View Full Version : Car travel - things to keep 15mth old occupied???

busylizzy
24-03-2006, 11:26
Hi guys, we're going on holidays in a couple of weeks & this will mean a long five or six hours in the car each way:eek:.
We're going to try & plan the drive to include 15mth old DS's usual 2-3hr nap & I'm sure eating will help to keep him occupied some of the way but I really need help with ideas (apart from books, singing & stopping to exercise) to help keep him entertained & happy (& DH & I sane - we are packing ear plugs just in case) the rest of the time.
HELP!!! Any ideas???

Thanks in advance. Liz.

Peaceangels
24-03-2006, 13:34
Just buy a couple of new toys and books, as any of the old stuff doesn't keep their interest very long.

Be prepared to stop at any time when DS has had enough and let him run around in a park for a while to tire himself out.

If you can afford it, you can buy dvd players for the car. We haven't done this yet, but I hear it's a good way to keep them occupied and happy.:smiliedance:

24-03-2006, 14:55
ohhh Ness I feel like such a bad mumma:o we got a dvd player for the car when DS was about 14mths as we went on a long 6hr car trip too!

I have to say it was great:thumbsup: we did all the usual stuff, like toys and books and food (as DS loves to eat so that kept him in a good mood for a while:D ) but we still used the dvd and like I said it saved our sanity!

busylizzy
24-03-2006, 19:40
Thanks for the advice guys. Just one question...what kind of toys???
Liz.

cwsmum
24-03-2006, 21:01
a recorder (you know the instrument we all learnt to hate at school), well my bub now has learnt how to "blow" - this keeps him occupied for a long time

Wouldn't this be as loud and annoying as crying? Or do you do something to make it a bit quieter?

My DS is happy with all the usual things like books, etc...but if he gets really grumpy we stop at a shop and let him choose a cheap toy to play with. Usually it works out that we can stop somewhere like Coles/woolies, they have heaps of cheap toys.
DS is 3 now, so next time we go on a long drive I'm gonna get on of those tables...what are they called? The ones with like a bean bag on the bottom so they don't wobble...one of those, then he can have his coloring books and pencils in the car.

cwsmum
24-03-2006, 21:06
hmm...that was wierd...I just quoted something Christiansmum said and now her post is after mine... :confused: