View Full Version : Qantas and carseats - a nightmare?!

natmcg
21-03-2006, 14:24
Hi - just wondering if anyone has ever taken a car seat on board a Qantas flight before. I've flown with them countless times with one and had nothing but problems EVERY single time. In the end I wrote to them to complain and their response was to have the perhaps aptly named 'Con' call me up and fight with me by insisting that I shouldn't be having problems while I insisted that I was! GRRR

:banghead:

Anyway, I'm not letting this one go easily - all I want is to check in with my pre-approved carseat and get on the flight without a fight...how hard can it be?!

If anyone has had problems flying with a carseat on Qantas, please let me know - I'm going to be drawing up a list of people - almost like a petition - please only contact me if you're willing to have your contact details passed on to Qantas. I'm trying to prove to them that it is a nightmare and they need to do something about it. The more backup I have the better. Then maybe they will actually do something about their procedures...

Ok, rant mode off :thumbsup:

Please PM me or reply or...something...thanks!

polony
21-03-2006, 14:26
Hmmmm. I never have had a problem. What is it that they are actually stopping you from doing?

I'm a little confused

natmcg
21-03-2006, 14:29
Best way to explain is to actually get the letter I sent to them... See below!

To Whom It May Concern:

Flying with an infant car seat

I would like to draw your attention to how difficult Qantas make life when traveling with an infant carseat on board your aircraft, and this despite, according to your website, (pages included), actively encouraging parents to take a carseat or Child Restraint Device when flying with young children.

I have travelled many times with a carseat with Qantas, both domestically and internationally and every time have encountered a problem despite having jumped through all the hoops set by your airline to do so. For reference, the carseat taken on all domestic flights has been an Australian/NZ standard Safe'N'Sound seat.

Taking this procedure one step at a time, I note that according to your website, I have to "contact the Special Handling Area of your local Qantas Office once you have confirmed a booking". There is a link to a page of contact information - although on this webpage, nowhere can I find a Special Handling number for Melbourne, where I am, or indeed for anywhere else in Australia. I can tell you that in actual fact, Special Handling over in Sydney have to be contacted and information about the carseat given and that this number can only be obtained by calling Qantas' general Australia-wide enquiry line, 131313. Perhaps you could update your website to reflect this (and also advise passengers that although you encourage taking a carseat on board, it is far from a trouble-free procedure).

On one return domestic flight to Sydney, I had contacted Special Handling and informed them that I was intending to take a carseat on board the aircraft. Details were given about the carseat as requested. Upon check-in at Melbourne, the member of staff questioned whether I could take a carseat on board. I assured her that yes I could and that Special Handling had been informed. Eventually after much delay, we completed the check-in procedure.

I then let staff at the gate know that I had a carseat just in case the carseat needed to be installed prior to boarding. Utter chaos ensued and I was told by one member of staff that the carseat would have to be taken off me immediately as it couldn’t be taken on board the aircraft.
On the return flight I had the same issue at check-in. I had to explain at check-in and again at the gate that I was taking a carseat on board the aircraft and then show it to staff. Again, the same confusion. Finally I was able to install it and later board but before take-off, the head Flight Attendant talked to me very sternly and informed me that I had delayed the aircraft taking off!

He went on to tell me that apparently my boarding pass needed ‘carseat’ to be written on it (by staff) and that in future, if this wasn’t the case, I should write it myself. In addition, I was informed that staff on board the plane “had no idea” that a carseat was being brought on board and I was made to feel as though it was entirely my fault. I was incredulous.

And my problems haven’t stopped there. On two return domestic flights to Perth I have had similar problems. It seems that no matter who I inform, or what I do, it is still somehow my fault that the people who need to know, don’t, that I am flying with a carseat.

Having taken to writing ‘carseat’ on the boarding pass as once instructed, at least things have progressed to my boarding pass now being reissued either at check-in or at the gate with it stamped as such. As recently as January this year, having told as many people as I could possibly tell (and told them of all the problems I keep having with taking a carseat on board), I flew from Perth back to Melbourne. On board the aircraft, 35 minutes into the flight, a flight attendant came up to me and said that he hadn’t been told a carseat was coming on board. Again, I was made to feel as though this was my fault. I showed him the stamped boarding pass quite clearly showing ‘carseat’ on it and reassured him that I had told people at check-in and people at the gate. Clearly there had been a breakdown in communication.

On an international flight round the world back in 2004, my son and I started our mammoth journey by flying from Melbourne to L.A. As I was flying internationally, I had done my research and learned that the only carseat acceptable on all airlines (including American Airlines who I would meet up with in L.A.) was one that met a United Nations standard. I understand that this standard is actually the most stringent in the world – higher than that set by Australia/NZ. I borrowed a British carseat from a friend that came up to this high standard to ensure that I wouldn’t have any problems, and informed Special Handling of the seat, (which was clearly marked as being up to the standard). They agreed that it would be fine to take on board, although it was ‘at the discretion’ of the member of staff at check-in.

My son was a little over 2 years old at the time I made that trip – not an ‘easy’ age. I was travelling alone with him and had a great deal of luggage as well as a carseat to look after. The last thing I needed was a fight at check-in as to whether or not I could take the carseat on board the aircraft or not. The carseat was going to be used in cars in both the US and the UK as well as be used on board various aircraft – I couldn’t afford for it not to be taken on board.

I was at check-in for about 30 minutes before the member of staff finally let me take it giving in with “I have young children – I know what it’s like – I’m going to let you take it”. My point here is that it shouldn’t be as vague as this. People who travel with your airline and not least your staff, should know what the procedure is and what is and isn’t acceptable and expected.

The rest of my flights, of which there were many around the world were painless in terms of travelling with the carseat. It was just Qantas that caused me issue.

I will be travelling to Perth once again later on this year, and again with a carseat and in all honesty, I am absolutely dreading it. I can be almost certain that I am going to have the same issues at check-in and at the gate and possibly be given a stern talking to on board the aircraft itself in addition. I have now completed eight domestic flights and two international flights with a carseat and am yet to have a trouble-free experience.

To have to manually write ‘carseat’ on my boarding pass because the staff member at check-in has failed to do so is ridiculous. To even have to tell them to mark the boarding pass appropriately seems crazy. What sort of system do you have whereby your passengers are required to tell your staff of the airline’s procedure? And not just once has this happened. Every time. To be then told on two occasions that I have delayed an aircraft from departing, I find mind-blowing.

Of the four to five staff members who I interact with when taking a Qantas flight, I’m lucky if even one knows the correct procedure. And if I find one that does, not once has the procedure been communicated on.

Could you please tell me what I have to do in order to travel with a carseat pain-free? So that I don’t have to continually explain what happens and why, so that I don’t have to have a fight every time I travel and so that I don’t cause aircraft to be delayed taking off?! Travelling with young children is hard enough!

I look forward to hearing from you soon and to a trouble-free flight with my carseat to Perth, later on this year.

belinda
21-03-2006, 14:34
sorry to sound dumb but do u actually take it on board with you... i have flowen a number of times and have never had a prblem with that i just let them take it where all the luggage goes.. little confused too sorry....

PMS
21-03-2006, 14:49
Hey Belinda. I think Natmcg actually has the carseat fitted to the airplane seat so her little man can travel safely. Well that is how I am reading her posts anyway.:)

doin'mybest
21-03-2006, 14:49
I think that you actually install it on the aircraft seat, so that if you encounter turbulance your bubs isn't going to be in danger of falling out of your arms.

O&GMUM
21-03-2006, 14:54
Wow Ive never even thought of doing that. Do you have to pay for another seat though as they usually sit in your lap for free??

kiwibird27
21-03-2006, 14:54
What do u mean by installing it in the aircraft????? Do u use it in the aircraft seat?????? Sorry am confused too - would assume it would go in baggage handling??!!
I can understand your frustration - they should be clearer about their procedures

kiwibird27
21-03-2006, 14:55
I have enough trouble getting an oversized bag on without being noticed, let alone anything else

PMS
21-03-2006, 15:00
Yes; you install it on an aircraft seat. According to the qantas web site it is safer than you holding your baby on the flight.

polony
21-03-2006, 15:03
are you attaching the car seat to a plane seat? or are you wanting to carry on-board as hand luggage? I am also confused.

