kinder program sounds for DD. I haven't received any other info yet, but the teacher will get it all together for me over the break and give it to me in term 2!
Well hubby just rang and he won't be home until super dooper late tonight (why is it that everyone loads him up to the eyeballs with work when there's a couple of public holidays, they have all this time to organise themselves knowing Easter is coming, but leave it all until the last minute).
Bubs is very active. My groin keeps getting sore and last night when I felt my belly it felt really hard (braxton hicks I'm thinking, although I've had no pain with them, just hardening of the uterus).
Well that's it for now. Gotta go and get DD's dinner ready!
Kayangel
20-03-2008, 02:42 PM
Been very chatty in here again! good to see.
IM 31 WEEKS TODAY!!!!
well, i didnt get the news i was hoping for.... Jaylen has fetal renal pelvis dilatation, i have so many questions for my ob when i see him next in 2 weeks, the lady who did the u/s did explain a few things tho.
From what i understand in most cases fetal renal pelvis dilatation resolves itself in later pregnancy tho in Jaylen case it most likely wont as im now 31 weeks or it can be resloved shortly after delivery, Jaylen will need a short course of antibiotics and worest case surgery will be performed but this is rare.
fetal renal pelvis dilatation is were urine is going back into the babies kidneys, sometimes it corrects itself other times it doesnt.
I will most likely need another scan before Jaylen is born and Jaylen will most likely need his kidneys scanned after his born.
on a good note.... My little boy is so cute!!! his prefect awww :valentine:, his a really nice size and has the sweetest little face. His head is really low down.
meegzz
20-03-2008, 02:51 PM
Kayla - Big hugs :hugs: im sure everything will resolve itself!! One good thing is that you get to see him a few more times before he is born!!!
Well ihope you are taking the news ok!! Just remember it can be resolved!!!!
Well im going home everyone have a great long weekend woohoo xoxoxo
Bel1978
20-03-2008, 02:55 PM
Kayla the lady across the road had problems with kidneys with both bubba's the last one spent a few days in the NIC unit they are both very healthy babies now....
Kayangel
20-03-2008, 03:09 PM
Personals....
Amanda- My bubba niece who is 20 mths knows and understands about my baby and her sisters baby, she is so cute she goes up to my belly and says "Jaylen, kiss" and kisses my belly and then goes up to her sisters belly and says "holly, kiss" and kisses her sisters belly, she also points my belly or her sisters belly and says "baby in there" tho im sure she is thinking omg these babies r never going to come lol.
Ava&jacksons_mumma- u should be having appointments every 2 weeks from 28 weeks.
Rynosmum- U sounds like a wonderful mummy, im sure u will work out a way to still give ur little boy special mummy and son time, im sure both ur son and the new baby will get all the love they need.
Bel- Sorry to hear Sienna was up so long in the night, i hope she gets a better nights sleep tonight and lets her mummy rest.
Cassie- Gald to hear ur appointment went well.
Ametrine- I am so sorry u have been feeling so sick hun, u should ring the hositpal and talk to them about it. Please take care.
Mel- Good to hear ur little ones is so active! :D.
Meegzz- Thanks for the hugs, im hoping he will be fine after a course of antibiotics.
isaacsmammy
20-03-2008, 03:18 PM
Kayla Just wanted to post and say that renal pelvis dilation was found at my scan at 22 weeks. I had another scan a fortnight ago at 30 weeks and its still the same. The sonographer had the consultant radiologist come in and have a look and she says that the baby should be checked at six weeks old. I asked the ob the other day and he said they would scan the baby's kidneys at six weeks but we've to ask for a paediatrician to have a look at the baby before bub and I leave hospital.
The radiologist said the main thing they'll be looking for is reflux. The don't find this very often but they like to check for it because if it is reflux and it's not picked up early then it can damage the baby's kidneys.
I found this info after my scan. Don't know if it'll be any use to you but it's there just in case.
The renal pelvis is the are in the kidney where urine collects before being passed down the ureter into the bladder. Usually, the renal pelvis can not be seen as a separately from the kidney at the time of the 18-week morphology scan. Renal Pelvis Dilatation (RPD) is the term used to describe a visible renal pelvis, usually greater than 4 mm at 18 weeks.
The detection of renal pelvis dilatation in the second trimester poses two very different dilemmas to both the sonographer and the parents. The first is the increased risk of chromosome abnormalities, particularly Down syndrome and the second the possibility of kidney damage and impaired renal function after birth.
The incidence of chromosome abnormalities is greatly increased if any other structural malformation is present, when it appears to be about 10%. With no other abnormalities seen, the incidence is about 0.5%.
The exact RPD that is accepted as normal is still being debated in the literature. However most would agree that greater than 10 mm is more likely to have a poor prognosis. Between 4 and 10 mm, it is more difficult to accurately predict the outcome.
The exact incidence of RPD in the ‘normal’ population is hard to be certain, but it is if the order of 2% (up to 4mm diameter).
Some investigators have stated the risk as a function of maternal age, saying that the presence of RPD increases the risk of an abnormal karyotype 1.5 times that of the background risk for the mother’s age.
As the risk of Amniocentesis causing a miscarriage is less than 0.5%, some investigators recommend Amniocentesis for all women with RPD. Most however will only offer Amniocentesis if another physical ‘soft’ sign is present.
Which fetuses need to be followed more closely?
Some investigators believe ALL fetuses with RPD need a repeat scan later in pregnancy. Some use a cut-off of 5 or 6 mm and re-scan all those fetuses.
What causes RPD other that Down Syndrome?
Most of them are transient and because they appear to disappear in time it is though that they are due to immaturity of the renal collecting system, and not harmful.
Some are thought to arise from compression of the ureter as it descends into the pelvis and in to the pelvis. This may be a transient phenomenon but which may cause harm to the kidney over time.
Some of the dilatation appears to be due to reflux. In these cases, the urine flowing down into the bladder refluxes (comes back up the ureter) when the fetus empties its bladder. This back pressure is what appears to cause damage the kidneys themselves.
What investigations need to be done?
Usually during pregnancy, no further investigations are done except monitor the progress of the RPD. If the kidneys appear to be affected, then induction of labor or early delivery might be indicated on fetal grounds. This is rare.
Most of the investigations are done after the baby is delivered. These consist of ultrasound and X-rays to determine the extent of the effects on the kidneys. Usually the baby is given prophylactic (preventative) antibiotics to decrease the risk of developing infection. Infection is more likely to occur where there is stagnant (not-moving) urine such as in the renal pelvis.
What increases the risks to the fetus?
The risk of renal damage increases if :
The size appears to increase
The kidneys appear longer (kidney length in mm = gestational age in weeks +7.2)
The RPD is bilateral (both kidneys)
The fetus is male
The ureter also appears dilated (Ureterectasis)
The shape of the RPD is rounded rather than flattenedThere are two tests that are commonly done.
The first is another renal ultrasound - done after a week or so of age and the baby is feeding normally. This is similar to the test you had but we can get much closer to the kidney sand get a better view. The baby needs to be fed about an hour before the examination (so the bladder is likely to be full).
The other is an X-ray called a Micturating Cysto-Urethrogram (MCU). Micturating means passing urine. A thin catheter is passed through the baby's urethra into the bladder and a dye is passed in and an X-ray taken. There is very little risk to this procedure, other than the very low radiation from the X-ray. This test is usually doe when the baby is several weeks old.
