View Full Version : Cloth questions....

~Chick79~
21-03-2006, 12:39
Since i am now a fulltime SAHM & with a new bub on the way, I have decided to convert from disposal to cloth. :yelclap: After doing some searching through the varying threads on bubhub (so full of information!!!) and doing some searching on various websites I am purchasing a bulk nappy package of BabyBeehinds in the Bamboo.

Has anyone fully used the bamboo nappy? I am combining this with Micro Fleece Liners and Hemp Boosters for the night.

The nappy package contains 24 nappies - do you think this will be enough for a 1yr old and a newborn? :confused: I plan on washing every night (that way they can dry in the drier overnight!!).... Maybe I should also buy some terry flats??? :rolleyes:

Also I have heard you can get cloth swimmers for bubs as well.... Has anyone used these? Or am I best of sticking with disposals for swimmers??

I am really excited about switching to cloth - I can always remember saying that I would be a disposal mum through and through but now.... :smiliedance:

Melissa1983
21-03-2006, 12:44
Hey Sis!

I would probably buy two packs to be on the safe side, if you have to money too..

I would probably stick to the disposals for swimming just incase little accidents happen... :p But thats just my opinon!

Oh yeah alittle off the topic... give my little boy a big :hugs: and :kiss: for me!

sopolicha
21-03-2006, 13:02
I have a lot of the hemp ones and one bamboo nappy from BabyBeehinds. The bamboo is really soft and fluffy but it takes ages to dry. The hemp ones dry in about half the time.

I have about 20 cloth nappies for one baby and wash them probably every third day.

The only thing you might have to watch with the dryer is that it will wear the elastic away quicker and you won't get the sunlight "bleaching" the nappies lovely and clean.

Mummy-2-2
21-03-2006, 13:02

I bought T a swim nappy from Kmart. It has a "special" inner lining so nothing pooey can come out of it, but it allows water in and out.

I honestly dont know if it works cos she has never pood in the pool, but they are only about $10 so might be worth a try.

I use the baby beehinds hemp nappies and they are great, and bamboo is supposed to be more absorbant, so they sound good to me!! I am waiting on some bamboo material myself to make nappies from... I cant wait!!!

Good luck

~Chick79~
21-03-2006, 13:14
I am waiting on some bamboo material myself to make nappies from... I cant wait!!!

Is there a pattern available for these?? Hmmm maybe my very loving (and a master at sewing!) grandma could make some for me..... I am flat out able to sew a button on a shirt let alone make a nappy that will work!!! lol :laughing:

Oh yeah alittle off the topic... give my little boy a big hug and a kiss for me!

A big :hugs: & a :kiss: for Aunty Mel!

So far (touch wood) he hasn't pooed in his swimmers... has always waited til his normal nappy is on!!!

~Chick79~
21-03-2006, 13:17
I have a lot of the hemp ones and one bamboo nappy from BabyBeehinds. The bamboo is really soft and fluffy but it takes ages to dry. The hemp ones dry in about half the time.

I have about 20 cloth nappies for one baby and wash them probably every third day.

The only thing you might have to watch with the dryer is that it will wear the elastic away quicker and you won't get the sunlight "bleaching" the nappies lovely and clean.

I plan on doing some loads every couple of days and line drying them so they can get some natural bleaching.... probably every second load or so! :thumbsup:

Mummy-2-2
21-03-2006, 13:21
Thats what I do, put them on the line when I can be bothered!!

There are heaps of patterns online, but I find the easiest way, is to find a nappy you like, and make a pattern from that...

www.nappycino.com has some free patterns

just look up free nappy patterns or free diaper patterns. I dont know which work the best cos I havent used any of them. Sorry :)

InSaneOne
21-03-2006, 13:23
yes i also bought a swim nappy from kmart (target have them too) for $10.00. they are great and you can get really great colours and they dry fast without accidents happening in the pool.

i looked at the swim disposable nappies and thought if a packet of 10 costs $10 why wouldn't you just buy a reusable one for the same price. just look after it the same way you would your own swimmers. (rinse in fresh water after use and dry.)

H&B'sMum
21-03-2006, 13:27
Hi there Leisha,
Great to see that you are changing over. You'll never regret it.

I use baby beehinds but the hemp ones and love them. I do have a bamboo nappy but it takes a little longer to dry.

Can I suggest that you line dry as much as possible. The elastic wears a lot quicker if put in the dryer all the time. The sun also bleaches them and kills off all the germs. I usually wash when Harry goes to sleep and hang out in the morning, no smells nothing.

I hope you are also planning on dry pailing. That is using no water, throwing the nappies in the nappy bucket and then putting them in the wash.

You can get swimmer nappies from Vicki at http://www.bubblebubs.com.au/shop/

I'm on Nappycino as well if you want to know my username (I'm different over here) just pm me. They have heaps of great info about all cloth nappies over there.

Hope everything is going great Sweetie

~Chick79~
21-03-2006, 14:53
[QUOTE=Harry'smum]Hi there Leisha,
Great to see that you are changing over. You'll never regret it. [QUOTE]

I hope not.... but in all honesty I don't think I will!!!!

[QUOTE=Harry'smum] I use baby beehinds but the hemp ones and love them. I do have a bamboo nappy but it takes a little longer to dry. Can I suggest that you line dry as much as possible. The elastic wears a lot quicker if put in the dryer all the time. The sun also bleaches them and kills off all the germs. I usually wash when Harry goes to sleep and hang out in the morning, no smells nothing. [QUOTE]

I plan on line drying when possible (even though it may take a little longer) just to save money on electricity plus to try and keep my nappies in mint condition!!! Well as much as you can with two bubs using them :p

[QUOTE=Harry'smum]I hope you are also planning on dry pailing. That is using no water, throwing the nappies in the nappy bucket and then putting them in the wash. [QUOTE]

Yep was planning on doing this just to save my back!!! Plus that was another factor that was considered when deciding to convert.....

[QUOTE=Harry'smum]You can get swimmer nappies from Vicki at http://www.bubblebubs.com.au/shop/ [QUOTE]

Will check this out to! I reckon disposals are a bit pricy so if i can get one pair each.... will check out Target too!

Thanks heaps!

OM
21-03-2006, 17:19
I use the eenee swimmers from www.eenee.com.au! I think they work great they are put on like a nappy so you don't have to pull them onto bub!:thumbsup: