View Full Version : a bit off
hi mums,
My 11 month old is not well today, runny nose and bit of a cough. His temp is up and what i was wondering is, well with my older kids when they were little being younger as soon as they had a runny nose i would be at the doctors but at what temp more so for this age and if it was not coming down at all with panadol would you be at the doctors!!! his temp is at 36.7 and he has just gone down.
thanks for ya help, cheers...jo
36.7 is normal temp though babies can vary - EJs normal is about that. I went to doc when she had her cold and it was 37.2 which he considered a low grade fever but not bad. With her immunisations she went up to 37.6
When in hospital she had a few probs maintaining her temp when born and they wanted to make sure it got over 36.5 which is considered ok below that they werent too happy.
hi cathyn,
hey thats ethans nick name here at home Ej for ethan james, there you go!! thanks for that i new it was around that he is at 37.2 now and very cranky, his still drinking and eating though, i will keep an eye on it and make sure if it gets to much higher we will be going for a trip in the car!!!!
thanks heaps cheers ....jo
Hope his temp doesnt go up much more - Eating and drinking good sign though
Hope all be ok i know the cold she had was pretty nasty and lasted about a week :(
Funny how they both have the same nicknames - It is easier shortening them though at home lol
hi cathyn,
just got him to sleep, and temp down to 36.9, i got the vics on to the chest and around the nose a bit and he was breathing better when he had some booby so:fingerscrossed: and yeh its cool they have the same nick name, the other half loves it as he has three ej holdens they are his projects!! he is Holden mad the car he drives is a hr holden so when deciding on a name for bub he said ej short for ethan james and its stuck the grandparents call him ej as well!!
how about you???
thanks heaps cheers...jo
Thats good his temps down now and breathing better:)
My BF's family are football mad so they think of the name EJ as in EJ Whitton(sp?). I just shorten it to EJ more for ease in saying it to others lol
goodmorning ladies,
EJ had a bad night so i have handpast him to the other half and jumped on here with a nice hot coffee to wake me up a bit, his temps normal but his nose is running his eyes are watery and his very cranky and now im coming down with it and hubby so it will be a slow weekend for us all, i got some infant decongestant it works well, i was worried to give it to him as i am alergic to antihistamine and i thought maybe he could be the same, but he had no worries taking some:D
cheers for now.......jo
Wow it sounds like we where in the same boat!
My twins are 11 months next week and DD had a temp last night of 38.5!!I had her at the doc yesterday and he said she had a virus and would have a temp until Sunday night. But 38.5!!!! I really didnt know what to do. DS has a middle ear infection but he seems fine.
I rang the hospital and hey said they "dont give medical advice over the phone" So I called Tressilian 24 hour help line and they where much more helpful. Id managed to get some panadol into her and they said to wait 1/2 hour and see if she improved. Well she went to sleep, I didnt. Just sat up and watched her.
This morning her temp is up again to 38.7!!!! so Ive given Panadol again and a cool bath and now she is happily playing with her brother and has eaten breakfast.
Im going to call the doc and just check what to do if it goes up again like that.
Why dont babies come with a instuction manuel!!!
rynosmum
25-03-2006, 09:41
My DS had a bout of ear infections when he was that age - he went through two episodes of about 4 days each where his temp would immediately spike to 38.5 and a few times went as high as 40 very quickly (complete with immediate vomiting etc). The Dr always advised just Panadol and Nurofen, tepid baths etc to keep baby comfortable and lots and lots of fluids. Dress in cool clothes but don't put bubs directly n front of a fan or any direct source of cold breeze.
If your little one appears glassy eyed, is limp etc, then get to the Doc immediately. I've asked a few Drs at what point is a fever high enough to bring the baby straight in, they always refer more to the symptoms than to the fever.
Hope your little ones feel better soon.:hugs:
hi,
Thanks rynos,mum,
thats great info, ethans eye,s have been really watery but he has been getting around ok, not limp or anything, things seem to change and just more info, because when the older two were younger you went more on temp and trying to get the fluids into them and even though that is important reading body signs is a great insight, i mean when they are a bit sick they are not as bouncy ya know what i mean!!!but just keeping an eye out for those signs makes me feel alot better:thumbsup:
cheers...jo
rynosmum
25-03-2006, 12:23
I know - it can be so scary when your little ones are sick.
Being a little more sleepy, cuddly etc is okay - you're right Jo-Jo, not as bouncy. I found if the fever really spiked high, a tepid bath would bring it down enough for him to be comfortable enough to get the nurofen in (Panadol made him worse unfortunately). I'd try as much yoghurt and the juice from cans of peaches and pears if he didn't want milk or water.
Let us know how you go (you too O&GMUM). I feel for you both - you're probably getting less sleep than the bubbas !:hugs: :hugs:
hi rynos,mum,
well for the last 3 nights i think i have had mmmm, 10hours sleep so feeling tired, hey and guess what??? now we are all sick but at least bubby is better his still snuffly but no temp!!! so how was your weekend..lol:D
cheers....jo
rynosmum
26-03-2006, 16:57
Hi Jo-Jo,
Great to hear ! We have a 'family' cold here too:( but DS and I just both went for a nap andwonke up almost 3 hours later.....so all is good !:hugs:
Kamaikia
26-03-2006, 22:46
Just thought I would add a bit extra.
A while back my son who is now 17 months got a really high temp. He had a slight chest infection and red throat. His temp slowy kept rising until it hit 41.7. A tried panadol, tepid baths etc and nothing would bring it down. It was at this for most of the day. I was panicking. We tested him again and it was over 42. I panicked of course and we went to the doctor. At the surgery his temp was still over 41 and had been now for approx 9 hours. The doctor told me that this wasn't a major concern. Because his temperature had slowly risin and stayed pretty constant for so long he wasn't at risk. He said that its when there is a sharp rise quickly in temps that it gets dangerous. He told me he has seen children have convulsions with a temp of 38 - 39 because it rose so fast. Some children can his well over 40 and be fine.
I must admit though it was comforting to hear this but if it ever went over 40 I would be back there.
thanks for the info:thumbsup: ethan still not back to his old self and its me now with a temp, i feel like:thumbsdown: and hubby went to work really unwell infact he must of been sick as he said he will have a sickie tommorow, and im telling you this bloke gets awards for not having sickies at the end of each year so i will not be doing much today stay indoors with bub oh and jump on bub hub when i can!!!
cheers...jo