View Full Version : Would you/Have you left your child/ren in the car for short periods?
MummaBear03
28-02-2008, 21:12
Just wondering how many people have left or would leave their kids in the car for short periods? I see it all the time when getting petrol, people leave their kids in the car while they run in to pay. I've seen kids left in the car while the mum runs in to shops to buy the paper or milk or something, or they leave kids in the car at daycare to run in and collect other kids, or at schools to run in and collect school age kids and pay fees. Would you do this? Do you feel safe doing this? Not judging, it's just something I've seen more often lately than ever before and it's not something I'd feel safe doing.
If i need to get fuel and my DD is asleep in the car i will park at the closest pump to the shop and run in to pay for it (with the car running and aircon on) but i normally get fuel when i dont have the kids.
I would never leave them there to go into a big shop like woolies or to get DS from school.
I don't even leave DS in the car on his own unless at the the fuel station(as above)
mummajuice
28-02-2008, 21:19
I will always leave my kids in the car when I get petrol. It's way safer for them in the car IMO than trying to get them into the store and contain them while I pay then back to load them into the car and leave while people are waiting behind me.
Having said that, I have the child locks on, the windows up (usually my aircon has been running so the car stays cool (if it's a hot day i don't stop for fuel if I can help it). I have a select few service stations where I will fill up and feel secure and I only park at the closest pump to the door in plain view and I lock the doors if I think there's a need.
I have also run into the bakery a few times and left them in the car, but only because I'm about 2 metres away and they can see me and I can see them. I wat until the counter's free and all up I'm gone no more than 30 secs and never turn my back. Again I will lock the doors if it's a busy day.
i always leave DS in the car when im getting petrol. i park as close to the counter as i can so i can see him all the time... always lock the car...
but the petrol station is the only place i would ever do it... cos they have glass windows where i can see him at all times... shops and stuff, no way, not even just to buy bread or milk! he comes with me then!
sam's mum
28-02-2008, 21:21
oh boy, this discussion will end badly, it always does.
I personally don't leave my kids in the car. I work my 'little' errands so that I have either DH or DD1 with me.
I had to get petrol after dropping DH off to work last week.
And I had all 3 kids with me.. so yeah, I left them in the car. I could see them the whole time from the window.. and we pulled faces and blew kisses (more to distract them from climbing out of their seats and playing with the gears than anything else)
I locked the car before I went in, and I asked the other people in line if they minded if I paid first as I had my children in the car.. and no one had a problem with that. I was gone for maybe a minute.
But if at all possible, I avoid getting petrol with the kids. I prefer to do it by myself.
No I haven't but I only have one child now so can't say for the future, hopefully I won't have to. But for now I don't get petrol for the car, DH always makes sure the car is filled up.
Ana Gram
28-02-2008, 21:44
If I have to get petrol, I leave DD in the car. It is safer for us that way.
our little treasures
28-02-2008, 21:52
I can also see this thread ending badly:p
I do leave all 3 in the car when getting petrol.I don't care what others think for us it's safer.
I picked dd1 up from kinder and left ds and dd2 in the car. They were asleep, sick with a very nasty throat infection (I know as they gave it to me:() and I didn't want to pass it around kinder. I ran in told the teacher I couldn't chat I had the 2 kids in the car, which was parked right out the front of the kinder. I could clearly see them the entire time I was getting dd and it was a rainy day.
I will not hesitate in doing that again
28-02-2008, 21:54
I really do not understand why petrol station no longer have the attendants that will just fill up your car for oyu and you pay them.
Especially now there are even wireless eftpos thingys, you wouldn't even have to pay cash.
MummaBear03
28-02-2008, 21:56
I really do not understand why petrol station no longer have the attendants that will just fill up your car for oyu and you pay them.
Especially now there are even wireless eftpos thingys, you wouldn't even have to pay cash.
The one I go to has someone there from 9am to 12 noon, monday to friday so we fill up after swimming lessons on a tuesday. I don't know why more places don't do it.
SilverStarfish
28-02-2008, 21:58
I leave my two in the car when I'm getting petrol - it's safer for us that way too. It's legal as well, so long as you have taken reasonable precautions to secure the vehicle - the engine must be off, the keys removed and the handbrake on etc.
It's faster, easier and safer for me to leave my children in the car in their seats than to try and wrangle a young toddler and a newborn across a service station.
And in the rare event that some baseball bat, gun or syringe wielding maniac comes bursting in to rob the petrol station, I'd rather my kids be safely locked in my car than to be a potential target or hostage.
RedPanda
28-02-2008, 22:01
Good point Faeml. So far I've always taken DS in when I've paid (or made DH fill the car when I'm not in it), but with two it would be sooo much harder. It would go against every part of me to wake a sleeping baby so I could drag it into a servo.
My local station is pretty small (only four pumps) so I can park right at the front door of the actual shop part. That'll let me pay and watch my car from a couple of metres away when this one comes along!
I leave the kids in the car when I pay for petrol. I do not take my eyes off them and make sure I lock the car. I think it is safer to leave them in the car at the petrol station rather than take them out with cars driving all over the place
Yes, at the petrol station. I consider it to be safer but its really a judgement call for each and every time, not a blanket statement. There have been occasions when I have decided to take him in with me instead.
If we are going out and I have strapped him in and I need to run back inside the house for something then I leave him in the car and leave the door open. I am more scared of him being in a hot car when no one knows he's there than of someone stealing him in our street, and I have this stupid paranoia that I am going to faint or slip over and hit my head and he will be in the hot car and no one will know, so I leave the car door open so the neighbour would see it or hear him. Its a strange thing to be thinking, but I just do it and DP knows to do it as well, coz I am paranoid after the recent events where the little girl died and also a few years ago when a lady's car got stolen and her little boy was left in it and he died
I haven't left him in the car to go into any shops or anything like that.
28-02-2008, 22:05
I too think it's probably safer to leave your children in a locked car at the servo. I worry though, what if you were in there paying and had a heart attack or something..... no one would know you had kids in the car...... if it was a hot day it would only take 10-15 mins for something really bad to happen :(
Dunno, I still leave them in there but I do think about that sometimes.
our little treasures
28-02-2008, 22:09
They would know I had children in the car
1. They make enough noise (the windows are left down)
2. I stand at the window waving and smiling being a complete idiot while they wave and smile, poke tongues out etc:D
So very hard for them not to know kids are in the car.
MummaBear03
28-02-2008, 22:11
They would know I had children in the car
1. They make enough noise (the windows are left down)
2. I stand at the window waving and smiling being a complete idiot while they wave and smile, poke tongues out etc:D
So very hard for them not to know kids are in the car.
:laughing: Sounds like you have a lot of fun with the kids while you pay for fuel lol.
LachlansMun
28-02-2008, 22:13
When DS was about 18 months I had to run into a shop quickly and he was fast asleep. I was only inside for a minute or so and the windows were down in the car, but when I came out there was a small group of poeple around my car and a lady was shouting abuse at me. Very scary.....I felt really bad and I still do to this day. He was fine and still fast asleep but I wouldn't do it again!
Though I do leave them in the car when I get petrol, only if the queue is small.
SilverStarfish
28-02-2008, 22:13
Cost, plain and simple. You'd need to have at least two employees on site - one inside and one outside. My sister works at a servo in Brisbane and for much of the time on her shifts (late afternoon to evening) she's the only one there.
our little treasures
28-02-2008, 22:14
Hehehe yes we do but I can't imagine how the servo workers don't LOL at me.:o
mummeeto2
28-02-2008, 22:48
If I've forgotten something from home I'll lock the kids in the car & duck back into the house but that's about the only reason I leave them in the car. I try to have $20 on me all the time just in case I need fuel, our local servo generally has someone inside & another at the pumps so I can generally give him the cash & be on my way.
WorkingClassMum
29-02-2008, 08:14
I have always left my kids in the car when paying for petrol.
Most service stations are undercover anyhow - so there's little chance of the car overheating is a short period of time
I'd be more worried about petrol fumes and the kids being run over.
If I need to nick back into the house, I'll leave the kids in the car, but apart from that and petrol, I never leave DD in the car
DS is 6, and knows how to wind the window down, so I now sometimes leave him in the car if I'm going stright in and out
I dont take DS when I get petrol,coz its just a hassle.
I dont like leaving him unattended in the car,but the other day I parked right outside the corner shop and left him in the car while I ran in to get milk.
luckly our petrol station has pay at the bouser, but on the odd occasion that its not working, I will run inside.
I live in a town house complex and park right at my front door, i'll leave my son in the car whilst I run in to get something, if I have forgotten it.
Cost, plain and simple. You'd need to have at least two employees on site - one inside and one outside. My sister works at a servo in Brisbane and for much of the time on her shifts (late afternoon to evening) she's the only one there.
They also use to have those eftpos machines, so you didn't even have to walk into the petrol station, but they have all disappeared. I wonder why?
