View Full Version : Good age to finish having children?

21-02-2008, 15:45
Just interested in opinions or stories on when is a good age to have your last child?

I am 30 and pregnant with my forth now. I am thinking of having my last at 35. So if I have my fifth at 35 I can have about a 4 year gap.

draught
21-02-2008, 16:45
I don't think that there is a right age - it is what is good for you and your family - and the age that you start at will probably weigh in. For those of us who didn't or couldn't start until we were in our mid 30's then the finish age will obviously be later.

V8
21-02-2008, 16:56
Yeah hard to say, but i am glad i had kids when i started, was wanting to finish having all my kids by 30, would like to have a maximum of 4. I'll have 2 by 26, so hopefully in 4 years i can have 2 more. :) We shall see though! :)

Tam-I-Am
21-02-2008, 17:09
Whatever time you finish *shrug*. I know of plenty of people who have 'finished' having their family and then one last surprise baby has made their way into the world, and they would never be without that baby...I think its different for everyone...

punkbaby
21-02-2008, 17:16
Any age really my mum was 45 when she had her last. I am done havng kids but hey, in ten years i might want another one. If i do i will if i am healthy and there are no other reasons not to

~Mands~
21-02-2008, 17:16
I agree, its different for each family. My DH and I want to have finished our family by the time my DH turns 30 max. He is 26 and I am 24, and we think we will only have 2 children, so we have a few years up our sleeve yet :).

M.

Mamalicious
21-02-2008, 17:19
I don't plan on having any more babies after I turn 30, but I did get pregnant when I was 16 so I'm giving myelf alot of baby making time!! :laughing:

Sammilee
21-02-2008, 17:28
Like others have said, it is such an individual decision. I'm 34 and have just had my 1st bubba (DH is 41 by the way), and we plan to have a 2nd but not to sure when. As long as you are healthy and it feels right, no matter what age, then I say go for it.

Lastcenturymum
21-02-2008, 17:30
Yeah I agree there is no 'right' age - it depends on the people, their situation, when they started. I started youngish (by todays standards) and had it in my head (I have no idea why!!) That I wanted to have all my kids before I was 30. Had them at 24/26/28 (no it wasn't planned that way :laughing:) but I married at 21. Maybe having older parents made me want to be 'young' and 'grow up' with our kids - whatever that means!!

prideNJoy
21-02-2008, 17:42
:iagree: with everyone else about it being different for everyone and their given situation.

For me personally though, i have always wanted to be 'done' by the time i'm 30. Im 24 now, so have a bit of time left to have our last one.
Probably has something to do with me being told life only gets better with age, so i guess i want to make the most of it when i hit my 40-50's without having little ones to care for 24/7. :)

hayleysmummy
21-02-2008, 17:47
I want to be done by 35 risks of deformaties increase after that so I dont want to risk it I'm 20 and will still be 20 when my 2nd is born so I have plenty of time I want another 3 at least (well for now it may change after number 2 is born) LOL.

21-02-2008, 20:16
I guess that is my thinking - after 35 its a higher risk.

Jo_Jo
27-02-2008, 14:05
I think your way of thinking changes to circumstances, i can remember saying to myself and people who asked i will not be having anymore, thats it for me!! and here i am a few weeks of 35 trying for #4....lol so you just never know! so as for a good age to stop, depends on the person!

Bel1978
27-02-2008, 15:12
I think it depends on the person as well i said to DH 35 and thats it..

My FIL died at 50, My MIL died at 51 and my mummy Died at 61 but i was her 9th attempt so she didnt have me until she was 40.. to me that was too much of a gap.. but thats only my oppinion i was born in 78 and to have a mother born in 1938 thats WW2 era....

shed
27-02-2008, 16:45
I don't know why anyone would start having kids before they are 30, but that's just me and so that's what I decided. Need their heads read they do :laughing:

DP is keen to get the second baby under way because he reckons he's getting too old now to wait much longer.

But I had an uneventful pregnancy, fantastic birthing at 37 and am loving every stage of DS's little life so far so I will have my next baby when I am good and ready, which isn't yet.

Its not about age for me, its about what gap I want between my children, so I guess I will be 40 when my next little munchkin is born. Or 41, because I want a bigger gap than 2 years.

I had young parents and didn't think it was much chop so I have gone the other way. Its funny how alot of us have done the opposite to our parents, as though there is some magic formula, lol, - there isn't!

cindye
27-02-2008, 20:19
Started later here too - I will turn 34 just a couple of months after our first is born.

I always said the factory shuts down at 35, so better get straight onto number 2!:laughing:

Actually, we got such good results with our NT scan that I'm not too concerned with going past the 35 mark anymore.

Because if our 2nd ends up being a girl too (this one is), then DH will insist we try again for a son, and honestly, I wouldn't mind. Coming from a big family, I'd love to have a few at least, but thought that time just wasn't on our side.

our little treasures
27-02-2008, 20:30
I would like to have my 4 before 30 but would love 6 so I guess I still need a few extra years. I think 35 would be my cut off. I don't want to be too old to enjoy them or have a higher chance of problems. IYKWIM:)

27-02-2008, 20:34
Depends when you start! But I say 10 years after you start you'd want to be finished, otherwise you'd be bringing up kids forever!!

27-02-2008, 21:07
Some very interesting responses. :yes:

Uniquey
28-02-2008, 20:26
Kinda like asking 'how long is a piece of string' :p
For me it depends on whether we'll be blessed in having anymore children, not that we had any problems conceiving before, but you just never know. I work on the theory that I will 'know' when the time comes to have our last child.

Sanzinoz
01-03-2008, 22:31
When I was 21, I planned to have had all my children by the age of 30. But by my 30th birthday, I was still single and childless!

Needless to say I changed my plans, and ended up having my 3 little terrors at 33,34 and 35.

Of course the risk of abnormalities and problems for mother and baby is greater after 35, but I think having your first after this age is more of a concern than subsequent pregnancies. I hope so anyway as I want another and will be 38 this year!

susmamma
02-03-2008, 08:07
kymmy you sly fox i didnt realise you were planning more!
your kids obviously arent tough enough on you! :laughing:

i'm 35 and having my third.
i quite like the idea that at my 40th i'll have a 7 year old and a six year old and my one in the oven will be four. which will mean all my monkeys will either be at school or at preschool.

so the plan is this.
have a big 40th party on a school night. stay up all night living it up and then pack the kids off to school and sleep the whole day in peace!

i read about a french woman and her husband who used to do that. she and he would spend all night on the tiles in paris, then come home in time for breakfast when their "little sparrows" woke up. they'd get them ready for school and then sleep all day until the children got home from school. ;)

now that is the life!

ps: can you imagine that being the topic of a thread on bubhub...
"would you leave your children at home alone while you went out all night clubbing with your dh providing you were home in time for them to wake up and send them off to school..." bet that thread would be closed in 30 seconds. LOL.

SassyMummy
02-03-2008, 11:14
I hope I'm done by the time I'm 25. If not, I'll be quite annoyed.

If I hadn't had DD already, I don't know when that time would be... but because I had her at 19, I don't want to be a full-time mother for billions of years... I'd rather have my kids, have them grow up, then live my own life... rather than spacing them out and making it longer before I can be "just Stacey" again.

So 25... and even that is pushing it.

Pina Colada
02-03-2008, 14:08
I'll be done by September :laughing: So....27 years old.

I've just realised by the time I'm 40 all my kids will be in high school!

My mum was young when she had my brother and I (20 and 22), and then "older" when she had my sister and brother (30 and 32). She swears it was easier at 20!

secretsquirrel
03-03-2008, 07:29
i hope to be finished by 27 I'm preggers with my third and don't tell DH but i secretly want 4 and i quite like the 2 year age gap so i will be 27 in 2 years and DH doesn't want any more kids after he turns 45 so i gotta get cracking after this one is born

forbetoel
03-03-2008, 08:15
As long as there is a little egg waiting and ready to be fertislised, no age is too old.

For me personally, I wouldn't have one after 35. I always said that my cut off would be 30, but I somehow thought my cluckiness would magically dissapear at 31.

The love and attention a child recieves is far more important than the age of the mother.

SixtiesChild
20-03-2008, 22:11
Hi Kymmy:wave:

Your plan sounds great!!! It gives you a chance to rest a bit LOL.

I had my first at 34 and then one at 40, I was a late bloomer all my life.

There may be risks but Age is no barrier really.:)

shed
20-03-2008, 22:15
My mum was young when she had my brother and I (20 and 22), and then "older" when she had my sister and brother (30 and 32). She swears it was easier at 20!

I would think so too, she didn't have a couple of pre-teens to look out for the first time round! ;)

neostudded
20-03-2008, 22:18
I think ill have one in my 30's for sure!! I want to be a 'wise' mummy one day :p

no age limit here!! :goodvibes: :cloud9:

Freya
20-03-2008, 22:23
If I hadn't had DS so young then I really no idea how I would have felt but now I would really like to be done by 35 and done as in they all be in school!!

21-03-2008, 10:21
I hope to be done by 30. I'm not even sure if I want anymore kids. My two are little toddlers now, and I am studying, after studying I want to get a job work a little then have another little baby.

Although I suspect I will probably want more in my 30's and 40's and 50's :eek:

Jakois
21-03-2008, 10:31
I dont think there is really a good age to finish having babies. I was 19 when I had my first, 24 when I had #2. Thought I was finished having children. But then I got divorced, re partnered and had bubs #3 at 31. Still deciding weather to have #4:).

4babycinos
21-03-2008, 11:09
It really is a personal decision. I had mine at 20, 22 and 26 and then I have friends who didnt start having kids till their late 30's.

I'm glad I had mine young and still plan to have another by 30/31, I really want mine to all be at school by my mid 30's :)

Noah_and_Elijah
21-03-2008, 11:12
I started having my babies at 21 (almost 22) so I want to be finished by the time I am 25.

I don't however plan on having anymore after this one so I will be 23 when I finish.

Suits me! :thumbsup:

Bree3
21-03-2008, 12:05
I'm nearly 25 now and we plan to have 1 more so will more then likely be done by 30, which suits me perfectly.

Everybody has different circumstances in life so there can't really be a good age to finish having children. It's such a personal decission imo, as long as the children are loved, healthy and happy then thats all that matters.

youngones
22-03-2008, 01:05
I'm 36 this year and will hopefully, if all the planets collide, be having another sometime next year.

Ideally, I'd love to have 3 before I'm 30, but given that I'm already 35, sometimes life just doesn't play out the way you want.

I will be extraordinarily happy if I ever get to have another one who is healthy and I will be certifiably astronomically happy if I get to have a third, regardless of circumstance.

If my baby girl makes it to her 20s, I'll be one of those insufferable mums who whispers into her ear that career and travel and everything else can wait, but eggs can't. I'd never encourage her to have babies outside of a relationship, but if she's happy and stable, I'll be saying go for it - my generation have suffered too much loss to make it worth putting family on hold. At the end of the day/road/lifetime, family is all you have. Jobs, mortgages, renovations and airlines will always vie for your attention, but family will always give you their all, no matter what.

Do what you feel is right.

SweetSerenity
22-03-2008, 07:07
I agree also with many other previous posters, definitely no right age, just what's right for YOU :yes:

For me, I am hoping to have 2 more and would like to be around 28 - 29yrs old when I'm pregnant with my last... but it may not go my way lol :laughing:

Do what's right for you :hugs: :)

Laylapie
23-03-2008, 07:14
Hi Kymmy :wave: I always thought I would be "done" by the time I was 30...well, that plan didn't work did it! I had my first at 25, then had number 2 at 30 and number 3 at 31. And, I am wanting maybe 3 more, who knows?

I am always interested to hear peoples thoughts on this topic, but I say, whenever hun!! I have no idea what life will bring me, and am happy to just go with it!

charlen49
27-03-2008, 20:51
I guess that is my thinking - after 35 its a higher risk.to be honest kymmy it never crossed my mind with my second..but like the other posters it really depends on your indiviual circumstances.
ihad my first at 26 as a single mum..but always hoped for more then had my second at 36 in a stable relationship..i did find the birth more difficult second time around(even though they were both difficult)..i found the midwives had a poor attitude towards my care..ie..shes done done it hard before she can do it again attitude...though ten years changes a ot in ones body:rolleyes:

kas3
27-03-2008, 22:49
I'm 32 now. I'll be 33 when my first child is born. It would have been great to finish before 35, but I guess that it will depend on whether we stop at two, or go for a third. (I'd like three, but DH only wants two. Actually, he'd be happy with one.)

