View Full Version : Hospital bag!
Kayangel
27-02-2008, 07:58 PM
I can't believe i'm making this thread but with some of us less then 10 weeks away i thought it was time to make this thread!
so.... lets all add our 2 cents worth what we reccommend or will be putting in our bags.
Lets all get thinking about what we will take.
Hopefully we will end up with a great list!
Kayangel
27-02-2008, 08:07 PM
Ill go first....
My Bag!
- P.J's
- Next day clothing (ready to leave)
- maternity pads
- breast pads
- lip balm (lips get dry from the gas)
- gatorade for hydration
- something to snack on for energy
- black underwear
- maternity bras
- toiletries - body wash, shampoo, toothbrush, toothpaste, body spary.
- slippers
- plastic bag for dirties
- ural ( for that first pee)
- nipple cream
Jaylens Bag!
- body suits
- going home outfit
- hat
- socks
- blankets
- a swaddle
- body wash and lotion
- baby towel
- baby facewasher
- bottle and formula (just in case)
- dummy
- huggies nappies and wipes
- spare pair of clothes
NOTE: I have decided not to use the hositpals thing, i have decided to take all my own things.
Please add on..... or write up what u will be taking.
cindye
27-02-2008, 08:25 PM
Good idea Kayla!
I'd like to add a couple of things to the list;
camera (and charger)
mobile phone (and charger)
hairdryer (this has been recommended for drying down there after a shower - apparently wiping is a really bad idea!)
book, magazines and/or ipod
makeup
Can't think of anything else right now. But i have lots of magazines with lists that I'll check later.
Kayangel
28-02-2008, 07:33 AM
cindye- All great ideas :thumbsup: i cant belive i forgot to add mobile and camera drrr :o.
Bel1978
28-02-2008, 08:24 AM
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n56/bel1978/HospitalList.jpg
Leishie
28-02-2008, 10:04 AM
Just a suggestion I have remembered from a friend...
She said take a couple of towels in a dark colour to sit on the bed. She said much less embarrassing than getting blood all over the sheets and she could just pop a new one on there when visitors come!!
This thread is making me nervous- I haven't even thought about packing a bag and I have 9 weeks to go!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bel1978
28-02-2008, 10:13 AM
9 Weeks wow im last on the list with 13
mirandaj
29-02-2008, 05:14 PM
Great idea for a thread Kayla!
I have 9 weeks to go and started packing this week. I signed my husband up to get a week by week email at another site, and it said to start packing. He rang me up from work, worried, saying I should start packing. It was really cute.
My hospital had hairdryer on the list, but I did not think it was for down there. The dark towels are a good idea, as is plastic bag for dirty stuff. I will add those to my list. I was not going to take my mobile as heard you can't use it in the hospital.
I basically combined the list from bubhub, the hospital, books I have, and a few other sites.
Here is my list:
Labour Bag
Pregnancy record card
Old large shirt to labour in
Slippers &Socks
Lip balm
Hair band
Water / face spray
Music/Relaxation music/Portable stereo
Jelly beans
Camera (not sure what I will do ad I use my phone)
Massage Oil
Pen & Note Pad (for husband to write down contractions on way)
Snacks & Drinks
Husband's swimmers (so he can get in the bath with me)
Money for parking
Heat pack
Birth plan
Magazines/Book/Something to do
Extra clothes for husband (so he is not driving home in blood stained clothes)
Dressing gown/robe
Face washer
Watch to time contractions
Medicare & heath insurance card
Glasses (thought would not wear, but will take so I can get a good look at baby)
For Baby
Extra Nappies (hospital gives pack of 18)
2 going home outfits (in case dirties one)
Socks / Booties
Mittens
Bunny rug
Muslin Wrap
Wipes
Plastic bag (for dirty nappy if one on way home)
Sample pot of Nappy rash cream
Hospital Bag
Dressing gown
2 or 3 comfy pants (I am at private hospital so in for 3-4 days)
2 or 3 comfy tops (preferably front opening)
2 breastfeeding bras
1 box of breast pads
Lots of underpants (Instead of black or disposable, I am just using all my daggy old ones that should be thrown out anyway)
3 packs of maternity pads
3 front opening nighties (heard PJ's can hurt if you have stitches, is this true?)