I have always just check it in with all my suitcases etc and held bubba on my lap or got a bassinet thing.

If you take the car seat on board, you have to actually book and pay for that seat you attach it to. Otherwise you are kinda getting a "free" seat when someone else could have travelled on it.

I still am not quite sure what the problem is, but I will endeavour to help you!

sarah81
21-03-2006, 15:15
I understand what you mean. I thought about doing it on a Perth to Adelaide flight when DS was little and DP company paid for a seat for him. Qantas was hopeless, each person I spoke to had a different understanding of it and some didn't even know that you could do it. We just didn't want to have to hold him the whole way and no bassinets on the plane. In the end it was so much trouble we used the spare seat to spread out our stuff instead and put the car seat in the baggage hold. In a box mind you because they throw them so hard when they are loading and unloading them :thumbsdown:

natmcg
21-03-2006, 15:27
Sorry - I should clarify:

I am taking the carseat on board the aircraft with me and putting it in a seat - which I have paid for in full. My experience is that it's easier all around (although obviously more expensive) if the little ones have their own seats.

You'd think Qantas would want to make it easier - happier safely strapped in children... After all, their website encourages people to do this!

I've been tearing my hair out with Qantas - nobody seems to know what the procedure is. I book the thing in with Special Handling - I do everything they say and I still meet with problems. Anyway, looking at the responses here - and thanks everyone for posting - I'm in the minority at actually taking the seat on board the aircraft.

...but if anyone, ANYONE has had a negative experience in this regard, please do let me know. I'm on the war-path!!

...and if anyone has any sort of complaint with them and gets through to a guy called 'Con', ask for someone else!

21-03-2006, 16:05
hmmm Im going to ask my sis about this (shes a flight attendant for Qantas) and see what she says:)

I understand what your talking about and think it stinks that a large company like qantas cant get ther act together especially when you are Paying for that seat, your child should be able to use it safely:)

Good luck with your letter I hope you get it sorted:fingerscrossed:

natmcg
21-03-2006, 17:58
Hi - that would be very interesting - thanks. The thing is, I don't feel the staff are at fault. Qantas just aren't educating their staff on their policy on carseats. It's the people higher up that I'm really angry at. Those working at the coalface are getting it in the neck because the company can't get its act together. Very frustrating for everyone.

Con's answer (Customer Services) was to just immediately ask for a supervisor at the slightest hint of trouble - he actually instructed me not to debate with the checkin folk for a moment but stand firm and demand a supervisor.

But to me, that doesn't solve anything. Then you've got an angry and frustrated customer (me) and some poor unsuspecting staff member who's trying to do their job as best as they can who's then left red-faced along with a bunch of customers waiting even longer to check in. And it still doesn't guarantee I won't get problems at the gate, and on the plane - and of course, on future trips.

...the trouble is, I can't get passed Con in Customer Services. At least not yet anyway. Someone high up in management I guess is what I need. By the time I get to the bottom of this, I expect my boys will be 5+ and not needing a carseat!!

Lisa123
21-03-2006, 18:19
Maybe next time you encounter Con you will need to take on his advice to immediately ask for his supervisor and not debate with him but demand his supervisor.

Your only doing what he advised you to do..... :confused:

Good Luck!!!

