View Full Version : Leavin bubs for first time
Nats1681
27-02-2008, 18:03
I am heading to the future music concert on Sunday and it will be the first time I have left my 7 week old baby girl with someone else :( I am so upset and worried that I wont be able to enjoy myself as I will be constantly thinking about Amberlie and wondering if she is o.k.
I know she will be fine I just want to be able to enjoy myself and not feel guilty for leaving her!
How did others go when leaving their little one for the first time?
eeyorethedonkey21
27-02-2008, 18:15
the 1st time i left my little man was to go to my besties dad's funeral. not really a place for bubs.
it was pretty good in terms that james likes spending time with anyone so it wasnt really hard to leave him. plus it gave hubbah and i a break.
im sure whoever you're leaving bubs with will do a fantastic job of entertaining ur little girl. enjoy your timde off from being a mummah
xygirl351
27-02-2008, 18:17
i left my daughter for the first time when she was 18days old. We had planned to leave her for 3hours with my cus and her kids as it was the 20th birthday. I cried my eyes out for the first hour that i left her. We sat down and ordered tea and once it come out i could not eat fast enough. Once tea was finished i yanked my other half out of his seat and went home. I think we was gone maybe 1 hour 40min all together and yep cried for most of it. Was the hardest thing i ever had to do.
Within saying that i think i cried for the first 6months every time i left her haha
She is no 14months old and now and then i get very upset when she goes and stays with her nanny.
forbetoel
27-02-2008, 18:21
I know it is hard, but just try and enjoy yourself.:)
FertileMertile
28-02-2008, 11:04
Aww I know how you feel, im working at Future music on Sun
DS is 6 mths now and I still dont like leaving him. The only person I have left him with is DP. I couldnt imagine what I would be like leaving him with anyone else.
moochymoo
04-03-2008, 11:07
I know how you feel too - the first time i left our daughter was to go to a funeral and she was 4 weeks old. I was still breastfeeding, so knew i had to be back within 3 hours. But it was awful and i hated leaving her. Looking back now though - its much easier to leave them at that age as they are less aware and just sleep and feed - they dont usually worry about who is there looking after them.
NOW on the other hand - i find it harder than when she was younger - she is 8 months old and because she is aware of being left, she knows who her mummy and daddy is and she knows when she is not at home - she has become more clingy and it makes leaving her a little more guilt ridden!! :laughing:
So enjoy your concert, she will be fine and like i always say to my parents or the hubbys parents (the only people we leave her with) - if she becomes unslettled or upset - CALL ME! They know never to worry if they are interupting something - they MUST call me to come and get her. I would be really annoyed if they didnt and they know this! So you can also say the same thing - knowing you will be back there with her if she does get upset. :thumbsup:
We left our boy with a babysitter for the first time when he was about 8 weeks old ( I was too exhausted prior). We had a great time just having dinner and chatting without fussing over our little man. Our babysitter had our mobile # so we knew she'd call if she needed us. Most of the time he slept and she fed him at the time we specified and back to sleep he'd go.
It's so important to get out and enjoy yourself. Don't stress about bub and like my midwife suggested - have a "non-baby talk" time. Your babysitter will call you if it's needed and you'll have a fun time! So that you don't wake bub by accident you could always get the babysitter to call you or text you just to let you know all is going ok - if you need that extra piece of mind.
Enjoy!!
shannysmum
04-03-2008, 16:16
i think i left my ds for the 1st time over night with my sister (who is older and has no kids) and my parents) at about 4 or 5 mths, i did ok, rang a couple of time then just drank heaps (footy break up). i have prob left him few times since, to work the odd day. sometimes to race down to the shops or get jobs done, but only when hes asleep ( mum and dad there). i hate it though. hes 21 mths and i think it gets harder. my sister wanted him the other day on sunday, but i said no (she wasnt very happy) but she hasnt kids of her own and she is a lesbian in a relationship and wanted to have a play date with her partners brother and her nephew. i dont like the idea on them playing mummy and 'daddy', as i know they would. not to mention i dont like how they speak to ds sometimes...a bit rough and tough....does that sound overprotective or what! anyway, to us, weekends...especially sundays are family time