Are there any other tests?
The only other tests are usually of the baby's urine - to make sure that there are no bacteria and the baby doesn't develop a urinary tract infection (UTI). If there is a definite abnormality or a UTI, the baby is commenced on antibiotics. Antibiotics used in this fashion as a preventative measure are called 'prophylactic' . They are given in low doses, to keep the urine sterile and free of bacteria.
The purpose of all these investigations is to ensure that your baby, who has had a possible abnormality seen at antenatal ultrasound does not develop problems later in life. The tests are to determine if there is any abnormality of the kidney system, the nature of that abnormality and to ensure the least possible damage to the baby's kidneys.
How does the MCU test tell me the baby's kidneys will be OK?
Reflux is where the urine goes up the ureter into the renal pelvis rather than down into the urethra - and passed out. Reflux is present in up to 1% of neonates. Of fetuses with RPD 4-10 m, 16% have reflux. Unfortunately the degree of dilatation in fetal life does not closely correlate with the degree of reflux. The rate of eventual scarring has been correlated to the grade of reflux and presence of infection.
PrincessJasmine
20-03-2008, 03:20 PM
I'm sorry you didn't get the news you wanted Kayla. Its doesn't sound too bad though, just stay positive :hugs:
The braxton hicks have been getting much more frequent for me. I've also been feeling little twinges like early labour pains. I'm starting to think I'm going to go early, hopefully not too early. I'm just feeling really tired this week, I've pretty much done nothing other than what was absolutely needed.
Kayangel
20-03-2008, 06:57 PM
I came across a website that has this like labour predictor thing on there.
http://pregnancyandbaby.com/pregnanc...rience-736.htm (http://pregnancyandbaby.com/pregnancy/baby/Madame-Zaritska-predicts-your-birth-experience-736.htm)
Isaacsmammy- Thank you so much for all the information :hugs: its great! very helpful. Im still trying to process all the info, im hanging out for my next OB appointment so i can ask some questions.
Bel1978
21-03-2008, 07:39 AM
Hi all... I got sleep last night... sienna woke up every 2 hours still but DH and i took it in turns to see her.. she came to our bed at 5.30 which is no problem and woke up at 8.30
Hey All
I'm having some homebirth ladies come over for a visit today, so that should be nice. :D Had an awful case of the runs this morning geez!! It was yukky, hopefully it was just a one off thing, ewww, sorry! lol
My tummy is still a bit iffy, very annoying. This is the first time i've had to be a 'host' as such, usually my family comes down, brings there own stuff and organises most things, so i have been getting DH to help me make sandwiches and cutting up celery and carrot sticks! hehe, he did a good job! :) I just hope they show up! :laughing:
Anyways, will probably be back on later, it is soooo hot today!!!
Isaac's Mummy
21-03-2008, 08:29 AM
Kayla - sorry it wasn't the news you were hoping for, but at least everyone is aware there may be a problem now and can look out for it. You and Paula (Isaacsmammy) can help each other through this time which is comforting, having someone know what you're going through (if that makes sense).
Mel - hope DH didn't get home too late last night, and that you get to enjoy the weekend together. He does get the long weekend off, right? Doesn't have to work at all? Sounds like your DD is going to have a great Easter - I'm really looking forward to when Isaac is at an age to really get excited and understand what's going on!! At the moment just seeing a box that he can open is exciting enough for him to yell "oh wow!" :laughing: He's so cute!
Rachel - I'm only seeing my middies every three weeks at this stage. I think at 36 weeks it becomes every two weeks. I'm not too sure, but I'm not too worried either. The pregnancy is going well, I feel great, and it's nice not to have to drive to the hospital anymore than I need to!! I am also starting to wonder how it's going to be with two little ones. It's only really just starting to hit me that in two months there'll be another little baby here!! I know I'll be fine, and I'm positive Isaac will be too, it's just the uncertainty at the moment that's starting to get to me!! Ava sounds gorgeous, so I'm sure she'll be great with her little brother, and you sound like a fabulous mummy, so I'm sure you will also do just fine :hugs:
Vee - have a great day today!!! Let us know how it all goes. I'm sure you'll do just fine as hostess!
Bel - glad that you got some sleep last night!! It does get better - I promise! It just takes a while. Isaac has finally become really good with his sleeping - to start waking up again in the last week because of his teeth. And by the time he's back to normal again, we'll have a newborn and we're back to the drawing board :D
meegzz
21-03-2008, 11:46 AM
Kayla- this is what i got from your predictor thingy haha hope it really is just like this...
The day you deliver, outside will be blustery. Your baby will arrive in the morning. After a labor lasting approximately 6 hours, your child, a girl, will be born. Your baby will weigh about 7 pounds, 12 ounces, and will be 20 inches long. This child will have dark brown eyes and dark hair.
But there is more. Although you may feel tired, your pregnancy will be over before you are truly ready to let go of having this precious baby you have all to yourself. I sense that you will look back and long for these days. I suggest doing something now to preserve some memories of this time. Many women enjoy making a belly cast (http://pregnancyandbaby.com/read/articles/219.htm). Perhaps you would be interested, too.
Funny!!! Well im not really on today just was seeing what was happening!!!
Vee - i hope you feel better soon and have a great time with your girlies!!!
PrincessJasmine
21-03-2008, 01:35 PM
:laughing: That predictor thing is pretty wacky!
The day you deliver, outside will be breezy. Your baby will arrive in the early evening.
After a labor lasting approximately 9 hours, your child, a boy, will be born. Your baby will weigh about 10 pounds, 6 ounces, and will be 19-1/2 inches long. This child will have light blue eyes and be completely bald.
It would be nice if it turned out to be a boy, but I sure as hell don't want to squeez out 10 pounds of baby!
I'm off to see a comedy show with a friend this evening. Hopefully it will be a good night, and I wont have to rush off to pee too frequently. :o
Hey All
That predictor thing was so weird:
What she senses for you
The day you deliver, outside will be windy. Your baby will arrive at night.
After a labor lasting approximately 2 hours, your child, a girl, will be born. Your baby will weigh about 6 pounds, 8 ounces, and will be 18 inches long. This child will have light brown eyes and a little patch of brown hair.
But there is more. I sense that you are feeling some stress. This is very normal. However, I would like to suggest that you try some of these methods to pamper yourself a bit.
:laughing: :laughing: I don't think i will have a baby that small, and no way this is a girl! lol
Kayla - Sounds like you are pretty positive about Jaylen and i'm sure he's fine and at least they know about it in advance so they can check him out when he's born.
I had a great day playing host! lol Well at least they ate pretty much all the food which was great, it was a very hot day though and the kids were entertained with all Joshy's toys and the big tv with the disney channel kept them entertained too! lol But Joshy was good he shared his toys and was a good little mister.
I also learned heaps of stuff and got to chat with some lovely ladies, so it was all a great day. :D
Tomorrow i'm going shopping for a maternity outfit to wear to my sister's engagement party and then Sunday we are having the family down for easter and to farewell my little bro who's moving to Japan. So that's going to keep us pretty busy, just hope it isn't so hot again over the weekend, or at least i hope we get a cool breeze!
Bel1978
22-03-2008, 09:29 AM
Madame Zaritska, our resident clairvoyant, wants to help you prepare for the arrival of your child. Here she does her best to predict certain aspects of your labor and birth experience.
