View Full Version : I love being a SAHM!!!

MustangMumma
22-03-2006, 22:30
Just wanted to say how much I love being a SAHM and I reckon all SAHM do a wonderful job and we don't get enough credit for what we do!!

Three cheers for all SAHM!!!:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

squirtle81
22-03-2006, 22:34
I would love to be a stay at home Mum, but unfortunatly i gotta go back to work

in July and im not looking forward to it:mad: It will only be part time, but im

gonna miss DD alot as i have been with her every day since she was born.

Refresh
22-03-2006, 22:40
I love being a SAHM too!:smiliedance:

MustangMumma
22-03-2006, 22:49
Squirtle81, i know how you feel:hugs: . I went back to work last year for a little bit, but it didn't work out for me. I was happy that it didn't work out, he,he!!

It is so hard seperating from our bubs!!

Rockett
22-03-2006, 23:01
Even though I've been home with DD since she was born a year ago,I've just officially become a SAHM,don't have to go back to work,and yes I love it too!:thumbsup: :smiliedance:

SuperWoman
23-03-2006, 15:34
Me too!!!:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

Jem
23-03-2006, 15:43
im with you:D :smiliedance: :D

Melo
23-03-2006, 16:10
Count me in too! I love being with my little man EVERY single day - Best job i've ever had! :smiliedance:

SJE
23-03-2006, 16:34
how do you guys afford to live?

Do any of you have a morgage?

Is anyone willing to tell me about their budget and what they do to save money?

Ruby Slippers
23-03-2006, 16:41
ME TOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO :smiliedance:

CJJHRA
23-03-2006, 17:43

Well, easy for us, we have 6 kids, and centrelink payments pay more than I would if Ihad a job.

But I have always been a SAHM, have been for 14 years, its been tough at times. We rent.

I try to buy bulk, and get fruit/veg from the markets.

When we ony had 3 kids, I did consider going out to work, but worked it out, by time we paid childcare, and that, we were no better off, and at least this way, I am home whenever needed, and if kids get sick and that, I am there.

We have 2 cars, internet, moblie phoones, foxtel, carloan, so we cant be that bad off, if we were, there would be no foxtel, no broadband, and a cheaper car. We arent rich by all means, not even close, we dont go out, we dont have weekly amounts that we get to spend on whatever, its a tight budget. But the kids are fed and clothed. Dh is only on about 30K a year, and I get almost that again in family tax payments.

But we dont save, theres no such thing as saving in our house

LittleBoysRock
23-03-2006, 19:26
Me too. Love my job. Itan be challenging like any other job but I truely love it. :yelclap:

IAdoreYou
24-03-2006, 15:50

Love being a SAHM!

We have a mortgage and I bought a house at 24yrs of age .. taht was before the house prices sky rocketed !!! feel sorry for mums her have to buy a house today ..

SuperWoman
24-03-2006, 16:32
Originally Posted by Breeannasmum

Same here. We built our house before the ridiculous prices they are now, so I can afford to stay home while my DH works and still pay a morgage. We still struggle some times though, but we learnt to budget our money thanx to a friend of mine and it makes it sooo much easier!

maybe1more
24-03-2006, 19:22
I really love being a stay at home mummy too! I tried going back to work before my maternity leave ran out when my son was 11 months old and it lasted 9 weeks (i worked two days a week) i just missed him way too much and money cant buy that! I was the best decision ive ever made and my df totally agrees!
We live with the brother in law atm and we just purchased land, as the whole house and land was out of our budget, we will have to rent soon in about june/ july as ill get to fat to move if i leave it any longer then that:laughing:

Imamum2b
24-03-2006, 19:42
Mortgages are absolutely ridiculous these days!

We're expecting in November and we have already decided that I won't be going back to work. To afford it we will have to sell our house in Sydney and have decided to move out bush (near Orange but not too close coz that's pricey too!). DH doesn't know what he's going to do yet (he's a corporate web developer) but that will be half the fun I suppose!

I have a friend who lives near Campbelltown and once bubba came along, couldn't afford the house repayments so they sold it - luckily to an investor so they continue to live in their own house.

It's a real shame there can't be more SAHM ! You guys rock!

Rockett
24-03-2006, 21:23
We have a mortgage too,it's only a unit, I bought it on my own before I met DH, about 5 years ago when prices were cheap,if we were to buy a house now,I think we'd be struggling with me not working....as it is we do have to budget and make sure we don't buy silly things we don't really need.:)

Jo_Jo
25-03-2006, 08:06
goodmorning mums,

I agree i love being a SAHM, i worked full time with my second child, i went back to work when he was 10 months and ill never forget coming back from work to pick him and his sister up and i had missed his first steps he had been walking around all day, when i picked him up he was asleep by the time we got home he was cranky and all i wanted to see was him walk!!!! i said to myself that will not be happening again, so this time around i have just sacrificed a few things, like not getting a new car when i wanted one, we wanted to build but we put that on the backburner for a while we can manage the morgage at the moment so that way i can be at home,hubby loves the fact that i am home with the kids and we are not struggling our hearts out to meet all finacial commitments!!!

kiwibird27
25-03-2006, 08:22
We looked into the no deposit home loans - the fees and insurance upfront were around 15,000, hahahahahahahaha, great for no deposit,

I worked it out wer're financially losing less money by renting than we would be paying interest!!!!! Our rent is nearly $300 and interest on a similar property would exceed $400, so happy to rent, will buy a place when we retire (something by the beach!!!) Don't get the importance of buying anyway, as long as u build up assets elsewhere!!!!

I'm finishing work soon , and hoping to pick up part time work after babies born and childcare share with another mummy doing the same, e.g. we both work 2 different days, and the other 2 days care for the others child - no childcare costs and at least my wage can pay the rent??!!

Great to hear happy SAHM stories, am a little terrified of the whole thing - It'll work out though!!

O&GMUM
25-03-2006, 08:47
We live in sydney and have a HUGE mortgage. Luckily we have our own business and i do the wages and books from home so I can still pay myself a wage but thngs are pretty tight even so.
We really budget and write down everthing we spend. We dont get takeaway, we rarely go out to eat but lets face it, with twins its just too hard to go out to eat anyway.
We ran up a bit on the credit card so we have chopped it up and are going to pay it off and never get another one. we are just about to cut down to one car as well so that will make things financially a bit easier.
TOO HARD isnt it!

25-03-2006, 13:51
I'm a SAHM & wouldnt have it any other way. DH & I agree that we want MJ raised our way, not by others. We also rent but luckily have no loans, credit etc. There's plenty of time to buy a house. DH only earns $30,000 but we survive. Using cloth nappies helps save $$

I could never forgive myself if i missed MJ's first words, first steps etc.

diamonds22
25-03-2006, 14:26
I've had in a career since school...but secretly always wanted to be a SAHM..perfect housewife ect...anyway I nva told my hubby that...and now I'm pregnant he asked me what I wanted to do..he told me he would love me to be a SAHM cos we both grew up with our parents working and not knowing them..I remember having to make my and my kid sisters lunches and dinners get her to school ect and pretty much in bed before the parants came home...and I promised myself that I wouldnt be that type of a mother...that my kids would come first...not a outside job.

lucky for me, my hubby earns over 90 so we can afford to have a couple of mortages and own two nice cars...but even if we wernt on a lot of money...we would make it happen...I hate the critisim that sahm get....when I become one officially in a few months..I will be saying that I am a SAHM proudly...I'm not going to be ashmed..I'm a bit old fashioned in the fact that I think mums should be at home..although I don't judge others if they want to work...its up to them..I just get so annoyed when I hear outside working people judge us and act like its not an important job!!

I'm just glad I know where my priorities lay and my husband fully supports me.

Keep up the excellant work ladies!!!