Slip on shoes
Slippers & Socks
Toothbrush & Toothpaste
Deodorant
Shower Gel
Shampoo & Conditioner
Brush
Hairdryer
Lipstick & foundation (for photos)
Handcream
Stretchmark lotion
Razor & Shave cream (not sure if will bother shaving leg/underarms or not, any advice?)
Money for magazines, phone etc
Tissues
Pen & Notepaper
Phone list
Pregnancy/Breastfeeding vitamins
Cold pack for sore parts
Snacks & Drinks (might smuggle in a block of chocolate or two, one website said take champagne, but don't think that would be alowed or advisable)
Stuff to do
Eye mask (so can sleep when it is light)
Outfit to wear home
mirandaj
29-02-2008, 05:17 PM
As you can see I have probably gone a bit overboard, and will not fit all of these into bags. Any non first timers please tell me what to take off the list.
Bel1978
01-03-2008, 08:41 AM
I will be packing whats on the list pretty much that the hospital gave me the one i posted, DH can bring any thing else up..
happybunnypony
01-03-2008, 09:30 AM
miranda that's a pretty massive list! i like it! I think i will follow something similar to that... i might make a start on packing in the next week or so.
I probably wouldn't worry about the razors or shaving cream! i think my hairy legs will be the last thing on my mind! :laughing:
MaddisonsMummy
01-03-2008, 01:17 PM
i actually finished my hospital the other day:D so exciting:D
in mine i packed...
*2x pj's
*2x 7 pack of undies (they like you to wash atleast 3-4 times a day after bubs birth, bit extreme but apparently its to prevent infection especially if you have stitches)
*hairbrush + spare hair tie just incase
*shower gel
*shampoo + conditioner
*deodorant (roll on + spray)
*socks-slippers- and flat slip on's
*toothpaste + toothbrush
*toiletry bag (to fit most of the above in)
*3 packets of kotex maternity pads
*2x maternity bras
*nipple cream (lanolin) + breast pads
*pen
last minute things to put in:
*antenatal card
*mobile phone + charger
*camera
still thinking if theres anything else!?
mirandaj
03-03-2008, 10:12 AM
Yeah, I agree after giving birth shaving will be the last thing on my mind too. I don't know why I put that on there. Think I read it in a books list so thought it had to go on.
Ava&Jacksons_Mumma
07-03-2008, 12:31 AM
Hey Girls :wave: When i had my dd in 2006, i brought my own toilet paper LOL! and towels because the hospitals were a bit cheap and flimsy.
HTH :)
Bel1978
07-03-2008, 06:18 AM
Im just packing the list the hospital gave me.. the one i posted...
sistabelle
09-03-2008, 04:19 PM
Because I've "temporarily" lost my hospital paperwork I'm also going to pack these because the baby will probably be here before I find the paperwork :laughing:
a few dummies
my own breast pump, bottles and teats just in case there's an issue with attachment so I can express
Bel1978
10-03-2008, 09:17 AM
Dummies yes yes if you plan to use them.. DH had to drive back at 11pm with some hmmmm
Sarahg
10-03-2008, 10:35 AM
Definitely have to pack a hand held breastpump, the hospital ones are a pain - if you can get them as often the other girls are using them.
lots of front opening tops for breastfeeding. Last time I packed my husbands t-shirts but these just became annoying.
Granny undies -as I'm having a c/section
My own pillow
3 nighties or more, I hate sitting around in smelly clothes!!
Nipple shields, because if you have to buy them from the hospital pharmacy they are ridiculously expensive.I shaved my legs and stuff when I was in labour - before I went to hospital - last time. You probably won't feel like shaving your legs, you're too tired!!:flowerz:
mirandaj
25-03-2008, 10:56 AM
Question for everyone: Is it true you should pack nighties in stead of pyjamas in case you have stitches? I don't own any nighties and would have to buy them especially.