What she senses for you
The day you deliver, outside will be foggy. Your baby will arrive in the morning.
After a labor lasting approximately 16 hours, your child, a boy, will be born. Your baby will weigh about 7 pounds, 12 ounces, and will be 19-1/2 inches long. This child will have blue eyes and be completely bald. But there is more. I sense that you wonder if you will have a difficult time during labor and birth.
cassie0011
22-03-2008, 10:11 AM
Kayla- sorry to hear about jaylens kidneys, hopefully everything will be fine when he is born or just after. stay positive!
Yesterday my hubby and i took our son to the Melbourne zoo, it was a great day, my son absolutely loved it, he loved looking at all the animals that he could see. luckily it didnt rain and it wasnt hot! He was so tired on the way home he fell aslepp in the car and he slept well last night for once, only woke a couple of times. this morning he is sleeping good too, he has been asleep since 9.30 am and it is now 12.15. he never sleeps this long, must still be tired from yesterday!
Cassie thats so cute that your DS loved the zoo, it's lots of fun taking kiddies to places like that.
I was getting braxton hicks last night, and after i was just saying yesterday to the girls that were over that i have never had them, haha! So now i have! Got a few this morning too so that was interesting.
ETA - Oh and forgot, i am 33 weeks today!! :)
PrincessJasmine
22-03-2008, 11:08 AM
I had a good night out last night. But, in the middle of the night, a burning electrical smell started coming out of our gas hot water system. The electrics in the thing are fried and we have no hot water. Being Easter weekend of course nothing is open, so the gas man can't get the part until Tuesday. So no hot showers for me until Tuesday! :mad: I'm absolutely livid. By the time I fill the bath up with boiled water (even just up to the hips) it will be stone cold. Not happy!
Bel1978
22-03-2008, 02:20 PM
Have you got a big pot?? for the bath
Oh i love the zoo.....:yes:
Im only 30 weeks i hate being last i wasnt with sienna last year.... except i still may go earlier then some of you....
Kayangel
22-03-2008, 04:45 PM
Have you got a big pot?? for the bath
Oh i love the zoo.....:yes:
Im only 30 weeks i hate being last i wasnt with sienna last year.... except i still may go earlier then some of you....
It doesnt matter if u go first or last, the main thing is we are all getting beauitful little babies, its not a race.
Bel1978
22-03-2008, 05:32 PM
you sit there in may when every one else has their bubba's and you dont have yours thats all nothing meant by it
Kayangel
22-03-2008, 08:03 PM
Bel- I no wat u meant hun but just remember if u r last that u will soon be holding ur bubba boy! tho i dont think u will be last hehe it might be me.
Bel1978
23-03-2008, 06:19 AM
Look what the easter bunny bought me mummy
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n56/bel1978/DSC00783.jpg
Hi Duckie
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n56/bel1978/DSC00789.jpg
I knew he wouldnt forget my chocolate
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n56/bel1978/DSC00788.jpg
meegzz
23-03-2008, 11:05 AM
Bel your pics are so cute!!! Sienna is beautiful!!!
I wouldn't worry about being last!! Im only due one day before you and you may get induced anyway!!! and as a first i have a big chance of going over too its all good i can see mi9ne being a June baby!! I don't care though as long as all is ok.
Hey All - Hope you all had a lovely easter. :) We had a nice day, feeling very massive today though. And we probably ate a bit too much treats, but ahwell! There was still heaps of food leftover mum overcatered! lol
Bel - Sienna is so cute. Would feel hard being one of the last 'due' and that everyone will have their babies before you, but yeah like Meegz said she's due close to you and it's her first, she may go over (sorry Meegz! lol). And yeah you will probably be induced by the sounds. The bubhub meet i went to i met 8 girls and they were all due in April, 2 have just had their babies early! So that feels really strange to have met them and they were due a few weeks before me yet they have had their babies already. Means we aren't far away huh?!
I just feel like i have grown totally outwards overnight! I remember with Josh i really expanded in the last 2 months, i just hope Cameron is not 9 pds, that was an effort! lol
Hope everyone else is going along well and having time with family etc.
Kayangel
23-03-2008, 07:10 PM
Im hoping i dont go over into June only because there are so many June birthdays in my family, June is packed full of family members and there is no one in my family born in May yet so im looking forward to having the first May baby!!
PrincessJasmine
24-03-2008, 10:26 AM
Hope everyone had a good Easter. I'm feeling rather yucky, :dizzy:I can't wait until the hot water is fixed tomorrow. Luckily we had to go over to mums yesterday, and again today, so at least I get to have a shower.
I doubt you'll be the last Bel, I'm only due 2 days before you. I'm betting Meegz will be the last. (sorry Meegz:) ) I keep getting this feeling bubs is going to come early. The next 8 weeks will fly by!
I'm making DP go to Bunnings today to get washers to replace on all the taps. Its been driving me nuts having all these dripping taps around the house, not to mention the amount of water thats being wasted! I nearly filled a whole bucket from the kitchen tap dripping all night.
I feel like I'm getting bigger now too, I was the same V8, the last 2 months I just grew outwards in every direction. But jasmine was a reasonable 7 pounds something. For some reason the hospital used kg instead of pounds, she was around 3.5kg. I forget :o its written down somewhere...
Lillybelle
24-03-2008, 05:37 PM
Hello all,
Hope you have all had a lovely Easter weekend :flowerz:. We have managed to stay around close to home all weekend, except for a quick visit to spotlight, the hardware and a trip to the movies. A friend, her Mum and 4 boys visited on Friday afternoon and we had a little egg hunt in the yard. We went and saw "Run Fat Boy Run" on Sat afternoon and I spent that night at the sewing machine making the curtains for the nursery. My first attempt at curtain making and I am very pleased with the results. Today DH put up the mozzie net, the curtain rail and the shelves. The nursery is now 98% complete and it tall looks so good. I am soo happy with the results :D
I have spent the last hour compiling a list of all the baby things we have and those that we still need. I am a little surprised by how many things we still need. I also got a shock when I posted and saw that my tickers says only "5 weeks & 6 days to go!" :eek: Wow is it getting a bit scary now. Now I need to start thinking about packing my hospital bag.
On a positive note I am really looking forward to my baby shower this Sunday. It will be great to catch up with all my friends. Also with the cooler weather over the last few days my swollen feet have gone back to normal, which is nice.
Hope everyone is well and has a great week ahead.
Bel1978
25-03-2008, 07:23 AM
I doubt you'll be the last Bel, I'm only due 2 days before you. I'm betting Meegz will be the last. (sorry Meegz:) ) I keep getting this feeling bubs is going to come early. The next 8 weeks will fly by!.
I dont mind if i am last i will be excited each time one of us have our bubs.. i have an appointment tonight im going to ask him, i also booked sienna into her paed for an appointment to check her over and advice on a few things before bubba is here.....
I know my doc said last time i cant go over.. which is good i want my 2 May babies....
who do you think will be 1st and who last????
MaddisonsMummy
25-03-2008, 07:34 AM
(hi ladies im alive!)
with all the pains, cramps & niggly feelings i dont think my poor body (or pubic bone) can hold on for 8 more weeks, but knowing my luck ill go over!
i really hope bub decides to stay in may though, id love 2 may babies :)
im due on the 21st of may but chris (dp) wants me to hold on till the 3rd of june (his bday), LIKE HELL lol, although i spose it could maybe happen (ill be 13 days over), but im pretty sure my hospital only lets you go between 7-10 days over...
meegzz
25-03-2008, 08:32 AM
Thanks PJ :p haha i dont mind as long as all is well my GP doesnt like us to go over too much though even though i dont care too much haha.
