View Full Version : Christian families #2!!

Pages : [1] 2

Ffrenchknickers
21-03-2006, 12:51
Hey guys! Here it is......:p

The other thread which was http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=4319
was getting abit long, so here's a new shiny one for us all to enjoy!:D

The purpose of the first Christian famlies thread was to meet other mums and dads and share experiences, strength and hope.

“Encourage one another and build each other up.” (1 Thessalonians 5:11)

Feel free to post away and check out the above link if you're a newbie!! This thread is NOT exclusive to Christians, everyone is welcome to ask questions, put forward prayer requests or whatever.

WeThree
21-03-2006, 12:55
*Admires shiny new thread with its fresh paint* :D
Yay Ffrenchie, thanks! :smiliedance:

Ffrenchknickers
21-03-2006, 13:03
LOL, no probs:D

I wanted to post this scripture, I love it and I think its one that soooo many of us (well, I can only speak for myself....but I'm sure some of you can relate:p !) struggle with or forget!
:o

“Each of us will give an account of himself to God. Therefore, let us stop passing judgment on one another. Instead, make up your mind not to put any stumbling block or obstacle in your brother’s way.” (Romans 14:12-13)

WeThree
21-03-2006, 13:08
ohhh good one ffrenchie, yes God is not going to be interested in 'oh but what about so and so, he did this', or what we know of others, only what we know of ourselves. :)

21-03-2006, 13:23
Ohhh pretty!! :yelclap:

Yes, it is so true. There is absolutely no point in judging others. After all we aren't perfect either & we will one day to accountable to God! That is all that matters!
Where is it? .... first remove the log from your own eye..... :rolleyes:

A good thing to be reminded of Katie! :thumbsup:

Ffrenchknickers
21-03-2006, 13:27
Luke 6:41 Why do you see the speck that is in your brother's eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? 42 Or how can you say to your brother, `Brother, let me take out the speck that is in your eye,' when you yourself do not see the log that is in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take out the speck that is in your brother's eye.

Exactly!!

Isnt it amazing how much easier it is to look at someone elses faults though:confused: :rolleyes:

21-03-2006, 13:31
YES!!!!!! But I have many too...... Thanks for that verse Katie, I couldn't remember where it was.

21-03-2006, 13:56
I had a chat this morning with some of the team from our Women's ministry (which I head up) about the Lapping girls. ( Remember that?) And I have been thinking about going into all the local high school & doing a session about value & worth with the grade 8 & 9 girls. I'm thinking of putting it to the women of our church to see if anyone wants to be involved.

I think it's gong to be a huge job, but definately worth doing. Do you guys have any suggestions of what we can do in the seminar thingas? I want it to be fun as well as meaningful!
Thanks in advance.

shinebrite
21-03-2006, 14:26
well becy

at our church our youth pastors wife is doing a facial clensing ritual type of a thingy!

she loves make up and is REALLY girly and atracts REALLY girly girls in our youth so its definatly appropriate for our girls! anyway what she has done and im yet to see it is she has lined up for eg: with cleansing the face, a bible verse toner another bible verse and moisteriser another bible verse

Its all lined up in the bible and I think alot of it is based on Ester in the bible cause she was beautiful and looked after her skin yadda yadda.

Im talking to her tonight so I could get what she was exactly doing but I think "looking good" in todays society can be good but also for the wrong reasons (BOYS) and it can be good to maybe change those perseptions of "looking Good" onto God and the fact that we can look to God in all situations big and small and also in our self confidence...

O well just a sugestion.... Hope it made sence and the preggie brains didnt seep through there

Also i know a church here in canberra and they just go into the school and make pancakes for the kids just so they "get to know them" just another suggestion...

21-03-2006, 14:56
Thanks Shine. Thats a good idea , but hard to do by the hundreds. Will keep it in mind though.

ButterflyKisses
21-03-2006, 15:37
Hi all! We attend the Brisbane Seventh Day Baptist church in Beenleigh.......very small but also full of lots of praise..Hi LachlansMun I'v copied and pasted your post from Christain Families thread as I wanted to reply to your post but that thread is now closed. Anyway I hope you will be reading this thread so you can reply.

Just wondering what is the difference between the Seventh Day Baptist Church and Seventh Day Adventist Church?? Maybe if anyone else reading this is a member of either church you can answer my Q.

summer
21-03-2006, 21:52
Hi Guys! Its been a while I know. Great verses Katie! :thumbsup: Definately can relate to, struggle with and forget. Crazy how we tend to be consumed with what others are doing when we should be taking care of our own backyards.:)

KiLLaKaZ
21-03-2006, 23:26
hello, haven't posted in a while, computer keeps crashing b4 i can reply to most posts :rolleyes:

becca-rae: i have another idea... see if there's a Christian band you could get to volunteer & go to the school & play music & talk to the students (during lunchtime is a good time if they can't during assemblies). if you need to get a list of some christian bands, try www.agmf.com.au & see who's playing there (in the 'artists' section) BUT be warned: a lot of the local bands on their list are a bit heavy, as that's what seems to be popular now! a band like soulframe would be good - those guys have a REAL passion for God, sound WONDERFUL & have a way with the girls (i went to the same high school as 2 of the members & same church/ youth group as one) ;) they also have a great song about self worth! alabaster box is another good one, but they're in america atm...

also, you could have a bbq instead of pancakes. a bit more expensive tho :(

well, i'm feeling a little depressed right now (i'll be fine by morning, tho). i went to my first antenatal class & EVERYONE else there had a partner or TWO (partner + sister) with them! i was the only one all alone!! :crying: they all kept looking at me, i guess wondering where the daddy was...

shinebrite
22-03-2006, 11:44
well, i'm feeling a little depressed right now (i'll be fine by morning, tho). i went to my first antenatal class & EVERYONE else there had a partner or TWO (partner + sister) with them! i was the only one all alone!! :crying: they all kept looking at me, i guess wondering where the daddy was...

awe u poor chook! If I was in brisbane i would DEFINATLY go with u... brisy is like about 13hours from here so that snot possible but maybe some of the other bubhubbers might go?.... If u need someone to chat to feel free to PM me or add me to ur MSN... I love to talk.. dont I katie!!! :D

Beccy I didnt realise u would have so many girls... but it would be an idea for something else ... Im sure?? lol

We hada our first band rehersal for youth last night and it went off!!! I was so happy cause I wanted everyone to just to get to know each other and stuff and it was really cool! we did a new song from the United live album and it ROCKED!! :smiliedance:

SJE
22-03-2006, 16:07

Just putting myself on the new thread.

I hope we get some new visitors and that they post here.:)
We don't bite.
We are nice and friendly we just happen to have a relationship with God thats all.

Hope you are all having a great day

starfish_girl
22-03-2006, 20:05
Well I took some advice and called the doc yesterday, she sent me for a scan without seeing me, I had been praying all night and all day the day before, and at the scan there was a six week foetus with a little heartbeat and they couldnt see any bleeding on the screen, Praise be to God!!!
Belinda 22
Aaron 23
Khalia 13 months
EDD 14nov 06

TwoBlue
22-03-2006, 20:33
Just popping in to the shiny new thread :smiliedance:

Hello all hope everyone is going well

Belinda awesome news Praise God !! :yelclap:

shinebrite
22-03-2006, 20:39
YAY STARFISH!!!!! YAY Im SO HAPPY!!! YAY YAY YAY YAY

There is ONE healthy baby in there that "somebody" wants alive he he!!!

PRAISE GOD he is SO awesome!

xkwzit
22-03-2006, 21:00
Hiya All
Just checking into the new thread. Good to see you all again...

Belinda, thank God for answered prayer, he is amazing.

Bec, I'm still thinking of stuff for you, but not coming through with much, still trying though.

23-03-2006, 13:29
Well I took some advice and called the doc yesterday, she sent me for a scan without seeing me, I had been praying all night and all day the day before, and at the scan there was a six week foetus with a little heartbeat and they couldnt see any bleeding on the screen, Praise be to God!!!
Belinda 22
Aaron 23
Khalia 13 months
EDD 14nov 06
:smiliedance: That is WONDERFUL news!! :yelclap:

Thanks for all your ideas ladies. The band idea is a good one. We are going to try & have a talk to Reese McFadden. He runs an awesome youth program in Brisbane & see if he has any great ideas. Keep praying though guys!! :hugs:

shinebrite
23-03-2006, 13:49
Hey becky I read somewhere that u are a hairdresser!! MEE TOO!!! hehe cool!

23-03-2006, 13:52
There seems to be quite a few of us lurking around the place!! :D

shinebrite
23-03-2006, 13:57
Yes Ive noticed That! hehe do u still do it??? I have RSI so I cant do it full time...

23-03-2006, 14:05
Yeah I do it from home now. Just for friends & family.

shinebrite
23-03-2006, 14:21
thats were the $$$ is! I do friends and family too! I cant keep them away!

23-03-2006, 14:30
:yelclap: :laughing: :laughing: i know they just love it!! we should take this over to the chatter boz me thinks!! :o

KiLLaKaZ
23-03-2006, 14:49
awe u poor chook! If I was in brisbane i would DEFINATLY go with u... brisy is like about 13hours from here so that snot possible but maybe some of the other bubhubbers might go?.... If u need someone to chat to feel free to PM me or add me to ur MSN... I love to talk.. dont I katie!!! :D

it's okay, i'd probably feel a little awkward going with someone i barely know, anyway ;) lol.

i think it's just paranoia - but i felt like everyone kept looking at me all night!! i'll be alright next time, the group'll be used to seeing me alone by then (i hope)! ;) lol.

Ffrenchknickers
23-03-2006, 14:59
Well, would one of you clever hairdressing types get around to my place and do somehting with this hair of mine?:kiss: LOL, I barely even get a brush to it these days (no exxageration!)

KK, my thoughts are with you! I think once people get to know you you will feel more comfortable! I would offer to go with you but you dont know me! :hugs:

23-03-2006, 14:59
Killa, do you have a support partner at all that can be with during the delivery? Coz trust me you'll need someone!!

Ffrenchknickers
23-03-2006, 15:00
Oh, and Leah LOVES to chat! Thats great 'coz so do I!:kiss:

23-03-2006, 15:01
Well, would one of you clever hairdressing types get around to my place and do somehting with this hair of mine?:kiss: LOL, I barely even get a brush to it these days (no exxageration!)

Well if you come to me!!! An hour is a long way to travel for a haircut :laughing:

I'm so glad we have this thread!! :thumbsup: Thanks Katie :hugs:

shinebrite
23-03-2006, 15:04
Whats the chatterbox???

and katie ~ :o

23-03-2006, 15:12
The chatterbox was previously known as the back fence....... I'll go there....

(sorry to hijack ladies... back to more spiritual topics then shall we :laughing: )

shinebrite
23-03-2006, 15:25
OoooooOOO sorry! :o

Umm ok something spiritual...(quick Leah, think of something spiritual!!! )

Umm I got a book whist at koorong on Tuesday and it talks about real life stories being toched by worship songs... its pretty cool!!!

I love how God talks to me through songs...

mygirls
23-03-2006, 15:47
Hi Everyone...

Thanks Katie for the new thread...though i dont think it will take long to be as big as the other.. & i hope you are feeling well as you move along in your pregnancy too:)

Killakaz..i'm so sorry that you feel uncomfortable, having a bub & doing all the things that go with her is such an exciting time...i'm praying that you will start to feel more comfortable soon:hugs: ...do you have some sort of support person though???

Sorry i havent been around in a while but we have just finished (well nearly:rolleyes: )renovating our home & it is on the market!!!...we have been here for 7 wonderful years & have decided to move on & build our new dream home...its amazing i know that its only a house (& i have a much better one in heaven) but i am starting to get a little emotional about selling it...we came home here after our honeymoon, bought home our 3 babies here...well you know memories...PLUS not to mention all the work we have done to it (major renovations) so if you guys could please pray for us that it will sell fast ( i just want it to be over with:crying: ) & for the right price it would be so very appreciated...thanks

Kristy

KiLLaKaZ
24-03-2006, 16:20
Thanks for your concern everyone! I will have at least one person with me during the birth. My ex (still sounds strange not calling him my hubby!!!) will only be there if he doesn't have a gig, or other important thing on! :( (Which is pretty likely he'll be there). Tracie (trainee doula I met on bubhub) will also be there. Unfortunately the hospital has refused to fill out an evaluation for her, though :crying:

Anyway, I'm in a MUCH happier mood now - have been chatting on MSN to Dave ("dEEjay"), music/ artist organiser of AGMF (Australian Gospel Music Festival), & he told me that he'd try to help organise a lift for me to get to AGMF!! Then our conversation went:

KiLLaKaZ :
but, u have more important things to try & organise!!!
dEEjay says:
rubbish you are important too
dEEjay says:
the newsboys are overrated

lol, how sweet is that! :D

btw - anyone going to AGMF? just letting you know superchick has pulled out due to a serious family illness (just like U2!!) now poor dave has to find a replacement!!

27-03-2006, 14:25
lol, how sweet is that! :D

btw - anyone going to AGMF? just letting you know superchick has pulled out due to a serious family illness (just like U2!!) now poor dave has to find a replacement!!

:p Yes but it's true!!
Nope I'm not going. I have 2 kids!! :laughing:

I'm feeling a bit flat today... has anyone got a nice verse for me? :o

shinebrite
27-03-2006, 14:47
Hey becky I dont have a verse read this what a friend gave me... it has touched my heart deeply...

http://www.worldchallenge.org/pulpit%5Fseries/index.php?yr=2005&pg=n&id=1107

Tea Lady
27-03-2006, 14:51
I"m not feeling the best either :( I just read some of Proverbs which I always enjoy. I've got that song in my head at the moment too..........Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and he will make your path straight......from Prov 3:5-6.

Sorry, not too much help BR!

Tea Lady
27-03-2006, 14:52
Does anyone know how Katie is? She hasn't been on here for a few days. I hope she's alright.

shinebrite
27-03-2006, 14:58
Hey katie hasnt been on MSN over the weekend but I think she is ok... she has kinda bad M/S as Im aware but she is probly just busy....

ButterflyKisses
27-03-2006, 14:59
Hi Tea Lady & Becca Rae sorry to hear you are both feeling a bit down today.

Here's 2 fridge magnets that I bought when I was going through IVF that helped me everyday.

"Every Good and Perfect Gift is from Above..." James 1:17

and this little prayer:

Dear God
Please help me to
remember that nothing
will happen today
that You and I cannot
handle together.

I use to read these everyday and they both kept my head together and gave me such hope and it worked as I have a gorgeous little boy.

hope they help you too!!!!!!!!!!

jasminesmum
27-03-2006, 15:05

Great new thread!

I just want to say that I read through this thread all the time and you girls are an inspiration to me. You always have just the right words and verses to say.
:hugs: A big thanks.

Michelle

kadownie
27-03-2006, 15:08

Just wanted to introduce myself. I am a twin mumma of Cameron and Elissa- they are 19 months (oh how time flies) and wife to Mark. We attend Rochedale Baptist Church (when we make it). We have recently moved back to Brisbane from the Sunshine Coast so we could have more family support. I am new to this forum- so it's been fun having a look around. I am a bit of a 'trust your instincts', 'natural parent' mumma- which works well for me. um, not much else to tell. looking forward to meeting some more Christian mums online!!

27-03-2006, 15:14
Thanks guys. No I dont know about Katie. Maybe she's busy or just sleeping when she can....? I hope she's ok too!

WeThree
28-03-2006, 12:31
Hi Kylie, Great to meet you :)

Ive sent Katie an email, cause Im a bit worried about her as well, its not like her to not pop her head in most days, I havnt heard back from her yet, I hope she is not feeling really really sick or anything. :(

01-04-2006, 16:14
Psalm 32:8-9
The LORD says, " I will guide you along the best pathway for your life. I will advice you and watch over you. Do not be like a senseless horse or mule that needs a bit & bridal to keep it under control"

God really spoke to me when I read this verse.
God has a great pathway for me, if I only let him guide me along, instead of restisting & trying to do my own thing all the time!

Your thoughts?................

KiLLaKaZ
02-04-2006, 05:55
Psalm 32:8-9
The LORD says, " I will guide you along the best pathway for your life. I will advice you and watch over you. Do not be like a senseless horse or mule that needs a bit & bridal to keep it under control"

God really spoke to me when I read this verse.
God has a great pathway for me, if I only let him guide me along, instead of restisting & trying to do my own thing all the time!

Your thoughts?................

too tired to make any profound comment - just wanted to say that it made me giggle! i like it :D i guess i need to learn to be more sensitive to God's voice atm! especially with what's been happening between ex & i... i want what's best for us, but i keep insisting that the way *i* want it to be is best! :rolleyes:

03-04-2006, 14:50
KK you would be amazed how, when you let God take the reigns, He opens doors in amazing directions. Trusting in him is taking a leap of faith. Thats what it is all about! :hugs:

Where is everyone.....:confused:

shinebrite
03-04-2006, 16:48
Im here but I miss katie! she hasnt been on MSN in ages and its not fair!!! I have no one interesting to talk to now.....

:(

03-04-2006, 18:23
You can chat to me!!! I think I'm reasonably interesting (if you dont mind the colour pink?) LOL
alicialanglands@hotmail.com

KiLLaKaZ
03-04-2006, 21:47
KK you would be amazed how, when you let God take the reigns, He opens doors in amazing directions. Trusting in him is taking a leap of faith. Thats what it is all about! :hugs:

Where is everyone.....:confused:

well, last time i FINALLY handed Him the reigns i finally got pregnant (after ttc for 2 years).

but now i wonder y He would allow me to get pregnant, only to have my husband leave me??

i'm almost 100% certain my husband doesn't want to reconcile - he asks me things like where i plan on living once we go our separate ways, etc! (apparently his dad asked him & he didn't know, so he asked me...)

this upsets me HEAPS as i really don't want to think of a future without him yet :crying: but, i guess i should be so it's not too much of a shock when it does happen...

Nan
04-04-2006, 10:33
Hi everyone. I haven't visited the Christian Families thread for ages. I've been very slack. I've just finished reading through this new thread.

KK - I can't imagine how you felt when people were looking at you strangely at your AN class. I just wanted to encourage you that you are a treasured daughter of the most high God and this child is a little prince/princess that He has lovingly created to do amazing things for Him! You go into that room next time with your head held high knowing that this baby's "Father" IS with you. He is standing/sitting/walking right next to you every step of the way. :D He will be with you during the birth, too. I am praying for you.

Shinebrite - "no one interesting to talk to" hey?? Thanks! What about the rest of us!! ;)

Thanks for all the really good scriptures you guys have posted on here. When I don't get time for devotions, I come on here and read them and say a prayer, so thanks for that.

Love,
Nan. xx

04-04-2006, 11:33
KK............

Jeremiah 29:11
11 For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

God's plan for your life is amazing!!! Though at the moment you cant see, if you trust in Him he will bless your life more abundantly than you could imagine!!

Do you think your husband might agree to one session of councelling just to "finalise" whether divorce is it? Gregory & Miriam Brown are awesome christian's who speciaslise in marriage councelling. We recently had them at our church for a marriage enrichment program. I cant recommend them hightly enough seriously!! ( They are in brissy somewhere) Maybe if you get him him to agree to just one session, God might do a miracle!! :fingerscrossed: I'll pray that he will if you like. If he does though, I really encourage you to find CHRISTIAN councellors, that you both dont know! Someone completley removed from the situation.

shinebrite
04-04-2006, 13:03
Shinebrite - "no one interesting to talk to" hey?? Thanks! What about the rest of us!! ;)

ON MSN ya big dill!!!! I LOOOOOOooooOOOOOOve talknig to u guys but I love my MSN its easier to chat.....

TwoBlue
05-04-2006, 20:41
KK - I can't imagine how you felt when people were looking at you strangely at your AN class. I just wanted to encourage you that you are a treasured daughter of the most high God and this child is a little prince/princess that He has lovingly created to do amazing things for Him! You go into that room next time with your head held high knowing that this baby's "Father" IS with you. He is standing/sitting/walking right next to you every step of the way. :D He will be with you during the birth, too. I am praying for you.

Beautifully said Nan...

KiLLaKaZ
08-04-2006, 03:23
yes, thanks nan! you always say the right thing at the right time! :)

Nan
08-04-2006, 10:16
Awww shucks! :hugs:

Sorry Shine!! I really should have got my facts straight! ;)

Love,
Nan. xx

08-04-2006, 14:39
Ohh - that Fate thread is a bit tricky....??

How are we all? Up to much this weekend? Im so excited - we have a prophet coming to our church tomorrow night! John Jacks - apparantly he is quite well known. I hope he has some encouragement for the church!!! lol

KK - You are a daughter of the king! He is all you need through your AN classes - and dont worry about the looks on others faces. Dont even think about them judging you - Matthew 5:10 - God blesses those who are persecuted because they live for God, for the kingdom of Heaven is theirs!

Praise the Lord!

08-04-2006, 20:02
Helooo all... I'm feeling a bit out of touch with everyone. What ever happened to our awesome devotions? Surely we dont need Katie here all the time to hold our hands.. :p ( no offence to Katie... she's awesome!!) Hmm, he who gets the vision gets the job, lets see.... :rolleyes:

Ok this is from my devotion the other day...

James 1:2-4
Dear brothers & sisters, whenever trouble comes your way, let it be an opportunity for joy. For when your faith is tested your endurance has a chance to grow. So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be strong in character and ready for anything.

How amazing is that verse!! Talk about seeing the glass 1/2 full. :) I think it's a great way to look at all the situations in our life. Say to yourself, ok how can I grow from this, what can I learn from this, & what kind of opportunities can I use from this.
I guess the key is to praise the LORD even when it seem hard...

" Rejoice in the Lord always, & again I say rejoice..." :D

Tea Lady
08-04-2006, 20:11
Nice one! Thanks Becca :)

How was your hot date last night? ;) :)

08-04-2006, 21:16
It was great thanks Lucy :) Sorry I missed the dinner. I hope to be at the next one though!! :fingerscrossed: :hugs: I hope you had a nice time!

KiLLaKaZ
09-04-2006, 05:58
It was great thanks Lucy Sorry I missed the dinner. I hope to be at the next one though!! I hope you had a nice time!

at least you had the perfect excuse!! ;) lucky u!! :D :smiliedance:

Nan
13-04-2006, 10:28
I just saw (down the bottom) that it is Shine's birthday today!! YAY! :smiliedance:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY SHINEBRITE
Hope you have a wonderful day!!
Love,
Nan. xx

Tea Lady
13-04-2006, 10:47
Happy b'day SB!! Have a good one :)

I was reading Proverbs 15 yesterday and came across this verse:

18 A hot-tempered man stirs up dissension,
but a patient man calms a quarrel.

I thought about how many times I've seen this proven here on bubhub, and I'd like to encourage us all to the patient ones, rather than the hot-tempered ones ;) :)

shinebrite
13-04-2006, 12:44
Fanks guys!!! :hugs:

good verse tealady gotta keep that one in my pocket!!!

TwoBlue
13-04-2006, 19:22
Happy Birthday Shinebrite

Hi everyone long time no chat
Hope your all well :hugs:

Great verse Tea Lady, its always good to be reminded to not be hot tempered (especially when your a mother of a testy two year old !! :o )

14-04-2006, 15:07
Nice to see you around again Tracey. Been missing you. :kiss:

Hows this, what are your thoughts....

Hosea 6:6
" I dont want your sacrifices - I want your love, I dont want your offerings - I want you to know me."

It's amazing that we can spend our days doing the right things by God. But all He wants is for us to know Him, spend time with Him, love him passionately and worship him with ALL of our lives!!

Interesting thought to ponder.

Nan
15-04-2006, 10:15
That is quite a challenging verse isn't it? It reminds me of when your parents used to ask you "So what did you do at school today" because they wanted to spend time listening to you and you'd inevitably say "Nothing" and they'd get frustrated! I think God must be like that with me sometimes! (Not that He gets frustrated, just that He so desperately wants to listent to me.)
Love,
Nan. xx

shinebrite
15-04-2006, 16:22
Yeah its a funny one isnt it...:detective: I think of God sometimes just wanting SO MUCH to stretch his arms out and hug us and sometimes cause we arnt "sensative" we kinda just shove him to the side...maybe Im the only one who does this??? :o

Sometimes its good to just LOVE him and just get to KNOW him....sit back and take a chill pill and not want to RUN our own lives....and not DO all the fancy things u know keep it simple....