Mamaduke
29-02-2008, 09:02
Never...
not at the petrol station/shops
not in our driveway
not in the school carpark
nowhere.
My biggest fear would be that someone could steal the car with them in it and/or someone could crash into the car.
For me, the 'hassle' it is to take the boys into the petrol station/shop with me is a small price to pay for the peace of mind of knowing that they're with me just in case.
I leave DD in the car if she is with me when i go to get petrol. I do try to do it when she is not with me or ask DH to do it for me but occasionally i do have her with me and i do leave her in the car whilst i pay.
MummaBear03
29-02-2008, 09:59
My biggest fear would be that someone could steal the car with them in it and/or someone could crash into the car.
That happened down the road from me a while ago. This lady ran in to the fish and chip shop to pick up her order. She'd phone-ordered and just had to run in and pay and grab it, no more than about 3 or 4 minutes. She had the car turned off and everything but had left the keys in it, it was stolen and the baby was found on the highway still in the carseat. The thief just undid the carseat and removed it entirely, probably just lucky for the bub who could have wandered onto the busy highway where cars are doing 100k/hr if they aren't speeding. I guess what people are saying makes sense though, particularly those with multiple children. It could be safer leaving them in the car, depending on where you go. If we go to the driveway service one, I don't get out of the car. If we go to another one we frequent, she comes in with me. It's a truck stop, it's way too risky and the thought of leaving her scares me. I've seen parents leave their kids in the car, car turned on to have the air-conditioner going, and this is at a truck stop. You can still see when you go inside, but it's a long way from the cars to where you pay and even if you could see your car being stolen, there's not much you can do about it from there.
Mamalicious
29-02-2008, 10:06
I only go out in the car with DH, otherwise it's the pram or bus, so it's not really an issue for me.
However, I don't see myself leaving him in the car on his own, and NEVER if he would be out of my line of sight.
For people with more than one child and their oldest is quite a bit older (10, 11, so on) I can see that it would be easier to leave them in the car to get petrol with the younger kids.
It probably is safer in that case, rather than having 3 or more kids in a petrol station...
I don't understand how people think it's safer to get 3 or more kids out of the car, wrestle them into prams, slings, making them hold your hand.. in a busy petrol station where there is a high level of traffic and dangerous chemicals... it takes 5 mins to do, and then 5 mins to get them all BACK in the car, buckled up, pram back in the boot...
so that turns a 2 minute task (running in and paying for petrol) into a 15 minute task!
good on you those who can be bothered... but seriously.. I just make sure the doors are locked, I'm parked near the door, I can see the kids the whole time, and I ask people if I can pay first because I have my kids in the car.. no one has ever said 'no'.
Mamalicious
29-02-2008, 10:09
That happened down the road from me a while ago. This lady ran in to the fish and chip shop to pick up her order. She'd phone-ordered and just had to run in and pay and grab it, no more than about 3 or 4 minutes. She had the car turned off and everything but had left the keys in it, it was stolen and the baby was found on the highway still in the carseat. The thief just undid the carseat and removed it entirely, probably just lucky for the bub who could have wandered onto the busy highway where cars are doing 100k/hr if they aren't speeding.
My god that is terrifying. :(
4babycinos
29-02-2008, 10:16
I leave mine in the car with the doors locked, hand brake on and keys with me when I pay for petrol. Gone for a whole 2mins, alot safer than trying to manage 3 kids in a busy petrol station :yes:. luckily I dont have to get petrol that often, but i do go to the bakery alot and i will leave the kids in the car while i get a loaf of bread. I park right at the front, they can see me and me them and I'm gone for about a minute (plus i know the bakery owner really well and she'll serve me as soon as i walk in)
But people who leave their kids in the car and go into major shopping centres, I think is a bit wrong
Butterfliez
29-02-2008, 10:17
I have never left DD in the car, not even to get petrol, I have always asked DH to do it for me when he gets home from work (so it's filled up if I need to go out the next day) My worry at a petrol station, is if someone smashed up the back (very highly unlikely I know, but it is still something that always worries me.)