I think Miranda or lillybelle will go first and i think i will definately be last - i really dont mind though so it doesnt matter it will be exciting everyone around me popping!!!
How was everyones easters???
cassie0011
25-03-2008, 08:40 AM
Hi everyone! Hope everyone had a good easter.
im really hoping that i will go early, cause my mum's bday is on the 2nd and im due on the 14th. my mum wants her to come on her bday. May is getting so close now, only 7 weeks left for me or less hopefully! i hope no one has to go through pre labour like i did with my son!
mirandaj
25-03-2008, 09:12 AM
Gosh I have missed a lot on here over the long weekend. I think I also did not come on late last week so lots to catch up on. Some of my replies may be a bit late or irrelevant now but here they are as I type them as I read the pages. Sorry for the really long post. It has taken a few hours to read all the pages.
I have had a bit of an eventful long weekend as I thought I was in early labour twice. On Saturday we went grocery shopping and I got really bad contractions. I had a few, and they were so strong I could hardly stand up. We went home and I rested on the lounge. After a while though they went away. I was in so much discomfort my husband thought for sure I was in labour. Then yesterday all of a sudden I had a really large discharge and the runs (sorry to be so graphic). I thought this might have been the mucus plug, and also read may women have the runs before going into labour. I also had 3 contractions (equally 22 min apart). We quickly finished packing my bags, but nothing happened and the contractions stoped. It is a bit embarrassing, and it stressed my poor husband out. At least I am all packed and ready to go now.
Here is my clairvoyant thing:
Madame Zaritska, our resident clairvoyant, wants to help you prepare for the arrival of your child. Here she does her best to predict certain aspects of your labor and birth experience.
What she senses for you
The day you deliver, outside will be overcast. Your baby will arrive in wee hours of the morning .
After a labor lasting approximately 3 hours, your child, a girl, will be born. Your baby will weigh about 7 pounds, 7 ounces, and will be 19 inches long. This child will have light brown eyes and dark hair.
But there is more. It is perfectly healthy and normal to want to look good, even during these interesting months! I sense you feel a little reluctant. Well, you're not being silly or shallow -- you're taking care of yourself. And I am happy that you are. Here is some fashionable advice (http://pregnancyfashion.com/tips/Fashion_tips/) for you to peruse at this special time.
Hahaha, I know I am having a boy. It has been confirmed 3 separate times on ultrasounds. A 3 hour labour would be nice though.
Bel & Meegzz: Maybe I will be first, or Lillybelle. CindyE is also due 2nd May though, so could be her. I hope I am a week or so early as well, as I would like an April baby, and am sick of being so fat and sore!!! I will be doing everything I can to make the baby come in a few weeks time. We have already planned to go to Indian!
Lauren: How did you go at the Easter show? Congratulations deciding on a name. I have a visa debit card, and it is really good as I am spending my own money but can buy online, and pay bills via ‘credit card’. Mine is with Credit Union Australia. It doesn’t have extra fees, just the normal bank account ones. You can elect to have either an ATM card or the visa debit card as your card for the savings account. I think other banks are the same. I used to bank with ANZ and had one with them, which was similar, but I can’t remember exactly what the fees were.
Princess Jasmine: Sounds like my husband. He spends a fortune each week just at the 7 11 getting snacks. I am the one that keeps the budget and he always goes over what we decide to spend on each thing. I am sick of being the adult, and have to be the bad guy and say no all the time to make sure we have money for bills and all the baby stuff. We also allocate spending money each month and he spent well over spending money this month going out drinking after work. I end up spending mine on maternity bras etc. It is unfair. When I was working we could just spend whatever we want, and he is saying it is hard to adjust, but I adjusted strait away.
A couple of things I have done, which help are:
-When we do the groceries I buy a big box with 24 cans of soft drink in it. I pack 2 cans of drink in his bag each night for the following day (one for with his lunch, and one for on his way to the bus stop). It is a lot cheaper than him buying soft drink at the convenience store in the city.
-I got him a home brew kit for Christmas. For about $15 he can make about the equivalent of about 2 cases of beer (around $80 worth of beer). This has saved us heaps of money. Now the only money he spends on alcohol is when he goes out after work, or to get the stuff to make the beer.
Cleaning is really hard for me now as well. Luckily when my mum came over last she did a big clean of my kitchen cupboards, microwave etc for me.
Lillybelle: Are you due 2nd May? I am as well. Are you in Sydney? Sounds like you are. If so which hospital are you booked into? I am booked into Westmead Private.
Ava&Jacksons_Mumma: I am 34 weeks and still on fortnightly visits. Was every three weeks between 30 and 33 weeks. Mine only goes to weekly after 38 weeks which I think is stupid as some people will have there bub before then. I am not happy with the frequency of visits with my OB and notice most people seem to be going more frequently also.
Kayla: Sorry to hear the news from your ultrasound. Sorry I don’t know what to say, just that my thoughts are with you and I hope Jaylen doesn’t need any surgery and is ok with just the antibiotics. The positive is that it was picked up now and you got to see him again. It sounds like it was a 4D scan?
I have a 5 year old sister and even she is confused why the baby hasn’t come out yet. The first few times I saw her after she knew she asked “where is your baby” then the next time she asked “how come the baby isn’t here yet”. I explained to her that it needed to grow, and showed her with my hands how big it was approximately at that stage, and how big it needed to get. She now understands but still thinks it is a long time. It is her 5th birthday in a couple of weeks, so I told her it will be a couple of weeks after her birthday.
mirandaj
25-03-2008, 09:15 AM
Sorry about all the bold there. Not sure how that happened. Meant to just bold the names.
PrincessJasmine
25-03-2008, 09:39 AM
Cassie, my mums birthday is on the 1st of May, I don't think I want to go that early though! May is going to be really full now. Mums b'day, moters day and then babies b'day.
Lillylbelle- good on you for making the curtains yourself! I wouldn't be game enough to even try, I really wasn't very good at textiles at school.
Mirandaj- the pains you were having sound a little like pre-labour, which can go on for weeks. I was having period like cramps a little bit last night, and lots of braxton hicks over the weekend, but they weren't timeable. I think you'll be the first!!
Our new hot water system arrived this morning, now I'm waiting on the plumbers to arrive to install it. :yelclap: We did have a small indoor water unit that is above the washing machine. Its now being replaced with an out door one. They aren't going to have an easy time installing it, me thinks. I think they'll have to move the agapanthes (sp? you know those blue flowers on big stalks), there doesn't look like there is much room for it outside. Oh well, not my problem! I just want hot water! I'm currently trying quarter fill the bath with water boiled on the stove. Its take me an hour just to get half a bath, I feel so yucky.
Kayangel
25-03-2008, 10:26 AM
Hey May mums! Hope you all had a wonderful easter and long weekend. Mine was nice and relaxing tho i have to admit i ate far to many easter eggs :laughing: i had to eat them for 2.
The past 2 days i have been feeling really hot even tho it hasnt been, feeling tired, feeling like i have no energy, feeling big and achy. arr someone please tell me it will go away.
mirandaj- Thanks for ur thoughts hun means alot. Dont feel embarrased about having a false alarm and thinking u were in labour it happens to alot of women and its quiet possible anyone of us could go into labour so dont feel silly. I think u will be first to have ur bubba.
Lillybelle- Sounds like u had a good easter. I cant wait to see ur nursery.
PJ- yay for ur new hot water system arriving!
Meegzz- U could suprise us all and go a week or 2 early. ;)
How is ur little bubba?
Bel- :wave:
mirandaj
25-03-2008, 10:39 AM
Kayla: It doesn't go away.
PJ: I hope it is pre-labour. How exciting. Today I can feel a lot of pressure on my perenium and have cramps. Maybe all of this is in my head as I want to go into labour?
meegzz
25-03-2008, 10:43 AM
Kayla- I am exactly like you i am hot.... im at work sitting with the AC on and it aint that hot at all! and i am feeling achy plus i have swollen feet ankles haha its all part and parcel of it i think it doesnt bother me 9 weeks isnt too far away!
Im not holding my breath on going early but it would be funny!
Miranda - i hope you are feeling better maybe you are in pre labour?!
Kayangel
25-03-2008, 10:48 AM
Miranda- Do u want to go into labour this early??
meegzz- it was raining here before and here is me boiling hot stripping off lol sorry tmi.
are u going to drink raspberry leaf tea?? or try anything to bring on labour, when u get closer?
mirandaj
25-03-2008, 10:51 AM
No not this early, but in a few weeks would be nice. Maybe 37 weeks. Don't think I can stand another 5½ weeks of this.
Kayangel
25-03-2008, 10:58 AM
miranda- 37 weeks is full term so anytime from then would be prefect! i would love to go into labour at 37 weeks.
mirandaj
25-03-2008, 10:59 AM
It is only 2 and half weeks away for me.
Kayangel
25-03-2008, 11:01 AM
Lucky you, Can we swap due dates?? :laughing:
are u going to do anything to bring on labour??
PrincessJasmine
25-03-2008, 11:26 AM
The past 2 days i have been feeling really hot even tho it hasnt been, feeling tired, feeling like i have no energy, feeling big and achy. arr someone please tell me it will go away.
I know what you mean, I feel like I've had too much panadiene forte, my head just feels all foggy. I'm so sore everywhere.
To make things worse DP has been an insensitive ***** (a variety of four and five letter words) most of the weekend. I'm glad he's gone to work. I seriously feel like leaving him, I can't take much more of this.
Maybe I'll go outside and perve on one of the plumbers, LOL. I'm looking forward to a hot shower later. At least this new system is 5 star energy rating and reheats the water fast. I wonder if this will stop the shower temperature from changing when someone turns a tap on.
Oooh, the cute one has his shirt off, LOL. :p
I really hope I wasn't too obvious,:laughing: I don't really get to flirt anymore these days. :o
All done, now I'm just waiting for it to heat up so I can have a shower. Yay I can wash my hair! :yelclap:
Isaac's Mummy
25-03-2008, 01:53 PM
Yay for hot water PJ!! I don't know how you survived the weekend without it....I would be going crazy! I LOVE my hot showers!
Cute plumber, huh??!! Lucky you. I had some guys come and do a building and pest inspection on our place today but they were definitely not second glance material!! Nice blokes though!
Miranda - oh goodness me!! What an exciting weekend your husband and yourself have had. Just take it easy hun! Sounds like your bubba is keen to get here! Hope that the prelabour (if that's what it is) settles down a bit so that you can get comfortable.
We had a lovely quiet Easter. I had the urge to tidy up the garage (which is what happened the day I went into labour with Isaac!) so took advantage of the fact that DH was here to look after DS. Thankfully baby is staying put for the time being!! Though it has been quite acrobatic this weekend - must be all of the chocolate I've been eating :o I swear I've put on 2kgs just this weekend I've eaten so much of the stuff. It's not good :no:
Meegzz - don't worry hun, I think I'll be the last to go! I think you'll go two days before your due date!! Only a few more weeks and we'll see if I'm right. I can't believe May is now almost one month away. EEEKKK these babies are coming girls!
meegzz
25-03-2008, 02:17 PM
Isaacs mummy - we will soon see!!! Im really not too worried though i have informed my dad that he can not go away on the Queens birthday weekend as they normally leave the weekend before (2nd June) as i dont think bubs will be her by then he reckons it will be and if not he can leave later :laughing: DP was meant to go too but i guess fate had other plans he will not go anywhere while bubs has only just arrived!!! Its all very exciting whether i go over or come early i just want to meet bubs already haha the time will come!!!
We are going to Canberra for a family wedding in August so seeings though my baby will be born in June bubs will be just over 2 months old that is gonna be one long drive i was just thinking about it... but it will be good to see the family
Isaac's Mummy
25-03-2008, 02:24 PM
OOOOOHHHHH!!! You'll have to come visit MEEEEE Meegzz!!!!!
Our bubbas can um, well, lie on mats and goo at each other!! They won't be doing too much else at that stage!!!
But yeah - you'll have to visit MEEEE!!! Is that your cousin's wedding?
meegzz
25-03-2008, 02:43 PM
Yeah Jeremys wedding... i think we will be there for about a week or so!!! So sounds good we can have a mini meet :yes:!!! Our bubs will love to meet each other haha
Hey All
We had a decent easter, but our car was having probems again, we decided it was going to be too much to fix, so were looking at getting a newer car, dad was going to lend us money, but because we have to 'apply' to this Guardian and Admin tribunal to use some of Milo's money to put towards the car, we can't really leave dad in limbo not knowing when he'll get the money back, so now we are back at square one. We have already unregistered our car and handed the plates in. Also Dad now thinks what we thought was wrong with it (stuffed gearbox $2000 to fix), now might not be wrong with it. Grrr, so a very frustrating few days, i am over it, luckily we can use their car for a few months, but even then they might want it back and give me this other car that's a heap of cr@p and i don't want to drive it. I'm so annoyed at everything. Sorry to rant in here, just needed to vent.
Everything else is good though, just stressed about money as per usual. :thumbsdown:
PrincessJasmine
25-03-2008, 02:59 PM
:hugs: Vee, I was in tears the other day when I had to drive our car. The darn alternator is buggered, and we can't afford to fix it right now. Luckily we're in the market for a new car, I'm giving mum her car back next week so she can sell it. Now to find a 7-8 seater for around $10,000 that isn't older than 98'.
mummajugs
25-03-2008, 03:16 PM
:wave:hi everyone, sounds like we all had a lovely easter.
wish i could say the same. i was sick all weekend!
update: i ended up in the delivery suite at royal north shore hospital last night!:( i was laying in bed last night about 10pm and i was having really bad chest pains and couldnt handle it. i woke my nan up and she called an ambulance. they came and couldnt figure out what was wrong with me. so off the ryde hospital i went, only to get there and nearly be turned away because ryde hospital have nothing to do with pregnant women over 20weeks in emergency because they dont have obs or midwives in the emergency on call. after seeing a doc, he said to me that it was more than likely just heartburn(i knew it wasnt) but it didnt feel like heart burn it was like a stabbing pain through my chest into my back. but they wanted to send me elsewhere to check bub was ok, because she was really active and seemed distressed when i was having the pains.
so, off i went in another ambulance to royal north shore hospital. they took the straight up to the delivery suite. i was kinda freaked out about being in there at 31weeks!
i had one o those doppler machines put on me to check bubs heart rate and all was fine, i had bloods taken and everything came back normal which i was relieved about. but then they took the machine off me and put on another one on as i was having really strong braxton hicks and there was a strong prosibility i couldve gone into pre labour with how strong and often the BHs were! but all in all, bub is fine ive only had a few BHs today so its all settling down thankgosh!
so that was my eventful night. it was scary but im glad everything is good!
miranda- didnt go to the show obviously haha! bit disappointing but its all good!
hope all is well. just thought id inform you all!