Its hard being a worship team I spose, cause EVERYONE complicates things with 'words' Im at the point were ALL I want to say is 'I love you, I love you I love you' to God ALL over again and THAT sometimes, isnt even simple enough...

sorry Im rambling...these things should b kept in my head cause they dont really make that mush sence.... :o :ecomcity:

15-04-2006, 16:29
Yeah, I found it a challengeing verse aswell. We just simply need to love him & spend time with him. After all we make time for our family & friends quite reguarly, why not God? :rolleyes:

Tea Lady
26-04-2006, 14:19
So, where is everyone?? ;) :)

26-04-2006, 14:29
Thats what I want to know!!!!!! no one was responding to my post so I gave up!! LOL
Hi Lucy!! :D

26-04-2006, 14:35
Luke 6:41 Why do you see the speck that is in your brother's eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? 42 Or how can you say to your brother, `Brother, let me take out the speck that is in your eye,' when you yourself do not see the log that is in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take out the speck that is in your brother's eye.
:

this is a great scripture
when everybody is so quick to judge

shinebrite
26-04-2006, 14:37
Im here pregnant brains dont let me get the right words out though...LOL:o

26-04-2006, 14:37
Yes... a great scripture. One worth reminding us of!! :thumbsup:

Tea Lady
27-04-2006, 16:03
Hi all, I've been having a bit of a break from bubhub and trying to get my life in some kind of order :laughing:

We can't let the thread die :shame:

How are the nappies going BR?

28-04-2006, 11:02
i'm not very good at rembering scripture
glad you guys are into it

Bessie
28-04-2006, 13:32
I'm not so great at remembering scripture but it seems to be in there when I need it...
I checked this one up though, very reassuring x
Philippians 1:6 (New International Version)
New International Version (NIV)
6being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

If anyone wants a bit of encouragement, click here
http://www.fathersloveletter.com/fllpreviewlarge.html
Make sure you have some tissues ready x

Bessie
28-04-2006, 14:04
well, last time i FINALLY handed Him the reigns i finally got pregnant (after ttc for 2 years).

but now i wonder y He would allow me to get pregnant, only to have my husband leave me??

i'm almost 100% certain my husband doesn't want to reconcile - he asks me things like where i plan on living once we go our separate ways, etc! (apparently his dad asked him & he didn't know, so he asked me...)

this upsets me HEAPS as i really don't want to think of a future without him yet :crying: but, i guess i should be so it's not too much of a shock when it does happen...

Hi Killakaz, I went through something similar 8 years ago, in short hubby left when my first child was 4 months old (even in labour I thought he would walk!)and it was devastating. However, we both got saved during that difficult year and things are very different now. God can work great things in the darkest of situations and he can comfort you and give u more strength than u can imagine.
I know from back then that God will stay especially close to you right now, he knows what you're going through. Try not to worry what other people think, all that matters is what God thinks and so lift your head up high girl. Take each day at a time now, don't worry about the future... lean on us when you need it and we can help carry your burden and pray for you... you are not alone x
I hope this helps
Psalm 34 v 18
The Lord is close to the broken-hearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.
Matthew 11 (I used to find comfort in this)
28"Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30For my yoke is easy and my burden is light."

Tea Lady
28-04-2006, 19:19
Nice to meet you bessie and kymmy :) Great verses Bessie!

xkwzit
28-04-2006, 20:34
Hi Bessie
Good to meet you, what a great word.:D

And Kymmy too - good to see you:thumbsup:

Tea Lady
28-04-2006, 22:05
Just wondering if anyone has heard from BelindaL? Hopefully she's just offline because she's got her hands full with her new bub :)

29-04-2006, 13:31
Hi all.... nice to see some new faces!! Lucy... the nappies are going great.. i even bought another dozen! :yelclap: I agree lets not let this thread die!!

SJE
29-04-2006, 13:50

Thought I would drop by and say hello

I haven't been here for a while. I have had to limit my time on bubhub as there has been some serious time clocked up, hubby's getting lonely and the housework just doesn't disappear. Perhaps I should put that on the prayer request thread - Let my housework disappear!!

Had Breeanna's dedication a couple of weeks ago. All went well. I am going to have to make sure that we keep those promises we made. Breeanna's now got a couple of bible story books there. I brought her a soft one about Noah's ark with finger puppets. Though as she grows up I don't want her to think that God is just just another character in a story. I will have to get a hold of some toddler devotions books when she gets older. I have a feeling I am going to have to do a lot of explaining to her and keep it relevant for her level.

How do you girls go living the christian life? How do you make God involved in every part of you lies?

TwoBlue
29-04-2006, 14:21
Hi Ladies and welcome newies :hugs:

I havnt been on as much lately for the same reason as others... housework piles up, DH gets cranky and DS's keep me busy enough anyway!!

I hope everyone is really well...

How do i go living the Christian life???

wow, what a question.... its a hard one to answer for me
I try very hard but i am far from perfect.. I find the best way is for me to get very involved in Church activities, to keep myself surrounded my AMAZING christian people (like the people on here!) to keep a prayerful life (so to keep close to God)
and to realise that i am only human.... i mean thats why God sent Jesus after all wasnt it.... because he knew we were far from perfect....

Bessie
29-04-2006, 14:24
Hi guys and thanks for the welcome messages!
Breanna's mum, I think you raised some really interesting thoughts, congrats on your bubs dedication!
I guess if you want your children to know the Lord, you need to have your own walk sorted, if they see through you they won't want to know. I think actions need to accompany our faith, no point in spouting bible at them if they don't see you living the life! We do the operation Christmas child thing and they help me buy stuff for the boxes, we sponsor children in an orphanage and they get to see how that all works.
We try and teach them about God when we can, we pray a bit together, keep on explaining stuff we've learnt, make sure there are good books and DVDs to supplement... avoid any dodgy books/films etc without being too OTT and focus on teaching them how to make their own decisions, so they can look after themselves in the real world.
The hardest thing I find is when I stuff up with my eldest child, she is 8 years old now. I sometimes catch myself really being too strict or grumpy and I think that is such a bad witness but I find it so hard to back down when I am stressed! I guess I need to ask God for more self control, to try and apologise quickly and teach her that it's hard sometimes to live the Christian life but we need to keep going. It's no good coming up with lovely verses and encouragement when I make a mess out of things! :no:
As for little bubs, buy the toddler bibles, get them to pray to Jesus, keep telling them that Jesus loves them, if they wake with nightmares, pray to Jesus to help them together.... keep asking The Lord for their salvation, even before they are born if you're pregnant.
Deuteronomy 11:19 (New International Version)

19 Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.

Then there's that verse about teaching your child and they will not depart from it...my pregnant memory is soooo bad right now, maybe someone else will know what I'm on about :confused:

SJE
29-04-2006, 17:44
ooooh yes to be a good example. sigh!
I guess I got some work to do. It feels like alot of responsibility and effort. It will be worth it though.

I guess she can see how someone eats and drinks with a foot permanently lodged in their mouth!!!

How to clean your house and talk to your mum at the same time.
How to block out the light in the mornings to get another precious hours sleep.
How to get from modbury to south road in 20 minutes in a 4 cylinder car.

How to come close to going crazy by working, studying, being pregnant and taking care of a household.
How to fall asleep whilst praying. ooops

Hmmmm perhaps it's time for a review...

Bessie
29-04-2006, 18:51

Best way to fall asleep imho!
You'll be alright :thumbsup:

Bessie
30-04-2006, 05:56
ooooh yes to be a good example. sigh!
I guess I got some work to do. It feels like alot of responsibility and effort. It will be worth it though.

I guess she can see how someone eats and drinks with a foot permanently lodged in their mouth!!!

How to clean your house and talk to your mum at the same time.
How to block out the light in the mornings to get another precious hours sleep.
How to get from modbury to south road in 20 minutes in a 4 cylinder car.

How to come close to going crazy by working, studying, being pregnant and taking care of a household.

Ooops, when I was waffling on before I never realised what a busy girl you are... sorry if I did your head in! My post was more a long term view, my kids are older and over time we're getting those opportunities.
You don't have to be supermum, take each day at a time right now and focus on your bubbies and you! This looks like a busy season in your life, but ask God for help and he will. I often catch myself praying for help with the house and stuff, I am so rubbish at it and now am too pg to doo much now. I've pulled back from lots of church activites to, I just can't commit right now but it can wait.
Relax if you can, hug your bubs, pray for her, tell her that Jesus loves her x

Nan
02-05-2006, 15:18
Seriously....I stuff up all the time! I just wake up each day and say a big "thanks that your grace is sufficient for me, Lord" no matter what happens today!!
Love,
Nan. xx

02-05-2006, 15:54
You girls are such an inspiration!! :hugs:

03-05-2006, 10:05
I am so thankful for my family.
I see so many people desperate to get pregnant
and people 'accidently' get pregnant
I feel very blessed every day

Bessie
03-05-2006, 11:59
Hope you guys don't mind another Bessie prayer request :p
On Monday I had a 30 week scan to check the location of the placenta, it is still low lying and I could so do without another CSection as I have 2 kids to look after and hubby works long hours... the darn thing needs to get a move on lol!
I'm feeling very good humoured and positive but I'm turning to my friends for as much prayer as possible... I haemorraged with my first child (very scarey, wasn't saved then either, had placenta praevia) but the placenta moved and I had a good labour with my 2nd (was saved and prayed lots!).
I know that prayer is powerful and changes things... that all things are possible... but it's just that bit reassuring that others are standing with me... x

Anyone else for prayer too while we're at it?

Tea Lady
03-05-2006, 12:21
Anyone else for prayer too while we're at it?

Yes please!! I'm feeling really crook at the moment (morning sickness actually, which is a good thing!!) but I'm finding it hard to look after my toddler at the same time. I also had some bleeding last night which is at the same stage that I had my first bleed last time (ended in m/c although I'm not sure that bleed was anything to do with the m/c) so I'm naturally feeling a little concerned. I'd really appreciate prayer.

Sorry - a bit incoherant today!

Bessie
03-05-2006, 13:04
I will come off the computer now and pray specifically for you... plus I'll ask God to bring you to mind if you need prayer at specific moments in the day... take it easy girl and God bless x Sending you a big hug :hugs: Take a look at Psalm 91 if you have a chance x

Tea Lady
03-05-2006, 13:59
THanks Bessie! I'll go and have a read :)

PS I was praying for you before too :hugs:

xkwzit
03-05-2006, 21:28
Hiya Bessie

Praying that your placenta is on the move as we speak (type)

TL
OMGosh, praying for a bit of calm and peace in your busy life. Ppl say ginger works well?

SJE
04-05-2006, 09:40

Bessie

If God can move mountains, He can move placentas. They weigh less and cause less real estate hassles.

Will be praying for you today

Tea Lady

It's fantastic you are pregnant again. Will be praying for you too. May be the sickness is a good thing - a good strong pregnancy. Take care of yourself wont you and put your feet up when you can.

Tea Lady
04-05-2006, 11:37
Thanks everyone :) Am feeling a fair bit better today - coping better with it anyway. I think it's the prospect of weeks and weeks more of it that's the problem...... or NOT weeks and weeks more if it doesn't work out :o

Anyway, I truly appreciate your prayers :hugs:

04-05-2006, 12:20
If God can move mountains, He can move placentas. They weigh less and cause less real estate hassles.

i thought this was clever and amusing

Bessie
04-05-2006, 17:00
:yes: Just popping on quickly, thanks guys x
Glad u r feeling better tealady, have been praying 4 u, take each day at a time x

TwoBlue
04-05-2006, 17:07
Bessie praying for you ! God can do anything !!

TL !! :hugs: I am so excited for you and your pregnancy... praying you will feel well, cope ok and have a healthy pregnancy !!
Morning sickness and a toddler is NO FUN :no:

Nan
06-05-2006, 19:13
And she should know!!!!! :yes: :laughing: (right Tracey?)