Sometimes I have needed to get something super fast, but even if I am parked right outside the shop, I never leave her in the car. Why? Because the minute I do, someone will judge me!! :p
cocobambino
29-02-2008, 10:21
I leave my DD's in the car when paying for petrol and grabbing the fish and chips, We live in a rural area and everyone know everyone so we all keep an eye out for each other, if someone unfamiliar is lurking near my car then someone i know will stand next to the car I can always see the girls and I lock the car If its a hot day I leave all the windows down and just lock the car if soeone was to put their arms in the window an alarm would sound, its a newish car so has the high tech alarm and stuff, i DONT do it in like melb or anywhere unfamiliar
Have never done it. Not even when we pull up in the driveway of our home. Guess I am just paranoid and it's Murphy's Law for me - If anything can go wrong, it will. So far I've never had to fuel up whilst with DS. DH makes sure I always have more than enough to get me around.
If DS is with DH and he needs to fuel up, DS goes along with him even if he's asleep. Thank goodness we only have one baby. I can imagine how difficult it would be if you had more than one. But I know my sis never leaves any of her 3 young kids in the car for any reason. So I guess it's an individual preference.
Brings to mind the recent case where the Dad left his sleeping son in the car to pay for fuel early in the morning and someone drove away with the car with the kid in it. Thank goodness the person realised a kid was in the car and he abandoned the car after informing the police of its location.
I leave my DD in the car when I get petrol and such...but she's nearly 10
I can see myself doing the same with new bub but only if DD is there - at 9 I figure she's old enough to watch him for 2 mins and raise the alarm if anything happened
cocobambino
29-02-2008, 10:40
just wanna add, i wouldnt leave a NEWBORN in the car alone:no:
I have never left Ty in the car alone :no: even if he is asleep mean mummy gets him out of the car. I just couldn't handle it if anything happened to him. :no:
However saying that I have left him in the car when my 14 year old brother was in there with him while I ran in to get petrol... because if you have seen my 14 year old brother... well he looks older than me and has the muscles of an I don't know what lol... let's just put it this way... I wouldn't want to mess with him! :p:laughing: (even though he's as gentle as a marshmallow... he looks damn tough!! :laughing:
MummaBear03
29-02-2008, 10:51
I don't understand how people think it's safer to get 3 or more kids out of the car, wrestle them into prams, slings, making them hold your hand.. in a busy petrol station where there is a high level of traffic and dangerous chemicals... it takes 5 mins to do, and then 5 mins to get them all BACK in the car, buckled up, pram back in the boot...
so that turns a 2 minute task (running in and paying for petrol) into a 15 minute task!
good on you those who can be bothered... but seriously.. I just make sure the doors are locked, I'm parked near the door, I can see the kids the whole time, and I ask people if I can pay first because I have my kids in the car.. no one has ever said 'no'.
I totally get you there. I only have the one child and she's pretty good to take in places, not one to throw tantrums if she sees lollipops on the counter or anything, and she gets out and holds my hand, or if we're at the truck stop one, I carry her across the driveway part then put her down at the other side and she holds my hand. She's not one to fall asleep in the car unless it's evening, but I try not to go anywhere at that time. I have been having a clean up recently and doing the vinnies runs at night, she falls asleep and I leave her in the car then, but I'm only taking one step from the car and the door is open, I park against it so that her door opens up on the bin side and I'm beside her. That's the only time really but yeah, it's different with one.
chicky2lala
29-02-2008, 12:17
Never have, never will. I can however understand how mums with many children feel it's safer to leave them in the car. Imagine trying to wrestle a 4 yr old, 2 yr old and a baby out of the car and across to the shop.......it's just an accident waiting to happen. The speed some of the cars drive round petrol stations is scary! Darting in and out of spaces!
I dont think there can be a right or wrong answer to this question, you do what you feel is best/safest to do for you and your child/ren.
Mamaduke
29-02-2008, 12:18
I've got 3 boys...8wks, 3yrs and 6yrs and okay, it's a 'hassle' I suppose and it does take me longer but I've never heard of anything happening to a child when they've been taking into the shop with the driver/parent, however I have heard of things happening when they don't.
The worst thing that has happened to us is that one of the boys has had a tantrum or knocked over some lollies...when confronted with the things that can happen if they're left in the car it's a no brainer for me.
Mrs Potts
29-02-2008, 12:44
Before DD was born the only time DS got left in the car was at the petrol station, the same as most of you. Or in the driveway at home on occasion.
Since DD has become a toddler and DS is now 7 I will leave them in the car at our local shops if I need bread or milk, and only after school pickup. That might sound odd, but probably half of the school community is around our local shop after school so I know nearly everyone who is around while I run into the shop. This is only if a trip to the shop is unavoidable though. More often than not DH will grab whatever we need on his way home from work late at night so I don't need to worry about it.