Kayangel
25-03-2008, 11:00 AM
When is everyone going to start packing there bag?? i was thinking around 35 weeks, is that too early??
mummajugs
25-03-2008, 03:54 PM
Question for everyone: Is it true you should pack nighties in stead of pyjamas in case you have stitches? I don't own any nighties and would have to buy them especially.
i heard the same thing, i think it is probably logical to wear a nightie if you have stitches, i dont own any either and i had a look at bigw and target the otherday and they arnt cheap! and they tell you to take 2-3 of them. like what the??? i cant justify spending the money when they will only be used once and then be wrecked. i think i will just be using old tshirts with a dressing gown over the top or a few pairs of pjs that arnt tight in the crotch area. thats just my opinion though. i suppose you wont be in hopsital that long. and when you can get home you can just walk around in your knickers, thats what ill be doing if i need stitches! hope this helps.
kayla- after last nights episode i think i will be packing my bags this weekend. you can never be prepared too early. anything can happen at anytime. we are all getting close now.
Kayangel
25-03-2008, 06:41 PM
Lauren and miranda- Keep an eye out in best and less they often have cheap nighties, last week they had a whole lot going out for 5 bucks.
mirandaj
25-03-2008, 08:58 PM
Thanks Kayla, I will do. Although I know it sounds a bit strange as I said I don't wear nighties, but if I do buy them I would rather buy ones that look alright rather than daggy ones. I saw in Suzanne they had some nice ones for $20 that were front opening, but still a bit pricey. Trying to find nicer ones for cheaper. Buy nice ones I mean non floral-grandma type ones. All the ones that are front opening seem to be grandma styles.
If I can't find them I might just go for old T-shirts like MJ suggests?
amandaw
25-03-2008, 08:59 PM
Miranda - I spent the first night in hospital nighty, but then preferred my flanelette Pj's - especially once my milk came in, because then I could feed DD without feeling quite so exposed. I think it would be more in the case of a C sect that you wouldn't want the belly contact. From memory, I think I actually got physically dressed each dau anyway (just trackies and tops) so that I felt a bit human, especially getting (much appreciated) visits from workmates and not so close people
Ava&Jacksons_Mumma
25-03-2008, 11:10 PM
When i had my DD i wore normal pj's and i had a lot of stitches down there :o.
Its only a recommendation, but in the end wear what you want & don't feel you have to spend money on unnecessary things ie nighties.
mirandaj
26-03-2008, 11:05 AM
Thanks guys
Bel1978
26-03-2008, 02:33 PM
I never packed nighties for hospital last time and wont be this time....
Kayangel
26-03-2008, 04:49 PM
mirandaj- :laughing: they are actually really nice ones in best and less they were $20 or $30 dollors to start with just when new things come in they reduce them or sometimes have specials. Im young i would never wear anything granny looking or draggy looking so dont worry about them being horrible, keep an eye out u might be suprised. ;)
I think Im kinda obsessed with this hospital bag thing.
Is it normal to want to get doubles of toiletries, like deodorant, toothbrush, even makeup so I can have one at home and one in the bag JUST so the bag will be completely packed?
Is that neccessary? Or should I leave toiletires til when im half in labour heading out the door?
Ive bought alot of bonds for the hospital stay. its pricey as hell but I wanna look good.. and they have some really nice trackies and day clothes.
Also their roll down trackies im using as PJ bottoms as they are great for expanding tummys (and i got an extra hospital bag pair :rolleyes:)
Im still stressed out worrying about THE BAG. what the hell is wrong with me lol
mirandaj
29-03-2008, 09:56 PM
Hi Stg, I'm doing the same thing. I bought a second set of some toiletries for the bag. I already had a 2nd foundation and put in one of my lippies so that was ok. However I bought another toothpaste (just homebrand) and a new toothbrush. I am using the new toothbrush and packed the old one. It was looking a bit ratty so time for a new one anyway.
Also I was doing a bit of travelling for work and use to take all the little shampoos, shower gels, shower caps etc from the hotels and stock pile them, so I have packed all that stuff as well.
The only thing I will need to pack on the day is my hair brush and hair dryer (someone said it is good to take to keep 'down there' dry)
I ended up buying some PJs last Thu night. I already have a few breastfeeding singlet tops so will use those, but bought 2 pairs of pants. The pants are quite nice and don't look too much like PJs so I could wear them walking around the hospital. I just got 1 nightie just incase. It was from suzanne and not daggy.