(I'm flying with Qantas next Thursday and I think I'll leave the car seat at home and get one when I get to Sydney it might be easier ;) )

O&GMUM
21-03-2006, 18:47
If qantas recommend you do it AND you are paying for the seat, dont you think they should provide a carseat? It seems ridiculous that you have to bring your own in the first place??
Dont get me started, I flew to Brisbane when the babies where 4 months old and they have ruined my $1200 emmulunga pram. Its now so difficult to open and close. Just what I need when Im trying to juggle two babies. Oh they offered to pay for it to be fixed, but I would have to send it away and I really cant be without it so Ive just put up with it. :banghead:

ThomasMum
22-03-2006, 08:21
O&GMum, perhaps you should mention it to Qantas that they need to lend you a replacement pram so that they can fix your pram?

Sorry guys we are a big fans of Qantas, we flew only with them (insterstate wise-occasionaly with Jestar (which is part of QA) because Qantas doesnt fly to Ballina anymore, we even use their Qantas Valet Parking service since we had bub because easier than taxi and we never had any prob with them!:thumbsup:

Natmcg, good luck with your mission. With the correct procedure and approach, your letter should get their attention and something will be done :fingerscrossed: :thumbsup:

kiwibird27
22-03-2006, 09:12
They should supply car seats that fit the plane perfectly - then no problem!!!!!!!!

Chickadee
22-03-2006, 09:29
Natmg, I haven't tried to take a car seat on board but can understand your frustration.

The only thing I can think of is to send your letter to absolutely everybody you can think of in Qantas, from CEO on downwards. I've had friends who've had more success with their complaints when they do this.

Good luck.

ThomasMum
22-03-2006, 10:41
Natmg, I haven't tried to take a car seat on board but can understand your frustration.

The only thing I can think of is to send your letter to absolutely everybody you can think of in Qantas, from CEO on downwards. I've had friends who've had more success with their complaints when they do this.

Good luck.

Yep as I said previously. With the right procedure/approach you will get your answer you are looking for! We sent a complaint to British Airways (they failed to inform me the correct information eg. that my husband's flight to Heathrow from Tokyo (this was around September 2004) was NOT delayed nor cancelled and they also had failed to tell me that infact my husband flight was tarnsferred to JAL due to engine problem of BA, so I was worried sick of having "missing husband" lol, we wrote to the GM of BA and voila...weve recieved an apology letter plus business returns flight to London for the 2 of us!)

Not bad eh? :smiliedance: So you just have to know the right channel, and you will be fine! :thumbsup:
Good luck!

Ky
04-04-2006, 23:18

I have been without internet access for a while, so I apologise for being a bit late on this one!

I have taken car seats on planes many times in our myriad trips to and from NZ ... however, last time approx 12 months ago, we were able to fly to NZ from Sydney using not only a carseat, but a ˝ booster seat as well but when we tried to get on the aircraft with them to return to Sydney we were told that the FAA (American governing body of airline regulations) has recommended that they not be used as they can become a "missile" in turbulent situations! We were flying the same airline each way and although I presented them with evidence that it had been ok on the way over, they wouldn't budge and we had to check them as luggage.

I have checked the net and there are conflicting rules and advice posted on almost every airlines website ... personally, I don't know that they know what they think about the situation and it all depends on the staff on that particular day!

Usually, what the FAA says, goes, for most countries. My father, recently retired and employed now on a contract basis, works for the NZ Civil Aviation Authority (Airworthiness Surveyor), and his take on it is that most airlines will phase out allowing carseats on planes due to the percieved danger that they could present in a turbulent flight.

I figure ... if they don't allow us to put the seats on the plane, then they have to give us more help in-flight to keep our kids entertained and comfortable! Personally, I have never had any problems as the staff have been very helpful, but my kids have flown so often now that it is pretty much second nature ... that coupled with the fact that they are now 3 and 5 makes for a much easier trip!

natmcg
05-04-2006, 06:53
For some reason I wasn't alerted in my email to all the replies - so many thanks to everyone here who has posted.

It would appear then that I'm in the minority - which is good (and we're fans of Qantas actually - the only problem has been the carseat issue!).

I'm flying to Perth one way (moving interstate) in September and this time armed with a letter from Qantas, acknowledging the problems I've had and assuring me that I won't have a problem in the future... Let's hope not.