SilverStarfish
29-02-2008, 14:37
They also use to have those eftpos machines, so you didn't even have to walk into the petrol station, but they have all disappeared. I wonder why?
I'm guessing vandalism for one thing. It probably wasn't worth the money of replacing them, esp if they were not all that popular. Most people I'd imagine would feel more comfortable going in to pay, plus a lot of the time you need to buy something else too, like a drink, milk, paper etc.
mummajuice
29-02-2008, 15:56
Just wanted to add that I have been hit by a car at a petrol station - a car that was REVERSING OUT FROM THE PUMPS!!! I mean who reverses out from a pump at a petrol station when you are at the front pump?? Luckily i made an almighty thump on their boot so that they stopped before running over me, but I would hate to imagine what would've happened if I had DD2 on my hip and DD1 walking holding my hand.
I remember years ago we had an "acquaintance" who would visit a mutual friends' house and leave her DD (3mths) asleep in the car. It was in Nth Qld and the temp would've easily reached over 30 degrees in the car. She would leave it on the driveway with the door open and a blanket over the window/across the top. We told her repeatedly not to do it but she insisted that her DD needed to sleep, so one day I snuck out and phoned the police. They came within 5 mins and told her that they'd received numerous complaints and that next time they'd take her daughter with them.
MummaBear03
29-02-2008, 16:05
I remember years ago we had an "acquaintance" who would visit a mutual friends' house and leave her DD (3mths) asleep in the car. It was in Nth Qld and the temp would've easily reached over 30 degrees in the car. She would leave it on the driveway with the door open and a blanket over the window/across the top. We told her repeatedly not to do it but she insisted that her DD needed to sleep, so one day I snuck out and phoned the police. They came within 5 mins and told her that they'd received numerous complaints and that next time they'd take her daughter with them.
Good on you too! In North Qld, in the hottest part of the year, if the car is parked in the sun it can reach up to 90 degrees within half an hour. Eeep! I remember not long ago a mother was arrested for leaving her child in a hot car at the casino and the temperature inside the car was around 80C as it was about 2pm.
Funkychicken
29-02-2008, 16:21
We are a bit blessed in terms of where we live, so all three of my children have spent nap-time in the car at varying stages.
Our nearest neighbours are over a km away and our driveway alone is a couple hundred metres long, so I have always been able to leave a sleeping baby in the car in the carport if need be and weather permits.
raisingthree
29-02-2008, 16:27
I had an extremely bad experience with doing just that.
After strapping my two kids in I went to the garage right in front of the car to get the pram. The car was not on. I turned around to see my 3 year old in the front rolling down the hill. He had put it in reverse and taken off the handbreak after watching me do it I guess he took notice, its an automatic so rolled straight down the hilly driveway and into my fence. Thank God it stopped there and didn't keep going because it would have gone straight accross the road and into the neighbours house if the fence didn't stop it!
I learnt my lesson. I NEVER EVER leave my kids in the car even for a second.
forbetoel
29-02-2008, 16:29
Yes, I have. I never take them out to get petrol. I have also left them in the car for a quick trip in the supermarket. we live in a smallish country town, where you can park right up to the supermarket doors, and in the car next to mine there is usually kids that we know from school waiting in the car beside us.
Funkychicken
29-02-2008, 16:40
I had an extremely bad experience with doing just that.
After strapping my two kids in I went to the garage right in front of the car to get the pram. The car was not on. I turned around to see my 3 year old in the front rolling down the hill. He had put it in reverse and taken off the handbreak after watching me do it I guess he took notice, its an automatic so rolled straight down the hilly driveway and into my fence. Thank God it stopped there and didn't keep going because it would have gone straight accross the road and into the neighbours house if the fence didn't stop it!
I learnt my lesson. I NEVER EVER leave my kids in the car even for a second.
I'm referring to when they are babies/toddlers, strapped into car seats. ;)
MummaBear03
29-02-2008, 16:42
After strapping my two kids in I went to the garage right in front of the car to get the pram. The car was not on. I turned around to see my 3 year old in the front rolling down the hill. He had put it in reverse and taken off the handbreak after watching me do it I guess he took notice, its an automatic so rolled straight down the hilly driveway and into my fence.
I don't mean to sound rude or anything, but WHY was your 3 year old near the handbrake and able to put in reverse??!!??!! I'm horrified that a 3 year old would be in the front.
Ummm i know that my DS was able to get out of his belt at 2, so maybe thats what happened.
forbetoel
29-02-2008, 16:51
She turned around to 'see' her 3 year old in the front. She didn't say that he was sitting in the front.