TheMamma
29-03-2008, 09:05
I'd like to have all my children by the time I'm 30. I've just turned 26 and now TTC#2. I'd like three kids.

TeamAwesome
29-03-2008, 10:01
As we would like 4 kids and at 24 we have 3 I think I can safely say we'll be done by the time I'm 26.

I always hoped to be a young mum and once I got married at 20 said I wanted to be done by the time I was 30 as we had DS when I was 20.

Our kids will be in their teens and 20s when we are in our 40s and we're quite happy with that FOR US!

I have friends who are in their 30s having kids either starting or finishing and it suits them and it's what right for their family. For us it's finishing earlier.

Livy
29-03-2008, 16:16
I agree with others and think it depends on your situation. Some people do not even find the one they want to spend their life with til their 30's. I have just turned 30 and want to have another 2 kids (3 all together) by 35. I am glad I waited - otherwise we would have never been able to pay off our house. :)

MW&S
29-03-2008, 16:21
I want to be finished having kids by 30. Im 27 and have the first so we will be having another next year and thats it.

For me I have a very high risk of breast cancer and my mum's oncologist told my sister and I to have all of our kids before 30. Reduces our risk a little.

babybug
09-04-2008, 16:07
:gloomy:OMG the general consensous seems to be 35, I'm 34 and it doesn't leave me much time. Not only that my DD is 10 turning 11, we have been trying for 5 years, to no avail, you would think that IVF would be the go for us but it's not an option for us. There is nothing medically wrong so to speak. So it makes me think, do we keep trying or give up:gloomy:.

bambi79
09-04-2008, 16:56
Im 28 at the mo and baby #5 is on his/her way. I always said no more for me after 30 and what a coincidence, this one scraps in by 6 months so Im happy bout that. The plan sticks for me.....

Kaleishasmum
24-04-2008, 15:01
Hi babybug,
I wanted to share with you something that i hope will ease your mind, I found my now-fiancee when I was 19, and he 26, when we first started going together he told me that due to natural problems on his part he was not supposed to be able to have children. We wasted no time in 'practicing' as he called it, and 3 months into our relationship we received the news he never thought he'd hear. So all it takes I guess, is to be sure in yourselves, and to love each other with plenty of 'practice' thrown in. Good luck.

EmsMum72
24-04-2008, 15:10
I always said I wanted to have 2 children by the time I was 30. I could have had children to my ex, but am now so thankful that I didn't.

I didn't meet my hubby until I was 29 and we had our first child when I was 31. Then I said I wanted to have 2 children by the time I was 35. I'm now 35 and due to have my 2nd child next month, so it's all worked out :yelclap:.

DH hasn't ruled out the possibility of a 3rd down the track, but I don't think we'll be having anymore after this one. I'd rather have 2 children and live comfortably, rather than 3 children and struggle financially but that's just me :D

giblet
24-04-2008, 15:21
My idea is to have my three children by 35. I think that may be pushing it a little seeing no 2 will be born when I am 33.5. I am trying not to be too hung up on numbers. I want to breastfeed no 2 longer than I did no 1, who i did not 9 months. I dont know, I think it is best to see what is happening, how your health is and discuss individual risk factors with medical staff. I was too much of a partyer to have kids for most of my 20's. But others would be perfect mums. In my 30's I am the queen of domesticity. We are all so different.

Ys_Woman
24-04-2008, 19:16
Just interested in opinions or stories on when is a good age to have your last child?
I am 30 and pregnant with my forth now. I am thinking of having my last at 35. So if I have my fifth at 35 I can have about a 4 year gap.
I reckon 44! lol. I have just packed up the baby making factory..the broken sleep is the killer.
Ahh, but they keep you young..lol

Amy:)

Ys_Woman
24-04-2008, 19:40
Geez, just read back on all the posts and loads of you want to pike out at 35.lol. Mind you, when I was in my 20's I thought 30 was really old..and 40 was simply ancient!!:yes: My mum had finished having kids when she was 22 so I thought I ws pretty old having my first at 23.
Nature has blessed dh and I though and I am thrilled to be raising another gorgeous kid. Of course we were scared at first but then figured that our baby boy will be 24 when dh retires..should well and truly be off our hands by then..better be! we want to travel..lol.
I have had three children since I turned 37 and thankfully all are fine..and yet I watched A Birth Story (Foxtel show) recently and a 19yr old girl gave birth to a Down Syndrome baby unexpectedly. *shrugs* there are risks whatever the maternal age I guess.
Luckily though the age doesn't determine the amount of love a mother can provide.:goodvibes:

Amy

draught
24-04-2008, 19:49
Luckily though the age doesn't determine the amount of love a mother can provide.:goodvibes:

Amy

Couldn't agree more!

missie_mack
24-04-2008, 20:07
Ahh how long is a piece of string??? :detective:

I really dunno but I haven't reached it yet if that counts.... we have late menopause in all sides of my family so I could easily be into my 50s if I wanted to be.

I have the fondest memories of my great aunt playing with her youngest daughters (40 and 35 now) and I as kids. She could really make that skipping rope whirl!!... and she was in her mid fifties at the time :eek: she could outrun and outplay my own mother who had only just hit 30 lol So I refuse to set a limit in advance and will say stop when Ive had enough :goodvibes:

bellangel3
25-04-2008, 13:15
I'm 30 and pregnant with my 2nd and I think its a wonderful time in my life to have kids. It is personal and everyone has their reasons, me, I found the right person, travelled, got my education out of the way and now I can focus all my energy on my kids. We wont be too old when they reach their teenage years either.
The playgroup I'm in I'm actually one of the youngest mums which I found surprising, most were in their mid to late 30's when their first was born!

JATS
04-05-2008, 23:19
30 is the cut off for me.

Family history of major complications associated with being 'older' and pregnant.

We wanted 4 kids, started TTC#1 when we were 21 and hoped to have had #4 before I turned 30. I am now 26 and we only have 1 child thus far.

5 yrs, 1 child, 4 years left to have 3 more? I don't think so. :crying:

I'm rather disappointed, but whatever happens we have Tom, and that is so much more than many.

Amazing how IF changes your perspective.

doulatash
05-05-2008, 10:29
We got married young, so time was on our side!! Our thing was; what age do we want to be when our last child leaves home? We worked backwards, so, our age - 20yrs for youngest kid makes our cut off age for final pregnancy__! We were able to fit 4 kids into our "time slot" no problem!
I'm now in my mid 30's, 3 kids at school, 1 at home with me, I'm working when I want too, and it's been great for us so far. We had 18mths between 1st 2, and 2 1/2 yrs between the others. That was perfect for me, but everyone is different, and should have their children when the time is right for them.

JJJ&D'sMum
05-05-2008, 10:40
Personally I don't think that there is any real age to start or finish your family. I was 22 when I had my 1st and 27 when I had my 2nd. Both were planned but unfortunately I ended up divorced. I then met DP and we had DD when I was 37 (she was 5 yrs in the making). She was born with no congenital problems....just severely high billirubin levels but that has nothing to do with our age. Our family was then finished but lo and behold Baby Oops is on the way. I'll be 39 if I make it to Sept and this baby has no problems either. U/s and blood tests came back with brilliant results.

To finish off, any time is a good time to have a baby. You will love it regardless of how old/young you are.

Judy

mebequeen
17-05-2008, 16:12
i am 27 years old and i am pregnant with my first...i am an only child but have heaps of cousins and basically they have all beaten me...i feel so old...! i want to finish having children at 30...since my first is due in december 2008...i really dont have much time, given that everything goes to plan...maybe that plan will be thrown out the window....i would have really liked a 2 year age gap....

smog
17-05-2008, 18:42
im going for my last by 30. ill be 28 in nov and im about to pop with my 3rd.so ill 2 yrs to decide if ill have a 4th or finish up with 3.

Mahjong
17-05-2008, 18:50
DH and I have always wanted to finish by the time we're 30. Just seemed like a good number and age for us personally. DH will be 30 in October and his second son is due next month. Just in time!

Im only 25 so I bet it pretty well in advance :p

demeter
17-05-2008, 19:40
We want to be done by 40 and we want 5, and we want our children to choose when they wean, which is why we started ttc at 22.

We were the first in our group of friends to have a child and the first in our families to plan to have a child. Because of what we were doing at the time (I was doing a PhD and DP had just started his first "real" job) it took a little getting used to the idea when we told people we were starting to ttc...and some people we didn't tell until after we found out I was pregnant because we didn't want to deal with their poo-pooing our choice.

If you had have asked me at 21 when I would start a family I would have said "in ten years if at all" :laughing: Love revolutionises lives, eh!

kezzaskids
18-05-2008, 20:04
I had my 3 children before the age of 27 and thought that was it..........until DS arrived when I was 35 and our little one is due in november when i will be 38!

mim1
02-06-2008, 07:57
It's funny to hear you all saying you want to be done by 30 ... lots of my friends only have their first by 30. I had my first a few weeks after my 30th birthday. If I'm done by 40 then I'll be happy. I'll probably have my next when I'm 32 or 33 and depending on how I go physically with that bub I might consider closer age gaps then ... so I can have the 4 we want.

Frangimimi
02-06-2008, 11:27
I thought we were done with our 2 before i hit 30, then i got major clucky and we had another one, and now thinking of another one and im 34, so i will say we will be finished by the time im 40 lol.
I love being surrounded by children:yelclap:

lunawolfspirit
08-06-2008, 04:39
its such a personal choice i guess you just have to do hats right for you're family and you're self.

BrAins
11-06-2008, 18:35
im 23 with 3kids. me and dh have agreed 30 is the limit and we will like another 1 or 2. we have decided to build a house and we are both studyingso any in the very near future is out. alsoif i never had anymore i would still be very happy. just like if i was over 30 and despratly wanted another... nothing is really outta the question.

Femme la Phoenix
12-06-2008, 03:26
Geez, just read back on all the posts and loads of you want to pike out at 35.lol. Mind you, when I was in my 20's I thought 30 was really old..and 40 was simply ancient!!:yes: My mum had finished having kids when she was 22 so I thought I ws pretty old having my first at 23.
Nature has blessed dh and I though and I am thrilled to be raising another gorgeous kid. Of course we were scared at first but then figured that our baby boy will be 24 when dh retires..should well and truly be off our hands by then..better be! we want to travel..lol.
I have had three children since I turned 37 and thankfully all are fine..and yet I watched A Birth Story (Foxtel show) recently and a 19yr old girl gave birth to a Down Syndrome baby unexpectedly. *shrugs* there are risks whatever the maternal age I guess.

Amy

:hugs: thankyou Amy, you always seem to give (me) such confidence of achieving our dream and if we are still having children at 40+ (most likely as when we have #2 will want to have #3 and certainly #4) then all is not lost, your an inspiration and I can't thankyou enough

Laus
12-06-2008, 08:59
I think it depends on the individual, and where they are in life. A friend of mine only met her partner at 42, and now at 44 they have just gotten married and are starting to TTC, and I wish them all the best, and I know she will make a brilliant mum. Another of my friends just had her first at 42 after TTC for 6 years, and it made it all the more special for them.

But personally when I am 40, DS will be 18, and DD 16, and thats just the way I like it.... for me! I am 24 and finished having my children, but who knows in 5 years time, I might get clucky.

So depending on when you meet your partner, or for those that are doing it without a partner, when you are ready, or where you are in your career, finances..etc that is what determines when to have your last child, it takes a village you know!

2sweetgirls
12-06-2008, 09:12
I just turned 21 and have two already:rolleyes:

And I dont really want to be 21 with any more than two, so I am waiting until I am about 23 to have my 3rd. I dont think I will have any more than that.

SomewhereOverTheRainbow
13-06-2008, 10:09
Wow, it's interesting all the different thoughts on the subject. And I agree there is no right or wrong, just what life throws at you! I got pregnant (accidentally) my 1st yr of uni, so had my son at 19. If I hadn't had him young maybe I would be like my friends and not start till 30ish. But between then and now have met and married my hubby, finished uni, have a good job and bought a house so I feel ready now to finally give him a brother or sister (well ready or not it's on it's way). Ideally I would have preferred a smaller age gap but these things can't be helped.
I'm 25 in a week or so and I don't know if this will be my last or I may have another one before I'm 30. Since I had my son early I want to have the rest before I'm 30 so that when I'm 50 or so they will be independent and we can travel the world. Also, being a nurse I sometimes see terminally ill people in their mid-late 40s and think it would be really horrible to be in that situation and have a very young family to think of. I know people die at all ages but have been seeing a lot of cancers in that age group. I'm also very scared of having a child with a severe disability, which I know can happen at any age too, but is less likely under 30.
So that's me and my list of stupid reasons. Meanwhile most of my friends are still young and single and out partying. Although I do get a little jealous I'm happy with my life. :)

tootsy
13-06-2008, 11:31
im not sure if iv already posted here, but im pregnant with my 2nd at 23yrs old. we only plan to have 2 children.
so i guess my finishing age will be 23. so when im 43, this unborn baby will be 20yrs old :)

sounds mighty good to me;)

Callian
13-06-2008, 14:04
One never knows what is going to happen later in life. I had my first 2 children when I was 21 and 23, miscarried when I was 25, so decided not to have anymore children. After nearly 20 yrs of marriage, ended up divorced (married very young). Meet my lovely dp who did not have any children, have now got 2 beautiful ds's, born when I was 40 and 43. Now at 46 have definitely decided not to have anymore.
Just to add, we have travelled around Australia for the last 8 yrs, spending the last 2 yrs in an Aboriginal community in NT, but now have settled into a suburbian lifestyle. My ds's are healthy, happy boys and have lots of fun playing with their nephew.....that's another story.
Age is only a number after all :flowerz:

mum of six
20-06-2008, 19:40
I don't think it should matter how old u r,as long as your healthy enough to look after the child then i say go for it,I'm 37 and have 6 kids,youngest is almost 4 and the eldest will be turning 21 this October,and if i could i would love to have another but unfortunatly i had my tubes done :(...and i think if i hadnt had them done i am most cetain i would of had alteast another 2 haha....

rollercoastermum
20-06-2008, 19:43

I was 20 days off turning 30 when I had number 7 and had the tubes done to finish my reproductive days.

I was about half way thru the pregnancy when I made the decision to finish.....

Things are so dfferent these days with people not starting to have children til later in life.
I wouldnt have liked to had a child over the age of 30 anyway...

You really do need to make sure you are healthy and all those kind of things..

Age appears to be no barrier these days.

Mum2Bella
20-06-2008, 21:50
i had my eldest when i was 19 n my youngest on my 35th birthday

DonnaR
10-07-2008, 11:11
Considering I struggled for 10 yrs to finally get pregnant at 40:yelclap: I'm giving myself a 9 yr window. IF I decide on one more baby it will have to be here or at least on it's way, before I turn 50 or the shop will be shut. :(

Louise28
10-07-2008, 16:30
:wave: Hope you don't mind me crashing, but it was interesting reading all the posts.
I have a nearly 21 year old and a nearly 19 year old and also 10 and 14 year old step children. I had my tubes tied when I was 21. (Ex husbands:hair::hissy:) I am now remarried and we both would love a child, IVF is our choice, we have done one cycle which failed :no: (I believe not enough super glue was used :laughing:), our next try is in August. so with some luck and lots of :babydust2: we will be preg by the end of the year.

Kazamataz
10-07-2008, 16:35
My cut off age is 35 but at the rate we are going I think I will have all our children well before I'm 30.

I agree with other posters that there is no "right" age just the age thats right for you.

FluffyBunny
11-07-2008, 14:06
I had my children at the age of 19, 21, 22 and 30. Hubby and I are thinking about TTC another within the next 6 months so our youngest has a sibling close in age.
If our eldest kids had their way, we'd have another 8 children:eek:

domayne66
12-07-2008, 01:25
Wow yeah there are a lot of ideas but one thing is true, you really cant plan. Everyone is different, I had 3 under 3 some years ago and now I am 41 with darlings 19yr, 17yr, 16yr, 13yr and a two year old. It really doesnt matter as long as there is love. I thought the other children would be funny about it but the way they look at it is that at least mum and dod still love each other after 20yr marriage. They love the little one, my one regret is that he will grow up with out having his brothers and sister on holiday, but you never know that might change soon-wonder if I will get a different reaction then. That will make 6 children and 42 years old. ;)

shazzmumof5
12-07-2008, 22:01
I was very young (16) when l had my frist baby 2rd baby at 18 3rd baby at 19 and 4th and 5th baby (twins )at 24 years old ..l am now 33 years old and will be going back next year for number 6.....