Good luck to all those travelling with children - especially young children - it's not an easy job...

Chickadee
05-04-2006, 09:17
For some reason I wasn't alerted in my email to all the replies - so many thanks to everyone here who has posted.
Make sure you are subscribed to the thread with the option of email notification. Let me know if it still doesn't work.

Good luck with your travels.

Charlie's Mum
12-04-2006, 17:49
I have not yet tried bringing a car seat and I don't know if i ever would because frankly, Qantas has got to be the lamest airline out there. I too travel heaps, lots of Sydney - Perth trips and I can honestly say between myself and my partner we have not had one flight run without a hitch in 15 or so flights! Once, we were delayed for two hours for the midnight horror flight (we were originally told the delay would take 15 minutes as they were cleaning the plane, this changed to half an hour then announcements simply stopped and we heard nothing more until the pilot thanked us for our patience whilst they had changed the tires!). When we finally got there our luggage had been lost (uurgh) and when we went to collect our dog he had been left on the tarmac! I was 7 months pregnant at the time and totally lost it.

Last time we went back to Perth Charlie was 3 weeks old and I had requested a bassinet seat. At check in they didn't actually check my partner in and because we didn't realise this til we went to board the plane I had to give up my bassinet seat if i wanted to sit with him. In the end we were placed in a row of four in the middle seats! Oh my god, I was ropable.

I won't go into all the other stuff ups they have made but put it this way, we never expect for their planes to leave on time or arrive on time. We always expect to have to battle for bassinet seats despite making reservations each time and having qantas club membership, gold cards etc. We always expect them to disappoint us on some level with their service (funny story, once we were told off for kissing at a service desk- this was not an r rated kiss but a little kiss on the lips!) Oh my god I hate them but that's what you get when this government is as corrupt as it is and looks after **** companies like qantas. If they let other airlines into this country we might have something called competition and qantas might actually get its **** together.

end rant!!!!!! :yelclap:

natmcg
12-04-2006, 17:58
Hi - thanks for posting - interesting to read and sorry you've had such a hard time. I agree about the competition - Qantas do seem to be 'protected' and a bit of healthy competition could work wonders if only the Government would allow some in. The protection of the trans-Pacific routes is outrageous IMO.

Anyway, hope you feel better for that rant :-) I could almost hear the relief as you finished the last sentence!! :thumbsup:

Nat

(Ps Thanks Martha - email notification thingy noted and selected!)

flower
17-04-2006, 10:03
pilot thanked us for our patience whilst they had changed the tires!).

Not quite on topic...but I can't help comment....Wouldnt you rather a change of tyres than a blow out during the landing period euphamistically called landing...a.k.a.:controlled crash?".

Charlie's Mum
04-05-2006, 20:02
Not quite on topic...but I can't help comment....Wouldnt you rather a change of tires than a blow out during the landing period euphamistically called landing...a.k.a.:controlled crash?".

yeah, but that wasn't my point. The fact that they kept lying to us was what angered me. If i had known that at midnight my flight was going to be delayed by two hours i would have asked to fly the next day! And i'm sure most of the people waiting would have too given by all the complaints people kept making.

CarolineF
05-05-2006, 11:49
Ok, being a cynic (can't help it today...its my mood), I do wonder if Qantas recommend you take a car seat in order to ensure you buy a further seat on the plane, then when they realise they are overbooked (as happens frequently) they argue about the car seat in order to open up another seat for a standby/overbooked passenger?

I'm not usually this cynical but all the airlines want is bums on seats, and adult bums in particular raise more revenue than little bums.:idea:

orchis
16-04-2010, 16:12
I'm flying to Perth one way (moving interstate) in September and this time armed with a letter from Qantas, acknowledging the problems I've had and assuring me that I won't have a problem in the future... Let's hope not.

Hi natmcg... hope you are still around, for we are wanting to travel interstate (Perth->Melbourne) then across to Europe (Sydney->Frankfurt), with our 2 boys, on of which will be approx. 12 moths at the time of flight.