I said some prayers for everyone on this thread today! Not trying to blow my own trumpet, but thought you might like to know.
Love,
Nan. xx

Tea Lady
07-05-2006, 10:39
Speaking of MS and toddlers, do you more experienced ladies have any coping tips...... other than being put in a medically induced coma for the next 6 weeks or so? (Which is the most appealing option atm :o )

My mum is overseas at the moment (she'd otherwise be a big help) and won't get back till July and I'm really worried about how I'll cope over the next few weeks. It's so lovely having DH at home but it makes me petrified about surviving the week ahead. Booooo Hooooooo :crying:

I hope you other ladies are going alright. :)

TwoBlue
07-05-2006, 23:03
Oh Nan i sure do know !! ... boy oh boy its really no fun at all :no:

TL not much advice sorry other than just get up and get going, eat small, light meals through the day and try to keep your mind off how your feeling.... iykwim, oh and get some new dvd's of your littlies fav. show and use that time to get some rest on the couch... (thank you Wiggles and Hi-5!!)

its just awful i really feel for you and i am praying for you.

Tea Lady
08-05-2006, 09:42
Thanks Tracey (and others). At least it's reminding me how much I rely on God :rolleyes:

08-05-2006, 10:45
We had a sad news weekend
Mum rang me in tears
She was upset with all the sad things that have been happening
eg. little Sophie, the Beaconsfield miners, Richard Carlton
Then we have some sad personal news
My grandfather(my mum's father) is very ill.
He has been diagnosed with lymphatic cancer
and the doctors say he is so sick
it may be best not to treat, rather make him comfortable
and let him pass away.
He suffers from diabetes and isn't eating
so I don't know how it is going to go.
We had a family prayer last night
We understand that he might go soon
He is 81 so he has done ok considering his health
we just want what is best...:(

Tea Lady
10-05-2006, 09:13
It's a sad world isn't it Kymmy?:( I hope your grandfather is doing ok and that your family is coping with this hard time :hugs:

10-05-2006, 10:12
It's a sad world isn't it Kymmy?:( I hope your grandfather is doing ok and that your family is coping with this hard time :hugs:

thx
We are spiritual beings having human experiences
rather than
human beings having spiritual experiences

Nan
15-05-2006, 19:18
thx
We are spiritual beings having human experiences
rather than
human beings having spiritual experiences
That is a beatuful way of looking at it and very true.

TL how are you feeling?? I've been thinking of you. God is right beside you every minute of every day..

...At least it's reminding me how much I rely on God :rolleyes:
Not much consolation, but I suspect that's why He puts us through these things. Remember "you can do ALL THINGS through Him who gives you strength".
Ciao for now girls.
Love,
Nan. xx

BelindaL
18-05-2006, 15:09
FOR FRENCHSTAR

Hey Katie - How's things,

Tried to send you a message but your inbox is full :shame: So I thought I might track you down here????

I thought I might see Sandra in church on Mother's day but no luck - I think her husband was there though.

I've had a baby girl - Annaleise Kate - She's so beautiful & well behaved, gives me plenty of sleep most nights.... I'm soooo happy. I've pretty much forgotten about my 23hr labour & drug free, ventous delivery (ouch). Yep, it was a marathon but we got there in the end. :p

I've mainly been posting on the "April Mums" thread. How's your pregnancy going? I'd love to meet up when I go walking; I'm only doing little ones though - just started on Monday (20mins) & those hills nearly killed me :laughing: I'm gonna try for twice a day - I'll see how I go this week for times (fitting in with bub's feeds) etc & let you know.

I didn't think I should start doing any ab work yet, I just thought I'd see what everyone thought. I'm feeling so good!

Hope you are well

KiLLaKaZ
19-05-2006, 11:19
hello all!!

firstly TEA LADY YOUR INBOX IS FULL - i tried replying to your msg! that's ok, most of what i was going to say is below:

thanks to whoever it was that recommended citipointe church to me. i had a few churches i was going to check out, & citipointe was the first on the list, but i never got past that one coz i kinda got 'stuck' there ;) - too many ppl there grabbed my details & asked after me, etc, so if i had have not come again, i think i would have had a lot of ppl checking up on me! lol. BUT, it is a HUGE church, & i'm more at home in a small church, so i'm just taking it one week at a time for now.

2 weeks till i'm due & i feel no different from the last few months (except for pains in my pelvic region!) no BHs or anything! i'm very content with Q. staying inside for the next few weeks, not in any hurry at all for her to come out (she's low maintenance for now ;))

i've been really getting into prayer & the Bible about my situation with my ex. & i've noticed a change in the last few days - when we're around each other we are like we were when together, except with no physical contact. ie. we joke about & talk about stuff again. he's even made me dinner a few times! :eek: tho he STILL hasn't learnt to clean up any of his messes! grrr! i know that there are many ppl at church praying over us, too.

one thing i've been specifically praying for is if we're to get back together that it'll happen BEFORE Q. is born... that way i'll know he's not doing it just because of the baby... & he'll be able to 'experience' some of the pregnancy - he left me when i was still in the morning sickness stage, so he hasn't really been there to feel her kick or move around much :crying:

by the way - he has made a decision about being there for the birth: he doesn't want to be there coz it's 'too gross'!! so, that's another thing i'm praying about...

Ffrenchknickers
20-05-2006, 10:30
Hey KK:) I was just thinking about you the other day and wondering how you were going...We still need to organise that Koorong meetup! I think Lucy is keen too. Maybe you guys should organise it and give me a call seeing as I am NEVER on here anymore:(

Hope everyone is well!

Belinda! Congrats on your little girl:) We should organise a park meetup soon with all the northsiders (and anyone else who wants to travel....) Sandra was there on mothers day, she said she didnt see you either hehehe

Tea Lady
21-05-2006, 13:37
Sorry about that KK - I guess I must be too popular ;) I'll clear it out now. :)

You do have SOMEONE to be at the birth don't you?

Tea Lady
21-05-2006, 13:40
Sorry, meant to reply to Nan as well. I'm feeling pretty bad lately MS-wise :barf: Pretty disappointing since I thought I was getting better but I've had a few pretty yuk days unfortunately. I can't WAIT for it to be over!

22-05-2006, 10:19
Hello, everybody.
What did you learn at Church?
Yesterday I felt really glad that I went to Church .
Obedience is better than to sacrifice.

Tea Lady
22-05-2006, 13:20
Our sermon had a lot about how christians shouldn't feel like they're "better" than other people - we're all sinners after all. Instead we should be grateful that God is good enough to forgive us the wrong things we do. Good stuff :thumbsup:

22-05-2006, 13:22
Tea Lady
Its true
we shouldn't think we are better than anyone
we should feel obligated to help others
I am learning that too
Humility is a good one.......

SJE
22-05-2006, 20:08
The message at our church was about giving back some of what God has given.

As in everything comes from God. Not exclusively from our own efforts.

Does this make sense?

Nan
25-05-2006, 18:19
Sure does! It is definitely worth the reminder. Every time I look at DD I have to remind my self that she is God's and He is letting me take care of her. :D
Tea Lady - :hugs: for you. I do hope it lets up soon.
Hey girls, I attended the Influencers Conference here at Paradise Community Church a few weeks ago and I wanted to share an awesome thought with you (and a bit of a challenge). The guy speaking asked this question:
"Do you believe that Jesus has all power?"
Of course, we all answered "yes".
So, then he asked "Well if Jesus has ALL power, how much power does Satan have?"
Hmmmmm....interesting thought hey? He said if Jesus has ALL power then Satan must have none whatsoever!! :smiliedance: He just LIES and decieves and humans think he is powerful. It is very simple, but man it blew me away! So, for all of you going through a rough time at the moment, tell that devil to quit decieving you & get on out! He has no power - Jesus has it all and he is in control.
Just wanted to encourage you all.
Love,
Nan. xx

25-05-2006, 21:45
Hey that really is an interesting thought, Nan!! A good one to ponder over.

KK, good to hear you have found a church you are so far happy with.. thats awesome!! There are a lot of ppl praying for you & your Husband so hopefully those prayers will be answered soon for you!!

TL... :hugs: M/S sux eh!! I hope it ends soon for you!!

Frenchie, nice to see you... briefly!! lol!

If you guys are getting together at Koorong.. let me know!! :D

Sorry I have nothing profound to say tonight. :o Hopefully next time I will!! :rolleyes:

29-05-2006, 15:11
The message at our church was about giving back some of what God has given.

As in everything comes from God. Not exclusively from our own efforts.

Does this make sense?

I believe that everything we have is from God
so yes it makes perfect sense.
I don't think we could ever repay the Lord for what he gives
we can only be grateful....

Nan
14-06-2006, 11:45
Hello Everyone!!
Just dropping by the old CF thread to see how everyone is going?
Tea Lady - has the M/S cleared up yet. Have been thinking of you.
Frenchie - how is bubba.
How is everyone??
We're doing okay. Bit bored today as it is "stay and home and think about cleaning the house" day!!! :laughing:
Cheers everyone & God bless.
Love,
Nan. xx

TwoBlue
14-06-2006, 20:25
Bit bored today as it is "stay and home and think about cleaning the house" day!!! :laughing:

:laughing: I hate those days Nan !!

This thread has been so quiet lately...
How is everyone... ?

15-06-2006, 15:15
Where is the spirit?
How are the Christian families?
I am always around willing to chat
(unless I have puter probs:mad: )

KiLLaKaZ
16-06-2006, 13:06
i've been a bit quiet coz i was giving birth & now looking after my ADORABLE baby ;) she demands mummy's attention almost 24/7!! luckily she gets sick of mummy & wants daddy sometimes ;)

my ex took 2 weeks off work to help out with Qila, but unfortunately he only helps by holding Qila for an hour or two a day :( but, i guess i can't complain - it's better than no help at all! he spends the rest of his day on the computer/ internet (that's another reason i haven't been online) & the rest of his time watching DVDs!

no sign of us getting back together, either. i'll never give up hope - but i am starting to question if that's what i really want/ need. especially after he throws a tantrum over something silly! the way he was swearing & carrying on yesterday, all i could think is 'i don't want him near my daughter'!! he's not violent towards ppl, but he's just as scary. but he doesn't think it's a problem coz he reckons he'd never, ever hit anyone (unless it's a male wanting a fight...!)

anyway, thought i'd share that here coz most of u know my situation & it's REALLY been upsetting me (i spent most of yesterday in my room with Qila trying to hide my tears) - he'd just be more upset/ annoyed if he saw me crying!

the worst part is, i know i'm so weak that if he said he wanted to be back together again, i'd probably say yes without any reservations!!:(

Tea Lady
16-06-2006, 13:32
I'm so excited to see you back online KK!! I thought you must have fallen into a black hole;)

Are you up to getting out of the house? We could organise a get together for a couple of us brissie mums if you feel like it - last time I saw Ffrenchstar she was saying we should meet up with you somewhere. Anyway, let me know if you're up for it.

CONGRATULATIONS on Qila's birth by the way - I bet she's a real cutie :)

PS I'll keep praying about your situation with your husband - it must be so hard:(

SJE
16-06-2006, 18:28

How are you all going? Coping with the cold weather?

KK - That doesn't sound like an easy situation. It wouldn't help either with a new baby. Us girls are always willing to chat if you need to get anything off your chest.:hugs: Where did you find that name? Does it mean something special? It's pretty unique.

18-06-2006, 22:25
Congratulations KK!!!!!! I'm so glad to hear of Qila's arrival!! :kiss:

Guys, I dont know about you, but lately I have been a bit distant from God. My own fault. I have let it get that way.
It'd be great if we could get back into this thread again... I miss all the spiritual input from everyone.
Any encouraging versus would be muchly appreciated... :o I am feeling somewhat thirsty at the moment iykwim...
Thanks guys you all rock!! :hugs:

Tea Lady
19-06-2006, 12:33

I was wondering if I could get you lovely ladies to pray for me (again.......I know!!). When I was pg with my DD i had a very rare, uncomfortable and potentially risky condition in the 2nd trimester when my uterus got trapped in my pelvis instead of moving up like it should have. Anyway, to cut a long story short I think it's happening again :( It's hard because no-one seems to know anything much about it, or what to do (or not do) about it and it makes me worried because there's an increased risk of miscarriage if it happens. On the plus side, it sorted itself out last time with no long term effects so that's encouraging, but it was very uncomfortable and difficult to live with while it lasted (one of the symptoms is that if your bladder gets even slightly full you can't physically go to the loo, so you have to have catheters with you all the time -ewwwwww ). Anyway, if you could pray I'd really appreciate it.

I read something interesting the other day - it was an excerpt from a book by JC Ryle about Sickness. I can't remember all his points, but he was talking about how sickness can be a positive thing because it is one of the only times people are reminded of their mortality and how much they rely on God. I thought that was interesting anyway.

19-06-2006, 12:48
I will pray for you :hugs:

Tea Lady
19-06-2006, 20:12
Thanks Kymmy:)

19-06-2006, 20:29
Tea Lady, you don't seem to have the best of times:no:
I hated being pregnant but you seem to have some problems, yeah?
I know the Lord is watching over you and he knows how much one can bear
Do you agree?

Tea Lady
20-06-2006, 13:00
Sometimes I wonder if maybe I'm just a big whinger :laughing: (a definite possibility!). I totally agree that God's looking after me, which is a big comfort. I'm pretty sure I felt the bub move last night too, so that makes me feel alot better :thumbsup:

20-06-2006, 13:14
Thats a great reassurance feeling baby move:yes:
I hated being pregnant, as i said, so i think u have ever right to complain:yes: :thumbsup:
all the best anyway....
A Christmas baby, hey?

20-06-2006, 13:15
Oh thats great Lucy. The first movements always make you feel better hey....

Heres a verse from my study today that I thought we could all hear...

Ephesians 3:17-19

17And I pray that Christ will be more and more at home in your hearts as you trust in him. May your roots go down deep into the soil of God's marvelous love. 18And may you have the power to understand, as all God's people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love really is. 19May you experience the love of Christ, though it is so great you will never fully understand it. Then you will be filled with the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

20-06-2006, 13:22
A love that we can't understand:yes:
thx for that poshbecks:thumbsup:

Nan
20-06-2006, 15:10
Hmmmmm...."filled with the fullness of life and power....". :yelclap: I cried when I read that. It is so beautiful and inspirational. Thankyou Becca!
T/L - I said a prayer for your uterus today! :D
Love,
Nan. xx

TwoBlue
20-06-2006, 21:38
Great Verse Becky !!

;)

Tea Lady
21-06-2006, 20:18
Just wanted to let you guys know that we had the 13 week scan today and all is going fine :smiliedance: I was so relieved to see a real live baby!

It looks like my uterus is still backwards though and I'm pretty sure it's getting stuck again :( Thanks for praying, anyone who has...........I'm praying it will be fixed soon.

TwoBlue
21-06-2006, 20:23
Great news TL that bubs is going so well :smiliedance:

Will keep praying for your uterus....

21-06-2006, 20:30
:fingerscrossed: praying for you, TL :yes:

Tea Lady
21-06-2006, 20:35
He he a girl at my bible study today prayed for my uterus and it sounded so WIERD!! (Don't let that stop you though!! ;) :) )

TwoBlue
21-06-2006, 20:39
hehe it is kinda weird,...!!

But God doesnt think so thankfully :thumbsup:

SJE
25-06-2006, 18:48
What has been stuck in my mind lately is how God is our rock.

With everything in this world that seems to never keep still.

God is so consistent and dependable despite the chaos. It's so easy to loose sight of this and get caught up in the business and commercialism of the world.

If money and things are the answer why are so many rich people unhappy?

Its not until something bad happens to a loved one that it's realised what is really important.

What have you guys been mulling over lately?

25-06-2006, 18:56
I teach Sunday School for Nursery (18m - 3y) and its a tough crowd but I enjoy it
Its a rewarding thing for me. I had so much fun with them today!

I have been thinking more and more about the importance of family.
My kids love it when I unexpectantly give them cuddles and I lay down with them just to chat and appreciate them.
Food and clothes and shelter is not enough, is it?
I think there is a very good reason why God gave us families, parents...
I feel so blessed to have my children in my lives.:thumbsup:

Nan
25-06-2006, 21:17
I've been contemplating the concept of grace.....such a simple thing!!! :no:
Mostly I've been thinking how to apply it to my daily life. I'm struggling with the fact that I'm perfect in Christ. (It's a hard thing to do to look in the mirror at your post baby flab and go......yeah, I'm perfect!!!!! Nah, just kidding - other stuff, too!)
Love,
Nan. xx

Verdi
25-06-2006, 21:22
I'm struggling with the fact that I'm perfect in Christ. (It's a hard thing to do to look in the mirror at your post baby flab and go......yeah, I'm perfect!!!!!

I now what you mean.!!!!! I think god sees us all through skinny mirrors!!!!
Thats my philosophy

KiLLaKaZ
26-06-2006, 14:21
I'm so excited to see you back online KK!! I thought you must have fallen into a black hole

Are you up to getting out of the house? We could organise a get together for a couple of us brissie mums if you feel like it - last time I saw Ffrenchstar she was saying we should meet up with you somewhere. Anyway, let me know if you're up for it.

CONGRATULATIONS on Qila's birth by the way - I bet she's a real cutie

PS I'll keep praying about your situation with your husband - it must be so hard:(

Thanks (everyone) for your support! I have actually been getting out of the house (by bus!!) for short shopping trips, but they are quite exhausting as Qila insists on being carried! I have a sling, but even with that I find her heavy after a while! Hopefully she'll get used to the pram soon (she's okay in it if she's already asleep - it keeps her asleep!) but, let me know where you have in mind for going as Qila is just as difficult at home as she is out, so it doesn't really matter where i go (as long as there's a bus i can catch!!)

************************************************** **************************************************

i've been quite down about my marriage situation lately. i was praying quite hard every day, but after Qila's birth, have stopped (how easy it is to forget to pray!!) i don't know what ui want anymore. i really don't want our marriage to end, but i don't think i can keep going on being treated the way i always have been (basically his servant!!) maybe when we live separately things will be clarified, but i doubt it! i was hoping they'd be clarified after Qila's birth, but it's just the same ol', same ol'!

i'm just grateful PND hasn't hit me! imagine battling that on top of what i'm already trying to cope with?! ;)

i guess i better get back into reading my bible & praying. i look forward to bible studies posted in this thread... :thumbsup:

BTW, Seejay Elle - i made the name 'Qila' up & after a search on the net, discovered it meant [gaelic] one so beautiful not even a poet could describe her & [hindu] fort. Timita was picked out specially from a short list of aboriginal names from my ex's clan (palawa) & it means 'possum'. i was hoping for a 2nd name starting with a 't' coz now her initials are Q.T. ;)

26-06-2006, 16:03
I've been contemplating the concept of grace..... I'm perfect in Christ.

Can someone explain to me this concept?:confused:
Not sure I know what it means.

Bessie
26-06-2006, 16:43
I've been mulling over "Seek first the Kingdom of God and then all these things will be added unto you". Sometimes I have just wanted all the blessings rather than more of God. I've been lent a book written by John Bevere and it makes so much sense... it's called "Drawing Near" and I would definately recommend it. It's about an intimate relationship with God although I'm plodding thru it as the moment as I'm very tired at the mo, bubs is due next week.
Am thinking of you TL and will say a prayer as I go for my granny sleep :sleeping: tt4n x

xkwzit
26-06-2006, 20:56
Can someone explain to me this concept?:confused:
Not sure I know what it means.

I think Nan is meaning that there's nothing that she can do to earn salvation. "by grace are we saved through faith" - and NOT by works. This can be hard to deal with when you think you must always be doing.

Remember Jesus with Mary and Martha. One was busy doing all the work (can't remember which - maybe Martha) and Mary was sitting and listing to Jesus speak. When Martha wanted Jesus to tell her sister off he said that it was Mary who was doing the right thing, just sitting quietly and listening.

I think I need to do more of that - Thanks Nan
(and forgive me if I got you wrong :D )

mrsbutterflygirl
27-06-2006, 00:27
:wave: Hi everyone... i thought i would join the thread... didn't know it was here... and found out about it... hope everyone is well...

Not sure what else to say :laughing:
God Bless
Hannah

Bessie
27-06-2006, 18:19
Hiya girls
I just had my baby shower today and feel very spoilt! It was a new fellowship group I've been going to for 6 weeks or so and it was very sweet of them as I was feeling very isolated from friends and family back in Pommie Land... although I was trying not to let on. Some of the ladies I knew already but some of them are very new to me...we have all really clicked and it is lovely to get to know them. They also prayed for me and bubs and for my dad... it was lovely :)

I just got another call from a different group and am having another one on Thursday... now I feel a bit too spoilt, I hope they don't go too OTT! :o

SJE
28-06-2006, 09:29
How lovely for you Bessie.

Perhaps you might be able to meet up with some new mums from you area through child and youth health or even from bub hub once bubs is born.

28-06-2006, 17:52
I think Nan is meaning that there's nothing that she can do to earn salvation. "by grace are we saved through faith" - and NOT by works. This can be hard to deal with when you think you must always be doing.

Remember Jesus with Mary and Martha. One was busy doing all the work (can't remember which - maybe Martha) and Mary was sitting and listing to Jesus speak. When Martha wanted Jesus to tell her sister off he said that it was Mary who was doing the right thing, just sitting quietly and listening.

I think I need to do more of that - Thanks Nan
(and forgive me if I got you wrong :D )

Okay that is interesting.
Has anyone heard the saying "Faith without works is dead"?
I believe that we gain grace through Jesus because He is perfect and we are not
He makes up the difference.

I will search the scriptures to have a look at that story, cos its interesting, isn't it?
I am amazed at how wonderful Jesus is - how giving He was to all
It was the person He loves not what they do.

Bessie
28-06-2006, 18:06
Faith and works is interesting, I think it means that we aren't saved by works, we are saved by faith. Nothing we can do can earn salvation, it is a free gift from God.

But.... if we have faith we will naturally want to do good works as an expression of our love for Him. Then if we neglected to do things then we may have a dead faith... like if we walked past a starving person and ignored them, then our actions would show our hearts aren't really in it.

I found a ref in James 2 if thats any help x http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?book_id=66&chapter=2&version=31
Thanks for the discussion girls, it's good to keep looking at these things.

28-06-2006, 18:07
Look at the guy who was on the cross next to Jesus who asked him if he would remember him.... Jesus said " TODAY you will be with me in paradise".

That is just the absolute proof that we cannot earn our way their. That criminal on the cross didn't have time to make up for his sins, but Jesus forgave him & gave him his word.

Though, we do good works because we want to please God & shine Jesus light...

Ephesians 2:10
For we are God's workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

xkwzit
28-06-2006, 20:07
Well done Bessie and Posh

I couldn't have said it better myself.:yelclap:

29-06-2006, 12:47
]The Power of Prayer

I got up early one morning and rushed into the day;
I had so much to accomplish that I didn't have time to pray.

Problems just tumbled about me, and heavier came each task.
"Why doesn't God help me?" I wondered. He answered, " You didn't ask."

I wanted to see joy and Beauty, but the day toiled on, grey and bleak;
I wondered why God didn't show me. He said, " But you didn't seek."

I tried to come into God's presence; I used all my keys at the lock.
God gently and lovingly chided, "My child, you didn't knock."

I woke up early this morning, and paused before entering the day;
I had so much to accomplish that I had to take time to pray.[/COLOR]

Author Unknown

That was in my daily devotional today..... How often do we not give our day to the Lord?

SJE
29-06-2006, 13:02
oooo I like that one.

Every morning God has a way of reminding me that He is there.

For example a beautiful day or a smile from my bubby.

30-06-2006, 11:00
Thanks Bessie.
I agree with the faith making us want to do the right things
If we are truly Christian then we would do our best to be like Jesus who was forgiving
As for the criminal on the cross I have the belief he will get a second chance. Meaning in the spiritual world he will get the opportunity to express faith in the Saviour and follow Him though he wont have a body so it will all be that much harder.

I love the poem too Posh Becks.
Its beautiful, I have heard it b4 and its a wonderful thing.
I need to remember to pray. I really need to atm.
So thanks for that, PoshBecks

30-06-2006, 14:40
As for the criminal on the cross I have the belief he will get a second chance. Meaning in the spiritual world he will get the opportunity to express faith in the Saviour and follow Him though he wont have a body so it will all be that much harder.

Actually Kymmy the bible says we will get a new body when we get to heaven. And you are right, the criminal will get to spend Eternity serving/worshipping Jesus!! But it wont be a sacrifice in heaven what so ever!!!!!!!!!!! And it wont be hard!!! I cant wait to get there!!!!

TwoBlue
30-06-2006, 14:57
Okay that is interesting.
Has anyone heard the saying "Faith without works is dead"?
I believe that we gain grace through Jesus because He is perfect and we are not
He makes up the difference.

I will search the scriptures to have a look at that story, cos its interesting, isn't it?
I am amazed at how wonderful Jesus is - how giving He was to all
It was the person He loves not what they do.

I have been thinking alot about the "Saved by Grace" thing since it was posted by Nan (Thanks Nan !!)
Isnt it amazing to know that we dont have to do ANYTHING but believe....

I found this verse when doing my study last night and it just all bought it back home so i thought i'd post it..

John 6 vs 28 - 40

28Then they asked him, "What must we do to do the works God requires?"

29Jesus answered, "The work of God is this: to believe in the one he has sent."

30So they asked him, "What miraculous sign then will you give that we may see it and believe you? What will you do? 31Our forefathers ate the manna in the desert; as it is written: 'He gave them bread from heaven to eat.'[c]"

32Jesus said to them, "I tell you the truth, it is not Moses who has given you the bread from heaven, but it is my Father who gives you the true bread from heaven. 33For the bread of God is he who comes down from heaven and gives life to the world."

34"Sir," they said, "from now on give us this bread."

35Then Jesus declared, "I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty. 36But as I told you, you have seen me and still you do not believe. 37All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away. 38For I have come down from heaven not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me. 39And this is the will of him who sent me, that I shall lose none of all that he has given me, but raise them up at the last day. 40For my Father's will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day."

"For my Father's will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day"

30-06-2006, 15:01
[FONT="Georgia"][FONT="Book Antiqua"][SIZE="2"][COLOR="Blue"]28Then they asked him, "What must we do to do the works God requires?"

29Jesus answered, "The work of God is this: to believe in the one he has sent."

i like that verse...... its from the mouth of Jesus! He speaks with such authority!!

30-06-2006, 15:14
Actually Kymmy the bible says we will get a new body when we get to heaven. And you are right, the criminal will get to spend Eternity serving/worshipping Jesus!! But it wont be a sacrifice in heaven what so ever!!!!!!!!!!! And it wont be hard!!! I cant wait to get there!!!!

I believe that we will receive a body after the resurrection.

30-06-2006, 15:16
I believe that we will receive a body after the resurrection.
After who's resurrection? Ours?

TwoBlue
30-06-2006, 15:17
What do you mean by "after the resurrection?"

30-06-2006, 16:43
After who's resurrection? Ours?

The more I read through the posts I realise we all have different beliefs.
I believe that we will go to the Spirit World first after we die - not to be an instant ticket into Heaven. No unclean shall enter into the Kingdom of Heaven. So I believe there will be a time when we will have to go before God for judgement, before we will be resurrected. If we are deserving we shall be able to live with Our Father and the Saviour again.
I do not believe I am perfect and that is why I need Jesus who is.

Bessie
30-06-2006, 20:57
I think we will be with The Lord in heaven as soon as we die, which you can see from the conversation between Jesus and the thief on the cross.

It doesn't matter how sinful we are, for as soon as we believe, we are accepted by God as righteous... as Jesus bore all our sins on the cross, God looks on us and sees us clothed in Jesus's goodness. He doesn't see any longer all the sinful things we've done.... God is so Holy that even the slightest bit of sinfulness is bad to him. However, Jesus' blood has been shed and covers all our sins. We can't take any credit for this and neither do we need to earn it.
In the bible it even says that we are Children of God because of Jesus, adopted into His family. As we walk with Christ, we become more like him as the Holy Spirit works within us, dealing with our sinful bits too. So whether or not we go to heaven depends on whether we are or not "in Christ".
Once we're dead, that's it, our fate is decided.
However, we can keep doing good deeds for Him and that will lay up treasures in heaven for us.

Luke 23
42 Then he said, "Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.[f]"

43 Jesus answered him, "I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise."

I think this is lovely, in the blink of an eye we will be with Jesus. It's reassuring to know that all the bad things I've done have been washed away, I could never make up to God for all the sinful stuff I've thought, said or done.

The bit about limbo, or working through the spirit world came into being (I think) during the middle ages when the Catholic church was trying to raise funds and you could pay for a priest to pray to God for your deceased love ones... hopefully they'd then eventually work their way up to heaven. In those days, the bible was in Latin so your average person rarely found out what was actually said in the bible.

TwoBlue
01-07-2006, 14:14
:thumbsup: Bessie

I'm 100% with you on that

*Moggy*
01-07-2006, 14:54
I haven't had a chance to read through all of the posts yet, but I have read a few and I just want to thank you. I have been feeling extremely discouraged lately and extremely distant from God (I know it is me that has moved ;) ) and just reading the few posts that I have I am feeling encouraged already.
So thank you :hugs:

01-07-2006, 14:58
The bit about limbo, or working through the spirit world came into being (I think) during the middle ages when the Catholic church was trying to raise funds and you could pay for a priest to pray to God for your deceased love ones... hopefully they'd then eventually work their way up to heaven. In those days, the bible was in Latin so your average person rarely found out what was actually said in the bible.

I am not Catholic so I don't know about that.
My beliefs are very strong but thankyou for sharing your beliefs.
It is interesting how ppl have varying beliefs for whatever reason.
I am sure I am unable to be with Jesus until I am perfect, which certainly isn't now.
I just have hope in Him and I will be so glad when He says I may enter.

xkwzit
01-07-2006, 15:15
Hi Kymmy
None of us are perfect, but we are forgiven. I believe that when we ask God in faith to forgive our sins, he justifies us - making us perfect, just as if we'd never sinned. It is great to ponder God's redemption of us.

2 Corinthians 12:9
But he said to me, "My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness." Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ's power may rest on me.

Hebrews 10
16"This is the covenant I will make with them
after that time, says the Lord.
I will put my laws in their hearts,
and I will write them on their minds."[b] 17Then he adds:
"Their sins and lawless acts
I will remember no more."[c] 18And where these have been forgiven, there is no longer any sacrifice for sin.

TwoBlue
01-07-2006, 15:35
I haven't had a chance to read through all of the posts yet, but I have read a few and I just want to thank you. I have been feeling extremely discouraged lately and extremely distant from God (I know it is me that has moved ;) ) and just reading the few posts that I have I am feeling encouraged already.
So thank you :hugs:

:hugs: Moggy
Glad your feeling encouraged :D

Hi Kymmy
None of us are perfect, but we are forgiven. I believe that when we ask God in faith to forgive our sins, he justifies us - making us perfect, just as if we'd never sinned. It is great to ponder God's redemption of us.

Xkwzit beautifully said !!

Bessie
01-07-2006, 17:43
Xkwzit beautifully said !!

Yeah, that was lovely... that bit in Hebrews is so poetic x

01-07-2006, 23:32
Hi Kymmy

I see my beliefs are different.
But isn't forgiveness a wondeful thing?
Without it we would all be damned with no chance of salvation let alone exaltation.
And we have Our Saviour to be ever so grateful to for that.

Please tell me if you disagree just don't me I am wrong (as this is my belief).
Thankyou, hope everyone is having a lovely weekend.
Church tomorrow.:wave:

xkwzit
02-07-2006, 15:55
Kymmy: never saying you are wrong, just sharing my beliefs too.

I was really happy that you posted because you reminded me of snippets of verses I'd read over the years and gave me the chance to look them up and re-learn them all over again. Thanks :)

Tea Lady
03-07-2006, 19:30
Hi all, just thought I'd say hi as I've been feeling bad that I've been reading but not contributing :shame:

We had a great song at church on Sunday (written by a friend of mine) that was about the things you've been discussing - I'll see if I can find the words somewhere to share. :)

03-07-2006, 19:43
I am sure I am unable to be with Jesus until I am perfect, which certainly isn't now.
This is why he had to die. We are by no means perfect enough to enter God's kingdom. But Jesus' blood completely cleanses us of our sins.

Heres a little story someone once told me that helps to explain it.

A boy had a dream (apparently its true).
In the dream he was in a massive room filled with drawers. In every drawer there were moments of his life. Good things, bad things. Things he was deeply ashamed off. Things that bought him great joy.
Then Jesus walked in & started opening all the drawers. The boy was so scared & embarrased to let Jesus see inside some of the drawers, but when he started opening the drawers with the sin in them & the shameful thing he had done. Jesus started to sign his name across them, as though he had done them. He was taking the responsibilty for them. Soon all the drawers had been opened & the only ones Jesus didn't claim were the good things he had done!!!

That story really hit home to me that it is Jesus blood that cleanses us completely clean!!! He took our punishment!! He made us clean & pure. So therefore... we are pure & perfect enough to enter God's kingdom!!
We cant do anything to make up for it. He already did it for us. Otherwise, what was the point of him dying?

TwoBlue
03-07-2006, 20:03
We cant do anything to make up for it. He already did it for us. Otherwise, what was the point of him dying?

THats hits the nail on the head Beck..

KiLLaKaZ
03-07-2006, 22:57
i won't contribute what i believe to this, coz i know that what i believe has been put in my head by my old pastors & school teachers. i need to research it for myself first & base it on scripture, not what i've been taught (coz i've discovered that A LOT of what pastors & teachers say is full of errors coz it's also based on what they've been taught - NOT on scripture!!)

anyway, another reason y i avoid these kinds of conversations is because i believe it's just trivial & hard to prove, anyway. just like when ppl ponder what heaven will be like. we all know it's going to be wonderful - so y bother thinking about if, for example, there will be golf there or not?!! same with the process of entering heaven. we all know the conditions of entry, so all we really need to worry about is if we are eligible or not ;)

i just see too many ppl getting hung up on the unimportant things when they should be looking at the things that actually matter, instead... ;)

WeThree
04-07-2006, 07:17
~ Becks, loved that story, what a wonderful way of explaining things :yes:
~ Kymmy, it makes me sad that you somehow feel that you are not good enough for Jesus, please know that he loves you and that he knows that none of us are perfect, the most important thing is that we continue to strive to live in a way that pleases him, he knows that we are all going to stumble and fall many times, that is why he died for us!
~Killakaz, im not really sure what you meant with your post, but this is the Christian family thread, so things that may seem trivial and unimportant to some, are not to others here. I hope you find the answers you are seeking :hugs:

Tea Lady
04-07-2006, 08:52
I think that what KK is getting at (correct me if I'm wrong!) is that often Christians spend alot of time disagreeing (or seeming to disagree) about things that are based more on traditional beliefs than on the Bible. I agree that it's often much better to focus on the basics of the gospel, which are clear in the bible, and are after all the most important news God has for us :thumbsup:

I think in this case though ppl are wanting to make sure Kymmy is aware that God is offering forgiveness freely through Jesus and that people who accept this forgiveness can be sure of spending eternity with God (whether this happens immediately after we die or not). I know you're going through a really hard time at the moment Kymmy, so I hope this truth is a comfort to you :hugs:

WeThree
04-07-2006, 09:24
I understand Tea :)
I was just trying to point out what you managed to do much better, that some of the ladies were trying to offer Kymmy encouragement, so whilst it may seem like discussing things that had been done many times before, it was happening for a reason iykwim?
Kymmy where are you today btw? Hope you are ok :hugs:

Tea Lady
04-07-2006, 10:52
No worries Erin!! Don't you just love the confusion that we get when typing rather than talking :rolleyes:

04-07-2006, 12:26
I know you're going through a really hard time at the moment Kymmy, so I hope this truth is a comfort to you :hugs:
Here Here, just trying to be encouraging. :D

Missing your input Kymmy. I hope everything is ok!! :hugs:

04-07-2006, 13:16
Thankyou for the posts recently.
I still think I am yet to be perfect.
Doesn't mean I am not good enough, just that I have far to go.
I am grateful for Jesus but I feel I am far from ready to meet Him.

Its good to see the thread move along...
I am not avoiding it, just been taking more time in my life...
I don't want to take over the thread...hmm maybe I do...
No, I just find it interesting the beliefs here that differ so much from mine
So I like to make sense of it and ask questions

It helps to stengthen my testimony while i learn about the beliefs of others
So yeah now i am lost so I need to take more time to pray
And put things in persective

Oh yeah i wanted to ask a question about modesty
This is our RS lesson on Sunday.
What you wear reflects in the way you act.
How important is modesty to you?
How do you dress at Church?
How do you dress your kids?
I wear a skirt to Church though I am not comfortable
As my boys get older I will expect them to wear white shirts I think
Is it disrespectful in your opinion wearing colours to Church?

Tea Lady
04-07-2006, 14:30
I think modesty is culturally determined, and that it's more about taking other peoples' feelings into acount than being disrespectful to God. After all, God made our bodies, so it's not like we've got any secrets from Him - I don't think He'd be that bothered if we went to church stark naked (I'm not suggesting you do this though!). I think if other people would be offended if you wore certain things, then don't wear them, but if not, wear whatever you like. I hope that makes sense :)

04-07-2006, 14:36
What does modesty mean to you?

Just also wanted to say I was brought up to wear my best to Church.
So, this to me means if you have a tee and trackies and thats your best then its better for u to wear that than not going to church at all.

xkwzit
04-07-2006, 20:50
I'm not sure that it's what's on the outside that's important, more important to go with a receptive spirit. Having said that, if getting dressed in your best helps to put you in the right place spiritually - then I can see that it would be a help.

You know, I would love to go to one of those African American gospel churches where all the women get dressed up in their absolute best and they all wear amazing hats. A riot of praise and colour...I so want to do that.

TwoBlue
04-07-2006, 20:56
I dont believe God see's our clothes... he see's well beyond what we wear, he is only worried about seeing what is in our hearts...

but in saying that i dont have an issues with people who dress nicely for church, it shows respect...

I dress "nicely" its often the only chance to dress up a bit :D

The boys and Dh are always dressed in what i would class as "smart casual"

Tea Lady
05-07-2006, 13:15
We tend to go fairly casual because I remember once a girl coming to my previous church (where people dressed up alot) and she was wearing very casual clothes, and I felt sorry for her that she was new and was looking obviously different to everyone else - it's hard enough being new at a church without feeling like you've worn the wrong clothes. So now we do our "bit" to try to make sure there's a bit more of a spectrum of clothing style represented so hopefully people won't feel too wierd if they come in something casual. :)

05-07-2006, 13:24
Hey Kymmy. Out of curiosity. What denomination are you?

Anyway. I think church is a place where anyone & everyone should feel welcome. It shouldn't matter what people turn up in. We welcome a lot of street people into our church. We certainly dont judge them for how they look. :)

I grew up wearing my "sunday best" to church aswell. I guess I dress niceish to church. :rolleyes:

As for the whole modesty thing..... look at the Proverbs 31 girl. She dresses stylish... but NOT sexy!! I think thats the key. God wants us to dress as well as we can (whatever our circumstances, whatever we can manage), not just for church. I guess looking respectable. But not dressing to look sexy. (except at home for our hubby's eyes ;) ) Thats how I see it. :)

timetoplay!
05-07-2006, 13:34
:wave: Hey all.
Sorry to jump in on the clothing thing - we go casual too, unless we're on stage when we both dress up a little. (In the worship team)
Um, what I'm actually here for is... my Grandma died this morning after having a massive stroke last week ( I had another thread in general chat - I need a hug) and I don't think she turned to God.
It was a subject that wasn't really spoken about because one side of the family is JW's and the other Christians. Grandma and Grandad are the meat in the sandwich and chose not to choose either.
I feel awful because I didn't work up enough courage to let her know I wanted her to be in heaven to meet us when we get there.
What now?

05-07-2006, 14:04
:Um, what I'm actually here for is... my Grandma died this morning after having a massive stroke last week ( I had another thread in general chat - I need a hug) and I don't think she turned to God.
It was a subject that wasn't really spoken about because one side of the family is JW's and the other Christians. Grandma and Grandad are the meat in the sandwich and chose not to choose either.
I feel awful because I didn't work up enough courage to let her know I wanted her to be in heaven to meet us when we get there.
What now?
:hugs: :hugs:

Oh boy!! Hugs to you!!!!!

All I can say is you dont know what goes on between God & people in their last moments. :o :fingerscrossed:
Dont feel guilty about it. But learn from it. Share your faith with everyone you care about!!

My thoughts & prayers are with you today!

05-07-2006, 16:43
:hugs: Timetoplay at this time.
I just came from my grandfather's funeral.
I started to think about his beliefs and how he felt about things.
But I felt at peace about things, I am sure he will be in Heaven.
It was a beautiful service, and it ended on a upbeat song, which my baby danced to! It truly was a celebration of his life.

SJE
05-07-2006, 17:12
Hi Timetoplay

You never know what she decided in her heart. She may have kept it to herself to keep the family peace.

She had made the decisions about what she believed.
If talking to her that last time was going to help her to make a decision for God, He would have made that happen. God loves your Grandma very much and did all He could to draw her to himself.

TwoBlue
05-07-2006, 19:50
:hugs: to you timetoplay

What a sad time for you

Its very painful when you lose a loved one and cant feel at peace about where they are now...

All I can say is you dont know what goes on between God & people in their last moments. :o :fingerscrossed:

I truly believe this post made by Becky...
God loves all his children so much, he wants them all to be with him...

Nan
07-07-2006, 15:00
Oh dear. It seems I stirred up quite the hornets nest with my grace comments, then took off to Canberra before I could answer them!!! Sorry. Thankyou xkwzit, TL & others for 'unpacking' & explaining my thoughts further.
I'm sure you all know that my intention was never to start a debate, but rather encourage you that Jesus is your ALL SUFFICIENT ONE! :smiliedance: In Him we all have LIFE and LIFE TO THE FULL! Yaaaaaaayy! That means none of us are perfect on our own merits, but we are perfect through Jesus' triumphant resurrection!!
What I meant was that I don't see myself as perfect - that would be conceited, but God sees me as perfect because He sees me covered & cleansed with the blood of Jesus. So, if God sees me as perfect then I'm not going to argue!!
Sure, we all sin. Heck, I do everyday, but grace abounds and once I remember that I'm happy!
Sorry to rave. Its just that the thought of grace makes me so excited!! :D
Love,
Nan. xx
P.S. Kymmy & Timetoplay, I am so sorry for your losses. :hugs:

07-07-2006, 16:07
Hey I think it was my fault, not yours Nan!
I just like to question everything.
I didn't mean to debate just interested in what others believe.
And as it turns out most of you on the thread agree so ....
Please don't stop posting cos I am different!
And please don't be offended either.

What do you think of this?
The Judgement Day?
Do you believe that day will come?
What does it mean to you?

Nan
07-07-2006, 18:02
That's okay, Kymmy. Don't worry - I'll certainly keep posting as I need to feed my addiction! :laughing:
For me, judgment day used to be something I dreaded, as I imagined God standing there with His 'big stick' and a frown on His face as He scanned through all the bad things I've done!! But (I guess this relates to grace) now I don't feel that way, as I know that God forgives & loves. Now I'm excited by it as it will be a time when the world be finally have perfect peace and justice.
Love,
Nan. xx

SJE
07-07-2006, 20:32
I think it can be a little scary thinking about what may happen on judgement day.

Maybe when it comes down to the crunch, it will be more important what ppl believe?

As for questioning things - its good to do this. You got to know what you believe and why.:yes:

KiLLaKaZ
08-07-2006, 10:51
I think that what KK is getting at (correct me if I'm wrong!) is that often Christians spend alot of time disagreeing (or seeming to disagree) about things that are based more on traditional beliefs than on the Bible. I agree that it's often much better to focus on the basics of the gospel, which are clear in the bible, and are after all the most important news God has for us

I think in this case though ppl are wanting to make sure Kymmy is aware that God is offering forgiveness freely through Jesus and that people who accept this forgiveness can be sure of spending eternity with God (whether this happens immediately after we die or not). I know you're going through a really hard time at the moment Kymmy, so I hope this truth is a comfort to you

sorry, i'm not very good at expressing myself! i was just talking about the trivial matters that were being debated, such as whether u go STRAIGHT to heaven (or hell) when u die.

as for church attire, in the church i grew up in, we used to always wear our best clothes to church.(tho we had some themed fancy dress services MANY years ago - punk, & beach attire). but now if i dress up at the same church, i get asked where i'm going after church!! :rolleyes: at my last church EVERYONE including the teacher (pastor - but he doesn't like titles) wore casual clothes, which i found refresshing (down-to-earth), but it also frustrasted me as i had nowhere to wear my good clothes :(

i agree about not wearing sexy clothes (which i take as meaning 'revealing'). our lady pastor used to lecture the girls about it all the time! lol. probably not the best approach, tho ;)

************************************************** *************************************

on a totally separate note: centrelink have said that i have to move out (away from my ex) if i'm to receive payments! i'm tossing up whether to rent or move back with my parents. if i move back with them i can save HEAPS of money to eventually get my own place, but will be stressed out as i like my privacy & can't stand being around my family too much!! also, my ex has said if i do that, then he wants Q. on weekends! that will be devastating for me, & will severely stuff up the breastfeeding! anyone got any suggestions? it's REALLY getting me down! :crying:

08-07-2006, 10:52
Oh good!
I think it is more important what is in your heart - what you believe and feel.
Our Heavenly Father knows our heart.
I also believe our actions are preceded by our thoughts.

08-07-2006, 10:56
Sorry to hear about your situation KK.
I don't have any suggestions though I wish you all the best with what you decide.:hugs:
Which brings me another question!:rolleyes:

Do you pray about things when you have decisions to make?

Nan
08-07-2006, 21:41
Absolutely - big and small decisions.
The Bible says "....pray in the Spirit on all occasions." Ephesions 6:18
Why do you ask? (I hope you don't think it rude to ask you!)
KK - I'm not sure what you can do as I have no experience whatsoever with your situation. I am praying for you & believing that God will make a way.
Love,
Nan. xx

KiLLaKaZ
09-07-2006, 21:28
sorry for always venting on here, i've been quite depressed lately (well, the last 6 months, since we split up!!)

i'm in a better mood today tho. i can't help but smile when i look at my daughter ;)

anyway, i'll keep praying about the situation & try to seek legal advice on the matter.

thanks for all your support, sorry to be such a pain in the a$$! :rolleyes:

xkwzit
09-07-2006, 21:46
KK, you are not a pain at all - just going through tough times. I'm sorry that you are in this place right now, but we're all here anytime you need to offload. Even if all we can offer you is an ear.:hugs:

KiLLaKaZ
10-07-2006, 08:26
i have some good news...

my ex was in a good mood last night, therefore very talkative. anyway, i was able to discuss with him my fears of shared care at such an early age & this time he actually listened & we came up with a solution... i told him he could come visit her, but he said if i move to my parents that it'd get too expensive (petrol money), but for some reason it's NOT too expensive for me to drive to where he/ his parents will be living! :rolleyes: but, i guess it'll be an excuse for me to get away from my parents for a day & it means i will be with her & therefore able to breastfeed her till i/ we think she's ready to not need me on visits.

i'm much happier now with this news, tho i'm still a bit reluctant to move in with my parents!!! :( at least i'll :fingerscrossed: have a car so Q. & i can get out of the house when i need to. so, now i have to somehow find time to sort thru all the junk i've hoarded & pack!!

Tea Lady
10-07-2006, 08:33
That's wonderful KK!! I'm glad to know God is hearing our prayers for you :hugs:

10-07-2006, 11:15
Absolutely - big and small decisions.
The Bible says "....pray in the Spirit on all occasions." Ephesions 6:18
Why do you ask? (I hope you don't think it rude to ask you!)

No, I hope its not rude...I ask too!
I ask cos i have always been taught to pray always -
and to always have a prayer in your heart.

I am glad you have good news KK.:hugs:

Ffrenchknickers
15-07-2006, 14:40
Awwww, I miss all this!! Hope to be back within a couple of weeks!!

CONGRATS KK!! Gorgeous little bubba:) Big hello and hugs to all MUA!

Seeya soon:thumbsup:

KiLLaKaZ
15-07-2006, 15:07
Awwww, I miss all this!! Hope to be back within a couple of weeks!!

CONGRATS KK!! Gorgeous little bubba:) Big hello and hugs to all MUA!

Seeya soon:thumbsup:

:wave: hello!! & thanks. :D

been missing u around here! it's just not the same without u!

can't wait for the coupke of weeks to be up!

Ffrenchknickers
15-07-2006, 15:12
awww thanks KK:) Glad to hear you are travelling OK:) I cant wait to be back online!! Maybe then we can organise that KOORONG meetup!

Nan
16-07-2006, 17:46
Are you girls still trying to organise that?? :D
Good to see you around frenchie!
Love,
Nan. xx

19-07-2006, 19:24
I thought I would leave a scripture for this post.

James 1:5

Nan
26-07-2006, 14:08
Thankyou Kymmy.
That verse has always been a favourite of mine and I also kept reading onto the next few verses!
It is interesting that God calls us to ask IN FAITH with no wavering. I think I doubt all the time. I think I'm afraid of looking silly to others if I show more faith.
You know how people can look at you strangely when you make a faith-filled statement? (Thinking "that woman is crazy!!) I need to not be worried what others think of me.
Love,
Nan. xx

26-07-2006, 17:09
Nan- its hard isn't it. We shouldn't worry what others think but we do. I think, that is what makes us human.

Wivi
26-07-2006, 20:50

Sorry to just "drop in" on your thread but I am a Christian too and wanted to say Hi. I think as Christians the whole parenting thing takes on a different realm of difficulties, pressures and attitudes - but at the same time we know that He is there through everything!

My precious boy is now 9.5 months and growing up everyday :crying: :yelclap: (not sure which way I feel sometimes!).

Anyway - just wanted to say hi and see if it is ok to pop in here every now and then (that may turn out to be a lot!).

Tan

TwoBlue
26-07-2006, 20:53
Welcome Tania
I hope we see alot more of you :D

SJE
27-07-2006, 09:11
Hi everone

I think anyone is more than welcome here.

The church service on Sunday sermon was about worry and I thought it might be good to share

I will try and summarise it

There is always something to worry about.
It can be debilitating and wasteful.

There are a couple of bible verses to read: 1Peter 5:7, Matthew 6:25-34

Our attitude needs to change from worry to faith

This part I like....

'Everyday has enough trouble of its own. Tomorrow always belongs to God. Tomorrow is in his hands, and whenever we try to take hold of it, we are trying to steal what doesn't belong to us. ......God has given us today. He strongly forbids us to become concerned about what MIGHT happen. That's in his hands.

Another verse to read James 4:13-15

To deal with it all
Make plans and place them before God.
Focus concern on today. Settle each days problems. Do not bring the troubles of yesterday into today.

Romans 8:28
Philippians 4:6

He is working for our good and understands the bigger picture.

Philippians 4:8-9

I guess is more pointed for me today - I have an exam:eek:

Seeya all - Hope your day is better than mine!

27-07-2006, 13:10
:wave: Welcome Tan!

Thanks for that Seejay Elle.
I worry a whole lot (cos I am a mum, I think)
But its true it isn't helpful.

TwoBlue
27-07-2006, 21:19
'Everyday has enough trouble of its own. Tomorrow always belongs to God. Tomorrow is in his hands, and whenever we try to take hold of it, we are trying to steal what doesn't belong to us. ......God has given us today. He strongly forbids us to become concerned about what MIGHT happen. That's in his hands.

Amen to that !!
Thanks for posting that Seejay Elle !

How did your exam go !?

blessedmummy
29-07-2006, 11:17
need some prayer... have been praying alot latley about wheather or not to have another baby some day.. already have two beautiful girls.. 3yrs and 21months.. husband agrees, but still unsure...:confused:

SJE
29-07-2006, 17:23

Phew its glad to have that exam off my back - just have to see if I pass!

mimssbg777 - I understand your dilema. Hubby and I have mulled over that issue too. I have asked God for wisdom for you and your hubby. Pray believing!

Nan
07-08-2006, 16:01
Howdy everyone! Long time no write!! lol
I hope you are all travelling well.
Just wanted to say that we had THE BEST church service on Sunday. It went about 35 mins over time as everyone was so hungry for God to move. It was excellent.
I got a kick in the pants with the sermon, too. It was about the power of words and how negative talk and the things we say about certain situations often keep us in them!! (Like we say why isn't God changing this or that and sometimes it is our own doubt, disobedience, negative attitude towards something/someone that is causing nothing to change.) Also how we need to listen only to the authority of God's word and not our friends, neighbours, family, etc so we keep our focus on God and remain on the path to the destiny He has for us. It was awesome.
Hopefully you'll hear me speaking God's life & truth into my own and others' situations from now on. :D
Love,
Nan. xx

blessedmummy
07-08-2006, 16:10
hey.. hi everyone!! thanks for your prayers, i really appreciate it! thanks once agian!(still praying.....lots....)

Bessie
09-08-2006, 20:32
Hi everyone! I just wanted to pop in and say hello as I have been a bit busy lately (with the bub). It's all very hectic but we are so in love with our new bubby.
I'm going to try and catch up now if I have time!
Take care :hugs:

SJE
09-08-2006, 23:57
Hi Bessie

I understand. Having a newborn can be tough. How are things going? Is bubs being good?

Nan
30-08-2006, 15:53
Hey guys! Just wanted to stop by this thread and say hello! Do let's keep in contact and chat here often if we can. I appreciate all of you.
If you have time to write, I'd love o hear how everyone is going.
Love,
Nan. xx

30-08-2006, 16:14
Hello! It has been a while since I have posted in this thread.
I have had a hard couple of months but things are looking up.
I feel more respect from those closer to me and I really believe that makes all the difference.

SJE
30-08-2006, 20:57
Things are just so busy at the moment

Is anyone else finding this?

And its getting to that time of the year too- birthdays, christmas etc.

Wouldnt it be great to go away somewhere and have a refresher for the body mind and soul???

Day one - massage and detox treatment
Day two - sleep
Day three - Wander up tranquil paths and sit on mountain tops and visit with God
(Then get the chair lift down)
Day four - catch up with friends.

Sound good everyone?

30-08-2006, 21:11
Sounds awesome to me!
I'm in!
:yes:

TwoBlue
30-08-2006, 21:32
Wouldnt it be great to go away somewhere and have a refresher for the body mind and soul???

Day one - massage and detox treatment
Day two - sleep
Day three - Wander up tranquil paths and sit on mountain tops and visit with God
(Then get the chair lift down)
Day four - catch up with friends.

Sound good everyone?

Book me in !!!!

This sounds exactly like what i need right now seejay.....

aaaahhhhhh now i have entered la-la dream land
night nite all

Nan
01-09-2006, 11:02
Kymmy - I was wondering if you were okay as you hadnt posted on here as freuently as usual. I'm glad things are looking up for you.

Hey, if there is a Day 5 on this retreat can it be 'Chocolate eating' please? That was pretty much the only thing preventing it from sounding better than my honeymoon!!!! :laughing: That & DH of course!!
Love,
Nan. xx

01-09-2006, 11:13
I have been asked to talk at a leader coference at Church:eek: :confused:
I have no idea why I was asked as I am not much of a leader. I teach the young kids. I am meant to teach other leaders how to deal with young kids!!! Good luck to me.

SJE
02-09-2006, 10:31
Yeah Kymmy - all the best with that

You must be doing something right if they have asked you to do that:yes:

Nan
04-09-2006, 11:18
Wow! Good luck with your preparation Kymmy. Remember to pray lots! :yes:
I'm sure you'll do a fine job.
Love,
Nan. xx

Elijahsmama
10-09-2006, 10:16
hi all. Im a newbie to this thread and thought i'ld drop in if you dont mind.
Well today is the day that im setting foot in the church. It starts in 20 mins but DS has not woken yet so we might be late on our first day - opps. Im a bit nervous but excited. I drive past the church all the time and have felt a calling so to speak so im now taking the plunge. I hope to meet some new friends there. Wish me luck. xx

Mother Duck
10-09-2006, 14:06
Hi Eli's mama

Hope you had a great time and good on you!!!!!!

I personally love going to church. It can be hard to get there (without DH) and with 2 little ones, but so worth while

Good on you - (just a little tip from me if you are new to church etc - just take your time, and don't hold high expectations for thunder and brimstone stuff etc (iykwim) - quiet time is great to help 'understand' deep and beautiful messages that God has for you)

Quite aside from the relationship with God - the 'family' or soldiers of God can give so much support

anyway :ecomcity:

sorry :o just wanted to say good on you really!

10-09-2006, 14:15
hi all. Im a newbie to this thread and thought i'ld drop in if you dont mind.
Well today is the day that im setting foot in the church. It starts in 20 mins but DS has not woken yet so we might be late on our first day - opps. Im a bit nervous but excited. I drive past the church all the time and have felt a calling so to speak so im now taking the plunge. I hope to meet some new friends there. Wish me luck. xx

I hope it all went well :)

next week will be my big week, im going to go back to the church I orginally went to 3 years ago

10-09-2006, 15:51
:wave: Hi everyone. I havn't dropped in this thread for a while.... sorry

So I wanted to share what the message was about today at church.

Preparing ourselves for church. Being prayerful before going, being expectant of what God will do & being practical about what God speaks to us about. Putting it into actions.

I guess it really spoke to me, because lately I have just been going through the motions of church life & not really thinking deeply about it or looking to God very often.

So thankyou Lord for your message this morning! :D (oh & for the rain aswell)

SJE
11-09-2006, 10:26
Emsmum and Elijahsmama

Hope your church experience goes well. It can be scary doing these things for the first time but can be rewarding e.g. expanding your horizons, meeting new ppl to gasbag with:ecomcity:

I kind of led my first homegroup thing last night. I was nervous and stumbled over some words but it turned out ok. Bubs also decided to start talking to everyone whilst I was, so it was a bit of a challenge.

Nan
11-09-2006, 10:37
Good on you, Cheryl!
Sounds like God is using you & stretching you.
I haven't led a home group since my youth days - I imagine there is a bit of prep work to do before hand.
Bec - thanks for the reminder. As a muso, I guess I prepare a little more than most, but more often than not when I'm not rostered on I do the old quick prayer in the car on the way! :o So, it was a good reminder for me.
Girls who are going back to church, let us know how it goes.
Welcome to the thread Elijahsmama. :wave:
Love,
Nan. xx

SJE
11-09-2006, 10:49
Hi Guys

I just found this verse -
1 Timothy 4:7-8
Physical exercise has some value, but spiritual exercise is much more important, for it promises a reward in both this life and the next.

Did ppl in bible time have concerns about their weight? This verse makes me wonder:detective:

KiLLaKaZ
11-09-2006, 19:47
I got a kick in the pants with the sermon, too. It was about the power of words and how negative talk and the things we say about certain situations often keep us in them!!

wow! this is EXACTLY what i'm DESPERATELY trying to work on. i'm a VERY negative person. i believe i got this from my mother (not a good influence on me now that i'm back living with my parents). i'm desperate to change because i don't want my daughter to be like me & also i want to be a blessing to the ppl around me, not bring them down!!

anyone know some scriptures i can meditate on to accomplish this?

another problem i have & am hoping i can get some advice for: i moved back to the gold coast a few weeks ago & have been attending the church i grew up in, with my parents. i know a lot of ppl there & enjoy hanging out with the youth after church (sunday nights). they love having my bub around & all take turns holding her & entertaining her.

i decided to visit the church i attended with my ex hubby the other day & instantly felt at home with my old friends there & lots of them now have babies, too, or are pregnant! i felt like i was betraying my ex by being there, tho (he now goes to another church) i try not to say anything much about him, except positives. but when ppl ask y we are separated & who separated from whom i have to tell the truth!!

anyway, i wanna know - what do u think about me attending both churches (they are on different days so i CAN attend both). is it strange? should i choose just one?

Bessie
11-09-2006, 23:40
Hi KillaKaz
People have all sorts of ideas on church attendance, all I would say is to pray into it and listen to God's leading on it. Sometimes it works to attend two churches, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes your pastors will understand, sometimes they won't and will want you to commit just to one church. (My view is we are one church anyway).
I attend a housegroup which is multi-church, my DH has started going to a house church midweek. Some people would say you should stay within the same fellowship but frankly we needed more than the church was offering but didn't want to move, plus we have more opportunities to put back and use our gifts to help others in the groups we're in.
Trust the Lord, ask and he will make it clear to you. Maybe he's already leading you in a way which breaks the mold a bit?
take care x
Just wanted to add a scripture about focusing on good things for you (I have been so bad at reading lately :o )
Philippians 4:8

8Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Bessie
11-09-2006, 23:50
Thanks for asking about bubs Seejay Elle, she is doing really well. We have been overseas for a couple of weeks to visit family, so that's why I'm late to reply!

I've got to update you on things as I've asked for prayer before but DH is nagging me to hurry up... things have been pretty bad for my parents but there are lots of good things happening in our own lives.
Take care, will catch up soon x