PrincessJasmine
25-03-2008, 04:08 PM
Oh no, I hope you're feeling better today Lauren. My BH have been getting more frequent and stronger too. At least our bodies seem to be getting ready for what they have to do.
Isaac's Mummy
25-03-2008, 04:12 PM
oh Lauren - how scary for you. Glad to hear that you and bubs are okay though. Make sure you rest and take it easy :hugs: Sorry you didn't get to the show though!
Vee - that sucks about your car. You haven't had an easy pregnancy either, have you with all of your ups and downs. It can only get better, huh?! Hope everything works out for you lovely. :hugs:
Meegzz - looking forward to our mini meet! It'll be sooo much fun :D
mirandaj
25-03-2008, 05:06 PM
Lucky you, Can we swap due dates?? :laughing:
are u going to do anything to bring on labour??
yeah, everything I can
mirandaj
25-03-2008, 05:11 PM
Lauren: Sorry to hear you were in pain and had an eventful weekend. Maybe you will be early.
happybunnypony
25-03-2008, 05:32 PM
whoah Lauren! that's full on! you must of been pretty scared, i know i would be... it seems like we still have a while to go before any of us would be ready to pop! :hugs: I hope you are feeling better now.
I haven't experienced any Braxton Hicks yet... well least i don't think so... is it bad to not feel any?
mummajugs
25-03-2008, 06:30 PM
thanx everyone for your well wishes.
it was very scary
hbp- some people dont experience braxton hicks. its like a tightening feelings kind of like period pain. hard to explain! mine were quite painful but not unbearable!
Kayangel
25-03-2008, 06:38 PM
Lauren- Sorry to hear about ur scary night, gald to hear u and ur little girl are both fine.
Woah, Lauren that's kinda scary, hopefully you don't have any more worries like that.
Thanks PJ and Isaacsmummy - I had a bit of a cry today about it all, just feeling so stressed out about things, the most annoying is that we can't make financial decisions without the Guardians knowing about it, it sucks big time!
EmsMum72
25-03-2008, 07:39 PM
well, i didnt get the news i was hoping for.... Jaylen has fetal renal pelvis dilatation
I was sorry to read about Jaylen's condition. As a few of the ladies mentioned though, luckily it's been picked up very early and hopefully antibiotics will fix him up when he's born.
Mel - hope DH didn't get home too late last night, and that you get to enjoy the weekend together. He does get the long weekend off, right?
DH worked Saturday but had the rest of the long weekend off, so that was nice (apart from the argument we had on Saturday arvo, but we got over it, LOL!
Yesterday my hubby and i took our son to the Melbourne zoo, it was a great day, my son absolutely loved it, he loved looking at all the animals that he could see.
Sounds like you had lots of fun at the zoo. My DD loves going there too, however she gets a bit bored if the animals aren't actually doing anything. Maybe you should take him there more often seeing as he slept so well afterwards, LOL!
I just feel like i have grown totally outwards overnight! quote]
Me too Vee! I feel like I've grown heaps in the past 2 nights. Stretchies galore. Couple more t-shirts no longer fit me :no:
[quote=Lillybelle;2485402]I spent that night at the sewing machine making the curtains for the nursery. My first attempt at curtain making and I am very pleased with the results. Today DH put up the mozzie net, the curtain rail and the shelves. The nursery is now 98% complete and it tall looks so good. I am soo happy with the results.
Your nursery is looking gorgeous Lillybelle. Makes me realise how slack we are because we haven't even started our baby's room yet. Mind you, it will be in with us for the first 4 months or so anyway and we have visitors staying in July/Aug so will probably keep the double bed up in the office/spare room/baby's room until they go and then prepare the room. Hubby wants to pull all the plaster down, insulate, re-plaster & paint. Hope he pulls his finger out soon. He jokes that he's going to get it all done when I'm in hospital recovering from my c-section :rolleyes:
I have had a bit of an eventful long weekend as I thought I was in early labour twice.
At least I am all packed and ready to go now.
Well being all packed and ready to go is definately a positive, hopefully you don't get any more false alarms for awhile yet!
Our new hot water system arrived this morning
I don't know how you managed without hot water for 4 days. It's funny how we take everything for granted. Glad it's all been sorted.
The past 2 days i have been feeling really hot even tho it hasnt been, feeling tired, feeling like i have no energy, feeling big and achy.
Yep, I know the feeling Kayla. I'm hot 24/7 these days. Took DD to the park today and there were people there in trackies & jumpers, I had a singlet & shorts on, ha ha! Very lethargic, no energy and getting breathless alot easier these days.
so were looking at getting a newer car.
Everything else is good though, just stressed about money as per usual.
Sorry to hear about your car Vee. We're also thinking of getting a new car, something bigger, but will probably get by with mine for the time being. Aren't money worries just the pits. We owe the tax department heaps of money and I've been stressing about it ... hub keeps telling me not to worry about it, but I can't help it! Very stressful times indeed!
is it bad to not feel any?
:no: some women don't get bh at all, others just get a tightening of the uterus with no pain (which is what I've been getting lately).
mj, very scary times you've had, you poor love. Glad to hear things are calming down. I had a scare at 26 weeks with my daughter and it's not nice at all.
As for me, I just realised I haven't posted for nearly a week (very weird for me). Easter was very quiet for us. We cleaned out our junk room, check what we had & don't have for the baby, I cleaned all the cupboards and threw out alot of clothes & other things I've been hanging on to for a long time (things that were my parents) because deep down I know I need to find room for this baby, so I was proud of myself for throwing alot of things out.
I'm just getting over a lovely bout of thrush, started on Saturday and feels much better today. Hub & I had an argument on Sat arvo, but my good friend RM suggested awhile ago to pick my battles, and this one really wasn't worth fighting all weekend over (besides, I was in the wrong - I lost hubby's ATM card for the 3rd time :o, talk about preggo brain :doh:). We had a bbq with friends on Sunday. DD and I made a chocolate easter cake, and it was so much fun watching her running around the backyard collecting all the easter eggs that the easter bunny left for her.
It's been nice not really having to be anywhere, just doing what we want, going for nice leisurely walks, spending time at the park, and hanging out as a family.
I feel huge, hands are starting to swell, been a bit breathless, tired, baby is super dooper active and continually boots my bladder, groin's still sore, getting harder & harder to get out of the couch or to bend over etc., not that I'm complaining.
Yesterday we bought a new change mat, a nappy stacker, box of newborn nappies, bottles & disposal bags. Now all I have to get is an electric breastpump, some beanies, more maternity & breast pads, 1 more maternity bra & 2 cot protectors.
Anyhoo, enough from me. I might have an early night. Take care ladies!
mirandaj
25-03-2008, 08:46 PM
Sounds like you are very organised EmsMum
Bel1978
26-03-2008, 06:09 AM
Lauren - glad you and bub are ok now... i know how you feel the other week at 27w the nurse said i was having contractions on the screen...
Had my appointment with my ob and he will let me fly till 34w, he said he wont let me know until the end about inducing me which is what he did with sienna and said about 39w sienna was 38w6d.... so im still guessing the 21st...
Sienna had her appointment as well, her paed wants her in tressilian before the new bub is here.. not sure i like that idea he said he will call back today as i told him her routine wont match theirs to start so he said he will speak to them.....
cassie0011
26-03-2008, 07:31 AM
Lauren- glad your ok and bubs too, i know about those braxton hicks too, i had them yesterday from 4pm till 7.30pm and they were constant and painful. they were coming like every 3 mins and i was thinking that maybe i was in labour cause they lasted soo long. but finaly they went away in the end. thank god!
meegzz
26-03-2008, 08:23 AM
Lauren - that must of been so scary for you i guess now you should take it easy you only have 8 weeks left so relax and enjoy the last bit of your pregnancy... sleep and lounge around haha soon you wont be able to!!!
Hi cassie... and everyone too haha
Day sucks ill be back gotta go to a evacuation drill woohoo i hate them agghh!!!
EmsMum72
26-03-2008, 10:52 AM
Well, here's my 31wk pregnancy pic. My daughter is kissing my belly (and eating an icy pole at the same time :rolleyes:). I edited it to black and white so the stretchies aren't quite so obvious, but still obvious none the less. Sorry if I offend anyone with my battle scars :laughing:
http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n32/ems_mum/100_6321blackandwhite.jpg
meegzz
26-03-2008, 10:54 AM
That is gorgeous... your stretchies arent even bad you shpould see my upper thighs wow!
mirandaj
26-03-2008, 11:11 AM
What is happening?
I am not sure what is happening, or if I am in prelabour, labour, just normal feelings associated with last weeks of preganancy or if there is something wrong.
Last night I could not sleep. I was really restless and could not get comfortable so I sat down on my nursing chair to rest. I had quite strong abdominal cramping and tightning (not seperate contractions, just one constand cramp), and lots of pressure on my vagina and bum. I eventually feel asleep, but still feel it this morning.
What do you think it is? Do you think I should call the hospital or wait until or if I feel some contractions?
meegzz
26-03-2008, 11:20 AM
Miranda - i think you should call your doc/midwifes and just see what they say... it might be nothing but it is always best to know!!! Just call them it might make you feel better just to hear that it is normal etc.
I have also been restless the last week so i know how you feel there oh and (sorry if it TMI) after going for number twos i get tightening pains really low for a little bit which i have heard is normal too.
EmsMum72
26-03-2008, 11:20 AM
What do you think it is? Do you think I should call the hospital or wait until or if I feel some contractions?
Miranda, I would call the hospital if I were you. Any kind of cramping, or prolonged abdominal pain is worth calling the hospital about. If ever you have any concerns then call the hospital, even if it is just to relieve your mind. I've never had pain like that so I'm not too sure what it would be.
Goodluck :hugs:
happybunnypony
26-03-2008, 11:46 AM
heya all
Bel: what does tressilian for sienna mean?
Mel: OOh i know what you mean about it being soo nice to not have to go anywhere! I can't wait for that moment to arrive! OOh and your pic is sooo cuute, your daughter is just gorgeous!
Mirandaj: WOW, imagine if you are starting labour! How exciting! But yes i agree about calling the hospy... AND keep us updated fer sure!
Meegz: how long till you finish up your work??
I've finally started my (unpaid boohoo) Maternity Leave! WOOOOO!!
Can't believe i'm now an unemployed bum! haha well not really, but still, it's going to be sooo weird not working. So now expect to see more of my presence on here, hopefully!!
My work was soo lovely for my last day on Thursday, they had a surprise Bake Off and everyone contributed to the most amazing gifts! I was sooo blown away by it all!
They bought us a Baby Carrier, Motorised swinging thing, baby bath, towels, blankets, bottles etc... AND it was also filled with easter eggs LOL! They would of spent a fair amount of $$! The best pressie was from my good friend who stitched a bunny out of textile samples i had made for work!
So far today i've baked some cranberry and date scones and i've started painting the bathroom! YAY!
meegzz
26-03-2008, 11:56 AM
HBP - I have 5 weeks of work left im finishing May 2nd that gives me 4 weeks to myself before bubs due date!!
Im doing a countdown though haha.
I also am having unpaid maternity leave i am having 12 months off are you???
Wow you are a busy one since being finished haha
happybunnypony
26-03-2008, 12:49 PM
meegz, i've taken 6 months initially... however i can extend that for another 6 months if i wish to, and they will keep my job... but after that if i don't go back they can offer my job to someone else!
I'm actually thinking of doing 12 months... unless i get cabin fever and need some workplace interaction... BUT the plan is to get an empire going at home so i don't have to go back at all! LOL
I thought i could of stayed longer at my work, but the public transport was such a pain and uncomfortable that i'm now glad i did leave when i did!! :)
Isaac's Mummy
26-03-2008, 01:37 PM
Hiya Mel and welcome back :p It has been very quiet without you!! Glad that you got to spend some time with DH over easter, and that you had a nice, quiet break. Bummer about losing his ATM card though. Though seeing as it's the third time you've lost it, that's got to be it for now, right? :D
Miranda - I agree with the girls - CALL THE HOSPITAL!!!! It might be nothing, it might be something serious. They'll be able to tell you. Don't chance it - anything that you're not sure about, call them. That's what they're there for.
HBP - Congrats on starting maternity leave!!!! Even though it sucks not earning any money! Your work colleagues sound fantastic - what a generous gift they gave you. You must be very well loved. You'll have to post some pics of your pressies if you haven't done so already.
Bel - tressillian? Really? Sienna isn't even one yet. She's still a baby. Not all babies sleep through the night. Isaac didn't start sleeping through properly until he was 15 months old. I know you probably want to get her into a routine before bubs is born though, so I understand your concern. But maybe the new baby will be a GREAT sleeper and sleep through right from the start. I hope it all works out for you honey. You have to do what works for you - but the thought of a sleep school for my baby terrified me :yes: That's why I just kept sticking it out :o
Cassie - how's your little boy going? Have you managed to get him into his own bed yet?
Okay - so Mel you inspired me with your photo (which is gorgeous by the way!). I got DH to take some photos of me on the weekend seeing as I hit 30 weeks. So here's one of my 30 week belly with Isaac giving it a rub!! -->Baby Belly (http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p282/becjatkins/30weeks.jpg)<--
mummajugs
26-03-2008, 02:10 PM
bel- thanx, i hope everything works out well with sienna... i feel really stupid but what is tresilian?
mel- your pic is so cute, love the battle scars too haha. they arnt even bad!
isaacs mummy- your pic is very cute too. i love all these pretty piccys. i must take some more belly shots soon considering i havnt for about 2-3 weeks and ive completely blow up since then!
hbp- sounds like you got some wonderful gifts. i bet that helps out a lot, its the little things that count.
miranda- the girls are right, i hope you called the hospital. hope your alright! make sure you keep us all up to date. :D
well, everyone, im feeling ok since been in hospy the other night. ive been a little bit down the past few days. theres alot going on at the moment with DP been very unwell, to the point where we are considering him leaving his job for a while so he can get better. its put alot of stress on both of us and its not exactly the best situation to be in at the moment but sometimes things like this have to be done. so i may be a little bit funny for a little while, just until we can get everything sorted out. i just wish that everything was perfect, but hey, not everything goes our way, quite the oppisite actually.
when i was in hospital i think the pains i was and still am getting is anxiety related. just too much stress. im going to talk to my midwife about it on saturday when i go to see them.
also- im still not getting centrelink payments so its tough at the moment. we now have to save as much money as possible because we dont know if DP is going to be working or not. im so worried about money. i just wish someone would tell me everything is going to be ok. but its hard to say at the moment, everythign is all up in the air.
well thats enough of my depresso blabbering.
i hope everyone is well!
