View Full Version : Nappy rash and cloth nappies

V8
29-02-2008, 14:33
It seems we go good for a while and then DS gets a rash again with cloth nappies. :( So anyways, i really don't like having to put cream on his bum and use sposies, but i don't know what other alternatives there are. Can you still use cloth with nappy rash and use some other cream that won't damage the nappies? I know you could use liners but i don't really like that idea. So any tips?

M~T~J~M
29-02-2008, 14:36
Hhmm, Well, I was about to say to use liners, then I read your last sentence, so no, sorry, I don't have any ideas....

When my little man has a rash, I use a fleece liner so I can then also use nappy cream. Desitin works wonders, and the rash is usually gone in a few changes time!! :)

Hope you can find an easier answer!

Susan Mac
29-02-2008, 14:36
we have had terrible nappy rash over summer. I think it is from eating too many peaches! I just put a microfleece liner in. I made them myself - not exactly difficult, just get a piece of microfleece and cut it into liner size pieces. I bought microfleece at spotlight, hopefully it is in now for winter fabrics because the zinc cream has ruined most of them and I need more.

Tam-I-Am
29-02-2008, 14:39
Raw silk liners are good for nappy rash.

Maybe try dusting him with some cornflour after a change for a couple of days...I've also heard other members say that they use pawpaw ointment and that doesn't ruin their nappies - but I don't know for myself, never having tried it.

Hope your little man's bot is better soon :)

V8
29-02-2008, 14:42
So the zinc creams etc are really the only thing that can clear nappy rash? If there was something else that got rid of the rash without hurting the nappies i would use that.... but yeah liners i don't like cause they still get wrecked or cost a bit of money and are a bit more hassle! lol But then i don't wanna have to go and buy more sposies either. :o

Thanks Tam for the tip with cornflour, can you use that and still have cloth nappies on? I just don't know whether i'd trust anything with my nappies i really don't want to wreck them!

Tam-I-Am
29-02-2008, 14:43
Cornflour disperses really well in water - so its fine with cloth nappies, it just rinses out, and because it disperses in water, it doesn't cause the same problems that talc does.

Susan Mac
29-02-2008, 14:44
microfleece from spotlight is only a few dollars a metre (can't remember how many - less than $10?), and you could get 20cm and get 12-15 10cm wide liners from it.

Susan Mac
29-02-2008, 14:45
is that cornflour just like I have in my pantry for baking??? or something differnet

V8
29-02-2008, 14:47
Thanks Susan, haven't been to a spotlight here not sure where one is, but yeah better idea than getting sposies.

Thanks Tam, never knew that about cornflour, what an awesome idea. :D Also DS hates the cream, maybe putting some powder on him won't make him wince with pain.

Tam-I-Am
29-02-2008, 14:48
Yep, the same cornflour, or cornstarch, that you use in cooking. You CAN get it in the baby aisle at the supermarket ie Johnson and Johnson do a cornstarch baby powder - but its bleached and has fragrance added, and I figure its not necessary!

HTH :)

ikis84
29-02-2008, 14:52
Any aqueous (sp) based cream should be fine. I use cornflour mostly, but if the rash is really bad I use calendula.

boy wrangler
29-02-2008, 20:34
I'm not sure if this helps but I've noticed the only time ds gets a rash is if his nappies have been put in the drier.

As has already been mentioned paw paw ointment is brilliant, but we use flats so I don't know how it'd go on mcns. I don't know if I'd risk ruining good nappies - flats are so cheap and have heaps of other uses!

RaryGirl
29-02-2008, 20:40
When DS has really bad nappy rash I use a cream that is made up by a chemist a couple of suburbs away ... it's fantastic (not zinc based) but I still use a homemade liner to protect my nappies, just in case and then I soak them (liners) in nappysan after to make sure they are fully clean.

mumofKieran
29-02-2008, 21:18
Curash Powder :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

It's all I use now. Doesn't hurt the nappies at all and clears rashes real fast :yes:

It's based on the same ingredient (zinc) as the creams eg Sudocrem.

TyBean
01-03-2008, 11:39
I use the Brauer Nappy Rash cream... all natural stuff and I just slop it on and put on the nappy.... I found the paw paw cream left yellow stains on my nappies :(

Ty had it bad... clear it up in sposies and put him back in cloth and it would flare up again... thankfully it's FINALLY settling!

Hope it all clears up for you soon!:hugs:

susiehomemaker
03-03-2008, 10:22
Cornflour rocks and is super cheap and has no nasties (fragrances etc) in it. Sweet Almond Oil was great for DD too, I would apply it with some mircofleece so it was nice and soft on her poor raw bot bot. Nappy free time, regular bathing (with dermaveen (sp?) collodial oatmeal wash) ie a dunk after each change or so to get her really clean and then pat her dry gently and thoroughly. I have some microfleece here- are you home this arvo? I could drop it around with your nappies!

tally
03-03-2008, 11:33
Vee I use little innoscents nappy rash cream and microfleece liners..

I love the liners as they are cheap and replaceable at minimal cost.. it also protects the actual nappy from stains too.. which is what I love..

04-03-2008, 08:20
So the zinc creams etc are really the only thing that can clear nappy rash?

Noooooo! Don't use zinc creams! Zinc is good, but it is also the active ingredient in the Curash POWDER, which will certainly wash out properly in the wash.

At the moment I am using a cornflour powder by Johnson's, which is good, but honestly- a sprinkling of cornflour from a 99-cent bag from Woolies would be just as good.

For a serious rash though (and prevention if they occur often) go with the Curash zinc powder!!:yes::thumbsup:

04-03-2008, 08:22
Also- using liners protects the nappies while the nappy is in use- but when the liner goes into the wash with the nappy the cream coats everything anyway :hair:
Avoiding creams (all of them) is the only way IMO.