Kayla: I would have gone to best and less but there is not one in the small mall near my house, just the big shopping centre, and I have stopped going there as it is too hard/tiring/crowded.
mirandaj
29-03-2008, 09:59 PM
I also got a block of Dove chocolate and pack of salt and vinegar chips to pack. After going through all that I think I deserve it! A checklist on another website said to take a bottle of champers in for toasting. I have one here left over from my baby shower so I might take that but not sure if the hospital will allow it??
I'm not packing a bag or anything.........I only wish but the hospy I had DD in allowed alcohol for celebratory drinks to be bought in by well wishers, as long as it was discreet & they didn't get drunk & rowdy :yes: DH's dad bought a special bottle of scotch in to toast DD with the night she was born, all the men in her life stood there toasting her as I lay there trying to sleep :confused: It wasn't unusual to see the well wishers coming to visit a baby down the hall from me toting a small esky :laughing:
The hospy even had alcohol on the menu in the evenings, DH was staying with me & would order 2, one on his card & the other on mine, can't imagine what the middies thought :p
Good luck with your forthcoming births :yes:
Ciao,
Brooke.
happybunnypony
30-03-2008, 05:04 PM
well i finally went and did a bit of shopping for my hospital bag today!
I mostly bought the toiletries and i have felt i might be going overboard, but i thought it'd be nice to have new stuff for hospy stay rather than take the regular things we already have.
This is what i have so far:
Shower wash
Toothpaste and Toothbrush
Maternity Pads
Breast Pads
Face wipes
1 x 10 pack of knickers!
Maternity Bras
3 pjs
1 Maternity nighty
2 regular nighties
trackie pants
I do want to get some make up for the bag too, just some foundation and lippy might be nice, i know it'll prolly be the last thing on my mind, but i want to have it just in case i feel like making myself feel good!!
I've got lots more to get, but it's good to have some stuff ready!!
mirandaj
30-03-2008, 08:06 PM
HBP: I think the lipstick and foundation will be important to make me feel a bit more human and normal for photos.
livsmummy: I thought it was strange when I read somewhere to take some alcohol for toasting but it makes sense. I had my prenatal class today and the midwife said it is ok to take, and that people do for a celebratory drink.
The midwife also said to pack a nice shirt for the husband in the labour bag, as he might be wearing a yucky one when you are in labour, and you want him to change into a nicer one for photos.
Lillybelle
07-04-2008, 05:27 PM
I am now starting to get my hospital bag ready and have a question for those of you who have had previous cesareans.
How much bleeding can I expect and how long (days or weeks) does it normally last? How many packs of maternity pads do you think I should buy?
Also will my normal bikini style undies be OK or should I buy some of those ones with the really high waists?
gypsy72
11-04-2008, 09:15 AM
I also bring one of those cardboard document wallet thingys....because you can get alot of paperwork to fill out...eg. Medicare, birth certificates etc and it's handy to keep it all neat and in a handy place to find. I also pop a hardcover notepad and pen in too.
C sections....I've had two and going for my third and I will definately be bringing Black granny nickers!!! From memory I brought 2 packets of maternity pads with me with a stash at home for hubby to bring in if needed. The hospital also had a supply if desperate.
PJ's: I prefer pants and top pj's over nighties unless you can get nighties with button up fronts for B/feeding.
Most of my hospital stay was spent in Pj's or trackies/maternity leggings. And yes make-up is a must-even if it's just foundation, blush,lippy and mascara. Can make you feel good and think of all those photos you need to look back on.
Don't forget some perfume-for when you get paranoid about the lochia smell thing.
I've heard people taking the hairdryer for c-sections too to dry the wound after your showers. Keeping that wound infection free is paramount.
EmsMum72
12-04-2008, 12:09 PM
I also got a block of Dove chocolate
I also bring one of those cardboard document wallet thingys....because you can get alot of paperwork to fill out...eg. Medicare, birth certificates etc and it's handy to keep it all neat and in a handy place to find. I also pop a hardcover notepad and pen in too.
Great ideas :yelclap:
Lilybelle, I'm taking 2 packets of maternity pads and I'm hoping that's enough. I'll have 2-3 packets at home as well, but the hospital's often give you some too if need be. I'd go the granny undies, the bikini ones will irritate the living cr@p (cr@p) out of your scar and will make you uncomfortable. The idea about a hair dryer was a good idea to keep the scar dry. From memory, I bled for about 6 weeks.
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.