Bel1978
26-03-2008, 02:11 PM
Bel - tressillian? Really? Sienna isn't even one yet. She's still a baby. Not all babies sleep through the night. Isaac didn't start sleeping through properly until he was 15 months old. I know you probably want to get her into a routine before bubs is born though, so I understand your concern. But maybe the new baby will be a GREAT sleeper and sleep through right from the start. I hope it all works out for you honey. You have to do what works for you - but the thought of a sleep school for my baby terrified me :yes: That's why I just kept sticking it out :o
Oh it does for me too.. its not a sleep issue as much as he said he assessed her and playing with toys etc... he claims she is very clever and knows exactly what she is doing and told me 10 mths iss too old for a dummy hmmm... she knows what she is doing at night... eg standing at the end of her cot using every word she knows to call out etc... the whole 5 words.... she slept well last night... sleeping through isnt our issue its the waking every hour he thinks having 2 babies do that will be too much of a hassle....
he also said once she turns one she will be harder to handle at bed time....
Bel1978
26-03-2008, 02:12 PM
Well, here's my 31wk pregnancy pic. My daughter is kissing my belly (and eating an icy pole at the same time :rolleyes:). I edited it to black and white so the stretchies aren't quite so obvious, but still obvious none the less. Sorry if I offend anyone with my battle scars :laughing:
http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n32/ems_mum/100_6321blackandwhite.jpg
I love it and dont worry about the marks... you can edit that too if your really worried i can take them out...
meegzz
26-03-2008, 02:12 PM
Isaacs mummy - your pic aint working for me :no:. What is tresillian?
HBP - As im at work now i wont go into details but i can see me not returning either i hope it works out as planned but we will see... i need to owrk so we can afford to buy a house but im not sure yet haha DP wants me to be a SAHM anyway so we will see!
Miranda - has everything calmed down now??
Bel1978
26-03-2008, 02:13 PM
What is happening?
I am not sure what is happening, or if I am in prelabour, labour, just normal feelings associated with last weeks of preganancy or if there is something wrong.
Last night I could not sleep. I was really restless and could not get comfortable so I sat down on my nursing chair to rest. I had quite strong abdominal cramping and tightning (not seperate contractions, just one constand cramp), and lots of pressure on my vagina and bum. I eventually feel asleep, but still feel it this morning.
I would call just to be safe
Kayangel
26-03-2008, 02:50 PM
Mel- I love ur belly pic! and dont worry about ur streath marks they arent bad.
Bec- ur pic isnt working for me :(.
Miranda- I would call the midwifes.
Question: What should someones suger count be for the GD test?? under wat??
meegzz
26-03-2008, 02:53 PM
Kayla - i think under 8 but im not sure if thats what my Gp was talking about i think i tune out on him sometimes haha... why?
Isaac's Mummy
26-03-2008, 03:02 PM
Link should work now girls. Let me know if it doesn't.
Off to my exercise class now - back tonight for more personals!
EmsMum72
26-03-2008, 03:08 PM
Question: What should someones suger count be for the GD test?? under wat??
First thing in the morning, when you wake and before eating anything, it should be below 5.0 - after that (2 hours after eating, or drinking that sweet sugary drink) it should be below 8.0
Thanks for all your comments on my gorgeous stretch marks :D. As much as I hate them, I do love them because they're there for 2 unbelievably wonderful reasons (my DD & this baby) so I can't complain. Thanks for the offer of editing them Bel, but I'll leave them there for all to see :laughing:
IM, I couldn't open your link either!
hbp, sounds like you got some wonderful gifts. What a thoughtful bunch you work with, and like IM said, you are obviously very loved by them all. I'm sure you won't want to go back to work, however the lack of adult conversation might drive you quietly insane. Try and join a mother's group, which is run through your local council, that was my saviour!! As wonderful as it's been being able to stay home with my DD, between about 4 & 9 months (when I didn't really know any of the mum's from mother's group well) I really missed adult conversation as DH was working really long hours.
P.S. Bec, that's better! What a beautiful photo.
cassie0011
26-03-2008, 03:27 PM
Cassie - how's your little boy going? Have you managed to get him into his own bed yet?
My little boy Dylan is good, he has a bit of a cold at the moment. But no he isnt in his own bed yet, i have to change the mattress on the spare bed in his room so that i can sleep there with him, the mattress there now is so hard that it makes my back and shoulders so sore. we put a new mattress on layby and will pick it up ether this weekend or the next. Then i have to do day stay at the QEC on the 11th april too. Thanks for asking!
Bel1978
26-03-2008, 04:15 PM
bel- thanx, i hope everything works out well with sienna... i feel really stupid but what is tresilian?
Sorry missed this... Tresilian is like a hospital but not its for people having problems with babies they have full time nurses there..... they show you how some stuff is done.. i dont like the idea.. but her doc thinks she needs it
Bel1978
26-03-2008, 04:17 PM
Kayla - i think under 8 but im not sure if thats what my Gp was talking about i think i tune out on him sometimes haha... why?
Yep under 8 for the test.. i just made it last year and they forgot this year hahah
Kayangel
26-03-2008, 04:32 PM
Thanks for the replys to my question meegzz, mel and bel. I am asking because my niece might have GD she went for her second test today, her first came back 8.7 which isnt too bad still high, i told my sis anything under 8 is normal but she swears its anything under 4 :doh:.
mirandaj
26-03-2008, 07:48 PM
Just want to let you know I am ok, and not in labour. Thanks for your advice to ring the hospital. Shortly after posting the message my husband rang to see how I was and told me to ring the hospital. I called them and they said to go in just in case.
While I was waiting for my husband to come home I went into the shower and the cramp got worse and I had contractions about 5 min apart so I thought I was in labour, but when I went to the hospital they died down.
The hooked me up to the monitor, but it did not show any contractions (although I was still feeling the pains). They said it was braxton hicks as the baby was moving at the same time. They were a bit worried as the baby was moving a fair bit and they couldn't get a proper reading. He keep cutting of his umbilical cord supply then realising and moving. As I had a show and the head was engaged they sent me to my Ob to get an internal to check if I was dilated, then wanted me to go back for another reading.
My Ob did the internal (and strep B test at same time) and confirmed my cervix was closed so I was not in labour. They did another reading with the monitor and that time the baby was ok so sent me hom. They told me it could be soon though as head engaged and that I have an 'irritable uterus', so not to have sex etc so not to trigger it.
I feel a bit embarassed that I had a false alarm but they said not to worry as happens alot. I guess it was better to be safe then sorry. Just have to try and keep it in now for a few weeks as my uterus is being quite active.
Bel1978
27-03-2008, 05:26 AM
I wouldnt worry too much thats what their there for.. its there job to check you out... even if it is a false alarm
mirandaj
27-03-2008, 09:43 AM
Yeah my husband said at least we are getting our moneys worth. I still have the cramp.