How did you go, and what letter did/do you have from Qantas…? Please tell/elaborate, as this could help/be of service to me…!!!!

For we too, are wanting to travel with a car seat for the infant (on an extra fair)… I’m having so much trouble with Qantas, and I haven’t even booked the flight yet, for I first require approval that indeed (although the website states so) travel with a car seat. The seat of our choice would be a rear facing capsule (ECE 44.03 certified), the other would be a rear/front Australian certified car seat from Mother Choice.

I am wanting to get pre-approval for the seat… and as your experience showed, there is still no real way of contacting Qantas. I’ve called the hotline (several times) have been in the Perth office and the Qantas Service desk at the International Airport…! To get different statements each time. As with your experience, the staff are not in the least informed, and on little researching are making wild assumptions. The worst experience was the at the Airport, were they wanted to shrug me off, stating that the airline policy would forbid the usage of a car seat within the aircraft cabin..! After debating and insisting that were not true, a few phone calls later I was proven right..! Still I was not helped on actual procedure, which seat/isle position I could occupy… and seeing it was an ECE (another long story) certified car seat, it caused more confusion.

I was at the end told (not very assuring) yeah should be right… though last say would be at check in..! Nothing was/would be given anything in writing that the seat was pre sighted pre-approved…. Although the website clearly states this must be done at least 24h prior departure. How should/would the cabin/checkin crew know that I had done so.

Please help should you yourself, or anyone else for that matter, have been able to work around this problem, as it is (believe me) still acute. I have been phoning and travelling to and fro for over 2 weeks now… I can’t email, as I can not source an address, the webform (sold as email) gives useless answers like call the hotline, I have no response yet from my fax to the head office number… In person contacts have gone no were as have the phone calls… No definite answer on procedure/acceptance of car seat of choice…!

Bob le kangourou
11-05-2010, 11:05
Hi guys, and hi orchis,
I'm in the same situation as you are. Flying with a 12-month old to Europe in June. But I'm flying with Qatar because they had cheapish tickets to launch the opening of this new route. So I bought a ticket for my daughter, which nearly cost me as much as mine!! because she's a rather hyper baby AND because STA told me the company could never really guarantee a bassinet, especially at her age. (24 hours in the plane plus check-in, transit and waiting for baggage collection at the other end. I figured a car seat would keep her in her seat and help her sleep better + help me relax)
So here we are.
I called Qatar about a month before the flight to ask questions about flying with a baby/toddler. I was told that because I had booked her a seat, she NEEDED a car seat and definitely couldn't have a bassinet. Plus the car seat had to fit some requirements (FAA approved, German norms approved, UK but nothing for Aus!!). I insisted a bit and got the woman on the phone to request a bassinet as well (you can only hope... it's a mid-week flight so maybe there'll be less people)
I should add that we are flying by ourselves, no hubby to help! So I'll be in transit in Doha (I've been told it's a terrible airport grrrr) with my baby in one hand, my hand luggage in another and my car seat in another. And when I asked if I could possibly get some help during transit, again no guarantee from the friendly Qatar staff.
So, I returned to STA and explained my situation. They called the local rep and first he had never heard of taking car seats on plane! Then he got more info and said I could do what I wanted... take it or not.
So here's my dilemma: I'm hearing positive things about car seats but also negative ones.
I got a list of suitable car seats from Safe and Sound. BUT who can guarantee that it will be installed (and bolted?) properly in the plane? Will the flight attendants know ANYTHING about car seats? I've done quite a bit of flying and NEVER saw one. I asked my sister who lived in the US where there are more regulations (see FAA website) and she NEVER saw one either!!!
So here we are, waiting to get those answers in writing from the Qatar rep.
I reckon it's the way to go (getting it in writing) but surely it should be easier:
I've paid quite a lot of money for her seat, why doesn't the company provide us with a seat?? or adequate restraints (such as Cares)? You would think that our little ones don't need to be as safe as we do...
:geek:

If anyone has tips about keeping bub occupied during the long journey... please let me know too :)