MummaBear03
29-02-2008, 16:52
Ummm i know that my DS was able to get out of his belt and 2, so maybe thats what happened.
IMO if a child is able to get out the car seat, yet not able to understand not to touch things, that child should not be left in a vehicle unattended. Just my opinion though. I'm a little nutty when it comes to car safety, and water safety, and eating habits, and hygiene, and probably many other things too..... :o
mum_inlove
29-02-2008, 16:57
I only do it when I have to put petrol in. I prefer not to and do it at night when the kids are in bed. But there are days when I forget so have to get it done during the day.
I always lock the car and leave one window down a little bit. I always keep my eyes on the car, too. And if there is a queque, then I'd ask nicely if they don't mind to let me go first. Most people are very nice about it :yes:
But I never leave them if I have to go to the shops or something. I'd bring the pram in even it's just a quick shop:yes:
Well it could have been the first time the child did it.
And she said she turned and to see him in the front.
Also i know a girl that has to have her 3 yr old in the front and has been given permission due to having the 3yr old a 2 yr old and twin new borns so she had 3 car seats in the back and the 3 yr old in the front, and there is no way if i HAD to stop for fuel or to run in to get something from home that i would drag 2 newborns a 2yr old and a 3 yr old out.
forbetoel
29-02-2008, 17:00
Accidents can happen to anyone...even great mothers, so lets not even go there.
raisingthree
29-02-2008, 17:01
Mummabear03 - if you read my post from the begining you well see that I strapped both of my children into their car seats (yes - both safe-and-sound approved for their age seats!). My 3 year old who was nearly 4 at the time obviously undid his belt and lent forward to the front. When I turned around he was in between the seats in the front. I was horrified. I have never ever left my kids in the car for any length of time but was making a point that even for one second its not safe.
forbetoel
29-02-2008, 17:04
Mummabear03 - if you read my post from the begining you well see that I strapped both of my children into their car seats (yes - both safe-and-sound approved for their age seats!). My 3 year old who was nearly 4 at the time obviously undid his belt and lent forward to the front. When I turned around he was in between the seats in the front. I was horrified. I have never ever left my kids in the car for any length of time but was making a point that even for one second its not safe.
You do not need to explain yourself.
The same thing has happened to my DH, except our car rolled into our other car.
Mistakes happen, and like you said, you are actually saying not to leave kids in the car on their own.
MummaBear03
29-02-2008, 17:06
Sorry for misinterpreting, but "strapping them in" doesn't necessarily mean into car seats, it could mean just into the car itself. You have no idea how many kids I see travelling in the front of the car, even at the age of 18 months people have their babies on the front seat of the car. Some have even said they "won't sit in their carseats" but to me it's a safety issue, you make them sit in their carseats. They will only fight it until they realise there is no other option. I just find it apalling that people have kids on the front seat of the car without a car seat at all. I do apologise for getting that wrong, but as I said "strapping them in" doesn't necessarily mean they are in car seats, just that they have seat belts on.
raisingthree
29-02-2008, 17:10
4boys2love - thank you:)
Mummabear03 - I obviously didn't explain it well enough, I guess thats the negative side of the internet.
jacks mum
29-02-2008, 17:22
I do just to pay for petrol but again I park closest to the door and if it's a big station then I put the petrol in and then drive to the door and jump out to pay. watching them the entire time
neostudded
29-02-2008, 17:28
Ive read thread like this lots of times & there is always a good debate & I can understand both sides of it.Me, well I havent been put in that position, dont know what id do.
OJandMe
OMG!!, imagine IF YOU DID take them out of the car!! lol :laughing:
Two three year olds, a pregnant tummy & a 6 monther, I can only imagine.
WorkingClassMum
29-02-2008, 18:35
Brings to mind the recent case where the Dad left his sleeping son in the car to pay for fuel early in the morning and someone drove away with the car with the kid in it. Thank goodness the person realised a kid was in the car and he abandoned the car after informing the police of its location.
Yeah - but the idiot left his keys in the car and the car running. He didn't buy petrol (where you must turn the car off) - he was getting the paper.
02-03-2008, 11:55
No, never ever not even for petrol. :no:
our little treasures
02-03-2008, 11:57
Yeah - but the idiot left his keys in the car and the car running. He didn't buy petrol (where you must turn the car off) - he was getting the paper.
:yes: That happened around the corner from us. It wasn't that he left his child in a stationary vehicle that was locked:no: